Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Iban Student deprived of her rights

Iban Student deprived of her rights PDF Print
Friday, 15 May 2009 08:51

By The Broken Shield

It is indeed a sad story of a student, Nadia Selimin, who scored 9As and a B in her Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) early this year, but denied entry to further her studies at Kolej Matrikulasi just because her mother is a Chinese. Her father is an Iban, Selimin Kring.

Sad, because there is such a thing as prejudice being practised in Malaysia, despite the fact that we are supposed to be in the 21st century and has been independent for 46 years in the federation of Malaysia.

Her plight was brought up YB Mong Dagang, State assemblyman for Bukit Begunan at the Dewan Undangan Negeri meeting.

In fact under PM Najib Razak’s “One Malaysia” concept such prejudice should no longer exist. But yet Nadia’s case is a tip of the iceberg. There are many more silent sufferers of this biased policy of the government.

Read more at: http://thebrokenshield.blogspot.com/2009/05/iban-student-deprived-of-her-rights.html

written by MalaysianFirst, May 15, 2009 09:43:27
My heart goes out to Nadia Selimin. Do not give up. You'll eventually find your rainbow someday. Don't beg the enemy for help. Be strong.

written by TKAL, May 15, 2009 10:08:09
Is there any evidence showing that her rejection to pursue higher education was due to racist? If yes, she has every damn right to bring this to justice (though our judiciary is highly polluted) but at least making the issue big will at least give some pressure to the relevant authority.

There was once, my friend's application to one of the local U was rejected. And the dean actually told her that the result will be different if she is not a chinese. Frankly speaking, that really hurt. Unfortunately she cant file a case against the dean because cant prove him giving the statement later on.
written by RumahPanjai, May 15, 2009 10:09:45
So what is Yb Mong's BN doing about it? From the beginning since the formation of Malaysia, Sarawak has always been a Malaya colony. Racism in Malaya has now gain a foothold in Sarawak! In Sarawak her chinese mother is not a "pendatang". But dayaks are discrimnated as third class bumi or "others". Sad to say, in reality "Bumi status" is only for malays in Malaysia.
written by SimpleSoul, May 15, 2009 10:36:16
Nadia, I feel sorry for you! However you dont have to blame anyone but your own parents and other sarawakians. With all that is happening right now and before. Sarawakians keep voting for BN for god know reasons. With so many natural resources like oil and timber yet, Sarawakians remain in poverty except a handfull of people.

I wonder why is it that all these Sarawakian and Sabahans are so paranoid about. Selling your votes in exchange for your future. So scared to vote for opposotion if they wont get development(like there was any), scared if kena bomoh, or scared something bad happens to them. I really begin to wonder if the Sarawakian or mainly the Ibans, were they really head hunters or did they just chop the head of an already dead man to claim bravery. This is because, if you can behead a man to prove bravery I wonder why Ibans cant put and (X) for the oppositions on the ballot paper!
PS. I am not racist to East Malaysians but just frustrated with them. By the way my fiance is also a Sarawakian native smilies/sad.gif

written by Dominic, May 15, 2009 11:08:00
Thats what Najis 1Malaysia is all about yeh ! If you have just that so called Bumi blood,sure,theres no problem even if one end up like the called girl in Oxford street. Nadia,try private scholarship if I were you. Good luck.
written by Saint, May 15, 2009 11:50:34
So much for "ONE MALAYSIA" under BN.
written by Melly, May 15, 2009 12:12:10
This is one good reason, why selection criteria should be base on merits and contents of charecter. If the government collects tax from all irespective of colour, why discriminate a deserving citizen base on race?
written by Sinewy, May 15, 2009 14:14:12
East malaysians, don't you get it?? Many government administrators are given the racist UMNO BTN brainwashing about the Ketuanan melayu and the NEP at the expense of other malaysians. A lot of government administrators will be biased in their actions to serve the public. some of these biased morons see the non malays as the non deserving migrants who have come to this land to rob the malays. They don't care if these non malays have worked their heart and soul to achieve what they have...instead they become jealous and they will become arrogant to discriminate these non malays..I hope someone in the government service will be sane and courageous enough to change the mentality and attitude of these racist morons in the government..bearing in mind that their salaries re paid by the tax payers..which include the families of those deprived high achievers..So east malaysians, wake up...
written by Ungin Plangkan, May 15, 2009 15:26:07
Bro, you cannot blamed the sarawakian for being loyal to whatever parties they want to be but I think there are better-off than the 3 frog leaped dogie face ADUN from hmmm PERAK.In a way Sarawak voters are mostly old folks in the long houses and how do you changed their mentality ? What the government of the day BEEENNN is doing is just right. Giving developnent in a staggered mannner so that our longhouse folk are not exposed to the RPK waves. I bet u if they can feel RPK waves the not only beheaded they chop your koku,,,,, off