Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib: We will appeal against decision

Najib: We will appeal against decision PDF Print
Monday, 11 May 2009 20:11

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, May 11 – The prime minister said that Barisan Nasional (BN) will appeal the Kuala Lumpur High Court decision declaring Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin as the rightful mentri besar of Perak.

Datuk Seri Najib Razak said this evening that BN will file an appeal tomorrow.

“We are appealing against the decision. We hope for an early date for the appeal,” he told reporters after meeting Pemudah, the special taskforce established to simplify business dealings with the government. “We feel we have a strong case.”

The High Court had today also ordered Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir and his executive officers to vacate their offices, and the judge also rejected an appeal from Zambry for a stay of the declaration.

When asked by reporters if the state assembly should be dissolved and elections held, Najib replied that it was the Sultan of Perak’s decision to make.

He added that he has not made any arrangement to meet the Perak ruler.

However, Nizar is seeking an audience with the Perak Sultan to ask for consent to dissolve the state assembly.

When asked about moving a motion of no-confidence against Nizar instead of appealing the court decision, Najib replied that their first action will be to appeal.

Najib also asked Perakians to keep calm.

“Don’t get overexcited,” he said. “We will solve the problem.”

Several police Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) trucks have been observed pulling up at the Perak State Secretariat in Ipoh and state police chief Datuk Zulkefli Abdulah has warned the public not to gather near the secretariat complex to prevent any untoward incident.

By Shannon Teoh

written by ibabonma, May 11, 2009 20:19:35
Najis, what is the point of appealing when you have been frustrated in your inability to secure the 'stay of execution', for by then Nizar will be at the Istana seeking to dissolve Perak State Assembly; and definitely not under the provision of 16(6).
written by SamYap, May 11, 2009 20:23:46
1} There you are! Da man has spoken!
2} Do you think the wayang is over yet?
3} Probably not by a long shot!
4} The new "Speaker" Datuk Ganesan (I used his title Datuk for a good reason) is so dumb, how could he convene the DUN when he is no longer legitimately the speaker? Pending an appeal and stay of execution of judgement, Nizar and the Pakatan ex-co remains the legit state govt, plus the Speaker is still Sivakumar.
5} But watch the rest of the wayang now.
6} Was told that HRH Raja Azlan is not around, somewhere overseas.
7} Will HRH Crown Prince Nazrin do the necessary tonight or at least at 6.00AM tomorrow? Dissolve the DUN?

We will see...the credits to this wayang is not on the screen yet...and the projector is still rolling...rolling ...rolling....

Btw, the Heroes in Blue are in full force tonight! Watch it, wear white not black because they may not see you in the darkness and "accidentally roll over you in their trucks and what-not.
written by Ahjamal, May 11, 2009 20:39:25
Najis has to appeal the frogs have taken too much money even it is not his he still has to answer to the giver. The frogs are happy with all the money no need to sweat, The she frog has done her part to get rig of the legal speaker and
she will just walk away this time unless another bag of money. This is the smartest she frog and the worst human kind.
written by raven1958, May 11, 2009 20:40:35
Najib..najib...macam bapak juga....samseng....pakai polis, FRU, gangster, lanun....janji boleh pegang kuasa.....betul betul mau lawan ke Najib........shortest PM in Malaysian history....your day of reckoning is getting closer......and where is that Pangkor Mamak..graduan Universiti Islam...beli punya degree...otak penoh sampah....pun Samseng juga....these bastards think they can play with fire and turn out winners.....
written by harryo, May 11, 2009 20:50:00
Dear PM, with all respect to you, please don't mess up Perak again. Let the Sultan take his decision on dissolution and let there be an election. Good for you to rebuild confidence in the rakyat. If not, you will not be helping UMNO.
written by Democrats, May 11, 2009 20:57:15
Wahai PM,

The RAKYAT is watching.

You've fcuked up Perak once.....We forgive.(well, some, maybe)

You fcuk it up again.....we'll fcuked you up in GE13. Hilang deposit!
written by Semut Jantan, May 11, 2009 21:05:24
Appeal? When the high court pronounced that "the sky is not green in colour", would any right minded person, much less the PM of Malaysia, wants to appeal the verdict?

It is so so so dunggu, really. Who ever appeals, falls in the category of "kambing mentality"; the lawyers representing them are categorised as having "lembu mentality", bigger in size and shape but still in the herd grouping.
written by Semut Jantan, May 11, 2009 21:09:07
Najib @ Najis should go.

Any right thinking UMNOputras should start the ground work. Toon Manhadtail should lead the charge for this stupid Perak episode conceived by, apa nama, Najis.
written by hellosunshine, May 11, 2009 21:23:20
Hello Najis, enough is enough lah. You are not tired of all these shenanigans and abuse of power ke? The rakyat sure is. Don't make it worse for you and BN. Just lie down and take it like a man, Or is it you don't have the balls to let the rakyat decide because you were not elected as a PM by the rakyat in the first place? smilies/tongue.gif
written by latihanQ, May 11, 2009 21:40:44
Mr. Prime Minister,
By all means, appeal! It is allowed in law. However, what confounds me is your morbid paranoia. Why are you so adamant you have the support of the people but yet fearful of returning to seek a fresh and legitimate mandate? Is the UMNO/BN coalition only capable of winning through threats, force and trickery? Ifthat is the case can you not see the bankruptcy of UMNO/BN and its forfeiture of ay moral justification to rule.
Since your ascension to the premiership, you have not once demonstrated honesty and steadfastness in any of your decisions. You have even shockingly tried to avoid Penanti! Where does that leave you? It now seems even sleepy head Badawi makes better decisions than you half zzzzzzzz asleep!
written by PASOK, May 11, 2009 21:46:25

Najib you show no respect for the people and now no respect for the court. You are totally unfit to be the leader of the country. You should respect the court's decision.
written by Semut Jantan, May 11, 2009 22:04:39
The bottom line is --

BN is afraid of facing the Rakyat. Ball-less regime; pengkhianat!!!
written by Tompios, May 11, 2009 22:25:56
Najib!! go appeal to the Federal Court! the truest warrior of Sabahans have called Federal Court as Joseph Korup court!

Bravo High Court!! UMNO berang ada Hakim yang tidak ikut telunjuk batang peliarnya!
written by farah, May 11, 2009 22:46:10
Najib said to Perakians, "d't get overexited"

What kind of PM are you?
We have not fotgotten how cooly you walked into 'peaceful PR government and 'power grab' using your power but not using people's power.
written by kooler, May 11, 2009 22:48:53
An Honourable Judge of an High Court has over ruled the wisdom of an Honourable former Chief Justice... that's what the issue is.
written by zandi, May 11, 2009 22:56:51
Najis, Najis. Have you not learn anything at all about what the rakyat want in the last few months, esp since 507??? The high court has ruled. Malaysians have seen the extent to which you and UMNO/BN would stoop just to cling to power - and it is DISGUSTING and REVOLTING! Perakians don't want you/UMNO/BN, PERIOD!!! Still no comprendo? Then go ahead and appeal ...so that the whole of Msia will be totally disgusted with you and will totally reject you come GE13th! So go ahead, appeal and make our day!
written by The Hammer, May 11, 2009 23:14:33
Najib also asked Perakians to keep calm.
Hello; Najis what makes you think the whole of Perak are with you! Maybe 10% will still support you becausue of the "moolah" which you dished out to those who lick your feet!
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 11, 2009 23:25:33
Datuk Seri Najib Razak said this evening that BN will file an appeal tomorrow.

SCREW U. THE ONLY APPEAL WE WANT IS FOR BAGINDA TO BE DRAGGED TO COURT
AGAIN TO EXPLAIN HOW HE GOT RM 510,000,000.00 COMMISSION AND A HOST OF OTHER
QUESTIONS ON THE MONGOLIAN BEAUTY CASE.
written by mowadoha, May 11, 2009 23:27:42
written by The Hammer, May 11, 2009 23:32:21
ortly thereafter, at about 7.30 a.m., Abdul Razak Baginda received an SMS from Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and showed, this message to both myself and his lawyer. This message read as follows :-
“ I am seeing IGP at 11.00 a.m. today …… matter will be solved … be cool”.
And now this, what a concidence: “Don’t get overexcited,” he said. “We will solve the problem.”
Coming out from the mouth!

written by Semut Jantan, May 11, 2009 23:51:08
Let's make Najis the shortest serving PM in the history of Malaysia.

Plunder Menteri Malaysia yang paling sengkat, pendik!
written by Sutha, May 12, 2009 00:08:45
Was that what Najib meant by "we can cooperate with pakatan...". Meaning, he knew the judgement one or two days before hand!

Never mind..... Nizar should somehow convince the Regent for the dissolution of the state asembly, towards ending the crisis (legal suits and injunctions), repairing damage done and bring reputation to the state for a clean administration. It will not matter if the voters do not elect Pakatan but the people's wishes will be carried out. Everybody will know where the Political parties stand in the eyes of the nation. So be it!

The Bastards National Inc (BN) would have already by now arranged with the Kangaroo Courts for judgement overturned. While the dissolution and election talks are happening, the BN Morons can meet under a coconut tree in Pangkor (near the Zimbabwe Zombie Tulukkan's corruptedly obtained bungalow)and pass a resolution for Plan Z to be used, since all other failed.

Nizar should not be in a hurry to put the No-brain-Sargeant-At-Arms, Assembly Cler, State Secretary, Rogue Rookies to face the guillotine or firing squad, but ensure the dissolution, election procedures etc until the new government is decently set up, since the Court has recognised him as the MB. Everything else can wait. If the above uncivilised civil servants do not have buffalo hide for skin, they would have opted for early retirement or bolted off to either Johor or Sabah in shame.
written by Ho Lee Man, May 12, 2009 00:17:48
Aiyohh.. Najib,
What is there to appeal some more?
Perakians knew your dirty tricks in buying over 3 PR ADUN.
They never accepted your Zambry as the new MB since day one.
Perakians are disgusted by the forceful removal of Sivakumar on 7 May.
They want the State Assembly dissolve,and a fresh election lah.
You and BN dare not face the voters in Perak.
10 of the present BN ADUNs won with less than 1000 votes.
Another 7 BN ADUNs won with less than 2000 votes.
If you and BN dont cheat ,intimidate the voters and manipulate in the next election,
BN would end up with 19 ADUNs or less and Pakatan Rakyat with 40 ADUNs or more.
Nizar is camping outside the palace to meet the Regent at 8.30am tomorrow.
He and Pakatan dare to face the voters for a new mandate.
You and BN is running scare,even in Penanti.
So,why ,(apa nama) Appeal?
Please face the (apa nama) Voters of Perak
written by Sutha, May 12, 2009 00:22:09
Najib, you mean stuff the Kangaroos with $$$ for desired results?
written by Sutha, May 12, 2009 00:25:52
The PM of the day must learn from the past dictator, Mahathief Kutty. I.e., whenever there are important cases pending in the courts, do a swooooop! Operasi Cow Grass, or Lalang 2.
written by Apache3, May 12, 2009 04:14:05
Appeal lah Najib...but don,t forget to ask zaki to remove the judge who passed judgment against the thief zambry today.