Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zambry declared rightful Perak MB

Zambry declared rightful Perak MB PDF Print
Friday, 22 May 2009 16:16

Follow ongoing reactions via Twitter here

(The Star) - The Court of Appeal has declared Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir the rightful mentri besar of Perak in a unanimous decision.

It granted Zambry his appeal against an earlier High Court decision declaring Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin as the rightful mentri besar of Perak.

The three-man bench, comprising Justices Md Raus Shariff, Zainun Ali and Ahmad Maarop, heard submissions Thursday from counsel representing Nizar and Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir.

On May 12, Dr Zambry filed an appeal to quash High Court (Appellate and Special Powers) Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim’s ruling.

On Feb 13, Nizar had filed for a judicial review against Dr Zambry’s appointment as mentri besar, seeking a declaration that he (Nizar) was the rightful Perak mentri besar and an injunction to bar Dr Zambry from carrying out the duties of mentri besar.

On May 11, the High Court ruled in favour of Nizar, rendering Dr Zambry’s appointment null and void.

However, a day after that, the Court of Appeal granted Dr Zambry a stay of execution, allowing him to remain as mentri besar until his appeal against the High Court ruling was disposed of.

The court was also to hear Nizar’s application to set aside the stay of execution order, but had decided to hear the appeal proper first following the consent of all parties.

Security was tight at the Palace of Justice here Friday as members of the press and public gathered in large numbers.

Only 15 media passes were issued, while the rest had to use public passes. Not all managed to squeeze into the courtroom, which was standing room only.

Only media representative per organisation was allowed. The Star reporter Yeng Ai Chun, who was twittering from the courtroom, has been asked to leave.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by indianputra, May 22, 2009 16:23:10
With the judges under pressure from UMNO/BN what other verdict could anyone expect?. We Malaysians should be ashamed of ball-less justices.
agree 140
written by fairnessforall, May 22, 2009 16:25:27
The decision of the court of appeal is a disgrace to all malaysians. The 3 judges are a disgrace to the justice system and now everyone knows they are corrupted UMNO dogs. If ever PR were to become the goverment, hopefully in the next election, they should sack all these judges who have disgraced our system and charge them with corruption.

For now Nizar should do the same that the black ugly zombie did, take out a stay order on the judgement and throw the blackie out until the Federal court judgement. This is what the blackie did to Nizar, now give him back a taste of his own medicine. If the federal court refuse to grant a stay order or delay the date, then we know even the federal court judge is just another UMNO dog
agree 145
written by utuhganal, May 22, 2009 16:29:37
Pity the high court judge. In no time he will be transfered to some remote district in Sabah or Sarawak or asked to go for early retirement for wrongful interpretations of law.

While the three appeal court judges can rest be assured to receive Tan Sri or Dato Sri. That's how life is, at least until the next general elections.
written by myke, May 22, 2009 16:30:25
Please help copy and spread this message.
-----------------------------------------

TELL YOUR RELATIVES AND FRIENDS NOT TO VOTE FOR BN NEXT GE13.

EXTINCT BN AND VOTE PR.

NO TO BN.

VOTE PR.

PLEASE START WORKING NOW..!!!!!

-------------------------------------------
Please start by simple one person a day if possible and work towards convincing
friends/relatives to spread this message. Explain to them BN's evil deeds, corruption, abuse of
power etc and get them to spread this message.

TQ
For a better future.
agree 124
written by nphew, May 22, 2009 16:30:36
I am wearing all black again tomorrow!
written by Ulan Benson, May 22, 2009 16:30:52
I am amazed that some of us still believe there is justice after the Altantuya case, Lingam's korek, Kugan's etc. Unless BNs are voted out, let's forget about the justice.

Wake up! You want justice? Throw those bastards out from the courts. These are not judges, they are UM-Nogoons.
written by tehewe, May 22, 2009 16:30:59
This is another black mark in our Judiciary body. Don't be surprised if they tell us people that there is no need to write their grounds of judgement! This really takes the cream de lar cream of all judgements.
written by Kacang Tanah, May 22, 2009 16:33:06
The judges are willing to sell their souls to the devil.
written by ladasiber, May 22, 2009 16:35:05
This is not "news". This is "olds". The black metallic wins this time. But remember, all is not done yet.
written by miracle, May 22, 2009 16:36:01
what a shame.... althou i dont know much about the level of court.. but "high court" and "appeal court" which is higher ?? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif appeal court can go against the high court ??? or it only can happen here???
written by elims Chuang, May 22, 2009 16:36:06
Not surprise with the bias declaration.

I can't wait for next election~ A time for people to decide who will be their YB, MB, PM! smilies/tongue.gif

Perhaps BN only able to retain 5 seats in Peninsular.

1. Najib
2. Ong Tea Keat
3. Koh Tsu Koon
4. Sammy
5. Nazri

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by HCK23, May 22, 2009 16:36:27
Next thing our king can terminate or sack No.6 at his will right. So now the ball roll back to the king sack PM no. 6 now. So that BN will finish all together.
written by khoosl11, May 22, 2009 16:36:39
now why am I not surprise...

This is what we call justice in this land of 1Malaysia. It clearly shows that everyone can be bought. I hope the guilty ones can sleep peacefully tonight and for the rest of the nights until GE13
written by Knight, May 22, 2009 16:37:48
Justice Ahmad Maarop looks and sounds familiar. Where did I hear this name from?
written by justinlian, May 22, 2009 16:38:35
When I hear it, I laugh.
Useless judges, dont know what is right and wrong.
written by Ediloh, May 22, 2009 16:39:03
I too will be wearing BLACK tomorrow.Hope every one will do the same.Another shameless day for Malaysia,the world is shaking their head.
written by PASOK, May 22, 2009 16:39:12
What a disgrace. No one believes that this court decision is fair.
written by Arowana, May 22, 2009 16:40:53
Truly Comedian Court and kangaroo judges. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

BN has put not only 1 foot in the coffin but 2 feet this time. Everywhere I go temper in flaring up high.

Come GE 13, lets send them to the age of dinosaurs.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kampongmali, May 22, 2009 16:41:55
MALAYSIA BOLEH.....CLOWNS of MALAYSIA made unanimous decision. smilies/grin.gif
written by Braino, May 22, 2009 16:43:10
As expected, using the same trick in Perak. First they let you win then they override that win with their evil unscrupulous final win!...that's the trick...that's why I say don't be too happy when you win.

Now that there are so many black marks...soon it will be just a black page in the history of Bolehland politics.
written by kampongmali, May 22, 2009 16:43:32
IT IS TOTAL "KAMIKAZE" BY BN. BYE BYE BE END.
written by mick_err_stan, May 22, 2009 16:43:45
"MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — Police arrested a man Wednesday for animal cruelty after he allegedly shot two kangaroos with arrows near Australia's second-largest city and left them to die."

Lucky for us there are no kangaroos in Malaysia....Hmmmm!!!! I wonder !!!!!
written by sampalee, May 22, 2009 16:45:47
Tuhan have just begun a living lesson on the subject 'Last straw on the camel's back'It show the weakness of unholy man no matter what robes they put on,be it that of a policeman,a soldier,a judge,an Iman,a CM or PM and even that of a monarch.The last straw depend on the threshold of tolerence of the rakyats to hypocracy.Go back to scriptures and be deceived no more.
written by justme bc, May 22, 2009 16:49:25
The sky above Ipoh suddenly turns dark and will pour very soon follow by loud thunder, even the sky weeps with this unjust court of Appeal ruling. What a shame that these bunch of extraordinary judges with extraordinary ability done to the democrcray of our country. This is beyond everyones comprehension, school children can even understand the constituition better then these judges. Our judiciary cannot be indpendent anymore as long as these Amneno morons judges are there. Let's all look forward to the next coming GE13 and demonstrate the might of the people's power!
written by anban, May 22, 2009 16:52:43
PERAK - When asked if shocked with judgment, lawyer Sulaiman Abdullah says "We have extraordinary judges with extraordinary ability."
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 22, 2009 16:54:13
However, on May 12, Court of Appeal judge Ramly Mohd Ali shocked the nation by granting in super-quick time a stay of the High Court’s ruling, sparking widespread public discontent about the quality of justice in Malaysia’s legal system.

correct! correct! correct!....zambry is the kambing beri beri...

umno's corruption of money politics has now drowned the judiciary..

VINCENT TONG ANOTHER 25 MILLION EACH FOR THE JUDGES??????

DAMN YOU VINCENT TONG...!!!!! YOU PLAYED OUT THE CHINESE IN THE MAJORITY...

written by mamanur, May 22, 2009 16:55:13
takziah kepada kita semua - bermula era gelap negeri perak dan seluruh negara amnya. sistem kehakiman telah runtuh dan dijadikan permainan catur. thanks to Najib.
written by michaelT, May 22, 2009 16:55:17
This judgement of the Appeal Court has cast a black day for Malaysians. YB Nizar must be supported strongly right now. PR must set up a fund for supporters to donate RM1 per person. The final amount will not only cover the cost but te balance can go to PR Political fund. This way we can measure the numbers of support for this case and te acceptance for PR to enter Putra Jaya. Perakians must grieve against Zambri government because they are robbers and the state coffers will go just as fast. They have demonstrated that they can go against rule of law by harsly removing the speaker and lock him up. They take over by storm that is gainst the Perakians wishes.
written by justme bc, May 22, 2009 16:57:59
Though the Court of Appeal declared the blackie Zambri as the MB of Perak BUT the Court of the People is still holding DS Nizar as the legitimate MB. The people's voice triumph......hidup Nizar, hidup Nizar, hidup selama lamanya membela keadilan dan keserjateraan rakyat!!!
written by crozz, May 22, 2009 17:00:11
So when will they release their written judgement? Oh wait, this is a case of high public interest so counter to normal thinking there is no need to give a written judgement just like the Federal court previously. So our judiciary is still status quo, utterly strangled by the UMNO/BN grip.
written by antares, May 22, 2009 17:16:19
As predicted, the vermin with the cat with the nine tails whips ... everybody jumps and bowed. Beware the hiv virus in PR states ... any cure for this umenoed virus strain?

Memang BN sudah gila babi ... ambilah Perak, tetapi tak mungkin boleh ambil hati Orang Perak, BN has set the precedence that crumbles the law of the land.

Do we have any kangarooes in Malaysia, yes the BN got many lah! So what to do ... so so ... tak pe damaged done by BN? What next on the umeno agenda?
written by pwcheng, May 22, 2009 17:17:39
Anybody who has read my blog posted on May 13 2009 ,"The wayang Kulit of The judiciary diected by UMNO" will know what I mean. Now you cannot turn round and say that the court is biased as you PR were foolish to be jubilant on the first round of winning the battle when they should know that they will ultimately loose the war.
Please goto my blog: "www.towardsgoodgovernance.********.com" and you will realize what I say and learn from another lesson as you people never seems to learn. In my blog I aptly mentioned that "I am afraid YB Nizar and many PR veterans has not reached this level to understand the art of war by UMNO".
written by penangboi, May 22, 2009 17:22:18
I seriously was thinking not to comment on this bit of news, but I had to let everybody know: I told you so.

So, to be tedious and repetitive like an old man, here it goes again:

In Boleh Land, the main government institutions are all under UMNO's control: Police, Judiciary, Royalty, MACC.

You just can't win. You protest, they set the police on you.

You take them to court. All the judges are 'lingam' judges and on their payroll.

You expect the royalty to rise above politics and do the right thing, they are 'business' partners of UMNO. Need I say more.

You report to the MACC, they are also in the same boat as UMNO.

So, where do we go for justice in Boleh Land. No bloody way at all.

Unless we get rid of Boleh land altogether. To the only way to do it is to kick BN/UMNO out of office.

Spread the truth to all the rakyat. When come GE13 we, the rakyat will exercise our power, people power, to decide for our own destiny and future.
written by cllim123, May 22, 2009 17:27:10
After the Salleh Abas scandal in 1988, the Lingam Video saga in 2007, what do you expect from the Court of Appeal? Stay granted in one day to Zambry but refused for Nizar.

Boot camp for judges must be working well.

Hidup Nizar, Hidup Pakatan, Hidup Perak!!
written by lamakawan, May 22, 2009 17:49:39
To all the people of Pakatan Rakyat alliance....
The government has under rated your intelligence.
The gomen has make a mockery of democracy in Perak.
The gomen is playing to the soft hearted supporters of Pakatan.
The gomen is playing monkey business with NIzar.
The gomen says to Nizar, one day you be mentri besar, next day let zambry be.
The gomen has all the judicial clowns under its control.
And this will drag on and on until Pakatan is fed up of getting back Perak.
Then BN will control Perak , and will be laughing all the way to the bank until the next general elections!!!!
written by Ken Chong, May 22, 2009 17:56:10
Just as how RPK stated on the topic "Najib’s latest strategy: perception war ". This is all in Najib's plan. We shouldn't be conned into this dirty attempt by UMNO to win back the people. Pakatan will win the state election and UMNO will get no recognition for anything>!!!
written by pinsysu, May 22, 2009 18:10:28
u mean zambry the right-FOOL MB?
written by sampalee, May 22, 2009 18:37:28
What is our REAL problem?
Our one problem lies with the misplaced trust,in our enforcement and peace keeping police,our so called unbiased judge,and our so called enlightened leaders.All of them actually teamed up to screw the rakyat.And this will continue as long as the rakyat do not mind and only wish that people Like RPK will sort out their problem.Go back to the scripture and remove your fear of wolves in sheep's clothing.Stand up behind real mukmim like RPK.
written by mowadoha, May 22, 2009 19:19:28
written by lynn, May 22, 2009 20:00:27
I mean most of us expected the above unjust outcome.

We already know in our hearts, these 3 judges are not going to be independent.

I am just thinking aloud: don't the 3 of them cringe with shame to have to do this? For all the training & respect given to them as Yang Arif, don't the other judges' conscience prick them for even just one minute?

Conscience is what we are naturally endowed with as a civilised human being; it keeps us on the right path, to be proudly ethical at all times, to do the right thing and to do so continuously in the most natural spontaneous manner.

Today's outcome has permanently cemented the Judiciary's tainted reputation - not that it has not been damaged already. But now it's beyond repair.
written by lynn, May 22, 2009 20:07:48
Looks like Malaysians are truly fcuked, in the ass & the projectile went right thru and ended sticking into our collective throats.

I know some M'sians who had enough money doesn't care abt this country's bleak future; Bodohland can go to hell & back & forth. and back & forth, and so on.

Today we know for 100% certainty (as the sun will rise tomorrow morning in the east) that we have no one to turn to. PDRM is so corrupt, the Judges can be fixed, MACC only selectively prosecutes, the EC is totally in servitude to umno, and the entire bn machinery is corrupt and cannot be trusted. Even the expectation of a sultan's decision went awry. We thought the Agong would refuse to confer the PMship on najib. We expected the MACC to charge Hee Yit Foong with receiving bribery & to go after her payor... but no, we must stop having expectations.

We probably have to consider, from now onwards, some of us are so disillusioned, we shld let this bodohland descent to hell. After all, around 50% of voters still prefer this path. To each man his own from now on.
written by miwaki, May 22, 2009 20:18:19
" Lan chiau" punya verdict,but what can we do when we are living in a third world country. Just look at Muhyiddin and Zambry faces,don't you think both them should go for a facial treatment ? Their faces are so dull without shines.
written by ceong2000, May 22, 2009 20:29:24
It is better tha tthe court change its name to "MONEY court" so that people will never be able to predict.So shame only and let the world see what type of F**king court we have here.Now do the talk go back and dissolved the assembly and see who support to be the MB ask the Perakian to give you a chance to served them.Please beg and beg or throw some money there.You will then be the MB again...Starting dreaming and the most you will have is 3 years if you don't dissolved it.Make Perakian angry by you and Najis.Go fly kite....
written by Sudahlah tu, May 22, 2009 21:53:22
berakhirnya rahman ..
maka bererti Malaysia akan bebas selepas ini ........
berakhirnya rahman ..
maka maruah bangsa melayu tidak lagi digadaikan tanpa pengetahuan......
berakhirnya rahman ..
generasi muda Malayisa akan dapat menikmati ertu kemerdekaan negara .......
berakhirnya rahman ..
maka berakhirlah kezaliman umno yang tidak berperikemanusiaan langsung ......
berakhirnya rahman ..
maka kesucian Islam dapat dibela dan diikuti oleh umat Allah dengan tenang dan sabar.......
written by apa jadi, May 22, 2009 22:20:17
Zambry, declared the WWF champion.
written by mypanida, May 22, 2009 23:05:45
it is not eveh 2-1

it is 3-0

IT JUST MEANT, FCUK YOU, MALAYSIANS...
written by asguard, May 22, 2009 23:31:41
We... knew it.. verdict will be favour of barang naik... what else to say..!
written by kavidibaku, May 23, 2009 06:19:09
Dah agak dah.