Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nik Aziz says no to talks over Perak crisis

Nik Aziz says no to talks over Perak crisis PDF Print
Sunday, 17 May 2009 10:56

(Bernama) KOTA BARU, May 16 — PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat said he does not want any talks between the opposition and Barisan Nasional (BN) to resolve the political crisis in Perak.

The Kelantan Mentri Besar said he was unconvinced that the discussion could end the crisis.

"The best way is to dissolve the Perak State Legislative Assembly," he told reporters after launching an enviromental campaign today.

He was commenting on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak's willingness to meet opposition leaders about cooperation to resolve the crisis.

written by Krepot, May 17, 2009 11:08:03
Well said - the people decides, not some 'so called elected goons', especially the frogs!
written by penangboi, May 17, 2009 11:23:13
Now, this is what I define as a real leader who stands by his beliefs and principles.

Way to go , Tok Guru.

And just for everybody else's information, I used to misunderstand PAS. Sure, there are some 'extremists' in the party, but then again, there are 'extremists' in every party.

But after paying closer attention to what Tok Guru has to say, my respect for him has grown.
written by Remo, May 17, 2009 11:28:22
I fully agree with Nik.
No need to meet BN.

Get the sultan to dissolve, that's it.
written by Fat Zorro, May 17, 2009 11:39:11
I agree with our Tok Guru. There is no need for further discussion or talks after what BN had done at the 7th May Illegally Convened Assembly. Pakatan should give whole support to To Guru's decision.
written by Fat Zorro, May 17, 2009 11:43:00
written by penangboi, May 17, 2009 11:23:13

Now, this is what I define as a real leader who stands by his beliefs and principles.

Way to go , Tok Guru.

And just for everybody else's information, I used to misunderstand PAS. Sure, there are some 'extremists' in the party, but then again, there are 'extremists' in every party.

But after paying closer attention to what Tok Guru has to say, my respect for him has grown.
_______________________________________________________ __________________________

Dear Penangboi, a lot of West Coast non malays misunderstand PAS. Pls dont judge PAS from reading the government media. Visit the east coast states and observe how PAS runs the government. They are really cakap serupa dengan bikin okay.
written by kupas, May 17, 2009 11:43:49
agreed with Nik Aziz. They do not walk the talk. They say one thing and do another. If Pakatan goes to meet the PM they will be told to just listen to what BN wants. "talk" here means "listen up. I am the one with authority. You do what you are told"
written by kurangfaham, May 17, 2009 11:50:32
Tok Guru, You are the real leader. Why not PAS take over the Federal Government.
written by burmen, May 17, 2009 12:17:48
I've said it a million times and I'm saying it again. NO to talks with the BN - period, even if we are fighting a 'losing' battle with all the institutions (IGP, Judiciary, Sultan of Perak, Ghani Patail, etc.) behind them; it doesn't matter. All we need to do is keep on fighting without any sign of fatigue.

If in the end we lose, we lose lah. But come GE13 we get it back.

Looks like Nik Aziz and me think alike - great men
written by tenang, May 17, 2009 12:22:08
Tok Guru,

When you speak, we all listen. With the respect I have for your insight and experience, I can't help but reconsider my position of supporting some behind the scene negotiation.

I think if PR were to talk to BN, these are few terms of negotiation that PR should not give in:

1) There should be absolutely no unity government. The need to maintain two-party system is non-negotiable. To have unity government is a political incest that gives up all the right of common people to political elites. Unity government marks the end of democracy.

2) Some form of fresh election must be conducted to ask the mandate of the common people again.

3) Negotiate up a special provision that any use of police and physical force under the name of national security must be agreed upon by both top leaders of PR and UMNO. This is a tall order, but forcing this provision might be possible with the changing attitude of Malaysians in the past years. All people are concerned about naional security, not only the ruling regime.

However, since you oppose the talk with BN, I start to think that given the current development, it is actually of PR advantage to drag this Perak political crisis longer. We shall reap the fruit in both short term and in the next election.

If we were to drag on this Perak crisis, I think we should start to more strongly support Speaker Sivakumar to repeat what he has done on May 7 -- assertive in standing his ground as the leader of the State Assembly, and at the same time showing the humility to not use any physical forces or power beyond what is bestowed by the constitution. We could see if UMNO-BN is ready for next round of humiliation and public rebukes by common people and across the world. Will UMNO, given the second chance, be still dragging speaker Sivakumar out "like a sack of potatoes"?

I have urged speaker Sivakumar to repeat what he has done on May 7:
http://shiou1.********.com/2009/05/speaker-sivakumar-encore-encore.html
written by latihanQ, May 17, 2009 12:34:35
Like all decent Malaysians,NIK AZIZ knows a devil when he sees one. And he knows the UMNO/BN Devils through and through! Read Najib's lies from the past three days. First he said no preconditions! Then he laid a string of conditions. He is a pathological liar.
Decent Malaysians absolutely refuse to have talks with pathological liars who only want to sabotage and then hope talks will legitimize their illegal power grab.
Say no to talks with UMNO/BN liars. People first, performance first, elections first.
written by loosecannon, May 17, 2009 12:36:13
I fully agree. Najib is just trying to worm his way out of the situation and save his own ass. The solution is simple, call for a state by-election. Nothing else will work. They're trying hard to trap Pekatan and they've run out of devious ideas. Remember, talk is cheap and the BN is all talk no action.
written by apanama, May 17, 2009 12:36:24
TOK GURU NIK AZIZ. ANDA SANGAT BIJAK. VERY WISE MAN.
jangan jadi macam anwar, lim kit siang.
toksah duduk semeja dengan najis.
lawan tetap lawan.
written by RumahPanjai, May 17, 2009 12:45:25
The wise one has spoken. BN are liars! Once you turn your back they stab you. They double cross you. Tok is wise. History should not be given a chance to repeat itself.
written by latihanQ, May 17, 2009 13:02:01
We want change! People first, performance first, elections first.
written by Richfyf, May 17, 2009 13:14:00
I am not a kelantanese but my family had the previlage to work and live there for 22 years. All my siblings finish school there.

To tell the truth If I have to go through it again I will not hesitate to live in kelantan.

Times might have change now but when were living there. You hardly hear of snatch theif in Kota Bharu. If anywomen ever scream then I feel sorry for the person who ever dare to think of snatching her purse. The who town folks will just jump on him!!

I remember the days when women folks who run the market. Their arm are full of gold bracelets till their elbow and the gold chain they have around their neck would rival those of Rap stars. I just cant magine if women folks were to have those in KL..
written by uxzee, May 17, 2009 13:38:47
I believe what the Tok Guru has said is what the rakyat wants too. But his voice and confirmation will carry weight.
written by Aduh, May 17, 2009 13:45:33
Allah is Great. The rakyat finally realizes who Tok Guru is. Semoga Allah memberi kesejahteraan dan memanjangkan umur mu.

beEND , still want to continue with your character assassination and smear campaign ??? Hope very much you do. As in the process, the rakyat will be more inquisitive to know more truth.
written by ultraman, May 17, 2009 14:33:03
Yes, Nik Aziz is correct. He is wise.
PR should heed his advice. Why should PR be a party to solve the problem. It is Najib's fault. The whole world know it
written by asiana888, May 17, 2009 15:50:40
Tok Guru Nik is a wise and man of principle! He is the only PAS leader I will support and campaign to be PM .... eventhough I am a Malaysian Chinese!

Hidup, Tok Guru!

May the Lord bless your continued good health and leadership!
smilies/smiley.gif
written by AlwaysFair, May 17, 2009 16:06:06
Yes Nik is wise, because if your people mix more with the wolves some might turn into frogs. Instead of resolving the crisis more will happen.
Nik knows how CRAFTY his enemy is have wisely refrained from encounter with them.
Wise Nik.
written by clarity, May 17, 2009 17:50:39
These talks cannot be one on one and others will be there. It's the others that I'm worried about. Haif way through the talks, the other on Anwar's side get a call from Vincent Tan and we start having trouble with frogs again. Why want to court trouble?
written by Fuminari, May 17, 2009 19:04:20
tok guru knows all the way najis is not sincere at all!!it is jus another of his typical political stunt to hoodwink the rakyat.
written by SamYap, May 17, 2009 19:59:43
Sokong Tok Guru!
written by Aduh, May 17, 2009 22:55:49
beEND,

Before , many Chinese and Indians believed you and viewed PAS as their greatest enemies.

Now situation has changed. They are very comfortable and have no hesitation to throw their full support to PAS.

DOWN WITH beEND AND umNO !!!
written by AlwaysFair, May 17, 2009 23:52:14
Yes, wise Nik,

Afterall how can to negotiate with Mat Rempits,
As you are talking they can just slash you and run away with any remaining loot.
So you just cannot negotiate with people who are totally untrustworthy.
written by wood, May 18, 2009 00:58:32
Well done and well said ! Tok Guru Nik commands the respect of the rakyat !