Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nik Aziz: Talks won’t resolve Perak crisis

Nik Aziz: Talks won’t resolve Perak crisis PDF Print
Monday, 18 May 2009 01:34

(The Star) - PAS spiritual adviser Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat said he does not want any talks between the opposition and Barisan Nasional to resolve the political crisis in Perak.

The Kelantan Mentri Besar said he was unconvinced that the discussions could end the crisis.

“The best way is to dissolve the Perak State Legislative Assembly,” he told reporters after launching an environmental campaign here Sunday.

He was commenting on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s willingness to meet opposition leaders about cooperating to resolve the crisis.

In Butterworth, PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said he was willing to negotiate with Barisan any time over the issue.

“We have said we are ready, so we wait. We have given a statement openly, so it’s up to them,” he told reporters after meeting residents at Sungai Semambu in Permatang Pauh.

He said he was ready to listen to Barisan’s views and hoped they would listen to his.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by No nonsense, May 18, 2009 01:48:31
I totally agree with Nik Aziz that there should not be any talk between Bn and Pkr. What we want is a snap election and see who really has the majority of Perakians to rule Perak. The only solution is to go back to the people. Why do Anwar want to talk to them? I dont understand him this time. Np talk please we want an election.
written by AntiBN, May 18, 2009 02:03:44
Yes, I totally agree with Tok Guru and I'm sure majority would feel the same.

Malaysia is truly blessed to have someone who is inteeligent, fair, and farsighted like Tok Guru.

God bless him.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, May 18, 2009 02:05:29
Najib wanting to talk is taking a consultative approach to show he cares, he is open to working things out with the Opposition, and appear to take steps as the People's PM.

The only thing is that the two can't meet. Each is staying on the opposite divide.

The BN, although attempting to put up a bold front saying they are not afraid to face the electorate again, is not about to let that happen. Even Tun M feels that losing to PR is a forgone conclusion. Certainly, many people share that sentiment.

So what is there to talk except to do another wayang kulit on trying to show that the PR is at fault?

At this juncture, who cares? Put it to the vote to get a MANDATE from the Perakians.

How Najib handles this thorny issue that started with him 3 months ago will go a long way to show if he is truly a statesman, a much respected politician, a PM that dares to BE the People's PM and merely paying lip service.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...row-bring/
written by yipck, May 18, 2009 03:26:46
YES. TALKS WILL RESOLVE CRISIS..BUT WILL RESOLVE UMNO CRISIS!!!

Expect to have few options will be presented during the talks.

1. C4
2. Hilang
3. ISA
4. OBEDIENT DOG

This should be in part of School curriculum from early years...
written by Perak Boy, May 18, 2009 05:42:17
I agree 100% with you Tuan Guru Nik Aziz.
What YB Lim Kit Siang has to say on this ?

Frankly, I just wonder what DSAI is trying achieve from these talks with
UMNO/BN. Is DSAI trying to impress to Rakyat that PR is fair and open-minded ?

Come on, DSAI. Enough is enough. Being once in UMNO/BN yourself, sure you know
what they are up to. Especially now that Tun is behind PM Najib.

Let PM Najib talk to the wall and says that he care for the Rakyat and wanted
to end the Perak debacle. Wasn't he the that one who started all these ?
written by Perak Boy, May 18, 2009 05:47:04
sorry, typo error :
Should read as ... Wasn't he the one who started all these mess ?
written by Hello Keithy, May 18, 2009 08:28:01
A BIG "NO" TO THE GOVT. FORMED IN THE BACK GARDEN OF THE ISTANA.

Do not entertain BN. They are so thick-skin that they do not feel for the rakyat.
written by Raizzen, May 18, 2009 09:17:18
Nik Aziz saying what he said is of his nature. But The Star went out of their nature by giving special highlights to what Nik Aziz has said reeks of instigation.

Oh there's a crack in PR's resolve. Oh this. Oh that. Please lah The Star, grow up.