Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The Malaysia-Singapore ‘cold war’

The Malaysia-Singapore ‘cold war’ PDF Print
Saturday, 23 May 2009 01:32

Surely Dr Mahathir can’t agree to Najib giving in to Singapore’s demands like what is currently happening. Are we going to see Dr Mahathir going berserk like back in 2006 with all these concessions Najib is granting Singapore?

An old acquaintance of mine who was once quite senior in the Fisheries Department related this story, which he said stunned everybody in the room. The occasion was a briefing session and the man who was the target of the briefing was Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, the then Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia.

This government officer who was conducting the briefing tried to impress Dr Mahathir on what they were doing. He went into great detail talking about their plans and strategies and how things are going to improve once these plans and strategies are in place. And he concluded by assuring Dr Mahathir that it will work because this is exactly what Singapore is doing.

Dr Mahathir gave the briefing officer a long and hard stare and said, “Please never mention Singapore in front of me again. Don’t you know we are at war with Singapore?”

From that day on, word spread like wildfire that you must never, at all costs, mention Singapore in front of Dr Mahathir, unless it is in a negative light that is. To say that Malaysia too is doing such and such because Singapore is doing the same is to invite disaster and a dead-end career in the government.

We both had a good laugh and I never thought about this incident again until 2006, something like 30 years after I was first told the story about the briefing session. And 2006 was when I started my association with Dr Mahathir soon after the dialogue session that Malaysia Today organised at the Kelab Century Paradise in Taman Melawati in Kuala Lumpur.

“Singapore is just a little red dot,” Dr Mahathir would tell all and sundry, sometimes to a crowd of 1,000 or more.

Why is Dr Mahathir so upset with Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi? Because Pak Lah tunduk (kow tow) to Singapore.

Why is Dr Mahathir so upset that his Crooked Bridge has been aborted, and at a price that is more costly than if they went ahead and built it on top of that? Because Singapore does not want it -- so, by aborting it, Malaysia is bowing to Singapore’s demands.

Why is Dr Mahathir so angry with Kalimullah (whom he calls Hindu God and Muslim Priest)? Because Kalimullah is a Singapore agent.

Why is Dr Mahathir so angry with Khairy Jamaluddin? Because Khairy works for Singapore and is being funded by that ‘little red dot’.

Anything and everything even remotely associated with Singapore is a no-no in Dr Mahathir’s books.

“Of course I can’t get along with Singapore,” laments Dr Mahathir. “I can’t go to Singapore and play golf with Singapore’s leaders and pat each other on the back like those in Pak Lah’s government.”

“Who cares if Singapore wants a new straight bridge to replace the Causeway or not. They can keep their half of the Causeway. We will demolish our half and build half a bridge. And if half a bridge is too short then we shall make it longer by building a crooked bridge.”

“Lee Kuan Yew told me that Goh Chok Tong is too sentimental. That’s why he does not want to see the Causeway demolished. So we will have to wait until Chok Tong retires and then, after he retires, we shall demolish the whole Causeway.”

“Malaysia fought hard to gain independence from Britain. We opposed the British and the British plan for a Malayan Union. However, after 50 years of Merdeka, we are still not independent. We still can’t decide what to do in our own country. Singapore tells us what we can do in our own country. So we are not really that independent after all.”

And it goes on and on -- Singapore this and Singapore that. It is all about Singapore. And all of Dr Mahathir’s unhappiness is because Singapore is the cause of everything that is wrong with this country and all his plans are being torpedoed because of Singapore.

There are those in Umno who say that in 2006 I abandoned Anwar Ibrahim and then jumped into Dr Mahathir’s camp. Then I left Dr Mahathir and swung over to Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah’s camp. And after that I left Tengku Razaleigh to return to Anwar. Why I ‘left’ Dr Mahathir is not clear because there was no quarrel or bad blood between Dr Mahathir and me. I sort of just moved on without any reason offered.

That is what the Umno chaps say and they say this openly enough in their Blogs.

True, I did ‘swing over’ to Dr Mahathir back in 2006. But come 2008, I was involved in the general elections and after that the Pematang Pauh by-election followed by the Kuala Terengganu by-election. In between that I was arrested for sedition and then for criminal defamation after which I was detained a couple of months under the Internal Security Act. So that sort of kept me busy for the last year or so, in between going to the police station numerous times and the many court appearances.

Nevertheless, while I may have been too busy to personally go meet Dr Mahathir in his house and office like I used to from 2006 to early 2008, I still kept in touch by phone and by passing messages through a mutual friend. I also met Matthias many times for lunch, tea or dinner to spend hours discussing matters of mutual interest. And most times the messages would be passed to and from Dr Mahathir through these people.

Dr Mahathir understood that our association was only because we both wanted the same thing -- we both wanted to see Pak Lah ousted from office. That was the one thing that united us. However, after Pak Lah leaves, who should be the man to replace him?

Dr Mahathir knew that my choice of successor was Tengku Razaleigh. In fact, I had personally gone to meet Dr Mahathir in his house during Hari Raya of 2007 to inform him about this. Furthermore, we had a series of meetings with Tengku Razaleigh together with Mukhriz’s boys to discuss how Tengku Razaleigh could make a bid for the Umno Presidency.

I was not naïve in thinking that Anwar would be the next prime minister. This was before the 8 March 2008 general election and we were not sure yet at that time whether there was even going to be a Pakatan Rakyat (or maybe there would be three- or four-corner fights with PKR, PAS and DAP all contesting the same seat against Barisan Nasional). So the man who becomes prime minister has to be someone from Umno and that would have to be Tengku Razaleigh.

But we were not really sure whether Dr Mahathir would endorse Tengku Razaleigh in spite of Mukhriz’s boys appearing to be backing him. When we asked Dr Mahathir to his face whether he preferred Najib over Tengku Razaleigh, he did not give the impression he preferred Najib.

We never thought Dr Mahathir would want Najib because of the ‘Singapore connection’. He is angry with Pak Lah, Kalimullah and Khairy because they are said to be tools or agents of Singapore. But then would this not also be so for Najib?

Tun Daim Zainuddin has personally told Dr Mahathir that Singapore possesses all the evidence that Najib, Razak Baginda and Altantuya met at the Oriental Hotel in Marina Square one year before she died. This means, with the evidence that Singapore possesses, they would be able to blackmail Najib. Surely Dr Mahathir would not want someone who can be blackmailed into doing Singapore’s bidding become the next prime minister knowing how he feels about Singapore and those perceived as under Singapore’s control?

Najib has just made a trip to Singapore and while in Singapore he announced that Malaysia agrees to build a third bridge linking Malaysia and Singapore. Third bridge? If there is going to be a third bridge then there would certainly be a second bridge. And we are no longer talking about crooked bridges as what Dr Mahathir wants. We are talking about straight bridges as what Singapore wants. And Najib also announced that the New Economic Policy would most likely be abolished as what Singapore would like to see.

Hmmm…this is interesting. Does Dr Mahathir know what Najib is doing? Surely Dr Mahathir can’t agree to Najib giving in to Singapore’s demands like what is currently happening. Are we going to see Dr Mahathir going berserk like back in 2006 with all these concessions Najib is granting Singapore?

Well, Dr Mahathir knows I support him in his move to oust Pak Lah. But I just can’t support him on the move to replace Pak Lah with Najib. My choice of successor was Tengku Razaleigh and I never hid that fact from Dr Mahathir. Probably the whole of Umno knows this as well. Anwar Ibrahim and the PKR people certainly do.

Of course, if Pakatan Rakyat forms the government, and Anwar Ibrahim becomes prime minister instead, that is also okay with me. But back in 2006 no one imagined that Pakatan Rakyat would ever be formed, let alone win five states and deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in parliament.

So the choice was either Tengku Razaleigh or Najib and I never dreamt that Dr Mahathir would choose Najib considering he is so pantang about Singapore and would never accept as prime minister someone whom Singapore can squeeze by the balls -- especially when this someone can be blackmailed about a very secret and sensitive meeting with a woman in the Oriental Hotel in Marina Square who is later found murdered.

Comments (97)Add Comment
written by Taufique, May 23, 2009 01:46:40
writing from Singapore now, a friend of mine who does work for the govt. as an "information gatherer" of sorts did once mention in passing that his dept. has enough secrets on malaysia to really cause havoc if singapore did wish to do so. I never once doubted what he had said. And now you're pretty much corroborating what my friend had said.!

agree 360
written by Fuminari, May 23, 2009 01:58:03
who knows?the old crab might jus transformed into an old lizard with a split tongue,u never know.lets wait for the split tongue to utter nonsense!
agree 143
written by rajaphillips, May 23, 2009 02:03:57
What is the use of hating Singapore and whats wrong with emulating their success? Mahathir had a 22 year period chance to prove that we can do it better but he failed. He instead allowed allowed corruption and cronyism to flourish and we are today paying the price. He also attempted to emulate Japan which only became a national failure. Singapore on the other hand was largely corruption free and bcos of that they progressed very fast and became internationally respected. It would have been much easier to emulate Singapore,England, Australia or America than Japan becos these countries are more prepared to share their success than Japan. Is that Singapore's fault for Mahathir's mismanagement and wrong decisions? Grow up Dr M
disagree 18
agree 494
written by Ben, May 23, 2009 02:06:25
Wow, so intriguing. Is that also why Malaysia police is holding on to Mas Selamat? Another bargaining chip for the evidence Singapore is witholding?
agree 193
written by Oscar Winner, May 23, 2009 02:09:31
The blackmailing has begun. First Singapore, followed by the rest of the world. We the rakyat will live to suffer just because these power-crazy politicians actively pursuing four "F"s

1. FAME
2. FORTUNE
3. FOUR WIVES
4. EFF ("fcuk" spelt in a more "polite" way)

agree 136
written by SocratesI, May 23, 2009 02:12:57

Najis is but a chess piece of Maha-ShitHead's, and now that he has ousted the Sleeping Badawi, his usefulness is coming to an end. Especially now that he is giving in to Singapore's wishes, this Maha-ShitHead is going to start dethroning Najis, probably using the Perak issue. Let us watch the fun 'n games begin ...

agree 134
written by tokioRain, May 23, 2009 02:13:23
Thats always been the problem with Mahathir vis-a-vis Singapore: jealousy. And jealousy is always the result of your own failure.
agree 175
written by AntiBN, May 23, 2009 02:15:22
Another bridge there? You must be kidding.

Why can't he give priority to build a second bridge linking the mainland to Penang island, which is in a dire need?
agree 144
written by SamBall, May 23, 2009 03:08:23
All the kutty's weaknesses are known to Spore; after all they revealed this keling for what he is; an auta racist...cannot just forget that, can you?

The kaka's agenda is driven by his hate for Spore; sigh grown up old man...
written by Arowana, May 23, 2009 03:26:31
"Tun Daim Zainuddin has personally told Dr Mahathir that Singapore possesses all the evidence that Najib, Razak Baginda and Altantuya met at the Oriental Hotel in Marina Square one year before she died. This means, with the evidence that Singapore possesses, they would be able to blackmail Najib."

If this PeeMee balls is going to be hold by another country for favors, Malaysian will be not be able to held our heads high.

Najis, we have no choice to vote you out as we have our pride to be MALAYSIANS.
written by righttruthspeaks, May 23, 2009 04:10:24
mahataik has struck a deal with najis.the second bridge commission is promised to mahataik, so he will makeno furthernoises about it.

the second bridge commission belongs to najis. that's why the talk is about THREE bridges, straight or crooked does not matter.

what matters is the commission. najis is a man in a hurry. he and umno can fall at any time.

all singapore needs to do now is play for time and the durians will drop. and i hope they will do so, so that najis and mahataik cannot get their commission. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Apache3, May 23, 2009 04:37:51
I will say it again.. Mahashit will do Najis like what he did to AAB. Muhiddin will go up the ladder followed by Mukhriz at the expense of Hisapputin. This would happen sooner that latter. Mahashit has his cross hairs focused on johor as it is his cash cow. Just watch...
written by Kaneeneh, May 23, 2009 06:03:50
Continue talking like this and very soon the old man will start a second war on the second PM after him.
written by Richfyf, May 23, 2009 06:08:51
Its true what Tun once said " Cepat Lupa"

You can belittle Singapore but he forget that once a certain son of kutty apply to study in a Singapore Uni.
written by smalluncle, May 23, 2009 06:40:53
I don't think Maha will make a big fuss on this. After all, Najis had slot Moo Kris in his cabinet, probably in preparation for the next PM.

Whats wrong with dealing with Singapore?

I, for one, am happy. Better still if Najis say " I will lease Johor to Singapore for 100 years like Hong Kong to Ang Mo.
Imagine per capita income of more than US 25K, Mandarin speaking is being encourage, CLEAN food courts, efficient public transport and health care, NEP replace by NPP (new people policy), Non Malay Menteri Besar, and the list goes on.

Of course we will have to bear : higher water / electric bills, higher petrol and car price. But the plus side will make up for it.
disagree 19
written by ylcc, May 23, 2009 06:58:23
I tend to go with rajaphillips, and I concur with Taufique. It has nothing to do with the citizens of both countries. Everyone I know seem to be connected to a relative or a friend. It has always been a "sibling rivalry" between LKY & Dr. M. Both leaders are gifted and talented. Unfortunately, one cannot be successful as an individual. You would need your followers to support you and work as a team. Without mentioning, it is so obvious the difference between the government staff working under both leaders.
When you enter Singapore by car, you are given a auto-card (with all your particulars in a chip in this card). We have ever left Singapore, and the stupid card went "error" and we had to report to the LTA. A few days ago, we had gone thru the restricted zone (ERP) without inserting the card into the control (something like our Smartcard). We got fined. A traffic or parking offence is also reported into this card. How to run away? They are so organized and meticulous. Wouldn't smugglers wish that the Singapore govt would erase their entries/exits into the country? Don't dream. Try going to a government office and get them to be flexible on something - you can argue till your mouth runs dry and you still won't get what you want. The Spore govt keeps all immigration records in their data (who dares meddle with these info?), and obviously the Oriental Marina would have been warned to keep their clientele info confidential.
written by Path Fighter To truth, May 23, 2009 07:52:52
Yes Singapore is strong and Popular around the globe.
Many countries around the world does not know MALAYSIA.
They know about SINGAPORE.
Majority of the countries do not accept Malaysia Ringgit.
Almost all the countries accept Singapore Dollars.
IS IT NOT A SHAME FOR THE B N GOVT.?

written by NSTPravda, May 23, 2009 08:17:03
“Singapore is just a little red dot,”

Isn't it better to govern a little red dot well than to big mess of a huge Allah given endowment?

Unfortunately for us this little red dot does control us, but through our corruption, hubris and ineptitude we surrendered our advantage and keep on doing so... and it all were enhanced by your regime...

Rasuah saya sayang eh!
Dollar Akbar!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Liberace, May 23, 2009 08:27:12
Sounds just like the sour grape that he is.
written by BennyG, May 23, 2009 08:39:32
Hmmmm....TDM prefers Najis as he is easier to control. TDM does not fear that Singapore had evidence of Najis because he could defeat KJ & Singapore and he believed that he could take on Najis & Singapore as well. He believed that he could put his son into the right position to take over before Najis & Singapore could win anything or sacrifice something for his son's sake. From this angle, TDM is more interested to position his son rather than worry about Singapore. But if someone to take down his son, TDM will die a bitter man.
written by batsman, May 23, 2009 08:46:25
The 3rd bridge is a gift to Singapore before they will seriously invest in Iskandar. Anyway given Najib's propensity for fun, Singapore probably already has some strings over Najib which even TDM does not have.
written by Sudahlah tu, May 23, 2009 08:47:32
baguslah tu ...
tabiat habitat mamak tulin ..... yang tidak pernah lupa.
itu pasal banyak jenis ini menajdi menteri dan menteri besar dalam kandang umno.
sifat habitat mereka yang tidak berumah dan tidak berketurunan menajdi mereka ini jenis yang lebih berani ...mati bergaya daripada hidup beriman.
mereka masuk menjadi umat Allah kerana ianya merupakan jalan menuju kepada kekayaan dunia yang paling mudah sebab bangsa melayu sendiri sebenarnya bangsa yang lemah .
dripada peluang keemasan ini , tercipta bangsa melayu kacukan yang handal menipu dan berasuah ....... Islam merupakan perisai mereka untuk memperbodohkan bangsa melayu bertubi - tubi .... apabila ada batasan ... maruah bangsa melayu dengan mudahnya dapat dibeli dengan wang ...
mealyu jati ..sebenarnya tidak mempunyai jumlah yang banyak hidup beriman di Malaysia ..... walaupun mempunyai hampir 69% jumlah penduduk Malaysia .. kebanyakan mereka adalah melayu kacukan impot ... sebab mereka merupa pengundi tetap umno ... kebanyakan mereka diserap ke dalam felda , felcra dan sime darby ... jelaslah melayu jati sendiri pun tidka tahu apa yang sebenarnya berlaku di bumi yang mereka diagungakn oleh umno sebagai tuan ....
bodoh bergaya merupakan adat resam melayu baru ... berasuah itu halal demi mencapai desak desus kehidupan zamam modern ini .....
sembahyang merupakan satu tugas harian untuk mencerminkan keimanan dan mendapat ganjaran haram umno ....
wanita melayu ..sememangnya mudah diperdaya dengan wang dam gaya hidup berfesyen tinggi .... lagi satu , mereka ini mudah dibeli dengan wang untuk memberi 'perkhidmatan' ghairah kepada para golongan elit dan ketua anjing umno ...
wanita melayu lebih senang 'dimainkan' ..... sungguh memalukan ....
kini tahap kerosakan moral dan nilai murni melayu telah besar ...
bangsa melayu masih malu untuk menghadapi kebenaran ini ..
sifat tidak tanggung malu inilah yang membolehkan mamak tua kembali berzalim dengan lebih bergaya ........
melayu ..bangsa yang lemah ... langsung tidak boleh berdikari tanpa umno ...
apa yang mamak tua cakap , mereka ikut sahaja .....
apa yang merka takut kehilangan sebenarnya telah lama dicuri oleh mamak tua ini.
written by krising1, May 23, 2009 09:18:43
Mamathir did everything in his power, whilst being PM, to bring Singapore to its knees. Singapore was always two steps ahead and foiled the Mamak's plans to kill Singapore economically. We can assure the mamak that he will die without Singapore going down on its knees. So we can give him another label - The Mamak who failed to bring Singapore to its knees.
written by macho, May 23, 2009 09:31:26
I think we have a much bigger problem than worry about Singapore. Why so preoccupied with Singapore? It is not us against them. It never was. Maybe UMNO should just focus on running the country instead of politicking. Our country is in shambles and we are still spending time on politics. UMNO, UMNO when are you going to learn.
written by hellosunshine, May 23, 2009 09:32:24
Aiyoyo RPK, the old fart can also be as promiscuous as you lah, sleeping with different partners of the day that meets your fancies. Especially one who can promise to bring his botak son up thru the ranks in double quick time. smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Bigjoe99, May 23, 2009 09:41:39
Those who have worked for the most powerful in Singapore knows that they do know the truth of Najib whatever it may be.
written by cruzeiro, May 23, 2009 09:41:44
..... Najib and I never dreamt that Dr Mahathir would choose Najib considering he is so....
====================================

Aiyo-yo, Pete!!
You telling me that actually believed that, or did you force yourself to believe that against all odds?
written by sydput, May 23, 2009 09:53:38
I am all for malaysia-singapore merger, but our currency has to strengthen at par to S$ before this is considered. But that would mean UMNO losing power and may never happen.
The most busiest and restricted international shipping waterways lies off singapore. Ships are forced to sail at half speed just to avoid a collision.
The second bridge between johore and singapore is under utilised. But a third bridge built on the east may be a boon to tourism industry along the east coast of johore.
If the causeway is removed and a straight bridge is built, it may create a leisure boat activity/business along the straits of johore and create a wholly new economic activity.
But a causeway is militarily more beneficial to singapore if it has plans to invade southern johore to secure a hinterland for its water resources and secure the island from bombardment.
written by malaysiaunited, May 23, 2009 10:05:47
I hope Najib can follow Singapore education policy, which Mahathir did not have balls to do, i.e. abolish vernacular schools and have one type of primary, secondary school. This alone will contribute a big building block to greater unity and understanding among the various races and minimise racial chauvinists from emerging in future!
disagree 23
written by alarcarte, May 23, 2009 10:30:38
Mahathir's hatred for Singapore is well known, he studied in Singapore and had Lee Kuan Yew as his University mate, his hatred for Singapore probably started at that time because I think Lee Kuan Yew ragged him in the Uni. by squeezzing his "kotek", ha,ha,ha..

What is wrong if Najib were to kowtow to Sigapore or any other first world countries and learn from them? My take is it can only improve our country, as it is now we are already slipping down behind Singapore, Korea, Taiwan, China, India and many other countries are fast catching up with us.

If we don't learn and let the present status continues, we will find that soon we will export our women to other countries to work as domestic mate.

written by confuseus, May 23, 2009 10:32:50
Good to hear this ... I have speculated these all along.
RPK is not supporting a person, you support issues.... just like confuseus.

I am giving Najib 6 - 12 mths... so far he has failed many tests including the bridge and one of my test!!!

Keep the pressure HARD ON and the BIG one has yet to come !!!!
written by Oyster, May 23, 2009 10:34:11
Great Stuff! I love a story with a sting it its tail.The disappointing thing is that the 'sting 'may never really be made public as long as it serves a purpose for S'pore. If what Daim says is true then 'ouch', Najib's short and curlies must be being jerked around hard these days. Go for it S'pore! pluck him good and hard. If you can get what you need out of the talking anus that is our current PM, then you deserve it.
The twists and turns of this ever unfolding story make's Le Carre's 'Spy Catcher' look like a Janet and John Spy Story For Children.
The "red dot" thing is great too.Now I see S'pore as the glowing ember of a lit cigarette held between the butt cheeks of Mahathir's Malaysia.
Suck it and see.If you kiss the butt you get burned, suck on the cig and you find it's covered with shit.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by LILIN, May 23, 2009 10:34:31
C'est La France...bodos! hehe
http://wfol.tv/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=573&Itemid=9
written by alarcarte, May 23, 2009 10:37:48
written by Path Fighter To truth, May 23, 2009 07:52:52
Yes Singapore is strong and Popular around the globe.
Many countries around the world does not know MALAYSIA.
They know about SINGAPORE.

==================================

Yes, thats true, many times in the past when I mentioned I am from Malaysia in Americas, the Americans will look puzzled and ask "Is Malaysia in Singapore or near Hong Kong?"
written by taishan, May 23, 2009 10:48:09
A crooked man with a crooked idea to built a crooked bridge.
Always acting in spite.
An intellectual midget who came out second best when he tangled with LKY.
Bitter till the very end.
Take a hike, mamak.

written by wongnoball, May 23, 2009 10:50:11

I think the attitude of the Grand Old Man towards Singapore is mainly because of a type of 'red eyes syndrome'lah. The cause of this type of syndrome is usually due to their paranoid or illusive thinkings. That is why sometimes you can find some characteristic of Mao or Hitler's behaviour on our Grand Old Man.
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by biggun129, May 23, 2009 10:50:49
A 'small red dot'singapore is, and A 'BIG BLACK DOT' for Malaysia!The whole world pay attention to the small red dot, what happen to the BIG BLACK DOT that the most power President of the World never even drop in while on his way back home to Washington!He stopped at the small red dot!
written by Admiral Tojo, May 23, 2009 11:07:21
Singapore is the Financial center of this region. All corrupt transactions and slush accounts end in Singapore.The corrupt needs Singapore as Singapore needs the corrupt. Let us not kid ourselves. Even Mahathir's proxies have acounts there.

Wayang Kulit if you ask me, this dislike of Singapore by Mahathir. Bollocks.

Oh yes, the pictures of Jibby do exist and Jibby knows this too. If I were him, I would have committed suicide if there is any honor left.

written by malaysianohope, May 23, 2009 11:08:34
"Tun Daim Zainuddin has personally told Dr Mahathir that Singapore possesses all the evidence that Najib, Razak Baginda and Altantuya met at the Oriental Hotel in Marina Square one year before she died".
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Looks like the Spirit of Altantuya is not going away any time soon. If this is true Malaysia is doomed with C4 heming the premiership with the tiny red dot holding us by the balls.
Hey Rakyat Malaysia what are we waiting for? C4 is detrimental to Malaysia, period!
written by apa jadi, May 23, 2009 11:28:03
Forget about this fxxx up old cock. He could carry his hate/jealousy to grave for all he wants. He had 22 years to prove his worth. But for the 22 years, he has brought the Malaysian legal system to shackles, the country to ruin. The taste of the pudding lies in the eating, old cock! You are just the cook who spoiled the pudding.

Whether Najib kowtow to Singapore or not is immaterial. The question is why is this third leg to be built to such remotest part of the prepuce? Blood flow is minimum,where the artery is in the centre and is out of the intended development zone. Take a good look at Gelang Patah. How much is the traffic? Don't tell me they are going to build another highway to collect more toll, economic viability aside?
written by gurkha_malaya, May 23, 2009 11:30:08
nice artikel about singapore-msia by late m.g pillai

http://saudagarsenja.********....tions.html
written by truthbespoken, May 23, 2009 11:34:21
Mahathir will never ever measure up to LKY, not until bedtime! It's all for there to see what LKY had done FOR Singapore and what Mahathir had done TO Malaysia! Just eat your heart out, Mahathir, for you'll forever be the loser when compared to LKY! You'll forever remain Robin when there's Batman! Nothing more than an international side-kick! That's what you really are, Mahathir! You can now sleep tight!
written by chiongguo, May 23, 2009 11:35:56
A little red dot viewed up close and personal can appear huge and frightening. The phrase "little red dot" was first used by Gus Dur. The taiwanese were less graceful and called singapore just a little snort.

Dr.M's hatred for singapore is not easy to understand but his respect for the s'pore gov's thoroughness and analysis could be seen how he tail-coated everything that the singapore gov. did. When singapore announced the wafer fab program, Dr.M followed. Singapore announced a wired city, Dr.M announced the multi-media super-corridor. Education hub, he followed. Medical hub, he followed. Conglomeration of banks to be competitive with foreign banks after the WTO rules kicked in, he followed.

Singapore actually carried out all those programs with great success while Dr.M's tail-coating only ended with one white elephant after another. The conglomeration of banks was easy enough.

However I think he had failed to see how the port at tanjung pelepas had succeeded in pulling a lot of biz. from singapore. S'pore port may become redundant. If the causeway is removed ships will have a short-cut to the straits of malacca and the port at tanjung pelepas will even pull more biz away from singapore. This is perhaps why the singapore counterpart had been reluctant to do away with the causeway. The s'pore gov. is very smart.

How do you outfox the fox ? That is the dilemma before Najib. The 3rd bridge ? It is like the third leg - only good for one thing smilies/grin.gif or maybe two.

written by lampard, May 23, 2009 11:41:46
Hey RPK,
Man, there is no 2 ways about it, you either choose Anwar Ibrahim from Pakatan Rakyat or Tengku Razaleigh from UMNO. You are either a capitalist or a communist! A devil or an angel.There is no 2 ways about it.
I would prefer Pakatan Rakyat especially Parti Keadilan Rakyat for simple reasons, ordinary members have a choice on its president and it is open to all, it does not matter if you are Melayu, Cina, India,orang Asli, Grago...etc
written by clarity, May 23, 2009 13:30:00
Now this is going to be a problem. If I go to Singapore to offer to buy the evidence, she won't accept as S'pore will not be bribed. And I know they have a hold on me. Only thing to do is go there and give them more water. At least like that, the evidence will be safe.
written by raven1958, May 23, 2009 13:30:11
.....capitalist society with a communist heart.......MGG PILLAI

Aptly put.....In 20 years or maybe less...when LKY dies....Singapore will fall apart....they may be decimated in 2061...if the water contract ends and is not renewed......BUT NOT TO WORRY.......All PM Lee has to ask of Najib is ...How many women do you want?....and Malaysia would be sold......PAS, PKR and DAP need to get their act together before we loose this nation altogether.....UMNO has made certain that all these country's riches has been withered away.....it's now left the bare land.......we may loose this beginning with Johore....
written by Franky, May 23, 2009 13:47:17
I don't how far it's true.Many years ago, I over heard from a retired high post Army Personnel over a Teh Tarik Session. He said if Malaysia is really at War with Singapore. We surely lose,mainly because their Air Force is so advance that Singapore can immobile our ground troops in matter of hour.Many of our military equipments are old and so on. Their Armies are well trained as compared to Malaysia.So, no need to mention about COLD WAR> Ha! Any comment !!
written by AlwaysFair, May 23, 2009 14:15:47
This Mamak is very vicious racist, he hated the smart chinese and marginalise them in Malaysia and suceeded to a certain extent.

Then he see S'pore ruled mainly by Chinese and more successful then him and he got angry and jealous at S'pore, but they are independant of him so he cannot punish them. So many chinese cannot get into institutions of higher learning here but managed to do so in S'pore and so thwarted the mamak's grand design to make us retards and morons. That is why he hated S'pore because although malaysia got so many Unis he make it hard for chinese to gain entry but S'pore saved many of us. He think he want to destroy us but sorry-la. We are survivors.

You evil mamak you promote skin colour and connection above meritocracy and destroy this country by giving us substandard leaders. it doesn't matter so long they obey you. You should be renamed Mamak-The Almighty One.
written by AlwaysFair, May 23, 2009 14:29:56
Singapore deserves the best because they recognise your talent and give you the opportunity for education irregardless what is your skin colour.

It is shameful that Malaysia use even such basic amenities like education to marginalise non-malays such that so many have to go overseas or private institutions. So why is mamak jealous of S'pore? He only have himself to blame.
written by AlwaysFair, May 23, 2009 14:42:49
The predominantly chinese govt of Singapore don't have to rob from other races to enrich only one race. They rule the country on meritocracy and it is a win-win for all races.

Malaysia practise ketuanan melayu and enrich one race at the expense of other races even if they are more capable. That is why whatever slogan of 1Malaysia , Unity malaysia or @## is just an empty slogan, devoid of substance.

Since you just want our votes why not give Bumis double voting rights so that you can continue in power?? Afterall they are the supreme race so voting rights should also get more. Anybody agree with me? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by densemy, May 23, 2009 15:15:20
Mahathir had to hate Singapore and Mahathir had to convince all Malaysians to hate Singapore because Singapore was the living breathing example of where Malaysia had failed.
written by songsar, May 23, 2009 16:02:22
The little red dot thing was first mentioned by Habibie not Gus Dur.

Mamak has knowingly or unknowingly introduced the caste system. He does not want Singapore to succeed because he is simply jealous beyond imagination.
written by Just Gan, May 23, 2009 16:16:20
Mahathir does not hate Singapore per se. He hates Singapore's success. He hates the fact that while both countries started off at the same time, Singapore has moved progressively ahead in all areas of imporrtance to her people and her status. Malaysia, by comparison, has lagged far behind in may areas - I don't need to list them - we all know. Worse still, Malaysia has deteriorated in many areas where it was once strong and even ahead of Singapore in some sectors - law and order, education, racial harmony, economic development, governance, public sector, etc. Malaysia, in spite of its larger manpower and vast natural resources, stands as a failed nation by comparison to Singapore. Singapore's lead over Malaysia is reflected in the strength of its currency which is more than twice in value to that of the ringgit. Every challenge that Mahathir had thrown to Singapore resulted in Singapore winning. Mahathir's track record - all losses against Singapore. (Only the naive think that Tanjung Pelepas has beaten Singapore Port - as all other Malaysian claims, there is more hype than reality and this is also applicable to Tanjnung Pelepas.) Who is the man behind Singapore's success? Lee Kwan Yew!!! Who is the man who repeatedly challenged Singapore and failed in all his attempts? Mahathir Mohammed!!! Would you hate a person who defeats you in all the challenges that you throw? If only Singapore had failed, Mahathir would love Singapore. Sorry, Mahathit the biggest looser. While you destroyed all that was good in Malaysia, Lee Kwan Yew built up Singapore into a strong progressive and 1st world nation respected by all.

Majib - Give this sore looser, Mahathir, at least one win so that he can go to his grave saying, "I have beaten Lee Kwan Yew at least once." Give Mahathir his crooked bridge.
written by terrytay, May 23, 2009 16:22:37
Agree with Just Gan,

when they are better, and we hate them, it's called JEALOUSY

written by Just Gan, May 23, 2009 16:23:39
Version with type errors corrected:

Mahathir does not hate Singapore per se. He hates Singapore's success. He hates the fact that while both countries started off at the same time, Singapore has moved progressively ahead in all areas of importance the nation and her people. Malaysia, by comparison, has lagged far behind in many areas - I don't need to list them - we all know them. Worse still, Malaysia has deteriorated in many areas where it was once strong and was even ahead of Singapore - law and order, judiciary, education, racial harmony, economic development, governance, public sector, infrastructure, etc. Malaysia, in spite of its larger manpower and vast natural resources, stands as a failed nation when compared to Singapore. Singapore's huge lead over Malaysia is reflected in the strength of its currency which is more than twice in value to that of the ringgit. Every challenge that Mahathir had thrown to Singapore resulted in Singapore winning. Mahathir's track record - all losses against Singapore. (Only the naive think that Tanjung Pelepas has beaten Singapore Port - as all other Malaysian claims, there is more hype than reality and this is also applicable to Tanjung Pelepas.) Who is the man behind Singapore's success? Lee Kwan Yew!!! Who is the man who repeatedly challenged Singapore and failed in all his attempts? Mahathir Mohammed!!! Wouldn't you hate a person who defeats you in all the challenges that you throw? Of course, it is natural to hate the one who beats you in every game. If only Singapore had failed, Mahathir would love Singapore. Sorry, Mahathir, the biggest looser and destroyer of Malaysia. While you destroyed all that was good in Malaysia, Lee Kwan Yew built up Singapore into a strong progressive and 1st world nation respected by all.

Najib - Give this sore looser, Mahathir, at least one win so that he can go to his grave saying, "I have beaten Lee Kwan Yew at least once." Give Mahathir his crooked bridge.
written by Goodbites, May 23, 2009 16:30:40
Singapore exch.rate 2.40
In fact Mahathir should encourage Malaysians to emulate Singapore's success and learn from them. Instead he tells us to be critical, jealous, and suspicious of them for no valid reasons. In Singapore, the government is clean and efficient, no corruption. There is racial harmony and no racial politics like what we see here. Singaporeans of all races consider themselves a class above Malaysians and we should not deny that. They have progressed by leaps and bounds despite all the criticisms levelled at them since prior to and after leaving Malaysia.
written by DezMalaysia, May 23, 2009 17:00:20
Talk about Malaysia's security... I agree that Singapore do posesses a lot of our secrets which is a great threat to our nation. No doubts if they claim to have the Najib-Altantuya's evidences.

I have a friend who's in Singapore's Navy had once told me that when there's war games between 5 power defence, Malaysia is the worst. Singapore's commandos can intrude into MAlaysian Army Johor Majidee camp like a dog walking in and out.

With our Police systems all done by a Singapore company with Israel partners, I wonder how secure is Malaysian Defence against Cyber-Combat-hackers and Singapore.

With this kinda defence joke, they (my Singapore Reservist friends) told me that they have the capability to take over the whole Johor & half of Pahang in less than a week. The reason, >>> water is very important !

Eventhough Singapore is a Chinese Majority country, me as a Chinese, I would not support the idea of helping them coz I am a Malaysian. Most of my Malaysian Chinese friends said they will fight them if they really invade us. Seriously... shouldn't we get rid of those open spies who's now running our country ????
written by Dreamlander, May 23, 2009 18:01:37
WHY LKY SUCCEEDED & TDM FAILED?
The ONLY ONE and a very important aspect that TDM failed to achieve and where LKY has the foresight to complete before their formal retirements:
PASSING THE REIN OF GOVERNMENT TO A TEAM OF CAPABLE SUCCESSORS.
NOW SINGAPORE IS GROOMING THE FOURTH GENERATION OF ITS FUTURE LEADERS AND WE IN MALAYSIA ARE STILL TRYING TO REACH A CONSENSUS ON MANY MAJOR GOVERNANCE ISSUES, CHIEF OF WHICH IS A LEADER GENERALLY ACCEPTABLE BY MOST MALAYSIANS.
written by emirateswenger, May 23, 2009 18:27:42
3rd bridge what not....there is still the small matter of allowing ship passage through the straits ie. causeway.

No need to compare Malaysia with Singapore. Nation building is never easy. Would you compare Turkey, Greece, Italy, France with Norway and Sweden?

written by SiHangChai, May 23, 2009 18:46:01
the slogan is "1-Singapore" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Edmund, May 23, 2009 18:59:17
end of the day is all about the $

If Mahatir feels that he is not getting enough from Najib ...
then he'll start support a new man with a new slogan
written by jayenjr, May 23, 2009 20:52:41
written by Dreamlander, May 23, 2009 18:01:37

WHY LKY SUCCEEDED & TDM FAILED?
-------------------------------------------

Here,let me give my 2 cents worth, and see if it strikes a chord with the masses:-

1. LKY practiced a clean gov'n; Mahathir practised a gov'n with only a slogan "Bersih Cekap dan Amanah"; but just bout evrything TDM did was anything was "bersih, cekap dan amanah".

2. LKY allowed more meritocracy than TDM; they have an Indian Foregin Minister , for crying out loud! They had an INdian President, for crying out loud!

Here, all you get is labelled as "Pendatang".

3. In LKY, out of a 100% economic pie, he gives 90% back to the country, and perhaps takes only 10% for himdself & geng; our TDM pulak - takes 90% untuk poket sendiri, and gives 10% back to the country. And then that 10%, aiyo, kena jaga maintain cos of poor workmanship.

4. LKY really allowed for the best brains to flourish. The result is today, they have one of the best univ in the region, and also perhaps one of the best air force in the world. Tis true, in the unlikely event of a war with their "big brother", they only need 30 mins to knock us off. Not even enuff time for the UMNO/BN goons to make it to KLIA to cabut out of the country!
Kerismuddin's keris would melt oh-so easily!

5. Name me one racist statement that has ever come out of LKY's - or for that matter, any S'porean politician's - lip. Now, pose the same question to TDM.
A big chunk of TDM's legacy has been built on racism.

6. Is LKY embarrased to admit that he is Chinese? But TDM is embarrased to admit that he is , Indian. Oh sorry, I suppose TDM will use any reasoning and means for political expediency.

7. LKY does not have Mugabe for a friend.

8. LKY never had a VK lingam for a friend.

9. When LKY said he would stay out of meddling with state affairs once he stepped down, he meant what he said. Our fella, asyik-asyik sakit punggung only.

Well, there you have it. My 2 cents worth. There's surely more - but then, that will cost 5 sens.
written by lynn, May 23, 2009 22:11:22
DezMalaysia,

If you r Chinese, you r out of yr fcuking mind for writing what u wrote. We Chinese shld be grateful & thankful for Singapore's great success & existence!!! To sabotage Singapore is to slap us Chinese own faces. Singapore accepts us Chinese because we are talented, hardworking, skilful, educated, creative, enterprising, etc. while our own country rejects us for racial, jealousy, envy, threatening "ketuanan melayu"... you name it.

We Chinese had been discriminated in our own birth country for decades. You can stomach that maybe becos you had "connections"???? I don't have to go at length here but we are not bumiputras whereas indons who swam here get an IC really quickie fast & then fast-speed to PR & before you know, they become citizens & instant Bumiputras enjoying all the privileges that we Chinese & Indians are deprived of & occasionally referred to as pendatangs.

Singapore welcomes us Chinese & Indians bright students with open arms while we are repeatedly rejected by this ultra-racist umno gomen. For me, I wish Singapore continuous prosperity, continuous success and all the best!!! They deserve nothing but the best!
written by lynn, May 23, 2009 22:27:14
As suspected all along, Dr M is plainly jealous & envious of Mr Lee Kuan Yew. Two leaders of two countries, serving as PMs for decades? Which one made his country a failed state?

If you people care about the environment you live in, if you have a mentality that gives priority to cleanliness & efficiency, on a Sunday drive around JB town (cluster-fcuked city - it looks like it has been bombed out), take in the untidy, unkempt, haphazard, messy condition and then hop over to Singapore's Woodlands - my gawd, the stark difference. Ask why!!! Don't give us that crap abt Singapore being small, therefore. Size has nothing to do with it. Ask the men & they agree foolheartedly. It has got to do with ATTITUDE.

Singapore is like a continuous breath of fresh air - come back into JB and you will be depressed. Why can't Malaysia be like Singapore, or better? Why do we have all the natural resources and our exchange rates is RM2.40 to S$1.00? Why are Singaporeans (incl. all my friends who now hold Singapore citizenship) doing well while we are still having low standards with high costs of living?

What went wrong? I blame all this on TDM & umno. These men, they are only interested in lining their own pockets and their cronies'. They have wasted probably more than a trillion ringgit on the country's wealth.

Do you people know the US govt is "copying" Singapore's education system starting this year? They will adopt Singapore's method of teaching Mathematics. Americans are being sent out to Singapore to learn abt its remarkable education system & to bring those ideas back to the US.

Why does Lee KY allow Singapore to have a world class, first class education system? Let me tell you why: because Lee KY has allowed no room for corruption to grow. You cannot have meritocracy & corruption in bed together.

Why does the bn govt gives us a low-class lousy education system with religious classes thrown in (by now you realised religion is an effective political tool)? Because it needs to keep the majority stupid, ignorant, poor, dependent & easily exploited. So that this corrupt government can continue to plunder and plunder the nation's wealth. Nothing can stop the corruption, cheating, stealing, lying & robbing until we eliminate this bn govt for good!!!!
written by Pakyeh, May 23, 2009 22:39:21
By Allah! what a terrible fate to have one's balls or in someone's hands.Life is not worth the balls squeezing Najip! Even Pak Lah can squeez Najip's balls too.Mammak Kutty is the no.1 balls squeezer laa."One Malaysia" would want to squeeze his balls untill he pengsan and resign as PM.
The most honorable thing to do is to resign.But is Najip honorable ?

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by alarcarte, May 24, 2009 00:49:59
Don't forget too, academically Mahathir also lost "KAU KAU" to Harry Lee Kuan Yew.
While Harry Lee was the best student in Cambridge, Mahathir is only a so so garduate from Uni of Singapore
written by hiro, May 24, 2009 23:38:37
Spore's strategic interest is to keep Malaysia as a backwater nation within Asean so that they can keep buying Malaysian leaders. It is not in the best interest of Spore to see our education thrive, for meritocracy to take root, because otherwise Spore will eventually lose it's substantial Malaysian workforce. The same can't be said about Pakatan Rakyat who comes in clean and deals with Spore leadership on even keel (assuming they are all clean).

Indeed, it is interesting that Dr M should consider supporting Pakatan Rakyat if indeed his prejudice against Spore runs deep.
written by verifunny, May 25, 2009 10:47:45
This is what I see:

Singapore's government at least gives a fair chance for every citizen to contribute to its economy. Malaysia's NEP has shaped the mentality of those benefited from this policy negatively like a drug addict always looking for drug. A harsh environment sometimes might bring out the best of people and pushes each individual to overcome difficulties in crisis. However, this approach makes people more realistic if people do not understand it. Something for you to ponder,

Malaysia has failed to attract back the talents that flow out is another factor that contributed to the slow build up of the economy. Many issues happening in Malaysia have frustrated those that works abroad, which made them change their minds to return.

The Grand Old Master has failed in many ways that he cannot blame anyone but himself.

written by Fooart, May 25, 2009 11:59:43
UMNO - Under Mamak Not Organise!!!
written by tanwi, May 25, 2009 12:01:09
All Umno-ers should hate Singapore cos Singapore is a prime example of the inability of UMNO to govern the country. When Singapore was booted out by Malaysia, they were poorer than the Penang state. Look at where they are today. They have more reserves, GDP, etc etc than Malaysia. How can this happen? Simple answer is good governance.
written by DezMalaysia, May 25, 2009 12:44:42
Hello Lynn

I think I am a Malaysian. I think the Malaysian way. Eventhough our country treat us (Chinese Malaysian) no where good or better than your Singapore 'good' imaginations, I still love this country, Malaysia.

We, Chinese & Indian Malaysians are sidelined by BN/UMNO Malays, no arguements, i agree with that, and do remember that there's also other good (non-UMNO)Malays which I think you'd seen less or mix less coz of your strong racism & revengeful attitude towards the whole when a powerful minority elite Malays who stepped on your head !

If you think Singaporeans are good saints who do not discriminate, please ! If you've never do business in JB, dealing business with Chinese Singaporeans or work in Singapore before dont scream Singaporeans' fart are fragrant ! You talk about Chinese, Chinese, Chinese... everything about race. Do they, Chinese Singaporeans treat us Chinese Malaysians like related brethens from China ? I tell you I'd seen tonnes of them treating us Chinese MAlaysians like CHEAP *******s when they attempt to get everything cheap out of us ! Do you know that ?

If they talk about fair treatment, do they or will they pay you equally to your Singapore counterpart ? The answer is NO ! Coz you're "Jioh Hu Kia" (A degradetory remark in Hokkien for Johor dude / Malaysian). That's the reality. And, your workloads are twice or triple the workload of your Singapore counterpart and you get paid SGD 200 - 500 less ! As long as you're born in this BolehLand, Singaporeans will look down on you, regardless of race ! And, they wish, very wish that you MAlaysians stop flocking into Singapore !

Yeah ! Hell very true... they do welcome bright Chinese & Indian Malaysians in Singapore. For what ? Just to use them ! You think they are sincere ?

For your information, I am a DAP lifetime member. So what shit 'connections' you think I have to survive ?

You blame this and that, but have you ever blame your self and look into the mirror ? You failed to find your chances here to survive, so now you hold Singapore PR and you blame anything you can.

Since you hate Malaysia so much, why bother to logged into MAlaysia-Today to know more about Malaysia and vote in Malaysian GE ? Why don't you just stay in Singapore and never come back, move your entire family there... see if they treat you fair enough or not ! And, don't WHINE like a pity horse when you're a loser ! There's plenty of Chinese Malaysians can do well in KL. You can't so blame yourself !

Don't think I am a fans of Tun Mamak Kutty, NO ! I hate him for some reasons, but I do salute him for some of his works !

Lastly, Chinese for many generations, they will never betray the land that they are born in. Malaysia is my home, my belove land. I am fed with Malaysian food to grow up. YOu talk about corruptions & how dirty Malaysia is. Did you ever do anything to help clean it out ? I never run away from a battle for a better Malaysia. Better days dont come easily without a fight. And, you'd run away from it to a better island for better days. So when that island is rotten, then you run again to a better land and whine whine whine that island can no longer give you any better than others !

The conclusion, what is your kind ? A Selfish Money-Minded Nation Betrayer who think Singapore's bowl of rice is much more fragrant than our own !?

Lynn, Stop addressing yourself as Malaysian from now on. You're a disgrace. Start addressing yourself as an islander, see whether they accept you completely or not !
disagree 18
written by slash n burn, May 25, 2009 13:39:41
Hear ye damned Satan in hell!, summon your fellow evil Mahatahi Kerala to death in hell.
written by fuziahfisal, May 25, 2009 14:34:33
you know why he was chosen. He needed an A and an N to complete his childish RAHMAN theory. so thats why when he kicked out Anwar he had to find another A. whoelse but Pak Lah even though he hated both of them. Next he need just an N besides Najib who else?
written by TWOG, May 25, 2009 17:35:40
Najib has just made a trip to Singapore and while in Singapore he announced that Malaysia agrees to build a third bridge linking Malaysia and Singapore. Third bridge? If there is going to be a third bridge then there would certainly be a second bridge. And we are no longer talking about crooked bridges as what Dr Mahathir wants. We are talking about straight bridges as what Singapore wants. And Najib also announced that the New Economic Policy would most likely be abolished as what Singapore would like to see.

RPK - I think the word "bridge" is used here in the sense of a "link" - so it can be a bridge or a causeway or a dam. There is already a second bridge - the one linking Tuas to Johor in the West. The first "bridge" is the causeway and it is likely to be widened. Then the third bridge in the East linking Desaru to eastern end of Singapore.

No, I don't think Singapore will want to see the end of the NEP. In fact, Singapore has been benefitting and prospering for the last 4 decades because of the NEP. The NEP is the single biggest competitive advantage that Singapore has over Malaysia - I am sure Singapore will be worried if the NEP is abolished.
written by TWOG, May 25, 2009 17:42:33
written by chiongguo, May 23, 2009 11:35:56
A little red dot viewed up close and personal can appear huge and frightening. The phrase "little red dot" was first used by Gus Dur.

No - it was coined by Habibie.

S'pore port may become redundant. If the causeway is removed ships will have a short-cut to the straits of malacca and the port at tanjung pelepas will even pull more biz away from singapore. This is perhaps why the singapore counterpart had been reluctant to do away with the causeway.

Nope. The Johor Straits is too shallow and meandering to allow large ships to pass through. And there is no short cut - look at the map again - it is actually longer to sail via the north of Singapore than by the south.
written by TWOG, May 25, 2009 17:49:10
written by DezMalaysia, May 25, 2009 12:57:17
Ya lar... Lee Kuan Yew is GREAT ! GREAT until he lost a mammoth investment(building a city) in CHINA about 8 years ago ! And, the failure news never reported in Singapore !

DezM - are you referring to Suzhou Industrial Park? Lost a mammoth amount? You must be dreaming. Initially, there will some hiccups as the Chinese were backing their own rival park across the road. And Singapore has never put in that much money - most of the investments were from MNCs rounded up by Singapore. It is now an unqualified success and the best industrial park in China - profitable for the past 8 years. ****** for it and you will see that you are misinformed.
written by phosphorus, May 25, 2009 20:04:15
Hey guys,

Dun ever underestimate " A little Red dot on the world map".
You have no idea what Singapore are capable of..?

No doubt their population is small but their citizens above 18 yrs old are military trained with proper live firing bullets.
You think their NS is just like our NS Holiday Camp..?
What a joke..? 3 months NS camp.

BN should learn from LKY the way he manage Singapore.
But please dun implement ERP and COE here.
written by DezMalaysia, May 25, 2009 23:53:01
TWOG, maybe I was being misinformed, bad memories, but please read this and then tell me again...

http://wayangparty.com/?p=7610&pid=215

It's also in Wikipedia.
written by DezMalaysia, May 25, 2009 23:53:59
TWOG, here's another one...

http://wayangparty.com/?p=7589
written by Mirage, May 26, 2009 00:28:45
He Mahathir had made 3 previous major screw up of his DPM so this will be his last that will take him to his grave having not complete his final handover.
written by REN DAIBO, May 26, 2009 00:32:46
Maybe DezMalaysia should get to know more Singaporeans instead of the few that shop in JB bargaining over prices before he start stereo-typing ALL Singapore Chinese the way he does. Every country has their good and bad like he himself said "the many good(non UMNO) Malays". I don't consider myself a Powerful Singaporean nor do I ill treat Chinese from
other countries. Which Singaporean have cheated you or ill-treated you for you to bear so much hatred for us?
written by REN DAIBO, May 26, 2009 01:22:12
DezMalaysia wrote:
I dont think in general Malaysian of any races hate Singaporeans however some Singaporean coming to Malaysia do have some manners to learn.

Yes DezMalaysia, I concur with the above, but if you yourself believe what you wrote, why then are your posts condemning all Chinese Singaporeans in general? A little unfair don't you think?
Those Singaporeans who need to learn some manners should be your target, teach them for us if you may, while you have opportunities in your business dealings with them.
For all you know they might just thank you for their arrogance and misbehaviour.
You mentioned that there are many good (non UMNO) Malays around and yourself and Lynn are examples of 2 starkly different personalities though you both profess to be Malaysian Chinese.
You must be aware that not all 4 million of us shop in JB so you have only encountered some Ugly Singaporeans, likewise we have many visitors here and some also need some manners to learn, but that doesn't mean all their nationalities are just like them.
Anyway, I am very glad we had that clarified, so we can start afresh and refrain from generalising. Have a nice night smilies/wink.gif
written by TWOG, May 26, 2009 08:34:50
DezM - First, if you believe Wayang Party - you will believe anything. Doesn't the word "Wayang" tell you anything? Second, not all Wiki articles are authenticated. You and I can also write for Wiki.

Be that as it may, you will notice those 2 links you put up just confirmed what I said - the initial hiccups. US$90 million loss over 5 years is chicken feed for a project this size. And do you know what is Singapore's share in the loss? There are other equity partners and there are many tenants and investors, and MNCs involved. Say, at the worst, Singapore's share is 65% of US$90 million, or US$11.7 million a year. This is small beer considering the scale of the investment.

Launched in February 1994, the SIP is expected to be an efficient and ultramodern Singapore-style industrial township in Suzhou hosting multinational firms setting up in China.

At the end of May, 133 projects worth US$3.76 billion had been committed to the SIP, which it is estimated will cost US$20 billion to US$30 billion over 20 years.

http://www.singapore-window.org/sw99/90915afp.htm

This is hardly what you claimed originally as
Lee Kuan Yew is GREAT ! GREAT until he lost a mammoth investment(building a city) in CHINA about 8 years ago

The mammoth investment part of tens of billions are from the investors, not SG's money.

Yes, you have been mis-informed and you have been very selective in your links. Go and ****** for the news now. Even as we type on our keyboard now, LKY is in Suzhou celebrating the success of SIP.

Just a clue for you. The initial years of losses were not just due to start up teething problems which most projects of this size and scale will encounter. It was also due to conflict of interest (they wanted 2 competing parks side by side). There is also creative accounting involved. Can you imagine why immediately when Singapore reduced its stake from 65% to 35%, it posted a profit? Was that good timing? Or was that good accounting.

Bottomline is - SIP was and is the best damned industrial park in the whole of China - just ****** for the latest news.
written by TWOG, May 26, 2009 08:48:03
DezM - just to add, even if the China side did not fudge the P&L, what does the fact that it started making profits immediately after they got the majority share? At least it means that the company was turning around. It could also mean that they were suppressing the numbers until they got their larger share.

But why are you picking on this project? Wrong target - as you are still quoting decade-old articles? Even if SIP is a disaster, which it is definitely not, it is a business failure. But what about Klang Free Port - RM12 billion disappeared into thin air - now that is a mammoth amount, no, a dinosaur amount, with nothing to show. And what happened to the tens of billions of profit from Tenaga every year?

You can see the speck in others' eye, but not the log in your own...
written by marbl3s, May 26, 2009 16:18:19
Well, that old hoot can hate singapore for all i care. Conclusion is that when he was the PM of Malaysia for so many years, our Malaysian development was no better than Singapore.

We fell behind so far that even once Penang that once used to be so much more advance than singapore is no longer capable of keeping up with the development of Singapore.

So Mahathir, be as arrogant and cocky as you want but the fact is Singapore has outdone malaysia from education quality to government wise. And that's the bottomline.
written by TWOG, May 27, 2009 07:53:02
DezM - this one is for you. Suggest you ****** for the latest news regarding SIP.

May 27, 2009
MM praises Suzhou success
By Peh Shing Huei

SUZHOU - THE best is yet to be for the Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP), said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew on Tuesday during the 15th anniversary celebrations of the project.

Using a Chinese phrase zhong zhong zhi zhong, he described the landmark park as the 'priority of all priorities' among all China-Singapore bilateral cooperation projects.

Mr Lee, who delivered his speech in Mandarin, lauded it for continually improving itself over the years and moving up the value chain and technological ladder.

'Deng Xiaoping, during his Southern Tour in 1992, called for China to learn from Singapore's best practices,' he said.

'The SIP is an important part of Singapore's response to this. At its inception, the SIP was meant to be a platform for Singapore to share its experience and thinking - our 'software' - with China.

'Today, the SIP is an integrated township with industries, services, housing and recreational facilities all packaged in a gracious and attractive environment.

'We made the right decision on heeding Beijing's advice when we chose Suzhou.'

Some 2,000 Suzhou officials were also sent to Singapore for training and Mr Lee praised them as 'quick learners' who picked up ideas on how Singapore works, such as the development of chic restaurants in townships around the island.

Today, the park is 'the best laid-out and most effectively managed industrial park', he observed, adding that it also draws in more investments and generates higher growth than any other industrial park in China.

Chinese Vice-Premier Wang Qishan, who was at the event together with former Vice-Premier Wu Yi, agreed that the park is at the 'forefront' of all industrial parks in China.

Read the full story in The Straits Times today.
written by TWOG, May 27, 2009 08:00:35
DezMalaysia, May 25, 2009 23:53:01
It's also in Wikipedia.

DezM - you know it is in Wiki - yet you failed to notice this line in the Wiki entry -
The park was built near-simultaneously with the competing Suzhou New District (SND) industrial park. As the Suzhou city government had only a minority (35%) stake in the SIP, while they had a major stake in SND, the city government largely ignored the SIP and concentrated on promoting the SND instead.

As I told you earlier, the China side was playing game and promoting SND instead of SIP. The moment they got majority stake in SIP, SIP miraculously became profitable. Well, you can draw your own conclusion.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzhou_Industrial_Park
written by Old Man, May 27, 2009 09:48:41
While BN leaders are busy playing politics of Race and Religion, NEP and what not, Singapore has gained and is still gaining from our brain drain!
60% of Engineers working in Singapore are Malaysians who are currently PR and/or Citizens of Singapore!
No wonder the value and/or rate of our Ringgit Malaysia is only worth @ 40 Sinapore cents against one RM!
written by AlwaysFair, May 28, 2009 21:55:07
Majulah Singapura!!
written by Richfyf, June 01, 2009 01:20:04
Lynn and DezM why dont both of you exchange hand phone number and go argue as much as you like with each other. We all appreciate both of your comments on the Topic but please take you personal argument private.

Thank you