Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib laments ‘dark day in Umno history’

Najib laments ‘dark day in Umno history’ PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 May 2009 08:58

By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani (The Malaysian Insider)

KUALA LUMPUR, May 12 – To Datuk Seri Najib Razak, the High Court’s declaration that Pakatan Rakyat’s (PR) Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin is the rightful Perak mentri besar is a dark day in Umno’s history.

Addressing the guests at a dinner here last night to celebrate Umno’s 63rd anniversary, the Umno president said: “Tonight’s celebration has been tarnished by today’s court decision. The courts has banned Umno before but we rose and created a new Umno that is stronger.’’

Najib told the audience that Umno had a long history of service to the people but the younger generation had forgotten about the party’s contributions.

He said that the younger generation only read about Umno’s deeds in textbooks but are not able to relate to it.

“Because of Umno, people are now open minded and critical. Their minds are open because of our education policies. People are tired of rhetoric and would like to see what we have to offer of our future.

“We must change in accordance to our constitution and national principles. We live in a multi-racial country and Umno must not only get the support of Malays but also our partners in Barisan Nasional,” he explained.

Najib also emphasised that the party must listen to the people and that its leaders must accept Umno’s new culture.

“Umno’s new culture is the willingness to serve the interests of the people first, be humble and visit the grassroots,’’ he explained.

Najib reminded Umno leaders that they must not underestimate the value of good deeds as people will always remember them.

Borrowing from – but contradicting – Shakespeare, “... when Marc Anthony buried Julius Caesar: The evil that men do lives after them; ‘The good is oft interred with their bones’,” Najib added: “I do not agree with Shakespeare because mankind will always value the good.”

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by billykbk, May 12, 2009 09:02:51
You will soon be in the dungeons, Najis. No better place for deceitful, manipulative leaders like you....Sheer disgrace!
written by fknajib, May 12, 2009 09:06:57
Dark for UMNO.. good for PR. And since when does anyone start quoting Shakespeare and say its wrong?

http://fakenajib.********.com

written by GobloGadhero, May 12, 2009 09:06:58
Get used to it, there'll be plenty more darker days coming UMNO's way.
written by shamadz72, May 12, 2009 09:10:42
By having a possible murderer heading the party is already a dark episode in UMNO. Don't bla,e anyone else. You should already see it coming!

written by justice, May 12, 2009 09:12:56
written by SocratesI, May 12, 2009 09:13:41

Exactly right that the people will remember the good, and hence Malaysia will soon be truly independent after 50 years under the dictatorship and Nazi stewardship of Barisan Najis and UMNO. We are in the process of burying UMNO and interring all the Evil it has created with its bones and ashes!

Soon UMNO and BN will R.I.P. and Malaysians throughout the Land will celebrate and Rejoice !

written by SocratesI, May 12, 2009 09:13:41

Exactly right that the people will remember the good, and hence Malaysia will soon be truly independent after 50 years under the dictatorship and Nazi stewardship of Barisan Najis and UMNO. We are in the process of burying UMNO and interring all the Evil it has created with its bones and ashes!

Soon UMNO and BN will R.I.P. and Malaysians throughout the Land will celebrate and Rejoice !

written by Heaven8402, May 12, 2009 09:15:21
"Because of Umno, people are now open minded and critical." and you are right and we THANK YOU!
Because of Umno, the rakyat sees now that life can still goes on, even you umno-be-end!
written by MalaysianFirst, May 12, 2009 09:18:10
This you call a dark day already? Not yet.

Wait till the 13th GE. THAT would be the darkest day for BN.
written by ibabonma, May 12, 2009 09:24:00
The evil that men do lives after them; ‘The good is oft interred with their (Altantunya) bones’,
written by mountain man, May 12, 2009 09:25:36
Najis, you sow the seed for this very "dark" day by grabbing power thru Mamak haram MB, so you reap what you sow, who to blame, blame yourself lah! What sin did Tun Razak commit to bear a guy like you, malu lah!
written by krising1, May 12, 2009 09:32:00
Najib O Najib. The dark day is not the darkest days are yet to come. THe UMNOputras have not realised (and probably never will) that they have been hammered in all ways. All the UMNO police and pro-UMNO government servants have not been able to help you if a few honest judge decide to make a stand. See what is going to happen to all those civil servants whom you used to help prop the illegal regime in the last 3 months. They are going to be without jobs. Hope this will be an eye opener for all other civil servants who are less than neutral. It did not escape the judge's notice!
written by Sagaladoola, May 12, 2009 09:32:04
Borrowing from – but contradicting – Shakespeare, “... when Marc Anthony buried Julius Caesar: The evil that men do lives after them; ‘The good is oft interred with their bones’,” Najib added: “I do not agree with Shakespeare because mankind will always value the good.”

Najib... Coming from you .. Don't make me laugh ... smilies/cheesy.gif

I believe in Shakespeare : "The evil that men do lives after them...."

He said that the younger generation only read about Umno’s deeds in textbooks but are not able to relate to it.

That is because it is history. We can't keep saying we are good persons based on what our father has done in the past (history).

Our father's work and our own deeds should be viewed separately.
written by Delima25, May 12, 2009 09:36:25
Dark days indeed for UMNO.
They have descended from being very well-respected to being the patron of mat rempits who later became snatch thieves. But that is not the worse yet.
UMNO's anak Bapa May 13 is also a snatch thief and he did it in broad daylight in Perak to snatch away the MB's position. However this snatch thieff did not work alone but finds strength to do the dirty work with a gang of uniformed people and the judiciary. However, now that the international perception of him is SHIT, he is throwing away the MB's position to make it appear the judiciary is not a branch of UMNO.
Beware of his every move because nothing he does is for the people.
written by miwaki, May 12, 2009 09:39:24
When you have 3 or 5 races in a country,you don't call it multi-racial.Country like US of A is considered multi-racial becaus it has at least 100 races in that country.
written by Bigjoe99, May 12, 2009 09:40:07
This is why Najib is mediocre. Sure its bad but for him especially only. BUT Its an opportunity to come clean and forge a new path starting with himself. If he keep going and insist he himself is NOT a major problem, he is only screwing himself over ultimately which was what this was. Wake up. You are the Master of Screw-ups not the Universe..
written by KM Wong, May 12, 2009 09:40:42
Najis, do you know what Aminah's last words were? It's "Et tu Najib?" You will dream about these words, won't you?
Greed and evil is so deeply interred in your bones. When PR organises a mock funeral for her, please tell everyone "I've come to bury Aminah, not the praise her".
Don't even talk about Shakespeare. You make us laugh.
written by rocky, May 12, 2009 09:42:13
UMNO's dark day in history was due to your leadership and your actions PM. so the buck stops at you. you went against the constitution and use the police etc to destroy what was created by previous leaders of this country.

as for education policies, again it was due to past leaders. the current leaders including yourself have screwed the education system. Please do not take credit on the initiatives taken by Malaysians to expand their knowledge and also able to by pass your brain wash by the media by accessing the internet. Lucky you not claiming you or UMNO created the internet in Malaysia.

PM you are a disgrace cos you have no respect for the constitution and are power crazy. Change or next election we shall meet again and you shall see who will be appreciated and who won't.
written by Kunta Kinte, May 12, 2009 09:42:48
Najib, just shut! Nobody is listening to you anymore. I am happy though you are the PM. You are making the lives of the opposition easier to sweep the next GE. Patience....we will have
written by Rundukon, May 12, 2009 09:44:49
Najib told the audience that Umno had a long history of service to the people but the younger generation had forgotten about the party’s contributions.

Mr Najib, we NEVER FORGOT UMNO's contribution. I mean the original UMNO. You must not conveniently forget that you and the rest of UMNO members are members of UMNO BARU!

written by matt3238, May 12, 2009 09:46:33
Yes... 11 May is "The DARK DAY in UMNO History" and is also "The BRIGHTEST and MOST HAPPY DAY for RAKYAT".

Hep Hep Horay.... Hep Hep Horay.... Hep Hep Horay... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Admiral Tojo, May 12, 2009 09:50:11
UMNO is a race based party that is irrelevant in this modern world. Change UMNO to be United Malaysian National rganisation for ALL races, then it may work.

written by Aduh, May 12, 2009 09:50:48
A desperado has spoken !!! Hello najib. Save your breath and energy. Don't spoil our day. Just shut up. We have had enough of your kata tak serupa bikin.
written by MNor, May 12, 2009 09:55:57
Najib, it is good that you admittedly anounce that current UMNO is a new UMNO which was banned by the Court all because of ITS MEMBERS AND LEADERS GREED OF POWER. Next, please do not always blame the younger generations for forgetting what the 'old' UMNO had contributed to the country it was u and the rest of the 'new' UMNO leaders that had forgotten them just because of self greed. Todays new umno members have turn to be an opportunist nothing but opportunist to leave in style and wives!!!
written by Agahdemo, May 12, 2009 10:03:14
Dark day for UMNO becoz you deserve it....You power grab and over thrown the rightful Perak Government under Sdr Nizar....

More misfortune will befall UMNO....you devil doers!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Fatcat, May 12, 2009 10:07:49
Blah blah blah......
written by ChandraJ, May 12, 2009 10:19:26
It is not a DARK day for UMNO, it is a DARK day for BN. Its BN who is the purported Government of Perak, not UMNO.
written by Counterpointer, May 12, 2009 10:20:06
Although this verdict is most welcomed, but I still can't help feeling cynical about it. Are there really judges that dared to go against that murder suspect leader of our country?

Somehow I can help feeling that Najis knew there was absolutely no way out of the Perak conundrum and having the court to announce a verdict against the BN would not be totally disadvantageous to him. Now he can start saying that we should start trusting our courts and their verdicts, and accept the fact that the Altantuya case had also been similarly fairly dealt with.

Maybe there really is a good apple among those mainly rotten, then again, maybe not.
written by AO Musa, May 12, 2009 10:20:52
Yes! I totally agreed with Najib this time. The young generation has forgotten the contribution of UMNO. However, the old folk in UMNO also forgotten their own contributions!

What happened to Dato Onn who fought for the independent when he suggested UMNO should be open for non Malay as well??? He was criticised and at last he out from UMNO for good!

The One Malaysia concept is initiated by Dato Onn and he really mean it! Unlike his grand nephew who just use his initiation for his own political benefit!!!

Losers!!!!!
written by cta, May 12, 2009 10:29:05
i now see that with PAS malaysia got hopes.
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 12, 2009 10:38:21
To Datuk Seri Najib Razak, the High Court’s declaration that Pakatan Rakyat’s (PR) Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin is the rightful Perak mentri besar is a dark day in Umno’s history

YEAH, WE KNOW. IT IS 1 BLACK MALAYSIA ISNT IT??? WONDER WHAT U ARE SCHEMING NOW.
written by farah, May 12, 2009 10:38:57
cta,
WITH PAS, RAKYATS OF ALL RACES AND RELIGION GOT HOPES TOO!

DEFINATELY THERE'S NO HOPE OR HOPELESS PM NAJIB.
written by sukinong, May 12, 2009 10:40:20
"The courts has banned Umno before but we rose and created a new Umno that is stronger." - now more corrupted, arrogant and deemed invincible.

"Najib reminded Umno leaders that they must not underestimate the value of good deeds as people will always remember them" - look just how many bad deeds they have done. Stink until the heaven. It is the bad deeds that hurt the rakyat most.

"Their minds are open because of our education policies." - still wanting to shut the rakyat out.

written by raven1958, May 12, 2009 10:46:38
Ahhhh....the murderer has spoken....cannot be as dark as you blasting Altantunya to pieces...common on Najib.....Guruji never told you about karma....this is nothing ...a far greater reward awaits you....
written by Semut Jantan, May 12, 2009 10:50:08
A thug is sent to the prison after being convicted and so he lamented "This is the dark day of my life".

Hello, any civilized people home? Oh, this is Malaysia. Excuse me.
written by pengembara, May 12, 2009 10:51:19

To najib, zambry, et all

now does he feel his title
Hang loose about him, like a giant's robe
Upon a dwarfish thief.
written by mob1900, May 12, 2009 11:01:25

Yes Dark Days indeed, for the whole country ever since he took the helm as the unelected leader in history.
written by Ben, May 12, 2009 11:05:29
Damn right it is the darkest day for armno and we, the rakyat, told you so and even pleaded for you to stop your atrocities. But did you listen? No, you deserve this. Now take it like bad boy and don't complain. And for all the others who celebrated the illegitimate Zambry as mb please remember the rakyat never forgets. The renegade judges, the police and SB and mp.

Thank you God for saving Malaysia and restoring justice in this nation, we praise forever saying, God is good all the time. Amen
written by batsman, May 12, 2009 11:23:17
UMNO has had many dark days. This particular dark day stated when Najib took over as Perak UMNO chief. Come to think of it, it started when Najib was not challenged as UMNO President.
written by 1st2stay, May 12, 2009 11:42:25
"To Datuk Seri Najib Razak, the High Court’s declaration that Pakatan Rakyat’s (PR) Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin is the rightful Perak mentri besar is a dark day in Umno’s history."

See what to expect from Najib! Nothing, nothing at all with 1Malaysia! (And badly advised he is, as well!)
A PM of any standing should bow to the decision and be proud of an independent judgment. UMNO should be proud of a Malaysian judge who can read the constitution and interpret it in an objective manner. Okay, it might be a 'dark day', but only for dark forces; for usurpations of power, power grabs, buying over elected representatives of the people, and dragging elected speakers out of the assembly by brute force. Finally, emptying all shelves of all files; files that belong to the people. Najib has given himself and his deep thoughts away. His intention is nothing, nothing at all but UMNO/BN staying in power. That's the message of what he actually said:

"To Datuk Seri Najib Razak, the High Court’s declaration that Pakatan Rakyat’s (PR) Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin is the rightful Perak mentri besar is a dark day in Umno’s history."
written by mypanida, May 12, 2009 12:05:11
Its not that dark yet....soon its gonna be PITCH BLACK
written by alpha100, May 12, 2009 12:09:36
smilies/grin.gif Yes! Dark days for UMNO/BN! U started it by accepting suspicious characters (oredi charged in court) just for sake of having majority to form Perak State Goverment! More dark days to come if you continue with croket ways of doing things! Righteousness and Justice will prevail and we know God love Righteouness and Justice and God is Love!
written by hanisma, May 12, 2009 12:40:23
We are not the least concerned that 11 MAY is a dark day in (Najib's life) Umno's history because there would be more darker days to come for you and Umno. Isn't the brutal murder of that Mongolian beauty a dark day for her family, Mongolians and concerned people of the world? So why lament the High Court's decision when you have the power to do everything (that's what you think) to your whims and fancies.I'm sure you have many more tricks in your sleeves so as to be the PM for ever and ever! BTW don't try to qoute from any of Shakespeare's writing because you would misquote it.
written by TheWhisperer, May 12, 2009 12:50:42
Dark Day In Umno's History? Should be Bright Day IN Umno's Dark HIstory
written by GangisKhan, May 12, 2009 12:51:52
"Najib told the audience that Umno had a long history of service to the people but the younger generation had forgotten about the party’s contributions."

This is your own doing not so dear Najib. You have avioded questions about the Altantuya scandal, You have use the ISA to put innocent people who voice their thoughts in jail, You have made it clear that you would bath the chinese in their own blood, you have ban opposition news papers that only express their political views, You have masterminded the fall of a perfectly legal govermnent in Perak. You have done many more things that the rakyat sees as opression of freedom and freedom of speech. I can say more but I think that the people will agrees that the cause if this is yours but not others. This is an insult to your 1 Malaysia which I don't see any future in it.
written by arazak, May 12, 2009 12:52:27
"Friends, Malaysians, countrymen, lend me your ears;
We come to bury Najis, not to praise him;
The evil that men do lives after them,
The good is oft interred with their bones,"
-------------------------------------------
Dear Evil PM,

Yes you will remembered for your evil ways by Malaysians. We will make sure that the story of your evil ways will be passed from one generation to the next. Don't you worry. . .,you will be remembered with disgust and contempt by our future generations for looting our money and scewing our democracy.
written by GangisKhan, May 12, 2009 12:55:24
You also have made Malaysia into a laughing stork and a mockery of democracy. You have only earn yourself to be hated by the people and loved to those who can gain from what you can offer. Sorry but this is the truth.
written by apanama, May 12, 2009 13:05:25
when i grow up i want to be the:

mamaktaikfiraun: PM, MoF, ISA minister
bodohwi: PM, MoF (bodoh takpe), ISA minister, Defense
najiz: PM, MoF, ISA, C4.

when i retire i want to KAPOK from:

mamaktaikfiraun: perusahaana minyak malaysia.
bodohwi: syarikat kapal terbang malaysia.
najiz: syarkiat kapal selam malaysia
written by Sinewy, May 12, 2009 13:23:13
"Younger generation only read about Umno’s deeds in textbooks"
No wonder the history textbook of my son now is so different from the history textbook during my time in the 1960s. It looks like UMNO has hijacked the history textbook to make it into a textbook for the political propaganda of UMNO.
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 12, 2009 17:03:52
huyung buaian sambil mencubit bayi..oi Najib!!!!!!
written by MAMR, May 12, 2009 17:58:20
"Najib laments ‘dark day in Umno history’"

Based on the above statement ,I can assure you Najib there shall be DARKER DAYS AND EVEN DARKEST DAY ahead if you and your UMNO/BN dont come to your senses soon.Give Rakyat what they want not rule by force. Rakyat are NOT STUPID and you shall not able to bribe all of them. So come to your senses.