Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow HINDRAF calls for talks on Malaysian Indians' future with political parties

HINDRAF calls for talks on Malaysian Indians' future with political parties PDF Print
Saturday, 02 February 2008 15:22

HINDRAF has always maintained it's non-partisan stand and has always steered clear of party politics or align itself with any political party including the opposition

However HINDRAF cannot deny it has "Political Friends" both from within the ruling as well as opposition parties who have supported us in our cause for the protection of the ethnic minority Indian rights in Malaysia.

Hence taking into consideration of the upcoming general election, HINDRAF is now forced to advice the Malaysian Indians on "Whom to Vote".

HINDRAF calls upon the Indian community not to blindly assume that by voting for the opposition political party in the next upcoming General Elections would solve the problems of oppression, suppression, marginalization and permanent colonization of the ethnic Indian community.

HINDRAF urges the political parties to:

a) Be transparent, fair and equitable in the distribution of seats to the Indian candidates both Parliamentary as well as State seats.

b) Make their manifesto extremely clear as to their commitment for advocating and implementing Indian rights should they be elected to lead the next Government. The 18 Point Demands made and submitted by HINDRAF to the Prime Minister are crystal clear on the needs and thirst of the Indian community to undo 50 years of Political and Socio Economic violations of the UMNO led Malaysian Government. These points should be the paramount consideration in respect to the Indian needs.

I call upon the interested political parties to immediately engage in talks on the above two crucial aspects as soon as possible so that we can advice the Malaysian Indian community "Whom to Vote".

Malaysian Indians have been cheated in the political arena for 50 years by the UMNO led BARISAN Government. HINDRAF's leaders have made great sacrifices to relate this message to the Malaysian Indian community.

We will not betray the trust of Malaysian Indian community on HINDRAF'S leadership and will not advice the Malaysian Indians to place "a blind hope" on either BARISAN or the Opposition party unless we are satisfied the above two issues are adequately addressed.

HINDRAF is also happy to engage in dialogue with BARISAN subject to releasing the 5 HINDRAF leaders and accepting HINDRAF as a pressure group.

P.Waytha Moorthy

Chairman

HINDRAF

Currently in London

written by orangmsia, February 02, 2008 15:37:14
watch samy vellu comment on tenggaroh MP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3atg7bGgc7k
written by Mr Smith, February 02, 2008 15:37:21
Aiya, Mr Moorthy.
You want promises. Well BN can make 1000 promises today at the flick of a finger. They will even promises you heaven. So are you going to urge Indians to vote for BN?
Your vote must a protest vote - a protest against marginalization of the community for 50 years.
Read the newspapers and watch TRM - there are goodies galore everywhere. Money falling from the tress. Santa Claus is in town, can't you see. They are foolinf you with empty promises.
BN leaders are rubbing shoulders with Indians and kissing their babies.
Will your supporters vote BN after they have arrested 5 of you under ISA and charged almost 100 more for illegal assembly?
Teach MIC and BN a lesson. Vote Opposition and your community will get what it wants.
Vote on promises and you remain as you are - marginalized.

written by crazy, February 02, 2008 15:37:36
when you have indians who will sell their votes for 50 ringgit.Its going to be a tough call.The indians down the social order are easy to convenience and BN is going for such voters.
written by aryn, February 02, 2008 16:09:05
Oh pleasesssss...lah Moorty. Don't prostitute the Indian votes. You and the Indian community should by now know who to vote. If you are still blank, then just look at your self-imposed exile and the five Hindraf leaders who are still under ISA detention and the 66 Indians charged for alleged illegal assembly.

Furthermore if BN retain the helm of govt mark my word, you'll be in London for good and Samy Vellu would come down harder on Hindraf. And the Indian community is back to status quo because they'll have to kowtow to MIC/Samy. And the end of Hindraf.

When that happen, you only have to blame yourself for being indecisive and trying to prostitute the Indian votes when you should know better.
written by SUV, February 02, 2008 16:39:21
mr waythamoorthy,
cany u explain this..

8."all the aforsaid is to be handled directly by UMNO and to stop playing politics through the "Mandore"(M.I.C supervisor) system

written by cocomomo, February 02, 2008 16:43:29
If you ask your supporters to vote for BN, your MIC chief clown will just say later on that the Indians always vote for BN this time round too he has ensured that Indians 100% per cent support BN and not because HINDRAF ask them to vote for BN.
BN will definitely make many promises including maybe appoint you to some town council and make you a datuk.
Tell the BN that you will show them that HINDRAF has support by asking all HINDRAF supporters to vote for the opposition this time round and make sure wherever Indians are the deciding factor the BN will loose. Tell them also that then if over the next 4 to 5 years if the BN does really do things to improve the quality of life of the Indians and other poor ones then HINDRAF will support the BN 4 to 5 years from now. Let the BN show results first before you go back to supporting them again like you did the last 50 years.
written by SUV, February 02, 2008 16:45:36
9."20% of the government top most level posting 1e secretary and the director generals,directors,managers.district officers;senior civil servants and the parallel for the private sector are reserved for indians for the next 15 years"

18."a minimum of 20 opposition members of Dewan rakyat are elected exclusively by the indian community'

written by SUV, February 02, 2008 16:53:49
HINDRAF has always maintained it's non-partisan stand and has always steered clear of party politics or align itself with any political party including the opposition
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Its not 100 correct,isnt it mr moorthy..we saw the memo..utahya mentioned DAP..and yeah,DAP controlling the trust fund for the detainees..btw,mr.moorthy,bus ride to putrajaya or parliament house?who is gonna protect the marchers?
written by SUV, February 02, 2008 16:58:13
"Whom to Vote".

haha..let the voters decidelah..why should some self appointed leader,who at the need of the hour was "absent" telling citizens whom to vote ,whom not to vote?
written by Vehir, February 02, 2008 17:46:44
Dont go for negotiation with the BN parties for compromise. That's it you will loose everything including what rights we are still enjoying.

Hindraf took the Indians to protest for being left behind for 50 years in all aspects. Until todate the BN cannot come forward and release the 5 under ISA arrest then what are u talking about.

If BN is given the mandate to return to power the Indians are going to face more problems. They will do all sort of things to depress the Indians further.

As to whom should the Indians vote now after the 25th Nov 07 angerness, the Indians have decided totally to vote for opposition to return a government favouring more bright futures. No point Hindraf going for negotitation with Bn. The BN will bury you permanently until you cant operate a business in Malaysia.

Dont talk things which will anger the Indians. Thus your comments might hurt more which the Indians are now undergoing with the BN government.

Sweet talks and promises can be said by BN leaders during every 5 years when the general election is coming. After winning they just leave the voters in darkness. Unable to meet the elected representatives for 5 years. Instead of having their branch offices to hear the problems of the rakyat, they only available during the first few months after elected. Then just make dont know and collecting fixed monthly income as elected representative.

written by hiro, February 02, 2008 19:30:52
Moorthy seems to be sending the wrong message. Isn't 2 of the Hindraf detainees DAP members? What is Moorthy saying, that DAP has not made it clear enough that it would support their cause? Perhaps someone from BN got to Moorthy. This is a subtle, but dangerous turn of events.
written by Saint, February 02, 2008 21:43:38
This is a wrong message.
A protest vote must be executed.
The problem is not for us (Indians) alone,
but a national issue and we are all part of it.
There is no other way - a change can be made.
Keep focused - Do not loose sight.
Remove BN and UMNO. PERIOD.

written by InEffective, February 03, 2008 07:29:51
Mr Moorthy,

You can be non-partisan all you want, but the indians stand no chance in governance founded on a racially structured platform. At best you may get some table-scraps for this community from the incumbent mind-set, governing culture, and core beliefs. But they (and their children) will still be strategically excluded.

Your only hope is to commit to reducing this community's dependency on racists. Support anybody (regardless of race, religion, and experience) that diminishes the elected strength of racists.
written by Sutha, February 03, 2008 18:13:59

One man will pretend to to be sleeping and never heard of the call while the botak nut will pretend to be deaf.

Hindraf, you have proven to be a cultured people's organisation. That is enough and don't waste time with coconuts.
written by hakunamatata, February 03, 2008 19:30:45
will not advice the Malaysian Indians to place "a blind hope" on either BARISAN or the Opposition party unless we are satisfied the above two issues are adequately addressed.
-----------------------------------------------------
Mr.Waytha Moorthy,
Kindly note that the Indian votes are not for sale. Let's say that the BN gives in to the demands but how long could you trust them? HINDRAF has done a fantastic thing by AWAKENING all Indians but in the process Malaysians of all ethnic walks have been enlightened. Now it is time to add all races and have a Human Rights Action Force.If today we accept what the BN throws at us, tomorrow another community will be deprived, it may even be the orang asli(if they aren't already).Let's stand up on equal footing with the rest and attain our stature. Indians do not need privileges but fairness and equality .It is time to give the opposition a chance, remember how water canons and brutality was used during the march, don't you think that we had enough of the BN .
written by hakunamatata, February 03, 2008 19:42:57
No two ways about it. Indians are now for the opposition. Only demand is to be treated fairly and equally.
Indians are not going to BN again after 50 years of agony and if they do so then the Hindraf march and the sentiments which came out of it is a mockery.
written by nathan, February 03, 2008 21:47:57
dear indian go to your hometown this chinese new year holidays... tell the people there, the truth...tell them about the change thats coming... tell them not to sell their souls for a small change... educate, and tell them eventually the right will prevail.....pls drive carefully.. come back alive and stay alive to see the change take place... stay united...