Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Court of Appeal judgment is a flop

Court of Appeal judgment is a flop PDF Print
Sunday, 24 May 2009 14:09

Following the footstep of the Appellant, the court seems to be equally obsessed with the notion that Nizar had lost the majority, and corollary to that, anything done to get rid of Nizar is okay, as it complies with the democratic principle that the majority must rule. 

KIM QUEK

The pain was acute and deep when the verdict came, despite it being widely anticipated.  The complete silence that greeted the Court of Appeal decision in favour of Zambry Kadir – in contrast to the uncontrollable jubilation that hailed the high court declaration of Nizar Jamaluddin as the lawful Menteri Besar only 10 days ago - spoke for itself.  I believe the disappointment and suppressed fury prevailing in the court room this time was reflective of the feelings invoked across the nation when Justice Raus Shariff delivered the 5-minute oral judgment that marked a new low in our judiciary on May 22.

How can the nation not be disappointed when Raus’ judgment is nothing but regurgitation of a list of the Appellant’s (Zambry) arguments, void of any reasoned input by the panel which also included Justices Zainun Ali and Ahmad Maarop?  How can we call this a judgment when the comprehensive and meticulous grounds of judgment of High Court Judge Aziz Rahim and the compelling presentations by the Respondent’s (Nizar) lawyers are completely ignored and side-stepped?

Topmost of the Respondent’s argument is that the Sultan has no power to sack a menteri besar.  The panel kept mum on this issue, and since the Appellant didn’t dispute this contention either, it must follow that the issue is settled – the Sultan has no such power.  And since Nizar had not resigned when the Sultan appointed Zambry, then how could the court conclude that the Sultan was right in appointing Zambry?  Unless of course, the court is saying that the Sultan is entitled to appoint a second menteri besar when the first one is still serving?  But would anyone in his right mind suggest that?

Following the footstep of the Appellant, the court seems to be equally obsessed with the notion that Nizar had lost the majority, and corollary to that, anything done to get rid of Nizar is okay, as it complies with the democratic principle that the majority must rule. 

This line of thinking is defective legally and constitutionally, as the transition of government must follow the rules laid down in the law and the constitution, failing which it is deemed illegal.

SULTAN CANNOT SACK MENTERI BESAR

In this country, even when the Monarch is satisfied that the head of government has lost majority support, the former has no power to dismiss the latter.  This is made abundantly clear in our constitution (whether Federal or State) which expressly states that only the ministers – not the prime minister or chief minister (menteri besar) - serve at the pleasure of the Monarch.

In the case of Perak, even when Nizar has truly lost the majority (which is not at all the case), the Sultan has no choice but to wait for Nizar to resign before he can appoint another menteri besar, if the Sultan withdraws his consent to a dissolution of the state assembly.

Could we then consider this as a major defect in our constitution – a major oversight by the crafters of our constitution?  Not at all the case, as our forefathers did not consider it likely that such an eventuality could occur – a head of government so shameless that he refuses to step down when he has truly lost the majority support.  And they were proven right, as it has not happened in the past, neither is it happening now. 

The crisis in Perak did not spring from Nizar’s refusal to resign for having lost the majority, but was caused by his disagreement that that he had lost the majority.  That was made abundantly clear to the Sultan during the audience on Feb 4 when Nizar stressed that there was a stalemate at the assembly following the resignations of three Pakatan assemblymen from the assembly and proposed that the assembly be dissolved.  And when the Sultan’s secretary released a press statement the next day, stating that His Royal Highness did not consent to the dissolution of assembly but instead asked Nizar to resign due to HRH being convinced that Nizar “had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the State Assembly members”, Nizar quickly delivered a written appeal to HRH the same evening, refuting Barisan Nasional’s claim of majority, and reiterating that the assembly was tied at 28, as the Speaker had already accepted the resignation of three Pakatan assemblymen.  Nizar further informed HRH that the Speaker and the Perak government had applied to the High Court to declare that these three persons were no longer assemblymen. 

This application is still pending in the high court.

Until this court case is finally settled, no one can claim majority in the assembly without a vote of confidence in the assembly that is legally and properly convened.  But that wouldn’t be anytime soon as the myriad of interconnected suits and counter suits pending in the high courts would impede the holding of such a seating.

ASSEMBLY THE FINAL ARBITER

Significantly as submitted by the Respondent, the Speaker also made an urgent appeal in writing to HRH on Feb 6 to convene a special seating of the assembly, but unfortunately this was not acceded to.  So, instead of allowing the assembly to determine the vital question of confidence, the Sultan had relied on his personal interview with individual assemblymen in the Palace to form his judgment that Nizar had lost his majority, thus sparking off a chain of events that have badly shaken public confidence in the integrity and political neutrality of almost all the institutions of state under the Barisan Nasional leadership.

Can the Sultan supplant the assembly as the legal authority to ascertain the level of confidence the Menteri Besar enjoys in the assembly?  High Court Judge Aziz has ably answered the question in his judgment on Feb 11.  He said that reading Clauses 2, 5 & 6 of Article 16 of the Perak constitution together will lead one to logically conclude that it is the assembly that determines whether it has confidence in the Menteri Besar as head of the the Executive Council, as “the Executive Council shall be collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly” (Clause 5).  Since the Menteri Besar and his Exco are answerable only to the assembly and to no one else, why should the Sultan or for that matter, any third party be allowed to be the final arbiter as to whether the Menteri Besar has lost the confidence of the assembly and therefore must quit?  In other words, while it is the Sultan who appoints a menteri besar, it is only the assembly which can decide his fate.

Regretably, the panel led by Justice Raus had no answer for this remarkable ground of Aziz’s judgment.  And without giving a single instant of how Aziz has floundered, how could the panel conclude that “the learned high court judge erred in law when interpreting the Perak Constitution” and overturned his judgment?

JUDGMENT COLLAPSES

It is clear that the panel’s judgment has already collapsed on these two scores alone – that the Sultan has no power to sack the Menteri Besar, and that the Sultan cannot supplant the assembly to ascertain the confidence enjoyed by the Menteri Besar.

The saddest part is that this judgment is but one of a series of judgments handed down over the Perak crisis from the nation’s highest courts – federal court and court of appeal – which have been widely criticized as politically partisan resulting in various dubiosities – blatant disregard of constitutional provisions, judgment without proper or written grounds or judgment in indecent haste.  This only serves to confirm a widely held opinion that in the rarefied stratosphere of these courts, honesty and integrity are rare commodities, which must be the inevitable phenomenon of a system that rewards the compliant but dishonest and punishes the non-compliant but honest.

One can foresee that as the Barisan Nasional continues to maintain its questionable hold of power in Perak, more and more of these abominable transgressions of justice will flood our radar screens as the host of legal cases unwind themselves through the higher courts.  While these will inflict grievous damage to our national image, they will  ironically hasten the day of real reforms as more and more people will become convinced that the only way to restore the rule of law is to have a regime change.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by batsman, May 24, 2009 14:15:11
Looks like even the State Assembly cannot pass a motion of no-confidence in Nizar now since to do so will be an admission that he was the rightful MB all along and that Zambry is just a usurper.
agree 116
written by Watchdog, May 24, 2009 14:18:24
No way is the judgement a flop = if you benchmark against Burma, Fiji and Zimbabwe.
disagree 19
written by sorosapril, May 24, 2009 14:31:43
before the Court of Appeal sat the other day, we already knew they had made up their decision on Zambry's appeal.

the Court sitting was just a wayang kulit to showcase Malaysia Judiciary system is still surviving on life support.

When the Court Registrar changed Nizar's application date from Monday to the same date of the hearing, the signal was already there to tell u his application was academic only after the hearing on Zambry's application.

So why waste time on all these, all PR supporters should go to the three judges houses and ask them whether they are still human or moron.

or some one should check their bank accounts as well, those working in the banks who believe in natural justice should expose those judges bank accounts when there are mysterious money being credited
agree 108
written by merlin2001, May 24, 2009 14:42:11
AND by coincidence Sportstoto 6/49 was hit with RM5.0 Mill on Sat.23rd.
AND by further coincidence if the 6/52 is hit with nearly RM7.0 Mill this Sunday.
Not a bad days work for RM 4 Mill for 2 days work.
Astalavista.......to the independence/integrity of the Malaysian Judiciary.
Let us have the jury system back.
written by clarity, May 24, 2009 15:09:39
Thank you Kim Quek. Very clear analysis for everybody to understand. It's only umno will say tidak apa as long as we take power. Wron also never mind.
written by malsia1206, May 24, 2009 15:25:16
This Court of Appeal took an exceptionally bold liberal move to give the Constitution a new meaning in how HRH could determine the MB could lose the confidence of the majority in the Assembly. Was that the intent and spirit how the Constitution was framed? This judgement sets a dangerous precedent as it opens up new frontiers in the manner we read and interpret the provisions. It's now more of 'what the Constitution should be or what it should have been'. It's no longer the case of what this Constitution really IS. We are now stepping into the realm of 'Alice in Wonderland' territory.
written by Tompios, May 24, 2009 15:40:59
Malaysia's kangaroo farms (Low Court, High Court, Appeal Court, Federal Court). Local Universities in law's program as kangaroo's production breeds!!
written by jason, May 24, 2009 15:52:42
"while it is the Sultan who appoints a menteri besar, it is only the assembly which can decide his fate."
I think the correct word should be the Sultan who 'consent ' instead of appoint. The MB is proposed to the Sultan for his consent not for him to appoint. The Sultan may not consent but he definitely cannot dismiss. If he can't appoint a MB, he definitely cannot dismiss or sack a MB. I think this is the very essence of the constituition.
written by macho, May 24, 2009 16:20:06
Kim, the people are not just dissapointed. We have already move beyond that years ago. We are downright disgusted. This arrogance have to stop. This is bringing kangaroo court down to another new low level. This is madness.
written by mikefonz, May 24, 2009 16:21:26
What court ? we have a monkeys running the kangaroo court.
I personnaly think the "hak say vui" have got better laws
than our running dogs of the govt.
written by Sudahlah tu, May 24, 2009 16:31:03
kita tidak pernah gagal sebab segalanya telah dirancang mengikut kezaliman umno dan tamak golongan elit ............
melihat kepada anjing-anjing tua, kudatua, dan juga pengkhianat tua golongan elit ...... tidak lama lagi ..mereka semua akan mati dengan cara dahsyat ataupun berpenyakit ....... berakhirnya rahman ..
sumpah rahman bukan sebarang ..sebab razak tamak dan memulakan kezaliman umno ..golongan elit pula tamak dan tidak memahami kurniaan Allah itu bernas ..
kalau mamak tua itu bernafaskan 2020 ..... maka 2020 lah ... kita , MALAYSIA akan bebas dan mencapai kemerdekaan penuh daripada kezaliman dan tamak binatang syaitan ....
Kita sudah menunggu selama 52 tahun untuk memahami apa itu nilai jati diri tanpa umno .... kini ...11 tahun lagi untuk membebaskan Malaysia dan memberi harapan untuk generasi Malaysia baru untuk membina semula keunikan budaya SATU MALAYSIAKU........ 11 tahun ini merupakan penghujung perjuangan rakyat jati Malaysia ... mari bersabar dan menunaikan tanggungjawab kita semua dengan cara berdiam dan bertindak mengikut haluan bersih dan cermat ....
wang kita ... walaupun dicuri oleh binatang buas tidak akan menghalang kita untuk mengharuangi bersama ...
selagi kita semua bersatu hati , sebulat suara .. belanja dengan cerdik,cermat dan cekap ........ mereak tidak boleh lagi mengkongkong kita ...
apa yang binatang ini tamak ialah wang ...
kita semua berusaha mencari dengan tekun dan berangkaian sesama kita yang bersatu hati dan sebulat suara .... mereka tidak boleh melakukan apa lagi ...
barang naik harga ..kita cermat ...
barang keperluan asas ..kita cekap penggunaan semua ..
barang idaman ..kita lepaskan ..
beri kereta baru .. lupakan sahaja walaupun nampak berbaloi dan mudah ..
kad kredit .... lunaskan semua hutang berkredit dan bayaran ansuran ... pergi ke AKPK untuk beruruskan skim bayar balik yang bernas dan berasas ...
jangan hidup berkredit .... hadapilah tanggung kehidupan dengan beriman ..
pergi ke masjid bukan tajaan umno untuk mendengar Ajaran Allah dengan betul
jangan pergi ke pusat membeli belah kerana di situlah nafsu kesyaitanan berkelompok dan merebak .......
jangna belanja melebihi kebolehan diri ...
berterus terang kepada semua ahli keluarga agar masa depan mereka terjamin tidak dizalimi oleh umno lagi ......
BErsemukalah dengan perasaan malu sendiri ... Allah akan memberkati segalanya selepas keberanian itu disemai setiap hari .....
written by Taiping60, May 24, 2009 16:34:33
Shame on all of you who have made Malaysia the laughing stock of the world.

Those involved were;
1) The Sultan
2) The previous PM
3) The current PM
4) The UMNO double crossover from Bota
5) The disgrace and disown Jelapang Assembly woman who have inflicted so much problem with her action.
6) The two other PKR assemblymen who are currently charge under corruption and cross over to support BN
7) BN's exco members including the MB for forcing themselve into the government when do not have our support.
smilies/cool.gif The State Assembly staff who acted unprofessionally
9) The Police force who also acted unprofessionally.
and lastly but not least
10) The court of appeal charges.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 24, 2009 16:48:59
Justice as taken a back seat in our legal system. The whole world is laughing at Malaysia. We should have a law whereby judges can be 'hanged' for wrong judgment. For when judges err it hurts the nation. It's a treason.- these are my words to depict my utter disgust towards our tainted judiciary.
written by budakindia, May 24, 2009 17:00:48
I wonder how they can explain that to the foreign investors. smilies/grin.gif How to cover up the big hole? smilies/grin.gif
written by alarcarte, May 24, 2009 17:01:01
Kim Quek, Yesterday PDRM raided the DAP headquarter and took away their P.C. Please take precaution to have you P.C. and data secured. They might come and harass you as well, may be the UMNO's home minister might also want to put you on trial for sedition. Take care.
written by An Old Man, May 24, 2009 17:25:42
Dear Kim Quek,

You can write a PhD thesis on this; the cold truth is this: All our judges, I suspect, know what is wrong or right. But in Bolehland, if you don't toe the line, you soon be cast aside, no matter how brilliant you are. All the judges have already been castrated.
written by Kathy, May 24, 2009 17:39:05
If the matter weren't so serious I could well believe that the antics of the Malaysian judiciary were orchestrated by someone writing for Fawlty Towers and Monty Python! smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Loh, May 24, 2009 17:39:21
///One can foresee that as the Barisan Nasional continues to maintain its questionable hold of power in Perak, more and more of these abominable transgressions of justice will flood our radar screens as the host of legal cases unwind themselves through the higher courts. While these will inflict grievous damage to our national image, they will ironically hasten the day of real reforms as more and more people will become convinced that the only way to restore the rule of law is to have a regime change.///--Kim Kwek

Unfortunately, UMNO does not have to win the seats at the election, it will win the government with the support of police and the court and other government institutions. If BN wins, then they will appear as legitimate government. When they lose, they will later buy enough kataks to form an ugly government like what is in Perak. They would not care, neither would the world at large. The Perak fiasco must not allow BN to get away. It is a pity that the reputation of the Perak royal household should suffer collateral damage; can it recover?

It is difficult to deal with somebody who knows no shame, and it is worse when dealing with an organization which knows no shame. But Najib still considers himself head of UMNO. Is he not too young to ignore shame?

written by JJ Kuyong, May 24, 2009 18:13:27
Be patient my friend, there is no point of talking into it anymore, just wait GE13 and decide to vote UMNO/BN or PR!
written by HL5, May 24, 2009 18:33:19
This is Najib's coup de tat ala May 13. UMNO rules, OK? No one else can, especially Chinese Malaysians. Why is Mahathir still in the equation?
written by educationist, May 24, 2009 18:40:49
I ask the writer's indulgence!
Despite such a well argued piece, I skimmed through the article quickly.
Yes, I've grown very discouraged and weary!
Why when all legal arguments seem to favour Nizar and colleagues , the Appeal Court judges can just bulldozed their way through?
i know I'm asking a question which the answer is also known!!
Thus the frustration and sense of futility!!
written by Bloodhound, May 24, 2009 18:57:40
When judges choose to wilfully participates in concoting judgements that runs contrary to the rules of law, logic, facts and the established judgements which produces illogical or extraordinary decisions which has no resemblance of justice nor fairness, then, such judges has placed themselves open to all sorts of legal charges.

The Bar Council had remained quiet as a church mouse when they should be roaring like a lion knowing that our Constitutional law and rules of law had been transgressed by the so called learned persons.

The Bar Council must step forward and protect the laws of the nation from being repeated raped by these transgressors ..... before we come to a stage where there is no longer any rule of law or a Constitution to protect!
written by Susanna, May 24, 2009 19:51:19
These three judges will one day face the Ultimate Judge and this Judge is no partisan to anybody except for those doing right for truths and justice. People who fail especially given the honour and privilege of their positions are bound for hell because they mock God, the giver of their lives!
written by joeawk, May 24, 2009 19:57:10
Regime change? It is done, just wait for 2012.
written by shamadz72, May 24, 2009 20:25:10
It seems that some of us here have a faith in the next GE. Humm... What makes you think UMNO will allow it to be a clean election? They already planned to have 1 military camp in every parliamentary constitution. Isn't this ring you guys bell? Probably even if 70% of the population votes PR, BN can still win via all these dubious means.
written by ganbing, May 24, 2009 20:43:31
The puppet judges of Umno's kangaroo court cannot give legitimacy to the thick skinned usurper Zambry. How can a body with its own reputation in tatters give credibility and legitimacy to another? It's like trying to wash your face with dirty water. The court and Zambry will drag each other down in a spiral dance of death.
written by ganbing, May 24, 2009 20:49:02
Of course a written judgement is coming....as soon as Lingam is free.
written by Ron, May 24, 2009 21:06:51
WHAT ABOUT THE ELECTION COMMISIONER?HE STARTED IT ALL!!
written by lynn, May 24, 2009 22:35:57
merlin2001,

yippee! can u be my friend???
Yes, finally someone from here latches on! Been studying the chances of Jackpot strikes in Bodohland for 10 yrs against Singapore's Lotto games. Guess what I found out?

No. of Jackpot wins against no. of games played in a 52-week period - around 2.4% in bodohland.
No. of Jackpot wins against no. of games played in a 52-week period - over 60% in Singapore.

Now, you tell me, this is the statistics for years for both Corrupt Country & Beautiful Singapore? Are the games in Corrupt Country fixed????

MT readers,

Please...... go and tell everyone how the Jelapang prostitute got paid. You think the billionaire is going to take RM25 millions from his own pockets? You got to be a naive moron braindead idiot to believe so. I pity those people who still walk into those shops to buy lotto; they are fcuking paying for the bribery money which goes into the bank accounts of these bribes receivers. The ugly arrogant pepper spray threatening bitch has been paid via the bets the working stiffs paid each time they try their luck at 6/52. No wonder the Jackpot swelled to RM20 million three times recently & all struck in a short period. All totalling RM60 million.

Still don't smell a rat???
written by Steven Ong, May 24, 2009 22:55:59
Even if an elected ADUN has the right to switch camp,is it right for the other camp to take over and rule? BN was clearly not the choice of the majority, so therefore in a democracy, does not command a majority - the rakyat, even though they have a majority in The state assembly. As the ADUN are representatives of the rakyat, they should by the law of democracy represent the rakyat and not any party, be it PR or BN. A government should be of the people, by the people and for the people. This is a law of our conscience given to us by God. That right is right and wrong is wrong. That is why the constitution and the laws of a nation constantly needs amendment as it is not perfect. But the conscience of all man/woman is perfect.No need to refer to any religion for the truth, as even the atheist knows what is right and what is wrong.Its God given. Thank you.
written by Stupid me, May 24, 2009 23:07:22
These 3 1 Appeal Court Judges will be made Federal Judges pretty soon for their extroadinary findings / judgements.
written by No nonsense, May 24, 2009 23:52:09
US- Holliwood, Malaysia- Bolehwood. More and more movies will be out real soon. Funded by Amno, actors and actresses provided by Amno. First class movies in the making.
written by chiongguo, May 24, 2009 23:57:51
Article 16 clause 6 said that when the MB had lost the majority support of the members of the legislative assembly he is to tender the resignation of all his exco members. You argued that it is inconceivable that an MB who had lost the majority support of the legislative assembly would he himself tender his resignation unless he is shameless.

Article 16 clause 7 allowed the sultan to fire the entire exco except the MB. This essentially would make the MB a lameduck MB. It seemed that the crafter of this constitution had foresaw that it was possible that an MB will not resign.

You are right in saying that the sultan cannot fire the MB but the law allows him to fire the entire exco.

Your second point of contention was the determination of "majority support" of "members of the legislative assembly." You argued that it was even-steven as the 3 katak would not be allowed to vote as they had tended a pre-signed resignation letter. If the sultan had allowed for the assembly to take place there would be a one vote majority for BN as the speaker can't vote. Since the sultan did not take this route to determine majority was the sultan acting within the constitutional provision ? I believe he was.

You said that the sultan had supplanted the legislative assembly as clause 5 clearly stated that the entire exco is collectively responsible to the legislative assembly but this is only so if "legislative assembly" is properly defined. The constitution only defines a "legislative assembly" as "legislative assembly" as if to suggest that the meaning is self-explanatory. But article 36 allowed the sultan to call an assembly anytime. This he did with the 31 members of the legislative assembly. The constitution doesn't allow any business to be transacted without the speaker but the law also allows for the deputy speaker to take the place of the speaker in his absence. So was the legislative assembly convened to determine whether Nizar had the majority support properly convened ? Of course the status of these 3 kataks would determine the status of this legislative assembly. Perhaps the sultan had taken this into consideration and he thought that it was best for the people of perak if there is no election as the country was about to face the full impact of the global recession. I don't really know. Was his decision a wise one ? I do not think so.

What followed from this episode was shameful to say the least. The country's institution was literally gang-raped by umno...or perhaps the people in charge of these institutions had prostituted themselves. We don't really know for sure.

I stand corrected in all that I had said. I am not a lawyer but I do think for myself and I call it as I see it eventhough I had often incurred the wrath of many people - especially when a lot of vested interests were at stake.

written by Perak Boy, May 25, 2009 03:32:57
Hey guys,

Yes, we can ague here and put forward our opinion over the stupid judgement made by the Appeal Court. But no matter what the law says on these constitutional matters, it is, and it shall always be, in UMNO/BN's favour.

Why is it so ??? Just as Nizar's lawyer (Sulaiman Abdullah) said:

WE HAVE EXTRAORDINARY JUDGES WITH EXTRA ORDINARY ABILITY.

I guess, that says it all. Malaysia yang Aku Cintai.

written by Perak Boy, May 25, 2009 04:03:58
> merlin2001, May 24, 2009 14:42:11

Quote:
"AND by coincidence Sportstoto 6/49 was hit with RM5.0 Mill on Sat.23rd.
AND by further coincidence if the 6/52 is hit with nearly RM7.0 Mill this Sunday.
Not a bad days work for RM 4 Mill for 2 days work."

> lynn, May 24, 2009 22:35:57

Quote:
"Yes, finally someone from here latches on! Been studying the chances of Jackpot strikes in Bodohland for 10 yrs against Singapore's Lotto games. Guess what I found out?

No. of Jackpot wins against no. of games played in a 52-week period - around 2.4% in bodohland.
No. of Jackpot wins against no. of games played in a 52-week period - over 60% in Singapore.

Now, you tell me, this is the statistics for years for both Corrupt Country & Beautiful Singapore? Are the games in Corrupt Country fixed????

Please...... go and tell everyone how the Jelapang prostitute got paid. You think the billionaire is going to take RM25 millions from his own pockets? You got to be a naive moron braindead idiot to believe so. I pity those people who still walk into those shops to buy lotto; they are fcuking paying for the bribery money which goes into the bank accounts of these bribes receivers. The ugly arrogant pepper spray threatening bitch has been paid via the bets the working stiffs paid each time they try their luck at 6/52. No wonder the Jackpot swelled to RM20 million three times recently & all struck in a short period. All totalling RM60 million."

------------------------------

Dear lynn and merlin2001,

Yes, you have just nailed on it. Although I do not go for all these (Magnum/Toto and whatno), but I do heard the same as you have said. No one would make a PAY OFF on such a big sum out of their own pocket, especially for such services renderred.

written by kim quek, May 25, 2009 10:27:55
I refer to comments by Chiongguo posted on May 24 at 23:57:51.

Under our constitution (whether federal or state), the monarch has to act as advised by pm/mb at all times, except on those he has the prerogative, namely, the appointment of pm/mb and the withholding of consent to the dissolution of the legislature.

Hence, he cannot fire any minister/exco as he likes, but only upon advise by pm/mb. Similarly, the legislature is normally convened as advised.
written by gorshan, May 25, 2009 10:28:33
the people voted for the party,not the individual candidates,when the froggies jump to the other party, their vacated seats should still automatically belong to the party through which they were voted into office in the first place. this should be the law. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by NSTPravda, May 25, 2009 10:58:03
....they will ironically hasten the day of real reforms as more and more people will become convinced that the only way to restore the rule of law is to have a regime change.

Ah! But until that day arrives, I, the mongolian slayer, would have left nothing but a Zimbabwed nation for you all....
Rasuah saya sayang eh!
Dollar akbar!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif