Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Gerakan: No need for drastic moves in Ipoh arrests

Gerakan: No need for drastic moves in Ipoh arrests PDF Print
Tuesday, 26 May 2009 17:03

Written by Yong Min Wei, The Edge

Gerakan has urged the police to exercise restraint and rationality in dealing with those involved in the launch of a three-day hunger strike in Ipoh to call for the dissolution of the Perak state legislative assembly.

Gerakan Youth Chief Lim Si Pin opined that Home Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein would not agree with the police taking such drastic action to arrest Pakatan Rakyat (PR) elected representatives who wanted to go on hunger strike.

"Hunger strike is a form of non-violent protest and police should not intervene. The police action could be construed as a Barisan Nasional-sanctioned action," he said in a statement today.

Claiming the police were too obsessed with calming down the situation, Lim said the party was shocked that five workers including three foreigners of an event company engaged to put up a canopy and a giant balloon outside the Perak DAP headquarters were also detained.

More than 10 PR politicians and party workers including ousted Perak assembly speaker V Sivakumar, DAP's Ipoh Barat MP M Kulasegaran and state assemblymen Keshwinder Singh (DAP-Malim Nawar), Chan Ming Kai (PKR-Simpang Pulai), Chang Lih Kang (PKR-Teja), Leong Mee Meng (DAP-Jalong), Thomas Su (DAP-Pasir Pinji) and Lim Pek Har (DAP-Menglembu) were arrested earlier today for disobeying police orders to disperse.

written by garuda, May 26, 2009 17:15:40
Gerakan, are u still convinced with UMNO? pls ask yrself this and dont side us to get sympathy votes for u. If u are sincere than join the rest of them on a hunger strike as well!!

If you do that than possibly u may get more respect from the oublic than just empty talk, show that u mean it from yr heart, go to the police station, talk to the police heads, talk to yr UMNO heads make them see the error of their ways.

Gerakan are u a party for the rakyat or just UMNO??????????
agree 124
written by Susanna, May 26, 2009 17:16:16
Shocking shame... How much more shame our gomen want to bring to our country?
written by Arowana, May 26, 2009 17:16:36
Lim Si Pin s/o KY Lim, don't talk so much, your daddy will slap you and Uncle KSK will demote you. OK ? Good boy.
written by righttruthspeaks, May 26, 2009 17:20:49
I say, Lim Si Pin, if you got any principles, quit your association with the EVIL umno-bn NOW!

Or forever stop trying to fool the people with statements that give the impression that you are not an EVIL guy !!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Dominic, May 26, 2009 17:21:59
Now that the wielding of kris is out of date,next best move is to go insane with blantant arrests ! Thats the product of the 2nd generation leaders ! My monkey can behave much much better.
written by Ashleigh, May 26, 2009 17:23:39
GERAKAN stop barking please! In 3 min UMNO will issue a show cause letter to Lim Si Pin and then what would you do? Hide away your sour loser face and go tail-wagging...? Just don't say anything if you are unable to do anything... I'm so sick of Gerakan, MIC, MCA and the likes of UMNO-dogs nowadays... If you are in the same coalition, you can't excuse yourself from condoning all these sins smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by SamYap, May 26, 2009 17:47:14
GERAKAN, stop dishing advice to UMNO, ok?

We, the rakyat, have own ways and will deal with it. And you, Gerakan, just fade away quietly.
written by kksam, May 26, 2009 17:48:36
Gerakan, i don't care what the shit you said in press, as long as you Gerakan still in BN, YOU ARE PART OF THE PROBLEM!!!
written by me_in, May 26, 2009 17:49:42
Let him express his opinion. At least we know that Gerakan Youth has a little bit of
brain compared to MCA and Umno and MIC youth.
written by Kopi37, May 26, 2009 17:56:53
Gerakan has lately gives out several praiseworthy comments as one of the internal voice of dissent from within the den of the despots, but no concrete action, merely talks! Used to be a NATO and forever will be a NATO is how the theory works?!

What we saw was only LSP's chief eunuch, also the protege of the grand old eunuch LKY, the backdoor Minister KTK was still wagging his tail like an obedient dog sniffing behind the posterior of his master, the condemnable one! One of the most despicable scene we have seen as a disgrace to all the Chinese of right minds!

LSP though under the groom, and still, of the ever foxy grand old eunuch is still too green a novice to be cunning enough to deal with the 52 years old filthy despotic dynasty, and, when the mongrels from the filthy den counter-reacted to bark back at him, he will sure has his tail retracted between his pelvic and shy away back home to cry in his dad's skinny bossom! smilies/cry.gif
written by No nonsense, May 26, 2009 18:07:35
LSP if you are still part of Bn whatever you say will never convince any malaysians. If Gearakan is really so sincere why are you still sticking onto Amnos legs? You are worst than the hydra. You S-hole shit are useless another worm in Amno anus.
written by PasarRoad, May 26, 2009 18:17:34
Aiyah, Gerakan, don't try to be a goody man. Your Head Prefect Koh Tzu Koon would not be happy for your comment neither would Lim Kit Siang or Lim Guan Eng say thank you to you. Kerismuddin would tear you apart tomorrow, be careful. Anyway, the people will NOT be fool by Gerakan anymore. If you are serious for the peoples' cause and justice, please LEAVE BN immediately. Until then, please allow the Opposition to fight the peoples' cause, they don't balls-carrier like you to voice their struggle for justice and fairness.
written by Remo, May 26, 2009 18:30:53
FACK YOU LAH GERAKAN.
YOU GO SUCK THE BN COCK LAH.
TALKING LIKE SAINT.
written by MAMR, May 26, 2009 18:43:28
"Gerakan: No need for drastic moves in Ipoh arrests"

Based on the above statement, Gerakan you all dare to remind your UMNO Master, that is impressive.Pse be careful you all may at latter stage have to ask for forgiveness by having to kiss the hand of your UMNO/BN Boss.Pse also be reminded that Police will not dare take action without instruction from your UMNO/BN Boss.
written by Democrats, May 26, 2009 18:48:13
Aiya...Gerakan, since getting kicked out of Penang, you seem to disagree with BN-UMNO in all their actions in public.

And inspite of all your protests and varying viewpoint, none were ever taken into consideration. Even your presidents potrait is torn by UMNO thugs.

Be the man, take your two MPs out and become independents.
written by fireduck, May 26, 2009 18:59:25
What Si Pin said is only common sense. The police has become zealots in suppressing the rakyat. And it just plain Stupidity with a capital 'S'. Allowing the hunger strike for just the 3 days intended will not cause much problems and most rakyat outside of that area may not even be that aware of the event.

But the heavy-handedness of the police simply blew the whole issue out of proportion. That is really dumb, as dumb can be. Now that hunger strike thingy will be on everyone's lips just like the Brickfields lawyers' detention, and for months to come. If I'm the Home Minister, I'd pecat the IGP for not using his common sense and for making mountains out of molehills all the time..... unless the Home Minister himself is the one who ordered the arrests.
written by Wakeupmsia, May 26, 2009 19:15:00
Mr. Lim Si Ping,

The more unneccessary arrests by the stinking cops will do more harm to BN. Get Gerakan out of BN fast............otherwise Gerakan will be extinct in no time. Time is not on your side. More and more Rakyat including some UMNO/MCA/MIC people are having a change of hearts for their party, though not outwardly expressed....not yet.

written by tlnrs, May 26, 2009 19:24:09
Dear Mr Yong Min Wei, The Edge,

Please choose a more appropriate word, 'ousted Perak assembly speaker V Sivakumar'??
I wondered where you graduated from?
Have you study ethics and professionalism before?
Oh it made me wondered again.
written by michaelT, May 26, 2009 19:24:12
Lim Si Ping should consider quitting Gerakan and join PR since you share the same opinion with PR. Just dont express your Opinion but go ahead with representation to see the Home Minister and PM. Get your top leadears to endorse your action otherwise quit. At least yuor future will be brighter come next GE.
written by Aduh, May 26, 2009 19:36:01
A gila babi organization !!! Had in mind of using a more stinking discription. But decided to save it for other times, as there is bound to be more gila babi acts by them soon.

What crime had they committed ??? None. But you did.!!!
written by penangboi, May 26, 2009 20:08:39
Stupid Gerakan Youth Chief Lim Si Pin ... said 'The police action could be construed as a Barisan Nasional-sanctioned action'

It is NOT CONSTRUED, IDIOT. It is a direct order from Kerismuddin and Najis.

We all know that the police is under the jurisdiction of KDN and Kerismuddin is the head honcho there.

I don't bloody care whether Kerismuddin say if he did not order the police but the very fact that both Kerismuddin and Najis keep quiet and let the police run riot is akin to santioning such police brutality.

And it is NOT hearsay anymore. It is a fact that these 2 idiots use the police to achieve their own means.

Have we forgotten that the police detailed as Najis bodyguards were the ones who C4'd Altantuya.
written by SiHangChai, May 26, 2009 23:43:17
Lim Keng Yik's son is trying to seek political mileage. If you are really Gerakan, you should tell this and shaft it into UMNO's ass!
written by Aramsawafer, May 27, 2009 00:20:48
Great, People of Perak. Continue with the civil disobedience and persevere. They, the police are trying to behave like the aparthied regime when Mandela adopted the Gandhi style passive resistance. They will force you to get violence. They will torment you until you give up. though not cowed, but becomeing violent. That's what they want. So I called upon you to continue your passive struggle. Continue to wear in black. Continue to have your hunger strike if you can. Continue with your candle vigil. Let them hit you. When they hit your left, let them hit your right. Let them be the violent one until they feel shameful. Until their consciences strike their hearts. Until their family feel repugnance. Until they becomes tired. Until the whole region and the whole world come to know about it. Until all the world medias send their news team in full force to Malaysia. Until the day, when victory is achieved throught the ballot box. Rise Malaysian, rise. But rise with peace in your heart, love in your soul. Down with repressive regime. Long Live the people.
written by freerpk, May 27, 2009 08:55:54
Ai yah, we are told BN don't work like this lah not like PR members openly disagree with each other. BN have problems talk behind closed doors lah, don't openly talk but whisper into the ears. Talk like this very bad the disciplinary committee will have to investigate....Ooh...yah..yah...I forgot the Press very bad, you were wrongly quoted smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif