Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The name don’t maketh the man

The name don’t maketh the man PDF Print
Tuesday, 19 May 2009 04:12

The Muslim sense of values is totally warped. If you eat pork or drink liquor or gamble, at least you are doing it with your own money. But corruption and fraud involves other people’s money, in most cases the taxpayers’ money. So this makes it an even bigger sin.

Civil Defence director charged with falsifying documents
By EMBUN MAJID, The Star

ALOR SETAR: Kedah Civil Defence Department director pleaded not guilty to two counts of falsifying documents at a Sessions Court here. Mohamad Abdullah, 49, was charged with falsifying two documents on Jun 26 and July 28, both in 2005 at his office at Wisma Persekutuan building here.

In the first charge, Mohamad was alleged to have falsified a document by endorsing that Mohd Roshid Hussain had supplied food for a group of 70 people for the Civil Defence Training Programme at Unit Giat Mara Sungai Tiang on March 17, 18, 19 and 20, 2005 although there was no such supply during the said period.

In the second charge, Mohamad was alleged to have falsified a document on July 28, 2005, by endorsing that Mohd Roshid had supplied food for a group of 80 people for the department Intensive Training Programme at Unit Giat Mara Sungai on May 19, 20 and 21, 2005, although there was no such supply during the three days.

The charge sheet, however, did not state the amount of money involved.

Mohamad faced both charges under Section 11(c) of the Anti Corruption Act 1997 that carries a maximum imprisonment for a term of not less than six months and not more than twenty years; and a fine of not less than five times the sum or value of the gratification which is the subject matter of the offence where such gratification is capable of being valued or is of a pecuniary nature, or ten thousand ringgit, whichever is the higher.

In the same court, Mohd Roshid, 32, claimed trial with abetting Mohamad to falsify the two documents. He was also charged under Section 11(c) of the same Act.

Judge Norsharidah Awang set bail RM10,000 in one surety for each offences to Mohamad and Mohd Roshid and fixed July 8 for hearing.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Fieza Fazlin Fandi prosecuted the case while counsel Shariff Matt represented the two accused.

Would you name your son Jesus the servant of God? And if you would, would you expect him to grow up into a righteous and god-fearing man rather than a corrupted scoundrel? I suppose parents who name their son Mohamad the servant of God would expect no less from their son, as would parents who name their son Jesus the servant of God. But this did not quite work out for the parents of Mohamad Abdullah who now faces two charges of swindling. Yes, in case you have not figured it out by now, Abdullah translates to the servant of Allah (some would say the slave of Allah). So Mohamad Abdullah, which is also the name of the Prophet of Islam, translates to Mohamad the servant of Allah.

And how would one who is named after Islam’s Prophet, with the servant of Allah added to his name, be expected to conduct himself? Considering Mohamad is a public servant, in China he would be put to death with a bullet in the head. And, to add insult to injury, the cost of the bullet would be charged to the family. But sadly, this is not the case in Malaysia. In fact, he would not even lose his limb, as the proponents of the Islamic law of Hudud would like to see. Instead, he would probably beat the rap because the normally smart lawyer would in most cases run rings around the nincompoop prosecutor and the irritated judge would find the accused not guilty out of sheer disgust for the incompetence of the prosecutor.

Yes, names do not maketh the man. How many with names like Isa (Jesus), Musa (Moses), Yusof (Joseph), Sulaiman (Solomon), Ibrahim (Abraham), etc., have been dragged to court for criminal breach of trust, corruption, fraud and whatnot? Some of the worst scams to appear before us have been perpetuated by those who carry the names of the revered Prophets of Islam. Maybe it is time the government banned the usage of names from the Quran. It just makes a mockery of those noble names when people who carry those names act less than noble.

At least people like Mahathir, Najib, Muhyiddin, Khairy, Hishammuddin, Khir, and so on can be excused. Their names are not names of the Prophets of Islam. But when you have people with two Muhammad’s in their name or people with names like Mohamad the servant of Allah, then the expectations would be very high indeed. We do not expect them to be cheats and swindlers.

Why is it that people who carry the names of the revered Prophets would shun pork and steer clear of liquor and despise gambling but would never hesitate to fill their stomachs with money earned the not kosher way? Is money earned through corruption and fraud any less haram than pork, liquor or gambling? It is like saying that raping a girl is okay as long as you don’t rape a boy. Same gender sex is haram. So raping a boy is a huge no-no. But raping a girl is tolerable.

Rape is rape whether you raped your pet dog or the neighbour’s donkey. Haram is definitely haram and there are no two ways about it. And it does not matter whether it is pork, liquor, gambling or money you obtained through corrupt and fraudulent ways. One is not less haram than the other.

The Muslim sense of values is totally warped. If you eat pork or drink liquor or gamble, at least you are doing it with your own money. But corruption and fraud involves other people’s money, in most cases the taxpayers’ money. So this makes it an even bigger sin. Why can’t Muslims see that a person who eats pork or drinks liquor or gambles is not harming anyone other than himself -- okay, maybe his family as well if he does all this in excess and it affects the family (for that matter, even excess ice cream or an overdose of multivitamins are bad for you). But when you cheat the taxpayers you are hurting 27 million Malaysians who that money belongs to.

My Tok Guru told me, when you sin against God, then it is up to God to forgive you. But when you sin against humankind, then God can’t forgive you. You must first beg for forgiveness from all those you have sinned against and only when they have all forgiven you will God forgive you.

Well, this is what my Tok Guru told me. But can you imagine seeking out 27 million Malaysians, one by one, and personally begging for their forgiveness? How would this be possible? I mean, how long will it take you to personally meet 27 million people, one by one?

In short, you are doomed. There is no way this can be done, or done in the time frame you would like to see it done. Give me a pork-eating, liquor-drinking, gambling man one who has not sinned against fellowman any time. That man has a better chance of being forgiven for his sins than a corrupted swindler of taxpayers’ money.

And don’t try to impress me with the names of the revered Prophets because the name does not maketh the man. Some of the worst scoundrels walking the face of this earth are named after the revered Prophets of Islam.

Comments (83)Add Comment
written by JinJangJoe, May 19, 2009 05:08:01
Of all the names you stated above, YM ,you missed out one name. I like the name, "NAJIS". And he act and behave perfectly befitting his name. Bravo NAJIS....
Where is our RM500,000.00? That is rakyaat's money. Give it back, you shit...head. 1malaysia...konon. Dare ask forgiveness from 27 million people? But you can make 3 frogs jump...Ptuiii....

agree 271
written by Ramesh, May 19, 2009 05:18:19
This is not exclusive to muslims alone, it happens in all organised religion and communities in general. People are people, some are good and some are bad based on solicially accpeted norms of the society. Name has nothing to do with how people behave, most of tamil names are religiuos and not all of us are god fearing people either. Rape 10,000 years ago may be an acceptable norm, 20 years ago slaughtering a goat in a temple may be acceptabel, 20 years ago wearing a see thru baju kebaya may be acppeble, but now it may not be anymore. Some people may be really confused in which century or millenium they are living....pre-Islam, pre hindu, pre-christinity etc that's all. That's the reson we have laws and PDRM, hahahah...
agree 141
written by drabdulwahid, May 19, 2009 06:17:04
thank you for the reminder bro. Tazkirah di pagi hari.
written by NSTPravda, May 19, 2009 06:45:31
"In short, you are doomed. There is no way this can be done, or done in the time frame you would like to see it done."

Perhaps, this 2XMohammed guy also came to the same realization...

To hell with hereafter, plunder now
The 27 millions are all cash cows
After all who cares what happens after today
All he wants is that his "now" be semua-nya OK!

Rasuah saya sayang eh!!!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Tompios, May 19, 2009 06:58:46

Good article! Well, yang salah tetap salah dan yang haram tetap haram! buat benda haram itu kerja yang paling mudah dilakukan oleh manusia yang mempunyai bayangan nama Arab seperti Abdullah dan Muhammad.

The westerners only know wrong and right things. The easterners in general based on "malu"! Wahai manusia2 yang mempunyai Abdullah dan Muhammad dan nama2 heroin dalam Quran--berhati2 di jalanraya. Namamu adalah juga karaktermu! Jangan disongsangkan!

written by bambolero, May 19, 2009 07:22:04
What a shame people having the name of Muhammad named after the prophet comitting sins and being corrupted, May Allah have mercy on their soul's Ameen !!!
written by talk2stop, May 19, 2009 07:29:44
"Considering Mohamad is a public servant, in China he would be put to death with a bullet in the head. And, to add insult to injury, the cost of the bullet would be charged to the family."
RPK, I yet to finish your article but I need to point out China is not too far from Malaysia on corruption may be worse. Believe me. It is a country who you know not what you know.
I feel better now to continue reading.
disagree 18
written by Pakyeh, May 19, 2009 07:32:54
There's plenty of "Devils in disguise". The best disguise is actually as an Ulama and a politician.
Read more "Satan,Ulama,Hadis and ISA" at ..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by GobloGadhero, May 19, 2009 07:52:02
Boss,

I agree that it would be nearly impossible to seek forgiveness from 27 million malaysians and say about 3 million illegals whose monies are also in the system.

I would be glad that if these certain persons took out an ad in the papers and announced that they have erred and now would like to come clean. That is an act of the highest courage: to admit a mistake and seek to come out clean.

Would anyone do this?
written by Sudahlah tu, May 19, 2009 07:53:58
tamak menjadi pedoman hidup binatang umno yang kini memperkosakan maruah bangsa melayu hingga hilang nilai keimanan .....
manusia ciptaan Allah yang rela mengikut cara syaitan bermaharajalela di bumi umat Allah dengan maksiat - maksiat haram ....... inilah binatang umno yang diagungkan oleh bangsa melayu....
ke mana pergi keimanan Islam yang kita nampak diwajibkan oleh umatNya 5 kali sehari itu ?
mungkin mereka ini cuma hendak menutup dosa mereka agar manusia tidak tahu ...
apa yang penting sekarang adalah Allah mengetahui segalanya ....
segala kejadian malapetaka di dunia sekarang adalah amaranNya terhadap mereka yang berdosa dan masih degil berpegang kepada kezaliman syaitan.
Harap umat-umat Allah akan sedar kekuatanNya dan bertaubat daripada berasuah dan berzina ....
Bangun umat Islam ....
written by Mama Juwie, May 19, 2009 07:55:49
"At least people like Mahathir, Najib, Muhyiddin, Khairy, Hishammuddin, Khir, and so on can be excused."

Khairy & Khir, both resemble the Arabic root word 'khair' which means good or goodness. Khairy, with an added letter 'ya' behind khair means my goodness.

My goodness??!!!
written by gctham, May 19, 2009 08:04:23
My Buddhist guru also taught me that corruption or using public fund will be condemn to the hell of no return. What it mean is that you will go round and round the same hell until all the people who has suffered as a result of your corrupt practices that have deprive them the benefits has been repaid.

Yes as what Raja say it was almost impossible to repay back all 27 million people not to say some of them you not even have the chance to meet them.
written by Franky, May 19, 2009 08:11:51
The 1st comment stated a wrong figure, it should be RM 500,000,000-00 ( Five Hundred Millions ).
written by opisboi, May 19, 2009 08:14:14
all those sialman can say sorry? they only can say money..money.. smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, May 19, 2009 08:24:35
Nor all the pious words from men whose reputations are in tatters move those of us who pride ourselves to be critical and rational thinkers.
They who speak with forked tongues even if they hold the highest offices of the land will be looked upon with disdain.
written by Fairminded, May 19, 2009 08:25:55
Dear Talk2stop,unfortunately I disagree with you. In the first place the debate is about Malaysia, nothing to do with China. In the second place, have you lived and worked in China? I have and is still working in China for the past 10 years to date. Your knowledge of China is rather fed by the western press. Yes, there is corruption in China but so is there in USA. Connections too is needed and so is everywhere the old boys network works wonders. As for shooting Muslims for being muslims - it is propaganda of Muslim extremists and terrorists out to destroy the harmony of the society. For your information there are more muslims in whole of China than the sum total of all the muslims in the Arabia peninsula. They are treated just like Buddhistsm Christians, Taoist and whatever creed or cult one follows. Only the muslim extremists who go around planting bombs and instigation the breakup to the country are jailed, and if they had murdered or bombed others - shot. So please come and see for yourself and dont let the Muslim extremists all over the world to brainwash you into having the persecuted mentality.
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 19, 2009 08:30:41
I got a friend who married a Chinese in Sabah. When he first met his girlfriend (now his wife), he is a Muslim and she was not. The differences in believed don’t mean we can’t make friend (30% my friends are non Muslim), build a relationship, and in the end becomes a family. ……After attended the lectures, he accompanied her girlfriend to a restaurant during ‘Puasa’ month because she haven’t takes any breakfast that morning……She orders Fried Mee (with pork) and drinks coca cola while he just sitting there talking like’s nothing happened ……..Two years after graduation, she convert to Muslim and they both get married……. They got bright children and seem lived happily all these while…… I got to know this persons who used to received a lot of hampers (send to his house by the businessman) during ‘Puasa’ and even before’ Hari Raya Aidil Adha’…….Admittedly they are well off even though he is not a graduated professionals or businessman…..Once his big beautiful houses was burned to the ground while he and his family was away doing a ‘Hajj’ in Mecca. The Police and the Fire Department found out that it was caused by short circuit even though no body was around when the fire started……..May this is coincidence…….or may be there is ‘Act Of God’ ……….”Fikir-fikirlah”
disagree 19
written by malaysianohope, May 19, 2009 08:34:19
Going by what you said about the these scumbags basically Umno members who are corrupted to the core they should then change their name to Sinful Bin Umno. At least when their name are mentioned people will know what to do to avoid them with a ten foot pole. By being corrupted is the Standard Operating Instruction of Umno people as if they feel entitled to the Rakyat's freebees without lifting a finger. And the biggest culprit is the Pee M & his cohorts. So pissed after reading your article that I don't feel like working knowing that my taxed money is going to these scums.
written by Kaboda, May 19, 2009 08:46:40
Now a days what society shuns is drugs, porn, prostitution, and (not behind the scenes ) eating pork or gambling.
We look up to / wow / admire those that drive the ferrari's, own the big houses in Damansara heights. We don't know and care how they garnered their wealth through ill gotten gains or maybe respectful methods. But MORE is always better right ?

This is simply the greed in humans, we are born and taught that more is better. To enrich ourselves as much as possible to our final breath.

Greed is the sin the breads corruption and like RPK you mentioned is a worse sin than pork, gambling etc.

But its not just a single relgion or race everyone suffers from greed.
Being generous and helping the fellow man is soon becoming novelty now a days.
written by teo siew chin, May 19, 2009 08:52:49
soooo....does your name maketh you? smilies/wink.gif
it can be said you are rock-hard, solid, unmoving in your principles of goodness and justice.
and i guess you can also rock-n-roll if need be smilies/grin.gif
dont you wish you can occasionally head-butt some of those politicians with that rock-head of yours?

i say, hows about all who enter politics must forsake all worldly goods and desires and take a vow of poverty ? that way for sure the politician will serve only the rakyat and the nation or else they dont get fed.
written by Liberace, May 19, 2009 08:55:04
Er...., what's with the Jewish names?
written by Taikohtai, May 19, 2009 08:58:04
The Muslim sense of values is totally warped

Of the 27 million,
30% are of other faith, so not counted.
30% not praying 5 x a day, so can be left out.
10% not wearing tudung, so bye-bye.
10% no zakat, so why bother
10% no puasa properly, so why share?
5% not real Sunnis, so tak kira
5% just like me! So everything hunky dory!!
written by JohnQ, May 19, 2009 08:58:20
GOSH ! Those guys need to pray 18 times a day to UNSIN the bigger sins... no more time for sex, legally or illegally ! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Hope4all, May 19, 2009 09:33:39
We pray and pray and pray and yet we go back to our sinful ways. It's the same for all religions.

We forgot the keimanan and the keehsanan parts of our religion. All the 4 kitabs from Allah, God, Yahweh, Tuhan are consistent with this.

Instead, we chose to pray and pray and pray because this is the easiest part in the religion! And if people question our sinful ways, we will use religion to instigate riots so that our fallacies are preserved! Ini punya manusia!
written by hellosunshine, May 19, 2009 09:43:33
What? BN sinners had better repent and seek forgiveness from the rakyat because their judgment day is at hand? Yeah, when pigs fly. Oh! Swine flu (flew) already? smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Roseminah, May 19, 2009 09:55:15

(NAJIB, YOU AND YOUR GANG , RATHER THAN MURDERING , TORTURING AND PLUNDERING HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS, YOU SHOULD HAVE BEEN DOING THESE BELOW. THE LOT OF YOU ARE MAGGOTS LIVING ON RAKYAT)

IF I WERE PM- A MALAY FEMALE PM

AND I AM SURE THE WOMEN AND MEN OF MALAYSIA WILL SUPPORT ME, THESE ARE MY FIRST POLICIES TO BE BROADCAST LIVE TO THE NATION WITHIN 7 DAYS -to start healing Malaysia

Hold an open truth commission for 12 hours a day for one year, open to ANYONE in a huge dewan- to expose the poisonous corruption, killings and tortures on rakyat. Those willing to open their mouths will escape jail or execution but will have their assets and money taken back. The yet-to-be exposed obscenities of Barisan and gomen officials when exposed will absolutely frighten Malaysia. So far, rakyat have not really seen or known about the terrible secret obscenities .
Financial payments ( ex-gratia, is it the right word?) up to 100,000rm each ,to relatives and victims who have suffered killings,tortures and wrongful imprisonments( ISA) IN THE HANDS OF POLICE, WITHIN THE LAST 10 YEARS. In a huge dewan, I will personally meet all the victims and relatives and apologise to them on behalf of all Malaysian races. Included are those who died or suffered in the national service training.
I will personally meet every needy group such as Hindraf, Bersih, workers union, Dayaks, Dusuns, Kadazans, from the poor and sick within 12 months.
All Policies of previous gomen will be reviewed AT GREAT SPEED to improve the lives of all races as a whole.
Within 6 months, I will bring up the poor from all races at a phenomenal speed with education, health, housing and community services and land rights.
I will face a national press conference one hour EVERY WEEK by facing any questions, even sensitive ones, from rakyat, local and foreign press. And give a monthly report on national TV and radio.
Force ministers and Chief Ministers to hold open press conference every week. No holds bar. And deal with problems that are brought up.
Promise to give away at least free10,000 low cost houses, units in the first year to poor people from any race. THE FIRST ONES TO BE GIVEN AWAY WITHIN A MONTH. Up to 100,000 units may be given free each year for the first 5 years. No coffee money to datuks or middleman to take place. Any corrupt dealings will end with a one month jail, 1million Rm fine for each case.
I will pour in extra 10 billion (i.e. 10,000 millionRm) into heath care and reduce price of medicine and enable rakyat to quickly get treated within 12 months. All gomen hospitals have one class beds only- no first, second or third class beds. The Agong, minister, road sweeper, toilet cleaner, all have the same class beds on a first come basis. All get the same care.
10 Billion will be put aside for rural areas for electricity, sewage, water connections within 3 years.
2 Billion for flood controls over 2 years.
Takeover of all road tolls and cancelling them. No more road tolls.
Within one month, I will bring down crime rate at an unprecedented rate with the arrest and seizures of assets of drug lords, crime figures and also gomen MPs and police chiefs who have,( common knowledge to rakyat) been sleeping with the criminals.

I will give 4 grants of 10 million rm each, to start a non-gomen Malay, Indian, Chinese and English newspaper. All press given complete freedom to report any obscenity, corruption past and present.
Rewards from between 10,000Rm to 1 millionRm to anyone who reports big corruptions which are real.
All gomen contracts are open to tender only, like in Singapore.
Reduction of the obscene pensions given to those at the top and the money allocated for the poor and sick.
To educate rakyat quickly-Build 2 public libraries in every state with at least 10 free internet access in each. There will be at least 4 public libraries(free membership) in each state within 3 years.

Freeze the assets of every minister and official during the past 10 years. That means they cannot sell them or dispose any. International banks will be forced to disclose the monies of suspect Malaysians.
Employ foreign auditors to work in the IRS to search out the billions in unpaid taxes from the corrupted ones.
Known big time corrupted Malaysians will receive a compulsory 3 months jail without trial until all information is extracted from them.
Annual Salary of PM and Ministers increased. PM 10million, Ministers 6 million, CM 6 million.
No MP and family allowed to have gomen business dealings. Otherwise sacked , jailed and assets seized.
Under Barisan, each year, at least 50 billion Rm go illegally into the pockets of those in power, the sultans, their families and friends. I want to stop all that and allocate that obscene amount fairly to the rakyat instead.

My government will run similarly to Singapore was run in the early years- military style -to ensure strict conformity.
written by Admiral Tojo, May 19, 2009 09:57:58
Again I reiterate, with or without religion, good people will be doing good deeds and bad people will be doing bad deeds. However it takes religio for godd people to be doing bad deeds.

This Muhammad Abdullah has got his brains in his arse and most probably have lost his ability to implore, reflect and analyse, due to long term indoctrination of disbelieve, of the Arab Religion.

written by Roseminah, May 19, 2009 09:58:37
You are right, ‘THE NAME DOESN’T MAKETH A MAN’

AGONG MIZAN SHIELDING MURDERERS NAJIB AND ROSMAH

Our closest neighbours, Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia must be shaking their heads in shock at the utter ruin the corruption and obscenities that breed in the whole gomen system.
If Agong and sultans do not know what is going on, then they must be sitting on their own lumps of shit till now because they cannot see or smell the shit around them, of Barisan MPs, officials and gomen workers.
I think, they do know because they take part in the obscenities, part and parcel of the whole rotten system so much so that they pretend not to know about the murder of Altantuya by Najib and the multi million swindling.
The Agong and sultans are supposed to be keeping a CHECK on Barisan to keep honest but they themselves join in the obscenities- stealing hundreds of billions, election fraud, killings, tortures, kidnapping.
The country is slowing cracking up. There are so many more and more decent people turning to all sorts of crime by following you people.
Agong is definitely the one to be able to do something but he is tied up too closely to Barisan and its obscenities that he just cannot betray the MAFIA and suffer repercussions or he is a mat sentul dressed in invisible regal clothes with an IQ of minus 69.
You stupid, senseless Agong,
I will tell you what I would do, if I am Agong, to start healing the nation............................
I will ignore my pompous regal clothes and go on a live broadcast on national TV and radio for half hour, with a songkok, white shirt and pants and tell the whole nation, basically these things:
..........Malaysia is falling over a cliff. It is being governed by robbers, thieves, murderers, torturers, kidnappers. We have a solemn duty to change direction immediately or rakyat will suffer and rise in hunger and anger. Chaos will be spreading further and this has to stop. For a start, Mr Najib Razak, will have to face the charge of murdering the Mongolian Shariibuu Altantuya and swindling of hundreds of millions in the arms deal.
Barisan has failed terribly in its duty to rule with fairness and compassion. With utmost urgency, I am ordering the sacking of the Federal Barisan gomen as from this moment. To fill the vacumn, I give authority to Mr Anwar Ibrahim to be the caretaker PM and a member from PAS PARTY as his deputy until the federal election and all state elections which will be held in 4 weeks...................

Useless Agong Mizan, you are sheltering murderers Najib and Rosmah in exchange for money, assets and your position in royalty
written by ATSaari, May 19, 2009 10:01:20
Pete:
I like the abrreviated version of names and initials.
When I first heard of RPK, I thought your initial stands for some kind of ammunition or something. RPK,'Rocket Propelled Kalashnikov' or 'Rocket Propelled Ketamin' or maybe 'Rocket Propelled Kent*t'......just joking!!! you're good bro.
Lets look at some of the famous shotname and initials;
Dr.M - sound like some evil character fit for a James Bond movie
KuLi - forever laboring himself for a better Malaysia but highly disregard by the power-that-be
KJ - just like some US rapper. Blabbering about but most of the time with empty rhetoric. But they usually got paid well.
PakLah - what can I say...just like PakLah, casual, cool, very Kampung-like demeanour, humble and very down to earth. But bomohs too are name like this.
JJ - good initial but does not guarantee good behaviour. The letter 'J' can be quickly identified as 'Jalang'. Double 'J' will sure stand for 'Jantan Jalang'. I have a friend with a 'JJ' initial, same character, what to do, a very fondlely person though. smilies/grin.gif
DSAI - sound like a dept. initial. Department of Science And Innovation. And mind you, he can be very creative and innovative at time, although it backfire sometime.
KitSiang - disregard how it is spelled it will sound like some Western hero. Kidd Carson, Kidd Joe, Kidd Rock, New Block on the Kidd...hah! Good man this one, one national hero. And last but not least......
Nazak - Najib Razak. This one really underline the state of affair of our country now and the future of it's people. 'Nazak', the dying moment for UMNO, BN and Malaysia too, unless we act fast to remove this cancerous disease.

written by chronos, May 19, 2009 10:01:32
The prosecutors we have is like 'an Artritic trying to catch a mouse in a small room'.
The only punishment fit for the robbers of the Malaysian coffer is to 'let them kneel in a row with their cronies, their hands handcuffed in a public place, say the local Mall, where the public can 'spit' at them. 14 hours a day, one week at one shopping Mall to another until they cover the whole of Malaysia. That, I feel is the only punishment that best fit these corrupted 'bafasterfed'.
written by JohnQ, May 19, 2009 10:13:43
IF you done heart surgery aboard instead of IJN at tax payer expenses, you are not paying for your SINS !!!!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by wongnoball, May 19, 2009 10:23:01

I heard there is a biggest scandal brewing in Port Klang. The money involved is more than 10 billions. May be it is time for you to write about the stories of these corrupted MCA chinamen. I hope you can spare this type of kachang puteh scandal for the time being.
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by AlwaysFair, May 19, 2009 10:56:42
RPK again you hit the nail on the head!! Why got so few honest Malay like you?
Very good and honest article!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by AlwaysFair, May 19, 2009 11:02:54
"But when you have people with two Muhammad’s in their name or people with names like Mohamad the servant of Allah, then the expectations would be very high indeed. We do not expect them to be cheats and swindlers."

The expectations of the parents were very high indeed, but unfortunately the name does not make the man. The man when born as a baby have this potential to be Allah's servant unfortunately due to temptations of $$$$$ they gradually got seduced and become Satan's servants. HAPPY WRITING!!!
written by adan, May 19, 2009 11:14:22
Dear RPK

Good people tend to view All CORRUPTED ONES (irrespective of race and religion) NOT JUST as SCOUNDRELS but ,WORSE STILL, AS SCAVENGERS. These are the shameless scums who LIVE on the toil,sweat and tears of the poor and powerless rakyat.

How many COMMON PEOPLE are forced to live below poverty line just to maintain the RICH -AND FAMOUS - LIFE STYLE of these blood-sucking PARASITES.

How does one respect the CORRUPTED VIPS when they continue live on the CHARITY of the struggling poor !!!
written by arazak, May 19, 2009 11:41:42

Recently, I have posted a comment stating that the top 10 least corrupted countries in the Corruption Perception Index (CPI) list are non-Muslim countries. They are such countries as Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, etc. Even our neighbor, Singapore who iare being governed by mainly non-Muslims, ranks better than Malaysia that has mostly Muslims leaders in at the helm. And mind you, these non-Muslims leaders in countries which are the least corrupted eat pork and drink liquor while our Muslim UMNO/ BN regime leaders shunned pork (as for liquor, I can’t say weather they shunned it or not! ).

This table give you some idea the status of Malaysia among other countries

Transparency International CPI: -
RankCountryIndex 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 20032002
1 Denmark 9.39.49.59.59.59.59.5
1 New Zealand 9.39.49.69.69.59.59.4
1 Sweden 9.39.39.29.29.39.39.0
4 Singapore 9.29.39.29.39.49.49.4
5 Finland 9.09.49.69.69.79.79.9
5 Switzerland 9.09.09.19.18.88.58.4
7 Iceland 8.99.29.69.79.69.49.2
7 Netherlands 8.99.08.78.68.99.08.8
9 Australia 8.78.68.78.88.88.68.5
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

47 Cape Verde 5.14.9
47 Costa Rica 5.15.04.14.24.94.34.5
47 Hungary 5.15.35.25.04.84.84.9
47 Jordan 5.14.75.35.75.34.64.5
47 Malaysia 5.15.15.05.15.05.24.9
52 Latvia 5.04.84.74.24.03.83.7
52 Slovakia 5.04.96.46.14.03.73.7

(Source: Transparency International Corruption Perception Index http://www.transparency.org/po...ndices/cpi)

CONCLUSION: For these UMNO leaders, “makan rasuah” taste better than “makan babi”!
written by Conan Chung, May 19, 2009 11:55:06

I absolutely agree with your article and that a name does not maketh a man. Which comes back to a very important question; what is a name?

A name is something to call someone by; it differentiates the said-person from the rest of the pack. Most of the time, people give their sons "great" names so that they could follow on the footsteps of those "great" people. Hell, sometimes we make great and interesting names for ourselves so as to appear "great". And most of the time, they do become someone "famous", but not for the reasons originally intended. The "copier" would never be famous for the same reasons as the "originator".

And another thing... if you think that corrupt people would suddenly realize the wrongs of their ways and cry as they read your article then your just dreaming.
When those people took their bribes or cheat taxpayers money in whatever way they can, they fully understood what they're doing is illegal, immoral and "haram". But they still do it anyway... because all they care about is appearance, the facade and not what inside. After all, what matters is not what inside but the outside. It is the outside that "other" people can see.

A typical "bad-guy" would think:-

Do I really care about going to heaven? Does it even exist? Or is it something "made-up" by humans to put people "in-line". Maybe those people believe that all talks of religion and what not is just a lie to make people behave the way other people wanted them. For those who do wrong, they know exactly what they are doing is not acceptable by other people. Still they do it; after all when it comes to personal interest vs the interest of other people, i would definitely take good care of my fat ass. Screw the other people, i will make my tummy bigger and phatter even if those around me die of hunger. I have done nothing wrong by playing by the laws of the jungle. Survival of the fittest. All else is food.
written by justinlian, May 19, 2009 12:13:42
Most people on earth have sins.
Sin cannot ask for forgiveness from God but from the person you have done wrong to.
The worse one is killing , the second one is to the people that cannot walk and talk. The third one is to the people that is Old and esp those are poor.The forth ones are those trade humans.
written by Taiping60, May 19, 2009 12:20:36
I have said many times before. Religion is a personal thing. It is between you and god. But if someone make it publicly, you should be suspicous of that person as he or she probably want to be seen religous but in actual fact is the reverse.

Anyway, you can say how good you are or deny what ever you want to deny. You may even escape from the law but you have to beat in mind, there is no escape when the judgement day come. So before you do any further wrong...think.
written by Raja Petra, May 19, 2009 12:21:56
Dear wongnoball, I already did, long before everyone brouhaha about the matter. In fact, at the time I revealed it, no one bothered about the issue.
written by Raja Petra, May 19, 2009 12:23:02
Dear Umar Rentaka, no I am not. You need someone to help translate what I wrote into bazaar Malay?
written by Jan, May 19, 2009 12:47:43
These people sinned because they know they will be forgiven if they perform a haj.
That's why many politicians go for haj every year as though they have sinned each and every year. This is of course self delusion, no god is that forgiving if you sin year in year out.
written by chiongguo, May 19, 2009 12:59:37
gctham wrote

My Buddhist guru also taught me that corruption or using public fund will be condemn to the hell of no return. What it mean is that you will go round and round the same hell until all the people who has suffered as a result of your corrupt practices that have deprive them the benefits has been repaid.

There is also the power of regret that diminishes the karmic consequences considerably. Regret often follows acceptance - a state of mind that slows down the fruition of karmic seeds.

I am not a sangha and what do I know. I only regurgitate from books smilies/grin.gif

written by Conan Chung, May 19, 2009 13:35:27
Dear Pete, in an unrelated note:-

I read the following from NST online 19th May with the heading:-

Raja Petra's son pleads guilty to theft charges
Raja Azman Raja Petra, a 32-year-old unemployed man, was charged at the magistrate's court here with stealing motorbikes, breaking into homes to steal items, and possessing stolen goods.

Is he really your son or is it the newspaper's attempt to confuse us and discredit your name? Please enlightened.
written by Conan Chung, May 19, 2009 13:40:29
Forget I even asked. It doesn't matter.
written by Sutha, May 19, 2009 13:50:46
Tongkat Pak Ali, I like your stupid story very much.

What is the moral to make out? Muslims should prohibit their girlfriends/boyfriends from consuming pork? Or should not sit talking with someone eating pork? Or marry someone who was eating pork when a muslim was sitting talking?

Good that you are not an Investigating Officer in the Jabatan Bomba.

I am getting to understand what RPK has been talking all these while about most malay muslims, especially the UmNo ones. In fact, Gambling is ok, Liquor is ok, Prostitute is ok, Corruption money is ok, but only pork is not ok?
written by sydput, May 19, 2009 14:21:51
you wrote the following :-
he would probably beat the rap because the normally smart lawyer would in most cases run rings around the nincompoop prosecutor and the irritated judge would find the accused not guilty out of sheer disgust for the incompetence of the prosecutor.

And forgot that prosecutors are also capable of pulling a fast one in the name of corruption. How many criminals were released due to prosecutors incompetence? It depends on how much money was paid to lose the case on purpose. Malay guy on drugs charge - RM60k. Chinese guy on lesser charges-maybe 10k. Due to this, police and prosecutors are now working hand-in-hand with criminals. Only those silly criminals who cannot or refuse to pay ends up in the slammer.
Malay muslim types will not eat pork, But will consume rare steaks oozing with blood without any thought what so ever. But eating blood is also haram, as well as rotten meat. Nowhere in the koran does it states that pork/pig is dirty. You are merely forbidden to eat it (flesh of swine).
written by cheemengwong, May 19, 2009 14:45:09
Good afternoon Pete,

I received a SMS from Star saying that your son Raja Azman 32 son of Raja Petra pleaded guilty to 4 charges of stealing motorbikes, house break ins and having stolen goods. Is this true?

If it is...I am not blaming you. I have a similar maladjusted son and is bringing me shame to me and my family.

At least we share similar predicaments. Adios.

written by Sparrow, May 19, 2009 14:48:52
You write and reason so well, RPK. Another very acceptable post ('acceptable' in the sense of the values presented - everything in the post made sense, and I accept it).

.... A friend asked me yesterday which party I supported: I told her I'd vote for whichever party RPK supported, 'because he tells the truth'. I just registered to vote this morning. Although I could have done so years ago, I never saw any reason to before now - and now the reason is that I know there's someone who's living his life to bring change to Malaysia, and because of him, I believe that change IS possible.

Keep going strong, RPK!
written by densemy, May 19, 2009 15:31:37
... and Shakespeare said: "a rose by any other name would smell the same"

I think William had a much clearer understanding of what is right and wrong than most of those sanctimonious hypocritical muslims who loudly announce to the world that they are holier than holier... while at the same time lying, cheating and scheming to feather their own nest

There are too many muslims that will turn a blind eye to what is rotten about muslim malaysia and only one man who has the courage to speak out.

... and amongst the 'too many' are the leaders of Islam in this country... whoever they might be
written by densemy, May 19, 2009 15:34:05
Sparrow... that's a sad but true fact.

Sad that you have to rely on the recommendation of RPK ( or anyone else)

... and even sadder that you dont have access to the information and the ABILITY to make up your own mind
written by DontPlayGod, May 19, 2009 15:45:14
Well, as far as names or slogans(also names) are concerned, it is important to UMNO. Now UMNO has been playing with slogans/names for decades, we know all that is just plain rubbish meant to hoodwink the rakyat, and I feel sad to say that the rakyak has been conned by such slogans/name-calling all this while

Now the latest slogan by UMNO is the 1Malaysia slogan, another name-calling. After decades of turning the Malays into racists with their racist ideology, suddenly, Najib expects to turn around the Malay thinking and tells them it is o.k. to be 1Malaysia. If Najib is really sincere, what about BTN? Is BTN still in the prime minister's department doing its evil deeds and spreading racist supremacy ideology for UMNO? So Najib, if you are sincere about 1Malaysia, the first thing you should do is to fire the BTN. No, I don't think you are going to do that, so please shut up on your 1Malaysia slogan.
written by Orang Muda, May 19, 2009 15:51:36
"THE NAME DON’T MAKETH THE MAN" - I think sometimes it does...

Just look at "Raja Petra". Peter means "Rock".

So that would means "the king of rocks". Look at how persistent and "stubborn" this man can be... smilies/grin.gif
written by Sparrow, May 19, 2009 15:58:54
Densemy: Truth be told, all this comes under the heading of 'politics' in my mind - where everyone writes different stuff, and only the insiders know the truth, it seems. The newspapers can't write freely because they have stuff to lose (unlike RPK, who can speak his mind 'cos he doesn't need a publishing license for this blog - but hmmm, he's already put a lot of his life on the line for this blog, and for that too, he has my support). Regarding access to information - we do have that, fortunately, with the internet - and I believe it's all here on malaysia today - everything you need to know to make up your mind :-)

What it boils down to is a matter of trust - I've not met the blogger himself, but his writing has gained my trust, which is more than I can say for the government, the newspapers, or any of the political parties (which after all, are made of a motley of people). ;-)
written by junjun40, May 19, 2009 16:51:22
RPK Sir,

The following headline appear in the The Star online 15 minutes ago. Is it true?

SHAH ALAM: Raja Azman Raja Petra, the 32-year-old son of Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin, pleaded guilty at the Magistrates Court here to four counts of stealing motorbikes, house break-ins and possessing stolen goods.
written by lampard, May 19, 2009 17:09:56
Raja Petra Kamaruddin,

There must be something damn right about you. It has to be the French and Malay genetic combination. I read this article and I cannot deny but to say I agree with you solidly 100%.

And if you were born 500 years ago, you woulod have been cleverly a prophet yourself and I will definitely embrace your religion and name me Raja Petra...

A smart man indeed!
written by densemy, May 19, 2009 17:15:24
Sparrow, as much as I admire and respect RPK, I do reserve the right not to follow blindly everything he has to say. He like every other Malaysian has a right to his own opinions which he develops from his own research and experience. Likewise you and I have that right

I would contend that you do not have access to the information you need to make reasoned decisions... for example you really dont have clearly stated the long term platform for either BN or PKR. How then can you make an assesment other than by their short term behaviours

It sometimes appears to me that Malaysians cannot have long term philosophies for two reasons... they are incapable of making long term plans and if they were capable they are incapable of sticking to them. They love to be irrational and impulsive.

One of my first impressions about Malaysia was that nobody trust anybody, so its heartening to hear you say you put your complete trust in RPK to the extent that you would blindly follow him anywhere.

He's human, and I wouldnt
written by Arjuna, May 19, 2009 17:48:15
Please clarify the news today, is the guy Raja Azman, 32 really your son? Even if he is blame it on the poor economic situation of the country. If he is not your son please sue the papers as they are out to get you.
written by sampalee, May 19, 2009 18:03:55
When one ingest poison or haram food,one personal body is affected.With corruption,the poison of drugs,gambling,illicit sex is allowed to spread unchecked through every fabirc of society with the final act of the nation's death.Non-muslim and even the atheist are non issue.Itis the munafiq that are the real threat.Lets face up to the munafiq esp those in umno and fear no more the evil that come sugar coated[licensed] as in genting,sports toto,bid sweep,magnum and the slot machines in your neighbourhood clubs.
written by apa jadi, May 19, 2009 18:22:17
For those commenting on RPK's son, I hope you hold your comments first before RPK gives his side of the story.

My take is on the conspiracy theory. Remember RPK was pre-empting that someone was trying on his immediate family members in one of his article. Walla! we have his son "caught breaking-in". My take is he cannot get the father, go for the son/daughter.
written by areenna, May 19, 2009 18:22:39
written by Roseminah
AGONG MIZAN SHIELDING MURDERERS NAJIB AND ROSMAH

Useless Agong Mizan, you are sheltering murderers Najib and Rosmah in exchange for money, assets and your position in royalty

That was too easy, is it? To blame others but not ourselves. Let's make ourselves at peace and comfortable by simply blaming of what happened to Agung. Lets' blame the Agung for everything while we do nothing.
written by MalaysianFirst, May 19, 2009 18:27:08
Dear Densemy,
A measure of a person's integrity is the degree of respect AND trust that you or society bestows upon that person. That measure is often found in the person's deeds, that's why we usually say that it must be earned. There are people, present and past, who rightly earn our respect and trust. RPK is certainly one.

This world would be a sorry place, if indeed no man can be trusted.

written by chelly, May 19, 2009 19:01:58
dear sir,
name as anyone can well know is given with love and hope,the name is the cherish hope that the baby will grow up to be good person,any parent will vouch for that,but after the person reach twenty one or more we cant blame what the parents did when the person was born,at the most they will lament but they will never stop loving,a father and mother will only stop worrying about their kids when they themselves have stopped breathing,i guess the guy with the prophets name will have to bear the guilt himself.
written by miwaki, May 19, 2009 22:00:55
Initially these people have to enter the hell ( nowadays,they take the elavator )for a couple of million years to sample all the equipment specially reserved for them.
After that,they have to enter "hungry ghost world" where they have to deprive from foods and water for another few million years.After that,they have to be born as animal,some born as pigs because they are greedy and dirty while alive.

After being slaughtered by human for another few billion times,they will be born as poor and handicaped man for another few million times before they will be born as a normal man but very short and gat.ha ha ha..
written by ngtiewley, May 19, 2009 22:01:42
Well written and hope some of the UMNO morons will try and digest the contents. It will be good for the digestive system and less shit coming out not only from the back but from their mouth. Stay strong and motivated at all times. Cherio!
written by onnetline, May 19, 2009 22:12:14
Raja Petra,

You are right.
We do have a revered name, Musa but it is a slave dog of some corrupted Muslims in ARMNO ! !
written by astina, May 19, 2009 22:38:08
Pete ..wats this story about your sone being arrested for felony ??
is it true ?? smilies/angry.gif
written by Admiral Tojo, May 19, 2009 22:43:03
For those who are so excited about the star news, I must remind you the Abdul Razak has a son who is currently implicated in MURDER, Nazri Aziz'z son was allegedly involved in a murder case in Hartamas and some poor foreign worker had to take the blame for it. So fick the MSM.

written by astina, May 19, 2009 23:14:07
Mr Tojo

I dont give a damn on wat the umNO goons children do or have done ..both parents and childrens are the same ..but not Pete's ..
written by AlwaysFair, May 19, 2009 23:29:54
Yes, I just saw on TV3 the arrest of RPK's son. Dear RPK we are behind you and fully support you on this matter. Hope you train your son to be a good warrior for the future. Most of them start their career in prison.

Hope your son will be released soon!! If you can't get the father get the son.
Like LKS and LGE.
Barbee Negara!!!
written by cheekhiaw, May 19, 2009 23:55:34
The Tok Guru Maketh the Man

But the thieves' Tok Guru taught them that they have the special right to steal from the other 27 million people, and if any of the 27 million dares to complain they have the special right to whack or blow the hell out of them!

written by imanj, May 20, 2009 01:03:15

THE NAME DON"T MAKETH THE MAN

But the name certainly makes a 'name' for itself,from the smallest good deed to the largest cancerous sin..So having the sweetest and hoilest name to that of a unique,does not make sense name,most common,simplest or unattractive name,will make a mark for itself,famous in public and to the world,if the name of one comes with status and position,and will make a mark for itself,famous within the household if on isn't of status or position.

So therefore judge a person,not by name and religion,judge a person by the height of his/her responsiblity based by status,position,obligation and existance.For it is imparative and required by all persons to know the extend of their mere existance which carries the amount of responsibility to make the human race function in civilisation and society...!

I do think the simplest of things,bring about better solutions,and it the people who indulge in reality,to understand survival that are the better ones.

Thank you..

written by imanj, May 20, 2009 01:08:37
just to correct,
paragraph 1, 'within the household if one isn't of status or position'

Paragraph 3, 'I do think the simplest of things,bring about better solutions and it's the people who indulge in realities to understand survival,then they are the better ones.'

written by charcoy feng, May 20, 2009 03:11:17
Dear Abang Pete,

It's a known fact that majority of Malaysians are ignorant. You and the barisan rakyat bloggers have been instrumental in trying to change that fact. Only you guys know how difficult it is. Fair enough the internet doesn't reach most people but what about those who have the access??
Why can these goons read more and comment less. The PKFZ scandal involving the transport minister was revealed in detail by you. Same goes to whole lot of other scandals. No one even cared what you wrote about the PDRM with all the sworn afidavits. People were thinking you were running a sensational online tabloid. What the hell is this asking about your son? I only know you have daughters.

I salute the barisan rakyat bloggers in their crusade to educate the ignorant...

written by talk2stop, May 20, 2009 03:42:29
RPK is following the path of most politicians and activists. They are bread to serve the community and humanity but they fail in their own family. Life is very truth that you can't serve 2 masters.
written by A MI, May 20, 2009 05:01:09
written by charcoy feng, May 20, 2009 03:11:17
... What the hell is this asking about your son? I only know you have daughters.

I don't know how reliable wiki is but it lists
Raja Suraya
Raja Azman
Raja Shahril
Raja Azmir
Raja Sara
written by teo siew chin, May 20, 2009 08:42:12
I am now more supportive of Yang Mulia Raja Petra.
His personal pains do not in any way obstruct his unwavering cause to wipe out injustices and corruption so widespread in this country.
Who among us do not have relative(s) who are 'bad'?
Notice that YM RPK has never ever touch on the wayward children of the powers-that-be. For he most certainly will understand what an anguished father has to go through.
For the troubled child, that he admits his wrongful act and pleads guilty means he will submit to the punishment imposed on him. It is 2 plus-es for him (1) admit the crime (2) suffer the punishment.
How many 'criminals' get off scot-free and rub it in our faces by living the high-life? Ptui!
written by malaysianohope, May 20, 2009 08:54:53
We are part of the reason why Pete's son is now in trouble since they cannot get him they go for his under-belly. Have some understanding and give him a break to sort out his family's problem. I'm sure if you are in his shoes you would not want others to speculate. RPK has been there done that & be assured he will clear this up in no time. I hate you DOGS!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by Conan Chung, May 20, 2009 09:36:41
Yo, Everyone... I think we're not getting the point here... First, we talked about names and stuff and now, we're all over the news of Pete's son being charged with felony, break-in, theft, etc. But we seem to forget that's not the point of the article here...(go back to the title).

Like the article says: A name don't maketh a man. So let it up; if RPK wants to talk about his son, he WILL albeit in another article. If not, then LET IT GO. We should not concern ourselves with others but on RPK's teachings.
written by harmanamri, May 20, 2009 10:53:30
If I remember correctly from my Form 3 English teacher, the title should be:

THE NAME DOTH NOT MAKE THE MAN

or
THE NAME MAKETH NOT THE MAN
written by slash n burn, May 20, 2009 15:41:53
Zambry Bin Mandela Ghandhi.
The name don’t maketh the man indeed..