Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dissolve state assembly, Ku Li urges Sultan

Dissolve state assembly, Ku Li urges Sultan PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 May 2009 11:21

By Syed Azhar, The Star 

(Kota Baru):Umno veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has urged the Sultan of Perak to dissolve the Assembly to prevent the political imbroglio in the state from spiralling out of control.

In a blog posting on Monday, he noted that he had written on Feb 7 that Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin was still the legal mentri besar despite the takeover by Barisan Nasional.

He had said then that according to the state constitution, Nizar was the mentri besar until he resigned of his own accord or was removed by a vote of no confidence in a formal sitting of the Assembly.

The Perak constitution makes no provision for his removal by any other means, including by petitions or instructions from any other authority, he had written then.

“Today, after three months and yet more shameful scenes, the High Court affirmed the same elementary principle, and held that Nizar has been and remains the mentri besar,” Tengku Razaleigh wrote on Monday,

The High Court also ordered Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir and his executive officers to vacate their offices, and rejected an application from Zambry for a stay of proceedings pending an appeal.

Tengku Razaleigh urged the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, to dissolve the Assembly.

“This is the decent thing to do, but also the only way out of a crisis which has already spiralled out of Perak, damaged the rule of law, compromised the judiciary, the police and the state civil service, and damaged the monarchy in public opinion,” he said.

He said the Dr Zambry’s administration had been illegitimate all along and all decisions and contracts were made without legal status.

“The cascade of illegalities we warned of must now be unwound painfully. This includes the deplorable events of May 7 in Ipoh. It means the resolution to replace the Speaker was brought by an illegal state government,” he added.

In his no holds barred style, Tengku Razaleigh also said that the monarchy itself has been embarrassed by this episode, as well as by “a systematic programme by some to inflame this issue into one of race and treason.”

“Such attempts only hurt the institutions they claim to protect, and they hurt Umno and Barisan Nasional.

“The real issue has always been the Constitution and the Rule of Law, and the monarchy is protected in its role of upholding the primacy of the Constitution.

“Umno is not well served by leaders who place short-term political objectives above the Constitution,” he added.

written by Krepot, May 12, 2009 11:25:14
“Umno is not well served by leaders who place short-term political objectives above the Constitution,”

Well said!
agree 125
written by ibabonma, May 12, 2009 11:30:34
Dah begitu jauh, takkan masih pekak?
written by indianputra, May 12, 2009 11:32:59
Every act by Najib, the AG, the IGP and EC, the last few months have angered the Rakyat to the extent that they will spit or throw shoes on these guys. And yet, these goons are creating more issues. Does Najib have any hope of winning in the next Perak State Election or the next GE? UMNO/BN will loose like falling pins in every constituency in Malaysia.

They know that but yet, their egoism and power will not allow them to see the light.

Good luck, loosers
written by Dragon888, May 12, 2009 11:35:19
Ku Li should have been the PM instaed of that murderer....
written by batsman, May 12, 2009 11:35:53
UMNO's "midas" touch has poisoned everything. Time to be clean again.
written by Kunta Kinte, May 12, 2009 11:38:59
so the latest is, the appeal by Zambry will be heard today ad hoc. Where is this going to lead? Najib just wont give up. He is fighting with all his might and fist to save his face. He would not dare let the Perakians decide. Talk about 1 Malaysia, People first. Sssssh........
written by Ben Nordin, May 12, 2009 11:43:12
Brilliant piece!
written by 1st2stay, May 12, 2009 11:50:51
Tengku Razaleigh may have a long life. If he wanted to serve the people of Malaysia, us, he'd have to quit UMNO though. Not because PR was better, but because nobody in UMNO/BN listens to what he has to say. That's all, and that's enough: If you are not at all listened to, you have to join company that is interested in what you have to say.
written by Remo, May 12, 2009 11:58:58
Everyone understand this simple explanation but Zambry and the mamak gang fail to do so.
written by batsman, May 12, 2009 11:59:58
UMNO has swine flu influenza A UmNo. Stay away lest you get contaminated.
written by Hakim Joe, May 12, 2009 12:01:14
Just becos Ku Li said the things we wanted to hear doesn't mean he is one of the good guys (meaning us lah!)
He is only doing it becos he loves UMNO and not primarily becos it is the right thing to do.
He might be the only respectable person left in UMNO but that doesn't make him a saint.
Neither his words or actions can change the collective mentality of UMNO.
This episode is merely means to salvage an untenable position within UMNO.

written by chanatak, May 12, 2009 12:07:03

Forget the monarchy.
EVEN IF THE APPEAL COURT UPHOLDS NIZAR,

COME 2012 - VOTE UMNO AND BN OUT OF EXISTENCE

KEEP PR IN THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT FOR THE NEXT 3 TERMS
written by wongnoball, May 12, 2009 12:07:39
One has to wonder what is wrong with Ku Li OTAK sometimes.....saying all the right thing in a Party that thinks he is Useless. Perhaps this is a Get Back to that Racist Tun Dr. Munafik. Still the Quicker he Leaves his Party and Form S46 or join DAP or PAS.... then he is like a sandiwara. You see his animosity with Anwar is deep but that is another story. Right Now Dissolve the Bloody Perak ADUN and We want to Obliterate UMNO-BN Forever. Less than 2/3 Majority will be a Dissapointment to us DAP, PKR and PAS loyalist. This is an election Against Tun Dr. Munafik, Najis Muhiddin, Zahid Hamidi, H. Othman and against that Police chief of Perak the 5 Federal Judges. Lets see if the Sultan wants to use his LAST EXIT Strategy with some dignity left or Forever be Frowned upon by not only Perakians but by ALL RAKYAT MALAYSIA!! Until the Adun is dissolve still a Sultan Bi Polar. Don't forget during the last 3 months Election Commission and Najis and Hamidi and Zambry have been planning their win-win via MASSIVE Phantom Postal Votes. BN could be returned unless someone does something not so nice to Election Commission!! We are Fighting against the entire Force of Junta Regim Kejam Ganas UMNO-BN. Their is Victory at ALL cost....what about you??
written by lamakawan, May 12, 2009 12:26:58
DISSOLVE THE STATE ASSEMBLY AND CALL FOR A STATE ELECTIONS TO PROVE TO THE WORLD THAT DEMOCRACY IS STILL ALIVE IN MALAYSIA.
***** AGREE or DISAGREE
written by clarity, May 12, 2009 12:34:36
Well said Ku Li! And if Nizar has all along been the rightful MB, what are their appealing about? Isn't that a total disregard for the law and a lust for power?
written by kislean, May 12, 2009 12:42:31
Just becos Ku Li said the things we wanted to hear doesn't mean he is one of the good guys (meaning us lah!)
He is only doing it becos he loves UMNO and not primarily becos it is the right thing to do.

Yang Amat Mulia Ku Li ... UMNO is dead. In it's place is UMNO Baru which is not the same as the UMNO you once knew. UMNO Baru is made up of members from the MM Gang. Once upon a time the true members of UMNO were those in Semangat 46. Do you remember O Ku Li ? Why you chose to go back to UMNO Baru I can never understand. Then again you have your reason(s) and I respect that. Was it or the sake of uniting the Malays ? That being the case, those in PAS, Keadilan and those not in any parties are not Malays-kah ? If you look carefully, the party only takes care of it's members. Even that, those holding high office and those having high connections.
written by *********, May 12, 2009 12:51:05
It time for the Perak royalty to walk the talk. Consent to Dissolve the Perak State Assembly...More http://*********.********.com
written by Malaysiaputra, May 12, 2009 13:00:12
Taking what really doesn't belong to one by force or deceit, Isn't that called bullying ?.

Talk of taking a firm hand against bullying in schools etc, how about showing a good example in Perak's case ?.

The honourable way out is still to go back to the rakyat and let them decide, who knows Umno may win big this time !.
written by GangisKhan, May 12, 2009 13:06:46
If Ku Li would have been the PM, I doubt that UMNO would have been into this kind of SHIT in the first place but unfortunately selfinterest is the downfall of many good leaders in UMNO. Ku Li would make a better PM then Najib in my opinion.
written by Goodbites, May 12, 2009 13:21:41
It is time to make the right decision...for the people of Perak.
written by carribeanking7, May 12, 2009 13:34:13
Dear Chanatak,

I feel we may not have to wait for 2012, possibly snap polls may be called early 2010 or thereabouts, the recent populist posturings are some indication, but more importantly for the reasons I have opined here http://www.facebook.com/topic....topic=6070

Cheers
written by myke, May 12, 2009 15:01:43
Please help copy and spread this message.
-----------------------------------------

TELL YOUR RELATIVES AND FRIENDS NOT TO VOTE FOR BN NEXT GE13.

EXTINCT BN AND VOTE PR.

NO TO BN.

VOTE PR.

PLEASE START WORKING NOW..!!!!!

-------------------------------------------
Please start by simple one person a day if possible and work towards convincing
friends/relatives to spread this message. Explain to them BN's evil deeds, corruption, abuse of
power etc and get them to spread this message.

TQ
For a better future.
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 12, 2009 16:40:45
The people are KING...

Let the people dicide...

a king will not be king if people are not there..

Let the people be KING to decide
written by Smiles21, May 12, 2009 16:55:34
Ku, I had written earlier that it is good to have more blue blood talk about the blue blood. And I believe you have put correctly and fundamenattaly.

“The real issue has always been the Constitution and the Rule of Law, and the monarchy is protected in its role of upholding the primacy of the Constitution"

Kenapakah mereka perlu membuat bodoh dalam hal yang begitu asas. Mengapakah masalah semudah ini cuba diperpayahkan. Perlembagaan kita telah sedia mengadakan jalan penyelesaian tanpa melibatakan maruah Sultan, maruah pemimpin dan pegawai kerajaan sebagaimana dibimbangkan oleh Ku Li: “ ...a crisis which has already spiralled out of Perak, damaged the rule of law, compromised the judiciary, the police and the state civil service, and damaged the monarchy in public opinion,”

Saya juga bersetuju apabila Ku Li berpendapat bahawa kes yang berlaku di Perak sekarang bukannlah kes jenayah, tetapi kes politik. Jadi ia harus diselesaikan secara politik iaitu kembalikan kepada rakyat untuk menentukan. Susah sangatkah!

Very well said, Ku. For the love of our country, you have to speak out even though you will be disliked by your own party members. Country first, party second.

Take care, Ku.
written by born2reign, May 12, 2009 18:06:37
UMNO and BN loses both ways.

If BN judge overule High Court decision,
- BN commits suicide, BN is finished by a Chinese Hee and Ma-mak Zombie.
- because not only Perakians hate BN, the entire Malaysians of all races will hate BN all the way to next GE. BN will win the battle but lose the war.
- Zamry and Hee and gang are liabilties to UMNO/BN.
- rulers lose respect and honour of rakyat.

If BN loses Perak, the 3 frogs' careers are finished. Gamuda (Sultan's daughter) is finished, but then there's always another corporate entity. Cut loss..

The only way that BN can salvage itself is to cut loss (forget Perak) and focus on Malaysian economy. Indonesia and China are still experiencing positive growth, while Malaysia is spiralling downwards. Can Najis even think beyond UMNO without Mahatahi pressing his buttons?

I doubt Najis has any economic solution, thus this diversion from economic stimulus (whatever happened to our RM7 bil Valuecap investment and 30b stimulus?) to politicking. Since he can't win at economi growth, he is putting all his eggs in political power.
written by AlwaysFair, May 12, 2009 22:40:33
KU LI, why you disturb the Sultan. He already said he is ABOVE THE LAW.
(but once in a while when requested by his boss he will get involved of course...are you his boss?)
written by bexe, May 13, 2009 02:13:15
KuLi
What you say is true and correct. The situation is insane and harms us on all fronts.
But again you are just providing lip service
Use your clout and do something to bring this about.
Use your Royal Status to convene a meeting of the Rulers to make it happen. I know that will be unusual and controversial, but for the sake of the integrity of the monarchy, it might be worth your while.
Use your position in UMNO and get them to withdraw further court action so the Sultan can approve the dissolution of the assembly and get the people to re-vote.
DO IT PLEASE!