Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Perak crisis: Stay of execution granted

Perak crisis: Stay of execution granted PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 May 2009 14:18

(The Star) - 1:15pm The Court of Appeal grants Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir his application for a stay of execution on the KL High Court ruling yesterday that declared Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin the righful mentri besar of Perak. Essentially, it might mean Dr Zambry is mentri besar until his appeal is heard.

12:30pm Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir, whose three-month tenure as mentri besar was ruled illegitimate by the KL High Court on Monday, has likened himself to Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi in a blog entry.

12:15pm At the press conference at the Ipoh state secretariat building, senior exco member Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham also says that Dr Zambry and the six state exco members he appointed should return the salaries they have drawn over the past three months.

12:05pm At the press conference at the Ipoh state secretariat building, senior exco member Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham declared the tumultous May 7 Assembly sitting as invalid, and the March 3 “under the tree” sitting as valid.

He said the Assembly automatically dissolves on Sept 3 if there are no more sittings.

The May 7 sitting saw Speaker V. Sivakumar manhandled out of the Dewan and Barisan's Datuk R. Ganesan declared the "new" Speaker.

The Pakatan state government also said it would implement 10 policies and matters immediately, saying that state development was behind by three months.

11:20am Pakatan press conference at the state secretariat building in Ipoh delayed because the press was initially barred from entering the building. Press conference is now set to begin.

11:00am Umno veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah urges the Sultan of Perak to dissolve the Assembly. See here.

9:25am Most of the FRU trucks and police vehicles leave the state secretariat building, leaving a handful behind. Pakatan reps say a press conference will be held at 11am.

An aid for the Perak Mentri Besar Amran Harun showing the official letter sent to the palace official at Istana Kinta. Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, in the letter, is requesting an audience with the Sultan for the purpose of dissolving the state assembly.

9:20am Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir files appeal against Kuala Lumpur High Court ruling yesterday that Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is the valid Perak Mentri Besar. The appeal was filed at the KL High Court registry.

He also filed a stay application on Monday’s ruling at the Court of Appeal. His lawyers are asking that the appeal be heard today itself.

The hearing for the stay application will be heard at about 11:30am at the Palace of Justice in Putrajaya.

8:45am Nizar’s aide Amran Harun leaves the palace after showing members of the media a copy of the letter to the palace, with the royal seal stamped on it.

8:20am Nizar’s aide Amran Harun, delivers letter informing palace of Nizar’s wish for an audience with the Raja Muda to seek his royal consent to dissolve the Assembly.

8:15am Suspension letters served to State Secretary Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Hashim and State Legal Adviser Datuk Ahmad Kamal Md Shahid.

7:45am Nizar seen leaving the building in his official car for Istana Iskandariah, Kuala Kangsar, for a royal investiture ceremony by the Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Nazrin Shah. He was accompanied by his wife.

7:40am Pakatan exco members find most of the offices locked. The KL High Court had instructed Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir and his exco members to vacate the offices on Monday.

7:25am Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin and his entourage head for the state secretariat building, where there is heavy police and FRU presence. They are temporarily denied entry. Nizar starts reciting prayers.

7:15am Pakatan Rakyat state executive councillors start gathering at the so-called “democracy tree” where the March 3 “under the tree” Assembly sitting took, to await reinstated Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin.

IPOH: Reinstated Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin left from the state secretariat building here at 7:45am Tuesday for Istana Iskandariah in Kuala Kangsar for a royal investiture ceremony.

He is expected to seek royal consent from the Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Nazrin Shah, to dissolve the State Legislative Assembly to pave the way for fresh state elections.

His aide Amran Harun, delivered a formal letter informing the palace of Nizar’s wish for an audience with the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, to seek his royal consent to dissolve the Assembly. The letter was delivered at 8:20am.

Pakatan Rakyat state executive councillors had started gathering at the so-called “democracy tree” where the March 3 “under the tree” Assembly sitting took place as early as 7:30am.

Nizar arrived at the state secretariat building, where the Mentri Besar’s office is located, at about 7:25am.

He was accompanied by his eight state executive councillors, led by senior exco member Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham and state assembly speaker V. Sivakumar, who had arrived at 7:10am. Also accompanying them was Ipoh Barat Member of Parliament M. Kulasegaran.

The building was heavily guarded by Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) personnel, with some in riot gear.

Nizar and his entourage were momentarily stopped outside the gate when they tried to enter the compound. As the police tried to inform Nizar that only his exco members, the Speaker and him would be allowed entry, Nizar started reciting prayers.

They were then allowed in, but members of the media were prevented by the police and security personnel from advancing beyond the gate.

According to some witnesses, the police had told Nizar that they were acting under the instructions of State Secretary Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Hashim.

Nizar, who was declared the rightful mentri besar by the Kuala Lumpur High Court on Monday, had actually suspended Abdul Rahman, although the letter of suspension had not been served yet.

Suspension letters were served to both Abdul Rahman and State Legal Adviser Datuk Ahmad Kamal Md Shahid at about 8:15am.

On Monday, High Court (Appellate and Special Powers) judge Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim had granted a declaratory relief to Nizar that he is still and was mentri besar at all material times.

The court, which issued a declaratory relief that Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir had no right to occupy the office of Perak Mentri Besar, also ordered him to show cause and give information under what policy, power or authority he allegedly held office and exercised the responsibilities, functions and duties as mentri besar.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by Littlebird, May 12, 2009 14:23:15
Thank god everything is normal in judiciary. Quite worried the sun may not rise tomorrow. BTW, are they making extra room for another person in cold storage?
written by A MI, May 12, 2009 14:27:26
hmmm
written by Littlebird, May 12, 2009 14:23:15
Thank god everything is normal in judiciary

So you are a Zambry suppoter Littlebird?
written by anak penang, May 12, 2009 14:27:37
Well, now the court has issued a stay.
And super speed
If at all a fair judge delivers a verdict it is immediately overruled by umno judges.
Can you believe the speed they went thru it.

Anyway, I think the whole thing is a set up.

Just like how last time the umno frog jumped 1st, then 3 from PR jumped the other way.

Now umno will say PR acceepted the judgement when it favours them and complain when it doesnt.

It is obvious the sultan was also waiting for this verdict thus the delay in seeing Nizar

Bah. Umno tricked PR again
written by jayenjr, May 12, 2009 14:28:00
Hmmmmm.

Just as I thot. Drama Minggu Ini masih belum habis cerita.

It is therefore, becoming more and more incumbent that the Perak Royals allow for a dissolution.....

BTW - I thot Nizar is supposed to meet the Regent this morning???...

Shoudn't a decision - whether yes or no - have come forth from the Palace already???

I mean , with all this ding dong in the courts (Only ONE judge apparently sat at the Appelate Court to grant this stay....Aiiya!!), shouldn't HRH be "People first, Performance Now"?

I hope $$$Gamuda$$$ is not weighing in on any of the decisions to be made.

IF, they are made at all. Remember, that HRH did not reply to earlier requests from both the legitimate MB & Speaker.

The Nation waits.....

written by A MI, May 12, 2009 14:29:53
TDM hammered DSAI short of wiping him off the face of Malaysian politics.
Now his protege is repeating it by doing the same to PR.
written by 1st2stay, May 12, 2009 14:30:20
Man, Rocky, yesterday you shouted at us, that it is us only who pretend the Malaysian Justice can't be trusted! Man, I suggest you take your blog content of yesterday and copy and paste it another time today. Are you not happy, yet another day, that Malaysian Justice was carried out, by a single judge, within a few minutes, and more than an hour before the sitting was officially to start?
written by bodohland_citizen, May 12, 2009 14:30:51
12:30pm Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir, whose three-month tenure as mentri besar was ruled illegitimate by the KL High Court on Monday, has likened himself to Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi in a blog entry.
------------------------------------------------------

Is this Mamak Mee Rebus is nuts ? Is he in his right mind ? He may be Mandela or Gandhi to BN/UMNO. To the rest of us, he is potentially Pol Pot or President Marcus smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Kaneeneh, May 12, 2009 14:31:32
Ini Mamak kata dia macam Gandhi, Mandela...tak tau malu-lah. Dia ni kacup punya, mana boleh macam dia orang wira sejati. Kawan BN diapun pembunuh, perompak...
written by SocratesI, May 12, 2009 14:31:44

Expected the Maha-ShitHead cronies along with the UMNO minions to get a pliant Court of Appeal Kangaroo judge to grant the spurious Barisan Najis Perak Govt a stay of the execution ...

Of course the sultan/ regent will delay his decision of dissolving the Assembly until now and claim to be "respecting" the Court of Appeal ruling ... what CRAP ... what about respecting the Rakyat's Wishes and hold the State elections ??? After all without the Rakyat around who is going to pay the royalty all their freaking expenses ?? How disgusting !

written by Awaken64, May 12, 2009 14:33:14
Boy oh Boy

Flip flop FROG politicians, flip flop ruling, flip flop Judgmentb. What now?

Please let the people decide
written by JJ Kuyong, May 12, 2009 14:33:36
UMNO/BN you are really and truly Power Crazy, you have no interest to serve the rakyat. There is no necessity to make an appeal, should allowed the DUN to be dissolve and go back to the people.
written by amjoem, May 12, 2009 14:34:54
I wonder if the Appeal & the federal Courts can match up nthe intergrity of the High Court!!!
written by ellyna, May 12, 2009 14:41:22
Geez, just when I thought I could see light at the end of the tunnel.....You are right Little Bird.....everything is back to normal in the judiciary...sigh...
written by concernedinmalaysia, May 12, 2009 14:42:31
I think that there are independant judges in the judicary but the few that are owned by BN shatter the confidence of the entire judicary.

How can ANYONE get a stay of execution on a ruling from an appealate judge so quickly? Especially when the deciding judge yesterday was so convinced that a stay was not needed?

This epsiode just leaves even more questions unanswered and more conjecture to be made by everyone.

The only real solution is to hand the mandate to the people, Zambry's grounds for the stay were "Nizar will seek to disolve the assembly." How is this grounds for a stay? It is the real solution for any ELECTED OFFICAL.
written by Remo, May 12, 2009 14:43:04
This is a drama by UMNO and Najib.
This is Najib 1 Malaysia.

The judiciary system is under Najib's balls.
Yesterday the high court just put up a show.

It was all well plan.
Najib put up a sad face and said he will apeal against the high court decision as though the court is independent, screwed the Malaysian whole sale.

Nazrin was avoiding Nizar and don't want to see him is another drama.
He was buying time to avoid Nizar until Zambry gets the stay order.
BN and the Royal are cheating the Perakians.

We don't hope for any justice from these kangaroo courts & Royal anymore.
All are set up of BN government.

Money can buy anything in this world.
Politician or Royal are the same.
written by GangisKhan, May 12, 2009 14:55:53
Praise the Lord for our prayers has been asnwered. Now it's time to set it right again. I urge all muslim, Christians, buddist, Sikh and other religious body in Malaysia to pray for that the Sultan of Perak will make a wise decision to dissolve the assembly and make it right once again. The people of Perak are already tired of BN hard hand methods.
written by 1351, May 12, 2009 15:00:17
STOP the PRESS ! I just figured out WTF is happening.

This impasse in Perak, the to'ing and fro'ing ALL points towards setting a precedent for UMNO's major tussle come GE 13th. This is a test case, and in all likelihood, a bad precedent is going to be lodge to address this state of limbo.

I'm certain Sulaiman Abdullah can/will figure out exactly where my train of thoughts is flowing but still it provides no relief for Nizar's claim. We are on the verge of being truly F*CKED, what with UMNO's Tun Azmi sitting on the highest seat on the Bench.

Gawd save us all
written by citizenmy, May 12, 2009 15:04:12
9.20 application filed and by 1.15 decision made. Wow!!!

This appeal court judge seems to be super duper efficient. Must be the most efficient judge in the whole world.

written by clarity, May 12, 2009 15:07:49
Dear viewersand the silent honest citizens, by now we know that Justice Abdul Aziz andthe other two who presided over the high court hearing on VB Nizars case are truly honest and courageous judges. It is hoped that they will not be penalised by the powers that be for making an honest judgement.
written by Hakim Joe, May 12, 2009 15:11:05
What did I tell you guys (and gals)?
We haven't even reached the Federal Court yet and UMNO has already pulled the strings.
Justice is alive? Yes it is...maybe in US or UK or Hong Kong...
But here in Boleh-Land?

written by gorshan, May 12, 2009 15:11:06
a pot of shit calling itself gold. what a joke. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by truthreallyhurts, May 12, 2009 15:13:08
So the circus show continues with the latest injunction awarded to Zumbry. The sick circus show will carry on with this injunction until GE13 unless the Alzeimer's afflicted RINGMASTER cum head Clown makes a Grand appearance and dissolves the malignant circus. We the public and tax payers are sick to the core with the silly antics of the UMNOputras and their gang of Clown Court Jesters and hoodlums.
written by JJ Kuyong, May 12, 2009 15:19:30
I strongly believed the Court of Appeal is the court of UMNO used to reversed by the high court decision that are not in their favor. There are so many cases brought to the Court of Appeal are decided in favor of UMNO/BN. For example, the Pensiangan election petition Case which was initially decided in favor to PKR was then overturned by the Court of Appeal favoring BN.
written by HCK23, May 12, 2009 15:21:06
"Zambry terima dengan hati terbuka" what terbuka? Yesterday Zam zam said this now act another thing. All Perakian don't trust a single words he say. Double snake head.
written by farah, May 12, 2009 15:26:38
PM Najib of 1Malaysia, you are a Clown but do not make we Malaysian into one ok! We are waiting eargerly for the next GE election.
written by wakeupcall, May 12, 2009 15:28:57
LOOKS LIKE WE ARE GOING IN CIRCLES. ARE WE GOING TO REPEAT THE WHOLE PROCESS AGAIN???
CAN THE COURT OF APPEALS BE SMART ENOUGH TO STOP GRANTING THE APPEAL? ARE THEY NOT WELL-VERSED WITH THE CONSTITUTION?? ITS SO SHAMEFUL !!!!!
written by shissun, May 12, 2009 15:32:22
We shall prevail! Justice shall prevail. Hidup Demokrasi! Mampus Najib. Mampus UMNO. Mampus BN Perak!
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 12, 2009 15:41:16
The Bar said that the courts cannot solve the Perak crisis and I agree. Only the wisdom of the sultan or the regent can save Perakians. If the sultan or the regent love their subjects now is the right time to show it. But if the sultan uses the wait and see method then Perakians will be manipulated by the courts. Just like 'choc fudge': Now you see, now you don't. And with the latest verdict of the court of appeal Perakians won't see he end of the crisis. What will it take to knock the senses into the heads of our leaders and kings? Must we Patayya the issue? I hope not.
written by adan, May 12, 2009 15:53:20
Application at 9.20 am and decision by 1.15 p.m. ALMOST 3 HOURS? WHY SO LONG ?
written by chaiksyn, May 12, 2009 15:57:17
holy molly..not again! Sh!T..
written by AO Musa, May 12, 2009 15:59:30
Seriously....

I just to tired right now! Dont know when Malaysia will be rule by normal human being...
written by Rundukon, May 12, 2009 16:07:48
The decision to grat stay of execution is expected. Its an open secret that the Appeal Court and Federal Court are full of UMNO people. Those who are independents rot as High Court Judge and even spend the rest of their career as Session Court Judge.
written by Rundukon, May 12, 2009 16:30:56
I wonder if Nizar were to file for Court Injunction restraining Zambry from exercising MB duties tomorrow, would it be heard speedily as in Zambry case? Perhaps not because Appeal Court and Federel Court are made up of UMNO goons.
written by miracle, May 12, 2009 16:34:17
omg... wtf is this??? if u are illegal... stay out... what "stay of execution grant"??? respect the court... if ur position is not legal stay out... why u still have the right to appeal??? what kind of law is this??? and compare to mandela and ghandi??? must be dont know how to spell "SHAME" "MALU" words and dont have these words in his dictionary?? please la.. PLEASE RESPECT THE RAKYAT...
written by Rozlan, May 12, 2009 16:36:02
No UMNO people at High Court yesterday when JUstice Abdul Aziz read the judgement.They know the judgement already beforehand.Augustine Paul is there.I am not surprise if Court of Appeal will throw away High Cour verdict.Lets wait.The scripts getting more interesting
written by Al Ambia, May 12, 2009 17:06:26
"Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir, whose three-month tenure as mentri besar was ruled illegitimate by the KL High Court on Monday, has likened himself to Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi in a blog entry."
Dei mamak,dont even compare yourself with great name like Nelson or Gandhi or else you ll tarnish their name.You are no way near them.Yes,your name ll be in history of course,but as the greatest robber
written by apanama, May 12, 2009 17:32:05
NIZAR IS THE LEGITIMATE MB, THE COURT HAS DECIDED.
WHAT THE COURT OF APPEALS ONE-MAN SHOW SAYS: NIZAR IS STILL THE MB, BUT GOTTA WAIT.
WHAT THE TWO COURTS SAY: ZAMBRI CELUP IS NOT THE MB.
written by asiana888, May 12, 2009 18:19:25
Hahahaha! I didn't know Malaysia's Court of Appeal can act so fast??!!! Submit case in the morning and by lunch time - 'kau tim'. I am sure there are many more cases that has been submitted and no news yet?

What la? You think rakyat bodoh, ke? This is the mockery of the judiciary system of Malaysia. I am sure there are many Malaysian judges 'fuming' at this circus. A few UMNO-judges are making the rest of the judges look cheap la!
written by Windchime, May 12, 2009 18:51:05
Kangaroo court - made in Malaysia!
written by smalluncle, May 12, 2009 21:01:28
Just hope the UMNO guys have not shred all the documents last night! ;D smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif