Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The wood for the trees

The wood for the trees PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 May 2009 19:30

Would all this have happened if Pakatan Rakyat had asked for the Perak State Assembly to be dissolved two weeks before the crossovers? Did one Umno crossover give an impression that Perak was impregnable? Was not this one crossover maybe the legendary and metaphoric Trojan Horse?

Let’s not forget the two issues that had brought about the chaos and uncertainty: the unethical crossovers and the unfortunate refusal to dissolve the Perak State Assembly. These two issues invalidated the mandate of the Perakians and robbed them of their choice of government.

The only sane and sensible thing to undo the damage and bring calm and stability to Perak is to go back to the people to settle this issue once and for all. Let the people decisively decide who should form the government.

There is no other option.

Aliran President, P Ramakrishnan

It was not supposed to be he who gets appointed as the new Yam Tuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan after Tuanku Abdul Rahman passed on. Yes, Tuanku Abdul Rahman, the man who Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur’s once main and upmarket thoroughfare, was named after but which always gets confused with Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia’s First Prime Minister and holder of the title Bapak Merdeka.

But can we blame Malaysians of limited educational background? After all, how many countries in the world still possess a Monarchy? And to have the Monarch and Prime Minister sharing the same name would probably be an incident never before recorded in the history of this world. To the more initiated, however, the Tuanku and Tunku would be telling enough. And which was the Constitutional Head of State and which the Political Head of State would not be a matter of confusion.

It is natural, however, for most people to ignore matters of little interest to them, especially if it does not change their lives one bit or helps put more food on the table. Of what concern is it to those whose only concern is where their next meal would be coming from. So we have two Rahmans running this country. And which Rahman has more power over the other would be matters that only those schooled in higher institutions of learning would be able to comprehend.

A British Minister on a visit to this country thought that Malaya was still a British colony. Maybe it was so back in the old days. But Malaya had already been given self-rule one minute pass midnight of 31st August 1957. Should a Minister be allowed to meet the Prime Minister? Yes, if the Prime Minister was a Prime Minister of a British Colony. But Malaya was not. It was already an independent nation. Furthermore, would the British Prime Minister agree to a meeting with a Malayan Minister? Is not proper protocol that a Minister meets a Minister and the Prime Minister a Prime Minister? And, to top it all, it was someone gate-crashing the office of the Prime Minister without a prior appointment.

But such was the arrogance of the British Minister who forgot that Malayans no longer took orders from Caucasians. And when he was denied entry to the Prime Minister’s office he was hopping mad. In his meeting with the Agong, he brought up the issue of the kurang ajar Prime Minister and suggested that His Majesty should sack this most disrespectful Tunku Abdul Rahman.

Tuanku Abdul Rahman was amused at the antics of this most perturbed Orang Puteh. “My dear Sir, in this country, it is not the King who sacks the Prime Minister but the Prime Minster who sacks the King.” Yes, the Agong put into proper perspective whether the dog wags the tail or the tail wags the dog. And with that Malaya probably avoided a re-colonisation or a war with Britain a la the Falklands.

And so passed on this man who can only be described as a Malay gentleman par excellence. And it was time to choose his successor to the Royal Household of Negeri Sembilan. And the son, Tuanku Munawir, was chosen to succeed the throne. But Munawir ruled for only seven years before he too passed on. And since his son was considered too young to succeed the throne, Umno stepped in and decided that Tuanku Munawir’s brother, Jaafar, should instead become the new Yam Tuan while his son, Mukhriz, was bypassed.

Tuanku Jaafar ruled Negeri Sembilan for four decades. He remained on the throne while the Menteris Besar came and went, names we can no longer even remember. But there was one Menteri Besar the Ruler could not get along with. He would never accept an invitation to any function or event if this particular Menteri Besar were also invited. And if the Menteri Besar walked into the room, then Tuanku would leave on the excuse he had to go powder his nose.

But, try as he may, Tuanku Jaafar could not force the Prime Minister to remove Isa Samad as Menteri Besar. And Tuanku had to endure many years of pain with Isa as his Menteri Besar but could hardly do anything about it. And was this not also so for Sultan Idris of Perak who wanted the Menteri Besar, Ghazali Jawi, dismissed? Sultan Ismail of Terengganu, too, suffered the same indignity when he wanted Nik Hassan out but Umno sided with their Menteri Besar over the Sultan. The Sultan of Pahang shared the same predicament when he went into a rage but could not dislodge Rahim Bakar as Menteri Besar.

Yes, Umno, and only Umno, decides who becomes the Menteri Besar. True, the appointment would have to dovetail with the wishes of the Ruler. But once appointed, the Ruler can do very little except hope that his adversary can be dislodged in the next general election. And no Ruler would commit that cardinal sin of going against Umno’s wishes by removing a Menteri Besar if he wants to continue to sit on the throne.

In the meantime, Tuanku Jaafar was getting old and no longer in the best of health and no one gave him more than a couple of years more to live. To ensure that the throne would not swing back to the Munawir clan, Tuanku Jaafar appointed his son as the Regent, basically sending a message that this was his choice of successor, his son. But when Tuanku Jaafar died, the throne went back to the son of Munawir who had been bypassed and not to his own son who he had installed as the implied successor.

But is this so weird? Did not Selangor too suffer a break in the line of succession when the political masters decided that one should be bypassed in favour of another to ensure that he who sits on the throne remains friendly to the political masters of the day? And Selangor is not the only one. Terengganu, Johor, Kedah, and many other states, also saw interference in deciding the line of succession so that the new Ruler will serve those who walk in the corridors of power in Seri Perdana.

Each state has its own system. And each state is unique. When Idris was the Sultan of Perak, it was not his son who was installed as the Regent. The Raja Muda was older than Sultan Idris that we called him Raja Muda Tua. Then the Raja Muda died before Sultan Idris did. That’s what happens when the Raja Muda is Raja Tua and so much older in age compared to the Sultan.

And that’s when Azlan’s fortunes changed overnight. From a retired Chief Justice he was now the Raja Muda. And, as fate would have it, Idris died not long after that and Azlan ascended the throne. But Azlan did something that none of the others before him did. He appointed his son, Nazrin, as the Raja Muda.

Does this mean Nazrin would now inherit the throne when Azlan dies, as he surely would one day and as all of us will as well? It was not so for Negeri Sembilan. It was also not so for Selangor. And it was not so for some of the other states as well. The Raja Muda who goes on to inherit the throne from the recently deceased Sultan is not an automatic and guaranteed tradition. History has proven that. And whether Nazrin succeeds his father is not for the Sultan to decide but depends on the grace and goodwill of Umno.

Yes, it is not the King who sacks the Prime Minister but the Prime Minister who sacks the King, said our very wise First Agong soon after Merdeka. And that has not changed one bit since. And the Prime Minister has many times in the past decided who should inherit the throne once it becomes vacant. This is how it has always been. This is how it will always be. And any Ruler worth his salt would know that your continuity lies in the hands of he who rules in Seri Perdana.

The frustration about what is happening in Perak is understandable and no one can say is unreasonable. There is talk about justice and about respect for the Constitution. But is it not the Chinese who scream over and over again that it is all about self-preservation?

This Chinese are smart. The Chinese are clever. The Chinese are shrewd. The Chinese may support the opposition but will never show it because they need to protect their rice bowl. How can we risk jeopardising our comfort and wealth by openly opposing the all-powerful Umno?

Fair statement. Reasonable conclusion. This is the Chinese ‘rules of engagement’. In fact, not only the Chinese, but also the Malays think this way as well; and the Indians even more so until quite recently when HINDRAF hit the scene.

Yes, we need to protect our personal interest. We need to make sure that what we do will not jeopardise our position. We will sacrifice for the rakyat to a certain extent as long as we do not personally suffer. But we expect others to put sacrifice for the rakyat above self-interest and that of their family.

This is called double standards. We want others to suffer for us. But we refuse to be inconvenienced for whatever reason whatsoever. When it was rumoured that 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament would be crossing over there was celebration and rejoicing in the streets. But when Pakatan Rakyat Assemblypersons crossed over instead there was outrage and condemnation.

When the court rules in favour of Nizar, God has spoken, the courts are fair, finally the judiciary is independent, the judge is a great man, and all other songs of praise. When the court rules in favour of Zambry, the court is under Umno’s control, the judges are corrupted, the judiciary has no balls, and much more. The only condemnation I have not heard yet is screw God although shouts of God is Great (Allah Akhbar) was heard when things work out the way we want it to.

Yes, we rejoice and praise when events favour us or are to our liking. We curse and condemn when it is the other way around. But we will never spend even one minute of our time to analyse the issues or even read the court judgement first before expressing our emotions, which is normally extreme beyond comprehension.

Would all this have happened if Pakatan Rakyat had asked for the Perak State Assembly to be dissolved two weeks before the crossovers? Did one Umno crossover give an impression that Perak was impregnable? Was not this one crossover maybe the legendary and metaphoric Trojan Horse?

Everyone is an expert on hindsight. But we are not talking about hindsight here. We are talking about two weeks before the fact. And even when information that Vincent Tan paid RM25 million to buy out a Pakatan Rakyat State Assemblyperson was revealed, and even when Hee absented herself from Pakatan Rakyat functions on the lame excuse that she is not well, the alarm bells still did not trigger.

Sure, blame the Sultan. Blame the Sultan who also had his self-preservation to worry about just like any other Chinese, Malay and Indian who puts their rice bowl above all else yet tries to sound self-righteous when others also do the same. Blame the courts. Blame Vincent Tan whose money made all this possible. But let’s not blame Pakatan Rakyat who was complacent, refused to act even when given two weeks prior warning, had started the crossovers in the first place, and now blame everyone else except themselves.

Comments (124)Add Comment
written by orangmsia, May 12, 2009 19:47:30
People are waiting for 13th General Election to teach BN a solid lesson..
Najis will become the last UMNO PM in Malaysia history
agree 325
written by alan cheong, May 12, 2009 19:54:33
The People's Alliance has its own shortcomings and is definitely not perfect.
But they are much better and relatively sincere (for now) about putting the people first ... waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than tak sedar diri, tamak gila, bodoh sombong, kughang hajau, malas bastards.

Is PA blaming anyone?
Have they truly blamed anyone?

They are doing their best to stay afloat and make the journey, much less have time to point fingers. And they deserve all the support they can get - they need time. Things will not change overnight, but change they will.
We are now in the second year of change - by the third year, the federal government will be replaced.

Sounds more like a mahathir-boot-lickin' piece - same old, insidious sowing of discontent and disillusionment.
disagree 18
agree 179
written by choong, May 12, 2009 19:56:33
no need to blame anybody.

what is done, is done. we can only wait till the 13th general election to once and for all change the one who will reside in Seri Perdana (well, that is for the next 5 years of course).

As for the royalties, I was upset but I know whether it is a president appointed by the govt or any head of state with the same name will be beholden to the govt of the day.

The only way is to weaken the executive powers by clearly separating it from the legislature i.e. directly electing a prime minister who will choose whomever to be his/her cabinet members.
written by concernedinmalaysia, May 12, 2009 20:04:06
I think that whilst it would have been better for the stability of the state to have called for a fresh mandate 2 weeks before the crossovers, a mandate from the people now is going to go PKRs way even more.

BN has shown it's hand, and it is not in the interest of the people to support them anymore.

This why BN is fighting not to have elections in any form until they really need to IE. general election in 4 years.

I have been saying for so long now that every single decision that Najib has made from not going to court to face allegations to the current situation and every forced decision in between has only worked against BN to exponentially drive people away from supporting them.

So every bad decision now that looks to be of benefit to BN is really more beneficial to PKR.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:05:12
Dear choong, Pakatan Rakyat got buggered because it does not know how the system works and how to work the system. It was like how the Americans first went to China and thought they would succeed just because they are Americans and not that to succeed you must understand the Chinese. This is the American arrogance. Are the Pakatan Rakyat supporters any less arrogant? I worry that this arrogance will be the death of Pakatan Rakyat.
disagree 34
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:07:46
Dear concernedinmalaysia, true, but how do we counter the argument by Umno that we started this crossover business first so we have no moral grounds to scream about our people crossing over to BN?
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:11:44
Dear alan cheong, oh, by the way, your comment 'Sounds more like a mahathir-boot-lickin' piece - same old, insidious sowing of discontent and disillusionment' is a typical, arrogant, opposition supporter response to anyone who says or writes something you don't like. But if the government does the same thing to you, you will scream about freedom of speech and all that crap. I find that sometimes the opposition supporters are as arrogant or more arrogant than BN people.

You mean to say DAP people lick Karpal's balls and PKR people lick Anwar's balls when they support the opposition?
disagree 46
written by hiiijack, May 12, 2009 20:15:41
My Dear RPK,
You have every rigth to feel very down about this whole issue,I can feel it that too,you are suffering from what had happen in our coutry lately,that is why you have to live your life on the run.If I'm not mistaken in one of your acticle not so long ago,you mentioned about having high hope of PR taking over the federal govt.So that they (PR) can overturn your ISA detention,but that did not come into picture due to 'the jumping frog iss.in Ipoh'.Yes,we'all feel down now but for sure not out,there is still hope.Please my dear RPK,please stay strong we Malaysian need you.May allmigthy God bless and protect you and family wherever you are and stay safe.
written by cheekymate, May 12, 2009 20:21:40
We are ultimately responsible for our own actions. Pakatan became complacent, probably over confidence (tinge of arrogance, perhaps?). This was the reason for their downfall.
They have a lot to learn from the dirty tricks of umno. Nobody said that politics was a fair game.
written by malgal, May 12, 2009 20:22:54
Over to PR, you kena whacked here for lying soft on your butt. Next time the iron is hot, you don't go burn yourself, you strike ok?
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:24:22
Dear hiiijack, that's not really what depresses me. What depresses me is to see prostitutes wearing Pakatan Rakyat T-shirts standing on the street corner shouting "Prostitute!" to the prostitutes across the road wearing Barisan Nasional T-shirts.
written by uxzee, May 12, 2009 20:24:36
When the court decided in favour of Nizar, no one said the court was fair. Many said that the judge was very brave and rightfully so. But many had expected the UMNO judges to turn the ruling. What we did not expect was the speed at which the ruling was turned.
written by choong, May 12, 2009 20:28:13

Yes, pride goes before the fall. When you know you can't win the battle, might as well retreat and plan a better plan on how to tackle fight back and preserve the victory. A wounded pride should be a lesson on humility.

But for a true structural change, we will need to separate the powers of the state more clearly. As much as I don't hate the American supremacy, their system of governance seems more suitable for us that the british parliamentary system. We can still preserve the monarchy but adopt the clear separation of powers like in US. Also, perhaps we may want to adopt proportionate representation as well to nullify the effect of gerrymandering.

For our future generations, whether they want PR, BN or whatever, at least a small government is better than a big one which tramples over us. Afterall, politicians are human beings, just like us and we too, are selfish, what more them? It is how we draw the line that makes us different. If they don't know how to draw, might as well we draw it for them and let them slug it out within the confines we set.

They can keep their pride when they fall, we can keep the humble in power.
written by clarity, May 12, 2009 20:28:59
RPK, you are obviously correct as you seem to have the chinese figured out right. And to rub salt ito the wound, can DAP have trained someone for ten years without knowing that the person can be so treacherous. One may say that this could happen also t other parties as well. But other parties do not have the money to indulge in money politics.
written by SamSan, May 12, 2009 20:30:00
Instead of focssuing on Perak, we should all now focus on getting more evidence on the truth behind the Altantuya murder. In so far as the Perak fiasco is concerned, let us leave it to the courts to drag it out for another year or more. What is more pressing now is to get international cooperation in trying to uncover more evidence on the Altantuya murder. We all should all try to use our international connections to send emails to our counterparts, friends and family members, etc. to help us uncover what they might have known and forgotten, might have seen or heard or even perhaps might have photos or vague recollection on Altantuya and her association with the big wigs. Pete, perhaps it is time for you to also pursue a Phd in Trinity College, Oxford,England together with Private Investigator Bala on forensic evidence. I suppose Pete, Bala and Razak Baginda can together form a formidable Phd research team and come with a good Phd topic on various different ways of unconvering evidence using a multi progned forensic evidence techniques.
written by gycgocnt, May 12, 2009 20:31:16
The High Court judge gave BN the best "staircase" to step down in this crisis with dinity; but BN decide to induce Court of Appeal judge and press the "Suicide Bomb".

Najib, are you really a Malaysian leader? Are you realised you are the Destructor of this country from the day you assumed the post of Perak UMNO Chief? By appealling a stay order for the High Court decision, BN have burn its last effort to convince voter in the future.

MCA, MIC and others BN components parties! I know you are the Loyal Doggy, but would you think of how is the perception of peoples towards BN, UMNO and you?

The "Right or Wrong, True or False, Moral or Immoral" in this political impasse is decide by Rakyat, not the so called judges, lawyers, politicians or even Sultan.

BN, you are come to the end of road, and the only destination for you is "Hell"!
written by malsia1206, May 12, 2009 20:32:57
RPK, just a point I beg to differ if I read your post correctly. If HRH the Sultan (or His son) can go down to bend to UMNO's wishes, then I'm sorry for the Monarchy. Yes, the men and women on the streets can sell out their souls. But they are only the ordinary men and women who are insignificant and inconsequential so to speak. The men in the platoon can dessert and run in the face of enemy fire. But when the Captain does that, well, I'm sorry for the men whom he's supposed to lead by having that rank in the first place. In plain simple words, what the men and women are responsible for their acts and deeeds, so equally is any Sultan or Monarch by comparison. That's not a fair expectation by any means.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:33:05
Dear SamSan, is this something you are suggesting that OTHERS go and do?
written by Thian, May 12, 2009 20:35:42

We know you miss HOME. Take Care and ... We shall overcome someday...

It saddens me when lunatic like Zambry claim to be the same as Gandhi, Mendela or Martin Luther King.

It saddens when the whole country held hostage and victimized by a bunch of UMNO mafia.

It saddens me when all sense of decency is being totally eroded.

It saddens me when dejects try to spin and surreal reality that we are anywhere near normal.

We have to look at the positive. When the going gets Tough, the Tough gets going.

written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:36:22
Dear choong, I think the first order of the day is for the opposition and its supporters to get off their moral high horse. Politics is about the pursuit of power and I simply throw up when they declare that they are in this to serve the rakyat. Who the hell cares about the rakyat? The rakyat are merely convenient tools in the pursuit of power.
disagree 25
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:39:52
Dear malsia1206, where have you been? This is how it has been from the very beginning. The Rulers, just like any normal person, supports the winner, never the loser. The Chinese, of all people, should understand this better.
disagree 18
written by concernedinmalaysia, May 12, 2009 20:40:35
Dear Raja Petra, I'm certain it has been said before, somewhere, that regardless of who "started" the crossover game PKR has always been about gaining the support to call for fresh elections so that they are a legitimate government and not one that has simply usurped their position in government.

What BN is doing now is nothing short of theft from the people by taking control of the government by whatever means necessary and using whatever resources they have at their disposal (judiciary, police, etc.)

But I will reiterate that all that BN is really accomplishing this time around is the drive the people away and into the waiting arms of PKR. I'm sure I'm not telling you anything you son;t already know right?
written by SamSan, May 12, 2009 20:42:27
Pete, I am suggesting you to pursue a Phd on forensic evidence because all your revelation and meticulous reporting to date shows you as a person with meticulous forensic work in looking at even the minutest detail and impeccable putting together of missing piece and subsequently perfectly threading these jigsaw puzzles with motive, etc. I strongly feel all that you have revealed and reported to date amounts to multiple Phd amounting to sterling research and analysis and will definately qualify for top level Phd research work.
written by sarawakian, May 12, 2009 20:43:57
from here, we can safely believe that Raja Nazrin will not allow dissolution of the Perak state assembly in order to "protect his rice bowl"

in all, this is all a very good "wayang kulit" to keep Malaysians at the edge of their seats, ignorant of the falling ecnomoy, while selected people go around raising fuel prices and doing other things which is of no benefit to the rakyat.

the Najib/Mahathir team is good!
written by concernedinmalaysia, May 12, 2009 20:45:46
It is the epitome of give them enough rope and they will hang themselves.

The way I see it they are already dangling.

And if it wasn't for the "new media" they would gotten away with so much more.

Thank god for the information age finally arriving in Malaysia!
written by choong, May 12, 2009 20:49:48

Haha... that's very true. But moral high ground is to impress the gullible. And there are many out there. But like someone once said, you can fool some, some of the time or all, some of the time, but you can't fool all, all the time. If the wounds is not licked or bandaged yet they still want to ride the horse to battle, their certainty of death is merely the inevitable fate of their own choosing.

Forewarned and they will not listen, currying anger which will tear all asunder, it is their choosing and their democratic right to do so. But like every action which will have reaction, can they foresee what will be the outcome pass their noses?

Maybe I am just as treacherous, whilst I am not aligned to any, I choose to be aligned to the anti-establishment in so far as ensuring a small govt come into existence. So for now it is for PR, but who is to say for BN would not be next?

We are using each other, that's for sure. Politicians want to use us, go ahead, but pay the price of the common people. And you sir, can fetch a higher price because you command influence even as you smoke the pipe. By making the common people smarter, their prices get higher. No politicians would like that because suddenly their margin of gain is lesser.

But that's the price of power. And when it comes to power, absolute power corrupts absolutely. With pride's help of course.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:51:15
The point to all this is: stop being self-righteous because we are all guilty, and stop feeling mad, get even. There are 5 million Malaysians out there not yet registered as voters. Go do something about it and stop talking as if you are angels. 3 million registered voters did not vote at all and 4 million voted for Barisan Nasional. Go do something about this also. Looking for scapegoats and trying to pin the blame of our stupidity on others is not the way forward.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:52:38
Dear sarawakian, wah! Impressive! Did you figure that out all by yourself or did you get help?
written by malaysianohope, May 12, 2009 20:54:13
In hind sight we can argue till the cows come home but the important issue on hand is to counter umno power grap, nevermind the apparent lack political savyness on the part of Pakatan. The only weapon here is to show to the Rakyat how slimy these power crazy zombies are & hopefully if we are lucky some Judges will do the job for us like Justice Abdul Aziz Abd Rahim. Meantime, we may need Devine intervention to convince the Perak Sultan to turn.
written by Huador, May 12, 2009 20:56:54
People can go to hell. What you have voted for and will vote again in the future is not significant. What is important is the need to make sure that future reward is guaranteed. Seat is secured and guaranteed.For that make sure we never at all cost stepping on anyone toes especially if that person is from the ruling clan. Chopping off few trees are small cost to pay in order to safeguard the forest.There are bigger trees and more juicy fruits to be harvested if we don't intimidate the roaming tigers. Let's all the dogs barking at the mountain.

written by gas, May 12, 2009 21:04:11
Is PKR being tricked once again? Last time there was crossing over to PKR and finally he crossed back to UMNO. Yesterday the court made Nizar taste the victory and now it's look he is going to lose all the way. Sad no doubt, but what can we do?
written by harrbm, May 12, 2009 21:06:53

written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:07:46

... true, but how do we counter the argument by Umno that we started this crossover business first so we have no moral grounds to scream about our people crossing over to BN?

Yes, tell me how to counter the argument?

written by alan cheong, May 12, 2009 21:18:33
LOL
What an honour, Peter, that a nobody like me managed to get a rise out of you, twice to boot. That's a mite uncharacteristic of you. smilies/grin.gif

YOU seem to be missing the wood for the trees in my comment.

I'd tick anwar off to his face in a moment if i ever have the opportunity - you may tell him the next time you see him: There's an (arrogant) chinaman who thinks you're a buffoon for messing up so many times! smilies/grin.gif
Just applying the simple principle that civil servants are accountable to us.

I spit on the mca and acquaintances who are mca members know it.

Shan't nor do i deny there will always be sycophants, toadies and anals galore, be they karpal's, anwar's, kit's, nik aziz's or anyone else for that matter. they will always be the unthinking herd.

One man's arrogance is another man's frankness? smilies/tongue.gif
You ain't walkin the talk, Peter, you forgettin that everyone has an anus, to quote you smilies/grin.gif
You're not the only one who can call a spade a spade.
To wit, I'd pegged you (on your writings) as a mahathir-boy 4 years ago and your recent 'confession' is mere icing on the cake.

Carry on, Peter, carry on.
written by sampalee, May 12, 2009 21:20:22
When we get to involved in a game,we took the dimension of the game trying to outwit our opponent to win.What we are unaware is our position before we embarked on the game of Duality[when we lived as oneness in a beautiful Taman named Eden.Just throw out the game called politic and let there be peace.Tuhan through all the recent manifestation intended to wake us from our mass hypnotic Trance.Know the game as Game and get beyond and that is what all kithab pointed to us.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 21:21:27
Dear alan cheong, how can that be when the first dialogue we organised with Mahathir was less than 3 years ago?
written by teo siew chin, May 12, 2009 21:21:46
soooo while getting 'even' the state runs on auto-pilot without an MB?
surely the stalemate must be settled - perhaps by both parties themselves instead of resorting to the courts or the sultan?
why can't both parties have a pow-wow, smoke the peace-pipe and come to a workable solution?
geeeez...these people are adults, professionals and it is surely a challenge to their mental faculties to come to a win-win situation - the people will respect them (both ruling and opposition parties) whatever the decision made together that maintains peace, harmony and a way forward. This is a historical never-before occurence, best to come out of it in good light for everybody, no?

After all, the hegemony has changed that today's winner might become a loser tomorrow and vice versa.

written by sydput, May 12, 2009 21:23:43
I am no fan of anwar, Lim Kit siang or Hadi.
but in RPK, I trust.
Most knowledgable.
Master tactician.
The opposition would not have won so much without Him.
He puts righteousness and justice above race and religion.
That is the way it should be.
disagree 16
written by lampard, May 12, 2009 21:28:27
For Pete Sake,
you are replying nearly everyone, how bout the request I made to you earlier, start a "kongsi" and lead the way, I will join you...! Disseminate people when need be... Well you said many things but you dont see much actions... So, why dont I bestow you the title "Godfather" and I will join you as your first Sergeant at Arms? How's that... cut the crap and let action speaks louder than words!!! Gone are the days where pen is migthier than the sword...though I was advices earlier that

the pen doesn't whack physically it isn't in the same league as those whose talent is better spent elsewhere, it works on the mind to create an awakening - and it takes time.

OVER TO YOU PETE
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2009 21:31:14
RPK, I think you are mistaken.

If Nizar were to seek dissolution of the assembly 2 weeks before the defections, it would be difficult to justify the dissolution of the assembly to the sultan. On what grounds could Nizar seek for dissolution when PR have not lost the confidence of the majority in the house?

If the 3 resignation letters were valid and bar any by-elections, the house would be at stalemate and then there would be reason enough to dissolve the assembly as no clear majority prevails.

When BN had the majority, the Sultan of Perak is still not obliged to dissolve the assembly as a motion of no confidence could be carried out to replace the MB and state Exco.

I do not see any viable reason PR could use to seek dissolution of the state assembly before the defections. In fact, it would be more reasonable for the Sultan of Perak to refuse dissolution prior to the defections as Nizar has an uphill task to convince the sultan that dissolution then was for the best interest of Perakians when PR has not lost majority in the assembly.

The main viable reason for seeking fresh elections in Perak is that the defections are suspect thus not in the best interest of Perakians and risk compromising the confidence of the public towards the state executive. You can't use this reason before the defections happen.

Regardless if there was a trojan horse or not, the result would be the same. Nizar can't seek dissolution based on speculation.

The cleanest break BN could have taken was to bring up a no confidence motion for Nizar and the PR Exco to resign before they appoint Zambry. If they carried out such actions, whether I like it or not, there is little you can fault them if they follow the rules as even though there's allegations of corruption, without sufficient proof it would forever remain only an allegation and the palace and the state assembly can't act based on that.

Thus, bottom line, RPK as far as the facts that are in the public domain, Nizar had little or no grounds to seek dissolution of the state assembly prior to the defections of the 3 aduns. I think the biggest missed chance was the resignation letters that were disallowed. If the resignation letters are legally binding, then there was a better chance to seek dissolution or at least have 3 by-elections in hand.
written by scorp1on, May 12, 2009 21:33:45

Firstly, yes there are many idiots around, that dont stop to think for a second before condemning... in particular when the outcome does not favour them..,must be some sort of kiasu complex....

On the other hand, i find it hard to accept your comparison of the Royal family to a common chinese towkay. Yes every human being does what they need in order to survive, its our nature. But one hopes that the very well educated family of the royal house, would see the situation for what it is and put the needs of the people first even if will affect your own survival. One should like to believe that the royals still conduct themselves with some code of honour due to the enormous duty and responsibility that they carry as symbols of our country. Failing to do so, yes we can then say that they are no better than a commoner who would sell his mother if it meant survival. And then we must come to conclusion that if they are no better than a commoner..is there any need for the monarchy.

I actually like the fact that our country still retains the monarchy, it is part and parcel of our heritage. But if the monarchs are as selfish as what you have painted them out to be by comparing them with a commmoner, then yes, in time Malaysians will storm the bastille and convert Msia into a republic.

written by lampard, May 12, 2009 21:34:14
Sultan or not, men don't follow titles they follow courage!
written by concernedinmalaysia, May 12, 2009 21:40:49
I think there is something in what you have said scorp10n.

RPK has set a prime example of how the royalty SHOULD act, by saying and doing what he feels is right for his cause, that being the people of Malaysia and yet he is persecuted and in hiding because of his actions.

What excuse does the royalty have? Surely BN can't persecute them and have them go into hiding as well...
written by raven1958, May 12, 2009 21:42:43
THE PR is just way too emotional.....there is little strategic thinking....arm yourselves with the best lawyers...and strategize......Perak is in limbo...the PR should already be thinking how to make it work to their advantage......it's a stalemate.....money will flow out of Perak now.....no one to approve projects...approvals , even if given, could be illegal.....people will be paupers soon except perhaps the Prostitute of Jelapang and her two side kicks......Those who resort to the courts must have found out by now that legal action is a double edged sword.

The PR in Perak must work with it's sister states of Selangor and Penang...to really win over any doubting grassroots...they should keep people in little towns, kampongs, estates close to their hearts so that when the inevitable elections come....there are no doubts that they are winners.....Perak should perhaps be ruled by PAS......the DAP and the PKR have shown poor organizational and strategic skills
written by Proarte, May 12, 2009 21:42:52
OK, Anwar fell for the trap. Despite the September 16th 08 fiasco when he promised that Pakatan would form the new government by 30 frogs crossing over from BN failed to materialise, Anwar still lived in the fantasy that BN politicians would abandon the gravy train and join him with no inducements! Anwar's naivety and megalomania is sometimes breathtaking.

The one crossover from BN got Anwar so excited that he went around celebrating saying that his September 16 promise though 'delayed' was still on course! When the Perak state government fell, Anwar was speechless, scratching his head how the honourable Datuk from BN who crossed over to PKR 'over priciples' could readily turn himself into a homing pidegon and fly back to UMNO!

The sense of 'impregnability' was formented by none other than Anwar and we now can understand why Karpal blew his top and asked Anwar to 'bertaubat' and to play by the rules of democracy. We must not forget that it was Anwar who was the driving force behind the cross-overs in 1994-95 which brought down the Pairin government and the eventual entry of the cursed UMNO into Sabah. The reason why he was successful then was because he had UMNO billions behind him and not because of his overwhelming 'charisma' or 'popularity' with the Sabahans.

I disagree however with RPK's thesis that the Sultan would have allowed for the dissolution of parliament just prior to the defections. If UMNO is his Boss as RPK implies, then a dissolution would have upset their game plan and UMNO would not allow him to do it. 'What reason do you have to dissolve the State assembly Nizar', the Sultan would have asked Nizar. 'You have a majority, now you have a Datuk crossing over strengthening Pakatan, I cannot dissolve the Assembly at the drop of a hat just because Pakatan wants to consolidate its strength in times of economic difficulty when the ruling powers are often at a low ebb in popularity. You must remember Nizar, I am above politics! I cannot be seen to be favouring any political party. It is only in an emergency that I may condescend to do so.' ( Apologies to the Sultan if I have misquoted him.)

If there was ever a situation which requires a dissolution of the State Assembly it is now, as the Courts cant even decide who is the real MB! At things stand now, Nizar is no longer the MB after being reinstated 24 hours ago! But then the Sultan has to follow his Boss UMNO otherwise his son does not get to become the future Sultan , furthermore Gamuda would not be bailed out. So welcome to the 'cari makan world'! The only difference is that the Royals have a more voracious and expensive diet than the Rakyat!
written by lynn, May 12, 2009 21:43:45
Karpal Singh was right all along to reject crossovers from BN. Such is the great wisdom of this man from DAP. Everyone incl. his enemies must give him due respect for he is one of the few people in Malaysia who dared to speak out. Mr Karpal, may you live a long & healthy life!

PR froggies who crossed over to BN will never return, not that they will be welcomed back. After crossing over, they are paid millions - these traitors had no intention of serving their constituents. They wud wait it out and try to make a fast buck (RM25 million is no chicken feed)

Once PR come into power as ruling federal govt., Hee would be the first to be charged for corruption - accepting bribes is not corruption so the bitch better kill herself b4 we install a new govt.
written by lynn, May 12, 2009 21:44:53
accept bribe is corruption, korektion, bitch-cum-prossy.
written by hellosunshine, May 12, 2009 21:45:36
RPK, per your last paragraph in your 'wood for the trees', I know you are very 'frust' because PR had not heeded all the warning signs but that's all under the bridge now and the damage done. No use getting all worked up and getting a hernia in the process. Why don't you guys all get together and brainstorm on corrective actions to get positive results rather than wallow in negative territory, finger pointing who's right, who's wrong. 'Hantaming' everyone and his dog here may relieve some pressure/loneliness off your self imposed exile but we all meant well albeit mostly from our armchairs. smilies/grin.gif
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 21:49:21
Dear AsamLaksa, you THINK I am mistaken or you KNOW I am mistaken? Which is it? Your comment that Nizar must first lose the majority confidence of the house BEFORE he can justify asking for the State Assembly to be dissolved is exactly what Nizar did. But since he no longer commands the majority then what authority does he have?

Maybe you can quote me which Article of the Perak State Constitution that says you must first lose power before you can dissolve the Assembly. Sheesh, I wonder why I even waste my time replying to you.
disagree 18
written by born2reign, May 12, 2009 21:50:26
Yes Anwar was the one who encouraged crossovers. 916 has come and gone. Nothing. So has May 7th the international circus of the year. In fact RPK you are quite naive to think that BN/UMNO will act like gentlemen, they are looking forward to let you rot in ISA this time.

It is even more childish of you to assume that Pakatan will have good teamwork and synergy, when the bumi-nonbumi-Malay-nonMalay lines are still clearly tattooed in Pakatan's foundation, to create division not unity. No family, NGOs, charities, churches, temples, mosques, are totally united and without traitors. Successful people meet more traitors than the normal Mr.Joe.

Let's get this straight. This is not good vs bad. This is Kwai-ta-kwai (devil against devil). Even in any corporations there are disunity and backstabbing and sabotage. This is the real world, or have you forgotten how the business world works?

Chinese are not good politicians. Chinese are good businessmen. Malays and Angmo and Indians make good lawyers and good politicians, because they are not as calculative as the Chinaman. Why focus on their weaknesses? If you know how to play this right, you can get the right funding from the Chinese and the good public demonstrations from the others. Isn't that what a good CEO and HR director do? Isn't that the role of the head of Pakatan?

But with regards to Perak, we are just tired of the entire show. We are waiting for the next GE. BN has more than enough time to bring in more illegal immigrants from Indonesia and give them Mykad, or to recruit more Mat Rempit phantom voters.

Read our sentiments, focus on the next GE. Between now and then, PR must draw out clear cut policies regarding abolishing NEP-for-Semenanjung-Malays, NEP for all races, conversion issues, freedom of religion issues, abolishing quota, ECONOMY etc. Learn from Obama's strategy's "Audacity of Hope". About time all leaders of PR sit down and plan for the future and successors, iron out their differences and drop the racial-religious party baggage.

BN will just continue to shoot themselves in their feet. They are good at that.

See you at the next GE. Stay Cool, Look forward.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 21:55:57
Dear scorp1on, maybe so once upon a time before Umno whacked the Rulers and the rakyat showed that it is between Umno and the Rulers and the Rakyat will not get involved.

And yes, I know what you are going to say now, that the Rulers misbehaved so they deserved it. I know many of you even say if there is one thing good Mahathir did it was to cut the Rulers down to size.

I have no problems with that. But then we can't have it both ways. Ku Li did warn us back in the late 1980s that we bring the Rulers down at our own peril as then Umno can run this country like an unofficial republic.

Today, Umno tells the Rulers what to do and they listen. Was Ku Li right or wrong?

Anyway, that's also good. Now the Rulers got no power to misbehave. But they also got no power - full stop.
written by sactyr, May 12, 2009 21:59:50
Look guys, all Pete is asking us is to be shrewd (but not cunning) and brave (but not arrogant).

For example, Pete is right when we all rejoiced at Anwar's plan of BN members crossing to PR, but we became hypocrites when BN does exactly the same thing.

We need to keep both the opposition and the ruling on their toes, tell them when and where they are wrong without whacking them like we do in blogs.

There is no point in name-calling, swearing etc coz what is the difference between us and BN supporters then?

We need to show them that we are more educated, we are more aware of our rights and more importantly the willingness to change our country. It all starts from us. People like Pete can only show us the door, we are the ones that have to walk through it.

Forget about commenting and writing, every Dick, Tom and Harry out there is doing the same thing. Forget about what BN is doing or not doing. Forget about singing praises at Pakatan. That's what politicians do.

What we as public need to do now is make others more aware of their rights, get them registered as voters, and make sure they exercise their right to vote in every freakin election. Think mass, think people power. If this country needs change, it will have to start from us.

written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2009 22:03:14
RPK, in regards to prostitution, I agree with you. I was mad as hell on learning the many Chinese in KT saying they support PR in principle but have to vote BN to protect their rice bowls. What made me madder was some group even called this behaviour cleverness on the part of the KT Chinese... utter syiok sendiri - Sudahlah tunjuk tak ada tulang belakang nak cakap banyak pandai lagi???

I find in the West there are many people who would scream/shout/protest/rally/vote not based on personal economic benefits or protecting their rice bowls. Take for example the most recent public outrage in UK about the treatment of Gurkha veterans by the UK government. There is no economic benefit for the white British to make a fuss about yet such an issue can derail Labour's prospects in the elections. But you have to bear in mind that UK has a welfare system which is absent in Malaysia.

Back in Malaysia, you want to be rich, work hard; you want to be super rich, work for/with datuks. There is no rewarding welfare system thus money is always a big draw in Malaysian politics. Now, I don't take this as an excuse because many of the ones who are out protecting their rice bowls come election time are actually well to do people. You'd think that the prostitutes are mainly the hardcore poor, but this is not the case.

Have these well to do prostitutes lost sight of the big picture? The big picture is if you have a more just more equitable government, it would benefit everyone in the long run. It means less crime, better economic management, better distribution of wealth, etc.. This also means your gains are in the long term, not in the short term. Long term gains are sadly often less popular.

I think Malaysians in general need to be educated further to help them find out what really should matter. Once they discover what really matters, then they would make better choices and you won't get the racial excuses, the afraid to lose government contract excuses, etc any more.
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 22:04:26
Dear Proarte, maybe so. But asking for the dissolution when you are still the MB as opposed to after Najib's press conference announcing that BN is now the new state government makes a lot of difference. The Sultan can say no because you are no longer the MB -- so I tak layan your request when you are no longer the MB can work. What excuse can the Sultan give when you are still the MB?
written by A MI, May 12, 2009 22:06:15
smilies/cry.gif
sad.
But the truth is often bitter medicine to swallow.
Agreed that hindsight is always 20-20 vision but I am not sure how PK could have sensed trouble brewing, just because ADUNs absented themselves. That would need Mahathir's mind I guess.

It is apparent PK are no match for BN when it comes to tactical moves to hold onto power. Even DSAI with all his experience with ABIM and later briefly in UMNO has been duped more than once. The faggot should not have been recruited in the first place. Then there were reports that the guy who introduced the faggot to DSAI's team was killed in a hit and run accident. Was that ever investigated?

PK were much too naive in welcoming the trojan horse with open arms. The wresting back of Perak by UMNO was just way too swift-handed for the novice PK. They didn't know what hit them.

Ok now let us forget about blaming it all on the sultan. Let us see how PK can still hold on to the 4 states and work on building the credibility of the party. Money is not the only worry for PK, high calibre members is definitely another problem.

I don't mean to offend Tok Guru, DSAI, LKS or LGE but this is what PK looks to me. DAP is too left wing. In fact I feel DAP will have a lot of problems getting high Malay support. Then there is PAS with outlooks which freak out even moderate Muslims. PKR, on the other hand is neither here nor there; as it was borne to protest DSAI's arrest and it still lacks the mettle a good political party needs.

The Perak fisaco was just a very costly lesson for PK.
written by mypanida, May 12, 2009 22:08:47
As long umNO is still alive and kicking and the word MERITOCRACY is still taboo, there is no way out for Malaysia to join the enlightened group of nations.

Monarchy or not, we can live with it but we have to draw the line in the sands.
If they want to be businessmen, they have to do away with their thrones.There is no two ways about that.
written by latihanQ, May 12, 2009 22:08:55
Wag the Dog is a 1997 film starring Robert De Niro and Dustin Hoffman, about a Washington spin doctor who distracts the electorate from a U.S. presidential sex scandal.

When an unnamed President of the United States is caught in a closed room with a young girl scout less than two weeks before re-election, a hired political schemer is brought in to try and take the public attention away from the scandal. He decides to construct a fake war with Albania, hoping the media will concentrate on this instead.

Distraction and diversion works some of the time. It sure beats being in the eye of the scandal.

Are we not so engrossed with Thamby and his compendium of funny people?
written by malaysian, May 12, 2009 22:14:43
"There are 5 million Malaysians out there not yet registered as voters. Go do something about it and stop talking as if you are angels. 3 million registered voters did not vote at all and 4 million voted for Barisan Nasional."

Dear Pete, I was a todler in KL during May 13. My mom, like many others, was traumatised by it for life. I still remember one day when Radio TV Malaysia (RTM) first started having the Azan between TV programmes in the early 70s. Being a kid, I once got irritated and started 'howling' along with it! My mum got hysterical and started beating me like hell! All the while, she kept screaming," The Malays will come with parangs and chop us to pieces!!!"

My parents never voted again. They always feared that if the Opposition won, the Malays will come with parangs again. My mom is still around and she always advices us to vote for BN. In her mind, Mahathir (now Najib)is a 'good' man - because he let us live in his (ie. Malay) country!

I lived the last half my life in Singapore. I am surprised to see a similar fear there. Singaporeans say that every ballot paper is serialised. The government will blacklist you if you vote the Oppposition. Your HDB flat application will be rejected, your children will be 'cooks' in the army during NS and their University applications will never be entertained!

I still cannot get my mom to vote, Pete. But I believe a lot more Malaysians will vote in the next elections because thy are getting over the fear of May 13. The 12th General Elections had that effect! One thing for sure, now there is hope that the Opposition, who already control 5 1 states (now 4 1) can form the Federal Government! Also, there are many more Malaysians like me working hard to get our friends and relatives to go and vote!

Take heart,Pete. Malaysians are waking up!
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 22:17:48
Dear A MI, they did not sense it, they knew it. Then they went and spoke to Hee and 'sorted out the problem'. Then they said, "Don't worry. The Hee problem is all solved now. Nothing to worry about." Then Hee crossed over. Then they said, "Oh shit." And that was when the shit hit the fan.

They also knew that the two Melayu PKR had corruption cases hanging over their heads. And they knew that BN was offering RM5-10 million to each DUN. Many even showed the SMS offers. Then the two Melayu crossed over.

But its the fault of the Sultan and judge really.
written by *********, May 12, 2009 22:18:49
The Rakyat's patience is growing thin with the the Judiciary and the Monarchy. Don't blame the Rakyat if the chants of REPUBLIK gets louder. The Monarchy in Malaysia is at a crossroads. Don't let BN/Umno render the Monarchy as an icon of the past...More http://*********.********.com
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 22:20:45
It is apparent that many comments here are based on assumptions, theories and wishful thinking and that many of those commenting know very little about what transpired behind the scene.
written by lampard, May 12, 2009 22:23:59
Anyway, that's also good. Now the Rulers got no power to misbehave. But they also got no power - full stop.
The Sultan can say no because you are no longer the MB -- so I tak layan your request when you are no longer the MB can work. What excuse can the Sultan give when you are still the MB?
Sarcastically; But its the fault of the Sultan and judge really

This round, it is not about what happened to the past...it is present, it is the people's request!! Not Nizar or Zambry or the Sultan or Najib, it is about the people...we want a fresh election to end this international disgrace!!! Don't you?
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2009 22:25:40
RPK, if I am mistaken, then you and I are back in square one. If Nizar commands the confidence of the assembly, why would the Sultan of Perak grant dissolution of the assembly? I concede I am not an expert on Perak constitution but when it comes to your assertion of seeking dissolution 2 weeks prior to the defections, I ask, on what grounds? As much as I support PR's agenda in general, I would also question PR if they acted frivolously.

Sure the Perak constitution does not say that Nizar needs to lose the confidence of the assembly or lose the majority before he can ask for dissolution. It may even be that theoretically he can ask at any time. But without a good reason, would the Sultan of Perak grant it? Thus if this is the case, then it lies back with the Sultan of Perak.

Take this scenario: 2 weeks before defection Nizar asks for dissolution of the assembly. If the Sultan says no who are you going to blame then? Nizar? Sultan of Perak?

If the Sultan of Perak says yes, many people will be scratching their heads and many more will question what for? Based on allegations, speculation and politicking? Nizar would have one hell of a time explaining it to Perakians.

If there was one thing which would have prevented the Perak crisis it is not about Nizar asking for dissolution of the assembly prior to the defections. As I said I think it comes down to the resignation letters. If the resignation letters were enforceable, it would compromise the status of the state assembly and thus give a good reason for fresh elections.
written by mob1900, May 12, 2009 22:26:15
written by peter, May 12, 2009 22:28:45
Let the nazi party umNO do what they want. Every move they make to grab power in Perak, is another nail to their coffin.

Now what all the common folks are commenting about the dirty tactics these b@stards are using to grab power by all means. Let the nazi party have it's way. It won't be for long when they are wiped out for good.
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2009 22:35:06
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 22:20:45
It is apparent that many comments here are based on assumptions, theories and wishful thinking and that many of those commenting know very little about what transpired behind the scene.

Then tell us what's behind the scenes, RPK, so that we can become more enlightened. Let us judge for ourselves with the revelation to come. Otherwise using our lack of behind the scenes knowledge when we disagree with you sounds rather hollow. No need to get frustrated with the ignorant, act to educate. Perhaps another article for behind the scenes story?
written by arazak, May 12, 2009 22:36:14
Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang and Hadi Awang,

The key word in this article is "COMPLACENT"!

Time to reflect. . .!
written by A MI, May 12, 2009 22:36:17
Dear RPK

I respect your views and am humbled by your knowledge, wisdom and writing prowess.

Ok let it all be PR's folly due to their naivety, complacency or blind-ego or short-sightedness.
But does the judiciary in Malaysia really ensure equal justice under law as it should. So why shouldn't the judge in the court of appeals be blamed then? Why shouldn't the interfering AG be blamed?
written by timmy, May 12, 2009 22:40:56
RPK is basically fuming because HE WAS THE ONE THAT WARNED PAKATAN about the plot and they ignored him. And until now, Pakatan never admitted their mistake of ignoring RPK's warning and intel. So RPK just want to say "Serve them right!".

One of RPK's previous article, RPK even wondered whether Pakatan leaders has the wisdom to let this things not happening again. I guess we can understand why is he needed to point out the fact that Pakatan indeed missed their only chance to dissolve the assembly.

In politics, it is a man eat man world -- and it's about survival. Who cares about fair play, in the end politicians just care about their pockets and the power they can assume.
written by A MI, May 12, 2009 22:42:37
many of those commenting know very little about what transpired behind the scene.

Guilty as charged! I am definitely one of those. I don't know what transpired behind the scenes.
Pray tell what happened behind the scenes, if it is going to help us help PR become stronger (and smarter)
written by BennyG, May 12, 2009 22:52:19
Just a 2 cents opinion. Perak Crisis had brought out the worst in UMNO. No laws & no power could stand in UMNO's way. What still make PR think that Kedah & Selangor will not fall would be a wonderful fantasy!

Perakians is willing to waiting till GE13 to make their stand. Let's hope PR strategy in Perak will be fruitful in GE13. But is there still a fair & level playing field then?

On your topic of the Royal Families having no power is proven in Perak. Initially Perlis & Terengganu thought that this is the time to make a difference but Perak had proven it to be futile. The wealth & succession is still controlled by UMNO.

We thought by having 3 authorities will provide a better check & balance. Since the Judiciary had proven to be unable to exert any influence, why bother with them? At least they could be used to fool the foreign investors. Now the pertinent question. If the Monarchy is powerless against UMNO, why the need for the Monarch?????????????
written by harmanamri, May 12, 2009 22:53:00
Suppose that immediately after "information that Vincent Tan paid RM25 million to buy out a Pakatan Rakyat State Assemblyperson was revealed", Nizar went to the Sultan to ask for dissolution of the Assembly, do you, RPK, think that the Sultan would have agreed then, without first consulting the powers that be in Putrajaya? Was he, at that point, quite unconcerned about "self-preservation" as he was only two weeks later? I for one don't believe that. What I believe is that both Putrajaya and Kuala Kangsar planned the whole thing together from the beginning.

It could have taken place sooner (as early as 31 August 200smilies/cool.gif, if not for Anwar's 916 threat. Imagine Kuala Kangsar's predicament if, after allowing a coup in Ipoh to reinstate the BN, he had to face a Putrajaya that has fallen to Pakatan just two weeks later??

Much as I admire RPK, I do not see him as a better politician than Anwar Ibrahim.
written by teo siew chin, May 12, 2009 22:53:56
Immediately upon discovering 3 members of PR are missing, Nizar sought an audience with the sultan to dissolve the assembly and call for bye-election becos of the 28-28 deadlock and NOT becos he has lost the majority confidence.

From day one, Nizar has called for a bye-election to let the people decide. Even for the short 7 hours of the High Court ruling he is the MB, Nizar was again all ready to seek consent for a by-election.

LET THE PEOPLE DECIDE!

Why does Zamry NOT want to let the people decide? WHY?

written by citizenmy, May 12, 2009 22:55:44
I will say, whether Perak is lost or not let it be so. Let the MB keep on fighting, and whatever the final result comes in, just accept it.
What PR should focus from now on is getting back of the confidence of the people, showing PR alliance can work together better than BN and PR can performs better. PR need to create a shadow cabinet and centrally manage the states currently under PR. Public perception will depends on whether PR can manage these things well. PR need to think big and show that they are ready to govern after next election, no keep on moving within the small circle.
written by Sabahfan, May 12, 2009 22:59:27
DEAR PETE...

I dont care if i dont know what is BEHIND THE SCENE....

or infront the scene, or in the middle, or front side, back side, side-side..

all I want is FOR THE MONSTER UMNO REGIME TO BE DESTROYED ALTOGETHER, THEIR LEADERS SENT TO HELL

AND ALL THE KATAKS BE MADE FROG LEGS SOUP WITH BELACAN...!!!!

I AM TOTALLY FED UP PAYING MY TAXES AND GETTING NOTHING IN RETURN BECOS WE HAVE A F$%#NG CORRUPTED REGIME RULING OVER US.
written by teo siew chin, May 12, 2009 22:59:48
And surely a party that calls for a by-election does care for the rakyat, no?
written by zachary, May 12, 2009 23:07:15
Isn't it all about race? Truth of the matter is, the people who walk the corridors of power have this misconception that only the Malays shall govern this nation. No kafirs, no Chinese, no Indians, no non-Malay bumiputras because the legacy of the British was an object lesson on racial division to preserve the reins of power. To the true Muslims, there is no question of race because it is all about believers versus kafirs. That is why some mamak turned malays have to lift high and holy the distinction between Malays and non Malays in the interests of legitimacy, and the only legitimate way is through the race card.
In a sense, unless the Malays truly accept non Malays as having equal rights as Malaysians in every sense of the word, no matter how hard a hundred RPKs bang their heads against the established structure, the status quo remains.
The non Malays do not have any qualms of the country being governed by Malays as long as they govern with the fear of God. Unfortunately, it is not the fear of God but the fear of losing power.
While all the broughaha was going on in Perak, the MSM reported billions had been released as part of the stimulus plan. Hello all, how and where and why have these billions been spent, nobody knows! How many more billions can our nation afford to bleed? Sad truth is that in time to come, when the country is broke, the high fliers that raped and pillaged our nation will be ensconced in luxury in England or elsewhere. The rest of the country, who sat back and allowed it all to happen, will be suffering. And you know what, the people that will suffer most will be the Malays because they form a greater part of the populace. I say this not to gloat or insult my fellow Malay Malaysians but in all compassion because they are my neighbours as are all Malaysians.
So, truth is, only the Malays can truly save Malaysia when they join hands with the non Malays to stem the tide of misgovernance. It will involve a new mindset, to accept non Malays as equals. Too tall an order perhaps? Stranger things have happened, by the grace of God.
written by Pakyeh, May 12, 2009 23:15:31
They are the "Devil in disguise" like Elvis Presley's song. The are the Devil and the Satan that kelentong the rakyat.
Read more "devi in disguise", Devil/Satan made simple" and "UMNO/BN = Satan ???" at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Susu08, May 12, 2009 23:28:57
About Raja Mukhriz ,
I heard it was the Undangs who elected him and UMNO was not too happy about it .
Raja Mukhriz never thought he would be King and he was never groomed to be King and he is not familiar with the protocol of the Palace.We will see if NS keeps awarding Datukships to anybody who can pay for it under Raja Mukhriz. It was a common practice of Tuanku Jaafar...I wonder why ? Was he not given enough of the Rakyat's money?
written by wolf, May 12, 2009 23:49:05

Which part of 'within your powers to request a dissolution' do you not understand?

I understand your point. But AsamLaksa also has a point:

If the Sultan of Perak says yes, many people will be scratching their heads and many more will question what for? Based on allegations, speculation and politicking? Nizar would have one hell of a time explaining it to Perakians.

written by myke, May 12, 2009 23:53:21
Please help copy and spread this message.
-----------------------------------------

TELL YOUR RELATIVES AND FRIENDS NOT TO VOTE FOR BN NEXT GE13.

EXTINCT BN AND VOTE PR.

NO TO BN.

VOTE PR.

PLEASE START WORKING NOW..!!!!!

-------------------------------------------
Please start by simple one person a day if possible and work towards convincing
friends/relatives to spread this message. Explain to them BN's evil deeds, corruption, abuse of
power etc and get them to spread this message.

TQ
For a better future.
written by ksmaniam, May 12, 2009 23:54:38
1. A menteri besar can still be a menteri besar even if he does not command the majority of the state. Of course he may not be able to pass laws etc etc. Consequently he will call for dissolution and it would be sheer stupidity if dissolution is not given. In consequence of that it is true that a menteri besar will request for dissolution if he does not have a majority (and for other issues which shows he has no confidence of the "majority".
2.Nobody else can call for dissolution other than the MB. This is a huge power in his hands and this ensure other MP' toe the line.
my 2 cents worth.
written by AlwaysFair, May 12, 2009 23:59:01
To be fair, Karpal Singh spoke out without fear and favour and blame Anwar for all the mess of frog-leapings and said Anwar not fit to be a leader. He also said he want to sue the sultan. Then all the mad dogs attack him for "derhaka."

Pakatan knows and admits their mistakes. It is the UMNO who like to use others tricks that is the problem. They used Mamak's sodomy trick on Anwar, in Perak they used Anwar's own plans of encouraging frog-leaping.

Of course they can be considered more successful because the well they have is deep and the water souce well supplied. No frog want to go to Anwar's well because got no water and food inside.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by harmanamri, May 13, 2009 00:00:42
Addendum to what I've written above at 22:53:00.
Najib Razak (and his brothers) and Raja Nazrin were together as students in London as teenagers. Raja Azlan was Razak Hussein's junior at the Malay College Kuala Kangsar. Najib's brother Johari always accompanies Nazrin. So, go figure out what is the outcome of all this "sandiwara".
written by shiokguy, May 13, 2009 00:08:51
Pillars' Independent

Until the pillars of Society are make totally independent.

Messenger is not available right now. Please try again later. (0x8ac70202)

written by fireduck, May 13, 2009 00:09:00
Look ahead, folks. Only at the next General Election can we do what we must and can, to make right so many of the wrongs. In the meantime, do not put too much faith on the Royalty nor the Judiciary to sort out the problems. We are responsible for our own future.

The important thing is not to wait till campaign time. The time to start is now. Materials and cannon fodder abounds. All we need is to bring all of these shenanigans to the consciousness of the people, urban or rural. With every abuse of power that the BN machinery makes, we make sure that it gets flushed out to many others.

The Perak issue should be allowed to go on, for the rest of the year, or better still till the next GE. That would continue to galvanize the people, and mould their opinions.

And I would place more hope, trusts and faith in the younger generations. They are probably in a better position to make those changes that we desire. They do not really have to lug along baggages like May13, etc. They are more vocal, fearless, idealistic and maybe even a better sense of right and wrong. Work on and with, their idealism. So, focus on recruiting more of the younger voters.

And GE13 will truly be when Malaysia come of age.
written by AsamLaksa, May 13, 2009 00:14:51
Dear AsamLaksa, simple, on grounds that you are the MB and it is within your powers to request a dissolution. Which part of 'within your powers to request a dissolution' do you not understand?

Simple, dear RPK, the Sultan of Perak has the discretion to grant or refuse the application for dissolution. Just because Nizar has the power or right or requirements, does not mean he will get it. If you want to convince the sultan, you need more than just saying because you are the MB. Show me where the sultan is obliged to grant a dissolution whenever a legitimate MB applies for one then I will agree entirely with you.
written by Dreamlander, May 13, 2009 00:28:05
Let us be FRANK about this fact.
PR did NOT expect the good showing in March 2008.
This KATAK HEE from Perak is a prime example of the calibre of candidates PR can marshal to stand for election then.
Therefore, being either in opposition or out-of-government, the newly elected ADUNs were naïve to the legislative protocols.
PR should now be more alert and concentrate to hold their majorities especially in Penang and Selangor.
Previously, Malaysians have NOT been given the opportunity to compare the standard of governance because at both national and state levels, the BN dominates. We can only aspire to that little red dot down south.
Now that Penang & Selangor are in PR control, PR should strive to prove their CAT (caring, accountable & transparent) mantra, especially in these forthcoming economically depressing times.
Besides proving their mantle to govern, PR should build up their grass-root organizational structure (encourage more people to register as voters) and recruit and groom capable people to stand as PR candidates in the next GE.
written by doggone, May 13, 2009 00:58:32
Had Nizar requested for a desolution of Parliament while PR still had the majority, all fingers would be pointing at him calling him an UMNO mole or a traitor.
written by Badrol, May 13, 2009 01:42:35
What if umno dies first?
written by mowadoha, May 13, 2009 01:50:19
A simple and sensible solution .... Agree?

written by nocrid, May 13, 2009 01:59:34
I learned some when I read this but I cannot see the point which is repeated. Point really taken. So now what? It's-justifiable-since-you-all-also-like-that?
written by imanj, May 13, 2009 02:04:29
Okay,i'm one of those who did not vote,why?..Didn't have anyone good enough to vote for.So don't jump at me cause,this time i will vote,cause it would be worth the time and effort,if this team Pakatan Rakyat go beyond to get every detail of their meaning of a coalition party right on track..

As for Perak,the room for distruction was opened by themselves and do hope it would be a lesson learnt.

written by onnyap, May 13, 2009 02:20:02
Why don't WE the People demand all the lawmakers in Parliament and State assemblies to vote and make law on this :-

Any MPs or Assemblymen who jump ship will have their seats declared vacant and the People will again decide in the by-elections.

We the People have had enough of these crooked politicians who prostitute themselves at the expense of the People.
If we have this law gazetted much earlier, then the current fiasco does not arise at all.
Do you think the 2 PKR morons and the DAP whore still sell their souls?
It will shuts Anwar's big mouth of setting a new government with defecting MPs and Vincent Tan can keeps his money where the sun don't shine.
written by Raja Petra, May 13, 2009 02:36:52
Dear nocrid, the point, as you said, and which appears to escape you, is that PR supporters are not thinkers and merely give in to blind emotions -- and even when we explain the issue to them they cannot see the wood for the trees.

They will lick your balls if you say and do something they like and will kick your balls if you say and do something they don't like. And they don't care a damn the reasons behind what is being said or done, however valid these reasons may be. Just make sure you say and do something they like.

Actually this is also Umno mentality, so don't feel so bad about it. You are in the majority grouping.
written by nocrid, May 13, 2009 03:52:57
Dear nocrid, the point, as you said, and which appears to escape you, is that PR supporters are not thinkers and merely give in to blind emotions -- and even when we explain the issue to them they cannot see the wood for the trees.

They will lick your balls if you say and do something they like and will kick your balls if you say and do something they don't like. And they don't care a damn the reasons behind what is being said or done, however valid these reasons may be. Just make sure you say and do something they like.

I believe these points were posted in your previous articles. Though I learned some history through this post. Oh by the way, it's not PR supporters...it's Malaysian. Except of course that 10 courageous that that stood in front of the state assembly.

Actually this is also Umno mentality, so don't feel so bad about it. You are in the majority grouping.

I don't. Thanks for the concern. I didn't go to Ipoh that day so yeah...
written by scottiebabie, May 13, 2009 06:49:33
dear all MT readers, i believe what RPK's saying to look to "the man in the mirror" instead of reacting with emotional rage & start pointing fingers at any & all 'cept ourselves. in this, it my humble opinion that RPK is totally correct.

it was PR's bungle in its handling of the situation, its vetting of MPs & ultimately its inept recognition of the "rules of engagement" (as soo aptly described).

true, UMNO keeps changing the rules, takes to under&over handed tactics, corrupts state institutions and all in all, just being the dastardly 'evil empire' that it now is. but isnt all that just self preservation?? afterall wouldnt we fight to the nth degree to preserve & protect ourselves, our possessions & our status? to be absolutely honest i know i cant say with an absolute certainty that i wouldnt if i were in their place - sadly im only human too.

soo instead of blaming god country government & others, lets start by blaming ourselves. who has actually sacrificed their very own life liberty & the pursuit of happiness for others? i think what RPK is saying that we shouldnt blame others (royalty, UMNO, goombas or otherwise) if we ourselves arent working towards being a part of the solution.

whatever i think of RPKs opinions on issues, he has my respect for being a man who has made THE sacrifice.
written by harmanamri, May 13, 2009 07:54:06

Don't twist my words. I never said you are a lousy politician. I did not use the word "lousy" nor did I imply it. What I actually said was, "I do not see (you) as a better politician than Anwar Ibrahim." But perhaps you did that (i.e. twist my words) out of sheer modesty upon being put in the same league, as a politician, as Anwar Ibrahim.
written by Milo, May 13, 2009 08:08:11
ireneyow, I don't think RPK is better than you. Why don't you replace him as the hero in jail instead? The rakyat would appreciate you much.
written by TwilightYears, May 13, 2009 08:19:46
You have provided a very well balanced views of two sides. Your "blogger enemies" should take a cue from here. Readers like me, who is of ordinary birth, ordinary upbringing and ordinary but simple life style, love reading RPK and read between the lines would be able to discern that he always give his views from different angles - though, sometimes belately, nevertheless welcomed.

When "royalty" is concerned, it is no more a simple matter (for the layman) as keeping our rice bowl full. It has to do with adat, with survival of the "royal" blood, no matter what this means, and above all, the lines of succession would mean the continued support of their wealthy and luxurious way of life. The Chinese history has shown much bloodshet where emperors and the august House of the Emperor is concerned.

We should not condemn easily as there are always two sides to a coin. But whatever side it is, I will only support the sides that are uncorruptible, just and merciful. This would mean that I cannot support either side.
written by kedahan63, May 13, 2009 08:50:30
DEar YM RPK, Whack away, sir! You have both sides of the coin in view (being privy to more info which most are not). Thank you for balancing the scales (for me at least). I admit I'm afflicted to be partisan most of the times. Let's see if they'll change my constituency from the city to some idlyic kampung next GE smilies/grin.gif
written by A MI, May 13, 2009 09:29:10
ok more wishful thinking.
I know this is morbid but who knows a few BN and BN friendly ADUNS can drop dead. Hopefully sooner than....

BTW, saw pic of SUHAKAM chariman,http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/21782/84/ looks ghostly, like a cancer patient-- buang tabiat ke? sounds like he is chalking points before meeting his maker...
written by Zorro, May 13, 2009 10:02:06
Yo bloggers! Give RPK a break lah...shit happens in Perak..

Yo YM RPK, if you are ever in Sabah, i'll be honoured to bring you around for some root beer!

Keep those enlightning articles coming Sir:-)
written by teo siew chin, May 13, 2009 10:16:40
To overcome a power-crazy party that is holding all the cards take cunning, crucial timing, constant alertness and sharp observation, and a never-say-die attitude even if faced with the grim-reaper himself.

It's a painful learning process for Perak PR but circle the wagons and LAWAN TETAP LAWAN.
written by lobster, May 13, 2009 10:59:47
Oh, by the way, Happy May 13.

RPK, come on...
written by xgovtservant, May 13, 2009 12:18:09
There must be an end to all this polictical hoppings. In Malaysia we vote for the Party. If any MP or ADUN do not follow the party line he is asked to resign. So it is fair that the Constitution be amended as follows:-
(a) Any MP or ADUN who resigns from the party has to vacate his seat and will not be eligible to stand for elections for 5 years
(b) The Party which won the seat in the last election be given the choice to fill the post with a suitable candidate who has the requred qualifications to stand as a candidate hinself (eg. age,good charactor, not a bankrupt etc)
(c) In case of Independents, the postgoes to the ruling party
(d) If the defection of the MP's or ADUN result in the collapse of the ruling Government, then fresh elections must be called.
written by apa jadi, May 13, 2009 12:21:02
I sense that you are still sore over the Perak impasse. I do agree with you to a certain extent that the PR has be bear the blame for being "kind" to their mutant frogs in hoping that the genetic mutation would not take place after the leader's talked to them. That delay had resulted in the sudden genetic mutation of the Jelapang chicken-frog and turning the whole "sky(in chinese)" upside down. We can see the mutation has taken so much control over her nowadays, from a sheepish shy frog to a lying frog.

Yes, the Sultan might find it hard to say "NO", depending how tight the nutcracker cringes on him and the state of mind he was in.

All these are past, and PR has to learn a hard lesson for being thirsty. But, RPK, look at things on the bright side. Treat problems with opportunities, as I always believe in. All is not lost, the longer the impasse drags on, the more UMNO (not, not BN) will be loosing their grips on the people. All the circus performances they hosted so far has brought more disgusts to even the unwary folks on the street. I gather they realise that too, but find it a hard situation to dislodge themselves.

So, again, no point crying over the spilt milk. Look at the brighter side of the development. Let the darkness reign for the time being while dawn is gathering force.
written by Loh, May 13, 2009 12:26:50
///But let’s not blame Pakatan Rakyat who was complacent, refused to act even when given two weeks prior warning, had started the crossovers in the first place, and now blame everyone else except themselves.///

The people have been suffering for the past 52 years, and they only saw some hope in pakatan after all these years. How can they blame Pakatan and kill their own hope? UMNO played dirty. The dissolution could have been done 2 days before the kataks were seen jumping with Najib. There are reasons not mentioned in the article, and there is no need to.
written by lampard, May 13, 2009 14:34:25
RPK is saying, Chinese should make a stand and start to revolt. No more hiding and then write of dissaticfation. He did mentioned storm the bastille remember? He also mentioned catch22, so, Chinese stop complaining and stand and be counted

Maybe Chinese should hold a Chindraf at Petaling Street and that I am sure will make RPK happy! May 13 1969, thanks to Najib's father, burn in hell!
written by aryn, May 13, 2009 14:53:23
Pete, for goodness sake look forward, man. No point crying over spilled milk!

Let it be a great lesson to PR and that they will be wiser in time. Yes, we rejoiced when 30 BN MPs were rumoured to join PR. Yes, we rejoiced when the court ruled in favour of PR. WHY? Because we saw a chance for change in the country? You, too, looked on Anwar to be PM to get you out of your situation, did you not? But it did not materialised because many of them are non Malays and the PR need more Malays MPs to convince the Malay communities - I remember reading that in one of your articles. So, what gives? Which communities are not for change here?

Yes, we were horrified when things turned against us. Name me one government departments and agencies that are for PR? The judiciary? The Police? The hospital? Immigration? AG? Chief Justice? The Sultans/Agung? You expect BN to rejoice when things turned against them?

What double standards you are talking about? Remember, you and your blogger friends tried to be kingmakers instead of watchdogs and where did that lead you and us?

You and your blogger friends should take some of the responsiblity for colluding with Tun M to kick out AAB and installed Najib as PM. Tun M just played along with you guys about Ku Li when his agenda was clear cut. In Sabah, our Chinese community also do not take to the streets, literally, or shout from rooftops to show their disgust against the BN. They learnt their lesson on that fateful bloody May 13, 1969 riots. It took Sabahans and Sarawakians to extend a lifeline for them. And you think things are different now?

But when it mattered most, they exercise their responsiblity in the ballot box and help oust the BN. It happened in Sabah and it will certainly happen in semenanjung.

Unless you are Chinese, stop picking on them. You do not understand their dilemma. I see them.

They do not have that Malay privilege and security like you do and the privilege and security of a son of the soil like I have.

In any case, stay safe
written by Susanna, May 13, 2009 14:57:12
Yes, every man is a sinner but God judges harshly those who are given more and are held more accountable. So in this case, rightly the Sultan is to be blamed. Even more so a King who has been a former learned Lord President, who has all the historical facts in hand plus the legality of laws of the nation and constitution, who has that kind of privilege, training, experience and position? The Pakatan Rakyat team is just a year old compared to BN's 50 years history so they still have to go through the school of hard knocks before they can be wiser. But for a 50 years old party, they have learnt instead to be crooks and more crooked! So who you think is to be blamed when it is downright plain and simple, Pete.
written by cheekhiaw, May 15, 2009 00:39:16
Heck, people can blame anyone they like but not Karpal Singh. He was the lone lion all along!

written by Joyfulnoise, May 16, 2009 03:29:45
I am really starting to wonder, will we ever achieve the one nation, one unity, one Malaysian vision?? Will it really happen, even if UMNO falls, and PR takes over. The vision seems rather vague to me. So what if PR takes over the government? Who is to guaranteed that things will change, or justice will prevails? I don't see how the mentality of the majority, especially the Malays will change, not 50 years ago nor 50 years in the future. 50 years ago, we predicted how things will turn out in Malaysia and and our childrens fate, today what was predicted did happen, and it's getting worse. As a minority, what is the fate of our future generations? Should we escape or migrate to other countries anytime we have the opportunities? The rakyat simply has no confidence in anyone including the opposition leaders, so what's the point of fighting?
written by AO Musa, May 18, 2009 12:15:19
I just knew that Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman is actually refer to the Agong and not the Prime Minister.... hehehee... such an idiot i am! smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, May 19, 2009 08:51:14
Wow! This has some pretty interesting discussions especially with RPK leading the charge.
The wood for the trees?
Really I'm not sure what is what!
But my heart cries at the injustice melted down at Nizar, Siva and colleagues.
Justice and fair play, to me, dictates that fresh elections be held and the rakyat of Perak allowed to determine their own government!
written by Steven Ong, May 20, 2009 23:48:45
Hypocrites! This country has too many hypocrites. If only we have more clear minded and humble people, like our Pete?, this nation - Malaysia, would be a developed and peaceful country. Too many hypocrites and selfish and greedy men around, who's only interest is their own survival. That's OK , if you also love your neighbours as yourself. Men cant do it, so lets ask God to lead this blessed nation- Malaysia.