Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Yes, let’s move on

Yes, let’s move on PDF Print
Friday, 15 May 2009 17:45

But burying the spectre of May 13 can’t be done just like that, even if we stop talking about it. 40 years is a long time. People can forgive. People can even forget. But to forgive and forget there must first be remorse.

I know ‘Dollah Kok Lanas’, as he is fondly known back in his home state of Kelantan, pretty well. You can read his piece on ‘May 13’ below.

Dollah was once detained under the Internal Security Act during the time of Hussein Onn. He was also sacked as the Editor-in-Chief of the New Straits Times in 2003 at the request of Umno for the ‘crime’ of criticising Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia had earlier retaliated against this criticism by reducing Malaysia’s Haj quota. So the only way to pacify the Saudi government was to remove Dollah as head of the Umno-owned newspaper. (Who says Umno can’t be pressured?).

Dollah, for all intents and purposes, is a classic example of a loose cannon. I heard this is what Dr Wan Azizah also calls me. Other loose cannons -- or close to loose cannons even if they are not quite fully-fledged loose cannons -- would probably be Shahrir Samad (no need to say much about him), Mokhtar Hashim (the Minister indicted for murder), Anwar Ibrahim (yes, Wan Azizah has one in her own bed even though she may not realise it), Sallehuddin Hashim (if you don’t know him then I can’t help you), Haniff Omar (ex-IGP and Genting Chairman who said he did not find anywhere in the Quran a verse that forbids Muslims from being Chairmen of gambling companies), Yassin Malek (deceased but a ‘live wire’ till the very end), Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah (late Agong who married a girl younger than his granddaughter), Sultan Ahmad Shah of Pahang (phew, what can I say about him that no one already knows?), Tun Razak (Najib’s father, architect of May 13, and engineer of the NEP) Razali Ismail (diplomat and Malaysian Ambassador to the UN who the Burmese opposition party wants nothing to do with), Hani Mohsin (actor and deceased at a very young age), Effendi Norwawi (the Sarawakian tycoon who founded NTV7 and stole Hani’s wife), Justice Azmi Kamaruddin (deceased and one of the judges sacked by Mahathir), Hishamuddin Hussein (President of the Gay Club), Nazri Aziz (the man Mahathir can’t stand hearing his name mentioned), Dr. Hatta Ramli and Kamaruddin Jaafar (both of PAS), Rehman Rashid (either you hate him or you love him: nothing in between), Halim Saad (the man behind the PLUS Highway), Yahaya Ahmad (the ‘Car Czar’ of Malaysia who died in a helicopter explosion), Hishamuddin Rais (Malaysia’s first NGI: Non-Governmental Individual), Onn Jaafar (the man who left Umno in a huff because the party would not open its doors to non-Malays), the Semangat 46 crowd (Tengku Razaleigh, Manan Othman, Salleh ‘Speaker’, Tengku Paduka, and all those other ‘colourful’ characters), etc.

And what do all those loose cannons mentioned above have in common? Okay, they are all Malays and they are all men. But the one thing that ‘binds’ them, and the thing that probably turned them into loose cannons in the first place, is that they are all ‘Old Boys’ of the Malay College Kuala Kangsar (MCKK).

The names of all the 5,000 or so Old Boys -- dead, still living, or are better off dead than alive -- would be just impossible to list here. Take it from me, though, that most, if not all, are loose cannons in one way or another. In short, anyone who can be considered ‘a problem’ would most likely be an Old Boy of MCKK.

At one time, during the time of Tun Razak, half the Cabinet were Old Boys. Cabinet meetings, until today, are held on Wednesdays. And Wednesday is also the day that the Old Boys wear their old school ties -- by coincidence rather than by design.

During the first Cabinet meeting that Hussein Onn chaired, after he took over as Prime Minister on the death of Tun Razak, he commented about this, disapprovingly of course. And in the next Cabinet meeting all the ties disappeared. You see, Hussein went to the English College in Johor Bahru, so he was not about to sit there staring at those red-striped College ties which must have been an eyesore as far as he was concerned.

Many of the founding members of Umno were Old Boys. At the time of Merdeka, most of the Rulers were also Old Boys. You would not find many who walked in the corridors of power who was not an Old Boy. Malay Nationalism would have never happened if not for the Old Boys. Maybe even Merdeka would have been delayed like what happened to Hong Kong.

Old Boys consider themselves unique. Non-Old Boys, however, would, consider Old Boys as weird. I mean, which group of Malays would go to the mosque on Thursday night, play poker on Friday night, and consume crates and crates of beer on Saturday night?

They say the term ‘Ipoh lai’ was invented by Old Boys. As you may be aware, Kuala Kangsar is not far from Ipoh. And when Old Boys disappear for the day, you can certainly assume they have sneaked off to Ipoh to taste the delights of that once upon a time thriving mining town.

The word around Ipoh is that if you throw a stone into the air, chances are it would land on a massage parlour. There were certainly more massage parlours than mosques back in the days when I went to MCKK. I heard that, nowadays, there are not that many massage parlours in Ipoh any longer. Is it because of the collapse of Perak’s tin mining industry or because the Old Boys have, unfortunately, become more religious and spend more time in the mosque than in massage parlours?

Anyway, Ipoh is no longer what it used to be. Today, you can get arrested just for minding your own business while eating in a coffee shop wearing a black shirt. And it is very hard to find prostitutes in the massage parlours. Most of them are gainfully employed and can only be found in the Perak State Assembly.

I prefer the old days when RM30 could buy you a good time with a sweet young thing from Bidor, Tapah, Sungai Siput, or wherever they happened to have come from. I never remembered meeting anyone from Jelapang though. I was told they did have girls from Jelapang but that they are so ugly you would never pay them to sleep with you. They would have to pay you instead.

Anyway, the going price for these Perak girls would never exceed a few hundred Ringgit -- even if you made promises your body can’t keep and booked a girl for the entire night. It would be best, however, you try the ‘one-shot’ package first and see how it goes. After all, in sex, just like in the banking business, you lose interest after you make the withdrawal.

Okay, let’s get to the serious business now. Yes, we must put May 13 behind us and move on. It is time we buried the spectre of May 13. But that can only happen if we do not constantly resurrect it time and time again. Umno, however, keeps reminding us of what happened in May 1969 when the non-Malays kurang ajar. Is it a reminder or a threat? Whatever it may be, picking on the scab will not only never allow the wound to heal, but even if it does it will leave a permanent scar that will remain till the end of our life.

But burying the spectre of May 13 can’t be done just like that, even if we stop talking about it. 40 years is a long time. People can forgive. People can even forget. But to forgive and forget there must first be remorse.

We need a national reconciliation program. Those who aggressed need to apologise to those who were oppressed. You can’t just say let’s forgive and forget. You also need to say sorry.

Is sorry really the hardest word as Elton John said? Would saying sorry give an impression that you are weak? Only the strong can say sorry. The weak will try to justify the wrong with all sorts of excuses and arguments.

The world over, governments are admitting the error of their ways. Sometimes it came three hundred years too late. But better late than never, they always say. Malaysia can demonstrate sincerity. And the mark of sincerity is first to admit your mistake, and then apologise for it. And only after that can we ask all Malaysians to bury the past and move on to build a better Malaysia, a One Malaysia, as Najib Tun Razak said.

May 13 tragedy, we should move on
By Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad

While we remember the 40th anniversary of the May 13 tragedy, we should move on. It’s time for closure of the sad, very sad incident.

The tragic and vicious incident need not have happened had Tun Razak’s message to Dato’ Harun Idris, the menteri besar of Selangor, reached him 30-minutes earlier or had Tan Sri David Tan Chee Khoon and Tun Lim Chong Eu spoken to Tun Razak 30 minutes earlier relaying their decision not to cooperate with DAP to form the state government of Selangor nor worked together in Perak and elsewhere. I was beside Tun Razak when he took the calls from them late past tea time on the fateful evening of 13 May. I recall clearly what Tun Razak told Harun “…the good news is you will continue to run Selangor. Chee Khoon and Chong Eu had just spoken to me that they want status quo preserved. So tell the people gathering at your house to disperse.” Harun thanked Tun and asked him to convey his gratitude to the two statesmen. Between five-to-ten minutes after that Harun rang Tun Razak to say that it was too late. As he was persuading them to disperse news reached the crowd that clashes had begun in Chow Kit Road and surroundings and beyond.

Tun Razak asked Harun to calm the gathering and urged him, in strong terms, to attempt his best to stop the clashes from escalating. The rest, as they say, is history. Though Harun and I were not on good political terms I must be fair. I think he did try, but by then, to no avail.

I left for home about maghrib. Informed Musa Hitam what happened and he asked his family to rush to my house. Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and Musa and his family spent the night at my house in Jalan Bukit Bintang, a very Chinese area, and there was no trouble. I assured my Chinese neighbours and they, in turn, assured me we would together maintain peace and confront whoever the outside troublemakers would be. Thank God, the troubles were localised.

This is just speculation: Had communications then were as good and advanced as today, I think two things could have occurred: race riots would not have started or they could have become more brutal and widespread.

When the Pakatan Rakyat coalition unseated the BN governments in Selangor, Perak, Penang and Kedah last March (08) there were no tensions, perhaps because every one was in a state of shock but plausibly, too, the incoming governments of PKR, DAP and PAS like the defeated ones, were also interracial. The PKR, DAP and PAS alliance should be preserved. The PKR is about the nearest thing to being a genuine multi-racial party. There shall not be another May 13 like-incident if the ruling party coalition and the Pakatan share power or perceived to be sharing power fairly and the government, whether Federal or State, observes the constitution scrupulously, government policy implemented justly without fear or favour where talent is not only recognized but rewarded irrespective of race or religion. The public as well as the private sector must display and reflect that of the society we live in, not what we want it to be. The Bumiputra must accept unequivocally the others are co-owners of this country as much as the others must also accept, recognise and acknowledge unequivocally the Bumiputra is the biggest demographic group and growing, therefore deserves some entitlements, though not at the expense of fairplay.

I am not a soothsayer nor a prophet of doom. I strive to tell what I perceive to be the truth. It does seem the future of democracy in our nation is bright. A genuine two-party system is at last evolving after five decades of Merdeka. If the Pakatan Rakyat state governments deliver what they promised and the alliance stay cohesive and the rakyat see the bond or linkage is sustained the alliance can be potentially potent. However, having said that, please make no mistake of misjudging Najib. He is no Badawi; different educational and social background. Najib is Tun Razak’s son, he is more familiar with the wiles of Malaysian voters; he is positively more Machiavellian, positively more able and aware than his predecessor who was badly advised by his family, cronies and toadies in government and the media.

If Najib performs well and the economy recovers he is a tough nut to crack. His 1Malaysia is good and if he is not distracted, and properly advised, you all will face a tough time. You must at least be well-prepared and ready. Najib may falter, which I think is not impossible, for he is not infallible. I am also very conscious how fallible I can be.

In politics, a week is a long time and logic doesn’t always work. Always work hard and one must always do what one feels is right. The correct and sensible thing to do is to ensure that all Malaysians are treated justly in the public as well as in the private sector. Our democracy can only flourish if we have a strong, free and independent media.

Our future is very bright if Najib can deliver what he promises and the Pakatan its pledges. We aren’t going to achieve what we desire. Worse if a nation is perceived to be untransparent, unjust and draconian. I repeat a strong, free and independent media is critical for the future of Malaysian democracy.

The future of 1Malaysia looks well if the PM can deliver what he promises and if the economy thrives. This can be done if we can reconcile the past which none should forget with the present we must face, and the future we cannot avoid.

Whatever, the electoral test will be in the next general election.

The makings of an Umno politician

An old kampung imam had a teenage son, and it was getting time the boy should give some thought to choosing a profession.

Like many young men his age, the boy didn't really know what he wanted to do, and he didn't seem too concerned about it.

One day, while the boy was away at school, his father decided to try an experiment. He went into the boy's room and placed on his study table four objects.

1. The Holy Quran.
2. A fifty ringgit note.
3. A bottle of whiskey.
4. And a Playboy magazine.

'I'll just hide behind the door," the old imam said to himself. "When he comes home from school today, I'll see which object he picks up."

"If it's the holy book, he's going to be an imam like me, and what a blessing that would be!"

"If he picks up the fifty ringgit note, he's going to be a businessman, and that would be okay, too."

"But if he picks up the bottle, he's going to be a no-good drunken bum, and God, what a shame that would be."

"And worst of all if he picks up that magazine he's going to be a skirt-chasing womaniser."

The old man waited anxiously, and soon heard his son's footsteps as he entered the house whistling and heading for his room.

The boy tossed his books on the bed, and as he turned to leave the room he spotted the objects on the table. With curiosity in his eye, he walked over to inspect them. Finally, he picked up the Holy Book and placed it under his arm. He picked up the fifty ringgit note and dropped into his pocket. He uncorked the bottle and took a big drink, while he admired the magazine's centerfold.

"God have mercy," the old imam disgustedly whispered. "He's going to be an Umno politician!"

Author unknown

Comments (86)Add Comment
written by justice, May 15, 2009 17:56:00
agree 600
written by Rashid, May 15, 2009 17:57:06
"God have mercy," the old imam disgustedly whispered. "He's going to be an Umno politician!" This is nothing but 110% description of Umno leaders. This is Najib indeed.
agree 349
written by Hakim Joe, May 15, 2009 17:58:07

If you think that half the Razak cabinet being MCKK Old Boys was bad
You should not count the ppl in Petronas these days.
If I were to venture, I'd say something like over 60%.

agree 130
written by Kaneeneh, May 15, 2009 17:59:22
It is so strange that Kolej Melayu Kuala Kangsar is always mentioned in English. The school is for Malays only, but somehow the students seem proud to use the English Language as if it was anything but.
agree 124
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 17:59:48
Dear Hakim Joe, who said anything about that being bad? Hey, those were the good old days.
written by Rashid, May 15, 2009 18:10:29
Who is the judge that gave the ridiculous stay to MB Haram Zombie Mandela bin Gandhi? Someone sheds light below:

http://alditta.********.com/2009/05/who-is-yang-arif-ramly-alithat-granted.html
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 18:15:11
Dear Rashid, what's that got to do with what I wrote?
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 18:16:19
Dear Kaneeneh, MCKK was not a Malay school. It was an English school for Malays.
written by ibabonma, May 15, 2009 18:21:43
Pete, you forgot to mention Najis wife, Roosmah Rose Chan, who even in early 70s stationed herself at City or Chamberlain in alternate, just like the limping prostitute who was quite popular at the Jelapang Indian settlement, was not only good a swallowing ping pong ball and smoking cigarette, but also very good at stealing somebody’s husband that led to the famous expression made to me personally, ‘Dia yang gilakan bini orang, kita dia kata gila babi.”

written by ibabonma, May 15, 2009 18:23:52
a should be atswallowing.
written by Cyber DNA, May 15, 2009 18:28:40

Which years were you at MCKK?
written by Cyber DNA, May 15, 2009 18:32:38

My dad was a vice-principle of MCKK, when Ryan (I think) was the principle. I still remember a yellow bungalow house, within the school compound which we stayed in until 1963.
written by teo siew chin, May 15, 2009 18:37:41
you know, this man has perfected the art of being serious by being totally unserious, even downright funny!! learnt that from college izzit?
and to think you were part of an esteemed college's looney bin!
now graduated to a full-fledge cannon. smilies/grin.gif

as for the may 13.....mayhaps Timbaland's "...it's too late to apologize..."
written by ibabonma, May 15, 2009 18:40:03
Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad, I listened to your speech and it was a waste for you did not, however, mention anything about Altantumya or Mongolia, the key to Najis longevity as PM. He just cannot last the distance because of the criminal distraction! That ought to be taken into consideration.

As for Mei 13, you were with Razak and never knew what transpired at Datuk Harun’s residence especially his and others fiery speeches! Don’t try to defend Umno, for you yourself is a goon.

written by ibabonma, May 15, 2009 18:47:29
UMNO = The Holy Quran, a fifty ringgit note, a bottle of whiskey and a Playboy magazine.

Umno, how low can you go? Itu menunjukkan betapa hinanya Umno.

written by gycgocnt, May 15, 2009 18:52:49
We can move on by putting 13 May 1969 behind. But we must stick in our mind that the actual history.

Don't buy over what the "Official History" tell you about this history. The "Official" May 13 told us the opposition won big in the election but they celebrated on the street "Actionly, Prodly". So, the opposition inciting hatred at that moment and it was the main reason why Malay kill Chinese.

Above is the "Official Script" created by BN to frighten us in order to make people refuse to vote for opposition despite of their dissatisfaction towards BN. And BN archieve its goals with this frightening skills.

In fact, the opposition won big in 1969 and deny the 2/3 seat of rulling coalition during that time, thus Selangor State government collapse. UMNO members use this as their reason to ask Tunku to step down immediately but not success. On the other hand, Selangor MB refuse to concede the lose in election, so they start to inciting hatred towards Chinese and it lead to Malay killed Chinese in Kuala Lumpur. Finally, they use this orchestrated excuse to force down Tunku, because Tunku had no ability to control the situation.

From the actual story of 13 May 1969, UMNO was willing to compromise Chinese citizens life to make them retain in power. They repeated this tactic after Penang won by PR in 2008 GE. UMNO youth inciting hatred by stating CM Lim Guan Eng intention to scrap the NEP is equals to challenge the Malay Supremacy Right which is provide under Federal Constitution. But this time, UMNO is not sucees to create another 13 May because Malay is "Bijak" this time.

It is the time for us to moving on, but don't forget how BN component party tactics to differentiate us. Malay, Chinese and Indian enemy is not the people who are different colour with them. Our main enemy is BN, UMNO,MCA, MIC, they are the Morons who differentiate us, they are the Devils who make us fight with each other!
agree 128
written by Badaksumbu, May 15, 2009 18:55:46
Verrrryyy funny! you can't be serious, said John Mc Enro
written by Lim Lim, May 15, 2009 18:56:36
""How can we justify chopping to pieces women and children and burning them while they are still alive in the name of politics? "" by RPK.
written by steviewonger, May 15, 2009 19:04:17
Hey Pete, are you saying you are also a weirdor just liken those who are named?
but do you wear a red tie just like them on wednesdays?
written by steviewonger, May 15, 2009 19:09:54
Funny things did happen in MCKK. Pete said it was an English school for Malays but hard to believe that there are still some who couldn't speak the Queen English.
Well either they are there for the Ipoh frolics or just plain sleeping.
written by SamYap, May 15, 2009 19:10:34
ROTFL!!! smilies/cheesy.gif The joke at the end of today's posting is really good! Shows that the Pakatan supporters have a damn fine sense of humour! That was Good shit !
written by cruzeiro, May 15, 2009 19:13:20
ibabonma,
Although you may have valid reasons for your anger, maybe you should let hatred take a back seat for a while. The anger can cloud your judgment, bro.
Look at it as an honest attempt, weak as it may be, to admit their past errors - just for the sake of reconciliation, maybe? Pouring scorn upon overtures towards reconciliation will not help one bit to snuff out your anger.
Show a little compassion for the weakness of your perceived enemy, and you'll go far, my man.
written by malaysianohope, May 15, 2009 19:26:19
These Umno fellows are sure one strange creature forever screwing the Rakyat as if there's no tomorrow, behave like warlord scheming to stay onto power & unforgiving in their misdeameanour. You will never ever expect them to say sorry to the Non Malays for the massacre of the past & just see the son of the initiator of May 13 is now the PM, who by himself is tainted to sky heaven with corruption & complicity in the murder of an innocent woman but then again this is what is expected from these bastards. We will never forget what they did, just plain BULLIES & COwARDS using the instruments of Government to threaten the Minorities & Oppositions.
Btw are you going to watch the match between Man U & Arsenal? Should be a good matchup. TGIF!
written by defendermalaysia, May 15, 2009 19:28:09
The grab of power from BN in Perak has already set a dangerous precedent now. I am worried what may happen in the next GE whereby PR won a slim majority. Umno could set a small racial clash and ask army to take over the country. Because BN is already shown in Perak that they are kiasi and kiasu party. Martial law is impose,parliment dissolve, army and police patrol the whole country. National operation council set up.Army appoint UMNO becomes a caretaker govt "until situation return to normal". Umno has already shown their real colours and intension in this Perak crissis.I hope everybody including opposition party members should prepare some counter measure if this becomes a reality in the next GE.
written by yy88, May 15, 2009 19:32:11
Pete, it would be very fortunate for the Rakyat if:

UMNO = The Holy Quran, a fifty ringgit note, a bottle of whiskey and a Playboy magazine alone.

Unfortunately, UMNO BARU today = The Holy Quran, a fifty ringgit note, a bottle of whiskey,a Playboy magazine GUNs

They rob the Rakyat in broad day light, they kill, they murder, they jack the barrels up our asses, they point the barrels at us through the Judiciary, PDRM, BPR, AGO, abuses the institutions, etc. They are mishandling the GUNs and have caused insurmountable damages and hardships to the Rakyats' lives.

written by onkassim, May 15, 2009 19:50:57
As far as I can recall, MCKK was established by the colonial govt. to be the Eton of then Malaya. It's aim was to provide english education for the royals and Malay elite and selected Malays with sound academic achievement to make up the student population to ensure its exclusiveness. I remember we had to sit for the Std. 6 exams (now changed to UPSR) to determine which govt. secondary school we go to. So you see there is already discrimination in our formative years.
What Joe hakim says is true about Petronas employees. Being a MACOBA gives you an unmentioned advantage when it commes to employment and promotion prospects. These people religiously wear their alma mater ties every Wednesday in the hope of being noticed by their seniors and superiors and to distinguish themselves as an elite group just like the freemasons. We always refer them as schoolboys who refuses to grow up. By the way isn't Daim's proteges/proxy who became corporate leaders overnight all from MCKK. I remenber Anwar himself propogated the culture when he was in the govt.
written by Orang Muda, May 15, 2009 20:12:15
Haha...this article reminds me of the P.Ramlee's movies I watched the other day. If people today were to do the same as what we see in these movies, sure they would all "kena" by the religious authority already.

But then again, this is the era where all the creative minds were found... are we going forward or backward today?
written by Rozlan, May 15, 2009 20:20:20
Many of the founding members of Umno were Old Boys. At the time of Merdeka, most of the Rulers were also Old Boys. You would not find many who walked in the corridors of power who was not an Old Boy. Malay Nationalism would have never happened if not for the Old Boys. Maybe even Merdeka would have been delayed like what happened to Hong Kong.

Wrong.Mustapha Hussein,Ibrahim Yaacob,Abu Bakar Al Baqir to name a few were not MCKK old Boys.They were the one who started the second wave of Malay Nationalism through KMM shortly before WW2.
written by Rozlan, May 15, 2009 20:24:11

YOur Old Imam and his son joke was good.kehkehkehkeh... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by apasalahku, May 15, 2009 20:25:27
MCKK- blue tie or not; its nothing but a breeding nest of elitist racist Nazis
written by mob1900, May 15, 2009 20:42:46
Actually we don't even want a Reconciliation, we just want to be treated as a citizen in this country where we can live and die proudly.
written by lampard, May 15, 2009 20:59:01
DEAR FRIENDS,
SCARE TACTICS CAN BE HARSH AND CAN ALSO BE MILD. THIS MAY BE A REMINDER TO CHINESE AND NOW INDIANS THE BRUTAL 13 MAY 1969
!

WELL SAID BY THE MCKK BOYS THOUGH...
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:03:08
Dear lampard, you better go see a doctor. You are foaming at the mouth. It could be contagious. And I would suggest in the meantime no kissing on the mouth and stick to oral sex (meaning, just talk about it) until the doctor can diagnose what is wrong with you.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:07:34
Dear apasalahku, didn't actually meet any Germans when I was there but that could have probably been after I left. Nazis is it? Hmmm.....I knew one Nazri (Aziz) though.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:09:42
Dear mob1900, not sure whether you can live proudly in Malaysia but they will certainly allow you to die proudly if that is what gives you an orgasm.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:12:02
Dear Orang Muda, neither -- actually we are moving downwards.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:13:31
Dear onkassim, you are probably right about MCKK boys never growing up. In fact, most of us are still into breastfeeding even into our 60s or 70s.
written by wongnoball, May 15, 2009 21:16:14

After carefully reading those names which are classified by you as 'loose cannons',I am really puzzled and confused by your definition of 'loose cannon'.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:17:26
Dear yy88, agreed, and it really boggles the mind that 50% of Malaysians still voted for them last election and then bitch and grumble till the cows come home. Stupid isn't it?
written by sactyr, May 15, 2009 21:20:06
Dear Pete, MCKK sounds like "Skull and Bones" of the US fame, where its members are cream of the cream, and they are coached and nurtured to becomes US Presidents, CEO's, congressmen etc.

Is MCKK still an English college? If I am not wrong it has been "nationalised", right?
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:21:38
Dear defendermalaysia, true. But then there is also a chance you will get knocked down by a bus tomorrow and will never live to vote in the next GE. So don't worry about it yet until it happens.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:25:00
Dear sactyr, shucks no, it is only a school where we were taught how to read English articles and how to understand what we read. Don't you wish you knew how to do that as well?
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:27:15
Dear wongnoball, don't tell me, tell them. They are the ones who call us loose cannons. I would just like to believe we are smarter than them and this bugs them like mad.
written by sactyr, May 15, 2009 21:33:44
Haha that was quick reply Pete. I understood perfectly what you wrote. When you meant we need to have a "national reconciliation program" I think we already have two:

1) National Service, brainchild of of Najib
2) Biro Tata Negara

Both is in a complete mess, and to be frank, I don't think both are doing any good for national integrity.
written by Sandy, May 15, 2009 21:40:24
Is sorry really the hardest word as Elton John said? Would saying sorry give an impression that you are weak? Only the strong can say sorry. The weak will try to justify the wrong with all sorts of excuses and arguments.

Love to hear that from RPK. In total agreement with him. Allow me to add - Only true men say sorry.
written by CariJalan, May 15, 2009 21:43:25
Hmmmmh. As a former student of Clifford Secondary School, I used to watch the crazy MCKK's student marching down the street near one of the Padang. These idiots always seemed to be neatly dressed and never without the ridiculous looking tie. They really marched like zombies. Quite a showoff. I used to sit under the town's clock tower and watched some of the students pass by. If I had known what I know today, I would have them all 'eliminated' to save us all the future troubles. Really wasted opportunities. I am sorry my fellow Comrades. I have failed in my mission.
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:48:38
Dear CariJalan, you are just jealous because the GEGS girls were crazy over MCKK boys and wouldn't even give Clifford School boys the time of day. I know the Clifford School boys used to ambush us and goad us into fights. But hey, we are lovers, not fighters, and that is why the GEGS girls were just goo-goo-gaga over us.
written by ramlisdar, May 15, 2009 21:50:21
Rest aasured RPK. The Appeal Court Judge:

written by Rashid, May 15, 2009 18:10:29

Who is the judge that gave the ridiculous stay to MB Haram Zombie Mandela bin Gandhi? Someone sheds light below:

Judge Dato Ramli Ali was A SDARIAN. Not MCKK. But considered a rival in those days.

For the uninitiated SDAR= Sekolah Dato Abdul Razak
written by Raja Petra, May 15, 2009 21:51:05
Dear sactyr, no that is not what I meant at all. How can you compare BTN and NS with what I was talking about? They are worlds apart.
written by MNor, May 15, 2009 21:55:28
am no longer any party member but for sure come G13, those who come in contact with me will vote for change, 50 yrs is too long a chance given to BEEEND. BUY BUY.
written by DontPlayGod, May 15, 2009 22:40:46
May 13? Forgive and forget? How can? UMNO makes sure that nobody forgets their proud May 13 incident!! Every year, since 1969, UMNO leaders have been proudly threatening the Chinese with May 13 come election time. The last salvo came only last year from the man with 2 mohammads in his name when he said that the next May 13 will be even more "dahsyat".
written by Mama Juwie, May 15, 2009 22:55:14
"during the time of Tun Razak, half the Cabinet were Old Boys."

"You should not count the ppl in Petronas these days.
If I were to venture, I'd say something like over 60%."

"What Joe hakim says is true about Petronas employees. Being a MACOBA gives you an unmentioned advantage when it commes to employment and promotion prospects."

Well, what do you expect? The first Chairman of PETRONAS in 1974 was Ku Li (Old Boy) during the time of Tun Razak (Old Boy). Tan Sri Hassan Marican (Old Boy) is the current CEO/President of Petronas, where half the Vice PResidents of PETRONAS right now are Old Boys with hundreds of Senior General Managers, General Managers and Managers are Old Boys waiting to be promoted.

For other Old Boys Club like Victoria Institution, Royal Military College, Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Sekolah Datuk Abdul Razak and St John's Institution, you won't get the same chance as MC Old Boys in Petronas. Maybe Raja Petra can be a Vice President too if he applies. smilies/smiley.gif

By the way, there are many MC Old Boys who later on got married (either by choice or popular demand) to Tunku Kurshiah College girls. "Power Couples", people called them. Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad in one of them. One TKC girl who manages to succeed to the top without an MC hubby is Rosmah Mansur, as the self-acclaimed First Lady of Malaya (Perempuan Melayu Pertama). She is married (on paper) to Najib Tun Razak (St John's), who was once, funnily enough, a Petronas employee before joining politics after finding out that only MC Old Boys can climb the ladder of leadership in Petronas.

Interesting, right?
written by Aramsawafer, May 15, 2009 23:01:19
Everyone seems to have good words in one form or another about the founding fathers. The only person I admire are the Tunku and Tun Ismail. Ever since Merdeka, the Alliance and later the BN hold on power, after the Tunku, Malaysia was never the same. The taste and the love for power culminating until today has made the BN people more like vampire's love for blood. We know that History has proven beyond doubt that corrupted regime never last. Any regime which begin to become corrupt will progressively deteriorate until the day it falls. How fast it fall depends on how evil the regime becomes. Well, LKY of Singapore knows it and the BN people knows it as well. The difference is one side is willing to prevent it from happening or happening very very slowly and the other side is just not bother about it. Perhaps, this has got to do with mind set and culture. It is not to say the chinese and indian are not corrupt and the malay is. Well, generally all human beings are corrupt. You just need a strong willed person from letting it happen. Malaysia indeed need a dual party system to keep each other in check.
written by apa jadi, May 15, 2009 23:12:30
I, as a kampung boy who was still oblivious to the curfew imposed the next day, and walked to school and ushered home half way. As a small boy then, I still have no inkling over this national tragedy. However, this issue keep popping up over the media. I do not know the purpose of such reiteration of the tragedy.

Looking from the historical aspect, why has the truth be classified to such extent that different people writing up different version of the story? Is the truth such sizzling that it might explode on exposure?

My intuition tells me what Abdullah Ahmad wrote about the incidence, is no other than a spin to toady the new PM. While in the spinning process, the guilty ones has become the good men. The behaviours of these so called good ministers can be judged from their actions in other daily happenings before and after the tragedy. We do not need a spin doctor to tell us what the truth is.

Yes, I as a person who did not experience that trauma, would agree to forget about the whole tragedy and move on. But the stark irony is that there are people who keep these kind of life threatening behaviour time and again when they feel cornered. I need no elaborate here.

It will not happen until a clear and executable discrimination law be implemented in this country, indicting those who rile up racial sentiments. But a little reasoning will tell us who are condoning these racial hatred.

Can we achieve 1Malaysia? Or rather 1 black Malaysia? Your guess is as good as mine.
written by Milo, May 15, 2009 23:21:54
After the Perak fiasco, UMNO is more than ever on the way in its downward spin. You just can't believe that we have such goons running the country and the states. Now, even if Pakatan is not good, people will still be so fed-up with UMNO that they will just give the support to Pakatan.
written by raven1958, May 15, 2009 23:53:22
Geez....sounds like a breeding ground for creeps......but guess that's what boarding schools do to the human mind.......Will Malaysia be better off if all these old boys were made extinct.....
written by Sinewy, May 16, 2009 00:12:55
For political expediency and craze for power, those uncivilised and inhuman group had lashed out at those innocent lives and made the capital a killing field. If they were muslims, would they have any fear in God? I doubt so looking at the way they sprayed bullets into the crowd emerging from cinema.. and to say that what they did was to protect their race and religion, I wonder...
written by AlwaysFair, May 16, 2009 01:01:24
"But to forgive and forget there must first be remorse."

Who are you kidding? These people not only have never shown remorse they are
proud what happened. Only decent human beings feel remorse, some people have become not only indecent but also inhuman. So how are they capable of remorse? They not only deny the existence of this event 13th May some hypocrites like Mamak even dare criticise another country where apartheid was practised. Some spin the yarn that malays were provoked to murderous rage to justify the incident.

They die also won't admit wrong. Because you are asking the most powerful
political party to admit their empire was founded upon the cornerstone of
RIGHTS ROBBED FROM OTHERS AND MURDER MOST FOUL. You are asking them to admit
they robbed and by force subdued their foes who collaberated to form a
coalition formed by fear then progressed and cemented together from sharing
the lootings in this country.Corruption breeds corruption, it snow-balls.

Just look at Mamak who is so unrepentant he recently tried instigating the
Malays again whenever it is to his advantage.
All the years after the vile incident many chinese have migrated because of
such threats time and again.

I think some people are just so bad and corrupted they just can't see their
wrongs so RPK you are asking for the impossible.

Such people sure make their father proud. (the one with horns who appeared
in sept 11 disaster.)

On the other hand, with people like you RPK, small steps toward reconciliation are more possible then ever.Thumbs up for RPK!!!

written by AlwaysFair, May 16, 2009 01:05:33
Unfortunately RPK is only one of the RARE GEMS we have today...sigh... smilies/cry.gif
written by renoir, May 16, 2009 01:05:54
ramlisdar, SDAR was an excellent school, with very intelligent, hardworking, and ethical boys. It also has a good rugby team founded by a young Malaysian and an English VSO. The -16 team grew up and went all the way to the nationals. By that time, they must've been transferred to Seremban.

written by Admiral Tojo, May 16, 2009 01:30:46
I went to both Malay College and Royal Military College and look what happened to me. Sigh!!

written by onkassim, May 16, 2009 01:57:13
During the early days up to the 3rd PM, we seldom hear about high level corruption and there were many instances of Ministers forced to resigned whenever there is any hint of scandal incl. Nazri's dad Aziz Ishak who was Agri Minister, though none were ever prosecuted. The only person who was prosecuted for corruption (abuse of power) was the then MB of Selangor Dato Harun and deputy Minister Mokhtar Hashim. Justice Harun Hashim the then Head of the Anti-Corruption Agency and I think he really meant business. Eventually he was the judge who declared UMNO illegal in the late 80s. The rot started when Mahathir helmed the govt. as the 4th PM with his modernisation plan. He was assisted by Daim in reaching his goals. Slowly cronyism and corruption reared its ugly head in order meet Mahathir's objectives at any cost and this still persisted till this date. This was when the implementers taught themselves (perhaps goaded by the Contractors) how to make some money on the side and costs balooned with the numerous dubious Variation Orders. Direct negotiations was another method which bypasses competetive bidding controls. Under competitive bidding we would normally pre-qualify prospective bidders to ensure that they are sufficiently experienced and financially sound to complete the project successfully.
written by mowadoha, May 16, 2009 04:23:28
written by educationist, May 16, 2009 05:06:36
There can be no moving on as long as the UMNOputras insist on their version of May 13th.
The truth and facts need to be establish by an independent and neutral commission.
This will not happen as long as the umNOputras are in power.
written by *********, May 16, 2009 08:34:36
The has been and there will never be any remorse from Umno regarding it's role in May 13. Recent events have proven this from this Ketuanan Melayu party...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by harmanamri, May 16, 2009 09:51:08
Dollah Kok Lanas writes: "I recall clearly what Tun Razak told Harun “…the good news is you will continue to run Selangor. Chee Khoon and Chong Eu had just spoken to me that they want status quo preserved. So tell the people gathering at your house to disperse.”

So, Razak knew that the people gathering at Harun's house was because of the threat that UMNO would lose control of Selangor. Reading between the lines, Razak was telling Harun, no need to go ahead with our earlier plan. He was saying, in effect, "I have called Chee Khoon and Chong Eu and told them about what will happen if they don't come round to our way of thinking, and they have agreed".

Thank you Tan Sri Abdullah. Until today, I have never been sure abt Tun Razak's role in the May 13 incident.
written by harmanamri, May 16, 2009 10:14:01
onkassim,

Please get your facts right. Nazri's father was Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Yeop, he was a government servant not a politician. The Agriculture Minister was Abdul Aziz Ishak, younger brother of the first President of Singapore Yusuf Ishak. Mokhtar Hasim was not prosecuted for corruption but murder. He was found guilty but was pardoned by the Agong.

By the way, Pete, your list left out one very prominent old boy MCKK loose cannon, Sanusi Junid, the man responsible for UMNO being declared haram in 1988.
written by alarcarte, May 16, 2009 10:19:45
And it is very hard to find prostitutes in the massage parlours. Most of them are gainfully employed and can only be found in the Perak State Assembly.
------------------------

How true, its better to find prostitutes in other towns as the prostitutes in Perak have price themselves out! Imagine paying millions ringgit for a fat and half crippled chicken from Perak!
written by SamSan, May 16, 2009 10:55:21
The AMENO scumbag and moron Barking Magpie blogger has posted this about Uthayakumar which I am appending below.

Saturday, May 16, 2009
Should have not been released in the first place!
This is what this Hindraf guy Uthayakumar said about his struggle where his believes Malaysian Indians being ethnically cleansed in Malaysia!! He should be further be detained for spreading such falsehood! In his interview with a Singapore New Paper he said he favours violence to achieve what ever that he wants to achieve.
Hey, I will be the first Melayu that will be the first to defy the government if such accusation of Indian being ethnically cleansed being committed! (I will also not condone any Malay or Chinese fanatical political parties that subscribe to violent act!)
Brother Utahayakumar I do not know what possessed you to say such stupid thing but my friend I cannot support you and your violent streak in your statement you made last year in Singapore!
If you are being thrown back in the slammer you will and cannot get my sympathy!
This is written without any malice intended!
(It was reported that the government is considering reviewing Uthayakumar's release from detention)

My advice to this piece of AMENO shit blooger Barking Magpie, what is good for the goose is good for the gender. This bastard conveniently ignored what Kerimuddin and Najibuddin retorted with their Keris unsheated wanting chinesse blood.
written by Conan Chung, May 16, 2009 10:56:56

I have stayed in Ipoh for so many years and never once did I see a local "sweet little thing" around to spend a night with that requires "dough". All there is right now is "China Dolls" and maybe some "Aqua" standing behind my workplace...

If u ever dropped by Ipoh, let me bring you around and have a "good time"; just to reminisce the good old days? (BTW, i'm young enough to be your son-in-law)
written by timothy cheng, May 16, 2009 11:16:20
We need a national reconciliation program. Those who aggressed need to apologise to those who were oppressed. You can’t just say let’s forgive and forget. You also need to say sorry.

From the perspective of a student...I totally agree.

Timothy Cheng
Director of Unity and Community Affairs Bureau
Students' Representative Council 2008/2009
Universiti Malaya
written by eskimomalaya, May 16, 2009 13:49:45
*clap clap*
I'm printing the article, then post it on my office door. So that i don't have to explain myself every time.
written by Joe, May 16, 2009 14:12:06

Thank you for the nice article. I would like to say that one thing about Old school boys is that they all share, old school teachers. Do you know of the teachers they you have shared with some of the names mentioned above?

If so how much of those taught by the teachers seeped in to trigger the "loose cannon" mentality so many seem to indicate of you and your kin?

After all, it was recently teachers day, I think a mention to the ol MCKK teachers would be good. No?
written by Loh, May 16, 2009 14:25:42
///2.The tragic and vicious incident need not have happened had Tun Razak’s message to Dato’ Harun Idris, the menteri besar of Selangor, reached him 30-minutes earlier or had Tan Sri David Tan Chee Khoon and Tun Lim Chong Eu spoken to Tun Razak 30 minutes earlier relaying their decision not to cooperate with DAP to form the state government of Selangor nor worked together in Perak and elsewhere. I was beside Tun Razak when he took the calls from them late past tea time on the fateful evening of 13 May. I recall clearly what Tun Razak told Harun “…the good news is you will continue to run Selangor. Chee Khoon and Chong Eu had just spoken to me that they want status quo preserved. So tell the people gathering at your house to disperse.” Harun thanked Tun and asked him to convey his gratitude to the two statesmen. Between five-to-ten minutes after that Harun rang Tun Razak to say that it was too late. As he was persuading them to disperse news reached the crowd that clashes had begun in Chow Kit Road and surroundings and beyond.///-- Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad

Razak is dead, Harun is dead and if the author can be believed, he is the only person in this world now who can tell what caused May 13, by indicating what could have stopped May 13.

The phone call was half an hour late, from Razak to Harun. Harun was organizing something which needed not have been put in action had he received the call say one hour earlier. If Harun had not planned in what ended as May 13 riots, nothing would have happened even if the phone call did not come through. Tan Chee Khoon and Lim Chong Eu were then the Gerakan leaders, and they were totally entitled to decide what they wanted to do according to election results. They were not expected to forgo cooperation with DAP in Selangor, Perak or elsewhere. So the telephone could have prevented the incident, and that belated phone call was not the reason.What was most telling was the statement from Razak to Harun "tell the people gathering in your house to disperse". Razak knew of the people gathering at Harun's house. Why did Razak not tell Harun to get the people dispersed even without being told by Gerakan leaders of their decision. Surely Razak should have advised Harun to respect election results.

So Harun got the news too late to stop May 13. It proves that may 13 was a result of detailed planning linked to the election results of the state assembly in Selangor. How is it reasonable to claim that to prevent May 13, NEP had to be implemented?

Leaders in UMNO born after May 13 should read the letter by Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad.

There were others who blamed the demonstration by Gerakan and DAP as the cause of May 13. Granted that DAP and Gerakan did contribute to May 13, the cause is then a question of behaviour of party members after the election results had been announced. It was certainly not caused by the so-called economic disparity between races which had necessitated NEP. NEP is worse than SARS or swine flu.

///The Bumiputra must accept unequivocally the others are co-owners of this country as much as the others must also accept, recognise and acknowledge unequivocally the Bumiputra is the biggest demographic group and growing, therefore deserves some entitlements, though not at the expense of fairplay.///-- Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad

I am certain that the above ideas that bumiputras deserving some entitlement with fairplay did not come about before May 13, or NEP. When the author was candid in telling what happened on May 13 and yet harbours the thought that the people in Malaysia ought to be divided by race, the negative influence by TDM, the champion of race politics, proves to be deep rooted. When would people accept equality, and that one reaps what he sows, and that help should be given to the needy irrespective of race or religion if such assistance should be limited to Malaysians. People might not agree with Lee Kuan Yew, but his Malaysian Malaysia concept if not torpedoed by Syed Albar Jaafar, we would now be the second most developed society in Asia, after Japan.
written by Loh, May 16, 2009 14:28:09
///And the mark of sincerity is first to admit your mistake, and then apologise for it. And only after that can we ask all Malaysians to bury the past and move on to build a better Malaysia, a One Malaysia, as Najib Tun Razak said.///--RPK

The PM can apologise to Malaysians for the evils caused during the past 40 years. His apology would be meaningful because that could represent the son repenting on the wrong of the father.
written by Loh, May 16, 2009 14:29:14
Even though May 13 riots could not be stopped in time, it could have been treated as if an earthquake had struck. There was no need to capitalise on a tragedy to ensure that a party remain in power for all this while. What was more unforgivable was the sin in converting the tragedy of 'late communication' into a proof of ethic antagonism initiated by TDM who accused Tunku for not 'doing enough' for Malays. TDM wrote the "Malay dilemma' and even as late as this year claimed that non-Malays were not entitled to equal treatment because they did not want to be assimilated as Malays. The policies of divide and rule by TDM shows that he had evil intention all these years.

The UMNO leaders now did not experience May 13 and others were not born yet. Had they taken May 13 as a tragedy like volcano eruption, then they would wish that the tragedy would not repeat. But the Keris waver, the person who claimed to want to bath keris in Chinese blood knew that May 13 was a planned incident, though too late to be stopped. But since their fathers have shown them how to capitalise on the situation through NEP, they want it an implement to ensure that they stay in power, at all costs to the country.

May 13 only shows that UMNO leaders harboured evil thoughts. They did not accept election results in the first place. Having failed to prevent bloodbath, they took it as an added qualification for controlling the government and for ensuring vote banks to give the impression that the practice parliamentary democracy. The Perak debacle is yet another proof that UMNO does not accept election result if they have a way around it. The son is repeating the action of the father who must have given the permission for people to gather in MB Harun’s residence on May 13 exactly 40 years ago.
written by AlwaysFair, May 17, 2009 00:17:11
Of course we all have to move on, we cannot live in the past.
But I shall always remember I was nearly a victim.. nearly buried with the past.
I shall always remember......... smilies/angry.gif
written by renoir, May 17, 2009 01:20:01
Loh wrote:
>though May 13 riots could not be stopped in time, it could have been treated as if an earthquake had struck. There was no need to capitalise on a tragedy to ensure that a party remain in power for all this while.]]

It could be that the plotters saw the opportunities for further exploitation during the first weeks. As I implied, if the riots were spontaneous, it was just as quickly subside when the emotions were spent. But reports of incidents involving arson and isolated killing continued during those early weeks - and they were mostly initiated by one community. Since, from most sources available during that time, the culprits weren't locals, they were probably sent by some organization. To ensure less or no resistance, martial arts associations were banned. So, from these and other puzzling events, the picture of a planned campaign of intimidation seems obvious. And the apparent ease in which the new government was set up, along with race-based policies, provided the incentive for future threats of May 13th whenever the non-Malays start questioning policies such as the NEP. What the ruling party forgot is that with each threat their claims of provocation by the Opposition (for May 13th)becomes just that much less credible. For the implication is that, whether the nons show their penises or not, or mutter Mao slogans or not, there would be riots and killings if and when the ruling party does not get their way. In other words, nothing discredits the theory of an opposition-provoked May 13 more than the very fact that each time the nons want their rights as citizens, they were threatened with violence, sometimes as drastic as getting their blood drenched in kerises.
written by Diz, May 17, 2009 18:58:32
Hope this doesn't upset the MCGayGay boys, but I heard that the gov't has asked a large GLC to invest heavily in the school to help restore it to its former glory - privatisation (by another name) is meant to help set it apart from the run of the mill SKs. Heard another interesting snippet the other day: apparently 50% of the Victoria Institute (much better academically than MCGayGay) grads from the 70s and 80s who qualified as professionals (doctors, engineers etc) are working abroad. Go figure which 50%!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 17, 2009 19:02:14
I really2 have to write something here!
First, I quite enjoyed reading your piece here...all cleaverly written, humourous, but with serious undertones.
One thing that caught my attention though.."Hishamuddin Hussein (President of the Gay Club)...you sure or not?...hehehe...I am sure he must be fuming after reading that!
I'll be using your line "you lose interest after you make the withdrawal"..
Cheers and all the best in these very trying times!
written by tmf, May 18, 2009 00:34:15
Dear Loh, We got your point. Please do not keep what you know into eternity. At least continue to analyse May 13 with your sharp analysis.
written by honeylemon, May 18, 2009 13:21:13
Mama Juwie, you wrote "..One TKC girl who manages to succeed to the top without an MC hubby is Rosmah Mansur, as the self-acclaimed First Lady of Malaya (Perempuan Melayu Pertama)..."

Partially wrong there. Rosmah's first husband (before Najib got on top of her) was an MCKK oldboy. Rosmah left him for Najib because Najib's father was an mckk old boy. Then Rosmah the janda married Najib the duda.
written by renoir, May 18, 2009 15:49:41
Typo ... I wrote:
> As I implied, if the riots were spontaneous, it was just as quickly subside when the emotions were spent.]]

Should be: "As I implied, if the riots were spontaneous, it's reasonable to assume that they would just as quickly subside when the emotions were spent."

In a sense, we're grateful to UMNO for intermittently bringing up the May 13th tragedy. For we - the nation - must NOT forget how a small group of conspirators could destroy the generally harmonious relations that'd existed between the communities even before Merdeka.