Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow A serious crisis of confidence

A serious crisis of confidence PDF Print
Wednesday, 13 May 2009 19:04

Say what you like, Malaysia is suffering from a crisis of confidence. And the longer it takes to solve Perak, and the more Umno manipulates and abuses the system, the harder it will be and the longer it will take to build back that confidence.

Court of Appeal to hear Nizar case May 18

(The Edge) - Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin filed an application with the Court of Appeal today in response to the Court of Appeal's stay of execution order in favour of Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir.

The Court of Appeal has set May 18 to hear the case. Nizar's lawyers also filed a certificate of urgency for the hearing.

Mida reports shows crisis is crippling Perak economy, says DAP

(Bernama) - DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng today asked Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak to call for fresh elections in Perak, saying the political impasse has hurt the state's economy badly.

Lim, who is Penang chief minister, said that according to a report of the Malaysian Industrial Development Authority (Mida), total investment in Perak in terms of performance had dropped drastically.

The report showed that Perak had dropped from sixth position in 2008 to 10th in the first two months of 2009, he told reporters after Iran's ambassador Mahdi Khandaghabadi had called on him, here.

Lim said that based on the Mida report, Perak only recorded RM32 million in investment this year and lacked behind other states in securing investment, with Johor in first place with over RM1 billion in investments followed by Selangor with RM707 million and Penang with RM685 million.

"This also proves that the political crisis in Perak has affected the state's economic growth and I believe this can be resolved after the dissolution of the Perak state legislative assembly to pave the way for fresh elections," he said.

Lim said only a stable government would be able to ensure economic growth and development in the state.

He also said that the people in Perak had the power to elect and decide on the rightful menteri besar of Perak. "Even if we win in the courts, the DAP's position is to call for fresh elections and dissolve the assembly," he said, adding that the DAP would return power to the people to decide on the rightful menteri besar.

Yesterday, the Court of Appeal in Putrajaya allowed a stay of execution of Monday's Kuala Lumpur High Court decision declaring Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin of the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition as the rightful menteri besar of Perak.

With the suspension of the declaratory order, the post of Perak menteri besar has returned to Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir of the Barisan Nasional

(BN) pending the hearing of his appeal against the High Court decision.

In Malaysia, you just can’t separate politics, religion and the economy. The Barisan Rakyat Bloggers and a few of the civil society movements realised, way back in 2006, that Malaysia was heading for a political crisis -- which means an economic crisis as well. Of course, then, we did not know yet when the next general election was going to be held -- but it would have to be held by March 2009, whatever the case may be, unless martial law is declared and parliament is suspended due to civil strife the likes of ‘May 13’ or worse.

In mid-2007, we got word that the general election would be held on 15 March 2008. I must credit YB Ronnie Liu with this information though. It was Ronnie who managed to obtain this information somehow and I decided to trust his source and ran with it.

Of course, with the benefit of hindsight, the general election was instead held on 8 March. So we were off by a week. But, as they say, either you are pregnant or you are not. You can’t be a little bit pregnant.

Nevertheless, Malaysia Today is not a newspaper, as I have always said, and we can’t use mainstream newspaper standards in verifying the information before publishing anything. I trusted Ronnie and if he trusts his source beyond any shadow of doubt then I have to run with the information he gave me. Ronnie could be wrong. Or his source could be wrong. Which would mean then my 15 March 2008 ‘prediction’ would be wrong as well.

What if the general election was held in March 2009 instead, the last possible date that it must be held according to the Constitution? Well, then I would end up with egg on my face and will have to chalk this whole thing up to another insider lead that we trusted which turned out false in the end.

But what was the purpose of revealing the general election date, especially if it were true? The purpose was simply this. We felt the opposition needed a bit more time to get its act together. So, the later the general election, the better. In mid-2007, DAP, PKR and PAS were still squabbling over seats. There were many seats that ‘overlapped’ and in some cases all three parties wanted to contest the same seat. If this disagreement can’t be settled by the time the general election is called, then there would be a danger some seats might see a four-corner fight -- BN versus DAP-PKR-PAS. You do not need to be a political genius to figure out that not only will BN win that seat but some of the opposition candidates might even end up losing their deposit -- like what happened in the 2004 general election when some seats saw three-corner fights because DAP, PKR and PAS all wanted to contest the same seat.

Our purpose in revealing the 15 March 2008 date was, first of all, to frighten the three opposition parties so that they would come to the realisation that there was not much time left and they needed to get their act together, fast, and resolve the seat issue, or else they would get massacred like in 2004. Secondly, we hoped that once we reveal the date then Umno would try to prove us wrong by postponing the general election to a much later date.

I mean, why would Umno hold the general election in March 2008 and then give us credibility by proving us right? Better they delay it and prove us wrong -- in which case they can turn around and say that Malaysia Today publishes bullshit. The general election that Malaysia Today said would be called on 15 March 2008 never happened after all. That proves what they say is all crap.

We were worried they would not bite. They might just ignore what we wrote and go ahead with the 15 March 2008 revelation. And that would mean the opposition would be caught with its pants down and the many overlapping seats would remain unresolved right up to Nomination Day.

That would be disastrous. So we needed a Plan B.

And Plan B was a unity government, which Nik Aziz just said, today, is not going to happen. So, during the fasting month of 2007, we organised a dialogue session between Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers, plus a few civil society movements, in the ‘White House’ at Jalan Langgak Golf.

What if during the next general election -- whether it is March 2008 or March 2009 -- we see a ‘hung parliament’ a la May 1969? What if there is no clear winner and neither Barisan Nasional nor the opposition has a clear majority -- or Barisan Nasional has a simple majority of, say, just one or two seats? Would they, again, trigger another ‘May 13’ to regain power? Or worse, what if the opposition wins, but with just a simple majority of one or two seats? Would that mean another ‘May 13’ will be inevitable and the only prospect ahead of us?

Those were the worries running through our minds. If Barisan Nasional repeats its 2004 performance, well and good. That means there would be no issues as this means the opposition had, again, been wiped out, like in 2004. But chances are we are going to see a surprise. And how to ensure that the surprise would not transform into a shock like what happened two days after the 11 May 1969 general election?

So, discussions with Umno were held. And we saw that only Tengku Razaleigh could be accepted by DAP, PKR and PAS. Any other Umno leader, other than Tengku Razaleigh, would be no go. Very few opposition leaders would be prepared to work with Umno if it was someone other than Tengku Razaleigh.

In fact, DAP was a bit worried about working with Tengku Razaleigh. If Najib becomes Prime Minister, then the Chinese -- who still remember what his father did in 1969 and what he himself did in 1988 with the ‘bathing the keris in Chinese blood’ stunt -- would swing to the opposition. But if Tengku Razaleigh ends up as Prime Minister instead, then the Chinese, in particular the business community, would swing back to Barisan Nasional.

It would not be in the interest of DAP that Tengku Razaleigh takes over. And if Tengku Razaleigh proposes a unity government, as he has, then the Chinese would not require DAP any longer. The Chinese have confidence in Tengku Razaleigh as this prince from Kelantan is perceived as the best man to manage Malaysia’s economy, which is what ultimately the Chinese want to see.

Nevertheless, DAP put the nation’s interest above its party interest. A unity government would weaken the opposition. But it would strengthen the nation’s economy because, not only would we have a man at the helm who would know what to do, but all the unnecessary politicking would come to an end and everyone could now remain focused and get down to the job of running the country and managing the economy.

Well, as they say, the rest is all water under the bridge now. Tengku Razaleigh did not make it as Umno President and Prime Minister, and the unity government never came about. Instead, we have Najib as Prime Minister and the focus of the entire government -- police, judiciary and whatnot included -- is on politics, politics, and yet more politics.

This is most unfortunate. Matthias Chang had already written, time and time again, that the world is about to face a serious financial crisis. In fact, he said we are going to see a total collapse of the entire economic system not later than 2008 or 2009. Many rubbished him and some even said he is a madman. But then they said the same thing about many other geniuses over the many hundreds of years and we now know that these geniuses were just too advanced for their time and that is why they were perceived as madmen.

I trusted Matthias. I still do. No doubt he has a ‘funny way’ of putting his message across. But then so do I. We all do. Maybe that’s why he and I can get along very well -- we are both tau fung. But what if Matthias is right? What if we are about to see the worse economic collapse since before the Second World War? And what if we don’t have a strong government to handle the crisis and are instead locked in political battles and conflicts to the extent that nobody cares about the economy any longer?

Yes, we can’t do much about an economic Tsunami, any Tsunami for that matter. But we are not only talking about an economic Tsunami here. We are also talking about a crisis of confidence. And this is not an external factor beyond our control. This is a self-inflicted wound, which could have been avoided in the first place.

What is going on in Perak is not just about politics. It is also about sending the right signals to investors, in particular foreign investors. Do you know that foreigners no longer want to sign agreements in Malaysia? They would rather sign them in Singapore, a country they trust more than Malaysia. They just don’t trust Malaysian courts.

Even if they do sign the agreements in Malaysia, they will ask for an arbitration clause to be inserted in the agreement so that, in the event a dispute arises, they can avoid Malaysian courts and instead go for international arbitration.

That is the fundamental problem with Malaysia. People just don’t trust the Malaysian courts. In fact, they don’t trust the police and everything related to Malaysia, including the political party in power. How can we ride out this rough patch when we have two battlefronts to fight?

Say what you like, Malaysia is suffering from a crisis of confidence. And the longer it takes to solve Perak, and the more Umno manipulates and abuses the system, the harder it will be and the longer it will take to build back that confidence. Umno may not openly admit it, but they know what I am talking about. Ultimately, however, it is not the superrich Umno leaders who will suffer. It is you and me, the people on the street, the working class citizens, who are going to pay the price of all this political folly.

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by Limau, May 13, 2009 19:13:03
The more they (BN) delay and drag this issue is good, because BN will really fall in the eyes of the People. BN has lost, soon Putra Jaya will not be theirs, sorry Najib.
agree 352
written by Canadian in kl, May 13, 2009 19:13:09
RPK - I think we need to take your argument one step further - not only is there a crisis of confidence, the Malay inferiority complex is destroying Malaysia as an Asian Tiger, so proudly espoused by Tun Mahathir. The sense of entitlement is going to be the end of the econcomic wonder that has propelled Malaysia.
agree 221
written by arnab76, May 13, 2009 19:19:02
I like the suggestion of Lim Guan Eng - to return to the people even the court rules in favour for PAKATAN. Show those mother ****ers bastards how much of the shit thery are worth. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 201
written by No nonsense, May 13, 2009 19:20:22
Put it this way, Amno is still too arrogant the admit anything. If only they swallow
their pride abit the better for the people of this country. After 50 years of arrogance it is very very hard for them to beat the habit. Only God will bring them down and hope it will be very very soon for the good of the generations to come.
agree 114
written by cheekymate, May 13, 2009 19:25:22
Amno is led by a chicken cow shit coward who hides behind Yo Ma Ma's skirt everyday waiting to eat nasi ganggang.
Crisis in Perak? His filthy mind thinks only where his new supply of chics are coming from.
written by michaelT, May 13, 2009 19:28:53
PR has all along wanted to dissolved the assembly and let the Perakian decide through the ballot. But BN is so adamant, Kiasu and Kiasi that they have now become a nuisance and paranoid. Why is The Sultan still rtefused to consent the Nizar request to dissoolve the State assembly. The crisis is cutting deeper and I bet you that Perakians will kick out BN in the next GE and PR will take over Putra Jaya. The whole nation has concensusly say that BN is unethical storming to take over the Perak Government. They have understood the whole episode and seen enough video clips . BN is arrogant and does not care for the feelings of the people. They are still as power crazy. They tried in Kedah and wanted to try in Selangor but failed. The PM is already laden with bad scandles and dont bother to solve and safe himself.
written by Kacang Tanah, May 13, 2009 19:32:55
Why the hearing has to wait until May 18? Don't try to spin the rakyat! If Zambri appeal can be done and stay order granted within 6 hours, tell me why Nizar has to wait for 5 more days? Bastard!
agree 232
written by charcoy feng, May 13, 2009 19:37:12
If the world were to be a stage then Malaysia will be Russel Peters.... Everyone is laughing at us. We are full of racial, political and economical jokes...
written by malsia1206, May 13, 2009 19:38:54
That confidence was long gone. It dissipated in 1988 under the hands of you-know-who. So if there's no longer any confidence left in the system, there is no crisis so to speak. Was the Royal Commission of Inquiry held in 2008 on the Linggam scandal a crisis of confidence? No. At best, it was only a sideshow played by the former 2 PMs. The curtains had since came down on that wayang kulit. Now the current PM is staging his new premier show to carry on what's left last year. It's a never-ending story. No crisis whatsoever. Because the confidence is long gone, dead and buried.
written by Remo, May 13, 2009 19:40:23
This is a real rape of democracy.
For sure nobody wants to invest in Malaysia especially in Perak.
The state is really suffering because of these idiots.

The three frogs odd to be stoned to death.
The three greedy bastard and the bitch can never be forgotten.

To have a reelection the government is giving an excuse that it is waste of money.
Are they so good in spending the tax payers money?
No they are putting up drama.

The saddest thing is that the Royals are also the actors in the drama.
I don't think they can go long.

I feel that the reelection is around the corner.
written by Fuminari, May 13, 2009 19:45:26
""Court of Appeal to hear Nizar case May 18""
to those who ho-haaed the other day that malaysia judiciary hav been revived;see it for urself.
the shemeless najis n zambry got their case heard within 6 short fcuking hours!!
the lingam gate even after the royal commission is a NFA now!!
the altantuya murder saga of hoodwink n twisting of facts!!!
the kugan's death cos by brutality!!etc etc etc!!!
stop kidding ourselves,we jus can never trust 'that pack of wolves in a sheeps' skin'!!malaysia judiciary die long long time ago ever since mamak kutty mahatahi took over.!!!!!
the only way to regain confidence is to go for a change by all means!!!!!
written by pakasia, May 13, 2009 19:46:41
Perak is becoming a Cowboy state. The red indians are UMNO-BN because their barbaric act in the public say so!!!!
written by Remo, May 13, 2009 19:56:14
What you think about this MIC idiot?

Zambry himself is not a legitimate MB.
How can the sitting summoned by the illegal MB is valid?

The speaker haram Ganesan appointed by illegal MB also not valid.

The speaker haram version in malaysiakini sounds like this:-

Speaker vs Speaker: Ganesan states his case
Andrew Ong | May 13, 09 5:55pm
In a proceeding that would have put wrestling bouts to shame, MIC's R Ganesan was elected as the new speaker for the Perak state legislative assembly.
written by lynn, May 13, 2009 20:04:36
There I go again! Niamah Ka "Hedge" - what the fcuk is wrong with 50% of braindead morons called bn voters?

What does it take to wake these mudder fcukers up that BN is BAD for Malaysia? It will take many years to re-build confidence. I mean, let's face it, as long as umno remains at the helm, agreements have to be signed in Singapore, Hong Kong or elsewhere. Anywhere but in corrupt bodohland.
written by lynn, May 13, 2009 20:08:14
The Court of Appeal was injected with a quickie serum called Speedy Gonzales.

I mean, how could this "suspicious" Court gave a "stay" in such a quickie speed? Something is definitely not kosher here. It is on everyone's tip of the tongue & dick (if one has one)that this decision is "fixed".

Come on, najib, we are not stupid - time you come to this reality dat we know what is going on.
written by malaysianohope, May 13, 2009 20:10:03
Malaysian economy is in the 'Twilight Zone' with the power-that-be busy fighting to stay on to power while the Rakyat is suffering. The PDRM, AG, MACC are busy combing the barren land to look for clues to catch the Oppositions for slightest infringements, while the robbers, snatch thieves, murderers & rich umno scumbags are getting away. Perhaps we should start a campaign to refuse paying our taxes until they do their jobs right & proper. Even the Pee M is involved in massive corruptions & tainted with involvement in the murder of a harmless Altantuya. Poorah Malaysia! smilies/angry.gif
written by AsamLaksa, May 13, 2009 20:14:03
As much as I respect Ku Li for his statemanship, I do not think he was a viable UMNO prez candidate. Not for lack of personal qualities, but rather for the rot within UMNO. No chance.

Unity government with present BN government is problematic because of the lack reform agenda. You can see how Najib the 1Malaysia 'reformist' is like.

Anyway, I understand the lack of investor confidence when it comes to Perak. Not good. Losers are the rakyat. The longer it goes on, the more the damage. But there are principles to uphold and one of them is rule of law and that's why PR should not give in because in the long run if the constitution and laws could be messed about with, it may cause bigger long term loss.
written by Fuminari, May 13, 2009 20:18:37
Zambry resumes duty, but as what?
MB haram!!!this jerk is judged as illegal in the first place. can we hav confidence???with najis,with umno be end thieves n bandits,with barisan najis???
the answer is a BIG resounding NO!!!!
written by apa jadi, May 13, 2009 20:22:27
What is going on in Perak is not just about politics. It is also about sending the right signals to investors, in particular foreign investors. ... They would rather sign them in Singapore,.. than Malaysia. They just don’t trust Malaysian ....

Even .....in the event a dispute arises, they can avoid Malaysian courts and instead go for international arbitration.

....it is not the superrich Umno leaders who will suffer. It is you and me, the people on the street, the working class citizens, who are going to pay the price of all this political folly.

----------------------------------

A well written facts of the Malaysian politics. Do those walking the corridor of power really care? Afterall, they have gathered enough money to lead a luxurious life overseas, without having to work.

The confidence is not only lost with the foreigners, reading the dwindling political arena, security and productivity. We the educated citizens ourselves have been pondering if it is still a safe haven for our offsprings and the generation to come.

I have said it many times, and I reiterate. Keep claiming this and that, we will finally drowned in the quackmire squabbling over a fermented cake.
written by petestop, May 13, 2009 20:25:33
Wow, RPK, your spot on analysis gives me the creeps.

In my line of work, I always have to deal with Licensing Agreement with foreign
companies.

Always they requested the Agreement to be under Singapore or Taiwan law,
and indeed further requested Arbitration in another country other than Malaysia.

Nobody seems to have any trust in the Malaysian court and time and time again,
I had to convince them that we (MY and SG) both inherited the same British common
law.

Still it is not the apparatus that matters, I suppose, it is the people using the apparatus.
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 13, 2009 20:28:32
Brother Pete,
I just simply don’t know what to say regarding Perak Fiascos. Is our U**O Leaders plainly stupid, uneducated, irrationalise, blind and dumb????? Or it is just because they were all being greedy opportunist power crazy???Well don’t ask!!! I felt I have to barks and cursed more and more to them each day since they don’t deserved any more respect or ovation from me or any ordinary humble and honest Malaysia Malaysian like most of you.......Phtui!......S*** h***..........M***** F******
written by myke, May 13, 2009 20:42:09
Please help copy and spread this message.
-----------------------------------------

TELL YOUR RELATIVES AND FRIENDS NOT TO VOTE FOR BN NEXT GE13.

EXTINCT BN AND VOTE PR.

NO TO BN.

VOTE PR.

PLEASE START WORKING NOW..!!!!!

-------------------------------------------
Please start by simple one person a day if possible and work towards convincing
friends/relatives to spread this message. Explain to them BN's evil deeds, corruption, abuse of
power etc and get them to spread this message.

TQ
For a better future.
written by Raja Petra, May 13, 2009 20:46:16
Wow! You guys and gals are really not focused. What is the issue anyway?
written by Fuminari, May 13, 2009 20:57:12
confidence??
this jerk is as warped as the keris he had held way back then,so what kind of confidence u can expect from him??najis.
well,do recall how many congratulating messages from the world community u hav read about when he was installed as the crime minister the other day.
written by shissun, May 13, 2009 21:25:48
We perakian ain't worry about this long battle. After all, what is 3 years compared with 51 years of torture and brain wash from the Regime? We can wait, the longer BN play this circus, the longer we can remember their polemic. and will keep our mind fresh and alert about their antics when the 13th GE is due. That mamak zombie is fighting a losing battle. 100% sure he is getting a fake PhD in political science cause one patang when waging a war is long battle. Either you are winning or losing, you got to finish it ASAP. If you are wining, you better finish it off to ensure the troops morale is remains high and awarded accordingly. When you are losing, you gotta finish it faster to cut loses so that you can rebuild the army. By 2012, BN going to be finished off from Perak soil. That's for sure.
written by Beezee_Beezee, May 13, 2009 21:32:33
Issue in PERAK are very clear that AMNEO dah MERAMPAS KUASA. As long as the RAKYAT are not united to VOTE OUT the BN the AMNEO Goons will continue to LEAD with GREEDs. They continue to make statement of the LAW, Judicary so on and so forth, that they are the LAW and Gormen.
Even a simple 10 years old boy or Girls could interperate the situation. Everyday I could see the BN Leaders has no credibility. Coz they are RAKUS & Greedy with Animals' desired......
They are not even scared of their own GOD ALLAH [SWT].
written by yeechut, May 13, 2009 21:55:52
Be-End needs plenty of time to fix and 'soften' the judges. Maybe to fix and 'soften' you-know-who so he won't agree to dissolve the assembly.
written by Aduh, May 13, 2009 21:59:56

appeal court was super efficient when attending to that stupid idiot and good for nothing zambry. It was at lightening speed !!! Justified to be in the Book Of World Record !!!

But why the delay on YAB Nizar's appeal ??? Would you dare to dispute that you need the week end to discuss and seek consensus among all the rotten and sick-minded manipulators ???
written by HL5, May 13, 2009 22:47:44
Permit me to refer you a little bit on the issue of economic crisis that you say Matthias Chang has been screaming about.

Matthias Chang is not the original prophet of this coming collapse of the economic system. Erudite Americans and Europeans knows about this for quite some time but no freely elected government is prepared to do anything about it. If anything, all are wont to aggravate postphone the problem even longer. Let the next elected government take the sh*t when it hits.

The point of the matter is everything moves in cycles : economic systems, sunspots, wars, famines, droughts, pestilence, etc., etc.. The re is a predictive system first started by the American Dewey started back with statistics going back to 19th century as a study of this phenomenon. Wall street's collapse was found to occur every 67 years. The last crisis was the 1930s depression in America. The next crisis was due around 2004.

No inflationary and expansionary economy as under the free economy can continue ballooning or spiralling upwards without bursting or "popping". In an absolutely 100% free market economy, the market would take care of the inefficient and ineffective business enterprises. Unfortunately however, in the real world, this is not the case. Witness the protectionist policies of all the countries in the free market economies - subsidies, tariffs against imports, non sales of key industries on security concerns, restriction on exports, etc.,, etc.. And all these amidst a global free economy and an Amercian dollar as an international currency.

In other words, there are too much vested interests and interference with the world's global economy and principally by the US. Recall how Greenspan, the de facto global central banker tinkering with the free market to prevent market corrections every now and then but instead chose to protect it against such downturns thus postphoning the inevitable. Had the market allowed itself to be corrected and to a deeper phase, the sub prime problems would not be so large a problem that it is now as the corrections would have expose the weaknesses of the financial systems and corrective measures taken then. However, the protection of many of the large financial organizations like Lehman Brothers, Bear Stearns, Merrill Lynch, AIG, UBS, and so forth, meant the inevitable recession could only be contained for so long. Thus the collapse of the Lehman Brothers finally was the cornerstone removed that caused the whole unreal financial system to collapse like a pack of cards. Affecting every country connected to the free market system and America.

What the economic or financial crisis reveals is that we have a global system that is falling behind the real world system. The Bretton Woods pact establishing the IMF and World Bank was adequate perhaps for immediate post war America and Europe. The 1990s and the 2000s however are a different kettle of fish. What we have now is a lop sided system.

What the crisis indicates in one part is that a new global system is needed. America cannot be the world's de facto central bank with its partisan interest and the US currency the world's de facto global currency. For a true global free market economy, there is forseen a need therefore for a central bank or banl of last resort which is the IMF and a new global currency. Then the free market economic & financial system will be on a more steady footing before the next 67 years is reached and the inflationary and expanding financial 'bubble' system will collapse again. By how how and steep a collapse, is of course, another matter.

Which means under this scenario, the question arises if the free market system is the most viable or a part centralised or controlledt economy is better? Or does the answer ultimately therefore lies in the creation of one global earth as a country with one government, with one economy, and one currency?

Which means therefore ultimately,

This foresight is not lost to economist, retail bankers, investment bankers, fund managers and financial traders. And academicians. They have been cautioning about this coming crisis for a number of years. Matthias Chang was not the first. And neither was he the originator. The only thing thing I can credit him with is that he managed to penetrate the daily fog of twisted truths and half truths and Bullsh*ts emanating from Wall Street, Financial Times, CNBC, Bloomberg, Washington, New York, and London.
written by lampard, May 13, 2009 23:37:50
Maybe we should subscribe to IMF policy so that all the Malaysian unfair business pratices and structure can be improve? I would rather have a bunch of Finance professional run our economy than a bunch of corrupted UMNO advicers! It will also mean the end of Bumiputra special economic priviledge.
written by Conan Chung, May 13, 2009 23:47:43
God damn, even though I know the end is near, i never would have expected it to be so close to home...

No doubt to UMNO, power is everything. So long as they rule, the would rather rule over a failed third-world country than to submit control and be part of a First-World order.

This doesn't mean that those at the very top will suffer, no, it would be the people on the street, people who is now an UMNO supporter or what not. Most of them support UMNO for their rice-bowl; but sooner or later the rice pot itself is gonna break from all these short-sightedness. Then we all are gonna beg for scraps and your children and mine will all live like its in Myanmar or what not!

But will they hear, no... history has proven that Malaysian's are incapable of foresight... usually there is need for blood to be spilled or tragedy to happen before they are willing to lift their asses and do something about it. Our road fatality record is a good testament to it.

I think i need a job somewhere outside Malaysia...
written by Lim Lim, May 14, 2009 00:08:06
how can anyone hav confidence if u see,
an apartheid system n whereby majority of the people are encouraged to be jus 'rent collector' ?
the law only favor to those who walk in the corridor of power?
the law enforcers are lawless themselves?
the law is only the tool for the power that be as per their own whim n fancy?
the law can be shifted as a 'goalmouth' to suit their game plan?
the law is a law only when umno be end need the law to be a law??????
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 14, 2009 00:58:37
BAGAI MONYET KENA BELACHAN....ZAMBRY
written by Orang Muda, May 14, 2009 00:58:43
"Ipoh man warded with suspected H1N1 flu after Thailand trip"- The Malaysia Insider

If this is confirmed, then the first case of H1N1 in Malaysia would be found in Perak... Ouch, poor Perak, as if there is not enough suffering...
written by AlwaysFair, May 14, 2009 01:19:25
Sigh!!! Many politicians put SELF before COUNTRY but pretend otherwise.
written by raven1958, May 14, 2009 01:35:22
UMNO doesnt realise that it is already dead....

Take away the MSM, the police, judiciary and the EC......UMNO is dead...it is a dead man walking that is attempting to run this country....the trouble is when this bubble bursts.....Malaysia is seriously going to be in a lot of trouble....anyone really knows how much is there left in the treasury?????
written by StevenO, May 14, 2009 02:31:07
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsndvNtsE-Q

Have a look at this video clip and you tell me if Malaysia is not already a gone case?!

Look at it this way, even if PR were to win any future elections, how are we going to coax them to give up what's rightfully belongs to the Rakyat?

Anybody got a strategy.......You know.....

The Police,
The Judiciary,
Civil Servant,
The Army,....Even the Royals are all in UMNo's pocket!! So how??

written by educationist, May 14, 2009 05:47:15
"People just don’t trust the Malaysian courts. In fact, they don’t trust the police and everything related to Malaysia, including the political party in power."...RPK, has , as usual put it clearly and precisely the malaise in Malaysia.
But the UMNOputras are not worried.
As far as they are concened, it's business as usual.
Their topman still refused to acknowledge the right and moral thing to do in Perak is to go back to the rakyat.
No, because he controls all the institutions of the state including an ex LP, he can do as he pleases!!
written by rocky, May 14, 2009 08:17:11
we do not trust our govt and the arms of the govt like police etc cos we have been taken for a ride and now most things are BS. the more BN try to control our minds with MSM, the more we know it is freaking BS. when govt say all is well and there is no hikes etc, the hikes happen the very next day like the petrol price. BN has no credibility, only slogans which means nothing cos BN says one thing, does the other and blames others for things it has done like the racial issues. We can see Bn is the one causing racial problems and so is Utusan and yet the lecture others not to cause racial problems. What a joke. I look and say WTF, you think we are stupid. Practise what you preach we are not dumb, blind or mute and even if we are , we can access information to know who is right and wrong.
written by James Loh, May 14, 2009 08:44:32
We've have thank to damn crooked UMNO for bring all this troubel to us!
written by Chokma, May 14, 2009 08:54:08
"Satan is here to steal, kill and destroy", so is UMNO leaderships.
Fight all they can and the Rakyat remain losers as the goons can always swindle from somewhere else as long as they are in the leadership seats. Perhaps we should learn from China to introduce death sentence for corruption offenders.
written by Smiles21, May 14, 2009 09:04:32
"What is going on in Perak is not just about politics. It is also about sending the right signals to investors, in particular foreign investors. Do you know that foreigners no longer want to sign agreements in Malaysia? They would rather sign them in Singapore, a country they trust more than Malaysia. They just don’t trust Malaysian courts."

Secara logiknya begitulah. Kalau suasana politik berhura-hara, suasana ekonomi juga akan turut merasa huru-hara. Tetapi di Malaysia, apakah orang politik mengambil peduli apa kesan negatif yang akan ditanggung oleh rakyat? Mereka hanya mementingkan kuasa, kerana di Malaysia orang yang berkuasa berhak menentukan apa saja untuk kepentingan sendiri yang melampau.

Orang politik Melayu masih memegang kepada teori: Hina besi kerana karat, hina manusia kerana miskin.Justeru mereka hanya sedia mendengar suara orang miskin hanya sekali saja dalam setiap lima tahun.

Lihat sajalah di kaca tv tajaan Barisan Nasional bagaimana para pemimpin Melayu sanggup "mencemar duli" bersalaman dengan orang-orang daif dengan senyuman tersengih-sengih apa bila menjelangnya pilihan raya.

Kalau tak percaya, adakanlah pilihanraya di Perak sekarang. Dan perhatikan berapa ramai "anak-anak raja" sanggup "mencemar duli" di pondok-pondok usang.

Take good care, brother RPK. May Allah protect you.
written by Pakyeh, May 14, 2009 09:26:20
A serious crisis of confidence indeed!!! UMNO/BN is percieved to be Satan in disguise !!!
Read more, Devil in disguise:Elvis Presleys Philosophy, The Devil(Satan) and angel made simple, and UMNO/BN = Satan ??? at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by letsbefair, May 14, 2009 09:30:07
Judiciary today just an extented arm of the executive and is under the direct influence of the most powerful figure in UMNO.
This had been so since Mahashit-head sacked the lord president and some senior judges then.

Though judges are under order to rule in favour of BN in every legal case they are still some who refuse to do so and these are the unsung heroes in the judiciary. Unfortunately they will be retired off whenever they disagree!
Thus Judge Aziz will be taking a permanent holiday soon and junior Judge Ramli can expect a promotion in the near future!
written by mikewang, May 14, 2009 09:56:06
If you sign an agreement with a foreign country, the commonsense is to have arbitration, if the need arises, in a reputable 3rd country.

Which means even if I make an agreement with a Singaporean company, I would want arbitration to be in, say Hong Kong instead of Singapore.
written by batsman, May 14, 2009 10:28:02
I am not too sure there is a crisis of confidence let alone a serious one. The stock market creeps up steadily. This shows that there is still plenty of confidence in the Malaysian economy.

Having said that it is clear politics affects economics just as economics affects politics. Guys, this is not the time to feather your nest eggs while screaming obscenities about UMNO. Use your fortunes to unseat UMNO before they steal it all away or bankrupt you legally.
written by mikewang, May 14, 2009 11:49:57
It has been pointed out that even with 62% Malay support for BN as in their previously stronghold of Bukit Gantang, BN will stand to win in only 17 seats out of the 59 seats to be contested if 80% of the non-Malays voted otherwise. ie. 42 vs 17.

In the event Perak collapses to the opposition, pressures will be mounting on Najib to resign. Other marginal states like Negeri Sembilan might even fall to the opposition by defection.

Thus it is not that Najib doesn't want to let go of Perak.
He would rather the 3 frogs jump back to PR than to have the state go through another state wide election.

Through fear politics, BN could previously win mixed seats handsomely by playing PAS against DAP and vice versa.
Now every mixed seat is a nightmare to BN in the country, save those in East Malaysia.
written by Msian Idol3, May 14, 2009 12:38:40
Latest in STAR -- Najlis stated "Not afraid of elections in Perak, up to the Sultan". Well, ball is in royal court. We shall wait for royal decision.
written by justinlian, May 14, 2009 12:41:30
Surely the confidence is not going to pick up at least for another 10 years time.
Who wants to be here to look at these types of crisis.
Anyway, I , myself prefer to be like this, the more they drag this thing, the more the govt is going to suffer although the citizen suffer with them and sooner the govt going to go and others will drag along.
Tau fung, everyone has. see whether that line *****s with the other.
written by SamSan, May 14, 2009 12:48:11
Hi MT readers and truth and justice seekers, I read this sinister comment in blogger hantu's comment section and am posting it for our MT members views and feedback. I dont agree with this pseduo character Ivan Yong Wei Kit stating that YM Pete civil liberty act's are a farce and that Pakatan Rakyat is also a farce. Anway I am pasting his comments below for all to observe and comment. Hoping logical,constructive and non derogatory comments.

I want all Hantu Laut said...
Ivan Yong Wei Kit,

You have every right to be different from them.We should respect the Sultan's decision.Pakatan makes the Sultan looks bad because they are popular with the rabble and are sore losers.These are people who make a lot of noise because they can't be seen.As you know empty vessel makes the most noise.

Look at RPK who was said to be very popular and claimed to get million of hits on his Malaysia Today.A lot of these cock-suckers heap praises on him online, telling him how brave and smart he is and would defend him to the end.

Look what happened to the online petition to save RPK.There were only slightly over one thousands of these cock-suckers signed up.

For a man who stake his life to save democracy, not that I believe him,that was really pathetic.

So, the rabble are true in every sense of the word, empty vessels.

May 14, 2009 7:28 AM

written by Sutha, May 14, 2009 13:12:34
If Najib says it is up to the Sultan, he should make another trip to the Palace and convince the Sultan that a snap election will immediately put the crisis to an end. Afterall, he made an earlier trip to facilitate the POWER-GRAB which sparked off the current crisis.

After that, wait for the outcome of Court of Appeal on May 18th to decide whether it will be the Legitimate Menteri Besar Nizar or the Illegtimate Menteri Besar Zamry who seek the Sultan's dissolution of Assembly and consequent state elections.

Let the people decide who should run the state as they have been doing every five years. Let there be frogs before the elections and not after. More often than not, people vote for parties than individual's face.

Barisan Nasional should retain all the same candidates as in March 2008 elections plus the 3 cross-over ADUNs as their candidates for the same seats, and Pakatan too retain all their candidates and get just only 3 replacement candidates for the cross-over seats. It may be like the Clash of the Titans but the people will decide. If Barisan wins, they may take a non-elected person (like LOSER GANESAN) as its Speaker, if so wishes.

But first, Najib should ensure the snap elections take place, as it is good for all.
written by panca, May 14, 2009 13:17:16
By one as senior as KU LI, not many would doubt his impartiality as a leader and perhaps would work better when a coalition government(2-party govt) can takes place.

That is the fundamental problem with Malaysia. People just don’t trust the Malaysian courts. In fact, they don’t trust the police and everything related to Malaysia, including the political party in power. How can we ride out this rough patch when we have two battlefronts to fight?

We all know very well what courts are used fro in Malaysia, it's getting rowdier, the baffled Rakyat, this is clearly played in the Perak State Assembly.

The Perak State Assembly is also Balls now umno playing in their own pants. High time they dare themselves to open up their pants and show they've got Balls to dissolve the assembly.

Malaysian courts are use for playing games, BADminton, SEPAK Takraw, FOOTballs, lately DURIANS are even allowed to be eaten in courts as in the case of police presence and rowdiness in the Perak State SAssembly. Malaysia courts are really for Balls!
written by residentsniper, May 14, 2009 13:54:54
Pete and Matthias ... stooge for Dr M?
written by Raja Petra, May 14, 2009 13:58:39
Dear residentsniper, that is such an intellectual statement. I am sure your quotation will go down in history alongside quotes of Churchill, Gandhi, Gen McArthur, Kennedy, and many more. Congrats!
written by *********, May 14, 2009 14:06:11
There's nothing left for BN/Umno to salvage. BN/Umno and it's recent actions has sent it to the point of no return. The next GE, the Rakyat (People) will recite the Al Fateha for BN/Umno...More http://*********.********.com
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2009 14:30:53
Did I read it wrong??!!
Did RPK just equate Matthias Chang to "geniuses" for simply vomiting out what many economists have been saying for the last 10yrs?

Granted - Matthias is intelligent and does have his very valid arguments
The problem with Matthias Chang isn't the fact that he predicts doom, but in the very fact that he does not acknowledge the plunder in the time of Mahathir, nor does he condemn Mahathir's fascist inclinations - which has contributed to what he sreams out about.
Worse still - he seems to advocate the very disease that causes this "crisis of confidence" RPK speaks, as a cure!!
Please tell me I'm wrong....
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2009 14:33:05
Typo

...- which has contributed to what he screams out about.
.... causes this "crisis of confidence" RPK speaks of, as a cure!!
written by Raja Petra, May 14, 2009 14:33:52
Dear cruzeiro, there you go putting words in my mouth again. By the way, is this a hobby or your full-time job?
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2009 14:35:36
hahaha ...
No lah - maybe part-time only smilies/grin.gif
Just confirming .... smilies/grin.gif
written by teo siew chin, May 14, 2009 14:56:57
aiyo cruzeiro - wats de matter wiv u ???
YM RPK is commenting on residentsniper's post la !!!

pls dont piss off the big guy nowadays cos his 'on the run' days are really rattling the bugis in him and he gets real scary then smilies/tongue.gif
written by AngryTaxpayer, May 14, 2009 16:30:28
We all know the sincerit of PR to return the power to the people.....when Nizar was declared the legal MB, one of the first things on his list was to approach the sultan to pave way for fresh elections....

But oh no....UMNO will rather eat shit than to let that happen.......although I'm not sure how shit can eat shit....... smilies/tongue.gif
written by batsman, May 15, 2009 10:15:31
Hi cruzeiro - Since you asked for it, I am telling you, you are wrong. Just because RPK did not equate you with genius, not need to pout .... heeheehee.
written by cruzeiro, May 15, 2009 14:25:23
Hi mate!
No problems - no pouting ... can live with it smilies/grin.gif
Anyways - u goin to the BUM this saturday?
I'm giving it a pass .... don't trust Rocky & gang who're hardly close to independent. Never did, never will. With Rocky there, it appears like an agenda to recruit the "independents" for a new brew of bloggers with plenty of sugar.
Note that they are having a separate "Malay session" for the benefit of you-know-who". Why can they have both simultaneously?
I'd advise caution to those who attend - what more with the "grand old man" of repression speaking on the Press!
written by pelanduk chuan, May 16, 2009 17:31:05
RPK says:
"......This is most unfortunate. Matthias Chang had already written, time and time again, that the world is about to face a serious financial crisis. In fact, he said we are going to see a total collapse of the entire economic system not later than 2008 or 2009...."

written by HL5, May 13, 2009 22:47:44
This foresight is not lost to economist, retail bankers, investment bankers, fund managers and financial traders. And academicians. They have been cautioning about this coming crisis for a number of years. Matthias Chang was not the first. And neither was he the originator. The only thing thing I can credit him with is that he managed to penetrate the daily fog of twisted truths and half truths and Bullsh*ts emanating from Wall Street, Financial Times, CNBC, Bloomberg, Washington, New York, and London.

HL5: yours is well-informed and balanced presentation of ALL of our MALAYSIAN fund-managers,research analysts and investment bankers have been reading for years, day-in and day-out,especially since 1995, well before the 1997 financial crisis when Mahathir practice his half-baked economic/fiscal policies of allowing BNM exceptions to all his cronies/UMNO companies/family members to excessive offshores (EURO/USD) borrowings to finance the wholesale disposals of public assets(government corporations), thereby opened wide the Malaysian legs to seduce the attacks/rape of foreign $ speculators...........

Matthias Chang researched into all this well-documented writings/books since then,copied/borrowed/translated into Malaysian situation,passed it on as his own("FastForward"), managed to impress the then desperate/discredited Mahathir, offered his service this weak defence of Mahathir flawed policies/economic crime -- and blamed it on others (remember Soros -then and now?).

RPK and Mahathir and many of us are impressed because we have not been exposed to these types of ideas/predictions/prophecies which are freely/fully available online since 1994 in Malaysia.We just DO NOT READ ENOUGH .

For the uninitiated and lazy readers (who are ignorance of what is going on/available in public domain since the 1987/1997) go youtube on the likes of Ravi Batra,Roubini, Krugman, Celente,Jim Rodger,Marc Faber,Peter Schiff,Jeff Rense, Hal Turner,Alex Jones..........and 1000's of the new start-outs like Matthias Chang..... you will soon realise he regurgitates what these ORIGINAL proponents has said 5,10,20yrs ago.....
written by talk2stop, May 17, 2009 10:44:28
Everyone in Malaysia know there is a problem. The problem is that Malaysians can't tell the different between the cause and symptom.
Let me tell you a good example.
In Malaysia if a road had a few fatal accidents. The road is a bad omen. And telling drivers that's a dangerous section.
In the West, they will study why, how and re design the road to slow traffic. On top of that they will educate their drivers.
Can you see how Malaysia trying to fix a problem? The other bigger problem is that when Malaysia can't fix it they F#@K big time.
written by Anak Desa, May 23, 2009 12:08:21
It is long foregone conclusion is that Pakatan wont get a favourable verdict for them as Nizar's one -off verdict as an legal MB stays for only 24 hours and UMNO Baru got the Court's verdict the next day which doesnt happened in the history of the Judiciary. The Lord President is an UMNO Baru member and he has to be subservient to the Party President of UMNO Baru and stay as UMNO Baru compliance.