Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The NEP: one of the roots of corruption

The NEP: one of the roots of corruption PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 June 2009 16:15

No, we don’t need more anti-corruption laws. We need an end to licences and permits. And abolishing the NEP would also help to a certain extent. Then we need to execute corrupted Malaysians like what they do in China.

Penang offers RM10,000 reward for info on corruption

Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said on June 2 the state government is offering civil servants RM10,000 for providing information on colleagues who commit corrupt practices.

Lim said on the plan take effect immediately.

He said the plan was part of the state government's competency, accountability and transparent philosophy, as it seeks to improve delivery system.

He added that one staff member was the first recipient for exposing such wrongdoing. He added this would also act as a preventive measure. – THE EDGE

THE ANTI-CORRUPTION LAW
By Dr. Mahathir Mohamad

1. We need a law against corruption just as we need laws against all crimes. But sometimes the laws are so framed that they promote crime rather than prevent them. Such a law is the Malaysian law on corruption.

2. It seems logical and right that those who receive illegal gratification should be considered guilty of breaking the law and should therefore be punished. But when we talk of corruption we think of those endowed with power abusing their power in order to gain personal benefit. We think that those who offer gratification as being the victim and should be given some consideration.

3. But the law says that those who pay for the service they receive should also be considered as guilty and should be equally deserving of punishment.

4. Since both the giver and the recipient may be charged with corruption, both would be unwilling to report the incident. This of course makes corruption difficult if not impossible to be brought to a court of law and tried successfully.

5. Besides the process of law would be much prolonged, as each would seek lawyers to argue on his behalf. Not only will the trial take ages but the result can be quite unpredictable.

6. But there is another factor. The person reporting would be marked by those sympathetic to the other party so that it would affect his dealings with them as well. If they are Government servants whose approval would be needed, the approvals may not be forthcoming at all later, even if other officers are involved.

7. Because of the ineffectiveness of the laws corrupt people often get away with their corrupt practices.

8. Yet corruption is such a bane on society that it must be stopped somehow. If the law is ineffective then it must be made to be effective. One of the ways is to give immunity to the aggrieved party reporting the case, provided that the evidence was substantial and not perjury.

9. In the case of political corruption both parties may be willing participants. The bribe is given by a candidate to a willing recipient to gain support for himself. Both are therefore unlikely to complain and reveal the act.

10. The recipients on the other hand would be glad to receive the bribe, unless he is a person of high principal unwilling to betray the cause his party was fighting for.

11. In political corruption it would be extremely difficult to get evidence of the bribe being given or received. Electronics now play a role to hide the act. The money is deposited into the account of the person (voter) concerned via the ATM machines. The recipient would be called via phone to ask whether the money had been received, giving the name of the candidate.

12. Despite the difficulties for detection, a Government that is truly determined to prevent corruption can find ways of detecting corruption. But if the Government itself is corrupt then corruption cannot be stopped. In fact corruption would spread in every direction and would become a way of life. At this stage nothing can really be done.

There you have it. One is a statement by the Chief Minister of one of the most economically progressive states in Malaysia and the other is a statement by he who ruled Malaysia for 22 years and dragged us screaming and kicking into the modern world. Nevertheless, they have both missed the mark by a mile. The problem is not that we need more laws or a reward system for stool pigeons. The problem is that we are an overregulated country. And excess regulations breed corruption in a society that froths and foams at the mouth screaming about religion but is steeped in vile.

It never ceases to amaze me when Malays rant and rave like cows suffering from Mad Cow Disease after Friday prayers in demonstrating their support for Islam, and in condemning those they perceive as having insulted Islam, when these are the same people who are corrupted like hell. Give me an atheist who upholds decent values and clean living anytime. I trust these people more that the corrupted religionists. Corrupted religionists are extremely dangerous and the millions of people murdered over thousands of years by religionists hiding behind the name of God is testimony of how dangerous they can be. I sometimes wonder whether religion is really the cause of all our problems and whether mankind is better off without it.

Malaysia needs to deregulate. Malaysians, in particular those Malays who are in government and those who walk in the corridors of power, are just too corrupted and hypocritical to be entrusted with the job of regulating things. Now don’t get me wrong. Chinese and Indians too are extremely corrupt. Just looks at the Port Klang Free Trade Zone fiasco and Samy Vellu as examples. These are totally ‘non-Bumi’ corrupt acts. The only ‘good’ thing is these MCA and MIC slime-balls and scumbags do not go around shouting that the Kafirs are going to hell like the Malays do.

Do you know that 70% of the slot machines (one-arm bandits) are owned by one Chinaman who is a crony of anyone who becomes Prime Minister since the time of Tun Dr Mahathir? Yes, and this man paid Hee RM25 million to bring down the Pakatan Rakyat Perak government.

And do you know how much he pays to operate these slot machines? And we are talking about tens of thousands of slot machines here. First he has to pay the Umno politicians a hefty sum for the licence. Then he has to pay a monthly ‘commission’ to ensure that the licences are not cancelled. Then he has to pay the police a monthly ‘protection fee’ to ensure that the premises where the slot machines are located are not raided and the machines confiscated for ‘breaching the terms and conditions of the licence’.

If you want a gun licence that too can be arranged. All it takes is the right fee to the state Chief Police Officer. The less eligible you are the higher the fees to get the gun licence. If you are an underworld boss then the price can go as high as RM250,000.

If you get arrested then no problem, even for crimes that attract the death penalty. If you are a ‘common’ drug pusher then the fee to escape the death penalty is RM250,000 while if you are a rich tycoon Datuk then it can go as high as RM10 million or more depending on how strong the evidence against you is and whether they also need to make this evidence ‘disappear’.

A Datukship, especially of you are a Chinese underworld boss who needs some ‘respectability’ to your name, starts from RM250,000. Tan Sri is even more expensive while the ‘lesser’ JPs can go for RM50,000 to RM100,000. (I remember a Malay Tan Sri who missed his flight because the Germans paged for a Mr Tan and he did not know they were calling him).

You need licences and permits to do anything in Malaysia. And that is why Malaysia is so corrupted. Eliminate all these licences and permits and corruption would be reduced drastically. Those who make the most money through corrupt means are those who approve these licences and permits and those who are the beneficiaries of these licences and permits. No permit, no corruption. No licence, no corruption.

Of course, in many instances, these licences and permits are imposed to ensure that the aspirations of the New Economic Policy (NEP) are met. You need to be a Bumiputera or meet the conditions of the NEP to qualify for the licence or permit. Most times the Chinaman would just need to go into an Ali Baba arrangement with a corrupted Malay, while another corrupted Malay would approve the licence or permit for an under-the-table fee. Then they all go to the mosque to pray and scream that they will go to heaven while the Kafir are going to hell.

Give me just a day as Prime Minister and I will cut down corruption by at least half. I will just abolish all licence and permit requirements. You want to do business, just set up your stall. You want to open a gambling den, carry on, buy all the slot machines you require, no need licence. Just pay the local council tax and licence fee and you can do whatever you want.

Take the Ah Long problem as another example. Back in the 1970s we in the Malay Chambers of Commerce already told the government about this problem. But the Ah Longs are in partnership with the police so nothing was done about the problem. That’s right, you think the Ah Longs can operate if not for the fact they pay the police protection money?

Now, 30 years later, everyone is screaming. Hey, we screamed 30 years ago. Why only now you scream?

We did a study in a small fishing town called Dungun in Terengganu (YB Rosli Pop, over to you, you know about this). Invariably, this is a Malay town. We found out that almost every Malay petty-trader borrows money from Ah Longs at the sepuluh-empat rate. This means they pay 4% interest a day.

They borrow RM1,000 but will receive only part of that money. The interest is deducted in advance. Yet they are considered having borrowed RM1,000. Then, every day, they have to pay RM40 interest. Every day! The RM1,000 principal, however, remains the same. That never gets reduced. So they pay RM40 a day for the rest of their life while they owe RM1,000 also for the rest of their life.

Why does this happen? Well, these Malay petty-traders can’t get loans from proper banks. Banks need collateral, guarantors, working papers, cash flows, feasibility studies, etc., before they give you a loan. In other words, you need to be rich to borrow money from a bank. Poor people just can’t borrow money. So they go to Ah Longs to borrow money at RM40 interest a day on every RM1,000 they borrow. They don’t need working papers, cash flows and feasibility studies to borrow from Ah Longs and the collateral is their life and that of their family. And the police will help act as debt collectors if you don’t pay your RM40 a day for every RM1,000 borrowed.

No, we don’t need more anti-corruption laws. We need an end to licences and permits. And abolishing the NEP would also help to a certain extent. Then we need to execute corrupted Malaysians like what they do in China. That will not eliminate corruption totally but it would certainly help reduce it drastically. And if Malays can become proper Muslims and not talk-only Muslims, then that may help bring corruption way down. Until then, cakaplah sampai berbueh mulut.

Oh, and Pakatan Rakyat states are not exempted from corruption either. Maybe YB Ronnie Liu can help explain what happened to the state wide WiFi project for Selangor. Selangor started first but it appears like Penang is making better progress. Is this because we have idiots running the Selangor State Government or is there corruption involved here?

And if you don’t reply, Ronnie, I am coming to Pandamaran to chop of your balls and will nail them to the wall.

Comments (80)Add Comment
written by zanie, June 02, 2009 16:19:53
Yep. Agreed with you Pete! Line them up and shoot.
agree 287
written by tkahyap, June 02, 2009 16:24:05
jawab ronnie liu, jangan tak jawab!
agree 210
written by Knight, June 02, 2009 16:33:10
If we want to eliminate corruption, we must first look at the pay of these civil servants. Most of them are incapable of getting a job elsewhere (lousy education, courtesy of Malaysian Unis), so they go to the employer of the last resort (i.e. the government). There is little wonder why they are corrupted. Their pay can never sustain their lifestyle, and we are not talking about extravagant ones. What needs to be done is for the government to shed the fat in the civil service, cut down on the unnecessary employees, and pay the remaining ones competitive remuneration. At least the civil servants need not be corrupted to survive. Then we talk about catching those who are still tempted to make more money by using their positions.

agree 139
written by Rashid, June 02, 2009 16:33:16
Look at what has happened in Terengganu today where the "bumi" stadium came crushing. That's what you get when you pay billions to cronies and they go on to buil sub-standard structures and still get bailouts. I'm asking: in what way do we the Malays benefit from that system? It failed. Like Husam said to Reuters today, NEP has to be restructured. And this will help the Malays to become competitive and prosper and in the process sub-standard culture of Umno's cronies will end. Feeding Umno cronies with our hard earned money doesn't create a prosperous Malay community. They are failing the nation and the Malays. Imagine if even Bumi companies were to be subjected to competition? Would we have "Bumi" stadiums like the one in KT come crushing down? Never mind the millions spent there will be repeated and EPU will bail out the cronies of Umno. In what way do we benefit from that?
agree 232
written by krising1, June 02, 2009 16:33:22
How come Mamathir can only see the problem now. As a PM, was he blind - blinded by power?
agree 231
written by joejoe, June 02, 2009 16:33:37
You need licences and permits to do anything in Malaysia. And that is why Malaysia is so corrupted. Eliminate all these licences and permits and corruption would be reduced drastically. Those who make the most money through corrupt means are those who approve these licences and permits and those who are the beneficiaries of these licences and permits. No permit, no corruption. No licence, no corruption.

IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN... UNLESS WE, THE RAKYAT, VOTE THEM OUT. SEE YOU AT GE13!
agree 218
written by alan cheong, June 02, 2009 16:36:30
Then we need to execute corrupted Malaysians like what they do in China.

Aaaaaah, one of the few things we agree on.
agree 116
written by cheekymate, June 02, 2009 16:36:44
I am a sadist. I believe the corrupt should be whipped for each count of corruption, have his toe and finger nails pulled out one by one, get their balls (if thet've got any) cut off and string up their heads like the good old days of the head hunters.
The line starts with the mastermind of all corruption. Guess who.
written by SamSan, June 02, 2009 16:37:20
When China executes their scumbag and corrupt politicians who not only abuse power and authority vested in them with impunity,but also corruptly and greedily devour wealth vest in them as public trustees, they are in fact inadvertently applying ISLAMIC hudud law. So we should support the introduction of PAS's hudud law to be strictly applied to corrupt politicans (especially senior leaders in AMENO / BN) who not blatantly abuse power and government institutions for their own vested interest, but also rob, rape and sodomise all of Allah Allmighty's benevolance and wealth for their own personal aggrandizement.
written by wongnoball, June 02, 2009 16:38:57
Best Malaysia can do is do a Run on ONE By ONE local banks ....let start with CIMB ((najis Bro), then Eon bank, Hong Leong, Maybank, Public......we need a reset on the Mess.....Stuff the Economy and do you best to make everyone and Anyone suffer. You will just have to help those in need....a Paradigm shift....the Regim Ganas Kejam UMNO -Bn , Some rotten Royalty, Police...still living the HIGH life.....make them pay in this economic Crisis.....Pay until there is a Change in Power in Malaysia!!
written by educationist, June 02, 2009 16:40:58
That ex dictator has no right to talk about anti corruption. His 22 years rule would be remembered as the start of the morass of corrupt practices prevalent in the country today.
RPK has pointed to the solution.
The problem is that he won't be the PM in the forseeable future.
Well, let's hope PR will be able to assume federal power come the next general elections and will pledge to implement RPK's solutions.
written by Oscar Winner, June 02, 2009 16:42:23
I met a friend who acts as a runner and wanted me to introduce him developers for Selangor state govt projects. He was carrying a whole list of projects and a stack of project drawings. I was shocked as he said all "cables" have already been in place and no problems in awarding the contracts for the right price. Hello, Selangor PR govt, what's up?

As for NEP, I always say it's a Never-Ending Policy as long as UMNO/BN are still govt of the day. Period.
written by Oscar Winner, June 02, 2009 16:45:15

I do hope you can one day be the PM.
written by macakmy, June 02, 2009 16:52:57
Sorry Pete, Ronnie is not worried. Pandamaran is in Selangor... he he he...
written by Lembing, June 02, 2009 17:02:24
HOW LUDICROUS. The multi tongue serpent preaching anti-corruption techniques. HE should instead expose all the corruption methods used by him....but then again, this would run into hundreds of pages.
written by joeawk, June 02, 2009 17:02:51
UMNO would not want to get rid of corruption. Look at their recent party eletion. It is all very clear to all that corruption is part and parcel of UMNO. Any surprise that UMNO is said to be corrupt and rotten to the core.
written by SamYap, June 02, 2009 17:16:42
Yes! Yes! Yes! Corruption is worse than the drug habit menace. Corruption affects the entire country and erodes society values. Yes, I don't think anyone would shed a tear for those corrupt individuals when they are shot in the head.

And don't forget, the family has to pay for the bullet.
written by Edward C, June 02, 2009 17:19:11
Yes, RPK, Selangor spoke about it first when Pakatan won the state, but Penang spoke about the island wide wireless project during KSK's time!!

Perhaps it would be good for us to start another site to just keep track of all these so called rakyat projects promised by politicians.

The site operator will update the status of the project on a monthly basis to see if they are moving. The only thing is where to get the accurate answers?

I can put up the site and start with the Port Klang FIASCO and this Selangor WIFI project and see where it leads us to?

Any supporters? and I will do it for free, my own time smilies/smiley.gif
written by ABU SAYAB, June 02, 2009 17:30:21
"Take the Ah Long problem as another example. Back in the 1970s we in the Malay Chambers of Commerce already told the government about this problem. But the Ah Longs are in partnership with the police so nothing was done about the problem. That’s right, you think the Ah Longs can operate if not for the fact they pay the police protection money?"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks Pete,

You've answered my question.
written by truthbespoken, June 02, 2009 17:30:24
Yes, Malaysia need the shock treatment from time to time to effect change for the better. Executing the 'corrupted-whoever-they-may-be' sounds like a good start.. Like what the old saying goes, at least execute one and the others will learn!
written by hellosunshine, June 02, 2009 17:42:01
With so many failed projects like MV Augusta, PKFZ, tin commodity fiasco, space tourist (at our expense), abandoned crooked bridge and many more fiascoes draining our RM billions which could have made this country and her rakyat be on par with Singapore or better, the rakyat is only now awakening to these abuses, raping, plundering and looting by the powers that be. Keep up the pressure, guys. smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by apasalahku, June 02, 2009 17:43:33
June 2013

Bernama - Selangor to auction license for newly-developed state-wide WiFi network

Selangor Chief Minister Mohd Khir Toyo said the state government is putting up the newly-developed scandal ridden RM120 billion WiFi network for auction for interested parties.

'The state government can no longer afford to withstand the operating cost of the WiFi network. This is another example of the dubious and incompetent actions of the previous government. But we will try to restore as much as possible for the people's benefit,' Say Khir Toyo, alluding to the previous PKR government which lost in the previous election after only one term.
He said on the plan take effect immediately.

When asked on any top bidders of far, he mentioned the Berjaya Group by tycoon Datuk Vincent Tan and Maxis Holdings which is held by HK based local Ananda Krishnan; both known to be closely tied to Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak.

As to consumer rates after the network has been privatized, Khir Toyo quoted, 'As part of the PM's effort to liberalize the economy, the government will not interfere with rate charges by the operating company.'

When asked if this might end up in a tough situation like with the PLUS highway concessionaires, he replied with a wry smile ' We are not the Transport Ministry, and I am not Samy Vellu' referring to the former MIC leader who died last month of a heart attack after his party was thrown out of the Barisn Nasional coalition for being 'irrelevant'.

Be warned PKR; Beware the ending of Animal Farm
written by Macrophage, June 02, 2009 17:44:23
In China, convicted criminals sentenced to death by the bullet used to have their organs sold to patients on transplant waiting lists. Kidneys, liver... the works. I am quite sure some Malaysians have had their lives prolonged by these transplanted organs. I think they have stopped this. The selling of organs that is, not the shooting.

What the scoundrels could not contribute to society in life, the Chinese government allowed them to do so in death.

Is this a form of Hudud? Not for me to comment.

Point of interest. The families of the executed criminals are billed for the purchase of the bullet used for the execution.
written by sampalee, June 02, 2009 17:54:02
Politicians are hopeless when it come to management and solving real problems.On the contary politicians are gifted in creating problem.What we need is street-wise and God fearing people like RPK.You can recruit quite a handful from the SB[special bunch]
written by sambal muncha, June 02, 2009 17:54:10
"Give me just a day as Prime Minister....."

Now that would be just perfect, what do you say, fellow Malaysians?
written by my oumrie, June 02, 2009 18:01:43
How funny...! Do the corrupt ones know that any goods, especially FOOD, bought for themselves & their families, with such money is the grandfather of HARAM?! And they call themselves Muslims? What a load of bloody MUNAFIKS and Satan loves them to death!!!
written by peacemaker, June 02, 2009 18:12:32
"(I remember a Malay Tan Sri who missed his flight because the Germans paged for a Mr Tan and he did not know they were calling him)."

This must be Vincent Tan. Hahaha smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by foresight, June 02, 2009 18:17:54
If the leaders of the country are corrupt, all the rest below will just follow. Yes, don't expect deregulation too. Maybe we should execute them all and start afresh.
written by mikewang, June 02, 2009 18:18:34
For the piece that Dr M wrote, please replace the word "corruption" in his message by the word "sodomy" and you will see the message beautifully revealed ! smilies/smiley.gif
written by gorshan, June 02, 2009 18:54:14
kad kredit dan ah long. apa beza nya? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Angela Ooi, June 02, 2009 18:56:07
In China, even the execution bullet is charged to the family of the executed. They certainly do not waste even a cent of the the tax payers.
written by malsia1206, June 02, 2009 18:57:00
If they start to execute corrupt politicians, I can expect less than 5% would be left standing.
And if they start to execute corrupt Malaysians, you can expect the population would be reduced by 50%.
I would think this is a fair assessment of the position in Malaysia.
written by malaysianohope, June 02, 2009 19:04:44
Sometimes I wish Malaysia is a Communist country so that these scumbags can face the music like what they do to thieves & corrupted people. To become a barisan party leader is to give license to rob the Rakyat as if it's in their SOP. NEP is a 'red herring' to get rich by umno. Maybe that's why umno is scared of allowing Chin Peng to return as I see no other reason that an 80 y.o man can strick fear & resentment.
written by Braino, June 02, 2009 19:11:39
Actually stealing money from the Rakyat is worst than drug trafficking because drug trade only affects a small percentage of the Rakyat but corruption affects every individual citizen in Malaysia. Because of their greed the gomen have to pass on the burden to the Rakyat by increasing electric tariffs, water, petrol and now even flour, sugar and everything else! So the damage to the nation is great and the long term effects are disastrous. Our future will be ruin in the hands of these greedy and selfish scumbags of society.

Executing them by firing squad would be the only right thing to do as a warning to all future corruptors!
written by wongnoball, June 02, 2009 19:12:51
There are two wongnoball in Malaysia Today. The third one may be coming and called Liunoball. However this coming one may be more appropriate to call him Liueunuch because his balls will be physically chop off by RPK.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by malgal, June 02, 2009 19:20:53
how about it, najib? hand over the reins to rpk for a day and some of your promises to wipe out corruption will see some light.

written by Pakyeh, June 02, 2009 19:25:51
Yeah! The death penalty or the hand chopping penalty for UMNO/BN robbers should be implemented.But if they give back all the money they stole,then they should be flogged in public and sent to jail.
Yo! Muslim UMNO guys who are corrupt! By Islamic law you deserve to have your hand chopped off.
Ha,Ha I bet all UMNO guys will be without hands when Islamic Law is implemented.
We also pray to Allah so that corrupt UMNO guys hands will be chopped off in the next world if you escaped punishment in this world.
So UMNO guys be prepared to be "kudong tangan"/without hands when you die and go to the next world.
written by talk2stop, June 02, 2009 19:57:38
I disagree with RPK's way of resolving corruption in Malaysia. It all started off with poor mentality and bad example. You can't eradicate corruption but minimise it, that is the nearest thing you can do.
But I got to say Malaysia is just a bit out of control. It always start from the top abusing their position.
"You tahu saya siapa?" That's a favourite statement.
The best way to start fighting corruption is from taxation department.
How much Mahathir earned while as a Minister to PM? What was declared is what he has today. Anything more, belongs to the state.
Any dickheads can workout how someone earning RM2000 a month can live in an affluent area.
So what so difficult?
written by snailriver, June 02, 2009 20:09:15
Chief,

I will vote for you to be prime minister for full term...what one day ?

When we have the previlege to have murderers and scumbags to be our prime minister, a man of principle as you are far more superior than any one of them..maybe they should have one cup of your urine to enrich their moral and to build righteous attitude and good character to be leaders of the nation.

Take care and Best Regards,
written by Loh, June 02, 2009 20:28:43
///1. We need a law against corruption just as we need laws against all crimes. But sometimes the laws are so framed that they promote crime rather than prevent them. Such a law is the Malaysian law on corruption.///-- TDM

The Malaysian government under BN has the knack to do the wrong thing for the right reason.

///2. It seems logical and right that those who receive illegal gratification should be considered guilty of breaking the law and should therefore be punished. But when we talk of corruption we think of those endowed with power abusing their power in order to gain personal benefit. We think that those who offer gratification as being the victim and should be given some consideration.///-- TDM

Corruption of the largest case has the government as the victim. Government projects and purchases have always been awarded based on public tender until TDM came along. Negotiated contracts reduced the worth of ringgit to a fraction of it, possible less than 30 sen. The persons who have the authority to approve projects have the authority to use the power to benefit whoever they wish to. The profit can find ways to return to the approving authority. In this case nobody offers gratification.

The so-called ‘service’ for the maintenance of the well known submarine was worth 500 million ringgit, said to be provided by the vendor. Clearly that money could have been retained had the government decided to conduct the ‘service’ itself. That could be easily done since the company which were supposed to provide the so-called service was set up by Baginda Razak who is not known to possess specialist knowledge on submarine. The Defence Ministry would have more experts and the required personnel to undertake those services. There is no law against hundreds of millions of ringgit paid out of discretion.

///3. But the law says that those who pay for the service they receive should also be considered as guilty and should be equally deserving of punishment.
4. Since both the giver and the recipient may be charged with corruption, both would be unwilling to report the incident. This of course make corruption difficult if not impossible to be brought to a court of law and tried successfully.///-- TDM

The argument sounds reasonable. But when sodomy carried out with mutual consent will have both parties found guilty of the act, yet Saiful chose to report the case to police, it appears that there is exception to common sense.

///5. Besides the process of law would be much prolonged, as each would seek lawyers to argue on his behalf. Not only will the trial take ages but the result can be quite unpredictable.///-- TDM

The results of court case depend on the interest the government has on them. Lingam was known to be able to fix them.

///6. But there is another factor. The person reporting would be marked by those sympathetic to the other party so that it would affect his dealings with them as well. If they are Government servants whose approval would be needed, the approvals may not be forthcoming at all later, even if other officers are involved.///-- TDM

This is a profound statement. TDM cannot be said not to have intimate knowledge of the mechanics of corruption.

written by Loh, June 02, 2009 20:29:19
///7. Because of the ineffectiveness of the laws corrupt people often get away with their corrupt practices.///-- TDM

It is the enforcement. There were 18 sharks whose cases were ripe for prosecution during TDM’s reign but left unprosecuted. It was not the law that was the problem. Had the cases been put through the court, the government would have been able to pinpoint the so-called ineffective clauses in the law.

///8. Yet corruption is such a bane on society that it must be stopped somehow. If the law is ineffective then it must be made to be effective. One of the ways is to give immunity to the aggrieved party reporting the case, provided that the evidence was substantial and not perjury.///-- TDM

When political master used the evidence of corruption to ensure loyalty at pain of being charged, they did not think it was necessary to stop corruption. They in fact encouraged corruption so that the perpetrators could be filmed for record to ensure compliance. Giving immunity to whistle blowers would help, provided the acts coincide with the interest of the powers-that-be.

///9. In the case of political corruption both parties may be willing participants. The bribe is given by a candidate to a willing recipient to gain support for himself. Both are therefore unlikely to complain and reveal the act.///-- TDM

Political corruption is secondary corruption after the politicians had laid their hands on government coffers with impunity. It is because of the availability of funds which allows people to buy support, and it is because political positions enable them to make enormous gains that it pays to buy support. Without corruption in the government, there will not be money politics

///10. The recipients on the other hand would be glad to receive the bribe, unless he is a person of high principal unwilling to betray the cause his party was fighting for.

11. In political corruption it would be extremely difficult to get evidence of the bribe being given or received. Electronics now play a role to hide the act. The money is deposited into the account of the person (voter) concerned via the ATM machines. The recipient would be called via phone to ask whether the money had been received, giving the name of the candidate.///-- TDM

If the government is sincere to wipe out money politics, it should stop easy access to government funds to politicians. The issue of money politics has been raised only to prevent persons of the opposite camp from winning. It is politics of money politics that was in play.

///12. Despite the difficulties for detection, a Government that is truly determined to prevent corruption can find ways of detecting corruption. But if the Government itself is corrupt then corruption cannot be stopped. In fact corruption would spread in every direction and would become a way of life. At this stage nothing can really be done. ///-- TDM

If the statement of ‘at this stage nothing can really be done’ means that TDM has detected ubiquitous corruption, then he should realise that for it to be so widespread, it could not have started only during AAB time as PM. Was TDM trying to plead ignorance of corruption during his time? Nice try, but who believes him?

written by Raymond, June 02, 2009 20:32:23
Anti corruption.. ha ha... that's like a way of life in Malaysia. It's politics. If there is no corruption, there will be no Police, no justice system, no government in Malaysia. Only thing that will save us if fire & brimstone.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 02, 2009 20:44:57
Kepala Otak kau Mahathir, bapak segala corruption. Mana ada lagi undang undang di Malaysia ni. There is a state of lawlessness in Malaysia NOW. Judges are corrupt, police are corrupt, Ministers are corrupt and so on. What ficking law are you talking about??? Jawab Mahathir, jawab.

Salaam
written by lynn, June 02, 2009 20:50:41

From now on until the end of time for the corrupt bn govt., we must keep the momentum going against corruption in Bodohland. Keep harping on corruption, cronyism & nepotism. At the rate this topic is being given bad press & such news reaching even the rural folks, this enlightenment is tantamount to putting 12 nails into the bn coffin by the time GE13 comes around.
written by lynn, June 02, 2009 21:01:09

Let's start from the very beginning. Religious studies in schools shld be conducted on weekends while those precious hours in schools shld be used to teach a subject which covers human rights, consumer rights, the Constitution, basic laws, and yes! what constitutes corruption.

This subject wud teach good values such as respect, proper behaviour, etiquette, civilised conduct, humility, compassion, justice, equality, fairness - it would be a strictly secular subject (batsman is jumping), in the sense, it will not touch on religious sensitivities (any religion worth its salt can withstand any amount of criticism & ridicule, incl. sensitivities) but of course, I am one idealistic Atheist who is talking shit again.

How can a corrupt govt ever dare to give the populace the real deal in education? Knowledge is the enemy of a corrupt govt. The more we know, the chances are the bn govt will have to go, permanently. Its list of corruption cases, abuses of powers, lies, wastages, failures is endless, endless!!!!
written by Ocassey, June 02, 2009 21:06:32
You only request to be PM for one day to bring down korupsi in the nation . Good move to limit the duration of any one aspiring to be PM of Malaysia. We just had one who was afflicted by the tsetse fly bites. Now we have to keep any and all pheremons at bay and away from the present Numero Uno. Soon any and all SYTs must cover up like the Pastun ladies and Taliban females because the decease has spread from the cabinet into the palace or maybe the other way round since the time the pelanduk at the edge of the shore near a melaka tree , cornered, decided to turn and tried to tanduk the mongrel. Astonishingly Numero Uno22Tahun is posting about tackling korupsi. We know what he did in those years. He must have imported alot of jute fibres from those delta areas near the Bay of Bengal and left them every where when he was No.1. Unwittingly so many of his party members got entangled and more strangulation while No.1 pretended to close not one but both his eyes to all those give and take exchanges below his huge crooked nose-bridge.Then he let loose his dogs from different kennels to go after his own leftenants who were supposedly to be on the take, sex scams, you name it ! Remember LGE went to the coolers instead of cheeky little brother? Remember the support that Tengku R depended upon to oust N.U22yrs just disappeared the instant the playboy went to N.U22yrs to save him from one kadi in PD? That kadi was said to have been given early retirement... compared to one frog, that was dirt cheap! SSSOOO, there must be a law to severely punish those who purposely close eyes to allow korupsi to happen to invoke political enslavery to enable oneself to forever shut and eliminate dissents and forever remain on top of the pinacle. Any spotless Malaysian who dared to point a finger at any korup one in power will be immediately harassed, investigated, threatened , intimidated , framed till one has to meekly opt out of the whole picture to right a wrong. So many ended up in Kamunting. The wise ones live on to fight , maybe another day if not every day! Laws can be ignored by those in power. Laws can be made to protect those in power. Laws can be made to quell dissents and voices of discontent. The real problem is the human himself especially the ones whose souls have been sold!
written by penangboi, June 02, 2009 21:23:19
I read and re-read Mahatahi's take on corruption, and I am left puzzled by what he is trying to say.

Is he saying that it's impossible to stem out corruption and hence justifying it, especially in politics?

It is a fact that under Mahatahi's rule was when corruption reached its zenith. He was the father of Corruption that started it all. Hence, his international fame as Mr Ten Percent.

Whatever it is, Mahatahi is definitely NOT qualified to talk about HOW TO OVERCOME CORRUPTION, but he is definitely an expert on how to practise it. 22 years of practice definitely transforms it into a fine art.
written by AlwaysFair, June 02, 2009 21:54:13
NEP is abused as a tool. Instead of being used to eradicate poverty, it became racist and the unscrupulous saw a way to enrich themselves...just the 30% in companies that go for public listing have enriched many. The bumi amd bumi cos quotas, who are real beneficiaries??
written by AlwaysFair, June 02, 2009 21:57:25

The suggestion of execution as capital punishment for corruption is a very good idea indeed!!
written by Sparrow, June 02, 2009 22:06:13
This post is spot on. *applauds*
written by Sabahfan, June 02, 2009 22:16:53
THE NEP IS ALSO THE REASON WHY COMMUNISM IDEA STARTS TO CROP UP..

NEP IS RASCIST....

NEP IS THE OPPOSITE OF ONE MALAYSIA...

SO NAJIB... ONE MALAYSIA IS YOUR MOST HIPOCRITIC SLOGAN... PTUIIIIIII

UMNO REGIME FOREVER BULLSHITTING THE RAKYAT.....

written by DontPlayGod, June 02, 2009 22:23:07
Fancy the Tun talking about corruption and its eradication. He was the one who introduced the AP's, and negotiated tenders, which are all the mothers of corruption. Even AAB, who said he will come down hard on corruption, dare not remove such negotiated tender system as he was afraid of the Little Napoleons and warlords. Of course, he did nothing against corruption, and it is better that he left.
written by DontPlayGod, June 02, 2009 22:25:32
Another important contributory source for corruption, as mentined by RPK, was the NEP. Here only favoured umnoputeras benefited the most. But I must admit that the NEP also benefited the ordinary Malays in terms of job placement in Government service and Government scholarships.
written by Old Man, June 02, 2009 22:50:02
Sir RPK,
These corrupted politicians need to be educated!
They are only interested in amassing wealth ( by being blind and deaf towards the sufferings of the ordinary citizens ) when they don't even know what'll be the names of their great grandchildren and/or vice-versa, ie. their great grand children probably are not even bothered to know the names of their politician great grandfathers and/or great grandmothers! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Loh, June 02, 2009 23:22:19
///But I must admit that the NEP also benefited the ordinary Malays in terms of job placement in Government service and Government scholarships. ///

That was to divide and rule. The savings from not giving non-Malays scholarships are very little compared to what they can steal in the name of NEP. Besides it proves to Malays that they are the Master Race. That is how NEP gets eternal life. Had the Malays known that, without NEP, they can get to enjoy whatever benefits given, and more through the savings in stopping the leakage to the UMNOputras, there might be a break for them and for Malaysia. As with employment in government service, that was the employment of the last resort, and Malays do not have to resort to government service if the government institutions have been properly run. They can be gainfully employed, with pride and dignity.

UMNOputras are killing Malays slowly with NEP. Malays do not know how the next Malay looks like. The mamaks claim that they are the prototype Malay, and they control everything when the head mamak was the emperor.
written by Ho Lee Man, June 02, 2009 23:25:49
Yes ,Pete NEP is wholesale corruption.
We see it every where in Malaysia.
APs ,highway tolls ,license approvals,police ,immigrations and many more.
The civil service ,and the government machineries is corrupt to the core.
NEP is UMNO policy to smokescreen the rakyat ,while they plunder and steal.
With NEP,UMNO consolidate their political and financial power further.
Without the gravy train of NEP,the corrupt UMNO regime will die eventually.
written by AlwaysFair, June 02, 2009 23:27:26
"" We need a law against corruption just as we need laws against all crimes.""
By Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

I think it is not true that there is no law against corruption, just that the ENFORCERS of the law, the polis, the court, the lawyers, the judges do not do their job properly without fear or favour. As evidenced from the Lingam tapes they are not independant and can be manipulated. So in spite of more and more laws why there are no action and no evidences and no convictions?

The law enforcers instead of providing evidences are maybe supressing or hiding them for powerful figures so how to find and punish the guilty?

Instead, the ones who expose the truth are persecuted by the law enforcers ,like RPK. A whole platoon of polis worked hard collecting evidence in the apartment where Anwar purportedly committed sodomy. Many times the polis are definitely not used to uphold the law.

Corruption is not only in money terms, it is everything that also includes the wheeling and dealings in courts the purported upholder of justice in the land yet sadly betray us most of the time.

IF THE WHOLE SYSTEM INCLUDING JUDICIARY IS CORRUPTED AND TAINTED, CORRUPTION IS AND WILL BECOME UNBRIDLED AND RAMPANT.
written by HamChak, June 02, 2009 23:52:41
LOOK, LOOK,
Who is talking about Anti-Corruption Law?
That Pariah MaMak Kutty of Kerala !!
You believe him? ahh?
What a S N A K E ??
Kerala Snake must be having two or three HEADS.
written by Super Admin, June 02, 2009 23:57:31
talk2stop, and what is YOUR solution?
written by Spear Bing, June 03, 2009 00:06:27
Funny, nobody ask the PDRM how come they can come up so fast with photo shots of the Alongs?

Have the PDRM being in constant contact with them prior to the recent incidents of the victims being chained like animals?

PDRM......... the Fourth Branch of the government.
written by adamckteh, June 03, 2009 00:20:00
The NEP: one of the roots of corruption and the root cause of backwardness of Malay.
written by mowadoha, June 03, 2009 00:57:48
Poor YB Ronnie Liu, you better watch out ..... RPK is serious!!

written by renoir, June 03, 2009 03:11:13
A socialist system, something along Nordic Europe lines, can help solve the problem. Corruption is more difficult to conceal in communal projects operated and supervised by the community itself. Reaganism often put a spin on the relationship between high taxes and growth, but after all these decades scores of European nations are showing not only healthier economies but more important, healthier populations. During the late 70s, a German friend - a southern Germany sports coach - told me about the high taxes in his nation but ended with: "I'm happy with it, though. We've good schools, libraries, roads, and other facilities that's the envy of many nations." In a multi-ethnic nation like Malaysia, the bonds of collectives and other socio-economic formations will also foster racial and class harmony. When a Malay works together with his/her Chinese and Indian friends to increase farm or factory output, the competitive spirit is replaced with an esprit de corps. In such a society, where most of the money is used by the state for the people and not for a few individuals, corruption won't make much of a headway. It's worth a try.

written by Davy McChester, June 03, 2009 04:17:36
A hypocrite Dr.Mahathir is wholly responsible for corruption to be out of control. For 22 years he shut the voices of the people through numerous acts all aimed at the whistle blower,not his cronies the takers which include his own relatives,son, and,to give it some semblances of fair play, the children of the other two rascals,Dr.Ling and Samy velu,were "well balanced up" by making them millionaires ,too. "You scrath my back I scrath yours" and screw the stupid rayrat . And here is this shamless disaster Dr. Mahathir preaching ! Hello please give me a break !
written by talk2stop, June 03, 2009 07:29:30
Dear RPK
Thanks for asking.
You probably aware that Australia Taxation Office is the must powerful office is Australia. They have their computers link to banking system and social benefits department.
That is the only department in Australia that you need to prove that you are innocent.
Remember your 2Mohamads if he is an Australian he will be in deep deep deep shit. ATO will take him to the cleaner even if the police let him off. But because he is not an Australian ATO can't do much.
written by madfive, June 03, 2009 08:10:56
pls dont talk about lack of undang undang. we have the best undang undang already.the problem lies with the administrator of the undang undang. i suggest we lease our country to singapore for like five years, and let them bersihkan our system. with the current government or even pr, nothing will dramatically change and improve. lost hope
written by Rozlan, June 03, 2009 08:52:18
I had observed that UMNo since some 35 years ago.In those day I saw their antics discussing about land acquisitions for themselves.My child mind predicted that they will be moe corrupt in future.I vowed not to give my vote to them forever.Well how right I am now..
written by choong, June 03, 2009 09:39:37

The problem is the enforcement, not the laws. There is no point having more and more laws if enforcement is enforced haphazardly and selectively. In addition, the goal of poverty eradication and raising the economic pie is a good ideal but again, it is the implementation that is found wanting.
written by chipon, June 03, 2009 11:59:38

Jawab Ronnie Liu..jawaaaaabbbb!
written by BGs, June 03, 2009 13:26:08
Yes RPK, I would give you a year to be PM & while you are at it, chop down the idiots in the civil service & PDRM other than those corrupted. You can slice their balls with a rusty knife if you like!
written by dassky2000, June 03, 2009 14:17:36
HEY, I WANT TO BUY A HOUSE. BUT MY HOUSE COST ME RM 350.000.00. BUMI GETS 5%, DISCOUNT. AND THAT IS RM17,500.00 LESS. SHOULD THIS BE GIVEN TO A GENUINE BUMI PUTRA IT IS FINE. WHAT ABOUT AN ILLEGAL WHO HOLDS A MYKAD OBTAINED THROUGH DUBIOS MEANS?
NOW IS THIS FAIR???. AS A MALAYSIAN I AM NOT ABLE TO ENJOY THIS 5% DISCOUNT. EVERY BUMI PUTRA, THE FILTHY RICH, THE MODERATE RICH AND THE NOT RICH GET THIS PRIVILAGE. BUT CAN THE MODERATE RICH AND THE NOT RICH BUMI PURCHASE SUCH A HOUSE? NOT REALLY. ONLY THE FILTHY RICH WILL BE ABLE.
NOW YOU MAY BE WONDERING HOW AN ILLEGAL WHO HOLDS A MYKAD GET SUCH A HOUSE. LET ME EXPLAIN. WHEN I A MALAYSIAN WANT TO DO SOME BUSSINESS, I HAVE TO FILL UP DOZENS OF FORMS, GET IT APPROVED BY THE LOCAL MUNICIPAL IF CAN. AND ANSWER ONE THOUSAND ONE QUESTIONS TO QUALIFY. AND MOST IMPORTANT IS THAT I AM A LOCAL ( SABAH & SARAWAK ).

A FORIEGNER WHO BECOMES A BUMI AS EVERYTHING TO START A BUSSINESS, JUST AS LONG HE OR SHE GETS A TRADING LICENSE. FOR ME I MUST FIRST GET A WORK VISA FROM THE IMMIGRATION TO WORK FOR SOMEONE. IF I WANT TO OPEN MY OWN BUSSINESS, I MUST INCLUDE A PARASITE INTO MY COMPANY.

SO YOU SEE. NEP MUST GO.GO GO. AS LONG AS NEP STAYS, THERE WILL BE MORE AND MORE HANDICAPS/PARASITES IN THE MAKING.

I AM A MALAYSIAN, AND I WANT THE SAME PRIVILAGES AS ANY OTHER. THE RICH IS GETTING RICHER, AND POOR IS GETTING POORER. AND THE SO CALLED P.T.I PENDATANG TANPA IZIN IS ENJOYING A FREE RIDE ON MALAYSIAN EXPENSE.
written by clarity, June 03, 2009 15:40:54
Mr.PM, we demand that you take immediate steps to rid this country of corruption. We cannot accept silence and over time, sweep everything under the carpet. The PKFTZ would be a good place to start since all this was before your and therefore you don't have to favour anyone. Haul up ling leong Sik and Chan Kong Hong for questioning. Anymore delays would mead that you condone corrupt practices.
written by marbl3s, June 03, 2009 19:18:43
Its true that licenses and permits can end corruption in away. Its a step tho but it will not totally resolve corruption issue.

But still... it is a step. More steps to come i guess.
written by chin, June 03, 2009 20:08:32
You are right about the over-regulation even though I am a firm believer in the need for laws. How else are we to live in a country where we are constantly in contention with one another.

But the laws in Malaysia are increasing constantly because how else does a corrupt government get to your pocket.

But your muslim bashing is getting excessive, I have many muslim friends and most of these guys are a conscientious lot. I doubt shaming the shameless lot is having much effect.
written by panca, June 03, 2009 21:25:28
ALSO the PDRM(itu polis) said the 'ALONGS' will be charged under 'Anti-money laundering Act' that one could be fined to a Million Ringgit(RM1,000,000.00) instead of the 'Money lending Act' where only RM250,000.00 is the fine.

Why do you need to charge "Alongs" under Anti-Money laundering Act when the 'ALONGS' operation as money lending is illegal and if they are operating under licence where they have breached policies they should be clamped and licences revoked and closed down. Why wait until someone exposed those men were illegal and inhumanely locked away like animals? Are the PDRM Boss waiting for the next level of danger to impact borrowers like death to happen? And now they are talking about charging "ALONG" under Anti Money-Laundering Act where they could just acted based on illegality if they are unlicensed or contravene policies if they are licensed, is it because the Anti Money-Laundering Act which has a ONE MILLION fine garners more opportunity for BIG MONEY CORRUPTION?

OVER TO YOU MR.POLICYMAN(PDRM)
written by takbolehtahan, June 04, 2009 15:05:58
Oscar Winner wrote: " .... Hello, Selangor PR govt, what's up?" I believe they came from the same stock ... umno/bn. When you 'plant' cancer cells into new cells, what do you get?

RPK is correct, you don't need more laws. PR is still new and there is a need to constantly train their 'politicians' well when they are given the chance to take over the govt. And to avoid a repercussion of umno in new uniform, all those elected to hold important govt positions must be absolutely clean, absolutely.
written by mudtel, June 06, 2009 01:31:50
If no corruption, how to have so many mercedes on the road??
written by Oxy, June 06, 2009 21:58:26
Execution is not the cure for corruption, else we can easily solve the
problem by sending their origins, Mahatir and Abdullah to the gallows.
If Pakatan is sincere to the people, it must stop cooperating with BN in
all mega projects and systematically dismantle them at least states held by them.,for they not only enrich the power elite but do harm to the economy and
environ.
written by XYZ, June 08, 2009 12:13:43
And racism is one of the roots of all evils.... !!!! smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif