Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow KL among top riskiest offshore places, says survey

KL among top riskiest offshore places, says survey PDF Print
Monday, 01 June 2009 16:34

(Bernama) - Kuala Lumpur is listed among the top five riskiest offshore locations in the world while Singapore is in the top five safest locations in a worldwide survey.

The riskiest and safest lists are published in the 2009 edition of the Black Book of Outsourcing, brought out every year by US-based Brown-Wilson Group.

The annual publication is considered a major independent analysis and advisory research for the outsourcing players and investors globally.

The rankings of safest and riskiest places are based on factors like high terrorist or rebel target threats, uncontrolled environment waste and pollution, corruption and organised crime, unstable currency, geopolitical conditions and unsecured networks and technology.

In the riskiest 25 list, Bogota in Columbia is at the top followed by Bangkok in Thailand, Johanesburgh in South Africa, Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia and Kingston in Jamaica among the top five.

In the safest 25 list, Singapore is followed by Dublin (Ireland), Santiago (Chile), Krakow/Warsaw (Poland) and Toronto/Montreal (Canada) in the top five.

The three Chinese cities Beijing, Shenzen and Shanghai have been ranked as 9th, 22nd and 24th safest destinations respectively.

India may have been hailed for long as the world's top outsourcing destination, but the new study has named as many as eight cities in the country among the world's 25 riskiest places.

The national capital region comprising Delhi Gurgaon and Noida has earned the dubious distinction of being the worst offshoring destination within the country, the Press Trust of India (PTI) quoted a survey in the annual Black Book of Outsourcing, as saying.

The NCR is followed by Mumbai as the second riskiest offshoring hub within India, while Kolkata has been ranked as least riskiest in the country.

The other domestic cities named in the global list of 25 riskiest offshoring destinations include Bangalore, Hyderabad, Chennai, Pune and Chandigarh.

In the overall global list, NCR has been ranked as sixth most riskiest, Mumbai ninth, Chandigarh 15th, Pune 20th, Chennai 21st, Bangalore 23rd, Hyderabad 24th and Kolkata the 25th most riskiest in the world.

Meanwhile, no Indian city has managed to find a place on a separate list of 25 safest offshoring destinations.

In terms of terrorism threats Mumbai has been ranked as the location with the highest risk, followed by Delhi NCR and Jerusalem in Israel.

Further, Delhi NCR has been ranked as the riskiest place when it comes to heightening transnational and geopolitical concerns.

Bangalore, another leading outsourcing destination in the country have been ranked as the riskiest place in terms of uncontrolled environmental waste and pollution.

While India accounts for the maximum number of cities in the 25 riskiest places, while China and Mexico lead the tally in the 25 safest list with three cities each.

There is just one Chinese city, Dalian, among the 25 riskiest places at 12th place.

The three Chinese cities Beijing, Shenzen and Shanghai have been ranked as 9th, 22nd and 24th safest destinations respectively.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Krepot, June 01, 2009 16:40:11
Is any Malaysians surprised?

Oh! I forgot about UMNO/BN fellas - what till they start shouting and screaming foul!!!
written by uxzee, June 01, 2009 16:44:47
With Najib in the pilot's seat, Malaysia is set to break more of such negative records. But our ministers will immediately defend the above news as "people are jealous of Malaysia's success or out to sabotage us."
written by unomalaysia, June 01, 2009 16:56:25
I would be extremely surprised if KL or Malaysia is named in the safest list so being in the riskiest place is biasa lah... smilies/tongue.gif
With a corrupted judiciary, thugs and gangsters disguised as policemen headed by one of the most corrupted chief, and AG that manufacture evidence, a joke called MACC all led by the United Malay Nazi Organization and Parti Berak Najis, Malaysia is already shoulder to shoulder with Zimbabwe and Myanmar or maybe overtaken it.. Ptooi!
written by pinsysu, June 01, 2009 16:56:55
Not disputing KL making the top-5. But Bangkok? Johannesburg? Top-5 riskiest places? The latter 2 are a lot more safer than KL lah ... they are probably toking abt the crime rate stats there but in KL, polis is enhancing the stats ah bcos the criminals in KL feel very safe with polis around ...
written by lawa88, June 01, 2009 17:00:38
KL ada Mat Rempit - pengikut KJ maka safest place lah smilies/kiss.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by Wakeupmsia, June 01, 2009 17:00:50
Wow, Malaysia score another record!

First - Can Or Not went to space.
Second - Universities. Listed in the bottom of bottom half.
Third - People can be bombed to pieces (in peace time).
Fourth.....................Banyak lagi,

Malaysia Boleh!
written by aeromaverick, June 01, 2009 17:05:21
I guess the risk associated with KL has got to do with the issues of corporate safety, whereby the original shareholders are under constant threat of being run over by the wolf brigade...... if you know what I mean.,.....
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ultraman, June 01, 2009 17:23:17
Well done! China also can have 3 safest place among the top 25.
Oh yes, we are better. we are in the top 25 top riskiest place. Congrats Najib.
How to be safe? Speaker of a house can be dragged out like dog!
Wearing black can land you in trouble!!!
written by hiro, June 01, 2009 17:24:56
Stands to reason, especially when a Mongolian gets blown up to bits, and there are daily occurence of snatch thefts.

The only surprise here is Bernama reporting on this. Maybe they thought it's top 5 less riskiest heheh..
written by Jan, June 01, 2009 17:31:28
Ever since the early eighties the country has deteriorated in its quality of life, education standard, law and order, corruption and mediocre civil service. Guess who was in charge then? The influx of immigrant workers both legal and non legal compounded the problems.
The problems did not go away with the change of leadership but it got worse. Now they are grabbing power in Perak by questionable means and abusing state apparatuses to stop dissent. Are we becoming a police state? Why are we not surprised when other people rate us poorly in a worldwide survey?
written by PASOK, June 01, 2009 17:40:32
After all this things there is no more pride to be a malaysian.
written by miwaki, June 01, 2009 17:43:36
Mamak Kutty said,the higher the risk,the higher the returns.That's why Genting casino is always fulled round the clock.

What risk you people are talking about ? Risk of infested with H1N1 ?
written by parsona, June 01, 2009 17:48:01
Congratulations to the PDRM! Your efforts in arresting harmless candle holders instead of Mat Rempits and snatch thieves have paid off in giving you a Top-5 ranking! You guys are awesome, please give yourselves a pat on the back!
written by fearless, June 01, 2009 17:50:50
Not a surprse to rate KL is riskest city in the world with Musa Hasan as Police chief. Ah Longs, Mat Rempits, motobike snapped thieves, illegal workers are found all over the KL city.

BUT police is super-efficient when it come down to opposition.
written by parsona, June 01, 2009 17:51:16
Why are there so many paranoid fellas in malaysia who always think that the only purpose in life of the western people is to bring down malaysia? Please lar, you have been brainwashed by Mahathir the senile old fool.
written by vinnie, June 01, 2009 17:53:27
Surely I won't be surprise. Staying in Jkt for sometime already, I personally feel Jkt is much more safer then KL. As we don't hear much crime as in KL and most importantly is The Indonesia President is sincerely fighting againt corruption and not like our beloved BN cronies just say want to fight corruption but the other hand just keep on makan. The famous saying "From right pocket to left pocket". When the country is going into recession, there will be more crime. Instead of taking care & safety of our people the Polis is looking fault at those who wear Black, lighting up candles and much more. How can this country not the top 5 riskiest country in the world. NO PROTECTION FROM POLICE, JUDGE, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY THE GOVT.
written by ylcc, June 01, 2009 18:01:36
Eh, I thought someone said that Malaysia is just slightly below Singapore and Japan in terms of crime? What happened?
written by beijing, June 01, 2009 18:08:29
No surprise la…how come all the 6 wanted list of Ah Long only age between 32 – 22? Who’s the man behind them? What the point to catch the small fish? That why the top 5 riskiest is KL. The big fish never get hook up so they still can swim so free one. See, I believe the big fish is politician and some Dato and Tansri one.. So many Ah Long and corruption, mat rempit and double standard policy in KL. For sure it is top 5 lor… smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Badrol, June 01, 2009 18:36:43
It's either your money gets siphoned or the bank where your money is gets C4ed.
written by doggone, June 01, 2009 18:41:55
How about a survey on the most evil head of states?
One of the top ten places is automatically reserved for Malaysia.

Which country in the world bars the use of a lady's name?
Alt...err I mean, who alternatively uses the police to lodge police reports against opposition leaders because they link a lady to a prominent 'promiscous' high level politician? In this, we are in the top ten too.

Baruah !!!

written by Sudahlah tu, June 01, 2009 19:06:29
itu rakyat Malaysia tahu ...
written by lynn, June 01, 2009 19:07:44
We don't really know how high our crime rates are. It must be very high & getting higher.
We cannot trust the media whores since they need to "toe the line".
Govt statistics are skewered so if they give you figures, you got to do some multiplication on your own by doubling that figure or tripling them.

Actually, it's getting fcuking ridiculous in Malaysia. Us being so scared of snatch thieves, break-ins and robberies in public places. When we go home, we lock down our homes like a high security prison. In my office in Shah Alam, a male motorist was robbed by two males on a motorbike. Times are changing. The females are inside the offices so they go for their own sex.
written by CHOWKITMAN, June 01, 2009 19:22:43
at least we are better off than Bogota, Bangkok, Johanesburgh. our PDRM is working hard to keep crime rate lower here in Kuala Lumpur. & if you wanna make KL a better place to live, please do not report any criminal case to the police, keep it to yourself, cos if you do report, they will advise you not to report. i hope this would help kuala lumpur to maintain its position.
written by OVERLORD, June 01, 2009 19:30:36
malu siut!...where to hide one's face?
written by malsia1206, June 01, 2009 19:59:44
IN MALAYSIA, THE POLICE MAKEE PROMPT ARRESTS OF PEACE-LOVING CITIZENS WHO GATHERED FOR VIRGILS BEARING WHITE CANDLES. MURDERERS WHO USED C4 AND THE CONSPIRATORS ARE GETTING SCOTT FREE WITH THEIR HEINOUS CRIMES. WIVES WHO WRE BATTERED AND ASSAULTED IN THE ROYAL PALACES ARE GETTING AWAY WITH THEIR ROYAL IMMUNITY. SO WHAT'S SO SURPRISING WITH THIS SURVEY?
written by A MI, June 01, 2009 20:58:34
Don't worry. AMNO will set up their own body to do the ranking!
Just like how they rank their universities! smilies/grin.gif
written by cheemengwong, June 01, 2009 21:02:54
After Altantuya's dissapearance and subsequent revealation that she was blow up to pieces using plastic explosive by the police special forces,news travelled around the world within seconds and now Kuala Lumpur earns its notoriety.

It is no surprise. How can the police be involved in murder and dissapearance of tourists and visitors when we yearn for tourism money!

The dissapearance of Bala who sign a Statutory Declaration alleging involvment of Najib has surprised the whole world. Every school going children, adult and old folks around the world are avoiding Malaysia at all costs!

How to make KL safer?

You tell me.
written by SiHangChai, June 01, 2009 22:06:31
Those who thinks as well as MSC to promote Malaysia as the outsourcing hub must be dreaming. Malaysia is no longer attractive for outsourcing. All those firms who invested here can bungkus and get out from Malaysia. Malaysia is famous for mat rempit, snatching, politic problem, race problem, 1/2 past 6 policies, corruption etc.
written by parsona, June 01, 2009 22:33:43
wtf are you talking about talk2stop?
written by bexe, June 01, 2009 22:41:10
Nothing is riskier in business terms than a broken down judiciary. That means complete lawlessness. The other factors can be mitigated but not this.
Would you put your money in a foreign place if you know you can't get justice? You will never be able to protect your money or get it back. We deserve this ranking.
written by Adrian, June 01, 2009 22:53:35
yeah! We are number 1....... from behind.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 01, 2009 23:49:50
Look fellas,

If we are not among the polluted, corrupted, high crime rate, abusive and politically repressive, we won't be in the news.

What else can we hope for if not for the notorious reputation that we owe so much to the BN government? It is hard to be in the news nowadays especially when there are many hundreds countries that we are competing with.

Ignore that small dot down south, their Police Force is not as sympathetic and affectionate as our PDRM especially towards the BN politicians and the royalties.
written by Lim Lim, June 02, 2009 00:05:14
Menteri besar =boleh jadi menteri besar mahkamar,
judge =boleh jadi political judge,
police = boleh jadi kaki hentam umno thieves n bandits,
u tell me,how can the risk be low for investors in this umno be end bolehland??
written by bknight, June 02, 2009 00:05:48
well there is alotsa argument here, for instance, in terms of infrastructure, i still take pride in malaysia being one of the top, in terms of skillset, i still vote malaysia the top. in terms of price competitiveness is doubtful, because we import from india which make us less competitive.

and i am pretty sure that given considerations to the above factors, we should rank higher than singapore in terms of cost. but!! one have to examined the fact why we are ranked the riskiest ? we have all the skillset, infra and what have you, but why cant we move up the rank ?

Offshoring or the right definition now is "Righshoring" is about price competitiveness versus infrastucture, stability and many more. so your guess is as good as mine why we are ranked the riskiest

damn you! umno! bn!

written by bknight, June 02, 2009 00:10:45
i am one of the generations of the trend of outsourcing. we got the experience in the expense of many of my friends and counterparts in US and Europe but today i find myself in another country than in my homeland looking for advancement not just in terms of quality of life but in terms of room for advancement.

how many are in the same fate as me ? god knows. but what i know for sure, i saw the trend of things are not going to stay in malaysia. we do not have the competitiveness especially in terms of level playing field to say the least.
we are not the best but we are not the worst in terms of skillset and minds but we will definetely be the worst looking at the trends of brains leaving the country.

damn you ! umno ! bn! smilies/angry.gif
written by Williams C, June 02, 2009 00:10:47
Malaysian Government's next best know-how approach:

ISA and criminal defamation against the US-based Brown-Wilson Group.
ROFLOL!

written by wood, June 02, 2009 02:03:09
Wah Malaysia so "terror" ! We are in the "Top 5"!
written by Kampong, June 02, 2009 08:15:58
Oh this is so revealing, calling attention to the obvious. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by macho, June 02, 2009 09:23:26
Some people does not agree with this survey. This are the kampung mentality people. They are still thinking it is the west against the east or the malay against the chinese or the jews against the muslim. How narrow minded. Get up from your dreams, this is not the Malaysia of the past. This is the present corrupt and undemocratic country of ours. It is not that I wish bad things for my country but at the current rate it is being run it can only get worse. By then maybe this group of people can blame god.