Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno To Use New Media To Attract The Young

Umno To Use New Media To Attract The Young PDF Print
Monday, 11 May 2009 20:18

SHAH ALAM, May 11 (Bernama) -- Umno will harness the power of the new media to attract the young towards the party but not in the way the opposition has been using them to undermine leaders of other parties.

Umno information chief Ahmad Maslan said the strategy would be among the steps he would take in the efforts to woo the young towards Umno apart from holding face-to-face meetings to get an insight into their aspirations for the party.

"We will speak their language because they are now speaking in the new media terms like blogs and Facebook, but in doing so we will say the truth.

"We will not use the new media to spread lies because that is just not us. Let them (opposition) say what they want because lies are not something that the people would always believe.

"One day they would want to find the truth and I am confident that what the Barisan Nasional (BN) is doing is the right thing," he told reporters after meeting his predecessor, Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib here today.

Ahmad, who was appointed to the post on April 24, said the meeting was to discuss with Muhammad the role and responsibility of an Umno information chief.

On pro-opposition blogs which glorified certain opposition leaders, Ahmad, who is Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, said Umno would not be doing the same as the party would focus more on party policy and direction.

"We are not into personality cult... leaders come and go. What remains is Umno and BN," he said.

Meanwhile, Muhammad said he believed Ahmad would be able to discharge his duties well.

"It's only that the society is now more critical and exposed to all types of information.

"We, therefore, need to go deeper in understanding them... to think about how we can attract a generation that is exposed the free-flowing of information," he said.

-- BERNAMA

written by sactyr, May 11, 2009 20:31:08
Wait a minute, I thought you guys already started with Rocky?

The truth? BN speaking the truth?? OMFG, that would be the day when pigs start flying.

Before you all jump in the bandwagon, you must first understand why we had turned to alternative media such as blogs, Facebook, Twitter, internet news sites such as Malaysiakini, and Youtube. We turned to all these because we could not take anymore the lies and irregularities spinned by government-controlled MSM.

For example, which MSM even mentioned that YB Sivakumar was dragged by SB?? Heck, the whole Perak fiasco was not even covered honestly. And yet this Ahmad Maslan says Opposition lies..

And you said this:
"One day they would want to find the truth and I am confident that what the Barisan Nasional (BN) is doing is the right thing,"

GO TO HELL!
written by Sinewy, May 11, 2009 20:44:34
Yes please help me to explain to the young about the UMNO sponsored BTN program, the NEP and the UMNO Ketuanan... Pleeeease explain to these young minds why they have to be discriminated and deprived by the UMNO government policies that divide the citizens in this country.. please explain well...
written by Thian, May 11, 2009 20:46:34

In the end the only currency in the internet is about truth.

If the truth does not match the global expectation of consciousness and values then this forum will only highlight ever more your stupidity which will result in RIDICULOUS at best and DISGUSTING at worst.

The whole have a large pool of awaken people who do not have the frog in the well mentality.

Only now you will be exposing to the whole world your racist, bigot, childish underdeveloped mind and soul that you stand for.

The media is not a propaganda tool and it is for that very reason where you cannot control and all expressions will be judge by global ethos of humanity.

Sir, your intent is not pure and only the impure (stupid) forms will materialize.

Look at Perak crisis,for example, only the stupid will be ridiculous at best and disgusting at worst.

written by RCChia, May 11, 2009 20:48:48
We shall see, we will see !
Always it is say one thing, do another. The Umno Info Chief can say anything he wishes, but can he really control what actually comes out?
We shall see..
written by citizenmy, May 11, 2009 20:52:30
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

The youngster mind is very sharp nowadays, they can make wise decision.

My suggestion: Please pay the visitors RM 10 for every *****...I will visit those blogs and facebook everyday to at least look at those lies. You guys will get at least 10 million hit a day. There are many people who will be eager to read lies as long it is paid for.
written by Thian, May 11, 2009 21:01:38

n the end the only currency in the internet is about truth.

The world have a large pool of awaken people who do not have the frog in the well mentality.

Only now you will be exposing to the whole world your racist, bigot, childish underdeveloped mind and soul that you stand for.

The media is not a propaganda tool and it is for that very reason where you cannot control and all expressions will be judge by global ethos and values of humanity.

Sir, your intent is not pure and only the more impure (stupid) forms will materialize.

Look at Perak crisis,for example, only the stupid will continue to be ridiculous at best and disgusting at worst.

Who wants to read a bunch of lies.
written by born2reign, May 11, 2009 21:11:20
Do you even know what a blog is?
If you are going to arrest a blogger and force him to reveal his commentors IDs, then no youngster/oldie who has half a mind would visit your blog.

Or your blog is just to shiok sendiri, like chedet's, who delete all opposing comments.

Stickiness. Are you as sticky as MT? No traffic, no communication. Period.

Why bother using the internet when your MSM has failed so miserably? Why not just liberate the newspapers, tv and radios? Make sure no politicians and cronies are in their management. Hey, did you read that even Warren Buffet won't be buying any shares of news co.? Loser UMNO.
written by yeechut, May 11, 2009 21:28:35
The the internet is a dead thing. What gives it life is the people behind it. It is the intelligence, the integrity and the sense of sharing and belonging that defines the new media.

BN - being a bunch crooks with the level of intelligence of a primate, is never going to be able to create a following with the new media. BN will continue to fight using corruption and brute power. That is the only thing they can do and know how to do.

I wrote a criticism of Ali Rustam's brief and disastrous internet initiative a year back. The criticism still stands today: http://humblevoice.********.co...ogger.html
written by Democrats, May 11, 2009 21:32:33
First, you have to understand the new media, that is it borderless, and you can't hide from criticism and you must have an open mind of having the concept of agree to disagree, and that like Pete always says "opinions are like *******s, everyone has one".

Sadly, UMNO has none of this traits....

Little bit, little bit, censor comments, little bit little bit, ISA, sedition, block site, etc....
written by simplemind, May 11, 2009 21:41:52
... another option under their sleeves ... the Mat Rempit smilies/cool.gif
written by joeawk, May 11, 2009 21:52:01
To attract the young, you must have truth. You must be sincere. UMNO has so little substance as can be seen by their comments on matters related to the Perak Assembly. They spin and spin and now, with the court decission, thay have been found out, very naked.

How to attract the young because the new media will expose the lie of UMNO instantly.

Besides, UMNO has lost almost all credibilities and anything UMNO said or claim is suspect while everything said or claim by Pakatan is given the benefit of the doubt.

What chance has UMNO got to woo the young until UMNO has reclaim its credibility and how can UMNO do so when UMNO know not how to tell the truth but only lies.
written by Kingsley, May 11, 2009 22:01:34
These UMNO guys still don't GET it.
It is not the media. It is not the new generation.
It is the way you have been treating the people.
Bullying, intimidating, bossing, cheating, white-washing, lying, misusing power...
Your leaders may look us in the eye while they lie to us.
But we are tired of looking into their faces every time they speak.
We no longer want them...period.
written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 11, 2009 22:04:35
Easily being said than done.............So far I still don't see any blog or bloggers that really attract the youngsters like YMRPK or Kickdefella and their gangs up to now...........may be we just wait and see.........whether it might be true in the end............Gooooooooood Luckkkkkkkkkkkkkk................
written by JaguhKampung, May 11, 2009 22:10:43
People go to the internet and blogs purely because the main stream media are not reporting the truth, reporting half truths or twisting the facts. Had the main stream media controlled by UMNO, MCA, MIC and the government reports the truth, the so called alternative media would never have flourished.
written by anban, May 11, 2009 22:15:09
bring it on...bring it on...this is new media we are talking about not your main stream media when you can just shove the information down the readers throat. you want to spread lies in the name of truth, we will expose it in the same media. bring it on...come on lets battle...
written by No nonsense, May 11, 2009 22:56:57
New broom always sweeps clean. Well it will not be for long cause it will be as dirty as what it sweeps.
written by latihanQ, May 11, 2009 23:08:18
UMNO is approaching the end. It is old and bankrupt of ideas. It is in denial. It is run tyrannically by two cousins. It is on its last throes.
How can such an archaic and corrupt old party attract the young when it refuses to celebrate youth and the free flow of ideas, whatever media it uses?
written by jowkg, May 11, 2009 23:14:17
What Farking Truth? That Stupid FAtrizat also say the same shiet .... will only tell the truth during the by election campaign! .... BN with their crap... these kinda story is only good when u publish in the MSM.. just like Najis when he say " We must be Truthful" as if he is so morally HIGH and when he say must not the practise " Law of the Jungle".... and these are the very action they contradict... wanna hookwink the rakyat and portray themselves only in the MSM laa. Only in the MSM
written by jowkg, May 11, 2009 23:16:26
"One day they would want to find the truth and I am confident that what the Barisan Nasional (BN) is doing is the right thing," he told reporters after meeting his predecessor, Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib here today.

Double Muhammad is only " Confident"... Confident does not mean he believe.... he is COnfident means he Hope smilies/smiley.gif
written by jowkg, May 11, 2009 23:18:35
We, therefore, need to go deeper in understanding them... to think about how we can attract a generation that is exposed the free-flowing of information," he said.

U do not have to GO DEEPER to understand us u stupid.. what u fail to see is on the Surface... ... like what Tun said.. this guy is a Joker...
written by mob1900, May 11, 2009 23:59:13
What these AMNO & BN goons doesnt understand is, the internet has its own ways to regulate and segregate trith and lies by itself, not some self-imposed & self-proclaimed authoritarian which bans users and threatens internet-providers.

Barisan Najis had already destroyed the MSM with media control and licensing ownership,
We don't need another new media down the the gutters with BN's crap. Leave the internet alone, Barisan Najis.
written by Sutha, May 12, 2009 00:20:34
Why?

Rempit backfired?