Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Roof of one-year old stadium collapsed

Roof of one-year old stadium collapsed PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 June 2009 17:01

(NST) A huge chunk of the roof at the RM280 million Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Stadium collapsed this morning, just over a year after its completion. Except for damages to a car and four motorcycles parked outside the stadium, there were no casualties in the 9.30am incident at the venue of the 12th Malaysia Games.

Terengganu Fire and Rescue Department director Pauzan Ahmad said they received a call around 9.45am, informing them about the incident before rushing three fire trucks to the scene. He estimated that one third of the stadium's roof, which runs about 80 metres, collapsed. About 50 per cent of the roof collapsed.

A witness, electrician Hanafiah Osman, 27, whose car was damaged in the incident, said he was working on one of the lamp post just outside the stadium when he heard a loud cracking sound.

"I turned around in time to see it crashing down. I was frightened but at the same time wanted to save my Perodua Kancil until I saw it crushed. Most of my colleagues just stood in awe over the whole thing," he said, adding he wants to claim damages for his car.

Stadium Management Board chief executive officer Arpin Draman said it was fortunate that no event was held at the 50,000-capacity stadium as part of the roof collapsed on the grandstand.

At the time of the incident, only a handful of the stadium employees were working nearby. "I could not help imagine the worst case scenario should the roof caved in during an event when thousands of spectators were in the grand stand," he said.

Arpin said he never doubted the stadium's safety as assurance had been given by the State Public Works Department. State PWD director Rosly Zainal, who was approached by reporters, refused to comment.

"We have a bowling alley and squash courts in the stadium and it was fortunate the roof fell before they opened at 10am. The stadium will be out of commission until investigations and repairs are completed," Arpin said.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by AsamLaksa, June 02, 2009 17:07:11
assurance had been given by the State Public Works Department. State PWD director Rosly Zainal

How reassuring...
written by blackpea, June 02, 2009 17:09:09
Again Corruption involved. In China this people will be shot dead. But in Malaysia celaka UMNO / BN say case closed. Any pretend nothing ever happen.
Beside now they will treat it as another new new project to repair it.... Millions of the rakyat monies again will be going celaka UMNO pockets.
written by Lembing, June 02, 2009 17:09:59
Watch out for the pilings of the LIGHT RAIL SYSTEM. I was told that the depth of these pilings are in accordance with original specifications.
written by allangan2006, June 02, 2009 17:10:01
Construction quality put up by Patrick Badawai is questionable. smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Lembing, June 02, 2009 17:10:59
CORRECTION.....Watch out for the pilings of the LIGHT RAIL SYSTEM. I was told that the depth of these pilings are NOT in accordance with original specifications.
written by Arubin, June 02, 2009 17:13:18
Arpin said he never doubted the stadium's safety as assurance had been given by the State Public Works Department.

Obviously, Arpin is not a Malaysian. If he here, he would have taken it as a sign to run for the hills. smilies/grin.gif
written by Fuminari, June 02, 2009 17:13:24
there would be more to come!mark my words.
written by Lembing, June 02, 2009 17:20:05
IN FACT, most of the buildings in MALAYSIA were built with incorrect amount of cement mix....they are mostly below government regulated specifications.
written by temenggong, June 02, 2009 17:23:04
Design problem. Nail the architect!
written by JinJangJoe, June 02, 2009 17:24:53
Corrupted government, eventually has to COLLAPSE. Don't you think so THIS IS THE SIGN HOW THE BARISAN NAJIS GOING TO COLLAPSE?....
written by Apeiron, June 02, 2009 17:28:34
The state of affairs in the "engineering and construction" professions as reflected in another of these "collapse" incidents is an indisputable testimony that we are not capable of building something safe. Long houses built by the aborigines are still standing despite being built a hundred years ago, with no engineers, no architects and no clerk-of-works. How could the Institute of Engineers watch silently over the degradation and demise of their once-proud profession? May be it is safer to "consult" the Orang asli on how things should be built.
written by Littlebird, June 02, 2009 17:30:57
Wasn't this Stadium "Satu lagi projek kerajaan Barisan Nasional" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by JinJangJoe, June 02, 2009 17:31:33
Watch out for other public infra structures.....CORRUPTION CAUSES THEM TO

COLLAPSE....oi corrupted JKR, dont give the crap "it is an act of god".

THAT IS HOW, Bee End gonna collapse,,,,,,oooohh take cover.

written by arazak, June 02, 2009 17:36:06
MACC say that there will be no corruption involved. Just like the Samy Value's cracked MRR2 Selayang bridge.

There will be no enquiry and everything will be swept underthe carpet!
written by JinJangJoe, June 02, 2009 17:42:42
I HOPE AND PRAY, OUR MONARCHY DOES NOT COLLAPSE THIS MANNER. WELL, IF YOU

PLAY GOLF WHILE 'PERAK' IS BURNING, DON'T DARE BLAME THE RAKYAATS,,,,,,,,,,,FOR

YOUR DEMISE. WE TOLD YOU SO,,,,,
written by ABU SAYAB, June 02, 2009 17:44:33
Kelas 'A' kontrator UMNO boleh!!
written by mohrin, June 02, 2009 17:47:39

written by hiiijack, June 02, 2009 17:49:19
This is what I like about our country construction industry,Main Contrator(umno cronies)then sub,then sub,then sub again and don't know how many sub...very very low quality.
written by Radioactive, June 02, 2009 17:51:06
PWD - Poor Workmanship Department
written by hckit, June 02, 2009 17:54:27
another product of NEP
written by unomalaysia, June 02, 2009 17:55:49
umno boleh!
written by mypanida, June 02, 2009 17:56:04
Even the stadium was pissed off !!! smilies/sad.gif

This is really an omen for some malapetaka.
written by 4country, June 02, 2009 18:06:32
Runtuh Lagi!Malaysia Boleh! Rasuah Pertama, Janji bentuk ada, Tak runtuh mana ada lubang lagi buat duit baiki!...................Malaysia Boleh! Bangga bukan?
written by Vincent, June 02, 2009 18:07:39
Oooh shit ! PWD has nobody to blame but the Indonesian workers again. Pity Indonesian workers. smilies/angry.gif
written by jayenjr, June 02, 2009 18:08:42
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 02, 2009 18:24:54
Another quality project by Barisan Nasional

:S
written by michaelT, June 02, 2009 18:25:55
This Stadium incident will further prove the YB LIM GUAN ENG Internal Control Sysetem or CAT is a sound system. So UMNO/BN should stop belittling the CAT system. It is an eye opener and must quickly copy the system of LGE. Definitely the engineering aspect of the massive stadium is not technically designed. The rakyat money of RM280 million just go away like a fart in the wind. Yet the BN government wants to totally remove subsidy of Flour, Bread and Sugar. Just do whatever you want as next GE is around the corner.
written by Oscar Winner, June 02, 2009 18:27:08
I will not walk into a new stadium. Damn, I have developed a phobia for high-rise buildings by JKR. NOt save any more even to be on the road, for you don't know when there will be a cave-in
written by Oscar Winner, June 02, 2009 18:32:48
correction....not safe any more....
written by evaangel, June 02, 2009 18:47:36
1 word
SUBCONTRACTING

written by CheGUvera, June 02, 2009 19:46:37
In almost all countries( even in the poorest of poor),buildings collapse due to earthquakes or nature made .But here in Boleh land buildings collapse due to bn made.Another prestigious project by bn, whose policies is money talk bullshit walk.
written by ngtiewley, June 02, 2009 20:30:22
For a one year old stadium to collapse is just UNBELIEVABLE!! The cost-RM300m just gone down the drain. I believe there is CORRUPTION involved in the project. If not how can this sort of thing happen. REALLY...LAH, MALAYSIA BOLIH!! Tax-payers money got 'burnt' and wasted. Now, WHO is going to answer for this?? Another round of 'finger-pointing' as usual and at end of the day - NOTHING HAPPENS! Semua nya okay! Everything goes on as normal,..la.
written by Orang Muda, June 02, 2009 20:42:10
Malaysia ni betul- betul funny.

Every time something drastic happened, another 2 or 3 similar incidents would follow to happen. Example, landslide. One landslide happened in one place, then "coincidently" another landslide would also happen somewhere else.

Some sort of wake-up call from above?
written by lynn, June 02, 2009 20:43:12
A contractor complained recently, he submitted for approval a well-known brand of paint to JKR officer-in-charge (cud b architect, engineer) - the brand was rejected. He was told only one brand of paint will be approved to use on that project.

Now, you MT readers tell me: do u smell a rat? This is Bolehland, a country full of corrupt professionals who will do anything for some pocket money. They have no pride in their job, screw professional ethics.... there are so many of these trash floating around & they are the ones "giving approvals". Come on, this is a very dangerous culture - men/women giving approvals not based on merits but on "kickbacks". This practice has been going on for decades.

More buildings will collapse in the near future; just make sure you are not one of the fatalities. Malaysia, tak boleh.... corruption will always lead the way.. in every aspect of our lives. If you don't join in the corruption game, you are out even if you comply & offer a competitive rate!
written by oceanuz, June 02, 2009 21:05:56
I sure hope that the JB CIQ complex has sound structure and of quality construction.
If something similar happen on that building, it will be disastrous as so many people are crossing it everyday.
written by Justice Bao, June 02, 2009 21:15:49
My advice to the stadium goers, please do not go near this stadium anymore. As an Engineer myself, there are more serious problems that you never see. Today we only see the roof collapsed, but there are other structural elements such as the foundations, columns and beams. The foundations are the main structural element that the contractor can "CURI MAKAN" easily if the supervisors are UMNO's morons. The disastrous failure will only happen when there is enough loading - stadium is full with supporters.

BN / UMNO SHOULD BE PROUD AS THIS IS ONE OF THEIR PROJECT THAT MAKING HEADLINE AGAIN.

MALAYSIA UMNO BOLEH
written by jonath66my, June 02, 2009 21:36:07
And there must certainly be apology to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin who opened it last May! It is most embarrassing to DYMM Tuanku as well as the namesake of the Stadium! Bet another round of inquiry, more passing the buck, finger pointing and the ones who suffer will be taxpayers if they have to pay to rebuilt!
Just think, of the many man made tragedies, was those responsible convicted or jailed, has any Ministers or government top fellos taken the blame? Satu Lagi Project Kerajaan BN. www.jonathan66-my.********.com
written by Old Man, June 02, 2009 21:50:15
An Engineer friend of mine once sent me an e-mail titled MEMO to the Design Engineer:- Building completed! Please let us have the Piling Layout as soon as possible. Terima kasih.
Could this collapsed Stadium have such so-called Project Engineers???
written by Taikonot, June 02, 2009 22:19:12
Ha! Siapa mengkhianati siapa sekarang???

Orang-orang bukan Melayu atau BN?

Bangunan roboh, wang lesap, peruntukan wang pasti akan datang lagi untuk memperbaiki stadium itu!

Wahai, Orang-orang Melayu, kamu "diskru" bertubi-tubi, masih tak rasa apa-apa?
written by Sabahfan, June 02, 2009 22:20:18
RM280 MILLION PIECE OF SHIT...

TYPICAL SUCCESS OF PROJECT BARISAN NASIONAL.... HA HA HA

AWARD CONTRACK TO CRONIES WHO KNOWS NUTS ABOUT CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY..L

HE SUBCONTRACT THEM TO BROTHERS AND SISTERS WHO IN TURN SUB SUB SUB CONTRACT AND AFTER 5 LEVELS ONLY REACH THE REAL BUILDERS WHO DONT HAVE ENOUGH FUNDS TO BUILD BECOS 50% OF THE MILLIONS ALREADY SHARED AMONGST THE UMNO REGIME GOONS...

WHAT REACHES THE REAL BUILDERS ARE SHIT MONEY ONLY...
written by lakian, June 02, 2009 22:25:30
MCA housing minister YB Kong will say:This is due to natural disaster.....nothing related to human error.So what?
written by lakian, June 02, 2009 22:33:08
Sabahfan,
He subcontract them to brothers and sisters who in turn sub sub sub should I write
suck suck suck and suck till 5% left for last suck so the last suck need to suck again
written by Beezee_Beezee, June 02, 2009 22:55:33
I can considered every states including the FT lands had BN Projects that going on during this dfficult time. I wonder how much reserve do we have in the Bank Negara?. Perhaps Malaysia can be bought by one Big Business MAN from UMNO's Big Player like VT..the Berjaya Owner...Hahahahaha..sound good....
written by teohchye, June 02, 2009 22:58:23
Semi VaIue said about MRR2: "Ini struktur bukan Tuhan bikin punya, manusia bikin punya mesti runtuh" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Commonsenses, June 02, 2009 23:01:12
hahahahah I bet Ahmad Said would be laughing in his sleep now that among Deris jusoh projects is the collapsed stadium. A former Fed-state UMNO JV project. Malaysia Boleh!
written by Commonsenses, June 02, 2009 23:07:49
remember the royalty that kidnapped his children in Australia and brought them back to Malaysia- he is the architect for the stadium
written by asiana888, June 03, 2009 00:55:17
Barisan Boleh!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Tok Din, June 03, 2009 04:30:41
With rampant corruption at every corner of Malaysian society, none of our public buildings is safe. It is so easy to get certificate of fitness and with a small payment, it is easy to circumvent the civil and building engineering standards for building safety and stress tests.

This is one of the key reasons why corruption will eventually destroy our society.

It is the cancer that eats up our nation.