Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The critical 30 minutes

The critical 30 minutes PDF Print
Thursday, 14 May 2009 19:53

Razak asked Harun to calm the gathering and urged him, in strong terms, to attempt his best to stop the clashes from escalating. The rest, as they say, is history. Though Harun and I were not on good political terms, I must be fair. I think he did try, but by then, to no avail.

By ABDULLAH AHMAD/MySinchew

WHILE WE remember the 40th anniversary of the May 13 tragedy, we should move on. It's time for closure of the sad, very sad incident. The tragic and vicious incident need not have happened had Tun Razak's message to Datuk Harun Idris, the Mentri Besar of Selangor, reached him 30 minutes earlier or had Tan Sri David Tan Chee Khoon and Tun Lim Chong Eu spoken to Razak 30 minutes earlier relaying their decision not to cooperate with DAP to form the state government of Selangor nor to work together in Perak and elsewhere.

I was beside Razak when he took the calls from them late past tea time on the fateful evening of May 13. I recall clearly what Razak told Harun,"…the good news is you will continue to run Selangor. Chee Khoon and Chong Eu had just spoken to me that they want status quo preserved. So tell the people gathering at your house to disperse."

Harun thanked Razak and asked him to convey his gratitude to the two statesmen. Between five and ten minutes after that Harun rang Razak to say that it was too late. As he was persuading them to disperse news reached the crowd that clashes had begun in Chow Kit Road and surroundings and beyond.

Razak asked Harun to calm the gathering and urged him, in strong terms, to attempt his best to stop the clashes from escalating. The rest, as they say, is history. Though Harun and I were not on good political terms, I must be fair. I think he did try, but by then, to no avail.

I left for home about maghrib. I informed Musa Hitam what had happened and he asked his family to rush to my house in Jalan Bukit Bintang, a very Chinese area, and there was no trouble. I assured my Chinese neighbours and they, in turn, assured me we would work together maintain peace and confront whoever the outside trouble makers would be. Thank God, the troubles were localised.

This is just speculation. Had communications then been as good and advanced as today, I think the two things could have occurred: race riots would not have started or they could have been more brutal and widespread.

When the Pakatak Ralyat coalition unseated the BN govenrments in Selangor, Perak, Penang and Kedah last 8 March, there was no tensions, perhaps because every one was in a state of shock but plausibly, too, the incoming governments of PKR, DAP and PAS like the defeated ones, were also interracial.

The PKR, DAP and PAS alliance should be preserved. The PKR is about the nearest thing to being a genuine multi-racial party. There shall never be another May 13 like incident if the ruling coalition and the Pakatan share power or are perceived to be sharing power fairly and the government, whether Federal or State, observes the Constitution scrupulously, implements government policies justly without fear or favour where talent is not only recognised but rewarded irrespective of race or religion.

The public as well as the private sector must display and reflect that of the society we live in, not what we want it to be. The Bumiputra must accept unequivocally the others are co-owners of this country as much as the others must also accept, recognise, and acknowledge unequivocally the Bumipiutra as the biggest demographic group and growing, therefore deserves more entitlements, though not at the expense of fair play.

I am not a soothsayer nor a prophet of doom. I strive to tell what I perceive to be the truth. It does not seem the future of democracy in our nation is bright. A genuine two-party system is at last evolving after five decades of Merdeka.

If the Pakatan Rakyat state governments deliver what they promised and the Barisan stays cohesive and the rakyat see the bond or linkage is sustained, the alliance can be potentially potent.

However, having said that, please make no mistake of misjudging Najib. He is no Badawi; they are from different educational and social background. Najib is Tun Razak's son. He is more familiar with the viles of Malaysian voters; he is postively more Machiavellian, positively more able and aware than his predecessor who was badly advised by his family, cronies and toadies in government and the media.

If Najib performs well and the economy recovers, he is a tough nut to crack. His 1 Malaysia is good and if he is not distracted, and properly advised, you all will face a tough time. You must at least be well prepared and ready.

Najib may falter, which I think is not impossible, for he is not infallible. I am also very conscious how fallible I can be.

In politics, a week is a long time and logic doesn't always work. Always work hard and one must also do what one feels is right. The correct and sensible thing to do is to ensure that all Malaysians are treated justly in the public as well as the private sector. Our deomocracy can only flourish if we have a strong, free and independent media. Our future is very bright if Najib can deliver what he promises and the Pakatan fulfil its pledges. We aren't going to achieve what we desire. Worse if a nation is perceived to be not transparent, unjust and draconian. Let me repeat; a strong, free and independent media is critical for the future of Malaysian democracy.

The future of 1 Malaysia looks well if the PM can deliver what he promises and if the economy thrives. This can be done if we reconcile the past which none should forget with the present we must face, and the future we cannot avoid.

Whatever, the electoral test is in the next general elections. Najib has done well so far-challenging the rakyat's mindsets, that we are getting more colour blind, that the society wants equality for all. The question is can he deliver or do Malaysians believe he is a reformer?

Najibis a pragmatist, a realist, devoid of any ideology. He faces many crucial challenges, realities and new pains especially in Perak. It seems change is imminent, but some people seem unaware of this.

If any country is perceived to be unstable that would not be good for foreign investment or trade. In 2008, the ruling party polled just 51 per cent of the popular votes. In the Peninsula, it was below 50 per cent, I think it was 49 per cent. I stand corrected.

The story next time, unless Najib could reverse the trend, isn't likely to be very different from that of 2008, actually, it could be worse. The Pakatan will remain a force to be reckoned with, at least in 2012 or 2013 and in the future too.

All what Najib is trying to accomplish will be for naught if the country goes back to the days when political and social dissenters couldn't speak freely and peaceful protests are squelched and media managed and muzzled.

I do hope Najib means what he says-more political and media openess. I think a real political battle which vaguely approximates the best tradition has just begun; a personal battle between Najib and Anwar, BN and Pakatan; DAP and MCA and Gerakan; the MIC, PPP and Hindraf; Umno and PAS and the PKR bumiputra. The BN can no longer boast it can now be itensely relaxed as previously.

The outcome of which will decide the nature and feature of Malaysian nationhood. In the last analysis, who wins or loses, will be decided by the voters' perception of Najib and Anwar, their ideals and visions.

A former Parliamentarian and ambassador, ABDULLAH AHMAD was an aide to Tun Razak. He was previously NST group editor-in-chief and now a political anaylst and writer. This is the text of his speech at a forum on Wednesday 13 May in Petaling Jaya.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by *********, May 14, 2009 20:00:26
Racist BN with Umno, MCA and MIC will also stoke another May 13 for their own political survival. After all, BN inherited the divide and rule legacy from the British...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by Fuminari, May 14, 2009 20:12:15
"""The tragic and vicious incident need not have happened had Tun Razak's message to Datuk Harun Idris, the Mentri Besar of Selangor, reached him 30 minutes earlier or had Tan Sri David Tan Chee Khoon and Tun Lim Chong Eu spoken to Razak 30 minutes earlier relaying their decision not to cooperate with DAP to form the state government of Selangor nor to work together in Perak and elsewhere."""
this is a very solid proof that razak n umno were behind it.hence,'why selangor?',the answer is here!!
agree 137
written by Hakim Joe, May 14, 2009 20:14:44
Bullshit! Harun started it but he did not have to balls to stop it. And how did Razak know who to call? It was on his instructions so of course he knew! Stop trying to make those two look good. Or is it that senility is getting to you too?

agree 177
written by KC Chin, May 14, 2009 20:40:16
What a grand story and I don't buy it. Trying to portrait an evil looks like an angel.

Let see, UMNO and BN desparate for support from all race. What ever they have to do now is to make sure the next GE13 they can win big at least get 2/3 majority in the parliament. After winning GE13, UMNO will change back to old self, and amend all the present constitution to UMNO constitution. On top of it, all the Malaysia Law will be UMNO's law.

REMEMBER. NEVER EVER LET UMNO BN WIN THIS COMING GENERAL ELECTION.
agree 152
written by Lim Lim, May 14, 2009 20:43:13
bull's eye,preservation of power it was!!not for the malay but solely umno be end.
written by Lim Lim, May 14, 2009 20:53:16
""How can we justify chopping to pieces women and children and burning them while they are still alive in the name of politics? "" by RPK.
but umno did this forty years ago,today they are still using it to intimidate for votes or remain silenced!!
written by A MI, May 14, 2009 21:11:55
Dear YM RPK
Could you please tell your Superadmins to stop posting 1305 stuff.

Yes it will remain a dark patch in our history but there is little point in delving into it now. It will just churn up more negative feelings which we can do without.
BeEnd has been using 1305 to instill fear in the rakyat just before GEs. 1305 is to BeENd what Osama is to GW Bush!

Could we focus on, getting PR firs tto win Penanti by a bigger margin and also get them to pull up their socks to gain more rakyat's faith.
disagree 30
written by Badaksumbu, May 14, 2009 21:23:39
Abdullah Ahmad too I feel is a bit old fashion. The people who have been frastruted by the way BN led by UMNO is lmost at breaking point. The current PM isn't an asset to many young Malaysians. The May 13 occured during his father's reign. His unsettled murderd Mongolian woman, other missing people Bala, Shaiful, and his handling of Perak reflected tat something isn't s smooth as bdullah wants to see be unlike Abdullah Badawi but he too isn't people best choice UMNO membesr may be.
written by raven1958, May 14, 2009 21:29:00
Dollah...this is bullcrap...

Harun went to the Victoria Institution, read law at Middle Temple, London and was called to the English Bar in the mid 50s and was subsequently a Magistrate during the colonial era...he was no fool...he knew clearly what was right and wrong.....Razak was an equal crook in trying to grab power off the Tunku....Razak died of probably syphilis way before the Tunku died..all this talk about leukemia is a smoke screen....he was a ladies man not unlike his son....karma got to him....

But Hussein Onn, as straight as they come off the Military Academy in Dehradun, having served the Indian Army and the Middle East, was a level above these lanuns. He knew very well Harun's character and his slithery role in this entire affair...he had no qualms convicting him and throwing him in the slammer on corruption charges although the level of Harun's corruption will pale in comparison to that of Najib, Mahyudin, Toyol, Mat Taib, Mahathir, Daim and a whole lot of BN leaders......Harun never regained any respect nor credibility....he died virtually in solitary confinement never venturing outside his house after Mahathir (read co-conspirator) pardoned him.....

What Harun and Razak did to alot of innocent Malaysians was akin to what Maharaja Lela did to Birch...spearing him when he was defenceless because of his opposition to Lela's role in female Malay slavery....the only difference is, instead of the both of them being hung out to dry in Matang....fate got to them thru other means....May 13 will not disappear from the Malaysian psyche...for there will always be Dollah's trying to do a cover up......those apart from Harun and Razak who were directly responsible for this massacre walk around amongst us....Dollah should have had the decency to mention all the other names.....

The Tunku and Hussein Onn never rejoined UMNO....and there is a reason for this....come on Dollah...you know...I know...just spill it out....
written by mikewang, May 14, 2009 21:29:27
... and of course, there is the Anwar factor which you have conveniently ignored.

Najib may do a good job to the economics of this county.
However, there exists a person who is infinitely more charismatic than all UMNO put together.
Remember that we had an expanding economy when DSAI was the finance minister and it was during those years that the country achieved a balance budget with a much stronger ringgit.
I don't mind taking the risk with such a proven and visionary leader.
written by temenggong, May 14, 2009 21:33:10
Is this the same Abdullah Ahmad of Kok Lanas, who coined the word 'social contract' in 1986?
written by Sidq, May 14, 2009 21:41:53
Abdullah Ahmad ni bukan boleh dipercayi sangat. Look at his track record and life!!
written by PASOK, May 14, 2009 21:45:06
One day, in the not too distant future, when the Pakatan Rakyat comes to power, there will be a true account written of the events of May 1969.
It is then that the true murderous culprits of UMNO will be named and their names can be burned into the memory of all Malaysians as the greatest villains and psychopaths who ever ruled this country.
written by Goodbites, May 14, 2009 21:55:32
The instigators are equally guilty. They are the catalyst that started it in the first place.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, May 14, 2009 22:01:34
Hello Abdullah Ahmad, the whole thing was planned already - it had nothing to do with 30 mins.late or 30 mins early. News had it that they already forsaw the winning and when the Chinese ( damn stupid of them ) took to the streets, that was it. It sparked the plan to prevent the Chinese from taking over the rights of the Malays. The cauldron already boiled over.

You speak bullcrap and dog shit.

My dad's friends who had intermarried were scared to the bones. My own friends saw the killings and they had to hide and they saw the bodies being chopped up and put into bins and also into army trucks. Some of the bins and bags were brought to the river and dumped inside. Nice food for the fish.

We should have a whole new perspective of looking at it and call it what it was - ehtnic cleansing. Then only can we start the healing. But the problem is still here and being perpetuated by BN ( UMNO, MCA and MIC etc included ). Show us the real thing and then we can start believing. Implement the rule of law and justice and we can see the light. Don't talk and do something else. Abdullah Ahmad is pulling the wool over our eyes. Let us be fair and just.
written by bknight, May 14, 2009 22:02:04
MI,

why must the admin stop posting stuff about 513 ? this is history, is lessons learn. many young generations should be reminded of the past, so the same mistake shall not repeat. the truth will reunite us, it was the suppression of the truth that created the mindset of the older generations of our ppl.

i believe most malaysian is fair minded and know how to evaluate the writings.

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, May 14, 2009 22:02:38
sorry ethnic cleansing. Sp. mistake.
written by joeawk, May 14, 2009 22:14:58
So, this ultra malay sounded like he has mellowed. Not too bad but a little too late. But, it is true, there is no point in bringing up May 13 anymore. However, it maight be good for students but then, which version of May 13, are you going to teach the students.

Tunku said Razak has a part tomplay but the write is trying to clear Razak, lest Najib is indirectly implicated. Good try but no, Najib cannot be right. Just look at Perak. Can anyone said that he is right. He is wrong from beginning and will remain wrong until the end unless he quickly dissolve the Perak State Assembly instead of pushing it to the Sultan.

He seeks cooperation from Pakatan and ask Pakatan not to set conditions but instead UMNO is setting condition for the meet. That does not strike one that he is sincere in resolving the Perak fiasco.

Can UMNO allow BN and Pakatan to have a fair fight. UMNO has known no failure until March'08 and UMNO is still struggling to come to terms with March '08.

There are simply too many cronies even at State level. They are struggling. Coupled witht the economic slowdown, it is doubly painful when contracts are less forthcoming and under competitive tender, the margin is much thinner.
written by Spear Bing, May 14, 2009 22:17:54
Abdullah Ahmad can continue to praise and talk about Najib and his 1Malaysia vision until kingdom comes, but as long as he conveniently refuses to address the allegations about his and her wife's involvement in the Mongolian lady murder, the sword of Damocles will continue to hang above his head .....until kingdom comes.

That, my friend, is the crux of the matter vis-a-vis the Rakyat's perception on Najib's integrity and accountability. As the No 1 Public Servant leading the nation, he will be subjected perennially to public scrutiny.

By continuing to bite the bullet would not help him to clear his tainted image, by ignoring this scandal will not endear him the pleasantries from the citizenry.

Salam.
written by wishuponastar, May 14, 2009 22:29:31
And Ahmad Abdullah how do you explain these words spoken by our beloved Tunku?

To this day I find it very hard to believe that Razak, whom I had known for so many years, would agree to work against me in this way.

Actually, he was in my house as I was preparing to return to Kedah and I overhead him speaking to Harun over the phone saying that he would be willing to approve the permit when I left. I really could not believe what I was hearing and preferred to think it was about some other permit. In any case, as the Deputy Prime Minister in my absence from KL, he would be the Acting PM and would override my objection. Accordingly, when I was in my home in Kedah, I heard over the radio that the permit had been approved.

It seems as though the expected trouble was anticipated and planned for by Harun and his UMNO Youth. After the humiliating insults hurled by the non-Malays, especially the Chinese, and after the seeming
loss of Malay political power to them, they were clearly ready for some retaliatory action. After meeting in large numbers at Harun’s official residence in Jalan Raja Muda near Kampong Bahru and hearing inflammatory
speeches by Harun and other leaders, they prepared themselves by tying ribbon strips on their foreheads and set out to kill Chinese. The first hapless victims were two of them in a van opposite Harun’s house who
were innocently watching the large gathering. Little did they know that they would be killed on the spot.

The rest is history. I am sorry but I must end this discussion now because it really pains me as the Father of Merdeka to have to relive those terrible moments. I have often wondered why God made me live long
enough to have witnessed my beloved Malays and Chinese citizens killing each other.’
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2009 22:29:44
30 minutes to quell the "riots" - that's a damning indictment if you ask me
And diametrically opposed view from a close associate of the masterminds, to Jebat's "rebuttals"/ "excuses" for the shameful day in "The 'correct' version" ..... and mind you Pt 3 is coming soon!!

Incidentally, Umno wears it a badge with pride, while denying its role!
Funny people these Umno-ites .... smilies/tongue.gif
written by mypanida, May 14, 2009 22:50:33
What a load of BOLLOCKS !!!!

We are not afraid of those HANTU TETEK anymore.

Those who want to plan another 513 will be hunted down mercilessly and we know who you are, where you are. You and your families are no longer safe, even overseas. We learned a lot from Simon Wiesenthal Center and those harbouring any illwills against any Malaysians will be hunted down like animals.

You can run but you cannot hide, wherever you are.....Let this be a WARNING to all those muthafcukers that if any untowards incidents happen, your kindred overseas will be targeted as paybacks.
written by AlwaysFair, May 14, 2009 22:52:27
"I think he did try, but by then, to no avail. "

If you mean he got smitten by guilty conscience and tried to cancell his evil plans of the slaughter of the innocents then at least it is commendable.

No! No! He was not in the least like what you paint him to be.
Both conspirators knew they have won therefore there was no need to resort to killing.

The fact the call was made by the 2 chinese guys mean that possibly they want to avert such impending disaster for their people so they relinquished their power.
In the end it was still too late, the evil was still unleashed.

Though you try to make your previous master look nicer, they are just like cheap Mat Rempits ,"Slash and grab wallets'" type of MONSTERS.
So long you grab and gain doesn't matter someone's son died or someones father died of the pregnant woman died. Only your own life matter. (VOMIT!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Daryl, May 14, 2009 23:05:19
IS good to know the background of what took place but it is very disturbing that race come in as root of the problem. You can try but your are guilty of instigation when there are so many ways to solve the issues. So, Harun or Razak failed rakyat and also put one of the black eye on Malaysia's short history. What we do is acknowledge it and vow for it never to happen again and get rid of racist politicians. Is UMNO up to that...? No they are not.

On the unity and cooperation. Please do not and we must not preach unity government because the only party lost in that is rakyat. We rakyat want option to keep politicians on their toes. So, rakyat we do not want any part of unity government. We want good government and oppositions that keep the government honest either in state or federal.
written by advocatusdiaboli, May 14, 2009 23:37:16
My father who was there when May 13 happened told me this, "It was Razak, Harun and his gang who started it all. My father and my late mother saw the destruction around them during May 13. My father is still alive and if anyone asks him about May 13 he will still say it was Razak who was the chief architect. My father had a lot of respect for Harun but after May 13 he sees Harun like some dirt. UMNO is guilty as hell for this. Razak could not enjoy the Prime Ministers post for long. That is Karma. My father also told me that there were other players in this shameful incident too. And he also told me that some of them who knew this is going to happen within UMNO circles just kept quiet. UMNO, you will have to pay for this. Curse you UMNO! Murderers!
written by budaktapah, May 15, 2009 00:04:30
Najib is a proven ten tongue liar...remember when he said that he had never meet that saiful anal guy...
written by Lim Lim, May 15, 2009 00:08:29
this is from another MT string,
May 13, 2009 19:27:04
""we don't hav to wait until Dr kua come up with his book,i was twelve then n i already knew that it was such a brutal n inhuman scheme by abdul razak to oust tengku abdul rahman in thier own political struggle!!harun idris was merely the one used to put up the babaric show time of killing field!!it was an act by the inhuman umno's desperate act for their own preservation of power after their debacle in 1969 GE!!ask urself,why selangor??please go back to the DUN situation then,check it out on the historical configuration of adun for oppositon,for the perikatan(BN) n the independence n one would be able to see the clearer picture.what transpired after the math?it was not much different from perak today!!Dr kua merely came in with more declassified facts.so,jebat must die,please stop the spinning!!! ""
written by Sinewy, May 15, 2009 00:42:20
"the Bumipiutra as the biggest demographic group and growing, therefore deserves more entitlements"
It is this sort of mentality of some malaysian that is dragging the country down. What is meant by entitlement? Do you mean some malaysians have more enetitlement than the others? A strong malaysia should be a country that provide equal treatment to all deserving bright citizens to achieve excellence while the less advantaged group like those in the rural and agricultural sector will be given assistance by the government to build a stronger economic foundation for them to stand up and compete in the future for their betterment. If a country doesn't work on this basis, then it doesn't have a wise and just govenrment.
written by cheekhiaw, May 15, 2009 00:42:41
30 minutes is nothing in the evolution of wild animals or mankind. Don't kid yourself...

written by Sinewy, May 15, 2009 00:49:00
You mean the killing field on that fateful day happened because UMNO thought they had failed to form the selangor government and the chinese were in control? Is UMNO mental state similar to the khmer rouge? I hope not..
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 15, 2009 00:49:42
Brother Pete,
I was just about to switch off the computer when I keep on reading about your posted articles “The Critical 30 Minutes”...........I was shock and surprised when I read the articles as well as the comments made by fellow readers.........Are you thinking of what am I thinking????Is it possible that 13th May 1969 was generated and started by One of Our P**** M*******???...........Like your Claimed that The Death of A******** was also master mind by Our P**** M******* also........I hope that The Malay Proverb “Ke mana lagi tumpahnya kuah kalau tidak ke Nasi”........If it is so then.................I am pity myself...........my children...........and my fellow ordinary Malaysian............ I am no longer feeling sleepy after reading all that articles and comments just now...............
Allow me to repost back what I have wrote in one of my favourite blogs (which happened to be one of your colleague Bloggers, I presumed)
Brother Sheih,
I am glad that during 13 of May 1969……my Father (deceased) has not been involved in the mayhem even though he is a soldier……, Otherwise I don’t know how He will felt towards my Mother and My Grandparents…….I was told that he involved in the demolition (engineering squadron)in one of the Old Mosque (to make way for a New State Mosque) using explosives……and he had never bomb any human being during all his services with the British and Malaysian Armies except shooting some communist insurgents and some infiltrators during “Konfrontasi Indonesia” (never shoot the fellow Malaysian)but while in Congo???? I never knew otherwise ‘Barrack Obama’ and ‘Nelson Mandela’ won’t forgive me,,,. .Ehm!…Ehm! ….Ehm!… Excuse me..….and my wife is mixed races too…… Thank You God ……So is this races matter that much???………Like ‘Scatman World’ Song’s Lyrics……. ””Scatman….Fatman….****Man…..Tell Me The Color Of Your Soul!””………Get it???……..The Color Of Your Soul!!!………Does it have any Color?????……… Tell me because I wanted to know……….
written by AlwaysFair, May 15, 2009 01:43:08
OH? No wonder now when opposition won elections they dare not to parade. Because scared get slaughtered by jealous goons who feel instigated because they are bad loosers. Haunted by the past shadows.

Next time when you lost a match, eg. Lee Chong Wei against Lin Dan, Lee should grab the medal from the champion and say it is his? Because this guy was so vulgar in jumping about, throwing his shoes at the crowd and waving the cup so jubilantly, without any regard to the loosers feeling which are very sore?

Do not give any excuse for murdering innocent people because the ones killed are not those who were parading you see?

This is not a conspiracy theory only but common knowledge, only whispered about because it is considered seditious. Anyway some people just can't see the light.

written by La Cha Mau, May 15, 2009 02:22:47
I was totally in shock last night. No, not from what has been posted here but what was reported in prime time 8pm news on NTV7 i.e. that thousands were killed on May 13 and the few days following it. The Malaysian Government lied big time because I still remembered reading in the Straits Times that only about 186 people were killed. Now, after 40 years, the truth has emerged that THOUSANDS were butchered. And this fact is reported in May 2009 by a TV station practically owned by the Malaysian Government. I repeat THOUSANDS were butchered including my kinfolks. Now I pray every night to Almighty Satan for justice to appease the souls of the butchered.
written by Orang Muda, May 15, 2009 02:35:46
Guys,

I think many of us kind of misunderstood this man and have somehow gotten a bit over reacted.

This piece is basically extracted from Tan Seri's own speech delivered at the forum "From 513 to 1Malaysia" organized by PR recently. Along with others PR heavyweight speakers such as Anwar, Lim Kit Siang and Nizar, (where Nizar' speech was just spectacular!) Tan Seri was one of the non-PR speakers invited to give a talk on his experience of 513.

I strongly recommend that some of us to watch the entire unedited version of his original speech on Youtube to gain a more balanced perspective. You might change your perception once you listen to this man with your own ears:

Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gALmuUL_se4

Part2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMDGC2D4vrs

If we were to watch his entire speech in the original context (especially part 2), you would realize that a large portion of his speech have been left out from the above writing, which made the message ended up to be something else. His original speech is actually quite objective and fair, and one can even considered it to be rather "Pro-PR" in overall (consider the fact that it came from someone of UMNO/BN background.) Many of his statements even brought about large applause from the audience.

I find that the writing above has somehow failed to convey the original messege of his speech- especially when one can't read tone and emotion from the writing.

His remarks on Tun Razak and Datuk Harun Idris are only a small part of his entire speech.

In 2nd part of his speech, he basically complimented PR on their success as a multi-racial political coalition, unlike the race-based political approach of BN/UMNO back then in 513. That's why the recent victory of 308 did not bring about the similar blood-shedding incidents of 513, according to this man.

He then encouraged PR to keep up the good job. But in order to succeed, he went on to give them a very friendly warning and advice- not to make any mistake of under estimate their rival, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who is no Abdullah Badawi according to him. What many of us here read as "shoes polishing" statements of Najib are merely Tan Seri's honest feedback based on his own personal encounter of Naijb, whom he got to know since high school.

Tan Seri basically warned PR that Najib is a tough nut to be cracked. They better be prepared for a tough fight ahead if they want to keep their political ideology alive.

I personally don't feel that he is trying to justify Tun Razak and Datuk Harun Idris, he is merely making the point that a mere 30 minutes earlier might have changed the entire history in retrospect. He is simply giving a piece of historical record out of his own experience. (again, this is what I personally gathered from his speech, please don't "kill" me if after listening to the speech you somehow get the opposite and beg to differ smilies/wink.gif - but at least you watch the original speech before jumping to conclusion)

Sure, we can argue and disagree with what he said about Tun Razak and Harun Idris, but in comparison with some of the most racist and insensitive remarks constantly thrown at us by certain politicians in recent years, one would then find Tan Seri's overall speech to be very friendly, uplifting and refreshing, more so when it's delivered in the midst of this current political turmoil.
written by roadbarra, May 15, 2009 03:24:51
I don't think I can buy this story. Too good to be true.
written by sampalee, May 15, 2009 03:34:07
Politic is just a power game with rakyats used as chess pieces.Like any game,the object is to win and the winner rewarded.Only religions cared for All and is above politics which is divisive.Spiritual wisdom Unites and the absolute nature of Truth does not allow for any form of game,that require more than one players.In Truth,there can only be ONE[non-dual]all games are stillborn and peace prevail.
Wake up to the destructive nature of politic and return to the kithab.
written by LFLee, May 15, 2009 03:36:54
Yea, Harun tried, damn you, liar!
513 is definitely a planned event by UMNO, now you want to spin the
story? GO TO HELL!

Go to Hell Racist UMNO!
written by educationist, May 15, 2009 04:49:41
I was a young boy of 12 at the time of may 13th 1969.
Living in a chinese area in KL, my sustained memory of that dark event was some police personnel rushing onto the road in front of my house and firing a few shots in the air, as a lot of the adutlts were hanging around ignoring the imposed curfew.
The writer's narration of events may be true, but we'll never know.
But seared in my memory is the belief prevalent from the time that Razak and Harun were the masterminds behind the massacres.
written by Msian Idol3, May 15, 2009 05:24:08
Time to heal the wounds suffered by all races. The truth about the incident is an excellent measure with appropriate justice meted out to those who planned such massacres. Yes, my dad was saved by a senior malay man in Gombak, not once but twice in different locations by different malays. We are so thankful to these unknown hero's & for generations the same stories will be passed on. May 13th should be made a public holiday in remembrance of the innocent lives lost as well as to enshrine the fact that unity matters.
written by Angela Ooi, May 15, 2009 06:36:00
'Najid is a pragmatist, a realist, devoid of any ideology....'

Najis is a pig, a racist, deemed a murderous devil.
written by NSTPravda, May 15, 2009 07:36:24
"I do hope Najib means what he says-more political and media openess. I think a real political battle which vaguely approximates the best tradition has just begun; a personal battle between Najib and Anwar,... "

How can he be anything but a moral cripple as long as he doesn't clear Altantuya's skeleton from his cupboard?
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by HCK23, May 15, 2009 08:10:41
Razak n Najib... like father like son. So is he going to start 1305 or it has started 0705? So Harun started it and blame the chinese. Like Najib he started it and turn bad blame it on PR. The 'Blame' genes is running in his blood. The Rakyat and Royal 'blame' Najib for happaned in Perak. What a shamful genes you have.
written by thor, May 15, 2009 08:11:49
TUNKU was a gentleman, when he broke the news on TV abt this he cried, a compassionate man. One who cldn't understand why people he trusted cld do such things.

Another thing u don't see TUNKU's children entering politics to be successful in their business or professional. Good upbringing on the real values that one shld hve in life. Ultimately, we will only leave deeds of our past behind, don't think u can bring yr cheque book along nor the place where we r going after this also don't pay yr pension. smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 15, 2009 08:47:04
Budak Tapah,
Just for a joke and I hope you won’t mind…………..When I am still very small, my grandmother (father side) use to tell me and my cousins like this………..”If any of my grandchildren dares to tells a lie and cheats their parents or ‘Nenek’…….His or her tongue will be cut off by the burning scissors from hell”……And I can’t imagine if N**** got ten tongue and lying like you said…….Wow! It will be very painful too!!!.........And a very busy day for that scissors from hell to cut of all the tongues just from one person only…….And imagine if all the people got so many tongues in the hell…………scarryyy!!! Heh…heh….heh…..
written by evaangel, May 15, 2009 08:52:11
When I read this post, I was reminded of another incident in history involving QE1 and Mary Queen of Scots.
For those of you unfamiliar with history - Mary Queen of Scots was Elizabeth's half sister and a threat to the throne as she had catholic support whereas Elizabeth was a protestant. Mary was imprisoned in the confines of her own castle for this very reason.
According to history Elizabeth ummmed and ahhhed about whether she should execute her own sister - not because of any family ties but more fear of the catholic backlash and the questioning of the Divine Right of Kings. She finally did and entrusted the death warrant to her privy councillor...
... who ordered the execution before Elizabeth could change her mind.
So Mary was sent to the chopping block.
When Elizabeth heard about this, she was angry and sent a messenger to reverse this decision.
But he arrived... perhaps... 30 minutes too late?
Anyway - more heads did roll and the queen was able to avoid a political backlash because..."Look see I didn't really want that to happen and I tried to stop it but we were too late...."
Um... yeah... right.
written by wongnoball, May 15, 2009 14:35:54
Dear Rohani Hitam,

Okay lah, I will tell DAP next time don't become so 'rude' lah.
I hope you can also tell SOME of the Malays don't be so uncivilized also.

Thank you. Have a good day.

smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by panca, May 15, 2009 15:11:27
To be fair to him.......the 30 mins thingy.
Why 30 mins earlier and later? Wasn't that a threat already registered in the way it started with the racial riot was already underway? Because the two opposition leaders will not(must not) join the other opposition!? It is so obvious that it was perpetrated to keep them in power!

I can see his intention might be good but with the two opposition leaders had to be in such position draws a very clear fact that there will be no stopping of what was going to bloody happen that day!

As it is said, we want to know what needs to be told with maturity.

To be fair.....I don't buy by the playing down than what actually happened and sadly the threat is as old and as new as when people did not learn to be truthful to be buried away.
written by apa jadi, May 16, 2009 23:42:12
A simple and short comment to this spin by Abdullah Ahmad: A whitewash to bleach clean all the sins of the new PM's father and the Nazi Harun.
written by mountainking, May 19, 2009 17:45:45
"Razak told Harun,"…the good news is you will continue to run Selangor. Chee Khoon and Chong Eu had just spoken to me that they want status quo preserved. So tell the people gathering at your house to disperse."

does that mean in UMNO's mind, harun at all cost must retain as MB of selangor and unwilling to let go even though has lost it. even if DAP and the rest of the BN components at tat time wanted to work together, is there a need for bloodshed?

question that is unanswered:
1. can't UMNO lose graciously and passed on the MB and the state?
2. why harun and razak planned it in the very first place?
3. does that mean this is how UMNO show might to kill the anti-establishment people?

conclusion:
UMNO is evil
UMNO is bastard
UMNO is worse than beasts
UMNO is cold-blooded
UMNO is nothing but bad
UMNO is beyond redemption
UMNO is the evil in this country