Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Even frogs suffer from political instability

Even frogs suffer from political instability PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 May 2009 15:08

Today, we shall break away from Malaysian politics for a short while. After all, every man and his dog is commenting on the Perak crisis so there is really no need for Malaysia Today to also jump into the fray. After the recent tragedy of the 300-400 Pulau Ketam dogs banished onto a deserted island to die of starvation and thirst, let us now see how political instability can also be deadly to frogs.

Approximately 200 new frogs discovered in Madagascar threatened by political instability

Jeremy Hance
mongabay.com

Amid the amphibian extinction crisis—where amphibians worldwide are disappearing due to habitat loss, pollution, and a devastating fungal epidemic—the Spanish Scientific Research Council (CSIC) has announced some good news. In a survey of the island-nation of Madagascar they have identified between 129 and 221 new species of frogs. The discovery of so many new species nearly doubles the island’s total number of frogs.

“During the past 15 years, we discovered and described over 100 new frog species from Madagascar, which led us to believe that our species inventory is almost complete. But as our new surveys show, there are many more species than we suspected,” said Dr. Frank Glaw, curator of herpetology at the Zoologische Staatssammlung in Munich.

The survey’s findings, published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, have led researchers to wonder how many undiscovered species still remain in Madagascar—and worldwide.

"People think that we know which plant and animal species live on this planet. But the century of discoveries has only just begun – the majority of life forms on Earth is still awaiting scientific recognition," said Dr. Miguel Vences, professor at the Technical University of Braunschweig.

The discovery of so many species, including nearly a quarter of which have not been found in any of Madagascar’s protected areas, raises conservation alarm bells. Having already lost nearly 80 percent of its original forest cover, Madagascar is currently experiencing an environmental crisis due to political instability.

In mid-March Andry Rajoelina seized power from former president Marc Ravalomanana, creating a political vacuum that has led to armed gangs entering Madagascar’s remaining forests for rosewood. Paid by Chinese timber traders these gangs have been reported logging forests in Madagascar’s National Parks, threatening habitat for thousands of species including the newly discovered frogs.

“Although a lot of reserves and national parks have been created in Madagascar during the last decade, the actual situation of political instability is allowing the cut of the forest within national parks, generating a lot of uncertainty about the future of the planned network of protected areas,” says David R. Vieities with the CSIC.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by Remo, May 12, 2009 15:14:40
Real waste of time and stupid to talk about Perak and state the government.

Most idiotic thing in the world is Malaysian politics.
disagree 49
written by loosecannon, May 12, 2009 15:16:36
I think someone should alert them that there's a new species in Malaysia. One that answers to the smell of money and Camrys.
agree 325
written by ellyna, May 12, 2009 15:18:20
Hey RPK! How are you?? Good to 'hear' from you once in a while. Take care and stay safe. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 125
written by GangisKhan, May 12, 2009 15:19:35
Hmm we have 3 very rare and famous species of frog in Perak smilies/grin.gif
agree 248
written by Zym Zym, May 12, 2009 15:20:11
I didn't feel euphorically high at all when someone told me the "good" news yesterday. I knew the "balls" will be kicked back to the Court of Appeal soon. Everything will be back to square one. As I have said b4, Malaysian politics is sooooo predictable. *Yawning*
agree 117
written by aeromaverick, May 12, 2009 15:20:33
Frogs of the two legged version (especially the one with the slight problem on one leg) needs to be declared as an endangered species and sent to a special reservation forest. The reservation forest needs to be created on one of our many uninhabited islands littering across Malaysian EEZ.
On a sane note, with the KL High Court ruling yesterday, does it mean that resignation letters of the three idiots are to be revisited again?
Just a thought.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ZamZamAlaKazam, May 12, 2009 15:23:58
...with the standard of our higher learning institute, i doubt we could even cataloging the obvious species currently jumping around...
written by Ken Liew, May 12, 2009 15:24:45
And the FROG suicide cos they are insulted...... Human hops better then the frogs....

I love Malaysia boleh.
written by lampard, May 12, 2009 15:25:02
For crying out loud, inform Dr. Frank Glaw asap that there are 3 frogs of the same species found in PERAK, 2 males and a female. It is high time to discover, study and breed them cause come GE13, they will be extinct!!!
written by AO Musa, May 12, 2009 15:26:28
Katak oh Katak!
Kenapa engkau lompat?
Macam mana aku tak lompat
RM 25 juta tunggu aku
RM 25 juta tunggu aku!!
agree 161
written by Richfyf, May 12, 2009 15:28:12
Madagascar's forest being logged illegally with the help of corupt politician?? Sorry RPK tell us something more interesting lah. heheheh we have see such things happen right under our nose in our own country for decades!!! Remember our ex Selangor MB saying semua Ok but the most of the forest have already been cleared,

It will just be another story and no one will be accountable for it.

Unless you can tell us how they overcome it and get those responsible to justice then I think its better to find out how Anthony Bourdain can make 200 different new menus to cook frogs for a meal..
written by malaysianohope, May 12, 2009 15:28:24
Our very own specie of amphibians which are close relative of the ugly Australian Cane Toad are called 'KATAK UMNO' and they can take money without blinking an eye and they eat money to satisfy their lust instead of insects. Very soon that wannabe Zam Zam Ka Zam will turn into a toad once he lost the appeal. Meantime he thinks he's the equivalent of Mandela & Gandhi, but...but it turns out the closest he gets is the colour of his skin. Dunggu!
written by teo siew chin, May 12, 2009 15:28:40
YM RPK is sooooo not breaking away from malaysian politics when he clearly posts an article about 'frogs' and 'political instability' smilies/grin.gif.

written by justinlian, May 12, 2009 15:29:03
Feed the frogs to the dogs so they can become froggy dogs.
written by Susu08, May 12, 2009 15:37:33
I think they should look into the frog species in Perak and maybe apply some conservation measures because Perak is also having political instability.
I also think the species here is unique . For example, there is a pepper spray wielding species that has a forked tongue .
written by 1351, May 12, 2009 15:39:50
FYI, our own Sarawak base Rimbunan Hijau Grp is raging havoc clearing massive land tracts, extracting timber and killing off the eco system in Papua New Guinea. The Chinaman is all over felling trees the world round.

How goes the day Raja Petra ?

I just wrote moments ago in a posting, having figured out how truly screwed we all are. Sulaiman Abdullah is paddling against the tide arguing Nizar's case. I wrote, in all likelihood, a decision that slants UMNO's way would be the end result of current state of limbo in Perak creating a bad precedent. My fear being UMNO manipulating this case to suit, the precedent lodge will act as insurance for UMNO in time to come.

This Perak impasse is nothing but a test case for UMNO to push the boundaries whichever way. They will steam roll their way through all opposition in the same manner you have encounter while facing the courts.

Before signing off, I commend your stance of totally ignoring Azim Zabidi's suit. I boggles my mind how passive M'sians are, this one person takes us all for billions but still there is not much by way of protest.

I know the old man, Zabidi Sr. He was always at the Lake Club while in my teens. A mouse of a man with a pleasant disposition, an UMNO member no doubt, back in the day when the party was all race and not money as it is right now.

Gotta sign off, take care for now.

written by Counterpointer, May 12, 2009 15:42:40
This specimen below is the Cane toad species.
Cane toads are known for having an affinity to Najis (faeces)

Why would anyone want to throw a pepper spray at it?
This is what is to be thrown at it, and it'd get an orgasm swimming in it.

agree 173
written by gycgocnt, May 12, 2009 15:43:18
See, what happen now is a prolong constitution crisis for Perak again!

Perak people’s hope for the dissolution of state assembly is far away further. The High Court decision yesterday gives some hope to Rakyat that our judicial system would not put a hand into legislature anymore. But what happens today is really a Doom in our constitution history.

I would like to know whether the Court of Appeal judges is “Uneducated Beasts” or not? Under the provision of Federal Constitution, Rakyat is the only one to decide who their government is. But these judges might prefer to assume the “Kangaroo Judge” and tainted our Judiciary system.

I wonder how the Rakyat going to suffer in the future for this Perak impasse. Since Rakyat cannot get back their basic rights under Federal Constitution by Sultan, legislator, judges and politicians, who should them asking for a helping hand to throw out the devil in this episode?

I beg Sultan Azlan Shah to be “Generous” enough to its citizens for a granted of dissolve the state assembly immediately. Sultan Azlan Shah must restore Royal’s image for this country with immediate effect. We are tired for this uncertain political instability about three months, please give back the Rakyat mandate.

Sultan Azlan Shah must decide on being a “Rakyat’s Sultan” or another BN component parties—PSM (Parti Sultan Malaysia).

God Bless, Sultan Azlan Shah…., God Bless, the Rakyat of Perak, the Rakyat of Malaysia!
written by justice, May 12, 2009 15:45:17

(Picture courtesy of Counterpointer)
agree 159
written by raven1958, May 12, 2009 15:53:39
Wonder how much Ramli got paid to hear the appeal early and issue the stay.......
written by archie, May 12, 2009 15:55:25
PEPPER SPRAY CANISTER

Directions for FROG use:
1. Hold canister upright with nozzle pointing towards your target.
2. Spray directly onto target's face especially the eyes.
written by AO Musa, May 12, 2009 16:03:09
written by archie, May 12, 2009 15:55:25
PEPPER SPRAY CANISTER

Directions for FROG use:
1. Hold canister upright with nozzle pointing towards your target.
2. Spray directly onto target's face especially the eyes.

you missed out something very important!
3. Tell the whole world its not your pepper spray. someone thrown that to you. You are actually just holding keys.
written by Pakyeh, May 12, 2009 16:19:10
Frogs(the political ones) should be "killed" because they are traitors to the rakyat.
Infact they are also "devils in disguise"
Listen and philosophise while reading the articles "Devil in disguise:Elvis Presleys philosophy","The Devil/Satan made simple", and "UMNO/BN = Satan ?"
written by Knight, May 12, 2009 16:35:45
Hi RPK,

Is the Court of Appeal Judge, Datuk Ramly Ali (who was only promoted to CA in April 2009)the same guy who was mentioned in the Lingam case below?

Extract frm LKS' blog -

From the contents, the conversation would probably be January 2002 for the following reasons:

* Ahmad Fairuz was referred to as “Datuk” and there was talk of getting a “Tan Sri”-ship for him the same year. Ahmad Fairuz was awarded the Panglima Setia Mahkota (P.S.M) by the Yang di Pertuan Agong during the King’s birthday in June 2002, making him a Tan Sri.
* There was reference of making “Datuk Heliliah, Datuk Ramli and Datuk Maroop” as judges — on 8th February 2002, Datuk Heliliah Mohd Yusuf, former Solicitor-General, Datuk Ramly Ali, a former Chief Registrar and Datuk Ahmad Maarop, a former Commissioner of Law Revision, received their letters of appointment as High Court judges from the Yang di Pertuan Agong. Their appointments were from Feb. 1, 2002.
* There was reference that “in three months time” Ahmad Fairuz would be made President of Court of Appeal and “six months time” he was going to be Chief Justice - Ahmad Fairuz was sworn in as President, Court of Appeal on Dec. 1, 2002 and appointed Chief Justice of Malaysia on March 17, 2003.
written by Tompios, May 12, 2009 16:47:36

You make me smile! The frogs need to buy lotion which is UMNO's brand to avoid instability of the Political heat.

written by arazak, May 12, 2009 17:10:29
There is a new species of frog found in Perak. This particular frog are fond of money, Camary and pepper spray. It has a very long twisted tongue not used to catch prey but used for spewing lies. And this particular cold blooded amphibian has the habit of constantly lying to cover the earlier lies.

Than there was this gamblig 4-digit Taukeh who kissed this frog and gave it RM25 million in the hope that this ugly frog could turn into be a beutiful princess. But instead, the frog still remains as ugly as ever and most human being even hated it more than ever. Some even wish to step and squash on this ugly looking creature. Perhaps that 4-digit Taukeh read too much fairy-tales up to the extent that he does not know the reality and the sentiment of the majority human population.

But one thing that baffles human is that this frog is so damned ugly yet it has the cheek to croak that some human had sexually abused her! I mean. . ., can you believe this comming from this ugly looking frog?

Perhaps it is the frog's mating season. . .!
written by Huador, May 12, 2009 17:23:13
Paid by Chinese timber traders these gangs have been reported logging forests in Madagascar’s National Parks, threatening habitat for thousands of species including the newly discovered frogs.

Paid by Vincent Tan and UMNO rapists, these gangs in Perak Assembly has been reported ****ing in the Assembly, threatening the livelihood of thousands Perakians including the newly discovered ADUNs.
written by carribeanking7, May 12, 2009 17:31:54

They say when there are environmental changes the frogs are the first to suffer, even a virulent fungus can wipe them out,
some say when frogs start dying that's an indicator that ecosystems are in danger.
and as you have opined above convoluted sequence of events started by politics wiped them out literally

Hmmmp OK you have proven a point that's as far as I can go without thinking about our local political situation at the mention of frogs,
have I mentioned before that you are deliberately mischievous ? OK OK you win we cannot stick to just environmental parameters....lol
sigh it will be some time before we have a "green/environmental" party in Malaysia.

As a kid I remember catching Haruan using frog as bait, bloody aggressive this fish, err... ok good discussion now time for pantun......

Lompat si katak lompat
Lompat dalam perigi
Sekat BN sekat
Keputusan SPR memang keji

Lompat si katak lompat
Lompat di tepi pagar
Dengar suara rakyat
Oh wahai Menteri Besar

Lompat si katak lompat
Lompat di air tenang
Ini angkara budak tingkat empat
Jangan bagi Ezam duduk senang

Lompat si katak lompat
Lompat di rumput muda
SPR jadi alat
BN sanggup buat apa jua

pantun VKM-09

Cheers

written by Comodo, May 12, 2009 17:33:29
Moral of the story; there are more frogs undiscovered, so far only 3 been identified in Perak.
written by lampard, May 12, 2009 17:44:03
The biggest coward among the entire Perak saga are none other than the UMNO Malays. They are the biggest cowards, from the Sultan all the way to the UMNO people. First you have to buy 3 frogs who background are doubtful and then go around hustling legitimate MP and speakers.

And I thought RPK consistently saying Chinese are a bunch of ball less race!

Melayu UMNO, kenapa gabara sangat untuk kembalikan kuasa rakyat untuk memilih?
written by lerond, May 12, 2009 20:04:54
bloody frogs! amazing, the new species of frog in perak even knew how to use pepper spray
written by Sabahfan, May 12, 2009 20:05:59
DAP OH DAP.....

NEXT TIME DONT PICK A TOAD TO BE A CANDIDATE....

A TOAD CLERK TO BECOME A YB, DEPUTY SPEAKER AND A SEXUALLY ACTIVE BITCH?? MY GAUD !!!

THERE ARE SO MANY OTHER QUALIFIED CANDIDATES....

OH, JUST NOW I HAD FROGS LEG SOUP FOR DINNER... WAS VERY TASTY BUT WHOEVER WANNA SEE PROSTITUE HEEE (PRONOUNCED CHEE) LEGS SIMPLY MUST BE MAD..
written by Raja Petra, May 12, 2009 20:19:35
Dear lampard, I agree. I wish the Malays would not be so gutless and be brave enough to reject offers of money from Chinese towkays who think their money can buy everything and everyone. I suppose that's because we have such slimeball Malays who work well with slimeball Chinese. Don't you think so?

Anyway, can't you read? This piece is about frogs. What has gutless Malays and even more gutless Chinese got to do with this topic?
written by lynn, May 12, 2009 21:01:41
SPORTS TOTO JACKPOT HISTORY OF 6/52

FIRST GAME STARTED ON 23/6/2007 - #DRAW NO. 2859

04/04/2009 3154/09RM 11,691,988.791
24/01/2009 3121/09RM 8,526,945.591

09/12/2008 3098/08RM 20,964,143.301
06/12/2008 3096/08RM 20,000,000.002
22/10/2008 3075/08RM 20,000,000.001
28/05/2008 3011/08RM 16,411,842.831
20/02/2008 2969/08RM 7,760,504.421
05/01/2008 2948/08RM 19,274,477.991

11/09/2007 2895/07 RM 8,522,573.42 1

23/06/2007 2859/07 RM 2,138,018.54 0

Study the Jackpots won closely. What do you see? (Suspicious???)
written by lynn, May 12, 2009 21:04:15
RM100,000,000 Jackpot struck in the whole of 2008 for Mega 6/52. Coincidence?

Hello, the game first started on 23rd June 2007 & first jackpot was won on 11th Sept 2007.
Only one jackpot was won in year 2007, but 6 jackpots struck in 2008 the year of GE12???
written by Daryl, May 12, 2009 21:50:50
No our froggy is not smart enough to evolve to adapt themselves to the environment. They cannot even differentiate a pepper spray and hotel key. Even worst is that they try to spin like a BN monkeys even though they only shade their skins few months ago. Amazing what bad companies or a Camry will do to you... smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by AlwaysFair, May 12, 2009 23:35:00

From your relax way of writing I am glad to see you seem more well rested.
Only a well rested Pete can rise up to new challenges.

I confess though I am also a bit of a frog. I was born as DAP member, baptised by my father but also accept any DAP endorsed party like PKR. I scared of PAS except Nizar because of their white turbans and robes make me think of OSAMA b ladin. At last GE no DAP in my constituent Bangsar so I voted for Nurul Izzar.
Though also a frog I think I am a good frog.

I don't know whether you tasted frog b4 but one type is a delicacy, chinese love it and very expensive called "tim kai," means "sweet chicken."
I don't know whether got chinese in Madagascar if got maybe the frogs already extinct. I also want to tell you a way to resolve the dogs problems but scared kena scolded.

Also I want to share with you the greatest joke in your blog today, got One mamak compared himself to Mandela and Gandhi. Sorry RPK all your jokes to date cannot be compared to this. i nearly chocked to death with laughter.

Happy hiding!

written by mowadoha, May 13, 2009 23:15:38
Dear RPK, this rare frog is enjoying political instability lah. Agree??

written by mowadoha, May 14, 2009 00:00:11
LET’S TWIST AGAIN ….

Come on everybody clap your hands
Now Zambbri’s looking good
I'm gonna sing my song and you won't take long
We gotta do the twist and it goes like this

Come on let's twist again like we did last Thursday (7 May 2009)
Yea, let's twist again like we did last time in the Dewan
Do you remember when things were really hummin'
Yea, let's twist again, twistin' time is here

Yeah round 'n around 'n up 'n down we go again
Oh baby make me know you love me so then

Yea, let's twist again like we did last time in the Dewan
Do you remember when things were really hummin'

Yeah round 'n around 'n up 'n down we go again
Oh baby make me know you love me so then