Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly

We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly PDF Print
Saturday, 23 May 2009 18:06

As a Perakian, I am very disturbed and saddened by the current uncertainty in my beloved but politically volatile state. These protracted legal tussles are undermining the rule of law and might I add, the monarchy too.

Written by Koon Yew Yin, CPI

Malaysian Courts: Going Super Fast

Allow me to share a quote of wisdom : 'Though the wheels of justice grind slowly, yet they grind exceeding small; Though with patience he stands waiting, with exactness grinds he all'.

I have read that there was a case of medical negligence, and involving the death of a lawyer, which took 23 years to reach our Court of Appeal. Yet these slow grinding wheels seem to have become supercharged for the benefit of Zambry Abd Kadir.

When the High Court on May 11 recognised Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin as the rightful Menteri Besar of Perak, the Court of Appeal lost no time in granting Zambry a stay of execution on the High Court decision. It did so within a few hours, in fact.

Malaysian courts are now creating a record with their supersonic speed in disposing cases. Yesterday (Friday, May 22), the appellate court overturned the High Court judgment favouring Nizar, and instead ruled that Zambry is the legitimate Menteri Besar.

Justices Md Raus Sharif, Zainun Ali and Ahmad Maarop made a unanimous decision in favour of Zambry, prompting Nizar's lead counsel Sulaiman Abdullah to comment that Malaysia has extraordinary judges who can pass extraordinary judgment.

Beyond the Political Checkmate

Obviously we will never see the end of Perak's battles in the courts. No sooner the court decides on one case, another legal suit pops up. Justice NH Chan has already written several articles on the Perak constitutional crisis. He had earlier boldly pointed out five errant judges; perhaps he will soon finger three plus one more.

In the meantime and on another front, Speaker V. Sivakumar has just filed a suit against R. Ganesan who took over his chair – literally – albeit with a little help from his 'friends' (the security men from outside the dewan) during the state assembly sitting in Ipoh on May 7.

So what we have is the curious cases of Menteri Besar One vs Menteri Besar Two, and Speaker One vs Speaker Two fighting it out in the courts with numerous suits and counter suits.

I wrote ‘Checkmate Barisan Nasional in Perak’ on March 21 premised on the term ‘checkmate’ in chess when an opponent has no further move to protect his king. There seems to be no viable state government now in Perak with both the BN and Pakatan Rakyat continuously checking each other's move.

I had then suggested that a quick return to the ballot box was the only morally and legally defensible option, and also the way out of this political quagmire. But Perak has remained stuck in an impasse precisely because the vote has not been returned to the rakyat.

It is expected that if Ganesan is pronounced rightful Speaker by the court, he would be calling an emergency session to oust Nizar and counting on the three defectors to deliver Barisan Nasional its majority. Is it fair for the overwhelmingly Umno-dominated coalition to govern the state by depending solely on its so-called three 'independents friendly to BN', especially when two of those assemblymen are under investigation for corruption?

On May 8, I wrote another article ‘Treason of the Malaysian hawks’ – the phrase 'treason of the hawks' borrowed from American policy analyst Fred Ikle – and which I found useful in that 'treason' bears some equivalence to the Malay term 'derhaka’.

It is treasonous if the opposing halves, by fighting too much and too long, eventually bring about untold damage to the state. In my second article on the Perak deadlock, I again urged that only the ballot box can determine the people's choice and who it is that possesses the people's trust to rule Perak.

written by MAMR, May 23, 2009 18:13:28
"We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly "

As a Perakians I strongly hope and believed The Sultan will not disappoint us this time.
written by Urangsabah, May 23, 2009 18:25:41
Judging from all the action & outcome from the Judiciary/Royalties/Federal Gov't/UMNOed Police Force and even Ipoh City Hall..........These group of people could care less of the rakyat, the have shown that they are willing to go to whatever length to ensure that Rakyat are keep as their Coolie.

Even Natang got not impact on the Agung.

For UMNO, Judicairy can decide in 2 hours....

For UMNO, police roll out the red carpet, for rakyat burning candle is an offence.

MACC, for UMNO, NFA,....

So I do not think, the rajyat well being is of the concern of any of the UMNOed agency where their rice bowl is threaten....

But if there is Hope, I pray that soem way out there, your got a leader who has the heart of the people...
written by Limang, May 23, 2009 19:04:24
The solution is simple: work toward a republic and get rid of sultans, rulers, etc. as they have not serve an iota of usefulness, except to eat free, travel free, live in luxury wth taxpayers' money, enjoy women, globetrotting, free medic, free everything. They live in a make believed world, far removed from the rakyat. What's the point of having them, to the point of needing their approval in political affairs? I say: remove all their powers and positions as soon as possible like Nepal. That to me is the best long term solution for all political problems and saving more money for rakyat's survival.
written by Hello Keithy, May 23, 2009 19:09:45
Open Message to HRH Sultan Azlan Shah

Tuanku, maybe you can sit this one out. I'm sure you have some laundry to do, so let us elect our MB and let's get on with our lives. Of course, yours looks more promising than ours. At least you don't have to work everyday to earn your living. All we are asking is to open your mouth and say "Buburkan DUN Perak" and that's it. And once this is accomplished, we send you a dedicated gardener who can tend to your back garden. His name is Zambry .... a very thick-skinned dark-colored man.
written by Flex65, May 23, 2009 19:23:03
We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly

Anymore contracts? If in billion of ringgits better.
written by mob1900, May 23, 2009 19:52:02

The Feds, Judiciary, Ruling Elites, Flaw-Enforcement and The Horde(Rabid & Paid Supporters of Barisan Najis) are against the Rakyats' wishes, do you think there's any hope to 'win'? BN has made the situation so bad, there will be no 'winners' by the end(if there's any) of the Crisis. Isn't is quite clear who're the real a-holes in this conundrum?

BTW, Golem had a hearty laugh at the current state of dire while munching on his fish, raw. Perakciousssssssssss!!!
written by carlitos, May 23, 2009 21:01:13
I don't think as a chinese you are considered perakian by the istana ppl
written by citizenmy, May 23, 2009 21:07:24
I would rather shout my request on open air rather than expecting the x@R$@*m@ to do something good for rakyat. Eventually the nature will listen and act according to natures law.
written by jayenjr, May 23, 2009 21:12:59
"We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly"
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Save your energy bud, for the next GE.

written by chanatak, May 23, 2009 21:25:05

Stop begging him. His ears are stuffed shut by UMNO. jayenir is right. Wipe out UMNO and BN in the next election.

written by AlwaysFair, May 23, 2009 21:40:44
"We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly "

Don't waste your time. He only listen selectively.
He only get involved selectively, most of the time he is above politics, didn't you know???
written by onnetline, May 23, 2009 21:48:06
We urge Sultan Azlan Shah to dissolve the state assembly.

Don't believe that he or his family members are all that learned enough to accomplish this.

They need the 1Malaysia hypocrite, Najis to show them the way ! ! !
written by smeagrooo, May 23, 2009 21:53:25
All Perakians,

Do u really believe BN has trampled upon democracy? If yes, why not just take 1 week holiday?
written by malsia1206, May 23, 2009 22:22:54
REMINDER: BE WARY OF COMMENTS CRITICISING HRH AND THE PERAK MONARCHY FOR WITHHOLDING THE CONSENT FOR THE DISSOLUTION OF THE PERAK STATE ASSEMBLY. THESE COMMENTS MAY WELL COME FROM THE UMNOPUTRAS / CYBERPUTRAS PLANTED IN MT TO AROUSE AND FAN SENTIMENTS AMONG THE MALAYSIAN PUBLIC. REMEMBER TO TONE DOWN SUCH COMMENTS WITHIN THE REALM OF DECENCY AND TACTFULNESS. IT'S NOT PAKATAN'S STYLE NOR IDEALOGY TO GO OVERBOARD WITH EXPRESSION OF OPINION COME WHAT MAY. THE STRUGGLE IS IN THE HEARTS AND MINDS, NOT THROUGH VULGARITY AND CONFRONTATION.
written by Catharsis, May 23, 2009 22:47:37
IDF THE PREMISE IS "Justices Md Raus Sharif, Zainun Ali and Ahmad Maarop ARE THE MOST REASONABLE JUDGES WITH REASONABLE DECISIONS" - BUT WHERE THE HELL ARE THE REASONS FOR THEIR DECISIONS
written by Sudahlah tu, May 23, 2009 22:50:09
Cuma Allah sahaja yang akan menentukan .....
apabila tamak menjadi pedoman hidup seseorang maka dia itu seekor antara yang berkumpul di kandang kezaliman umno yang memujakan syaitan.
written by Dualties, May 23, 2009 23:16:04
If the Sultan of Perak has the prerogative to decide who is the MB of Perak and if He still loves Perakian he should dissolve the legislative assembly to restore his dignity and honour as the Sultan.

Unless, the Sultan is duty bond to BN....then he has no say on the dissolution of the Perak Assembly. It is the BN prerogative and not the Sultan!!!!!!!!
written by pakasia, May 23, 2009 23:19:00
the sultan has been hold hostage!
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, May 24, 2009 00:14:59

THE SULTAN OF BERAK SAYS !!!!
APA SAYA BOLEH BUAT !!!!
KEDUA-DUA BOLA SAYA DAN ANAK SAYA DI PEGANG OLEH NAJIS BIN NATANG !!!!

written by Wakeupmsia, May 24, 2009 00:57:40
They say "have faith'. No. I've lost all faith in the man who don't walk the talk. Needless to say, most Perakian like me have lost TOTAL RESPECT for this chap, greedy old man!
written by khloo, May 24, 2009 01:02:32
BN is winning the battle but lose the WAR!!. Let's wait for the next election! ENOUGH is ENOUGH!!
written by T Square, May 24, 2009 01:56:56
If the Sultan of Perak refuses to act for the good of the State, then why even have a monarchy.

Perak might as well be the first Republic in the Federation of Malaysia.

Royal families involvement in business is the problem. They have been compromised.
written by shissun, May 24, 2009 03:13:48
BN won Perak, but they will lose Malaysia in 2012. Perak will be the Waterloo for BN and the hypocrite royalty. Perak - The 1st Step towards a Republic, A Beacon of Hope of the People. A land of Equal. All will begins in our time. How exciting.
written by BGs, May 24, 2009 14:36:27
Hoping against hope, that's all I can say!
written by Sutha, May 25, 2009 00:20:00
$$$ speaks the loudest. Nothing else.