Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Open letter to the Minister of Information, Communications and Culture, Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim

Open letter to the Minister of Information, Communications and Culture, Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim PDF Print
Thursday, 14 May 2009 18:05

Okay, on the point that I only criticise and never praise. That too is also true. But while I criticise the federal government, which happens to be Barisan Nasional, I also criticise the state governments, which are not all Barisan Nasional.

Dear Datuk Seri,

I read your interview in Malaysiakini yesterday, which I believe was an extract of your interview with the BBC the same day. I really have no quarrel with what you said merely because I believe everyone is entitled to his and her views and that we should respect this. Of course, this does not mean we must agree with these views. We are definitely at liberty to disagree with them. But just because we disagree with them does not mean we should silence these people and not allow them to express their opinions.

On the point that I never say nice things about the government but only know how to criticise, I would also certainly agree with you and will plead guilty as charged. Have you, however, maybe not noticed that I also never say nice things about the opposition as well?

When have I ever said even one nice thing about Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Hadi Awang, Lim Guan Eng, Nik Aziz, Ustaz Azizan, Tan Sri Khalid, Nizar Jamaluddin, or whoever? But I did say I think Khairy Jamaluddin is very intelligent and that I have confidence he might yet become Prime Minister at the age of 40. And I said Matthias Chang, Mahathir’s adviser whom you also know well enough, is a genius, and whatnot.

And did you read the comments my readers posted in Malaysia Today? They called me a Mahathir stooge, a Mahathir boot-licker, and much worse.

So, while I may not say nice things about the government, neither do I say nice things about the opposition. Would you, therefore, not consider that as balanced?

Okay, on the point that I only criticise and never praise. That too is also true. But while I criticise the federal government, which happens to be Barisan Nasional, I also criticise the state governments, which are not all Barisan Nasional.

Now, Datuk Seri, this fact may have escaped you. I criticise the Pakatan Rakyat states like Kelantan, Kedah, Penang and Selangor, and before this Perak, but have you ever seen me criticising states like Johor, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang and so on?

Yes, that’s right, I whack Pakatan Rakyat state governments good and proper. But I never touch Barisan Nasional state governments. Okay, I did write about the RM7 billion Wang Ehsan for Terengganu, which has been pilfered. But, hey, even His Majesty the Agong is upset about this. Why do you think Tuanku rejected Idris Jusoh as Menteri Besar if not for the fact that Idris was managing the Wang Ehsan since 2000 and most of it had ‘evaporated’.

I admit I also whacked Sabah and Sarawak on what these two states did to their timber resources. But let’s face it, Datuk Seri, are you not also personally outraged by what these two states have done to forests that took millions of years to develop? And is it not downright criminal that what took millions of years to develop was utterly destroyed in less than 30 years?

One more point I would like to make here, Datuk Seri, I do not praise the federal government or state governments because I consider it their duty to do good things. For example, if I pay someone to repair my toilet, and if I am paying a hell of a lot of money on top of that, I expect the job to be done well. If the toilet still can’t flush then I am going to complain like hell. I would probably also refuse to pay the bill until the chap redoes it properly this time. But if he did a great job I will just pay him his money and would most likely call him again the next time I need my toilets repaired. But I am not going to pat the chap on the head and say, “Good boy. Clever boy.” Or whatever.

Have you seen how rich people summon waiters in an expensive restaurant? They click their fingers and scowl if the waiter is too slow and will order their food and drinks without even looking the waiter in the face or offering the poor chap a smile. Why? Well, these rich people are paying good money for the service so they need not be nice to the hired hands.

You give them the bill and they pay, never mind how much it may be, and they may even include a 10% tip if there is no service charge and if they are satisfied with the service. But they are definitely not going to summon the manager and tell the manager how great his waiter is and that he should be given a raise. But if they are not satisfied with the service, they will certainly call the manager and complain and demand that the waiter be sacked or something like that.

This is a fact of life, Datuk Seri. We are paying good money, a lot of money in fact, to upkeep our government. We are paying you to do a job. Our hard-earned money is paying for the cost of this government. You do a good job and we continue employing you. You do a bad job and we kick your sorry behind. But we are not going to sing your praises just because you did something you were supposed to do in the first place.

Okay, now on the point that I have libelled or defamed people and that action would have to be taken against anyone who commits such crimes.

Around two years or so ago, I wrote something about Zaid Ibrahim, who was then a Minister in Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s government. Zaid did not sue me or make a police report against me, as do the other Umno people. Instead, he replied to the allegation in writing and I published his letter in Malaysia Today so that the readers can decide for themselves who is right and who is wrong.

The readers were delighted and full of praise for Zaid, in spite of the fact he is, at that time, an Umno Minister and the readers were mostly opposition supporters. After reading his letter, they believed Zaid’s interpretation of events rather than the interpretation of the one who made the allegation against him. In short, Zaid won the ‘argument’ because he rebutted it in a civilised and matured manner.

On the other hand, how do the rest of the Umno people respond to allegations? They just deny, deny and deny. But they never rebut the allegation or give their side of the story. Then they make police reports against me and ask that I be arrested or detained without trial under the Internal Security Act. Umno Bloggers suggest that a war should be waged against us and that the government should deal with us the way the Sri Lankan government deals with the LTTE. Others suggest I should be killed with a bullet in my head and e-mails are sent to me threatening the life of my daughter.

Datuk Seri, are you aware of what is happening in Sri Lanka? Do you know the carnage going on in that country? I would not wish for something like that even on my most bitter enemies. How can we justify chopping to pieces women and children and burning them while they are still alive in the name of politics? I would not even do that to dogs and cats. But the Umno Bloggers feel that this is the most appropriate punishment for those who oppose the government.

Do you remember, Datuk Seri, more than two years ago I ran a series of 12 articles about the links between the police and the underworld? Were all these lies? I included eight Affidavits by senior police officers, another two Affidavits by underworld bosses, and two police reports by a police officer and his wife. That is 12 documents in all.

We are not talking about mere articles here, Datuk Seri. We are talking about Affidavits and police reports. I even made an appointment to meet Dr Mahathir and handed copies of all these documents to Tun. And I believe Tun spoke to ex-IGP Hanif about it; who in turn then spoke to the IGP.

Datuk Seri, you can personally speak to Dr Mahathir and ask him whether what I say is true or not. I did everything I could to make sure this matter was looked into. But was it? What action was taken? Instead, I was scolded by the Selangor Sultan who accused me of lying in an attempt to smear the good name of the IGP. It seems they complained to the Sultan about what I had done. That 12-series revelation against the IGP was the beginning of my crisis with the Sultan. Jojo was there. He can confirm this incident if you wish to seek clarification.

For your information, Datuk Seri, in spite of the many Affidavits and police reports I was given, I still did not take all these at face value just yet. I met up with someone very senior in the police force who works in the IGP’s office and ‘interviewed’ him about all these allegations regarding the links between the IGP and BK Tan. This man produced documents to prove that BK Tan decided on which police officer got promoted, which got transferred, and which got sent into cold storage for refusing to cooperate.

I was invited to dinner at a very expensive Japanese restaurant by a few very senior but retired police officers who wanted me to reveal where my sources came from. That was in fact the second meeting. Earlier, I was invited to dinner by very senior but retired Special Branch officers, who also wanted to know the same thing. On both occasions I did not hold back anything and told them what they wanted to know.

What transpired from all this effort? Was anything done about the matter? As far as I can see, the IGP is still in office while all those I named as my source have been ‘eliminated’. Instead of using this information and evidence to take action against the IGP, what happened was the whistleblowers were severely dealt with. Even the lawyer who acted on behalf of one of the police officers was roughly manhandled and arrested in his office and was made to spend a night in the Putrajaya lockup on Hari Raya eve.

Therefore, Datuk Seri, what do I do? Do I attempt to solve this through ‘normal channels’ like in the past and expose all my sources to risk, like what has been proven thus far? Or do I bang away as you and Umno said, making ‘false allegations’? How do you know they are false allegations? Is it because I offered no evidence so therefore they must be false? But the problem is, even when I do offer evidence, the evidence is destroyed while the whistleblowers suffer retaliation.

Let us talk about the ‘hottest’ allegation I have made thus far which appears to be what has made Umno all hot around the collar. And this is of course my Statutory Declaration.

When I was under ISA detention in September last year, Datuk Zamri Ahmad interrogated me about that SD. You may know his father very well, Ahmad Sarji. Now, Zamri is not just any Special Branch officer. He is quite senior and tipped to be the future Director of the Special Branch, maybe within ten years or so from now.

I told Zamri everything he wanted to know. I revealed the source. Zamri confirmed he personally knows the source. Okay, what did the Special Branch do with that information? Did they act on it? So you see, Datuk Seri, it is well and fine to scream that we Bloggers are irresponsible and make wild allegations and never support these allegation with evidence. But even when we do prove it or support our allegations with evidence or reveal our sources, either nothing is done or our sources face the wrath of the powers-that-be.

When I revealed information regarding the RM200 million jetliner which Pak Lah bought for his personal use, it was denied and we were accused of lying. In fact, one of those who fed me this information and helped me with the technical details of the jetliner is an Umno Blogger, Zakir, who runs BigDogDotCom (http://bigdogdotcom.wordpress.com/). You can read his piece called Raja Petra the compulsive liar.

You see, Datuk Seri, I am not a technical person or a plane enthusiast. So I know very little about the technical specifications of aeroplanes. Zakir, however, is an expert on the matter and he helped put the report together. In fact, his Blog came out with the full report earlier, ahead of Malaysia Today. Now he calls me a compulsive liar?

Zakir denies his links with the Special Branch. However, on 5 September 2008, he told me that the Special Branch was about to detain me under the ISA. That same day I went underground and did not resurface until the 10th September. I met some MIC leaders very close to Samy Vellu during that period and they suggested I remain underground because the police are looking for me. I can get them to meet you to confirm all this if you required so Datuk Seri. These people also have strong links with the police.

However, on the 10th September, I got bored and decided to resurface. These MIC chaps were very disturbed and suggested I continue remaining in hiding. I did not listen to them though. On the afternoon of the 10th I went home. On the 11th I went to Bangsar for dinner and spotted two Special Branch officers monitoring me. I commented to the dinner crowd, “It looks like tomorrow they will come and take me”. Two of the chaps stood up and walked towards the Special Branch officers who quickly hightailed it out of there. The next day I was detained under the ISA.

Am I lying? I in fact told the police I was expecting them. When they asked why I said that, I related the story about the two Special Branch officers lurking around the Bangsar restaurant watching me while I was with a group of friends having dinner the night before. I also told them about the tip from the Umno Blogger, without mentioning his name though, plus the information from those MIC people who had links with the police. Today, this same Umno man who was my source of information calls me a compulsive liar.

Datuk Seri, I can go on and on and turn this letter into a thesis and would probably be awarded a doctorate just like you. Nevertheless, what I would have to say would just be more of the same thing. If my arguments are not already convincing enough as they are, then I really don’t know what else to say.

But I know you, Datuk Seri. I mean; we first met more than 25 years ago when we had dinner together with Tan Kay Hock at the Kuala Lumpur Hilton. So that is how long we have personally known each other. (By the way, are you aware that Kay Hock is now Najib’s golf partner?). And because I know you that well I know you would have by now grasped the spirit of what I have written and you would not have any problems understanding the gist of my arguments. If I may say so, Datuk Seri, without appearing as if I am trying to apple-polish you, you are probably one of the more intelligent Umno leaders. So maybe I can stop here and allow what I have written thus far to sink in.

If you feel I am still not convincing enough I can always continue with a part 2 or something like that. But I feel I would just be saying more of the same thing, and would that really be necessary? By the way, Datuk Seri, I still remember what you told me when we met on the first day of Hari Raya at Dr Mahathir’s house more than two years ago. I would like to believe what I am doing is not a departure from the advice you gave me then.

Anyway, it was nice to be able to reply to your comments and I sincerely thank you for giving me the opportunity to tell my side of the story. I still have very high regards for you and I still remember the Semangat 46 days when you were one of the key players and mastermind behind the party’s strategy. It is most unfortunate that you decided to close down the party and everyone rejoined Umno en bloc. If not, today, there would be no need for PKR as Semangat 46 would probably, by now, be the lead partner in a Pakatan Rakyat federal government.

Yours truly,

Raja Petra Bin Raja Kamarudin

On Raja Petra, who is living in self-imposed exile ostensibly to escape being detained again under the ISA, Rais described him as an expressive individual who has had his say on many matters.

“I only hope that he also gives us credit for some of the things we do. But he appears to be on a one-slice action all the time.

“I respect him for his views and for his style of (comment), but I do hope that Raja Petra comes up with both sides of the spectrum, so that his reporting (is) balanced. (This will make) him more popular.

“For example, if we are successful in helping the community in an anti-poverty drive, why can't he say that it is a good move?”

Rais called on the blogger to be fair in his assessment of situations in Malaysia.

“My prime minister (Najib Abdul Razak) is entitled to his view (on Raja Petra) and I am entitled to mine. But if everything in this world is too fair and too just, of course we would not have this talk, would we?”

Rais also said people need not be fearful of arrests under the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998, which his ministry enforces.

However, he said the public should “always respect” laws like the ISA and the Printing Presses and Publications Act 1984, which are under the home minister’s purview.

Several bloggers have already been charged with sedition since February, for posting comments on the Perak royalty amidst the ongoing political imbroglio in the state.

Rais described the emergence of blogging as a new trend that has overcome the limitations posed to the public in accessing the print media to express their views.

He said blogs are still a novelty in Malaysia, but that no party can curtail blogging because of the emergency of a value system that demands freedom of expression.

“However, do it responsibly. If you libel a guy or you defame a guy, you have to answer for it in the court of law,” he added.

“I think that is fair... It is better that you verify your facts (before you write). If they bring you to court, you have answer to it.”

Malaysiakini

Comments (84)Add Comment
written by blogsmith, May 14, 2009 18:19:21
"Earlier, I was invited to dinner by very senior but retired Special Branch officers, who also wanted to know the same thing. On both occasions I did not hold back anything and told them what they wanted to know. What transpired from all this effort? Was anything done about the matter? As far as I can see, the IGP is still in office while all those I named as my source have been ‘eliminated’"

That is very very bad of you, to reveal sources. Who would want to pass information to you anymore?
disagree 45
agree 349
written by lunas oh lunaih, May 14, 2009 18:22:23
Rais Yatim..I think Raja Petra would be better MINISTER than you. You can burn 2nd penang bridge due to complete in 2012...haha
agree 252
written by anak melaka, May 14, 2009 18:34:46
I would not even do that to dogs and cats. But the Umno Bloggers feel that this is the most appropriate punishment for those who oppose the government.

Abang Pete, so frog is excluded right? Hahaha... Great to hear from your genuine soul, it takes a lot of courage to change and may peace be with you wherever you are. Stay healthy, fit and safe. God's willing, by His grace, there are definitely more to come from you.

agree 116
written by uxzee, May 14, 2009 18:35:17
Well Rais Yatim will not understand any of RPK's points or he will just pretend not to understand.
This is the same Rais who cursed UMNO and Mahathir when he was in Semangat 46 and polished Pak Lah and Najib for his ministerial position. A person whose only priciple is position and Money.
agree 273
written by my2cents, May 14, 2009 18:40:34
Its called "Self Presevation". When the rebuttal facts are in absense, one attacks as the best form of defence. We're talking about UMNO and BN guys who can't string 2 words together to form a sentence. Of course, the combination of no-facts and being in-articulate all the more compounds this. However, who needs these attributes when we have ISA, PDRM and Others as your allies. The next paragraph are the only solutions.
Power of the pen (in this case key-strokes) and power of the people. Know what I'm saying !?
written by Remo, May 14, 2009 18:44:29
Dear Raja Petra,

Why waste time responding to idiots like Rais.

Rais, touch your heart and say did you at anytime appreciate the opposition before.
You ****ers all are yes man to the PM even from Mahathir's time.
What nonsense you are talking Rais.
agree 158
written by Mama Juwie, May 14, 2009 18:46:06
Raja Petra = Whistleblower blogger = Whistleblogger!

The ball is back in your court, Datuk Seri.

written by Syah, May 14, 2009 18:46:51
Is it all is fair in love and war? Revealing your source truly damages your credibility. why? You have our respects for being honest about it but than again what you did then..........by exposing the whistleblowers has surely dented your remarkable reputation. You owe it to them
written by malaysianohope, May 14, 2009 18:48:14
And the response from the Minister is....
It's a win win situation!
I wonder what Doctorate he has, maybe in Mis-Information, no?
written by A MI, May 14, 2009 18:51:46
RPK said
...., Zaid won the ‘argument’ because he rebutted it in a civilised and matured manner.

Can someone here (Cybertroopers included) list the names of UMNO ministers who can rebut in a civilised manner without using strong arm tactics?

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 122
written by malsia1206, May 14, 2009 18:52:18
I do not see why RPK needs to clarify why he has this propensity to criticise only. If Datuk Seri wants Malaysians to read all the good and positive news, there are plenty available on the news portals. Bernama, NST, the Star, Utusan Malaysia, TVs 1,2 3 and NTV 7. They are splashed all over the front pages. So when the readers want to hear, see and read the other suppressed and undisclosed side of the news, we know where to source them from. Even if it means the Government has to clamp down on these sources every now and then with whatever multi media legislation and the guaranteed assurance from the former PM that there is no internet censorship with the launching of Cyberjaya. So no one has to play fiddle with the Government and hum to the same tune. It's for the readers to assess and form their own judgment with whatever intellect they have, if any. So why this hype there's just too much criticism? Is it not because there some fair elements of truth on the realities? Is our Government so ideally perfect not to be able to withstand the other side of the ugly truth? Is Datuk Seri not barking at the wrong tree?
written by HeeHaw, May 14, 2009 18:56:06
I think the problem is that the politicians all look at polics as a "game" in which they are players and their winnings are what they can benefit from "playing politics".

They don't give a fcuk about the country, Pete, they just want to win as many "points" as possible so what if they rape the nation's resources as long as they can win their political prize$$$$$.

You're an idealist,Pete, and a bloody admirable one at that, but idealists always suffer in the real world because the game players will cooperate with each other to finish off idealists who will only spoil their "game". Yet without idealists this world could never flourish, one can only hope that there is ultimately some justice in the world and that your sacrifices become worth it.

Funny how a donkey will claim to be like Mandela or Gandhi, while RPK just wants to be RPK and yet they won't let him be.

If it's any small consolation, though, you've awoken a sense of political awareness in hundreds of thousands of people like me. While Rais probably can't even awake his own cat from sleep.
written by Taiping60, May 14, 2009 19:00:29

What ever it is, revealing your sources to the authorities is wrong.
written by Badaksumbu, May 14, 2009 19:02:17
Hi Raja strength is in writing let him writes perhaps better than talking.Except as commented by one above that revealing names who gave information may scare others to come forward later in the future.
But I think being able to respond to someone who makes allegations like this as a writer would be more satisfying. Let people make their own judgment who are telling lies and who are not or who are hypocrates.
written by panca, May 14, 2009 19:04:25
It is very close to say with YM RPK only with righteousness begets righteousness.
Those who pretends to be might be left alone, however those chose to be worms and spin rubbish gets heap on their own faces!

Rais, this is "No holds Barred author's blogging!" Welcome to the Real world!

Umno is under the ground!
written by Raja Petra, May 14, 2009 19:07:44
Dear blogsmith, Syah and Taiping60, I thought you guys screamed that I have no credibility because I did not support what I said with evidence? You want the evidence or not? Make up your mind! You can't have it both ways.
written by areenna, May 14, 2009 19:08:46
Why RPK tend to critizes government is the same reason why many Malaysian (including me) critizes goverment.

The different is RPK has a good blog while others maybe only do oral blogging in the coffeeshop.

Rais Yatim might as well said that to the whole Malaysian.

If Rais Yatim wondering why, I will say it's because the BURDEN to run the country largely falls on those in power. People don't critize much on PAS, DAP, PRK or maybe my neighbours because those are not in power. The BURDEN is on BN, mind you, Syed Hamid. BN must run the country properly. Rakyat are watching and will decide you fate in the next election.

If the Rais Yatim find it's a problem for RPK or people to critize on the BN goverment, there is a SOLUTION. Let BN quit their job. Let go the power. The burden will not fall on BN anymore. Let's PR get the burden.
written by psbc48, May 14, 2009 19:08:49
I am puzzled as to why your sources of info are revealed. Are these not in confidence? And don't you feel guilty when the sources bear the consequences of your actions as you have reported. Kindly explain so that I and maybe some M2day readers may understand how you operate better. Thank you.
written by defendermalaysia, May 14, 2009 19:12:21
So far I only know 1 of the ex minister who really has his intergrity. When he lost his supreme council seat, he automatically resign from the cabinet. He is Datuk Sahir also ex samangat and rejoin UMNO. Comparing him, no other UMNO minister has his type of intergrity and also most important he is neither a shoe polisher unlike some people pester Matahir to influence Najib to include him for the minister post even though he has lost the UMNO election.
written by Raja Petra, May 14, 2009 19:13:25
Dear psbc48, you are not supposed to know how I operate. The only thing you are supposed to know is that I still have many cards hidden up my sleeve and you don't know what they are and when they are going to be thrown onto the table.
agree 108
written by est, May 14, 2009 19:13:34
When someone spends his time writing something, he is not going to spend the time writing saying how good you are. It is almost invariable a situation when they have something to disagree that they felt compel to invest their time writing. So accept it that its unlikely to be something nice. Usually its heaps of criticism and if you are lucky perhaps a line of compliment.

Rais is definitely unrealistic about his expectation that someone be it RPK or whosoever for that matter is going to spend their time writing how good the government is.
written by Braino, May 14, 2009 19:23:38
Still remember the story about the King who wore the beautiful "invisible" outfit and parade himself everywhere because his subjects lied to him and keep praising him for his new outfit?
How his subjects made him a fool...?

That' the same situation when you are surrounded by apple polishers and boot-lickers. Going from the virtual world into the "real" world can be very painful because your weaknesses and shortcomings appears before you like a ghost!...its frightening and only the brave dares to face the truth!

Finally whether you like it or not the truth will catch up on you...just be ready!
written by psbc48, May 14, 2009 19:26:25
Hi RPk, nice to hear you still have many cards up your sleeves. I can't wait for them to be displayed on the table. I admire your guts and also your writing skill. Have to apologise if I was misunderstood. My question is whether it is right to reveal the sources of info which ultimately lands the source in trouble.
written by Braino, May 14, 2009 19:30:20
If anyone wants to read about how great the gomen is doing...just go to the mainline media! No use trying to find hypocrites here. This is the place to get REAL!
written by KweN, May 14, 2009 19:43:25
lol drama's
written by Fuminari, May 14, 2009 19:49:47
""How can we justify chopping to pieces women and children and burning them while they are still alive in the name of politics? ""
this is sheer barbaric n inhuman,but umno be end did it 40 years ago n they are still intimidating the rakyat with it till to date for their self preservation of power!!this is their norm,their mentality n it is their DNA!!!
written by arnab76, May 14, 2009 19:51:14
if the government would have 5% of the brains of the singapore and chinese government, Malaysian would have become real angkasawan...

I do not respect the mens in blue no matter how much they try to be polite. Thanks to all the useless IGP and of course the morons of UMNO.
written by malaysianohope, May 14, 2009 19:53:24
****Breaking News***

Umno throwing in the towel... decided to support a dissolution of Perak State Assembly. Read here:
http://www.malaysiawaves.com/2009/05/breaking-news-umnos-giving-in-will-call.html
written by SamSan, May 14, 2009 19:53:44
Hi defendermalaysia

You statement below is referred.Why do you think Rais Yatim lost the recent UMNO election. As he himself rightly pointed out and also echoed by Che Det, it was all due to money politics. That is why I am suggesting that UMNO and all BN component party election should be done at the individual grass root level so that those corrupt rich scumbag politicians don't buy votes as it will to expensive to purchase each and every grass root member vote.

So far I only know 1 of the ex minister who really has his intergrity. When he lost his supreme council seat, he automatically resign from the cabinet. He is Datuk Sahir also ex samangat and rejoin UMNO. Comparing him, no other UMNO minister has his type of intergrity and also most important he is neither a shoe polisher unlike some people pester Matahir to influence Najib to include him for the minister post even though he has lost the UMNO election.
written by *********, May 14, 2009 19:57:19
Rais is now threatening Bloggers if they don't self-regulate. The Scribe says to Rais , Keris My Ass...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by pakasia, May 14, 2009 19:59:43

This is a wake up call for Rais. You can make a difference by doing the right thing for the future generation of Malaysians!
written by lampard, May 14, 2009 20:06:39
This is a rigtheous piece...But it is aimed at Rais Yatim! Why are you guys commenting? It almost sound like a love story between 2! But RPK, I love you more!
written by Lim Lim, May 14, 2009 20:40:39
what say u,rais????
written by lerond, May 14, 2009 20:58:29
c'mon Pete, please continue with the part 2. smilies/grin.gif
written by Wahyu, May 14, 2009 21:00:59

kamu pergi mendedahkan sumber risikan/source anda kpd polis..
Kau dungu ke ape??
written by malsia1206, May 14, 2009 21:01:23
THOSE FEW REMINDER PARAGRAPHS ON THE IGP STINK BADLY. AND HE'S STILL WARMING HIS SEAT AT BUKIT AMAN AFTER HIS HEART BY-PASS. IF THE FORMER PM TUN MAHATHIR HAS NOT GOT THE GUTS TO REMOVE THIS CANCEROUS CELL IN OUR MIDST, PRAY TELL ME, WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO THE POOR GUYS WE CALL THE RAKYAT? IS THE IGP NOT MALAYSIA'S PUBLIC ENEMY NO.1 HIMSELF? CAN ALL THE READERS PLEASE ADDRESS THIS QUESTION?
written by my oumrie, May 14, 2009 21:03:00
PUT THAT IN YOUR PIPE & SMOKE IT, ANAK YATIM, SO THERE!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by teo siew chin, May 14, 2009 21:18:17
Steadfast, unwavering, steady - this has been the stance of YM RPK from the first day he started his amar maaruf, nahi mungkar cause.
As for his sources, that they will entrust YM RPK with vital evidence is proof that there ARE good people trying to save the nation - and you good people will band together to be the BIG STICK that'll beat off the big bad wolf.

YM RPK - did it ever occur to you that all your 'yelling, screaming' at the wild misbehaving top-guns could be the wrong method? Maybe should try horse-whispering style? kinda like be a donkey-whisperer of somting. smilies/grin.gif
written by areenna, May 14, 2009 21:29:09
written by lampard, May 14, 2009 20:06:39
This is a rigtheous piece...But it is aimed at Rais Yatim! Why are you guys commenting? It almost sound like a love story between 2! But RPK, I love you more!

Your comment not supposed to be taken seriously, so are mine below:

Then, why are you yourself commenting?

It's ALMOST sound like a love story, but it is not yet.
But i will say it more like love n hate story.
Shoudn't a true love letters supposed to private and special just between 2.
Since it seem to you like a love story between 2 why you openly declared you love RPK more? Three is a crowd unless you prefer threesome.

We are commenting because there is a "write comment" under the post and beside ******* we also have opinion.
written by carribeanking7, May 14, 2009 21:34:56
From the many comments here it appears many missed the point on Rais subtly offering the olive branch and Pete teasing him back.
Read between the lines.

written by areenna, May 14, 2009 21:35:56
On psbc48 and Wahyu comments:
When RPK xposed something some says it just in RPK's mind and no supporting evidence or witness.
When RPK to explain the sources, they said it will endanger the sources.

Tough life for RPK.

It's time to tickle the sources so they come out from the closet.
written by Firaza, May 14, 2009 21:40:55
Brilliantly articulated and well said Pete, quite gentlemanly.

Readers/ Commentors,

My opinion is that Rais well respects articles by YM Pete and being an acquaintance for such a long time, he was merely providing constructive feedback to spur more excellent articles moving forward. Give Rais a break, will ya...

God bless & keep you all safe always,

Muhammad Firdaus Christopher
written by cheemengwong, May 14, 2009 21:42:30
I was please to read the Dato Seri Rais Yatim has got a Phd otherwise he won't be addressed as a (Dr.) by Pete....

If Dato Seri Dr. Rais Yatim is one of the many BN and Minister held in esteem by Pete, then I think Malaysia is finished. Imagine the best is Dato Seri Dr. Rais Yatime! What about the worst? M & M is not even near!
written by temenggong, May 14, 2009 21:52:24
The turncoat BigDog should be sent to Pulau Ketam.
written by sarawakian, May 14, 2009 22:01:38
i've always believed Muslims (ie. most Malaysians in general) have always been taught to be obedient to God, to listen and never question what is told to them. UMNO has been using this ease of belief to taint the media with polished reports of the goings-on in the country.

that may have worked over the last 50 years but now Malaysians (and in general, Muslims) are more intelligent. much much more. they think more. they begin to question. they want to know the truth.

trying to silence this thirst for knowledge by scaring them with ISA, PPPA and biased court action gets UMNO nowhere. it just leads the rakyat further away. I hope this new Information Minister is able to do the right thing and let use more intelligent arguments to inform the rakyat about the reasons for their actions.

believe me, the last thing Malaysia needs is for citizens to become subversive.
written by apanama, May 14, 2009 22:04:16
RAIS YATIM: “For example, if we are successful in helping the community in an anti-poverty drive, why can't he say that it is a good move?”

encik rais talam dua muka, your version of anti-poverty drive is:

GIVE ORANG KAMPUNG $200 allowance per family,
KAPOK $200 million commission per crony.

there's nothing to praise.
written by amjoem, May 14, 2009 22:29:49
YM RPK,
Don't trust this Rais. He is also another FROG.
written by miwaki, May 14, 2009 23:04:57
Malaysia under UMNO/BN practices selective prosecution,no actions would be taken against those who walk in the corridors of power even with evidence.

We malaysians know it and that's why we are waiting for the new government to take place in Malaysia so that all those crooks and murderers would have to pay for all the crimes thay had committed.

Not even God can save UMNO/BN,these people have to pay for their evil deeds accordingly.
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 14, 2009 23:06:50
Brother Pete,
Saya terperasaan bahawa banyak pembaca blog anda dan blog-blog kawan yang lain ingin dan mahu untuk mengeluarkan keluhan dan pendapat mereka seperti kita semua.....Tetapi mereka masih gentar dan ada yang malu lantaran masalah penguasaan bahasa Inggeris yang agak kurang..........Oleh itu, di harap 'Brother Pete' dan Bloggers yang lain menggalakkan sumbangan tulisan dan buah fikiran dari mereka-mereka ini dalam Bahasa yang lebih mudah dan fasih bagi mereka......baik Melayu, India dan Cina atau bahasa lain..........Mungkin ada orang yang pakar bahasa yang bersedia membantu menulis terjemahan bersama teks asal setiap tulisan pembaca secara sukarela......atau sedikit sagu hati..........Saya percaya mesej dan berita yang disampaikan didalam blogs anda dan blog yang lain-lain harus dapat dikecapi dan dinikmati oleh seluruh masyarakat Majmuk.......Dengan ini secara tidak langsung.........penubuhan sebuah Masyarakat "Malaysian Malaysia" dapat dicapai dengan segera........Thanks! "Sooo Sorry Brother.....caused I can't write any more this evening because I am too tired (readings,writing and cursing too) already.......
written by hellosunshine, May 14, 2009 23:08:24
RPK, now I can also call you Rais boot licker after that open letter. Ha ha ha!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by BennyG, May 14, 2009 23:32:42
After this article, those in "Bloggers Union" (refering to UMNO bloggers) will have to think twice and hard whether or not they should join in Rocky & BigDog (shame) parade.

I used to pity BigDog but I would say that he deserved it. Now the Special Branch will treat BigDog like a leper and avoid him at all costs just to avoid being sent to oblivion as the leaks continued. In fact, all the UMNO bloggers will avoid him so that they avoid their funds being discontinued. BigDog will have the opportunity to find out who his real friends are now.
written by Admiral Tojo, May 14, 2009 23:57:09
Ah, that Rais fellow, the Minister of disinformation.

written by picadilly, May 15, 2009 00:07:03
MIC new website portal opened today and see what it says about its president!

http://www.mic.org.my/omni/omni/portal/66/r/

Eventually, in the June 2006 party elections, Samy Vellu openly supported his trusted lieutenant, former press secretary, Datuk G. Palanivel, who stood against the incumbent Subramaniam. Palanivel emerged as the victor, and the new deputy president in 27 years. Samy Vellu's image started to tarnish and he lost ethnic Indian support after Hindu Rights Action Force (HINDRAF) organised a rally on 25th November 2007 at Kuala Lumpur demanding 18 points to prevent further discrimination against ethnic Indians, whom had been marginalised for 50 years since the country's independence.

kahkahkah..
return rakyats money first la!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
written by Perak Boy, May 15, 2009 00:43:11
Dear RPK and Admin,

What suggested was true and I support it. There are still a lot of Malaysians out there are weak in English language, especially with RPK's flair of language.

These group of Malaysians need to be informed in as much as we here. Hence, a translation of the English version to three major languages (Malay, Chinese and Indian) would be helpful. Should that be a big burden, at least have a Malay version.

written by Perak Boy, May 15, 2009 00:46:32
typo error:
Should read as ... What Tongkat Pak Ali (May 14, 2009 23:06:50)suggested is true and I support it.
written by Perak Boy, May 15, 2009 01:13:07
Long time ago I had the chance to borrow a book from a friend and the title I don't quite remember. But it was about "the Executive" I think, and written by Dr. Rais Yatim. Since reading it I had high regards towards Dr. Rais Yatim.

But the moment he moved back to UMNO and burning the bridge, and be part and parcel of the Governtment, I couldn't believed he went just as the opposite of what he had spelled out in the book. Obviously, he didn't walk the talk. Sorry Datuk, I have lost my respect of you.
written by Perak Boy, May 15, 2009 01:16:01
Typo error (Sorry folks .. perhaps I should go to bed):
It should read as : But the moment he moved back to UMNO after burning the bridge,
and be part ....
written by mowadoha, May 15, 2009 04:37:14
written by NSTPravda, May 15, 2009 07:40:41
To the Minister of Information, Communjavascript:void(0);ications and Culture, Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim ... so which of what you say are your true beliefs and which are mere "academic exercise" and when will your current "truths" turn into these mere "academic exercise"???

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by sorosapril, May 15, 2009 08:56:25
RPK, can you re-run your article on the topic about master and servant?

It seems that those in BN think they are the master and the Rakyat are the servant, so they expect to say thank you for doing the job they are supposed to do in the first place and for more than 40 years already, they have failed to do the job properly.
written by AsamLaksa, May 15, 2009 09:02:13
One word: Dialogue.

This is what is generally missing in Malaysian political culture. Lack of political dialogue alienates the public from the politicians. Sadly some portion of the public also blocks dialogue especially when it is related to sensitive topics. Without dialogue between opposing views, don't expect much progress.
written by Lyon, May 15, 2009 09:27:42

This is one of your best that I have read, you have continuously been revealing your soul and the truth, but apparently many either don't get it or choose not to understand you simply because it is you, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, who wrote it or revealed it. I strongly believe that Dato Seri is obligated to respond to your letter.

Have a wonderful day and weekend.

Cheers mate
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 15, 2009 09:31:01
The readers were delighted and full of praise for Zaid, in spite of the fact he is, at that time, an Umno Minister and the readers were mostly opposition supporters. After reading his letter, they believed Zaid’s interpretation of events rather than the interpretation of the one who made the allegation against him. In short, Zaid won the ‘argument’ because he rebutted it in a civilised and matured manner.

On the other hand, how do the rest of the Umno people respond to allegations? They just deny, deny and deny. But they never rebut the allegation or give their side of the story. Then they make police reports against me and ask that I be arrested or detained without trial under the Internal Security Act. Umno Bloggers suggest that a war should be waged against us and that the government should deal with us the way the Sri Lankan government deals with the LTTE. Others suggest I should be killed with a bullet in my head and e-mails are sent to me threatening the life of my daughter

HE IS JUST A TAPE RECORDER WITHOUT ANY OTHER FUNCTIONS. HE CAN LOSE TWO ROCKS OR EVEN HIS NUTS AND WONT EVEN FEEL IT.
written by alan cheong, May 15, 2009 09:44:26
... I believe everyone is entitled to his and her views ... this does not mean we must agree with these views. We are ... at liberty to disagree ... But just because we disagree ... does not mean we should silence these people and not allow them to express their opinions.

Aaaahhh, now that's more like you, Peter.
Be consistent and less cantankerous, bro.

There are many more mavericks and conspiracy theorists out there smilies/grin.gif

I hope you do not an unwitting tool become to the dirty old rat's divide-and-conquer shenanigans - pit umno against pkr, pit them against themselves from within, too - two-pronged attack. then he subsequently waltzes in to "save" US?

I don't like that.

Carry on, Peter.
written by onnetline, May 15, 2009 09:48:05
Hei Rais anak Yatim,

Get your arrogant and racist UMNOs members & system into proper perspectives first before fishing for ' praises '.
Quite simply, you are among a big lot of robbers and thieves who steal from the country and the rights of all Malaysians !
written by ibabonma, May 15, 2009 10:00:12
Rais, is it a lie when I say during your days in-charge of the Museums, you forced them to rent UMNO building at Jelebu and transformed it into a Muzium Adat for rental of about RM5,000.00 a month even up to now? Is this not corruption on your part? Just like what Pete said, if i reveal my source you bastard will fix him, the whistle blower?
written by densemy, May 15, 2009 10:30:50
Its a quaint characteristic of Malaysians and probably all Asians that any form or criticism is forbidden. Its the basis of all that nonsense you go on about respect and politeness and its the origins of your 'delightful' concept of saving face. Which means that you are allowed to do anything underhand... lie, cheat, ignore, blame... rather than accept that you might possibly be wrong

Add to that concept the impregnability of the Malay male ego and you have a situation where its not surprising that politicians believe they are gods

Its also a standard practice in the rest of the world that if you set yourself up on a pedestal in the belief that you are better than everyone else you leave yourself wide open to be criticised.

The higher your pedestal the more mud you can expect to have thrown at you
written by Tornado, May 15, 2009 10:58:39
Tak le hebat sangat si Rais nie...

Tak perlu pujian untuk kerja yang memang dipertanggungjawabkan, bukan buat keje free..Kalau buat keje free atau keje bagus diluar tugas barulah boleh puji.

Tapi kalau tak buat memang sure RAKYAT akan marah dan kritik. Bukan kritik-kutuk (mcm yg diamal oleh bloggers UMNO) tapi kritik-bina. Takkan TUAN tak boleh kritik hamba..Takkan RAKYAT tak boleh tegur MENTERI...Kan MENTERI tu hamba RAKYAT!!!!
written by Conan Chung, May 15, 2009 11:46:48
The problem or the typical mind frame of the Malaysian people is that as long as it comes from UMNO; then its as good as cow dung. On one hand, people have become so disillusioned with UMNO that no matter what they do or what they say they think its crap. On the other you have UMNO boot-lickers and fanatics that even if you put crap in front of them, they would say its smells nice. In short, you could either hate or love UMNO and seldom are there fence-sitters.

This "polarization" of Malaysian's can never be a good thing. It already has divided our society and all the time we see power struggle between those who have and those have nots. Its all very sick and tiring if you ask me. I think most people are already too sick and tired that they began to generalize everything into good and bad, pro-establishment or anti, pro-UMNO and PR without really putting a thought or argument in it.
written by TwilightYears, May 15, 2009 12:06:21
Like you, I have always have high regards for YB Rais Yatim since the day of Semangat46. But of recent statements that he made seemed to have made out of his gratitude to Najib for the appointment to the Minister's post though he lost his UMNO election. It would seen naturally that he gave his whole hearted support, albeit blindly, to the UMNO President; but he is those rare individual within UMNO who uses his brain more than his emotion. I would not mind give my vote to him when compared to others in UMNO, MCA or MIC.
written by densemy, May 15, 2009 12:09:32
Conan...you tire too easily, and that's why UMNO have been able to walk all over you.

I'd suggest to you that Polarisation is the best thing that could happen to Malaysia. With polarisation you get more than one opinion and the checks and balances that are an integral part of the Westminster Parliamentary system are allowed to operate

The alternative is Monopolisation and that's what you've had for the last 50 yrs... Look where that's got you!
written by SamSan, May 15, 2009 13:04:45
My sincere advice to Datuk Nizar is that he should employed legal mind exemplaire V.K. Lingam to represent him in all future appeals against the illegal MB Zambry in the appeals and Federal Court. The is because judges beholden to Lingam will be presiding which means V.K. Lingam will continue his 99.9% success treck record. If you want proof go and read Malaysia Waves posting on "Hakim Mahkamah Rayuan Kes MB Perak Adalah Lantikan Linggam" at http://www.malaysiawaves.com/2...perak.html

Malaysia Boleh!
written by astina, May 15, 2009 13:07:18
sometime ago there were rumours on a very intelligent minister who shagged and got his indon maid pregnant...
wonder who it was smilies/cheesy.gif
written by cruzeiro, May 15, 2009 14:32:48
Any of u guys goin to the BUM2009 this Saturday?
I'm giving it a pass .... don't trust Rocky & gang who're hardly close to independent. Never did, never will. With Rocky there, it appears like an agenda to recruit the "independents" for a new brew of bloggers with plenty of sugar.
Note that they are having a separate "Malay session" for the benefit of you-know-who". Why can they have both simultaneously?
I'd advise caution to those who attend - what more with the "grand old man" of repression speaking on the Press!
written by nocrid, May 15, 2009 14:58:08
All that thing that you wrote... You think he don't know meh?
written by legallybotak, May 15, 2009 17:54:51
Dato Seri
Although I stopped supporting BN, I was rooting for you to emerge as their new leader because in my book, Ku Li and you are probably the only acceptable UMNO leaders. It is unfortunate that you did make it but all is not lost, as you can be the Opposition Leader when BN losses its mandate in the next election.

written by defendermalaysia, May 15, 2009 20:01:39
Dear Sam San,
You are right because those who lost in the UMNO election did not have money to finance all these UMNO division warlords.
written by mob1900, May 15, 2009 20:10:09
From being a Minister who banned movies based on 'Titles' eventhough he admitted he have never watch/screen Amir Mohd's road-trip documentary, originally named "The Last Communist", he's now another proxy to shackle our media & information through various gov 'initiatives. Ministers in each field are suppose to 'majukan' the industry, NOT MAKING IT WORSE like what BN Ministers are doing for the last 30 years.
Love your metaphor on toilet cleaning and other finer points of waitressing though you did set your hopes too high on any BN Ministers of 'getting it', even if you've known them for years. BN has a way of curtailing even the most principled politician to drown them into a world of corruption and greed which they will never recover to be a decent Malaysian again.

Let them continue their arrogant ways and alienate the same rakyat who had been supporting them throught thick and thin.
written by AlwaysFair, May 16, 2009 00:03:18

Carry on doin what you do best and kick their butts any time you like.
You are a very well-respected blogger who speaks without fear or favour and strike fear into corrupt leaders. You don't need to justify you actions to such people because though you have no position in the Govt your status is ICONIC and REVERED.

The difference is you SPEAK andk WORK for the rakyat.
You are no boot-licker and don't need to tell lies.
These people's livelihood depends on the political party and they are forced to lick their boots. So can you trust what comes out from the mouth of a boot-licker?

Urgh!!! They only have themselves to blame if you have more credibility than them.
Look at the corruption unravelling everyday !!!!
written by Alice, May 16, 2009 09:09:04
Datuk Seri, I can go on and on and turn this letter into a thesis and would probably be awarded a doctorate just like you.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Funny!

“My prime minister (Najib Abdul Razak) is entitled to his view (on Raja Petra) and I am entitled to mine. But if everything in this world is too fair and too just, of course we would not have this talk, would we?”

Life is not about your view or my view on things. LIFE SHOULD BE BASED ON WHAT IS RIGHT AND WHAT IS WRONG ACCORDING TO GOD SO GO BACK AND READ AND READ AND READ THE HOLY BOOKS UNTIL YOU FIND THE TRUTH!

However, he said the public should “always respect” laws like the ISA
DO YOU THINK THAT WE MALAYSIANS ARE THAT STUPID?? WHY SHOULD WE RESPECT A LAW THAT IS UNJUST????WE HAVE NO RESPECT FOR THE LAWMAKERS TOO!!HEY YOU GOT TO GET OUT OF YOUR TEMPURUNG AND GET REAL!

RPK maybe temperemental BUT HE IS DEFINITELY SPEAKING THE TRUTHHHHHH!!!!!!!
written by rams609, May 16, 2009 21:48:48
YOU GAVE SINGAPORE MY JOHORE ISLAND ON A SILVER PLATTER AND YOU STILL ASK FOR RESPECT RAIS????
PIIIRAH...

I STILL BELIEVE THIS IS A WRONG GUY FOR THE INFORMATION MINISTER POST. HE'S RATHER OLD. I MEAN OLD SCHOOL!
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 17, 2009 02:41:42

sometimes I think the "PIG VIRUS" has got into UMNO so much that even some so called intellgent people have been affected....and they end up being a stooge to someone in power....

RAIS the FACT IS:::: not just one name has been mentioned in the SD. There are too many stories and people involved in the altuntaya murder that SMELLS REALLY BAD. some have been silenced, some have been bought over, PI Bala has disappeared...
4 names mentioned in RPK's blog who have knowledge about the presence of Rosmah in the murder is not even mentioned in the papers and I do not know where they are today. There are clear pictures and photographs of Najib being seen with her published in foreign newspapers and the government is quiet about it...

WHAT ARE YOU DOING IN UMNO???? THE SMELL AROUND YOU IS GETTING BAD....
BETTER YOU GET OUT OF UMNO TOO....

written by adamckteh, May 20, 2009 14:49:24
“For example, if we are successful in helping the community in an anti-poverty drive, why can't he say that it is a good move?”
Dear yb Rais Yatim I am sure RPK will not oppose or go against your anti-poverty drive project but he will definitely expose the malpractice of the officers in charge. He can't sing or praise along your side because that is not his job. He will expose what you can't see. You diclose one side of the coin and he will expose the other side of the story so that the people will see the two sides of the coin.