Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow All decisions by Zambry have no legal effect, says lawyer

All decisions by Zambry have no legal effect, says lawyer PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 May 2009 08:52

(The Star) PETALING JAYA: All decisions or actions made by Datuk Seri Dr Zam­bry Abd Kadir as a mentri besar have no legal effect now following the High Court ruling that Datuk Seri Mohammed Nizar Jamaluddin is the legitimate Perak Mentri Besar, lawyer Malik Imtiaz Sarwar said.

This, he said, was based on the court decision that Perak had only one MB in Nizar, said Malik.

“In my view, Zambry was never MB. He had no power to act as MB because Nizar had always been the rightful one,” said Malik, who is also the National Human Rights Society president.

Thus, last week’s state assembly sitting had no legal provision at all since it was not called by the legitimate MB, he said.

Malik, however, pointed out that the situation remained messy.

Barisan Nasional, he said, could assert that they have the numbers in the state assembly and thus move a motion of no-confidence.

“But V. Sivakumar, the “rightful” Speaker as last week’s sitting had no legal basis, could dismiss the motion,” he said.

Should a protracted legal battle continue between Barisan and Pakatan Rakyat, Malik said “the real losers are the people of Perak” because the state would be paralysed by such a crisis.

The situation now was that Barisan controlled the state assembly but the MB was from the Opposition, he said adding that: “It would be best if a fresh election is held,” he added.

Bar Council chairman Ragunath Kesavan said there was no point in both Barisan and Pakatan going to the courts on legal battles when the answer did not lie in the courts but in the hands of the people where it rightly belongs.

He said Dr Zambry would appeal yesterday’s High Court decision to the Court of Appeal and the loser would then appeal to the Federal Court.

“The issue will go on and on. Each round of legal battles promises finality but fails to deliver it. Time moves on but the business of running the state government continues to be sidelined,” he said in a statement yesterday.

written by binkah1, May 12, 2009 09:13:27
Literally everyone is asking to give it back for the rakyat to decide except bn. Why are they so afraid since they claimed to be the people's government??? this i cant really understand smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by asiana888, May 12, 2009 09:14:24
Aiyoh! Let's put the super-efficient OCPD of Ipoh to task.

1. Make a police report that Zambry has impersonated the MB ... thus all his actions illegal and need to be investigated.
2. If Nizar is rightful MB, then YB SIvakumar is rightful Speaker - thus the Privileges Committee suspension of Zambry, 6 (impersonating excos) and 3 'kataks' still hold. So ... OCPD should be called in to State Assembly to remove all these suspended aduns if they next turn up at the State Assembly.
3. Make police report against all those civil servants who had conspired with BN to 'hijack' the State Secretariat building from PR.
4. Send show-cuase letters to MBI officers and State Secretariat officials on why they are taking orders from 'impersonating' MB and excos?

If all civil servants in Perak threatens to 'walk-out' of their jobs, no problem. We will mobilize all PAS, DAP and PKR workers to take over!!!!
written by mountain man, May 12, 2009 09:30:28
How can we recognize the validity of decision taken by haram punya MB (MALU BESAR), all those that happened since Feb 2009 testify how shameless UMNO morons can be, especially the tainted guy Najis.
written by SCOng, May 12, 2009 09:34:37
Wow... I believe selling off Camry is another "Illegal" move too...
So how to settle the case now, for those who paid good money to bid?
written by shamadz72, May 12, 2009 09:40:32
So can Zambry paid back the price of auction Camry to the state government? It is not that expensive, just sell off a few of your nask kandar outlet will do!

written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 12, 2009 09:42:23
Sooooooooo…… Whhhaaatt? Just Dissolved the Parliament and held a new elections lah!!!...........Even a small child could understand what ‘Voting’ is when they want to choose their leader to play war their games in the bush………….Oh….. Sooo… Sorry!!!…………I don’t think those first class children did ever play a bamboo cannon or something that sorts………..Even non graduated people like my parents know that it is better to held a new elections to solved the Perak Crises, what more the well educated and well informed government with all the facilities, think tanks, special branch and so on……….."Malulah orang Cop Kita.........Bodoh Tak dapat Di Ajar.........Pandai tak Dapat Diikut."
written by ibabonma, May 12, 2009 09:58:06
I wish to defer with Malik Imtiaz Sarwar.

As it is now BN does not have the legal majority in the State Assembly because of the suspension imposed on Zamry and his EXCOs and also the three frogs, whose court cases are pending. Legally, all of them simply cannot cast their votes in any motion introduced in the august House and such situation is always at the pleasure of the lawful Speaker i.e. Sivakumar.

written by rocky, May 12, 2009 10:01:01
go back to the people for a mandate and this will be solved. kalau jantan apa nak takut, kan itu demokrasi, sudah tentu Zambry faham kan.Zambry jantan kan, kalau jantan jumpalah rakyat dalam pilihanraya. Lebih lebih lagi beliau kata ada yang tak faham apa erti demokrasi dan beliau sudah tentu faham dan tahu kan.Mungkin kita ni bodoh tapi dalam bodoh bodoh kita, kita rakyat tahu penyelesaian ialah balik kepada rakyat dan dapatkan mandat dan bukan sembunyi dibelakang sarung. smilies/wink.gif
written by Agahdemo, May 12, 2009 10:17:52
Zamry, you are illegal, illegitimate.....tau malu la sikit...nak appeal apa lagi......

You tak rasa kah orang Perak reject u...kemana kau pergi, orang yang senyum pada mu cuma artifisial saja....ramai lagi yang boo pada mu.....tau malu la sikit.....
written by Agahdemo, May 12, 2009 10:24:16
The problem is Sultan of Perak doesn't seem to know the impact of this fiasco in Perak....
oh sorry I think he knows very well but choose to act against the interest of people of Perak........

Ampun Tuanku beribu ribu ampun...... smilies/grin.gif
written by Aduh, May 12, 2009 10:55:02
We hear and agree 110 % with you , Malek.

You are a man of wisdom, unlike those from the other side who are much guided by vested interests.
written by ksmaniam, May 12, 2009 11:40:09
asiana 888, your proposal is interestingly right. I agree to it too.
my 2 cents worth
written by murthy3372, May 12, 2009 12:01:08
agree with ibabonma

The court verdict declares that DSNJ was never toppled from his MB post.
As such,his govt still stands.Speaker YB Sivakumar is still the legit speaker.
He already suspended 10 of the pro be-end ADUNs,making them unable to even attend a dewan sitting,what more to vote on any motions tabled.With the present deadlock of PR 22 to be-end 23 - 10 = 13.So effectively it's PR 22 vs be-end 13.A motion of no confidence against DSNJ can never be won,even at all if it is ever debated as the legit Speaker can overrule and reject the motion.
So it's POWER TO THE PEOPLE now.In my opinion,the Ruler / Regent's consent now is purely a formality only.
Maybe some learned constitutional lawyer can shed some light on this for the benefit of us lay rakyats.Thank you.
written by GangisKhan, May 12, 2009 13:27:22
See no light ahead but only darker ones coming. As long as this Zambry is there and the assembly is not dissolve, Zambry will continue to be the UMNO head gangster comanding his honchos to do his bidding and arrest more people. Don't be surprise even ISA will also be used.