Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Closet racists in Malaysia Today

Closet racists in Malaysia Today PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 June 2009 01:54

Hey, it’s not about saving money. If we abolish the Monarchy it will not be so that we can save a few million Ringgit. The English call this penny wise, pound foolish -- which describes what most Malaysians are.

There are some who love to post comments such as the Monarchy should be abolished because it costs a lot of money to maintain a Monarchy and if it is abolished then the country can save a lot of money. I detect from their IDs and e-mails that many of these people are Chinese. These people know who they are so I need not mention their IDs here.

This shows how narrow-minded these people are. They probably have very small brains. Furthermore, these people are actually closet racists. They oppose the Monarchy because it is seen as a symbol of Kedaulatan Melayu and by abolishing the Monarchy you would also be rid of Kedaulatan Melayu. It is better that these Chinese come right out and honestly admit that they are anti-Malay.

Racism is not confined to Umno or Utusan Malaysia. Trust me, there are as many Indian and Chinese racists as there are Malays. There is no monopoly for slime-balls and scumbags. You find them in all races. And rest assured there are as many Indian and Chinese slime-balls and scumbags as there are Malays.

If you want to propose that the Monarchy be abolished for one reason or another then it is an argument worth listening to. But to say that we should abolish the Monarchy so that the country can save money is bullshit. And in spite of me replying to this so many times in the past these small-minded people still make the same comment.

Next year I will be 60. For almost 40 years I have been buying insurance. I have life insurance, personal accident insurance, fire insurance, car insurance -- you name it, I have it. Now, isn’t that a waste of money? I have never yet needed to claim against any of my insurance policies.

I think we should abolish insurance and save billions each year, more than what we spend to maintain the Monarchy.

I find that the Malaysian police force is very corrupted. Most times the police are in partnership with the criminals and actually aid rather than combat crime. And we spend billions each year on a police force that commit more crimes than criminals themselves.

I think we should abolish the police force, as well as the need to apply for a licence before buying a gun -- which in most cases we would not get anyway unless we bribe the Chief of Police a hefty sum of money. Then we can all buy guns like in the old Wild West and we will be able to look after our own safety. If anyone tries anything we just shoot them dead. Imagine how much money the nation can save. Billions every year, more than what it costs to maintain a Monarchy.

I find that most corruption occurs in the implementation of public sector projects. If we stop building schools, hospitals, roads, etc., then there would be no corruption. Corruption occurs because there are government projects. No projects, no corruption.

We spend RM40 billion a year to develop this country. It is estimated that the ‘evaporation rate’ is at least 30%. That comes to RM12 billion a year or RM1 billion a month. If we abolish the building of schools, hospitals, roads, etc., we can save RM1 billion a month, more than the cost of maintaining the Monarchy.

Hey, it’s not about saving money. If we abolish the Monarchy it will not be so that we can save a few million Ringgit. The English call this penny wise, pound foolish -- which describes what most Malaysians are. We save ten cents but waste one Ringgit. That is the Malaysian way.

Any corporate turnaround manager would tell you that you attack the top three costs. Most likely the top three costs would represent 70% or more of your total cost. Therefore, by cutting down the top three costs, you could probably bring the total cost down a great deal.

And the Monarchy, although it is a cost, does not come within your top three costs.

I mean, imagine your corporation is bleeding hundreds of millions. You then do a due diligence and discover that bank interest on borrowings is your top cost. Next come directors' fees, emoluments and other perks, which include one month paid holidays to the Bahamas for the whole family, private jets for each board member, and so on. Third is the pension bill to employees that you have to pay -- and because you are an old company you have many ex-employees still on your payroll in the form of pension payouts.

You then look further down the list and at item 15 you spot the tea lady’s cost. You then retrench the tea lady and replace her with a coffee machine and water cooler. How much do you save by retrenching the tea lady? And now everyone spends all their time congregating at the coffee machine and water cooler gossiping instead of at their desks working.

Okay, the ten Monarchs we have are not quite tea ladies. But if you were to look into their cost, although it may be exorbitant, it would probably be at the bottom rather than at the top of the top ten costs -- that is if it is even in the top ten to start off with. Why focus on the lower costs when we should instead be worried about the top three, top six, or top ten costs?

If you want to attack the Malays and the Monarchy, the symbol of Kedaulatan Melayu, then do so. But do it openly. At least we will know you are a racist. But don’t try to hide your racist streak by attacking the Monarchy on the basis that it costs the country money to maintain it. There are many other costs, which are worse than this, which we can tackle first and save a lot of money.

And stop saying that I am defending the Monarchy because I am also from the Royal Family. That is a cheap shot and you know this is not true. I also attack the Monarchy but I put my name to whatever I write. You attack the Monarchy but do not reveal your true identities. And when I whack any race I do it openly. You attack the Malays but disguise the attack by saying things like if we abolish the Monarchy we can save money.

You know what I hate worse than racists? Racists who have no balls and throw stones while hiding their hands. And that would be many of you here in Malaysia Today.

Comments (207)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, June 03, 2009 02:00:57
Those racists are really petty.

What is another set of thieves to a country with so many already?

disagree 43
written by malaysiaunited, June 03, 2009 02:11:35
Pete, well said! It takes time to grow up and be courageous. Nevertheless, it reflects the feelings of the comment writers, though maybe hiding under different names.Tolerance and acceptance is in short supply since our schooling diverged together with our home TV programs viewed. It is gonna take a stronger dictator than Mahathir to go about working building a strong base on fundamental unity by having a common primary schools to breed acceptance and tolerance of different cultures and religion. NOT MANY READERS HERE WILL SUPPORT THE COMMON PRIMARY SCHOOL IDEA!
disagree 56
written by parsona, June 03, 2009 02:14:16
I admit I'm a racist, but my actions will never depict racism. If given a position of power, I will never discriminate against other races. Its my personal opinion to hate a certain race in general, and I have plenty of excuses to think so.

In your argument, despite how I despise the police and what they've become, no one in their right mind would want to abolish the police force. Anarchy will reign without the police, no matter how corrupt it is. You might not have claimed any insurance, but many others have. Govt projects, regardless of how much money was lost due to corrupt practice, has been necessary in the country.

My point is, all the things you called to be removed are actually all necessary, they all serve some sort of purpose. The rakyat actually gains something from it. Can the same be said for the Monarchy? If you wish to defend the monarchy, thats your right. But for the sake of many doubters here, why don't you state how the monarchy actually helps the rakyat? I'm not saying they don't, but the perception is that they don't have much use (other than unconstitutionally removing an MB from his post - sorry, I just had to put that in, my bad). Do educate us if you have the time.

disagree 56
agree 838
written by toorikakari, June 03, 2009 02:26:35

YOu are right about racism and i share the same understanding as you are. It is everywhere. however, i believe, amoung the non malays, it stems from NEP and among malays is serves its orgin from political party that we know of. However, it is good to see that the situation is changing for the better.

Quote :

You then look further down the list and at item 15 you spot the tea lady’s cost. You then retrench the tea lady and replace her with a coffee machine and water cooler. How much do you save by retrenching the tea lady? And now everyone spends all their time congregating at the coffee machine and water cooler gossiping instead of at their desks working.
Unquote :

You are right about this tea lady predicament. Corporates have been practicing this all the while and i hope that PR will look into this when they come into power. I have insinutated this in my earlier commenst as there is much to do once PR comes to power. The same scenario also touched on bonuses and ex-gratia payments. The lower ranks gets lesser but higher management staff gets more.

In my personal opinion, Monarchy is good for Malaysia as a check and balance to the government. Nevertheless, i would prefer that they do not get themselves involved in businesses. Having said this, I used to grow up in Shah Alam and do like the present Sultan and his late father as they are known to be caring and concern for their subjects. I used to see them driving around my house and both will wave at us when we walk to schools or even sometimes, stops for us(school going children, then) to cross the road. Hey, he is our Sultan who is close to us, not all are the same though. smilies/smiley.gif
disagree 35
written by parsona, June 03, 2009 02:33:29
I must have missed that out, thanks for the reminder smilies/smiley.gif But from what I see, UMNO already controls everything, with or without the monarchy. In Thailand, the army did take over even when their citizens absolutely revere the king. Still, you may or may not be right because we might soon be venturing into unchartered waters when BN finally loses in the next GE. We could see the monarchy playing a big role when that happens, hopefully they will be on the rakyat's side then.
agree 428
written by slimbrowser, June 03, 2009 02:39:23

It is not about the spending money on the monarch. It is about how fair the monarch has treated us as a subject. Look at perak for example.

As for the anonymity of the commenters here, should you be spiteful of their personal revelation? Their comments worth more than their call signs.
agree 378
written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 02:42:50
I think you have been hiding too long something is wrong with you.
disagree 37
agree 176
written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 02:43:44
Why spend money on something that is useless?
disagree 29
agree 279
written by jchew, June 03, 2009 02:49:27
Dear RPK -with your background, you can attack anyone without fear. Look at what happened in Perak blogger got charged for comments on Perak's Royal! I believe lots of rakyat of Malaysia will agree with me.

If you RPK are just like lots of us a small "fatt", we will be c4 long time ago.
agree 372
written by slimbrowser, June 03, 2009 02:51:48

Change the monarch, or get rid of them. These people are more part of the problem than a solution. Part of the problem because they are still subject to the power of the government of the day. They have no balls to fight for justice. They just leave perak hanging... in spite of being even fully aware of the constitution.
agree 378
written by Oscar Winner, June 03, 2009 02:57:52
I read somewhere that in Perak, the Sultan was reluctant to swear in the PR ADUNs because they comprised mostly non-malays. Hey, if that's true, then even monarchs are also racists, not just UMNO. I also read somewhere TDM once said more than 80% of income tax collected by the govt come from the Chinese?? Dear Pete, what we are not happy is that since the chinese are contributing to the govt coffers, why are the Chinese marginalised?? Why does the tax go to maintain the monarchy if it doesn't accept a chinese-majority state govt?? UMNO goons and TDM are racists, as we all know. Why do the hardworking chinese made to slog to enrich these UMNOputra buggers?? The Chinese are unhappy because of all these bullshit, so they rant and rave. This is not about chinese being racist or not, but when they are deemed "pendatangs", you know it's started by UMNO first. May 13 was the day when it all started. The chinese are just trying to defend themselves.

Chinese being racist and hiding behind some psydonyme in making racist remarks?? Not that we don't have the balls. You know the consequences. UMNO and PDRM will ensure that we be detained under ISA. So why if you ask, if we want to fight and not be ready to pay the price?? Well, you know why. You are not attending court because you don't want to go to Kamunting. The chinese don't want, either.

Until there is an Obama in Malaysia, don't hope that racism to end, or at least be minimised. Until ISA is abolished, don't hope that we will give you true identity. Hey, UMNO racist can make racist remarks and get away scott free. We fear ISA, just like you, dear Pete
disagree 26
agree 640
written by mowadoha, June 03, 2009 03:00:21
Make the sacrifice of one to benefit all ... Sounds cost-effective or really penny wise pound foolish? One thing for sure, you may agree with RPK that everyone spends most of their time congregating at the coffee machine and water cooler gossiping (and maybe also playing office politics)instead of at their desks working. Heeheehee ....

written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 03:05:28
Why don't you just call all these cost-conscious Chinese closet republicans?
written by truthbespoken, June 03, 2009 03:09:04
MT readers are only small time closet racists even they may be some or many here. Mahathir was the biggest closet racist during his heyday as PM and still is! If he had it all his way then, he would have probably demolished the Monarchy without blinking an eye. Did one ponder whether he had plenty of good reasons doing so?
agree 108
written by hamid, June 03, 2009 03:11:56
This is the most stupid article I ever read from Raja Petra. Dear RPK did you know the coffee machine and water cooler is a lot more worth then the Monarchy! Can you name one contribution from Monarchy for Malaysian people? I never thought you will be that ignorant. smilies/sad.gif
disagree 50
agree 547
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:14:21
Dear truthbespoken, yes, and the Chinese and Indians voted BN all that time Dr Mahathir was PM while the Malays voted opposition. Strange isn't it? I wonder why the Chinese and Indians attack Dr Mahathir only when he is no longer the PM.
disagree 58
agree 136
written by apasalahku, June 03, 2009 03:16:29
hey RPK, you are one poor confused bastard. Why do you equate being anti-monarchy to being anti-Malay? Looks like someone swallowed a dose of UMNO rhetoric.

The revolutionaires of the French revolution were anti-monarchists but they weren't anti-French. Sun Yat Sen was anti-monarchy but he wasn't anti-Qing or anti Chinese.
disagree 28
agree 408
written by hamid, June 03, 2009 03:16:50
If you want to attack the Malays and the Monarchy, the symbol of Kedaulatan Melayu, then do so. But do it openly. At least we will know you are a racist. But don’t try to hide your racist streak by attacking the Monarchy on the basis that it costs the country money to maintain it. There are many other costs, which are worse than this, which we can tackle first and save a lot of money.

I can't deference the above statements with UMNO people statements. Must be something happen to you. Are you OK??
disagree 18
agree 334
written by Oscar Winner, June 03, 2009 03:22:14
There is suggestion that a request be made to China to allocate a place the size of HK or S'pore and turn it into another Special Admin Region SAR to allow overseas chinese who wish reside there and help build China. Since the chinese are contantly being reminded as pendatangs, I for one will take the first flight from KLIA to be in that specially created SAR. I will have no regrets since UMNO don't want us. They can continue their "WANT malaysia" bullshit. They can have malaysia all for themselves. Until UMNO is serious in detaining under ISA those warlords who make racist remarks, pls don't think I'm not patriotic in thinking of leaving this country
agree 236
written by truthbespoken, June 03, 2009 03:22:40

Nothing so strange really. There was no internet or Malaysia Today during most part of his rule. He controlled the MSM. People were mostly misled then. That's why, on the rebound, the people are now so angry with what he did!
agree 214
written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 03:26:06
RPK, I don't see your article as an attack on Chinese, you are just using the Chinese thru this article to convey a message to the Monarchy.
agree 140
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:27:44
Yes Hamid, I am okay. At least I can still argue that you should attack the Monarchy (if that is what you want to do) and ask that it be abolished (if that is what you want to see) based on VALID reasons and not based on needing to save money. If saving money is the real reason then there are many other areas I can suggest where money can be saved. Sending Malays to university who remain stupid in spite of all that money spent is one such area.
disagree 18
agree 201
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:32:32
Dear Oscar Winner, no need all that trouble. Just get the 5 million Malaysians not yet registered as voters to do so. Then come the next GE go and vote. Last GE only 8 million voted and another 7 million did not.

Aiyah, stop grumbling and blaming everyone else. Umno lah! Monarchy lah. Podah! Undi tak mahu! Daftar pun tak mahu. You all deserve it.
agree 199
written by Oscar Winner, June 03, 2009 03:34:52

Honestly I'm not that thick-skinned. Well, if I'm not welcome as a guest in someone's house, I will quietly leave. Unlike that thick-skinned Najis. Thu his popularity rating is only 45%, he is determined to stay on as PM. The big joke is he thinks he is doing the best for the country. One day soon you will find him breaking down in tears, like TDM did before, and trying to win rakyat's sympathy, and then all the ball-lickers will beg him to stay on, which he will gladly do. How pathetic
agree 178
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:35:36
Dear apasalahku, I thought someone just said 90% of the taxes are paid by the Chinese and the money is wasted on Monarchs who don't want a Chinese majority government? Sorry, maybe I read that wrong. My mistake.
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:38:15
Dear Oscar Winner, I know what you mean. Many Chinese and Indians still feel the way you feel, that Malaysia is 'someone else's house'. So you are not alone.
agree 146
written by StevenO, June 03, 2009 03:42:21

In the old days they earned their throne with blood and sweats and by risking lives but these days they live off the Rakyat's blood and sweat and secure mega project for themselves through turning a blind eye when misbehaving politician abused their subjects.

If Monarchy is so great, why don't you see people installing new King or Queen?? Instead, Kings And Queens are force into exile or worse still....hanged!
agree 132
written by hamid, June 03, 2009 03:46:11
Yes Hamid, I am okay. At least I can still argue that you should attack the Monarchy (if that is what you want to do) and ask that it be abolished (if that is what you want to see) based on VALID reasons and not based on needing to save money. If saving money is the real reason then there are many other areas I can suggest where money can be saved. Sending Malays to university who remain stupid in spite of all that money spent is one such area.

Ohhhhh.........! Now I understand what you are trying to do! You are trying to pour petrol in already burning flame! I know you hate the Monarchy specially Kelantan. Why don't be a man and critics the Monarchy your self? Oh ya ! I can understand you, this time let the people do the work ha?

smilies/cool.gif
disagree 26
written by Oscar Winner, June 03, 2009 03:51:02
Dear Pete, I'm doing my level best to turn friends, siblings, associates, acquaintances, etc into MT readers to get the truth which we don't get from the MSM toilet papers. I suggested before, if there are 1 million readers who are anti the current govt, then these one million readers each try to win over 2 BN supporters and cast their votes for PR, come next GE the tsunami will be gigantic. Yes, let's all also get non-registered voters to register for the next GE. Of course, make sure they vote for change lah
agree 127
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:53:16
Dear StevenO, you and many others seem to miss the whole point. The point is: use tangible issues to support your argument and not petty issues like most Malaysians do. Cost is not an issue. We waste more money on lesser things. Education, is one example, which is wasted on many - as comments here seem to prove. I think I shall just go to bed rather than argue with a bunch of losers.

You guys want the Monarchy abolished but you don't even know why you want it abolished. Pathetic! And you got the gall to call my article stupid and call me a poor confused bastard. At least I have brains even if I am a bastard. That is more than I can say for many here.
disagree 47
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 03:55:23
Dear hamid, go get a life or crawl back into whatever hole you crawled out from. I don't throw stones and hide my hands.
disagree 35
written by hamid, June 03, 2009 04:02:08
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Sorry abang Pete for calling you stupid, Jangan marah nanti cepat tua! Baik you pergi tidur, nanti tak dapat tidur pula kerana stress. Now i know your reason behind this article. Your intention is Noble. Bye! and Goodnite. smilies/wink.gif
written by Chokma, June 03, 2009 04:05:47
All said and done, those who are in position and power are not doing what they should be doing: government who does not serve the people, legal system that does not uphold the justice, monachy that does not check and balance, people who don't vote when matter, a PM that shouldn't be PM but takes the driver seat, ... There are so few who walk the talk and do the right things. Many are just talked and talked but do so little. Since we know the present government won't change their way, we rise up and change them.
It is not about racism, it's about Malaysian. Racism is just the myth that BN/UMNO wants us to believe.
written by fearless, June 03, 2009 04:17:22
RPK said anti-monarchy is anti-malay is just politically correct in Malaysia.

Monarchy is not linked and specified to any race in the world history, monarchy system is just one of the political systems created by humankind.

IF the population in this country is 99% malay, I believe malay themselves will kick out monarchy system like in Indonesia. I don't believe Malay Javanese in Indonesia anti-themselves for abolishing monarchy system.

Because of 40% population is non-Malay, malay monarchy is artifically made or promoted as a symbol of Malay sovereignty solely for political reason.

I do agree with RPK, racists are found in every race, not just from UMNO.
written by Kaneeneh, June 03, 2009 04:43:20
Many comments here are made by immature readers, probably, non-adults. Others comment to vent their anger, their frustrations, to "menghasut" the best way they can, without getting into trouble.
If you read "All Men Are Brothers", you would know there is only one Lin Chong, likewise, in Malaysia, there is only one you. You can stand up against this tyranny because you can, and dare. We are petty "immgrants", or grandchildren of ancestors looking for a place to berteduh. One wrong word, and parangs at our doors; while the Malays can publish and call us anything they like. It is OK for them to say we're "pendatang", not for us to say anything even close. We do what we can, so please forgive the immature, inconsiderate, uniformed comments made that insult your intelligence.
Maybe you should consider not allowing immature thoughts on your website...
written by Nice n Simple, June 03, 2009 04:47:07
I LIKE THE MONARCHY IDEA. I JUST DON'T LIKE THE MONARCHY'S IDEA.

It's pretty clear that the Malaysian Monarchy must have done little to ensure that all Malaysians are treated as Malaysians. I guess if they pulled their weight in the right direction, no one would have brought up the 'cost' issue in the first place.

If the Malaysian Monarchy can do what the Queen has done, then the Chinese and Indians will have little to be unhappy about.
agree 150
written by bujangsenang, June 03, 2009 05:05:47
My name is ... and I'm a racist.

Of course I am. How can one not be living in Malaysia. Everything is about race. Its created by the government.

Calling for end of monarchy is racist? (maybe, since I said everything is abt race) But then call every nation who has ended monarchy racist. Ending monarchy will not end Kedaulatan Melayu. Its not that easy. I don't think those calling for end of monarchy is really trying to end the Kedaulatan Melayu thing. They are different issues.

Also monarchy don't provide the insurance you mentioned. Armies take over countries, whether monarchy or not. Look at our neighbours.

BTW, why is MT so active in this wee hours talking abt race. You guys got nothing better to do, like sleep? For me, I was awaken by child asking for milk and can't get back to sleep. Age catching up.
agree 133
written by StevenO, June 03, 2009 05:22:14

Let's be realistic here.......

The non-Malays are not that naive to think that their opinions matter when it comes to the issue on monarchy. Only the Malays can doing any thing about it...like what Madhatter Kutty did by stripping away their immunity.

Non Malay, what can they do?? Not even the idea of suing the monarch...hahaha...sad ain't it?
agree 114
written by educationist, June 03, 2009 05:35:40
I believe you are being too harsh here, my dear RPK.
Those who advocate for the abolishment of the monarchy and hide behind the cloak of anominity in Mtoday are only too aware what the costs of their criticisms can be.
I am no defender of the monarchy but like the royal family in Britain and a few other countries I see it as a part of the country's institution not in the light of Kedaulatan Melayu.
I have not read all the calls for the abolishment of the monarchy here , so there may indeed be racists among them.
But to use a sweeping statement that all who calls for the abolishment of the monarchy are racists, is I believe, both unfair and untrue!
agree 150
written by AsamLaksa, June 03, 2009 05:46:30
Anti-monarchy = closet anti-Malay??? This I don't get.

By the way, I am not anti-monarchy and you can check all my postings. I had a discussion with some British classmates concerning the British monarchy. They said it's a waste of money. Same story of using public funds and of no use. I agreed they cost money but useless? I said they are not useless, in fact I'm telling British citizens that the British monarchy has a special role where they are respected international figures that bring prestige to UK. No amount of money can buy that.

But I also understand about the cost argument which personally I never thought it is a big issue to begin with. It still comes up now and again. But for them it's like they needed a reason to justify their anti-monarchy sentiments and in regards with the British monarchy, cost is an obvious excuse. When Prince Charles was cheating on Princess Diana, cost was the surrogate reason as they scream don't waste taxpayer money on royals who misbehave.

Now back in Msia, anti-monarchist will pick on the flavour of the month reason. When it was caddy murder it was no to violent royalty, when it's Ferrari, it's no need tax evader and so on. But I won't label anti-monarchist as anti-Malay as that's a bit out of the blue. With cost, everyone agrees royalty use up lots of money and so it is a widely acceptable reason as no need to further justify it. Not the best reason but most convenient to use.

I agree that if someone wants to argue for abolition of the Malaysian monarchy, then they have to argue their case. If money is the reason, then better to show the figures. But wait a minute, are the figures available? This is not UK. I would like to know how much money is spent on the Malaysian royalty. Not particularly singling them out but it's more like I want transparency on all public spending. Only when we have this information can we see for ourselves where the money is going to... but this is a different topic.

For me, I respect the institution of the monarchy. I think royalty has a role to play and I would like to see them play it seriously like Japan, Thailand and UK. Unfortunately the latest story involving the Kelantan royalty is not helping. The next flavour of the month may be 'No to abuse by royalty'.
agree 135
written by commonfolk, June 03, 2009 06:24:26
ONE SICK COUNTRY.
written by jchew, June 03, 2009 06:26:31
It is like war. When you are strong and well equipped, you can confront with your opponents openly. If not, what are you going to do? you will start guerrilla war, don't you?! Imagine Israel without the support of US and it's own nuclear weapons and advance weapons. Israel will be doomed long time ago, imagine North Korea without it's support from China and it's own nuclear weapons; N Norea will be doomed long time ago.

Dear RPK, lots of readers who hide behind the closet just like me are not pengecut. It's the reality. When we are rounded up and locked up and we are a small "fatt'; the chances of getting out unhurt is rare.

However, if we are all like RPK and the rest of the well known figures in Malaysia, they (I mean the police force) will be exercise extra care when dealing with you and the well known figures.

If c4 case involving opposition parties, the end results will be very clear to all.

If the Government truly exercise rule of law and and respect human right abd freedom of speech; many will come out openly without fear to comment, criticize or protest.

How about I am putting it in a way that the Government and Royals are hiding behind the brutal force to protect their interests?

With due respect RPK, we are at the end of the day are just small "fatt". If you walk into the court or cell, the whole world wants to know. But if we the small "fatt" who walk in the court or cell, no body will careless. This is the reality。

So RPK, we are hiding behind closet because of brutal force and the corrupted poloticians and Royals are hiding behind the brutal force as well. I can tell you that a Datuk was stripped away his title brfore gunned down by special force in jalan Imbi few years agao.

So, racist hiding behind closet is not 100% accurate.
written by JinJangJoe, June 03, 2009 07:09:56
YM RPK, WHERE IS OUR "COMPENSATION" in Perak,(when we badly needed), after paying our 'premium' in full?

We need monarchy. WE DON'T NEED SLIMEBALLS. INSURANCE = ASSURANCE, What the Perak Royal gave us?
agree 150
written by harmanamri, June 03, 2009 07:17:37
When Chinese talk about saving money, I don't think it's a reflection of a "racist" attitude on their part. Unlike Malays, they don't think money grow on trees. They don't feel that they are born entitled to all the money they need or whatever luxury they want, unlike many Malays. As a Malay, I find their attitude towards money admirable in this respect -- concern for saving hard-earned money and not wasting money like there's no tomorrow. How much more prosperous and stable would Malaysia be today if our leaders had been more prudent and cost-conscious?
Whilst I agree that saving on the "tea lady" is quite pointless, let's not kid ourselves that the Malay Rulers are like tea ladies. They are at the apex of the power pyramid, like the non-executive Chairman. Of course, we must pay the Chairman of the Board a lot more than the tea ladies, otherwise nobody will respect our company. But he must do his job, which is to ensure that the company is properly run. It is only when he is not doing his job, that the employees and shareholders will start getting worried and think about cost savings. If all there is to the job of being a Malay Ruler is wear a fancy dress and read a speech writtten by some one else for 40 minutes once a year, can I apply for the job? Because I think I can do a better job for much less pay.
agree 143
written by loosecannon, June 03, 2009 07:38:38
Sorry I don't quite agree with you on this one. Not all who attacked the monarchy are anti-Malay. Some people attached them because of their behavior, in spite of their being supported by rakyat's money and their royal role they are supposed to play. The nail on the coffin is the Perak debacle which disappoint many including Malays I might add. As to using their real identity, not all of us have friends in Australia I'm afraid.
agree 141
written by malaysianohope, June 03, 2009 07:39:26
We appreciate your side of the views about the Monarchy providing check & balance but in order to do that they should not abuse their power like what is happening now. It just need one or two bad apples to taint the whole institution. Since you mentioned that cost is involved perhaps the Government should be transparent about the cost of maintaining the Monarchy & let the Rakyat decides. Also, I wish the Monarchy should be fair & perceieved to be to all the races & not just one.
written by macho, June 03, 2009 07:45:00
Like it or not we are all unconciously (some more comcious than others) a racist. What do you expect from a country where you are constantly reminded of what race you are whether when you are filling out forms, in your IC, in school etc etc. All our life there is never a time when we dont ask about race whether it is your neighbour, new colleague, business partner and so forth. It is so entrenched in our life thanks to our government and education system. Who else can contribute to such blatant racism in our country. So most people be it Malay, Chinese or Indian (there we go, race again) equates Monarchy to Malay. I am not saying it is right but definitely that is the perception. Back on your subject, yes I think Monarchy is a waste of Money in Malaysia. I said in Malaysia and not in general. Like every good idea or intention in Malaysia it somehow does not end up the way we envision it to be when it is put into practice. Insurance! good idea most definitely. Surely you could have fooled me if you say that the monarchy in Malaysia is currently playing this role. More like suppose to be playing this role. And a very expensive role if I may add.
written by Urangsabah, June 03, 2009 07:46:14
Dear YM RPK,

I agree with you, but I am not you. Further more you know that UMNO with it might can easily shoot me down unlike you off course.

I am just Malaysian, now with an opportunity to make noise via the net hitting out in what I think is the UMNO and UMNOed wrong doing.

Another thing, it is the Royalties who created the mess they are in an not us the Rakyat.

written by Tompios, June 03, 2009 07:55:41

Yes, I always make joke comments those articles that not really give me some lethal input. Anyway, my name is Tompios (local Sabahan name) and always amazed how the Raja Berperlembagaan deal with their nobility when crossing civil's laws. Indirectly, do you mean that those Chinese commentators have republican or communism mind setting? Our expectation on the Royals' families are very high because "they are above politic." Above politic means they are gods! The problem is, when the royals forget that they are indeed belong to politic. They are politicians in the area of Royal's descendants. Yes, I might agree if we call them "above any political party" which is more neutral and down to the earth.

I am happy that Sabah in Malaysia has no king. I do not know the feelings to have a king in my state-life. Yes, Tun Mustapha once claimed that he was a king for Sabah and did many things exactly what the 10 kings in Malaya did. Sultan Sulu's descendants also claiming that Sabah belong to their territory but then still not effecting my conscience to have a feeling of being a king's peasant. My point is, if gods doing immoral things then I will never call them gods anymore but sdog. I have high expectation from the Royal families in Malaysia-second to Allah to set a good example to ordinary Malaysians.

I do not support to abolish the monarchy. I love Malaysia and the monarchy helps me to ensure that Malaysia territory (sempadan) called Territory of Diraja Malaysia or Territory of Diraja Berperlembagaan Malaysia. Raja needs territorial and that is very important to me.
written by Tompios, June 03, 2009 07:58:16
word error: I have high expectation for the Royal families....
written by cheekymate, June 03, 2009 08:07:35
Just for arguments sake, I am sure the same people who oppose the Monarchy would continue to do so even if the Monarchy were ethnic Chinese. Their grouse is not against any one race; they merely feel there is a better use of the allocation of Rakyat's monies.
Though I too agree that the Monarchy in theory will provide some degree of check and balance, I believe with the recent debacle in Perak, the Monarchy seems to be veering towards biased political participation. This is the cause of the dissent of the people towards the Monarchy. To be fair, have you heard much more than a ripple of a complaint against the Monarchy before the Perak crisis? Respect will be given when due. Respect cannot be demanded, it has to be earned.
agree 132
written by OVERLORD, June 03, 2009 08:09:14
I think most of us are just venting our frustration when we couldn't claim "our so called-insurance" in the time of need...that is why we feel ripped off! in light of the bad press and actions of the "insurance company" , most of us will think twice on taking up this policy!

you are right when you you say some of us a racist, but this is not only confined to the chinese....all 3 major races in Malaysia are guilty of this act......please do not pigeon hole a a single race against the royals as i feel that you are barking up the wrong tree....the extrapolation of small number of MT commentators here doesn't reflect the true nature of the general malaysian population......

oh..by the way...if you are in OZ, hope you are enjoying the chilly winter...cheers mate!
written by choong, June 03, 2009 08:15:02

Deep down, everyone of us have a reason or excuse to blame the world for our own shortcoming. Some just resort to skin colour.

In relation to those who ask for the Monarchy to be abolished, it is obvious that they don't understand without the Monarchy, it will be replaced by something far worse like parliament appointed president (for instance). The monies which would otherwise go to the royal households would now be paid to a compliant and subservient president, who is obviously beholden to the ruling govt.

I rather keep the Monarchy even though they are not perfect (I doubt the politicians are any better in terms of their actions). I just hope the media is more transparent and keep reporting on the failings of all those accountable to the rakyat (including His Royal Highness).

I believe protection should be afforded to all victims including those from the royal households like manohara. It is sad that the members of the royal families still act like feudal lords where treat women like properties. I am not taking sides here either but if medical results prove that she has been abused, I think very little the royal households can spin to clear their actions or inactions.
written by Kampong, June 03, 2009 08:27:50
How's the behavior of the royalty lately positive for the Malays? For a Chinese racist wanting to see the downfall of the Malays, he would want to see the Monarchy stay forever, no?

Well, maybe the Chinese project from their own experience; they deposed of the last emperor in 1911, and I don't know anyone who regrets that it happened.
written by crapperjohnmd, June 03, 2009 08:30:38
some points i agree but some points i don't especially the racism part. i won't tolerate any royalty who abuse their position regardless of their race. but of course in this country the royalty are all malays.
written by malsia1206, June 03, 2009 08:38:33
Not sure of the stats but we happen to have 9 Sultans, 3 or 4 TYTs and the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong in a small Nation of 27 million population? Surely it takes more than just a few millions each year to maintain this whole set-up, with all the perks and benefits. Malaysia can ill-afford this extravanga. We need some further thoughts to ask some soul-searching questions. And why should this matter be said to carry any racist tone? For that matter, any public issue may be looked upon with racist overtures given the nature and composition of the Malaysian population. Do we really need 9 Sultans, 3-4 TYTs? I would say my answer is one too many.
written by ZamZamAlaKazam, June 03, 2009 08:55:30
...we have more than enough check and balance apparatus / institution / etc, but as with all things sundry in Bolehland, these have been skewered towards serving the self interest of those in power, be it BN or PR(PAS in Kelantan in particular.)

What we need is not abolishing this, revamped that. Rather it is tacit understanding that whatever institution responsible for whatever role shall serve the people free from any outside influence.

Let the independance of these institutions be absolute, its actions answerable to the people...
written by malsia1206, June 03, 2009 08:59:08
RPK, in your second last paragraph (quote) "You attack the Monarchy but do not reveal your true identities". This is a cheap shot you make on some of your readers. The Americans were fighting the unseen Vietcong in the jungles of Vietnam. The Russians were fighting the unseen Afghans in the mountains of Afghanistan. The Americans were fighting the unseen Taliban. Do they all have to reveal their identities to fight and win their wars? Why do these readers, myself included, have to reveal our identities just because you take it upon yourself to do it? That IS NOT THE ISSUE.
written by Jun Jan, June 03, 2009 09:05:11
i dont really see the monarchy as a good check and balance for the government. Allow me to illustrate, if you equate the monarchy to some sort of insurance company, would you buy that insurance knowing fully that the insurance company is also an investor / stakeholder in the matter that you are insuring from? how many sultans have interest in GLC company? how many sultan's business came from people from the Government? how many sultans have dirty past that the Government helped to hide?

Second point, look at what has happened to Perak. Where is the law? You can say by just looking at the Dewan, which officer-in-power is actually upholding the law and protect the Speaker? I think its all about 'cari makan' only. who is perceived to have a deep pocket is the victor for the day. given a hypothetical scenario should BN rise against the monarch today, i think the monarch will fall flat. and talking about monarch, who is to say that those that ultimately by rotation becomes Agong, that person will have a heart for its People? look at Kelantan's Royal Family, ok, you can argue innocent until proven guilty, but seriously, my gut feeling tells me that fella is as guilty as hell.

Sorry if my perception is wrong, pls correct me if it is, BUT ha RPK, pls do not call me a racist for not believing in the Monarchy, as a whole.

And another thing RPK, pls la dont say your readers throw stones and hide their hand. I for one is hoping for a change for the better too. If i start to argue with you and tell you my identity, it is not only that you will know, the whole world will know...who is going to feed my family should i get in trouble with the 'law'? If you write to me and wanted a face to face or to meet your team, no problem - anytime.
written by c53k, June 03, 2009 09:22:09
This is one article that I dont buy from U, no offend, my dear RPK.

U r human - so U do act up like Tok G'u Nik Aziz, from time to time. Maybe it's a way of letting go the built up steam, sort of pressure release valve.

1) Nothing wrong with constitutional monarch. The only thing that's very wrong is the quality of the monarch, & to certain extend the number of monarch within a small country like M'sia. Imagine 10 ultra luxury tasters within a population of 26M! And many r not even up to par, for the keep of the title! Then also their off-springs.....

2) It's stupid to equal keeping a monarch as buying insurance. At least at the worst scenario, yr insurance policy wont play u out in the cold & everything still goes according to the B&W of the policy. Whereas the monarch will play according to their own wince & fancy for self importance. Just look at Perak fiasco....

3) A republican might not be a racist & a racist can be a republican. So r all the Chinese republican proposers, Chinese closet racist? Bodoh Sombong-lah, bro RPK!

4) As regarding to putting one's name down for commenting, pls be realistic lah, according to the current political environment in Bolihland. Of course scumbags, hiding behind anon r despicable. But reasonable & logical comments by anons should be a class of their own. They must have their reasons for writing a truthful article & yet dont want to claim credits. No many wants to be a known hero. Many just want to do what's right & remain anonymous - knowing silently that they have contribute to a just cause. So r these anon closet racists, too? BTW what's a difference between anon & nic, besides registration?
written by mikewang, June 03, 2009 09:25:59
Dear YM,

Anti Monarchy = Anti Kedaulatan Melayu ?
Looks like you also have been a successful candidate to propaganda from UMNO.

TDM, during the constitutional crisis, presented a better reasoning even though it was flawed.
written by sara, June 03, 2009 09:34:32
Dear RPK, I heard that birds of same feathers........I am not anti monarchy but ANTI-monarchy who has become leech that sucks Rakyat's blood. You have said all this while about transparency, accountability good governance and so on but Now I feel like you are taking a U turn.SO can you answer this questions for me?
1. What is your take about your uncle AZLAn's action in Perak?
2. Is Nazrin is the true heir to the throne?If I am not mistaken the Perak Throne is rotated among 3 families and never before a son replace his father to be the Sultan in Perak.That's why the existen of Raja muda, Raja Bendahara andRaja di Hilir, Raja Boongsu kecil and so on.Am I right? Correct me if I am wrong.
3. Have you heard about the railway track? What crediblity the company has to be awarded a 4.7 billion worth of project while it is facing a case in Sabah?If I am not mistaken, I read about these in MT.
4. The Sultan is head of Islam in the state, right? And then why didn't he decree and orders the Jabatan Agama Islam Perak to take action against the muslims' that buying 4D especially TOTO and frequent the gambling den be detained and brought to Mahkamah Syariah?Or is it Okay to buy TOTO because somebody somewhere had contributed 25 million?
5. Have you ever seen afather abandon his sick child and go on a vacation to US with peoples money?When The Child by the name of PERAK was sick, somebody had all the time time in the world and enjoy a beautiful vacation in US? Is it what you call a responsible person, if I am allowed to call so?Is this kind of person you expect us to respect and held high up?
May be the cost of the tea lady in minimum but cost cutting shaould start somewhere? A journey of thousand miles.......... The first step had been taken but not by the people or non malays or whatever but The Monarchy itself.
written by Zym Zym, June 03, 2009 09:37:56
Persona, well said. RPK has a royal blood. Of course he will defense to death his royal lineage. RPK wrote:
who have no balls and throw stones while hiding their hands
. Look who is talking and in hiding? smilies/tongue.gif
disagree 21
written by Braino, June 03, 2009 09:38:53
I think the real problem is there is no clear separation of Monarchy, politics and royalties involvement in business interest in the country. When royalties get involved with business they have to do the "right" thing so that the people in power can continue to grant them favours. If Royalties abstain themselves from all business dealings and just remain as the the guardian of the people I think they will be very loved and honoured by his people.
written by mikewang, June 03, 2009 09:39:38
Dear maisur, June 03, 2009 07:15:52.

Parents and critics are not defending mother tongue.
They are defending their right to give their children a better education because many of them simply cannot trust the national school system.

The SJRK Cina and Tamil suffered dwindling enrollment during the '60s because parents believe that an English education will give their children a better start in life.

Enrollment in those schools only started to pick up after Abdul Rahman Yaccob announced the conversion of those schools to national schools.
Subsequent years of Islamisation of national schools and the fact that most non-Malays are not going to find employment with the government open the floodgates to SJRK Cina schools.

Today, seeing how opportunities are flourishing in the China market, most parents are glad that they made the right choice.
written by Fido, June 03, 2009 09:44:46
Insurance will save your ass in time of need. Has the monarchy stepped up to save our ass when we were down? What a bad comparison!

Debating the monarchy is racist? You can argue better than that RPK. Your whole article, you whack people who question the monarchy as racist. Never did you mention anywhere why the monarchy is good for the people of malaysia..of ALL RACES..

In fact, what do we read in the papers now? ..dont need to look so hard, just look out for News regarding a beautiful indonesian lady...
written by Braino, June 03, 2009 09:44:49
Racism is just a tool used by politician to hold on to power. So don't be fooled! If politicians don't fight for their own race, what can they fight for?...their own interest? their own cronies? their own families? their own political agendas? their own selfish desires? their own pockets? ...some of them have bottomless ones! hahaha!
written by Jun Jan, June 03, 2009 09:47:32
Zym Zym, i think that is hitting below the belt! RPK has earned his respect from all of us. I do agree that going into hiding is the best option in dealing with jungle law.

------
Quote :

Persona, well said. RPK has a royal blood. Of course he will defense to death his royal lineage. RPK wrote:
who have no balls and throw stones while hiding their hands
. Look who is talking and in hiding?

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Braino, June 03, 2009 09:47:45
A little apple polishing here...RPK is a fine example of a good royalty person! hahaha!....I hope you don't mind?
written by wishuponastar, June 03, 2009 09:48:15
Et tu,Pete?

I think we have enough politicians doing a fine job so we live as Malay,Chinese,Indian and what not.
In one platform they would herald 1Malaysia and in another the platform non Malays would be warned 'don't try to be equal(Bumiputras) even if you are born after Merdeka'.
RPK I'm surprised you equate voices against Monarchy as Anti-Malay.
Most Non Malays do want be Malaysians,treated as Malaysians but alas we are being constantly reminded not be.Please sir you too don't become one of the 'reminders'.We have more than enough of them.
written by malayoscontrachavez, June 03, 2009 10:05:38
Monarchy institutions in Malaysia represent one of the minor problems in Malaysia. The articles of the federal constitutions elevated the status and sovereignty of the Malay sultans. The Malay sultans, in turn protect the special privileges of the Malays race with regards to special benefits, education, employment, language and religion.

These constitution articles were created with open consents of others Malayan races before independence can be finalized.

Enshrined and entombed for eternity.

Unless a general referendum is garner by the population to re-write the constitutions is agreed upon, we are stuck with monarchy. It existed, and it is there whether Malaysia citizen despise it or not.

Many non-Malays called for the Monarchy to be abolish for whatever reasons they believed in. To them, monarchy is the symbol of the Malay supreme power.

Majority of Malays believed Monarchy is the protector of the Malay race, customs, religion and language. And the Malays are willing to protect it at all costs. With their lives if necessary.

Three quarter of the citizens wanted to preserve it while the others, not.

To abolish Monarchy, only the Malays have the numbers, and will power to do it.

That is the absolute painful truth that non-Malays have to accept.

written by razzwill, June 03, 2009 10:06:58
I went to an (almost) all-Malay boarding school in Ipoh and I can tell you the people there have almost zero respect from the Malaysian monarchy. Life was hell for me in the school, and the behaviour of some of the Sultans left little for me to defend them in the face of criticism, as much as I wanted to. The same sentiments were expressed when I went to Malay majority college, and every time someone wanted to air his frustration on some Raja, I get picked on. So tell me, how do you figure out one's race from the sentiments expressed (in this blog) and from their pseudonyms?
written by razzwill, June 03, 2009 10:08:27
I went to an (almost) all-Malay boarding school in Ipoh and I can tell you the people there have almost zero respect from the Malaysian monarchy. OOPS! I meant FOR the Malaysian monarchy. Sorry.
written by astina, June 03, 2009 10:14:55
Dear Pete .

The reasoning of the public paying a high cost in maintaining the monarchy most probably originated from the UK ...or from the new building plan of the Kings Palace ..
This issue will surely crop up again in the future and most likely the ruling goverment of the day who shall be leading this charge .

A certain amount should be allocated to the monarchy for their confortable living
(not extravagant living ) and they should also be subjected to common law if they break the law...

But dont go wasting money building palace worth 12Billion ringgit when the whole world is in recession and many of the monarchy's subject are jobless !!!

that anarchy!!!

If the monarchy is above polictics apart from being an old feudal symbol, what benefit are they to the public at large?

written by Loh, June 03, 2009 10:18:21
Racists are not born, they are created. It is like reaction to action. TDM complains that people call him racist, as though he did not know that he had the pioneer status on this score.
written by antiilluminati, June 03, 2009 10:19:32
I am preety sure that it is the current government policy that is producing "racist" among ourselves. There is nothing wrong with any of the races or the Monarchy.
Can i say that most of our royalties has been "drugged" and "spoiled" by the some of UMNO warlords ?.
I would say it is best to change new governance, in this instance we had no choice but PAKATAN RAKYAT.
written by franklyspeaking, June 03, 2009 10:28:14
Most of the time I agree with your point of view. However this time, I dont think the examples used are quite workable in the reality. I must admit at time I do curse and swear in private and being a racist in private out of frustrations.... and I think everyone has that within. Some are more vocal and express them. As for the Monarchy, I believe it is here to stay for another 100 years and I support the Mornachy System. Yes, we must spend money, but it must be prudent. Yes I agree with you totaly, we can save a lot lot more from corruptions! I vote for your RPK for next PM! So that we can save 1billion a month!
We always hear.... so and so Sultan are "berjiwa rakyat"????? This are all talk. Can we see something more are being done by the sultans to help the poor? You dont need a by elections to dish out goodies! There are a lot of poor people, and I mean all races out there! I dont think it against the law/constitution of Malaysia for sultans to help the poor! Shaking hands and attending opening ceremony doesnt put food on the table and clothes their children.
If anyone can prove me wrong, that the sultans are help the poor, I will then apologies for my comments.
written by Susanna, June 03, 2009 10:32:58
It's not about racist. It's about the monarchy deserving or not to be in that position. Monarchy is good for continuity of a country's history and symbol. The problem with Malaysian monarchy is that they do not behave worthy to be in that regal position. Compare ours with Japan, Thailand, Denmark, and others whose monarchy and the throne they represent are so regal and respected, they deserve their place and right in the hearts and upkeep of the country. As anak Johor, I don't feel anything proud about our monarchy in Johor. But on the other hand I truly respect the monarchy in Kedah. So what takes?
written by adzera, June 03, 2009 10:35:03
I am a melayu, and i dont like monarchy,in any form shape or sizes. they are over-rated and has no use for purpose or for anybody. At least i know i can count insurance when i need them, can i count on the monarch? Does this make me a racist?
written by Arubin, June 03, 2009 10:35:44
Sorry, but I stand but what I've said before. I do not see a problem with having a royal family as they represent a link to our cultural and historical heritage. However, I really do not see a point to MULTIPLE royal families. Not especially when European countries with far more developed economies only have one and some have even withdrawn state funding. Racism has nothing to do with it. Its just cold hard impartial logic.

But if we are to maintain them, than I expect a certain amount of royal decorum from them. I want to see no nonsense like kidnapping teenage girls or beating up soccer coaches. Royalty who cannot act with dignity shames the entire nation and should be stripped of their titles.

I do not deny that I harbor a great deal of resentment against the NEP that occasionally spills over into racial resentment, but I think whats important is that I choose to never act on it. I always strive to treat people fairly, no matter their race or beliefs.

There was a good analogy about this in an episode of House about a patient who could who was normally a very nice man, but certain medical condition forced him to speak his mind openly resulting in very rude appraisals of the people around him. Some might call him a hypocrite, but Kutner compared him to Harry Potter in that it is our choices in life that define us. He might think like an *******, but he chose not to act like one until an illness forced him to do so. This makes him far better than people who are just *******s.

At the end of the day, it has to be said that everyone is actually a little bit racist and those of you who deny it are just lying to yourselves. The question is, how do you choose to act on such feelings?
written by Rozlan, June 03, 2009 10:45:22
Hey, it’s not about saving money. If we abolish the Monarchy it will not be so that we can save a few million Ringgit. The English call this penny wise, pound foolish -- which describes what most Malaysians are. We save ten cents but waste one Ringgit. That is the Malaysian way.

Any corporate turnaround manager would tell you that you attack the top three costs. Most likely the top three costs would represent 70% or more of your total cost. Therefore, by cutting down the top three costs, you could probably bring the total cost down a great deal

I agreed with you RPK.However the Royal should prove their worth.WE want them to do their job as the umbrella to all Malaysian.Not to UMNo alone.Why? Because its our money that maintain them.So we have the right to demand them to do their job properly.
written by Mark C, June 03, 2009 10:45:47
I don't think anyone is against the Monarchy if it's self sufficient, and plays a vital role in balancing rouge governments like the Thai King Bumipol. He is one that is revered for being just and compassionate.

Back here we get:- crown princess that sexually abuses their spouse ( allegedly ), Sultans that deny democratically elected state gomen and MB from holding office (allegedly) , Sultans that "murders" normal rakyat (allegedly) , Spends billions of taxpayers money to build lavish homes (allegedly). With economic climates like this, went every single honest taxpayers are tightening their already tightened belts, imagine how many mouths they can feed with 1.1 billion? Even the most powerful man in the world, Obama canceled purchase of a few Marine One helicopters.

What royal commissioned plans are there to help the poor in Pahang, Kelantan, Terengganu? None, Nada, Ziltch. Here the poorest of the poor have to be consented with 250rm of welfare money to survive and the sultan's relatives can afford to drive >1 million rm porsche ceyenne.

If the Monarchy is Chinese, I will still be against it as many other chinks would be as well. Does this mean that we are "reverse racists"? Remember the history of China, aka as the middle kingdom, when the Han Chinese was ruled by the manchus, but after realising the manchus are benevolent and Just rulers, the Hans warm towards them and fought alongside them to any enemy invaders even those past Ming royal descendants.

Righteousness doesn't come with an racial profiling, What is right is right, what is wrong is wrong, however tries to spin it. Stop thinking as who is Malay, who is chinese, who's indian, we are all one race, Human race.
written by loosecannon, June 03, 2009 10:52:44
Oh ya, don't forget that the Chinese also got rid of their own emperors and Indians the maharajahs and the English monarchy. Goes to show it's not racist but rather pissed off of being treated as peasants and slaves.
written by Tan Tan, June 03, 2009 10:54:18
Until today we still speaks about races. The problems here are actually misunderstanding and lack of communication.

From a very young age, I noticed racism in Malaysia. Either from Chinese, Indian or Malays.

I used stayed at Tiong Nam, the last chinese kampung in KL city. It is majority Chinese and my grandmum always tell me don't walk over to Chow Kit or Tunku Abdul Rahman area because of it is Malays area. I never understand why until I was older when I know about the MAY 13th incident.

However, I went to studied at Batu Road Boys School and it was when I was 7 years old. My mum actually wanted me to study at Chung Hwa Chinese School but because we were late to register, the classes were full. I remember all my other neighbours were shocked because I will become a Chinese who cannot speak Mandarin but good in BM which I am now. In Batu Road Boys School, I mixed with Malays, Indians and Chinese.

Despite we still sit together with our own race in class whereby the Malays classmates calling us Babi all the times and we will call them Melayu bodoh, still when came recess times or PE, we all running and playing happily together.

The reason we sort of group into our own race in class because of communication problem and lack of understanding. I cannot speak good Malays or English when I was in Standard 1, my Indian or Malays friends cannot speak Cantonese too. As my command of BM get better in Standard 2 to 3, we always played and jokes together despite the names calling. I remembered one day I was arguing with my class bully (who is a Malays boy). He is the only one still calling the Chinese babi and when I asked

"macam mana saya ialah babi kalau saya suka makan babi"?
"orang tak makan orang, ayam tak makan ayam, babi pun tak akan makan babi"
"kamu tak makan babi, habis kamu baru ialah babi"

And he was stoned and speechless for 5 seconds before we start to fighted. However, after that incident, he stopped calling me Babi because it make him stupid and we then become good friends since then.

Again, in high school, all my Chinese friends went to SM DU or SM DJ because it is more chinese majority school. Since I just moved to TTDI, I am not allow to study at PJ schools but only in Wilayah Persekutuan school as TTDI is at the border of Wilayah. Therefore, again I went to SM TTDI which is a majority Malays school (90%).

In high school, I realised one thing during inter school tournament. SM DU and SM DJ will came to my school for volleyball tournament and despite SMDU and SMDJ teams are majority Chinese who are my friends, since I am only cheering for SMTTDI and together with my Malay classmate, we hold hands and cheering for our school.

This is when I realised, so what if u r Malays, Chinese or Indian. I should be considering SMTTDI as Malaysia and together we fight, we win games.

Looking at current situation, Malays, Chiense and Indian don't mix as it is used to back in 80s and early 90s and this causes disunity. It is sad to me that my country going backward as I know for sure, as Malaysia, we are strong, as a single race fighting with another race in Malaysia, we are weak.

Looking at National service when it was being implemented. The reaction is so poor. My sister was the first batch whom got selected to join and she is the only one out of 6 cousins of her age to be selected. All my aunties was making nonsense comment because of my sister's lousy grade and poor performance, she got selected. One of my stupid aunty even scared my mum saying that she might get kill because the trainer are Malays. My mum almost PUNCHED this aunty of us.

However, my family is very supportive of this program because we know it is not because of national security this program being introduced, it is because of unity and we know unity is what Malaysians needed.

Despite, the lousy preparation of National service which causes so many problems, we are lucky that my sister came back in one piece and I can see that she is a much better Malaysian than the rest of my cousins. She is viewing she is a Malaysian more than a Chinese.

I think I am long winded here but my conclusion is why just wanna be chinese when you can be both. Malaysian Chinese and look at this word. Malaysian always must comes first.

PS to chinese readers: Do u think Hong Konger, Singaporean, Taiwanese and China Chinese thinks u r part of them? Nope, they thinks u r MALAYSIAN and call u MALAY YAN (people of Malaya) and u need 2 minutes to explain that you are not MALAY YAN but chinese. See, it is your nationality that matters and being judge by the world
written by Mirage, June 03, 2009 10:59:12
The insurance bit buys you the incidental that may happen. So I am not too sure the comparison with the Royalty.....do they give us any assurance if someting were to happen or are they creating more incidentals........A lot of the stories in the royalty have been covered up until recently with internet, even the local controlled media could not contain but to share.
So what and who is fueling this? I think the answer is apparent and no one should be above the law and esp with public money
written by sydput, June 03, 2009 11:14:48
I heard the raja muda of johore in ther late 80's early 90's used to frequent night clubs and pubs and if he fancies your wife/girl freind/daughter, then you have no choice but to give in as he has bouncers with him and immune from prosecution. mahathir put a stop to this behaviour after the Agung, who was from johore, killed his caddy in front of suharto, who was here for a state visit.
Every year, the sultan and his entourage are entitled to an overseas holiday. This all fully paid for by the tax payers. Not forgetting the cost of palace maintenance etc.
All this in a country where the poor are forced to beg in newspapers for donations for their children do surgery in private hospital due to some health defect.
In fact, i think all state in peninsular should merge under one entity,thereby erasing the need for various chief ministers and state bereaucracy.
I am thinking, lean and mean and not fat and bloated.
written by hakuna, June 03, 2009 11:25:07
Pete - you may be right in certain sense but two wrongs does not make one right.
Pound foolish,penny wise does not hold good here.
Using the Police as an example too does not hold water - they are a vital for the nation.
Taxpayers do have a right to state their views when they are coughing up the $$$$$.
written by Lion Servant, June 03, 2009 11:32:13
Bhagavad Gita, about monarchs and translation and purport by His Divine Grace Srila A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada related to kings

uccaiùçravasam açvänäà
viddhi mäm amåtodbhavam
airävataà gajendräëäà
naräëäà ca narädhipam

Of horses know Me to be Uccaiùçravä, produced during the churning of the ocean for nectar. Of lordly elephants I am Airävata, and among men I am the monarch.

Amongst the human beings, the king is the representative of Kåñëa because Kåñëa is the maintainer of the universe, and the kings, who are appointed on account of their godly qualifications, are maintainers of their kingdoms. Kings like Mahäräja Yudhiñöhira, Mahäräja Parékñit and Lord Räma were all highly righteous kings who always thought of the citizens' welfare. In Vedic literature, the king is considered to be the representative of God. In this age, however, with the corruption of the principles of religion, monarchy decayed and is now finally abolished. It is to be understood that in the past, however, people were more happy under righteous kings.
written by hellosunshine, June 03, 2009 11:35:38
After 52 years of umnoputras' racist rule, this is what we get. Almost all of us, and that includes RPK, are racists in one way or another as we all have our opinions and perceptions (positive or negative) of the other races. As for being anonymous in blogsphere, look what happened to those who were charged for sedition and ISA for their comments. The finest example of persecution of bloggers is none other than RPK who had to sneak out of the country in the dead of night leaving behind his worldly possession and family to escape persecution. All of us have the choice to choose the path we want to go and that doesn't mean one is right and the other wrong. smilies/wink.gif
written by sydput, June 03, 2009 11:38:39
Looks like the only royal blood the readers of MT can tolerate is RPK, future PM of Malaysia.
written by sampalee, June 03, 2009 11:40:17
It is of no importance whether or not RPK have royal blood.What counts is his deep insight into the holy Qu'ran.Any one really understand the TRUTH as revealed in the scripture see the world in a different light.RPK is commenting from the perspective of a higher vision.RPK a mukmim.
written by Rhan, June 03, 2009 11:42:49
There are many things that cause a waste of money, but as long as the people, I mean the majority people, are willing to preserve it, then we should respect the wish of the majority. But at the same time, I think we have the rights to continue question the rationality of such decision and propose our idea to make it better. No one will equal the monarchy as buying insurance because there is no claim being materialized in the past. It is more like a cultural thing to me.

The mention of China and 1911 is irrelevant to Malaysia Chinese. But we must take note on the reason of Qing dynasty collapsed and why the people of China prefer a Republic.

If monarchy is with the rakyat, then anti monarchy is anti rakyat.

Lastly to Oscar boy, you may go any place you like but don’t pull us along la.
written by Ken Chong, June 03, 2009 11:46:57
RPK, by far your worst article.

HOw can your compare building hospitals and schools, the police, and insurace with the monarchy. I'd put my money on schools, police and insurance anytime because i know they work (sometimes). Of course there's a chance i might not get the course i want in uNi or a 90% chance of getting beat up in lock up. But at least i've seen police really catching thieves in my neighbourhood.

My boss is a difficult man to understand. I think he does **** all and just acting busy. Sometimes i think i'm doing all the work and he's getting all the credit. But once in a bluemoon, he does come up with stuff that makes me think twice on saying he's an idiot. He does have brains and is not totally useless and some of his actions have helped me at times. Of course the monarch is an establishment thats way more complicated than my boss but so far, i've not seen anything worth mentioning abt them. Except you of course.

Why don't you just let the racist Chinese have a say. Where's the fun in having just Common Sense.
written by Lion Servant, June 03, 2009 11:47:00
and a purport from the Srimad Bhagavatam......

"A king becomes famous by his acts of charity, performances of yajïas, protection of the surrendered, etc. A kñatriya king is proud to give protection to the surrendered souls. This attitude of a king is called éçvara-bhava, or factual power to give protection in a righteous cause. In the Bhagavad-gétä the Lord instructs living beings to surrender unto Him, and He promises all protection. The Lord is all-powerful and true to His word, and therefore He never fails to give protection to His different devotees. The king, being the representative of the Lord, must possess this attitude of giving protection to the surrendered souls at all risk. Mahäräja Çibi, the King of Uçénara, was an intimate friend of Mahäräja Yayäti, who was able to reach the heavenly planets along with Mahäräja Çibi. Mahäräja Çibi was aware of the heavenly planet where he was to be transferred after his death, and the description of this heavenly planet is given in the Mahäbhärata (Ädi-parva 96.6-9). Mahäräja Çibi was so charitably disposed that he wanted to give over his acquired position in the heavenly kingdom to Yayäti, but he did not accept it. Yayäti went to the heavenly planet along with great åñis like Añöaka and others. On inquiry from the åñis, Yayäti gave an account of Çibi's pious acts when all of them were on the path to heaven. He has become a member of the assembly of Yamaräja, who has become his worshipful deity. As confirmed in the Bhagavad-gétä, the worshiper of the demigods goes to the planets of the demigods (yänti deva-vratä devän [Bg. 9.25]); so Mahäräja Çibi has become an associate of the great Vaiñëava authority Yamaräja on that particular planet. While he was on the earth he became very famous as a protector of surrendered souls and a donor of charities. The King of heaven once took the shape of a pigeon-hunter bird (eagle), and Agni, the fire-god, took the shape of a pigeon. The pigeon, while being chased by the eagle, took shelter on the lap of Mahäräja Çibi, and the hunter eagle wanted the pigeon back from the King. The King wanted to give it some other meat to eat and requested the bird not to kill the pigeon. The hunter bird refused to accept the King's offer, but it was settled later on that the eagle would accept flesh from the body of the King of the pigeon's equivalent weight. The King began to cut flesh from his body to weigh in the balance equivalent to the weight of the pigeon, but the mystic pigeon always remained heavier. The King then put himself on the balance to equate with the pigeon, and the demigods were pleased with him. The King of heaven and the fire-god disclosed their identity, and the King was blessed by them. Devarñi Närada also glorified Mahäräja Çibi for his great achievements, specifically in charity and protection. Mahäräja Çibi sacrificed his own son for the satisfaction of human beings in his kingdom. And thus child Parékñit was to become a second Çibi in charity and protection."
written by son of soil, June 03, 2009 11:52:31
We still need to monarchy for check and balance....but too what extend they want to save their own rice bowl rather than the rakyats
written by James Loh, June 03, 2009 12:02:56
Is mere suggestion of abolishing the Monarch considered racist? I'm not a racist and I think some time in the future we'll need to abolish the Monarch because it's too expensive to maintain the monarch. However, this is not the right time to abolish Monarch because the police, govermnent, military, judiciary, etc are all corrupted. So, we can't abolish them now. Why did I felt that the Monarch need to abolish? Perak situation is the reason.
written by Msian Idol3, June 03, 2009 12:09:10
Do we just need symbols to justify our race & culture that desperate? I personally feel the royalties have been abusing their perks and they would be the first cowards to run away if we have to fight a war. All done in the name of Royalties. Cost is only a small part of my No-no to royalty. Commanding respect must be earned & not birth right. We are in different times now. Besides, how many royalties are like Pete. If we have a handful of royalties like Pete, Man we would be among the top 3 nations in Asia & ranked among the top 10 best places to live & do business. It doesn't take much for royalties to screw up & present day events have not proved me wrong. Am I a racist. Not a Tough question to answer. I honestly know I have no problems helping a malay, indian, white guy, black guy or chinese guy. For one thing I know & have done many times & so have many other races via donating blood for mankind use. RPK, I wish there are at least 2 more royaltyies like you but ....... theres only one. Live long RPK -- we need your perspective even more. I am not bothered at all with your writings as I know you are a true Msian first, not royalty.
written by Rhan, June 03, 2009 12:19:37
Aiya Tan Tan, while we meet up with Hkers, Taiwanese, Singaporean and Mainlanders, we always told them we are Malaysian. Only in Malaysia we claim we are Chinese, and we have to claim we are Chinese. You mean your classmate call you Malaysian Babi?

Another boy boy.

written by Arubin, June 03, 2009 12:22:28
Note to apiapi:
1. Private sector pay is based on qualifications and performance. The more valuable you are to the company, the higher your pay. If they are being paid poorly, maybe its because they are poor performers. Don't always bring race into it.
2. If they were really racist, you would not even have been called up for the interview in the first place. They can easily filter out candidates by name.
3. By your logic, won't it be racist that we must speak Malay to work for the government or a GLC? Have you not perhaps considered the background reasoning behind the requirement that you speak Chinese? What if their majority of their clients are from China? How would you communicate?
4. The private sector has always been about meritocracy. This means no one gets special privileges just because they belong to a certain race. If this is somehow racist, than I suggest you get your head examined.

I strongly suspect you were not hired simply because you brought in a negative attitude during the interview. You seem to have this perception that you are entitled or something. Meh...good luck with that...
written by archie, June 03, 2009 12:27:43
There are racists in every community and there are republicans in every community.

We don't save money by abolishing monarchy. Without Agong, we still need an appointed or elected President, like Singapore. At the state level, we still need a State Governor if there is no Sultan, like Penang, Sabah and Sarawak.
written by thor, June 03, 2009 12:37:59
Racism is not confined to Umno or Utusan Malaysia. Trust me, there are as many Indian and Chinese racists as there are Malays. There is no monopoly for slime-balls and scumbags. You find them in all races. And rest assured there are as many Indian and Chinese slime-balls and scumbags as there are Malays.

U r right. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif That's is why in addition to Ameno u hve its Insignificant Others, which make up Be End. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Don't think the RAKYAT can take five more decades of incompetent and greed. Hopefully, our future generations who still stay in this country because they have no resources or properties abroad won't curse us too much.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by Fatcat, June 03, 2009 13:11:10
whatever the case.. All forms of racism SUCKS... and the monarchy needs to get their act together.
Such a sorry state of affairs, so many issues, we need change.
Our children s future depends on what we do now.
written by cruzeiro, June 03, 2009 13:16:46
This piece u wrote ... well- yes & no.
What you imply in your conclusions - that all anti-monarchists are anti-Malay racists is totally "misguided". Then comes your analogies - exaggerations totally out of sync.
You do have your points - that money isn't the real issue where the royalty is concerned - but very weak arguments, Pete.

It is often said that money is just the intrument/ tool/ vehicle that is used in many a "quarrel". Usually, it isn't the money, but rather the issues that lies around the money, that is of concern.
Money isn't the only issue here. Just becos it is mentioned, it doesn't mean that it is the real issue. Just ask any LHDN hotshot or any politician - he'll tell you!

You know very well, that it goes far deeper than that - and to label those using it as an avenue to express their discontent is out of line. Of course there are racists from all walks of life, and in all communities - the royalties included.
The people need to realize that they (the royal houses) played an important role to maintain the identity of the land, when the demographics did not suit them after 1957. There was a real need to maintain the Malay way of life/ culture, and prevent it from being obliterated by the very (economically)powerful Chinese community.
That situation has however been addressed through many a social engineering project over the last 50 yrs - and as such the relevance of the royalties will be increasingly be questioned over the next decade or so.

The point here are these:-
Do these people lead exemplary lives as representatives of the people?
Do they do justice to the role they assume at the cost of the people?
Do these "high & mighty" represent the interests of only a sector of society, and expect all and sundry to accept them?
If not, what then is their role?
Do they contribute to good governance and national integration, or do they actually help subvert it?
Is it an "insurance policy" as you may choose to imply, or are the people held at ransom by certain quarters who play up their insecurities?
Does a certain community need role-playing figures to give them this sense of belonging?
Is that how low the morale of these people are- that their "kedaulatan" depends on people who don't seem to be able to earn their respect and their 5-sen?

All systems of governance have their advantages and disadvantages. The question is whether they can change with the times & perform the functions as society evolves. Should the system not be able to adapt - it becomes obsolete, and for better or worse, will be replaced with another. In Malaysia, the era of the aristocracy consolidated by Umno is coming to an end, and changes are visible in the political horizon.
The idea Pete, is to wean the people off this so called racism, and not to point finger, play the blame game, or reinforce the idea through divisive propaganda.
written by slimbrowser, June 03, 2009 13:18:15

Dear slimbrowser, wrong. The problem is the 50% voters who voted for BN and the 50% more who refuse to register as voters. So we end up with only one-third the eligible voters voting for change. Don't blame the Monarchy. It is the people who are the problem, not the Monarchs. How to get rid of the Monarchy when people like you don't even dare put your real name to what you write?

Do you honestly believe that by putting our names in our comments can get rid of the monarchy or bring about change? Isn't there enough people in Kamunting already?

It is because of what we comment here in Malaysia today under an assumed name that brought about change. People read malaysia today and opened their eyes that they are not alone in being against umno. People dare to comment because they know they will never be revealed. We know that we are safe under your wings. And this strong comments that brought about more supports. And these supports have brought about change in 5 states.

Until PR manage to take over the majority and abolish all the incriminating laws, I will be the first to reveal my full name in Malaysia Today.
written by slimbrowser, June 03, 2009 13:19:45
I agree that the monarchy is the least of our problem for now. First things first. Get rid of UMNO, then get rid of the monarchy.
written by Steven Ong, June 03, 2009 13:23:15
Yes, Pete you are right. There still are many racist in this nation. One of the reason is they are being encourage by the parents, friends, teachers, medias, and of cause the politicians.

The time is not here yet, so lets pray without ceasing.
written by Fairminded, June 03, 2009 13:38:11
That is the problem with Malaysians, including RPK. Every issue boomerangs back to races and subconsciously even RPK cannot espcape from this paradym. I am chinese but I do support the existance of the Monarchy mainly because it is a symbol of the history of Malaysia as much as the Scots supported the Monarchy in England although the English had chopped off the head of the last queen of Scotland. Anti Monarchy - better termed Republicans -are not racists. It just happened that the monarch in Malaysia is Malay. The French chopped off their kings head not because of racism, so is the Chinese who made their last emperor a gardener, nor the Indians or Iranians etc. It is just a form of government. To say that maintaining a Monarchy is not expensive is true but in Malaysia we have umpteen sultans let alone the agong and plus their descendants ,who think that all Malaysians owe them a living just by birth. is quite a different story. Their are other intangible costs like pulling ranks to get special rights in business, do not repay bank debts etc. Sultans and royalties, like any biological systems, multiply exponentially. Imagine one sultan begets just only two princes / princesses, who each begets two -- after 3 generations you will have 14 (spouses included). If you multiply that with the number of royal houses in each state - (lets say 6)- we will have 84. If they do not practise family planning you can see that it is quite a crowd to support. Since Malaysia gained its independence for 50 years, which worked out to about 3 generations of royalty with their descendents, it is quite a sum even though not all royal houses have three generations simultaneously surviving. It is not penny wise and pound foolish at all because Monarchy is a perpetual thing. So whether you are a Monachist or a Republican, please do not again degenerate the debate to racial issue again.
written by Kaboda, June 03, 2009 14:10:53
Hi RPK, dont need to check my IC I am Chinese. And I live in the vicinity of the new Istana (Off Jalan Seri Hartamas). I am not a racist neither I am I against the monarchy. But the size of that thing and the amount of money thrown into that thing is ridiculous.
I blame the government for that but I cant freely think that the monarchy has no say in this matter. Times are bad we readers have long given up hope that the government can understand the plight of the people. But I believe its the monarchy's responsibility to stay relevant to the people.
written by ksmaniam, June 03, 2009 14:11:11
your issue of racial prejudices
please grow up from your preception that everyone is the same. We are divided by religion, race, caste, sex, likes, dislikes, education etc etc etc. They list goes on so long that it is just a matter of us creating words to describe the division. For you to state superficially that MT readers and/or Malaysians are racist etc etc suggests either immature thoughts, biased or perhaps you, do defame our intelligence again.
your issue of MM
again and again your articles bring in MM subtely, if we comment on him, you say the issue is not MM. Why? I repeat, if MM is half indian, and if it is true, I should be happy and support him, why do you always say we Indians do not support him since he is not in power. I catergorically say that I WAS A ARDENT SUPPORTER OF MM, UNTIL I DISCOVERED THAT:-
1. HE WAS THE ONE WHO WROTE A FAMOUS LETTER TO TAR B4 MAY 13TH WHICH WAS REFERED TO IN TAR BOOK "13TH MAY DAY AND NIGHT".
2. THE PROJECTS HE SANCTIONED WERE SOMETIMES "WHITE ELEPHANTS" AND STILL ARE.
3. HE SPENT THE RAKYAAT'S MONEY NORTH SOUTH EAST AND WEST BUT THERE ARE STILL
RAKYAAT'S WHO DO NOT HAVE BASIC NECESSACITIES IN MALAYSIA.
4. DURING HIS TENURE, HE SYSTEMATICALLY BROUGHT THE WHOLE GOVERNMENT (THE JUDICIARY, AND PARLIAMENT) SYSTEM OF DEMOCRACY TO ITS KNEES, AND MADE THE EXECUTIVE TOO POWERFULL. DEMOCRACY WAS CUT TO SIZE.
ETC ETC
THE MONARCHY
I have always revered the monarchy, and constitutionally regard them as another check and balance on the excessive power in the hands of the "executive", although the check and balance has been curtailed by MM. We can also consider the monarch as a second conscience of the executive. So i do support them.
On the other hand if money is the issue and not the monarch existence, then if you guys feel it is too much, you can request parliament to reduce or altogether stop financing the monarch, we the rakyaat have no right to abolish them as being monarchs. So please stop talking about abolishing the institution of monarchs.

written by yuenthiam, June 03, 2009 14:12:34

"Strange isn't it? I wonder why the Chinese and Indians attack Dr Mahathir only when he is no longer the PM."

I agree with Truthbespoken. If only MToday were born sooner!!

Thanks Pete for giving us MT. Through MT, you have given many of us the "silent ones" the belated opportunity to voice our deep anger and hatred toward that man who has no integrity and who institionalized corruption.....that dishonest, treacherous, liar who, together with his cronies, ruined and plundered the country!
written by Oscar Winner, June 03, 2009 14:13:55
written by Rhan, June 03, 2009 11:42:49

....Lastly to Oscar boy, you may go any place you like but don’t pull us along la.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Rhan, I suppose this line was written in response to one of my comments above. Ah....sorry, I definitely am not able to pull you along. It's a choice one has to make. I will not want to continue to fool myself, believing that those UMNO bigots did not mean what they say about chinese being pendatangs and can go back to china if we choose to. Once in a while they will remind us, and it's also their way of reminding their kind to bear in mind that the chinese are actually pendatangs who must be grateful and kowtow to the landlords, despite the fact that the constitution guaranttees equal rights for all. Also, these bigots keep reminding the malay majority that they must be wary of the chinese minority. Saddam's minority ruled and terrorised Iraqis, right now I'm waiting for someone to enlighten me besides M'sia, which country's ruling majority is afraid of the minority. So you see, these UMNO bigots are fanning racism for their own political agenda. Do I see an end in sight? No, unless BN is overthrown and I can see new hope.

Until then, my heart is somewhere else. It's the end result of UMNO's political hegemony and domination. We don't demand more than what's guaranteed in the constitution. We just want to be treated equal

Lastly, do you know what "untuk agama, bangsa dan...." means? Your agama? Your bangsa? Your tanah??
written by ez24get, June 03, 2009 14:16:51

See http://sjsandteam.*********.co...yal-screw/

1.Does Malaysia need 9 (actually 10 because of 1 common one for all in KL) of the above?

2.UK with a GDP of US$2.231 trillion (200smilies/cool.gif has one of them and Malaysia with a GDP of only US$386.6 billion (200smilies/cool.gif has 9 1 of them in one small dot of the world map!

3.The cost is not exactly tea lady cost as or even a few million $ as RPK mentioned but a few billion $ collectively. That does not even include the offices, assets and salaries of people surrounding the monarchy!

4.Do we have enough dialysis machines? Hospitals? Schools? Houses, water, electricity for the poor? Do we have a good public transportation system? Do thousands of poor families have three meals a day? Ironically, the ones most affected are the poor rural Malays who look up to the monarchy!

5.If the monarchy is needed by the Malays to maintain the continuality their culture and perseveration of their race just one of the above would be sufficient. UK has one. Thailand has one. All the rest has one. Nine additional ones result in wastages and duplication.

6.It is ludicrous to suggest that if the Chinese do not agree with 9 of the 10 of them, they are branded as anti-malays! The Chinese are pragmatic people and abhor wastages. Being pragmatic and thrifty doesn’t equate to anti-malays! Only UMNO will equate to that!

7.I don’t think RPK has lost his marbles this time. I think for some reason he wants the people to provide a feed-back to the monarchy especially in the last few days there were many articles on the monarchy!
written by SimpleSoul, June 03, 2009 14:17:01
Sad but true.. there still racist people exist. I wonder whenever you turn to a recruitment section, you will find phrases like..

Chinese prefered
Mandarin speaking only
Chinese speaking will have added advantage

For why they exist? I dont know. Not to say everyone in Malaysia cant speak malay or understand each other some of rather.
written by ksmaniam, June 03, 2009 14:18:04
Kedaulatan Melayu
Again you defame out intelligence, as MT readers we know who relies on KM, the monarch do not. Don't equate those two.
Anti Malay
RPK, this is too much, r u inciting us?
Perhaps you should remove your blinkers once a while when you check the articles you write.
Cummon RPK, enough, don't u see you actually wrote that which you do not like others to write or comment.
AAAAAiyah RPK what happened to you, my 2 cents worth.

written by Conan Chung, June 03, 2009 14:18:23
By now, its already 12 hours since the 1st comment was made and Pete is no longer responding to the comments made. For those who still bother to read the comment, I have to say this is by far the most "heated" article I read; drawing many negative response from a lot of sides.

RPK has mentioned several times of abolishing the Police since it was corrupt, stop government spending on schools and other sorts of government projects. In short, he's telling us to live in the stone-age since development creates opportunity for corruption. And to this, many have responded negatively, calling him a sorry bastard or what not.

But many have missed the point here; he's just using those as a comparison, like many who suggested abolishing the monarchy to save cost since monarchy serves no purpose, he's using the same rhetoric in suggesting that there should be no government spending to prevent corruption. Utter nonsense right? Same goes for abolishing Monarchy to save a puny few millions.

Admittedly, many Chinese do not like the Monarchy for many reasons. So far, the Monarchy has appeared to be a toothless tiger which has not done anything to stop rampant abuses by the BN government. To some, they are even collaborators, only robbing the rakyat's money without giving any benefit in return. Some are even involved in various international scandals. Can you really blame them (the Chinese) for thinking that way when everything that has happened portrayed the Monarchy as such??

But the Chinese do not understand that Monarch is very much a Malay culture and tradition. The Monarch to the Malays are like Chinese New Year, dumplings, dim sum, HK TVB series to the Chinese people; its part of their identity. It is their pride and symbol and removing that symbol will remove the very last vestiges of what it means to be Malaysian Malay. Its like a man without balls; a man in name but no longer a "real" man.

I guess another way to put it is to abolish liquor and gambling in Malaysia. How would the Chinese feel if it comes to this? Well, the same goes for the Malays, how would they feel deprived of the symbol: Monarchy. What the people really need to be concentrating is exercising our rights as voters. Its one of our "methods" as citizens in taking out a corrupt government. And i won't be flying off to any other country just because the current government is marginalizing us. It should be those in power that should be removed; not the other way round.
And I won't be forced out from the country I belong to. Malaysia does not belong to any particular people. It belongs to all who are born in Malaysia after its inception and no one can take away my birthright!!

written by budakindia, June 03, 2009 14:24:08
Yes! I'm black and racist as Hell! Happy now Pete? smilies/grin.gif Stay safe Pete wherever you are! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Tan Tan, June 03, 2009 14:30:30
Rhan,

Aiya Tan Tan, while we meet up with Hkers, Taiwanese, Singaporean and Mainlanders, we always told them we are Malaysian. Only in Malaysia we claim we are Chinese, and we have to claim we are Chinese. You mean your classmate call you Malaysian Babi?

Tan Tan - Now you are being funny. If you tell ppls you are Malaysian, then why do u wanna bother claiming we are Chinese in Malaysia?

One glance at you also know you are Chinese, why need to claim?

What I am saying is that I noticed when other nations chinese asked a Malaysian Chinese where you come from and the standard answer is Malaysia and then these other nation chinese started to call us MA LAY YAN (people of Malaya), most of us are so bothered to explain that we are Malaysian Chinese and not Ma Lay Yan ( as ma lay yan sound to us as Melayu).

Basically, other nation chinese only view you as other nation ppls and we are so bothered being called a Malay yan because we thought it is as Melayu. We should be proud of being a Malaysian. No need to tell ppls we are Malaysian CHINESE as no one care but us. However, if we care so much being a Chinese than a Malaysian, which most of us are, then ask yourself these questions:

1) Which other Chinese countries willing to accept you as their new citizen without you having lots of money to invest at these country?
2) Why are you upset when Malaysia Melayu called us pendatang when you know you are born here but still u wanna tell these Malaysia Melayu that you are Malaysian CHINESE and even consider telling them I am Malaysian like you.
3) The fact is most Malaysian Chinese cannot afford to migrate and stuck here. If this is the fact, we only can demand to have a better life in Malaysia. By achieving this, we started to act as a Malaysian and stop nonsense about being Malaysian Chinese.

a) start speaking good Bahasa Malaysia and at the same time able to speak our mother tongue. how dare you to demand anything in Malaysia whereby you even speak the national language.

b) how many malays or indian friends do u actually see or hangout with? If u still only comfortable to eat, sleep, hangout with chinese because in your mind, they speak chinese...think again...most of us speak rojak language of English, malay, chinese, hokkien...

c) if you still think the government is corrupted because THEY ARE MALAYS and your vote dun make a different (when you are so lazy to register as voter)and there is no hope of changes and u still sit at mamak complaining this and tat, I suggest you burn your IC away because u not qualify to be call a Malaysian. U r just a chinese who complain.
written by Tan Tan, June 03, 2009 14:41:58
As Chinese in Malaysia, we are outnumbered.

As Indian in Malaysia, we are minority.

As Malays in Malaysia, we lack of support.

Basically, all these is the "war" between Old Malaysian and New Malaysian.

Old Malaysian find solution to have each races being represented by their own ppls and May 13th is the result of one races emerge to power without support of other races.

New Malaysian wants a better life. A better Malaysia. Don't want problems to affect them to enjoy their life. Therefore, New Malaysian needs to learn things had changed, only by unity, we can become majority and as majority we can bring changes.

So stop talking about which races u r from because it is a deadlock and full of problem. Think ahead, how to be strong and only by unity as a nation call MALAYSIAN, we can bring changes to Malays, Indian and Chinese.

Most of our Great grand fathers, grandfathers and parents are OLD Malaysian. Most of us are unsure whether we are part of Old Malaysian or New Malaysian. But we all wanted the same thing....better life in Malaysia.

OLD Malaysian too used to their way and trying their best to maintain power at the expenses of all Malaysians.

So now, who are u? New or OLD Malaysian?
written by AlwaysFair, June 03, 2009 14:43:32
""I think we should abolish insurance and save billions each year, more than what we spend to maintain the Monarchy.""

I have many Malay friends and am no racist but I oppose anyone who is corrupt and commits wrongdoings whether monarchy or not.

I almost fully agree with your article except the above statement; why insurance costs is compared to monarchy costs. It is very obvious we buy insurance which will mainly bring benefits upon death for protection so definitely there is a benefit to us. The monarch (except for the Pahang sultan who I find to be a very caring royalty) mostly not only don't benefit us directly, the recent behaviour of one left much to be desired. No benefit, never mind, but don't deprive the rakyat.

To take sides with a party who is perceived to have "robbed" the rakyat of their rights may have caused this backlash which I find to be merely natural.
However I do concede that the Pahang sultan is always on the scene when any disaster happens (seen on TV) and he really seems to be a good and caring royal.
If the others emulate him more maybe the rakyat will feel differently.

written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 14:44:15
But the Chinese do not understand that Monarch is very much a Malay culture and tradition. - Conan Chung

I didn't know keeping sex slave and having no balls to stand up for what is right was part of Malay culture and tradition
written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 14:51:18
How about that royal celup Tunku Bijan and his sworn brudder Baginda Rojak? A Mongolian woman was blown up with C4, to protect Malay culture and tradition oso?
written by Rhan, June 03, 2009 14:56:31
Oscar,

We need to remain calm while being provoked, otherwise nothing will change for the next 50 years. Sorry I am a bit impolite on my first comment.
written by AhSeng, June 03, 2009 14:58:01
If there's anything good about the Monarchy it has since been destroyed and it was the Royals themselves to blame. Raja Nazrin said he will protect the Monarchy at all cost, what, we say thank you izit? Please lah, there are more closet republicans in Malays than there are in Chinese, period!
written by Ocassey, June 03, 2009 15:09:25
Stay calm, Pete. Take more B-Complex, we should stick together, Pete, you are doing shadow boxing(taichi), from somewhere probably safe from the Malaysian long arms with alloy claws ! Our common foes will feel your blows every time your shadow palms go for their groins. They are "ouching and ouching" and still cannot lay their filthy hands on you.We would rather be compacted into a rectangular block of still alive and unknown( hopefully) invisible freedom fighters...unless the powers that be want to do a "kill all Jewish children below the age of five" or "dig out all roots to exterminate the growth of weeds ". Your blog is trusted to keep inaccessible our IDs, unless ..... . Hey, you are still trying to nail the real killer/s of one pregnant lass who was if not prettier than Manohara. There you see, very powerful shadows at play and still live on to cause havoc in the nation. Even korek-korek could get away even being videoed. See what honesty has done to CSL? We are actually residing in our closets in your oversea wardrobe!!shadows and all to continue to rid the nation of babarians who are everywhere and in all classes of society regardless of race, religion and status. You prodded at the hornet but most of the wasps that are attacking you are from the connected stables of Armno. WE , your staunch supporters and fans consider you our Sun Yat Sen. Do not be dishearthened and disillusioned at all.
written by lobster, June 03, 2009 15:34:50
First of all, Daulat Tuanku!
Secondly, I whole heartedly agree with Conan Chung, and wish to take a step further: how about banning religion? no churches and temples, save a lot of money too.
Thirdly, please get rid of your pendatang mentality if you do not want to be labeled as one.
written by Taiping60, June 03, 2009 15:45:29
Dear Raja Petra,

Frankly, this is one of the worst and irresponsible article from you.

Firstly, I dont agree with you that those who call for abolishment of Monarchy are all racists. There could be some who have gone overboard but I do many have to do with the events in Perak. To me, they merely state their positions, we may not agree with them but it got nothing to do with racism. Just like you, when you equate Monarchy to Malay, you too can be consider racist. To me, for constitutional monarch to continue, they must be accepted by the people, the monarchs have to display impartiality to their subjects. They should be above politic and should be race blind. To me, they are the pillars of stability and harmony. In the event of doubt and stability, monarch should step in to disfuse instability. They are the higher people can turn for help. Although, the event in Perak does not turn out to be a good example of what monarch should do, nevertheless the monarch has a important role to play. Just like the event relating to Elizabeth's photo scandal. The Sultan of Selangor step in to defuse the situation. You can feel the impact of his decision.

History has shown us, most monarchs in other part of the world were replaced with other system due to greed, abuse, in fighting and no action. I suppose the same applied here although with different magnitude. I am not against Monarchy System and I believe most Malaysians are in the same boat as me. But those who are for the Monarchy System, want them to be responsible, fair and act without fear or favour to ensure Malaysia and Malaysians at large benefit.

On the part of branding these people racist just because they call for abolishment of Monarchy System. The is the freedom of speech and perhap in Malaysia we are not ready yet. I would rather you bar those who went overboard otherwise it would have appear you condone it since it is in your blog.

Like I have once commented in one of RPK's article, when you are angry keep your mouth shut and don't write anything. Otherwise you may live to regret it. If we are advocating for united Malaysian, what you did in this article, certainly won't help.
written by fearless, June 03, 2009 15:53:49
This posting was deleted by so-called freedom fighter, RPK. Remember he is a part of monarchy system,

====

RPK said anti-monarchy is anti-malay is just politically correct in Malaysia.

Monarchy is not linked and specified to any race in the world history, monarchy system is just one of the political systems created by the humankind.

IF the population in this country is 99% malay, I believe malay themselves will kick out monarchy system like in Indonesia. I don't believe Malay Javanese in Indonesia anti-themselves for abolishing monarchy system.

Because of 40% population is non-Malay, malay monarchy is artifically made or promoted as a symbol of Malay sovereignty solely for political reason.

I do agree with RPK, racists are found in every race, not just from UMNO.
written by tan_eng, June 03, 2009 15:55:14

I will agree on your take that most Malaysians are hypocrite racist for now but i stand firm in my believe that we can change them. No person is born racist RPK, thats why if you have noticed , in my comments (long time ago) , i have even called Malaysian to extends our warm hands to UMNO as well as other BN component parties.

I am against the Monarch not because $$$$ (Money), i think that would be a silly excuse even though i don't know how much money we are spending on them but because their inability to remain impartial and to do the right thing.

You said to "parsona" , we need the monarch so we won't have military taking over by UMNO / BN (I think it is a lame excuse as well - > No offense RPK), I have this perception that UMNO doesn't have to worry much about Monarch if they want to impose military law in Malaysia because they can just pay the Monarch to do so and later claim that is was solely decided by the monarch.

Don't get the wrong idea that i am supporting "parsona"'s argument. I don't believe anyone can be impartial and serve everyone while being a racist. I despise racist.

And don't worry about Malaysians blaming your blood line, there are alot of us who are like you and we understand and sometimes share your situation.

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia.

written by Super Admin, June 03, 2009 15:59:47
fearless, RPK does not delete postings because he does not moderate the comments.
written by Yee Poh Chai, June 03, 2009 16:01:34
I do not deny that most of these pro republic supporters are Chinese and you are right in assuming that we see the Monarchy as the symbol of kedaulatan melayu.

The question is whether its our fault if we feel that way, the racist establishment has always used them as that symbol and they have allowed themselves to be used as that symbol, while there are probably many who are decent but the point is that time and time again they dig their own graves.

They allow themselves to be used and then are unhappy when people have negative views on them, if u behave like the Grimaldi's how then can you be unhappy when people view your family badly, if its respect you want the Juan Carlos should be your example.

Admittedly, many chinese have not taken the effort to understand the malay psyche, if they did they would understand the role of the malay roylaty, but then again were we given an opportunity to learn, after all our education taught us that the heroes and examples were the commoners like Tuan and Tun Perak, whereas Sultan's cut open women's stomachs.

Do not see it as attacks but criticisms, but then if we did it openly then we get charged in court, you a fellow royal "kena buang negeri". Prior to the Perak debacle, the goodwill and respect for the Royalty particularly His Majesty The Yang Dipertuan Agong and HRH Sultan Azlan Shah were at levels never before seen, people realised that they were doing what they were supposed to.

But the Perak debacle changed that, while I agree that HRH Sultan Azlan Shah exercised his perogative, nevertheless you and Tengku Razaleigh among others have said that the decision was made under pressure, surely you cannot expect the minds of the Rakyat to run wild after such a comment.

Do we not have the right to be angry and frustrated, especially when we had placed so much hope in them, perhaps some of your readers are not so articulate as to correctly express their frustration and it appears as if it was an attack, if so isn't your article casting aspersions on the integrity of the Chinese Malaysians and generalising all of us into one category.
written by Arowana, June 03, 2009 16:01:49
Hope it is not another Rocky Bru in the making.

Congratulation Najis Tong Sampah.
written by fendyoasis, June 03, 2009 16:04:47
Dear Admin,
Is it possible for u to put a link on the IDs of the people here to direct us particulars of the ID of since when they have been a member of MT website? I suspect that some of them are probably using different IDs but are the same user. It would help to gauge this member if he or she is he a real genuine contributor or just some coward who hides behind different nicks and then gave damn stupid remarks. Just a suggestion.

Btw I criticized RPK in the past and as a mark of respect to him (although i dont agree with him) I gave admin my real name and the place i where i work when i regsitered as an MT member so that RPK knows the man who criticize him as I know his.

written by marbl3s, June 03, 2009 16:43:31
Racist? Maybe. I don't deny that i can be at times racist.

But to use the Monarchy as an in-direct approach to show my racism? That is just not true.

RPK, let me tell you why i do not like the monarchy.

Living in penang, i am so bladdy grateful that my state do not have a sultan. Frankly speaking, i just don't see the use of a Sultan when all a sultan does is to receive millions every year and all they do mostly is either grant people Datukships to ridiculous people that don't deserve it anyway, appearing on some special events or just go on a annual holiday trip paid by the tax payers.

Question is, why do they really need all this money when they are doing just that? You always talk about helping malaysia and helping the poor. Yep. You even brag about it. But i guess you most probably being fed by tax payers (since you're part of the monarchy as well) do not see what I see.

Why don't you explain to those living in the teluk kumbar kampung area where they are struggling to make ends meet why the monarchy has the privilege to wear gold necklaces, rings and even a crown when all they do is just to go for an annual trip all paid for by the tax payers for the little things these royalties do?

Are you telling me that these should be given since they are part of the royalties and it is their rights to enjoy such privileges? Then i guess you are no different from UMNO i guess. They too are fighting for such privileges.

Again. Racist? Maybe... but i am fedup with the monarchy not because i hate malays or muslims. I hate the monarchy simply because the monarchy still have yet to play any major roles in anything even when our country is going through such a bad time. If these royalties can really step up and help the country, if they want more money, go ahead and take it. But when you tell me things are happening (e.g. the incident of the Perak Speaker or two raja muda fighting in a club) while the royalties close a blind eye, then i guess there isn't a need for them to be there when they are just so redundant.

p/s: yeah i am chinese. so what?
written by Running Sardines, June 03, 2009 16:49:52
Dear Pete

I know abolishing the Monarchy at this point of time WILL AND CANNOT save money for us, the commoner or the fella in the street. Reason is because the same corrupted habits or practices are here to stay in Malaysia, with or without the Monarchy. For example, a new 3.2MP digital camera costs only in the region of RM700 in a shop but in a Government tender project, its price will be in thousands. So, how do we make sure our hard earned tax payer money being spent 'correctly' and to its worth ? And is this possible ? We talked about transparency, meritocracy etc. but I doubt it can really be done in Malaysia.

I do wonder what is wrong with the values in some of us. Maybe we need to have a catastrophe i.e. giant earthquake or tsunami in order to remind us that our life on earth is short but eternity is forever. Why do we keep on doing things that are morally wrong like depriving others of their fair share (kill off your competitors before they kill you), injustice, 'fitnah', power grab etc ? May God have mercy during judgement day.
written by cllim123, June 03, 2009 16:59:10
RPK, sorry to say this but I think you have gone mad here. Calling for the monarchy's dissolution is not racist. Just that I do not think that anyone should be borne above everyone else and above the law and taken care of by the rest of the people.

And royalty do not safeguard the interest of the people by preventing tyranny or rule by junta. Infact it can be vice versa as has been shown in Perak. The Umno bandits are now hiding behing the monarch to claim legitimacy when they have none. How the Sultan decided to sack Nizar but only after having met with Najib stinks of the obvious.

There is nothing racist about my views here.
written by bodohland_citizen, June 03, 2009 17:16:53
What else should I be?
All apologies.
What else could I say?
Everyone is gay.
What else could I write?
I don't have the right.
What else should I be?
All Apologies.

In the sun
In the sun I feel as one
In the sun
In the sun
Married!
Buried!

I wish I was like you
Easily amused
Find my nest of salt
Everything is my fault
I'll take all the blame
I'll proceed from shame
Sunburn with freezer burn
Choking on the ashes of her enemy

In the sun
In the sun I feel as one
In the sun
In the sun
Married, Married, Married!
Buried!
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah,

All alone is all we all are [x20]
written by Fairminded, June 03, 2009 17:25:45
Dear simplesoul. I have to reiterate again that every debate invariable goes back to race. For one thing, this is a debate whether Malaysia should be a constitutional Monarchy or a Republican government system. It just happened that the Monarchy is Malay. So it is not a debate of the Chinese against the Malay Monarch but many Malays are having doubts too,just like the ongoing debate in England. Chinese Malaysians are in the minority and they can never change the constitution without a 2/3 majority, so relax RPK and simplesoul, the Chinese is not about to take over Malaysia or abolish the Monarchy. Frankly I am a born and bred Malaysian Chinese and I or my family or my friends had never even give Monarchy a thought whether against it or not. In crude and simple language, we dont give a shit. We are more worried about how the BN government is corrupted, the NEP that deprives us our educational rights (while paying most of the taxes), the erosion of civil rights for all and the rising crime. As for some advertisement for jobs requiring Chinese language skill, let's face it, it is just a language skill just like it needs a knowledge of the English Language to deal with American businesses. As China grew into a major market and manufacturer one had to be able to work in the language otherwise you needed translators which will be too costly. Imagine if simplesoul is employed by a company that do business with the Chinese and he cannot speak Chinese. This company will have to employ a translator. In order for the the translator to work well he/she will have to know the business well. So if the translator can work in Chinese and starts to know the business well, then what is the point of employing simplesoul? Paying him/her just to sit down doing nothing? Do you think that you can do business with Americans if you cannot communicate in English? So knowledge of English is a job requirement and not racism. As the world is globalizing, those with more language skills are more marketable. So someday dont be surprised that job vacancies requirements will be Spanish, the major language in South American Countries. So get out of the racism paradym and start to learn more languages. If not dont just put it down to racism. I cannot speak German or Spanish or French, and there are companies adverising job vaccancies with these requirements. I do not accuse them of racism but just have to accept the fact that I do not have these language skills and have two choices - Only go for jobs that I have the skills or go to night school to learn, not not rant and rave about racism. Some day, in 2020 I hope, if Malaysia is developed to such a state that it can advertise jobs with "Malay language skill is a must" then I will not accuse it of racism. The other problems in employing sales people is that Muslims can only do business with muslims because of entertainment. If you dont drink, eat freely everything then it is quite difficult to net work especially in China. So please do not put everything as racism. It is just a work or job requirements that perhaps does not suit you.
written by dumbfounded, June 03, 2009 17:33:00
No, I don’t agree that anti monarchy is the same as anti Malay.
Yes, there are racist in all races.
Yes, I’m Chinese and I do wonder if the monarchy is worth their keep since the Perak fiasco and the Manohara yet to be proven abuse. Now I’m also recalling the Johor Sultan & golf caddy incident some years back.
No I don’t know how much it cost to keep the monarchy comfortable, but hopefully less than PKFZ.
Yes I agree that IF the monarchy can stop this country from being taken over by military, then it is worth keeping the monarchy. But when push comes to shove, will they do what’s best for the rakyat? I’m not so sure after Perak. Why is US not afraid of being taken over by military since they don’t have a monarchy?
No I don’t consider myself a racist. But then again, who am I to judge myself?
Yes Raja Petra has sacrificed a lot for the good of the country. He has taken risks that many of us would not have taken if we’re honest to ourselves. That is undeniable. And it is wise of him to protect himself by hiding. He is a selfless man and I wish him a healthy long life to see the reforms he fought so hard for.
written by dhananda, June 03, 2009 17:46:37
A Democratic Monarchy or a Republic is neither here nor there. It's splitting hairs as far as I am concerned and as long as the government is just and for the Rakyat, I will support that government. The real issue is we have 10 Monarchs which the Rakyat have been supporting without question. Is there any other democratic monarchy in this world with 10 monarchs? Is it wrong now to ask questions of the Monarchs when we and our forefathers as Malaysians have spilt blood, sweat & tears to build this country we call Malaysia? This same country where these 10 Monarchs and their families enjoy the luxuries that we the Rakyat endow upon them whether right or wrong. We no longer live in the dark ages or in a feudal system. We are I believe a progressive nation. Maybe it is time to say that we should have only one Monarch or none at all. I don’t have the answer nor do I pretend to have the answer. I do however believe that there should be accountability and there should be transparency. Is it really necessary to have 10 luxury cars parked in the garage or a palace laced with gold or trips to London to gamble thousands away when just around the corner there are many Malaysian families trying very hard to make ends meet. I also truly believe that no one should be above the law regardless of status. At the end of the day we are only flesh & blood. We are no different from one another whatever race or religion we may be.
written by Oscar Winner, June 03, 2009 18:12:01
Rhan,

No problem. I have no way to know the tone you use since I only read what you write. You being rude didn't cross my mind, and FYI I wasn't provoked. Cheers
written by carribeanking7, June 03, 2009 18:25:37

Iam inclined to think, that much of the vitriol towrd the monarchy is a knee jerk reaction to the debacle in Perak, when I wrote a polite appeal to Sultan Azlan to consider a third option http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17756/84/ well many said that I was a naive fool.This was of course avoidable if they had dissolved state assembly as you advised when the tomfoolery was beginning and assemblypersons were mysteriously incommunicado.had Sultan Azlan dissolved the assembly he would be hailed by those who now take him to task.
In fact in many cases when royalty took BN to task with Menteri Besar appointments many cheered.
I have tried explaining to many that the behaviour of the royal household does not negate the Royal institution which is an integral part of our federal constitution, we have yet to know the convoluted consequences of abolishing the monarchy, yet some who have not even read thru the federal constitution glibly demand their removal.These people mistake Royalty for the royal institution.Are we even ready for a Presidential and Governorship system ? Even JKKK system cannot be properly managed.
With a tainted judiciary, partisan police force, askar wataniah hanging on to the home ministers words, I am convinced that if the Monarchy were removed tommorrow Malaysia will become a bonafide banana republic that will give Mugabe a run for his money.

written by chin, June 03, 2009 19:39:02
I would not comment on the Malaysian monarchs because it is seditious. But if you did add up the cost of maintaining the monarchs in each state, it is no small sum. And there are so many of them.

Remember that the monarchs have their finger in the economic pie as well and this hardly makes someone unbiased if they stands to gain from the right decisions.

Head of the army ???? Ceremonial head you mean. Act as counterbalance ????? When and how?

Fair ??? You can go to jail if you criticize them. And sometimes they ain't even in the know, their caretakers (UMNO) are very efficient.

As to whether we should abolish the monarchy system ? I think we are not in the position to comment, only their employers has the right to fire them. And I don't think they are accountable to the people.

I am only hoping that one day we get to elect the PM. And RPK, how else would you want your readers to argue this seditious topic.
written by marbl3s, June 03, 2009 20:06:34
I am really curious as to whether if RPK will turn us in to the police for such seditious remarks. hahahahahaha

Oh well smilies/smiley.gif Let's test the value of freedom of speech which RPK is fighting for.
written by DontPlayGod, June 03, 2009 21:22:43
I have to disagree with RPK here that calling for the abolishment of the monarchy is being racist. In Nepal, they called for an end to the royalty and got it. Is that being racist. In Britain, a good proportion of the British are republican-minded, and question why the people should pay good money to support the royal family. Are they being racist? In Ethiopia some more than 20 years ago, they shot the whole royal family(I don't agree with that shooting!), so is that being racist!. The Ehiopians will call that being patriotic.
written by Raja Petra, June 03, 2009 21:41:21
Dear DontPlayGod, you mean the 'pendatang' population in Nepal asked for the Nepalese Monarch to be removed? Anyway, you have just helped reinforce what Umno is telling the Malays about the enemies of the Malays trying to undermine the Raja-raja Melayu. Actually Umno needs not do too much nowadays. They just sit back and say: there, what did we tell you?

Dear marbl3s, freedom of speech can only be given to those who understand its value. I would be very wary of giving it to fools the same way I would not give them a gun.

Dear chin, did I say we can't debate the Monarchy? You must have read that from another website. What I said was debate intelligently and not use stupid arguments. Umno tells the Malays that the Chinese pray to money and that money is their God. Then you use the save money argument to justify abolishing the Monarchy and prove Umno correct 100%.

Dear cllim123, I suppose whenever I say something that you don't like it must be because I am mad. I better start saying the right things from now on so that I can get your approval. After all, your approval is so important and I doubt I can get a good night's sleep unless you say nice things about me.

Dear Arowana, I was worried about that as well. Anyone who criticises the opposition must be a traitor who sold out for money. There can be no other reason other than that. How come I never thought of something so simple as that?
written by Johnson, June 03, 2009 21:42:45

Dear everyone,

No point arguing with insulting and emotional comments flying around. Some old saying, respect is what you earn from others.

Monarchy has to do a better job in public relation. Even though their image is being tarnished by someone or MSM, it is their responsibility to defend it and keep their image clean, then only the people will understand and support them. There are ways to do that, even the country most wanted person can do that, why cant they?

In the critical time where the people are against the government, the Monarchy has to think twice where they take their stand. They should never forget that people (rakyat as MT likes to use) are their precious assets, without the people, they are nothing.

I do not mind 100 RPK-like-sultan 'wasting' our money, but not one _______________ (fill in the blank).

In Uk, the Royal family have great accountability on their act, if anything where public against with, they have no choice but to apologize and suffer the public criticism.

Relax everyone, don’t get labelled as racists or extremists.

Have a nice day, and take care! (Especially you dear RPK)
Johnson

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by temanmu, June 03, 2009 22:49:43
I think I read in here that 90% of tax money comes from the Chinese ... that money can be put to better use than providing a fairy tale life-style to a few blue-bloods!

written by johnT, June 03, 2009 22:55:55
I would like to make it clear to all the reader here and also to all the Monarchy. Sultan is not only the King for the Malays. Sultan is also the King for the Chinese and India who are Malaysian Citizenship. Sultan is also the umbrella for me as a chinese born malaysia cause I been teach that by my Malay teacher when I was in School.

So I hope Sultan or any Putera Mahkota try to avoid rasict issue cause thay are the King for all the Rakyat nomatter Malays, Chinese, Indian or Iban.
If Sultan side the UMNO playing racist issue Chinese and others will hate the Monarchy. Same thing if the Sultan side the Chinese , Malays will angry with Sultan, So I think is better if Sultan play the role of building harmony between all the races in Malaysia and become the unbrella to all the rakyat no matter what colour skin they are as long they are malaysian.
written by lskong, June 03, 2009 23:44:09
it doesn't really matter... as someone already pointed out, as a cinaman, i can only rant. abolishing the monarchy or not is none of our business... and my state doesn't have a sultan...
but if anyone ask... i would say, i don't mind paying for a prince to marry a fairytale 15yo girl and put malaysia on the map again, but as for perak... oh perak.... such disappointment. probably because the higher the expectation the greater the disappointment...
written by lampard, June 04, 2009 01:25:12
ZZZZzzzzz.... Any comment on the royal razor on them tits?
written by parsona, June 04, 2009 02:27:15

After some time to think, I think your reason on how the monarchy is important to prevent umno from making Malaysia a military state... I think its bullcrap. The monarchy and umno has a symbiotic relationship now, you scratch my back, I scratch yours. Umno will help the monarchy get away with all their childish fancies and fetishes like razoring titties, feeding them tax payers money to fuel their luxurious lifestyles, while the monarchy will allow umno to rape the rakyat and even assist umno in illegally removing an MB. Tell me how this isn't true!
written by johnT, June 04, 2009 02:40:40
Dear RPK
I read your comment again and want to make some correction, Nobody is perfect. Situation is like this, no Chinese or Indian will like it when the monarchy make some racist statement. But when the chinese not agree with monarchy statement does not mean thay are racist. Is this call racist when someone who have been taken away thier basic human right and ask for it been call racist? It is wrong when they critise Monarcy in the internet without showing thier idendity is a coward? Not everyone is brave like RPK. Nobody want to go to ISA including me

I love the King 100% cause I been teach so since I was a student and I hope the king i Love also love me and not treat me as a anak tiri.
written by Raja Petra, June 04, 2009 02:44:37
parsona, lantak kau lah. Aku peduli apa engkau percaya ke tak percaya. Itu engkau punya pasal lah.
written by Raja Petra, June 04, 2009 03:01:27
Why the **** you guys keep repeating I don't allow comment or criticism of the Monarchy? All you idiots can't read English or what? Will you all stop alleging I said what I did not say! There is even a Chinaman who accuse me of deleting his comment, which is a stupid comment in the first place.

And what's the big deal if you disagree with my views? That is your right after all. It does not perturb me one bit. But why must you mock me to demonstrate that you disagree with my views? Is it unless you mock me then you are not able to prove that you disagree with my views?

Seriously, I don't know why I even bother with you lot. Maybe I should just wash my hands over this whole stupid business. You just can't give flowers to monkeys. It does not work.
written by SamBall, June 04, 2009 04:33:59
The monarchy mean nothing to me & I want nothing from then.

In a democracy there is no place for free loaders; everyone earns his / her keep....

As for being racist, I have 50 years of experience, so there you have it, not so easy to give up is it?
written by kenny, June 04, 2009 04:54:40
RPK says: "It does not perturb me one bit. But why must you mock me to demonstrate that you disagree with my views? Is it unless you mock me then you are not able to prove that you disagree with my views?"

Guys, we have to be honest with ourselves! It has become a noticeable trend of late that some commenters have been unnecessarily using rude and disrespectful words on Pete in their comments. You guys might not mean it but I'm sure you know it's not the same for the one at the receiving end, especially when it comes to patriot like Pete. Please ask yourselves if you are not being cocky and going overboard. What's with the cheap thrill in the use of unkind words that you don't even bother whether Pete feels insulted or not?

None of us are qualified enough to climb over Pete's head in terms of contribution to the country. So stop hammering lice on the tiger's head!
written by fearless, June 04, 2009 05:25:29
Kilam50, mind to share with us the reasons behind anti-Chinese riots in these countries.

"The Indonesians, Papua New Guinea and may be in the Soloman Islands many Chinese concerns have been attacked. Why?"

WHY? Because these countries are under a racist regime who cannot manage their economy and feed their own people. Chinese in these countries got no guns to rob native people unlike the white people in Australia and America.

Why Chinese is attacked? Because Chinese are stupid not to arm themselves like the communist party of malay and protect themselves with guns, they are easy scapegoat to divert your (UMNO Malay) problem.

Faham tak?
www.nkkhoo.com
written by kenny, June 04, 2009 06:14:17
Fearless,

Nobody is idolizing RPK here, so leave Tua Pek Kong worshipping aside.

It's about commenters unnecessarily and disrespectfully using bad words on RPK. I don't think you'd wish MT members ourselves to climb on top of RPK's head, would you? If so, we might as well set up another MT ourselves.
written by fearless, June 04, 2009 06:42:39
Kenny, I think RPK is the one using four letters word against me, but I will not retaliate with the same way. smilies/grin.gif

I agree with you, some Chinese here are racists with insensitve comments against malay monarchy and RPK. They are typical NATO [no action talk only] cowards.
written by kenny, June 04, 2009 06:59:19
When we deeply appreciate the work of someone, we give that someone the due credit. And along with it comes respect.

If we have an employer, we don't freely shout back at him when ticked off, like some people do, do we?

And RPK is much more valuable than any employer, especially when it comes to Malaysia's future.

I don't always agree with RPK, and I give my rebuttal politely, not that I'm very polite by nature. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Good day to you, Fearless.
written by garfunky, June 04, 2009 09:46:39
At first, reading this article kind of dissapointed me.
RPK seems to be genuinely angry with MT readers.

But after reading the comments, I am even more dissapointed, but with the readers instead, and now I know what RPK was saying all along.

Honestly, I always thought the majority of MT readers to be "better", more knowledgable, have more common sense, and above all have more integrity. Looks like I was wrong.

Half of you missed the point of the article, and then there are others are just plain idiots who think they know everything and get pissy at anyone who disagrees with them.

How different are you guys from the people you hate if you refuse to argue in a more intellectual and respectful manner? You call Najib, Musa, and Anifah ignorant and blind to the truth. Are you any different?

We are suppose to be different because we can sit down and discuss with open minds and not just push our own opinions unto others. To all you "children" in MT, please GROW UP. To the "better" readers in MT, thanks for being here.
written by fendyoasis, June 04, 2009 09:53:53
I call them dogs rather than monkeys..

Anyway Raja adil Raja disembah, Raja Zalim Raja Disanggah...thats my motto.

Im OK with monarchy as long as their fair, once they're not..well Im more of a hang Jebat supporter rather than Hang Tuah. However, if I dont like the Raja, its better to replace the Raja rather than abolish the monarch. As I support that the Malay language is our identity (so no to this teaching in English crap to our children), the monarch is our identity too.

And its been known, these racists will vote me down as always.
written by truthbespoken, June 04, 2009 10:04:33
Kenny's right. We have a people's leader in RPK who have genuinely sacrificed much. We can disagree on views with him but there is no need to lurch at him the way some did. Cannot blame someone who has already gone into hiding from a wayward regime because of serving the people to contemplate throwing in the towel if he cannot even have the little luxury of releasing some cocked-up frustrations from time to time, sparingly. We are, after all, humans and have weaknesses.

Having different views from one another and expressing them is normal but it is different from casting doubts over his character or challenging his current unparalleled leadership. RPK exudes much sincerity, maybe too much, for the well-being of his country-men. But whatever is said, RPK, you know the people are firmly with you in your desire to change Malaysia for the better. Even straight roads will have some small bumps. Stay the course and remain strong and healthy, man! Cheers!
written by parsona, June 04, 2009 11:41:47

I can't speak for the others, but I apologize if I offended you. Hope you won't be too mad at all the comments here, I believe majority of us will still support you to the very end, but we might not show our respect properly. We all have our right to differ in views, but we will always welcome to hear your views, no matter what they are. Racism is a mostly product of umno, and it has affected alot of us in negative ways, turning the neutral from all races into racists.
written by archie, June 04, 2009 12:30:57
A republican may not necessarily be a racist. There are Malay republicans as well. But any call by non-Malays for abolishing the monarchy will be turned into a racial issue by UMNO.
written by apanama, June 04, 2009 13:17:59
MONARCHY: IF YOU WANT TO WORK WITH ME, RESPECT MY SPEECH.
PEOPLE: IF YOU WANT TO WORK WITH ME, RESPECT THE THE PEOPLE.

IS THE SPEECH MORE IMPORTANT THAN THE PEOPLE?
HOW NOT TO BE ANTI-MONARCHY?
written by carribeanking7, June 04, 2009 13:26:51
RPK quoted :
Seriously, I don't know why I even bother with you lot. Maybe I should just wash my hands over this whole stupid business. You just can't give flowers to monkeys. It does not work

Take heart Pete , there is also a saying "you can throw a flower at a rock, but you cannot throw a rock at a flower"

In the former the rock is honored, in the latter the flower is crushed.

Regards
written by Aria, June 04, 2009 13:57:06
I agree with you 100% RPK. BN and their cronies are sucking Malaysia dry. After we get rid of the BN mob we can look into other things. The 10 kings are there for situations like is Perak where the king had to step in. The insurance (king) did not pay off and we have to look into that, but first things first. Get rid of BN !!! Whether Malaysia becomes are republic or not will be decided by the rakyat in the future.
written by tanwi, June 04, 2009 17:29:21
I disagree with this nonsense.

Just because the ID is Chinese, you assume that they are making a racist comment. It seems quite obvious this issue has perked you because you are from royalty blood.

I am a Chinese and i dont believe in the monarchy because the monarchy has played ZERO role in the economy. The only benefit i see from maintaining a monarchy is from a cultural perspective. But that is my view, i think to pay for 13-14 sultans just for cultural perspective is a waste of money. Furthermore when you are aware of the recent case involving the Indonesian model only angers me further.

Look at all the tourist comments for those who visit Malaysia. You see them praising the sultan or agung? NO. Do i go around promoting the monarchy to foreigners or to friends alike? No. And i dont believe that even a Malay does that. Fact is the monarchy's role has been diminished to the extent that one does not really know their role anymore in society. I know someone is going to shoot me down saying the sultan has a pivotal role for syariah or religious related matters, but yes, in my view and in most professional people's view, it is still not justified.

Just because the cost is not Top Three costs doesnt mean it should be a cost in the first place. I dont even understand why u mention penny wise pound foolish as your article gives not one example on how this is applied.
written by mountainking, June 04, 2009 21:18:22
Dear RPK

Corporate turnaround involves the purging of Board of Directors and CEO cum mgmt. i am sure you know what i mean by this. the BoD are not paid that much but their decisions or indecisions can cause a company (Malaysia Inc) to collapse. Corporate governance as the pillar is good but it depends on who sits on the board. can some institutions be removed as easily as how we remove the BoD?

as far am the rakyat is concern, there is definitely a great need to remove the CEO and his team.

but i really can't agree with attacking monarchy equals to attacking malays. it's the same as attacking the UMNO does not mean attacking the malays. maybe perhaps it's time for you to enlighten us with your view and your strat how to go about this Malaysia Inc turnaround?
written by mountainking, June 04, 2009 21:21:39
well, when the chinese in china decided not to have kingship back after the last emperor, do you mean the chinese is racist against its own race?

unless what you are trying to say is that for pendatang to attack the monarchy is amount to racist/treason but for the malays to be bold enough to attack the monarchy is the biggest win as the situation is similar to china.
written by fendyoasis, June 04, 2009 23:22:06
well when the chinese abolish the emperor in China, were they better of? It was the work of some selfish chinese people to overthrow the emperor and make themselves the new king. The ones who support komunisme back then may not be racist but they were stupid..and in a sense being discriminotary to the King lineage...i can call it as a racist.

Same thing here, in Malaysia they want to overthrow the King for selfish reasons.

Tribute to the ones who died in Tianamen Square. They overthrow the King, but what they got makes them cringe.

Maybe all U racist can migrate back to China coz theres no King there.
written by Perak Boy, June 04, 2009 23:53:35

Wow .. this topic/subject really shows the colours of MT readers/commentors.

All these while I thought my friends here are matured in thinking and look things (the problems we are facing and/or that have been facing) in a bigger picture (MACRO). Alamak...

Yes, go on and vomit every damn bloody thing here and make sure you are happy and satisfied. And if you are not happy and satified, ahaa.. too bad, cos there are other people now are laughing loudly as you have fallen into their trap.

I have mentioned earlier in other posting that UMNO is smarter than you thought you are. Now you have given them the 'hard evidence' for them to prove to the monarchies and the other malays the sort of rakyat that support the 'Pembangkang'.

Now, after spitting out all those 'feelings' does it make any better for our PR course ??? Think, and think.. and think ..!

written by Perak Boy, June 04, 2009 23:56:08
Typo error:
It should read as ..

Now, after spitting out all those 'feelings' does it make any better for our PR cause ??? Think, and think.. and think ..!

written by mountainking, June 05, 2009 10:29:12
fendyoasis

i think you really got it all wrong. my question is that how do you really define racism. were the act of what the chinese have done in not installing an emperor then considered racist act? i am perplexed how can the chinese then be considered racist when they did no harm to others? and if you think those who supported communism are stupid, can you please tell najib that he is speaking to a bunch of idiots in China now?

you said tribute to those who died in tiananmen square, then you should pay your tribute to those from PR who fight for justice and transparency. the tiananmen square protesters are similar to those who walked in the Bersih rally to ask for reform in judiciary.
do you know that tiananmen square has nothing related to King or overthrow king?
pls understand history before starting to speak like an UMNO member trying to throw tantarum and accused everyone racist before looking at yourself in the mirror.

"The Tiananmen Square protests of 1989 culminating in the Tiananmen Square massacre (referred to in China as the June 4 Incident, to avoid confusion with two other Tiananmen Square protests) were a series of demonstrations in and near Tiananmen Square in Beijing in the People's Republic of China (PRC) beginning on April 14. Led mainly by students and intellectuals, the protests occurred in a year that saw the collapse of a number of communist governments around the world.

The protests were sparked by the death of a pro-market, pro-democracy, and anti-corruption official, Hu Yaobang, whom protesters wanted to mourn. By the eve of Hu's funeral, 1,000,000 people had gathered on the Tiananmen square. The protests lacked a unified cause or leadership; participants included disillusioned Communist Party members and Trotskyists as well as free market reformers, who were generally against the government's authoritarianism and voiced calls for economic change [1][2] and democratic reform[2] within the structure of the government. The demonstrations centered on Tiananmen Square, in Beijing, but large-scale protests also occurred in cities throughout China, including Shanghai, which remained peaceful throughout the protests."
written by Loh, June 05, 2009 10:30:34
///Malaysia is a Police State. Even Dr Mahathir says so. But the Monarchy ensures that it remains a Police State and not transform into a Military Regime -- because the Monarchs are the heads of the various units of the armed forces. Remove the Monarchy and God knows what will become of this country.///--RPK

We should have the King appointed Head of Police, with IGP reporting to His Majesty. Then the Home Minister cannot play politics with the police.
written by mountainking, June 05, 2009 10:34:03
and fendyoasis

a standard and most popular UMNO fanatics tagline:

"U racists go back to China and India"

and the same UMNO who called indians and chinese pendatang, migrants and all sorts of name. i know you are trying very hard to fan racial issues to garner back malays support. after 50 years, this is how pendatang are being treated.
written by JJFoo, June 05, 2009 11:08:47
Hi RPK,

Have you lost your bearing? I hope not.

United Kingdom once rules half the world and they have only one King or Queen, how many do we have? About 9?

If ours is suppose to be a symbolic monarchy then just stay symbolic, well above and away from the law. I have no qualm about any monarchy if his people’s wellbeing stays as a paramount factor in the heart of the monarch.

Rulers are supposed to be wise, just and brave. You definitely can’t justify the decisions made by the ruler in the Perak fiasco as wise. Not when unjust draconian law are commonly used to suppress its people unjustly while our supposedly just and brave rulers maintain their elegance silence.

I honestly can’t recall any meaningful contribution to the society by the rulers, at best, just a figure head as they are suppose to be. As an insurance policy? Against what? Against breakdown or bending of law and order? Against police brutality? Against corruption? Against systematic segregation of its people? Hello, we have all those at our door step already and are bound to get worse. RPK, please do educate me if you think otherwise.

Shame on you to dare to equate opposing monarchy as anti-Malay (isn’t that a racist remark?) A ruler who is incapable of protecting and care for Malaysian as a whole (regardless of ethnic) is best done without. Otherwise, what RPK advocated all this while “a colour blind society” just won’t add up.

For calling those whose opinions defer from yours as “slime-balls” and “scumbags”? Choose to reserve my comment.

written by fendyoasis, June 05, 2009 12:19:43
mountainking,
Tianamen, most of what u say i knew already. So everyone in here who doesnt should thank you for the history lesson huh.

Najib has always been stupid. I think I told everyone like a million times.

U gave example about China, I gave U the irony of what happened in China...and RPK blasted the chinsese racist in MT. So Im following the argument of the article here. If he were criticizing Indians, i would have given Indian examples.

RPK wasnt wrong, there are racists here in MT, most of us noticed them and these racist got super high votes whenever he or she condem Islam or Malays...shows what kind of bigots we have in MT. Let me remind U i dont agree with RPK always but this he is spot on. MY posted articles that criticise Islam (or muslims) and malays and there come all these MT bigot commentators coming in support.

Again...goes back to your example of China, if u guys like it there, go back to Chinalaa...nothing to do with me being a racist coz Im not, just following ur line of arguing and ur the one who gave China as an example. Comprende? Understand? U can follow UMNO taglines all U want. If U gave Nepal as an example, I would have said go balik Nepllaaa.

written by fendyoasis, June 05, 2009 12:21:05
correction,
it shoud be
MT posted articles that criticise Islam (or muslims) and malays and there come all these MT bigot commentators coming in support.
written by lvbala, June 05, 2009 12:57:25
Dear bro,
How does this monarchy can help the rakyat? Whats wrong if monarchy is abolish? We see even Indonesia, Singapore, India and America dont have monarchyesm...

Please share your idea how monarcy can benefits the rakyat and what we loose if we abolish this monarchy system?

regards
written by Loh, June 05, 2009 13:37:40
///Hey, it’s not about saving money. If we abolish the Monarchy it will not be so that we can save a few million Ringgit. The English call this penny wise, pound foolish -- which describes what most Malaysians are.///-- RPK

Only the descendents of the monarchies benefit directly from their continued existence, and the others have to hope that the monarchies do have a stabilising influence on the society.

Monarchs called themselves Malays, and Malays feel very proud of them and called their existence Ketuanan Melayu. It is as though as Malays, they could be mistaken as Monarch and it massages their ego when that happens.

It may be recalled that the ancestors of the Raja of Negri Sembilan originated from Indonesia, and until four generations ago, Negri Sembilan continued with the tradition of inviting a Prince of a state in Indonesia to be the Raja of Negri Sembilan. Thus, it is not for Ketuanan Melayu that the monarchies remain in the country. Certainly many late comers from Indonesia called themselves Malay, as part of UMNO vote banks.

It has been stated that there are nine royal houses in a country of 26 million, and one Raja has less than 2 million subjects. If it costs 20 million ringgit to upkeep a royal household, it would only be 10 ringgit a year per person.

The Thai monarchy has the system of indicating how close the persons are related to the throne. The Prince/princess carries the title MC and their children MR, and their grand children ML with the great-grand-children not given a royal title at all. In Malaysia, the great grand children of prince will still carry the title Tunku, or Raja as the case may be. From Malaysia Independence Day until now, all Sultans on the throne then have great grand children among their descendents. There must have been more than 1,000 Tunku, Tengku and Raja. The Datuks, Datos and Datus, with or without the Sri are plentiful; the Tuns and Tan Sris might be less than the Rajas. The Rajas who are related more closely to the Monarchies might have mixed feelings on a system to ensure respectability of the Royal titles; with a large number running around with the title some black sheep would certainly bring disrespect to the title. Yet they want their relatives to have the fixed asset of a title, to compete with the Datos and Tan Sri where the holders spent hard cash to obtain. In a way a Tunku or Raja, especially those many times removed from the throne, cannot compete with Datos and Tan Sri in wealth and influence. What then is Ketuanan Melayu; is it hereditary title, or the tradable one?
written by Forex, June 05, 2009 15:00:44
I'm from Sabah and i'm Local christian.

I dont care about the monarchy or whatsoever they recieved or spend. However i do care about Sabahan not getting what we should have, eg. Oil revenue. For every RM1 billion, we only receive RM50m. THIS IS VERY COSTLY TO US MORE THAN THE WHOLE MORNARCHY SPENDING IN ONE YEAR. Unfair Fair?

That is why i'm voting any party who againts the BN.
written by toorikakari, June 05, 2009 17:37:00
HI Folks!

Firstly, lets get the issue correct and not to fall in the debate unnecessarily.

My take on this is for Constitutional Monarchy. The essence is plain simple like how RPK has mentioned. We all know how the police behaves, so might the military. Therefore, its a safer bet.

In whatever situation we are in, it is wiser to take a step back and criticise constructively. I pity RPK having to explain time and again.

written by Proarte, June 05, 2009 21:14:17
Racism is really not the issue!

The rakyat feel shortchanged when the Royalty do not perform their constitutional role and become lackeys to the Executive.

They were a British invention to control the Malays. Rather than abolishing them, a role was found for them as constitutional monarchs as a check and balance to executive power at independence. They have a definite role. Once Royalty stray from their remit and go to the extent of subverting the democratic process, then the Rakyat will 'pohon derhaka'.

Why should taxpayers finance an institution which does not look after its interest butr the interest of a racist party like UMNO? The case in point is the unconsionable actions of the Perak Royalty in contributing to the political impasse in the state.

Similarly, the Rakyat will bitterly resent Royals who sexually abuse people, cut their nipples or club them to death. This is not racism but showing basic humanity!
written by Loh, June 06, 2009 10:21:29
Had the 300 plus Maharajas in India remained, would there be a better guarantee of democracy in that country?
written by minds, June 08, 2009 04:05:05
hi guys please dont RACIST just build up our NATIONS with open heart