Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Media Statement by Lim Kit Siang

Media Statement by Lim Kit Siang PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 June 2009 18:58

Has MARA run out of funds leaving hundreds stranded without their bumiputera student loans – and how can such a financial scandal happen?

I have received the following email from a Malay student in a private college:

“I am 21. My father left the family in 1995 and since then my mother has been taking care of the family by herself. I have two other elder sisters, all of whom are working now. My mother was a teacher but now she is retired. She is taking care of the family by herself with the pension she receives every month.

“I studied in … School and later at International Islamic College (IPTS), taking a diploma in computer science. I was a self-sponsored student in IIC.

“I was supported by my mother since she could afford it back then but I had to keep to a really tight budget. Although we were in a quite a difficult financial situation back then, I didn’t waste any time and studied hard.

“I was in the dean’s list every semester until I graduated, with an overall CGPA of 3.931. After graduating, I worked for one year as a technician to gain some experience before I furthered my studies at …College, taking Bachelor in Computer Science.

“In December 2008, I went to … College to enquire about their courses and other details such as the fees. My enquiries was handled by Mr. … and he helped me a lot with my documentations. I asked him if there’s any financial aid for bumiputera students and he said that most bumiputera students in …are sponsored by MARA and he encouraged me to apply for the same MARA loan (discounts apply if my results are good).

“In early January 2009, I went to see … again to submit my application form, but I didn’t submit it together with the MARA form as the deadline for the MARA loan application is on the 14th of March 2009. I paid RM4750.00 as part of my first semester fees. I was told that the remainder will be settled by MARA when the MARA loan is approved.

“… I submitted my (MARA) form on the 14th of March 2009. I was made to understand that this is the deadline for both January (Foundation students) and February (degree students) intakes. The application forms for both the intakes will be compiled and sent to MARA HQ after the deadline.

“Recently, on the 28th of May 2009, I went to MARA marketing office in …to check my application status. When I arrived, I asked the same officer about my application and she said ‘Sorry but right now all loan applications are frozen because MARA doesn’t have the funds to support students’. She said that all other students nationwide are affected, not just students from …College.

“When I asked how long must we wait till MARA has the funds, she said ‘We don’t know. We keep calling MARA HQ and they keep asking us to check back one week after another, delaying. Maybe some politicians have their own agenda, even the students who applied in January also has had their loan application frozen’. I was shocked to hear this because when I asked her about the probability of a student like me getting the loan, she practically said it was virtually guaranteed as I had nothing to worry about if I got my application form in order.

“Worst of all, there is no black and white notification saying our applications are frozen and why it is frozen. We were not contacted at all! We weren’t even stopped from applying for the loan if indeed MARA had run out of funds. If I didn’t follow-up and check on my application, I don’t know when will they tell me the true status of my application, if they are planning to do so in the first place. MARA running out of funds seem a far-fetched reason to me. If it is true, perhaps MARA should come clean on its current situation instead of leaving all of us in the dark.

“I am not begging for the MARA loan but there were no notification given that our applications are frozen nor were we stopped from applying for it, giving us false hope. If MARA had told me earlier, I would have tried to find other alternatives to finance my studies. Now with the final exams three weeks away, I am left with this huge problem as I’ve only settled a part of the first semester fees. I can only hope that …College will allow me to sit for the exams while I try to sort out this problem.

“I find this MARA absurdity very funny. Where did the funds of this big organization which is under Kementerian Kemajuan Luar Bandar dan Wilayah go?”

I call on the Minister for Rural and Regional Development, Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal to personally look into this problem and explain to all stranded MARA students as well as their parents where have the millions of ringgit approved by Parliament for purposes loans to bumiputera students gone to.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by educationist, June 02, 2009 19:09:47
Yes, LKS show the UMNOputras you are above racial politics.
Even if it be problems bumiputeras have with regards to Mara.
That's the way to go!!
agree 266
written by blackpea, June 02, 2009 19:16:17
Another case of celaka UMNO /BN siphoning the rakyat monies (Mara Bumiputera student loans)
UMNO doesnt give a damp about the rakyat, Malay or otherwise all they ever know is to rob, steal, from the rakyat. And the stupid dogs (polis, macc and judges) all helping this celaka UMNO/BN.
agree 153
written by Liberian, June 02, 2009 19:17:46
The money have already spent on Perak Overthrow. Spent on voters and on UMNO cronies during the Bye-elections to show that People Support Najib and his Barisan. Hi Nyuhdin DPM kena apa tak mahu cakap besar? We the non Malays are not against the Government funding poor and needy Malays but we against the corrupted cronies of BN such as Mamak Zambri (Babi Hutan)
agree 118
written by Bandit, June 02, 2009 19:18:23
bastards can use money to buy Jelapang Prostitute but cannot provide loan to the needy who can one day contribute to the growth of this countrySemua pukimak UMNO punya sembahyang batal. Pergi neraka ...pthui!!!
agree 183
written by Oscar Winner, June 02, 2009 19:21:37
"Has MARA run out of funds leaving hundreds stranded without their bumiputera student loans – and how can such a financial scandal happen?"
_______________________________________________________ ____________

LKS probably knows much better than us how a scandal can happen, but he cannot mention it as he is aware that he will be hauled up by the police. I am also in the dark as to what happened. Will someone out there please shed some light on this matter? Is it because the father has left the family and since there is no UMNO ball-lickers in the family, as the funds are meant for UMNO members' children only, therefore she can't get the fund? Or is it the family is a PR sympathiser? Or is it because funds have been siphoned off by you-know-who? Or the country's economy is in raelly bad shape??

written by ibabonma, June 02, 2009 19:22:35
Another chelaka example was when my sister applied for a small business loan from Mara and Tekun in Ipoh and she was accorded with this chelaka reply: We have no money, go and get it from the banks.

written by hiiijack, June 02, 2009 19:24:07
Mr.LKS, you're a good men.in Malaysia GOOD AND HONEST MEN(majority) ALLWAYS with the party pembangkang.Con men in umno/bn(100%).may god bless and protect you mr.LKS.
written by Dominic, June 02, 2009 19:26:43
See,they even walked over the Bumi students now. Time to make up your mind who you should vote come the next GE ? Dont tell me the next victim find him or her unable to get his EPF withdrawl upon retiring ! Cheers for uncle LKS to bring this up in the open.
written by ABU SAYAB, June 02, 2009 19:55:20
Orang BN/UMNO kaya raya, orang biasa tunggu buah durian jatuh... 1Malaysia!!
written by The Hammer, June 02, 2009 20:18:18
Don't worry, help is one way. Bab* Naji* will arrange with Vincy to divert some money from the gaming division.!
written by utuhganal, June 02, 2009 20:35:47
That being the case, why not change the ministry to Kementerian KemaLuan Luar Bandar.

Memalukan.
written by clarity, June 02, 2009 20:35:48
Now we know why he went to China. To borrow la! Don't worry, will have the money when he comes back.
written by Perak Boy, June 02, 2009 20:52:21

Quote:
"‘Sorry but right now all loan applications are frozen because MARA doesn’t have the funds to support students’. She said that all other students nationwide are affected, not just students from …College."

----------------

Mana nak ada atau cukup dana, kalau bantuan sebegitu diberi juga kepada yang tidak layak dan berkemampuan.
written by penangboi, June 02, 2009 20:56:19
I am indirectly involved in a so-called 'government project'. Mid way through the project there was a sudden increase in scope which resulted in an increase of the overall project cost.

The contractor dutifully carried out the extra scope of works. That was 10 months ago. The claim for extra costs is still outstanding. When asked at the ministry concerned, the reply was takde peruntukan. And they can only pay once there is peruntukan. And they could not tell when that would be.

Now, remember our Najis PM announcing that 7 BILLION RINGGIT stimulus package not that long ago. Has anybody heard how that 7 billion was going to be disbursed? That is a lot of money to spend. What are the details on how it was spent?

Everybody I spoke to tells the same story. The government is broke. No money. And yet Najis is announcing mega spending projects. I echo LKS's question: Where has all the money gone to?

I will not be a bit surprised it is lying in some private accounts in Switzerland!!!
written by cheemengwong, June 02, 2009 21:04:04
Dear LKS,

Please check your email from this student and verify it before publishing! I fear that you may be used just like DSAI by the young Saiful. Be a good Samaritan by all means but check and verify facts also.

Take care LKS. Remember how your PC can be just lost while you park and go for supper? Enemies are all round you. Be careful.
written by shamadz72, June 02, 2009 21:12:11
What I know, we are still spending 500-600 Million ringgit every year on Najib's pet project (Khidmat Negara), where their only interest is to brainwash a few hundreds youngster with BN ideology. How many student loan can we provide with that amount of money?

written by Old Man, June 02, 2009 21:17:36
Regardless of race and religion, such students deserve financial assistance!
written by zanie, June 02, 2009 21:40:44
Money in fact is abundant but wrongly distribute for other unimportant matters such as the PKFZ that amounts to 8 billions! Money is used to fatten the UMNO cronies so they have fund to bribe during elections. It is impossible not to have money in malaysia. With oil revenue, palm oil, rubber among others, we are rich, should be richer than taiwan, hong Kong and Singapore which have no natural resources as much as we do, but we fail to even be at par with them.Where does all the money go?
written by lakian, June 02, 2009 21:42:51
you know how much 12billions?pkfz scandal.said you spend 10,000.00 a day it takes you 3,287.67 years to finish up is almost the history of china!
written by non conformist, June 02, 2009 21:44:08
"Now, remember our Najis PM announcing that 7 BILLION RINGGIT stimulus package not that long ago. Has anybody heard how that 7 billion was going to be disbursed? That is a lot of money to spend. What are the details on how it was spent?"

How the RM7 BILLION is spent is under OSA!

In all likelihood, big chunk went to bailout cronies and the rest to fatten other cronies.
written by Aramsawafer, June 02, 2009 21:59:40
This student should go to see Najib directly for the scholarship like the...err saiful who? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Beezee_Beezee, June 02, 2009 22:10:17
Masaalahnya this guy did not mentioned the theory of 1 1, then the officer would have done her best to get the approval. Not that MARA has no FUND.
This UMNOputra not only looking at the MARA fund also any project like the collapsed sport complex. They also in PETRONAS...see how the good contractor need to pay RM10K to RM100K to get license/registration approval. Worst with the Municipal council that charges RM25 to RM100 per category of trading licence renuwal....
What happened to this country with the MALAY especially UMNOputras. Now we will have ALBAB to be the Incharged person for Petronas..Good luck to MALAYSIA or 1MALAYSIA....
written by Radioactive, June 02, 2009 22:37:48
I'm one of those affected. Enrolled my son for a professional course and at the same time applied for MARA loan in April. In May, I received a letter from MARA saying.......MARA memperolehi peruntukan yang amat terhad tahun ini.....bla...bla...bla...bla... dukacita bahawa permohonan saudara/saudari tidak dapat dipertimbangkan buat masa ini.

What choice do I have now but to refinance my house to fund my son's education.
written by coolandy, June 02, 2009 22:55:43
Aiyaaaaaaa,

1. Itu duit sudah kasi komisyen beli kapal selam.
2. Duit biasiswa lama kasi pinjam itu orang sekarang sudah kaya tarak mau bayar balik
3. Jangankan biasiswa atau pinjaman, dana untuk bertanding di Penanti pun dah ketandusan
4. Rasailah kepedihan kaum bukan melayu dari keluarga miskin yang selama ini tidak pun dibantu oleh Kerajaan yang zalim dan rakus ini.
written by Steven Tan, June 02, 2009 23:54:17
Why this poor guy didn't get the LOAN eventhough he is a Bumiputra????

Looks like there must be something wrong somewhere smilies/tongue.gif.

Does anyone know whether their parents are UMNO supporters or the other way around smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif. I got a feeling that his parents either PAS supporter or PKR supporter

Guys, do you agree with me?
written by fireduck, June 03, 2009 00:03:32
This student seems like a very bright one. I suggest he/she not wait for the MARA funds to come through. He/she has done very well thus far on mama scholarship, and that sure is something to be proud of for you and your mama. You did not automatically use your kulitfications but depended on real academic qualifications. So, fear not, I'm sure the private sector companies or some others will be willing to consider you for a scholarship.

You will value it much more when you go through college on your own steam. And when you wear that mortar board, you have earned your right to be proud of your achievements, unlike the many who just pass time and waste taxpayers' money yet securing a hollow degree.

Present your case to some of those multinational companies. If your case is convincing, they will consider.
written by Spear Bing, June 03, 2009 00:15:42
Just go to Penang and get LKS's son to recommend for the loan and apply for the college there.
written by lskong, June 03, 2009 00:43:34

where's the money?
just look at the newly won PR states - they were caught unprepared is the last GE, but they still managed to move funds and destroyed document in the few days they had...
now, umno is not going to make the same mistake twice. by the time PR wins the next GE, and we all know that's going to happen, there will be no more money left in the government coffer!
then it's just a matter of "doing a perak" on the new malaysian government - got money, buy frogs.
written by asiana888, June 03, 2009 00:53:44
All MARA money spent on 'buy-election'? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by renoir, June 03, 2009 03:56:13
>Please check your email from this student and verify it before publishing]]

Whether genuine or not, there must be many such cases even among the Malay community. That's why though the NEP should end, affirmative action laws must continue. Of course, aid should be based on needs and not ethnicity, but since many Malays live in poverty, it's natural that they should be the main benefactors. Here not only the government, but private bodies should also step in to help.
written by renoir, June 03, 2009 03:58:45
I said:
>it's natural that they should be the main benefactors.]]

BENEFICIARIES!!! For God's sake. Must sleep now.

written by Susanna, June 03, 2009 11:03:20
Money go to scholarships for ministers' children la... lagi lagi for overseas ones! ini lah ketuanan melayu mereka, demi kepentingan mereka
written by joeawk, June 03, 2009 14:19:06
Billions wasted and little achieved by MARA over the many years. Beneficiaries of MARA knows best where the money has gone to.
written by Concerned Malaysian, June 03, 2009 16:34:59
Here a chinese guys is fighting for a malay srtudent's plight....pooyooh...and they call him a racist.....now even the malays are feeling the pinch....good for them...it should make them realise that all the rakyat suffers under the UNMO led BN government..time to think..GE13
written by Ron, June 03, 2009 23:50:56
MARA is filled with LITTLE NAPOLEONS.They sit in the Ivory Towers and "dish" out payment to their crony contractors.UMNO cronies feed on MARA ,read Taxpayers money.Its about payment,payment for crony contrators who in turn are linked to the top by very strong cables.Of course they always have the JAWATANKUASA to eyewash and cover their dirtywork.Its another wayang in bolehland.
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 05, 2009 01:52:46
tHE MONEY IS CHANNELLED TO PAY OFF ALL THE JUMPING FROGS...AND TO SHUT THE MOUTHS OF KEY WITNESSES IN THE MURDER OF ALTANTUYA..

....SO SACRED COWS AND MALAYS...BECOME COWS MADE TO BE COWS BY THEIR LEADERS IN UMNO....WE TAREK YOUR HIDUNG..AWAK IKUT SAJA..