Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Perak- Slay the UMNO monster

Perak- Slay the UMNO monster PDF Print
Sunday, 10 May 2009 21:42

by Joe Lee

The utter disgrace of May 7th 2009 is the greatest manifestation yet that UMNO, the biggest samseng in town, would resort to any tactic, perform any dastardly act, break any law, destroy any institution, to retain the reins of power.

Malaysians are horrified, but perhaps should not be surprised that in UMNO’s dirty tricks book, there is very little that is off limits.

When the entire government apparatus, the civil service, the police, the judiciary, and some might add, royalty can be illegitimately used against an elected state assembly and government, the people of Perak and Malaysia must wonder whether we are very quickly descending to a kind of tin pot dictatorship, the kind that is more usually associated with the likes of Zimbabwe.

This Perak political and very physical smash-and-grab is a portend to what may happen in the next General Election. There is a real lesson here for the leaders of Pakatan Rakyat.

Winning the next GE does NOT automatically mean a transfer of power from UMNO to Pakatan!

Malaysia is now, to all intents and purposes, just like Burma or Fiji. The ruling clique will be very indisposed to give up power. It’s entirely foreseeable that, in a situation where it has lost the electoral mandate in the GE, a ‘national emergency’ situation will suddenly emerge, and hence a ‘National Operations Council’ will be quickly formed to effectively put democracy in the freezer for as many years as is necessary. (We have in fact been there before- exactly 40 years ago).

All Malaysians must understand that regime change in Malaysia won’t be easy. Slaying UMNO and the entire feudal-cum-patronage ideology that also now encompasses big business and big vested-interests will not be easy.

UMNO will always have a few aces up its sleeves. Playing the race card, alluding to non-Malay threats will invariably be handy. If that does not succeed, just stir up a few big disturbances, the more racial, the better.

UMNO is also fortunate in that it can always count on our largely meek Chinese Malaysian citizens. It knows that the Chinese will put up with repeated insults, as long as they are given a little leeway to ‘cari makan’. As Mahathir, was wont to say a few yeas ago - Chinese Malaysians are the luckiest in the world. At the same time he was saying that, his hatchet men were saying that Chinese Malaysians were ‘lucky’ because they were not being subjected to rape and pillage compared to Chinese Indonesians. Whilst it needs to please at least half the Malay electorate, UMNO knows it can brow beat the Chinese into submission.

UMNO the big school yard bully boy is old and decayed, but its fangs are still sharp. It still has incredible skills in orchestrating the reach of its ‘internal security’ apparatus, in neutralising or corruptly co-opting its opponents. In short, not even a General Election defeat is likely going to stop it from maintaining its stranglehold of power in Malaysia.    

Malaysians need to understand that freedom and democracy are not FREE- you have to stand up and fight for it. Exactly like how Hindraf is fighting for their rights. Prolong non-violent resistance is the way to wear down the UMNO monster.

It will take a very united Malaysia, PAS, PKR and DAP, to defang it. And we could need a few more Hindraf-type non-violent resistance movements to stand up for a progressive Malaysia.

If you don’t stand up and fight, tough luck - it will be the law of the jungle. And please don’t bet that UMNO losing the GE in 2012-2013 result will mean the demise of an UMNO government.

The Perak fiasco should have by now informed you that UMNO, in the event of it losing the GE, will likely opt for a Burmese or Fijian solution.

UMNO the monster, the mastermind of the most disgraceful attack on democracy in Malaysia, the violent attacker of our Assembly Speaker Sivakumar, will not die on its own accord. We, the citizens of the country, have to actively work to snuff it out and to bury it.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by garuda, May 10, 2009 22:08:18
Sad but true i suppose...UMNO does have a great hold on the policies and as we know UMNO wont leave even they lose the next elections, so what do we do then?

For one, start this silly race based politics, get back to basics, meaning all races are dealt with merit and qualifications, not nepotism!!

Even in this day and age a simple issue like PKNS chairman issues vecome headlines and seem to threaten people so easily, whats wrong if someone qualified is appointed?

Like us UMNO will surely be doing their groundwork and will surely make loopholes or redefine the law and policies to suit them, not too difficult is suppose as the MCA would allow them that privilage so long they are given the backing to do so i suppose.

The write is correct in assuming that the Chinese would have to really change and redefine this country, as it is now the fear of backlashes from UMNO will surely change their minds and go for UMNO based stability not realising that its the end of the road for ALL of us not just the Chinese
written by righttruthspeaks, May 10, 2009 22:20:10
I say, Ngeh,first thing tommorrow is go and return the dato ship to the sultan of Perak.
It has no value any more. People will respect you more if you do that.
written by blogsmith, May 10, 2009 22:32:30
" It knows that the Chinese will put up with repeated insults, as long as they are given a little leeway to ‘cari makan’."

I am Chinese and I am insulted. I will not tolerate that insult and please ask Joe Lee not to paint all Chinese with the same brush!!!
written by shamadz72, May 10, 2009 22:49:28
I have to agree with this writer. There is no way UMNO going to hand over the power peacefully if they lose in the next GE. Who in his right mind would want to relinquish his power without a fight, knowing very well that some of them might end up serving a long years in prison for corruption and some of them might even end up at the gallow for killing innocent sweet foreigner.

The way I see it, UMNO will go down just like Marcus or god forbid like Ceausescu from Romania.

written by willove, May 10, 2009 22:53:42
It is true that the Chinese are comparably more tolerant with insults.
They will balance up the humiliation with the effect of a cost & benefit analysis, then decide whether it is worth fighting.
If it is not worth fighting, then the Chinese will still keep quiet, and silently move their businesses and interests overseas. I have come across too many.
But politically insensitive? NO! Most of the fiercest political leaders are Chinese, from Chin Peng to Lim Kit Siang. We have to separate Chinese into 2 age groups for political purposes, with 50 years old being the line.
50 and above, BN brain washed, minimal internet access. 50 and below, hot blooded, the hotter as it gets younger.
So, there is hope for Malaysia, just not so soon.
Keep doing our part by educating our fellow Malaysians. One day it will bear fruit.
written by MyBUDAK, May 10, 2009 23:14:35
as Perakian; I feel ashamed with our Super Educated Sultan, chee szean one... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

also dunno where to hide my face with a MURDERER PM... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

1BinggungMalaysian...!
written by Sabahfan, May 10, 2009 23:19:17
first of all, i like to improve the title of this article, it should be.....

EXTERMINATE THE UMNO REGIME MONSTER !!!

The only way to force UMNO regime to give back power to the people is to ensure every Ministers and PM lose in the next election, every menteri besar, and better still ZERO seats to UMNO. If the sultans still wants to appoint another UMNO bastards to be the chief minister, then it would be justified to remove the sultans as well and declare a REPUBLIC !!!

THATS THE ONLY WAY TO EXTERMINATE THESE MAFIA GOVERNMENT...
written by penangboi, May 10, 2009 23:29:43
It is more than daunting - the task we set ourselves to do.

I have said it before. The whole body of government instruments are at UMNO's disposal. There really isn't anyway out except the 'storm the Bastille' as advocated by RPK.

But, alas, not only Malaysian Chinese are gut-less when it comes to answering the clarion call; most Malaysians are by nature non-violent.

However, this may not remain forever. When pushed to the extreme, even the most timid will turn into a fierce lion and bite back.

I also truly believe that the righteous will eventually win. That is the only hope that keeps the fire within me burning.

Never give up, I implore my fellow Malaysians. Never, never give up.
written by Remo, May 11, 2009 00:02:23
Ngeh return your Dato ship to the ruler
written by Abdul Haq, May 11, 2009 19:42:27
I agree that UMNO will not give up power easily even if they lose at Federal level..they will declare emergency call in the troops and dig in...
I think DSAI knew this game plan was being hatched by the UMNO goons pre Sept 16th..he had the numbers..but UMNO and the whole crony patronage system..the Vincent Tans, Ananda Krishnans and the rest with money have too much to lose..was not going quietly..hence to avoid a possible civil war he deferred... a theory of mine..!!
written by joeawk, May 11, 2009 22:19:43
Pakatan must come up with a charter for its leaders, members and suppoprters and it is hope that by the charter, the course Pakatan takes will continue even when the leaders are long gone and any attempt to change the course of Pakatan will be found out early and the culprit get booted out.

It is possible for the charter to take a life on its own and that will lead to utopian politics. Let the charter lead Pakatan and not its leaders. Think about it, it can happen and Malaysia will surely win.

Can someone please take up the challenge to the leadership of Pakatan.