Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Khalid slams police for roughing up Jenice, other Perak dissenters

Khalid slams police for roughing up Jenice, other Perak dissenters PDF Print
Monday, 25 May 2009 15:54

(Suara Keadilan) - Selangor Menteri Besar Khalid Ibrahim has lashed out at the police for using excessive force against a group of 16, including Teratai assemblywoman Jenice Lee, for holding a candlelight vigil to protest the death of democracy in Perak.

“We believe that the arrest last Thursday should not have taken place as YB Jenice and the others were gathering peacefully merely to express their expression and, there was no indication that the gatherings would have caused public disorder,” said Khalid.

Khalid is the latest in a long line of civil society and Pakatan Rakyat leaders to take umbrage at the high-handed police action.

Of late, under the instruction of Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein, the police have siezed on every opportunity to detain dissenters, especially those who condemned Prime Minister Najib’s illegal power grab of the Perak state government. The northwestern state has been plunged into political turmoil since the February coup d’etat.

Jenice, who was arrested twice last week, was even roughed up and pushed by the police, who spared no one in their bid to stamp their authority.

Said Khalid: “The state condemns any violation against the freedom of expression and right to assembly, fundamental rights which are guaranteed under the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the Federal Constitution of Malaysia. We call on the police to respect and protect these rights.”

———————————————————————————————————————

Suara Keadilan appends below the full text of the statement issued by Khalid Ibrahim:

SHAH ALAM: Following the arrests and remand of Teratai assemblyman YB Jenice Lee and 15 others last Thursday, the Selangor Government question the police continued use of excessive force against those who participating in peaceful gatherings and assemblies.

We believe that the arrest last Thursday should not have taken place as YB Jenice and the others were gathering peacefully merely to express their expression and, there was no indication that the gatherings would have caused public disorder.

The state also regrets the recent developments where a series of arrest on civilians, lawyers, human rights activists and politicians. According to SUARAM just this month, a total of 146 arrests have been made – mainly against those involved in peaceful gatherings like candlelight vigils. To make matters worse, the police had even went to the extent of raiding DAP headquarters. This is indeed an alarming development a democratic country.

The state condemns any violation against the freedom of expression and right to assembly, fundamental rights which are guaranteed under the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the Federal Constitution of Malaysia. We call on the police to respect and protect these rights.

Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim
Dato’ Menteri Besar Selangor

written by Wisdom above, May 25, 2009 16:01:13
I have only this to say !

Let's Light a Candlelight in our Hearts !
written by shissun, May 25, 2009 16:07:56
Kan Nia Boh Lu Polis. **** you! How dare you touch such pretty girl.
written by mob1900, May 25, 2009 16:22:31
The criminals of this country must've been having it great since AAB days til present, none of these 'few bad apples' has been doing their job except sucking up to their AMNO paymasters and arresting bloggers deemed as 'national threat's.

Crime does pay in Bolehland it seems and let's hope they realised they put their own families at risk if they keep on doing anything but preventing crime.
written by SamSan, May 25, 2009 16:26:59
AMENO is law unto itself and AMENO is also Constitution unto itself.
written by Richfyf, May 25, 2009 16:48:49
Tan Sri,

I hope while the police is busy arresting MP one of the Mat Rempit will beat up the IGP wife and land her in hospital.

Then maybe the IGP will be a bit more concern in doing his job to actually prevent the real porblem faced by the rakyat!!!

Hopefully it happen when the IGP's wife is having lunch with Hisshamuddin wife.
written by mob1900, May 25, 2009 17:08:02
Need to tell Barisan Najis that the Law-enforcement is

written by miwaki, May 25, 2009 17:45:44
Lawan samseng yang bersenjata api mereka takut macam tikus,tapi lawan gadis sangat berani.Tak ada guna punya binatang ! Jikalau saya bapa hang,saya lebih baik tenye hang semua mati awal awal.Buat malu saje.
written by advocatusdiaboli, May 25, 2009 17:59:19
PDRM punya kemaluan sangat besar (quote taken from Samy Velu). Look at the crime rate lah. It is sky high. Police donig such a cock up job. But arrest a person lighting a candle they so efficient. Useless pricks. PDRM you are a curse to the nation.
written by Watchdog, May 25, 2009 19:26:47
Apa macam the grammar in the English statement above? Cant be from Tan Sri. More like Toyol's Inggeris
written by MalayMail, May 25, 2009 21:20:35
Why no police arrest during Mamak protest in Komtar?
Why arrested on peaceful birthday gethering?
written by Ironman2, May 26, 2009 00:36:57
What happened to the bar council which wanted to sue the Bloody Police?
What happened to their voices???
Chicken out???
written by agadam magadam, May 26, 2009 01:26:19
I think, we got to draw the line somewhere...

..It's time for us, the Rakyat, to now organise a massive gathering, say maybe in the Shah Alam Stadium.... Get International NGO Speakers, Human Rights bodies, to attend, and so on.. Make it known to the World that we are organising such an event.. in protest against the barbaric Police Force under the C4 Regime..
We will help spread the word Internationally... Take our time...No hurry..
What can the 'dogs' do then..??

Shall we..??
Like I said...Before things get worse... We can't let these things continue for another 3 years, when BN will be wiped out..
3 years is a long way from now...

Do we need more Police brutality and deaths, before we act..??

The PDRM has overstepped their boundary....