Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A time for reflection

A time for reflection PDF Print
Sunday, 10 May 2009 04:13

It is not only the seemingly never-ending engagement that wears me down but also the realisation of the fact that I will be 60 in September next year and I fear I will probably go to my grave without reaching the finishing line of this journey which I started out on back in the 1970s.

Storming the Bastille?

When I first read RPK's article urging people to gather in Ipoh yesterday and to "storm the Bastille", I knew it was a futile attempt. Malaysia is not France a few centuries ago. Although I'm a Perakian and I'm totally disgusted over the illegal power grab in Perak, I was not ready to "storm the Bastille". The most I did was to wear black and to urge those whom I know to do the same.

RPK, for all the following that he has, will not be able to muster one thousand of his readers to his side. This was shown during his detention under the ISA. How many actually attended those candlelight vigils? I'm proud to say I attended but gave up after a few rounds because they were just not creating enough impact with a handful of us and exposed us to the brutality of the police. Most of Malaysia Today's readers are educated middle-class people who are "kiasi" and will not risk it to participate in this kind of activities. They may rant and scream at the Government, but storming the Bastille? You must be joking.

RPK was disappointed with the turnout of PR's supporters yesterday but this morning he wrote another article espousing another perspective. And I think he is right. PR just cannot afford to go head-on with the government right now. Anwar should now better than that. Remember how he mobilised the masses during the height of the Reformasi movement? All they need to do was to go after him and the movement just fizzled out. Look at what they did to Mat Sabu when he tried to call PAS supporters to congregate in Manjoi for morning prayers.

The images of how Sivakumar was dragged out from the State Assembly must surely have won over a number of fence-sitters and made those who were disgusted more disgusted that they will do everything possible to see the demise of the BN-led government in the next GE.

Isn't it better to wait for the Bastille to crumble than to storm it? Yes, go ahead and arrest more people for wearing black or for lighting candles. Please do us the favour.

http://titthoughts.blogspot.com/2009/05/storming-bastille.html

Fight on RPK!

When RPK decided to starve to death if he was going to get thrown into Kamunting again after losing in the Federal Court, I thought it was a stupid decision. Leaving aside the ethical issue of suicide, I don't see how his death will accomplish anything. He doesn't have enough fanatical following who can organise mass protests to bring down the government. The few who were ready to do the same with him were equally misguided. The BN led government will be elated if they are gone.

So I was happy to know that he has now gone into exile so that they can't put him away for good. Instead of dying, he has decided to fight another day. Continue to be a source of irritation to Najib and his government. Continue to be the conscience of the rakyat. Continue to write on issues that only he dares to write.

RPK, wherever you may be, stay safe. We will eagerly await your return when the BN-led government is no more. Till then, keep on writing.

http://titthoughts.blogspot.com/2009/04/fight-on-rpk.html

I sometimes forget that many who are now politically active or politically conscious did not ‘awaken’ until just recently. Some woke up during the BERSIH rally of November 2007. Others during the HINDRAF rally a fortnight or so later. And they demonstrated their awakening a few months later in the March 2008 General Election.

For all intents and purposes, those Malaysians who woke up just woke up. And even though they woke up a year and a half ago, that is still relatively very recent when measured in terms of political dimensions. Time is relative, one might argue. But considering that Malaysia has seen independence for almost 52 years now, a year and a half is a short time in relation to 52 years.

I seriously need to stop measuring people’s responses and actions, or lack of it as the case may be, according to my yardstick. I have been politically active since the late 1970s. That comes to more than 30 years. And, after 30 years in the game, if I may be permitted to call it that although politics is far from a game -- at least for me, although to others it may be just that, a game -- I have grown impatient. I feel 30 years is long enough and it is now time for hard measures to be adopted to bring about change.

The question that lingers on my mind is can politics alone bring about changes in Malaysia? Or will it take more than politics to achieve results? And if more is required what exactly is this ‘more’? I honestly wish I had the answers to these questions but the answers appear to elude me.

My initial exposure to politics was when Ustaz Abdul Hadi Awang first came back from the Middle East after graduating from the Medina University. I think he also went to Al Azhar in Cairo but I am not too sure of that. About three or four years later, I went to Mekah where I also met the late Ustaz Fadzil Noor, the then Deputy President of PAS who went on to become its President. That was not long after Anwar Ibrahim left ABIM to join Umno, much to the disgust of most of us.

I spent about three weeks in Mekah and Medina together with Ustaz Fadzil, Ustaz Hadi, Mustapha Ali, Wan Mutallib Embong, and a few others. The three weeks travelling together and sleeping in the same dormitory allowed me to understand the PAS leaders better. Their public image and their ‘private character’ appeared to be a world apart. They were not at all the extremist Muslim fundamentalists the impression the mainstream media gave us.

From that day on I became a hardcore PAS supporter although I never became a party member. The party leaders convinced me that this was a party that was sincere in its agenda and put justice and fair play at the top of its priority list.

The trouble with this though was that in their sincerity they were sometimes too honest and did not understand that in politics it is all about perception -- and to create the right perception you must not say and do things which the mainstream media can use to spin in a negative manner and which will be uncomplimentary to you. In short, sometimes you must play to the gallery and say and do things according to what people expect to see and hear even if that may not be quite honest or the real you.

Anyway, that is another issue altogether and can probably be a subject for another article. Today, I want to talk about other matters.

Once in a while we need to conduct a reality check and get brought back down to earth. When we are too engrossed or submerged in the issue we tend to look at things from ground zero without receiving the benefit of a helicopter view of things. And ground zero and the helicopter view could be two very different scenarios.

My way of engagement is to face the government head-on with total defiance. As far back as the early 1980s, soon after my trip to Mekah and Medina which I mentioned above, I had already run foul of the establishment. The KCK (Ketua Cawangan Khas) for Terengganu was tasked with the job of dealing with me. I had become too involved with PAS and was fast becoming a headache for Umno Terengganu.

They discussed the possibility of detaining me under the Internal Security Act but Justice Sulaiman cautioned them against that. My Emak Sepupu (Aunty, in English) was the then Tengku Ampuan Terengganu (she is sister to the late Agong and Aunty to the present Selangor Sultan) and that would probably trigger a conflict with the palace. But then that was just before the Constitutional Crisis or else they would not have bothered much what the palace thought of my detention.

I was summoned by one of the Umno Exco Members, Haji Mutallib, and told that I had to meet the Menteri Besar at 7.00am the following morning. The following morning, he brought me to the Menteri Besar’s residence where I was briefed about my precarious ‘status’ and told that I was one step away from detention without trial.

I must admit that that put the fear of God in me. After that, I toned down a lot and did not continue too aggressively with my political activities. Whatever support I continued giving PAS I did so mainly in monetary terms. But I stayed away from any public events. It would be better that I remained hidden and just gave the opposition money, leaving them to carry all the risks in opposing the government.

It was not until the early-1990s that I began to surface again -- after a decade of remaining ‘underground’ -- and openly expressed my views, which were of course anti-establishment. The Internet had just made its debut in Malaysia and I found it a very convenient platform to express myself. About five years or so later, Reformasi ‘exploded’ and I found myself being somehow dragged into the movement. I don’t know how that happened but I have never looked back since.

The 30-year journey I embarked upon was a very long journey indeed. And I am now feeling very weary. It is not only the seemingly never-ending engagement that wears me down but also the realisation of the fact that I will be 60 in September next year and I fear I will probably go to my grave without reaching the finishing line of this journey which I started out on back in the 1970s. And probably how I write and what I write about reveals this impatience and desperation in me.

Yes, I am frustrated. And I take my frustrations out on Malaysians who I view as not living up to what they say. When it comes to talking, what they say can excite you to the point of giving you an orgasm. But when it comes to walking the talk, as what titthoughts said in the posting above, please do not depend on Malaysians. Those who walk the talk are very few.

I was an idealist once, maybe 30 years or so ago. I would like to believe I am now a realist and no longer an idealist. But maybe I am not yet enough of a realist and still have that idealist streak in me. Or maybe I swing between being a realist one day and an idealist the next. I really don’t know.

Whatever it may be, though, I have to stop expecting others to keep to my tempo. I have travelled along this road for more than 30 years now. Others are just beginning that same journey. But what took me 30 years will probably take others lesser than that because of the power of today’s media and communications, which was non-existent back in the 1970s.

Anyway, I will stop here for now. Tomorrow, I will write about where I expect to go from here and what I think awaits me in the road ahead. No doubt this is about me. But I would like to believe that what I have to say also concerns the thoughts, aspirations and dreams of most Malaysians.

Till later and take care.

VIDEO: The Great DUN Perak fiasco (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnaqFIzvCCw)

Comments (101)Add Comment
written by malaysianohope, May 10, 2009 05:09:08
Good Morning Abang,
I was a novice before I got to be involved in Politics after I started reading MT back in 2004. Before I was ambivalent due to my perception that Malaysian Politics is all about Barisan and there were no other parties which can govern Malaysia nevermind the meagre efforts by DAP & PAS. The dawn of 0803 was a rude awakening for me and millions of Malaysians & I can say for sure in no less credit due to Abang and of course the internet. The impression I get from your posting here is that you are beginning to lose the fire in you and this concerns me tremendously. Please for the sake of a BETTER Malaysia do not give up. Sure, its a long & uphill task to change Malaysia but I can tell you by your efforts you have already awakened Malaysians at large and the momentum is there.
PLEASE DON'T GIVE UP! MALAYSIA NEEDS YOU!
agree 380
written by malaysianohope, May 10, 2009 05:21:54
Abang,
Between now and 2003 is only 4 years away by which time you'll be 63 and I bet you the fruit of yours and many efforts will be realised. Just take a break with Marina & the children, you know travelling around Europe should be interesting or a cruise in Alaska is my choice. You need one Bro.
agree 164
written by R Hum, May 10, 2009 05:27:39
A revolution cannot be accomplished in a year or ten years. Nelson Mandela spent 29 years in Prison to accomplish his goal. Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi took 32 years to bring down the might of the British Empire. Ghengis Khan was imprisoned by his own tribal chief for decades before he consolidated his power base and took on the great Khan's mantle.

The Chinese in Malaysia are not the same type of Chinese that we saw at Tianamen Square who stood up against the might of the People Liberation Army. The Chinese in Malaysia were from economic migrant stock, who are only interested in the mighty dollar. Sure some are courageous, but the majority are kiasu type.

In Australia, when the Asian community were attacked by Pauline Hanson in the 70s, it was the white liberal Australians that supported us, not the Australian Chinese. 95% of Australian Chinese are middle class professional who are only interested in their children's education and their professional career.

In Malaysia, I trust the PAS people more than I trust the Chinese. I have never afraid of Pas Islam policy. They are the only party that have high ideal and principles. They will lay down their lives to protect the Chinese.

agree 357
written by MalaysianFirst, May 10, 2009 05:31:19
Over the last few years that I've been following your MT articles, you have shown us that Malaysia possesses that brightest diamond in the world. You have, single-handedly, changed the political mindset of millions of Malaysians, young and old.

Fortunately for most Malaysians, with your unique background as a royalty AND a Malay, you could say, do and write, what would have otherwise been classified as sedition or treason had it been said or written by a non-Malay. That is a fact. Millions of Malaysians are indebted to you for your "No Holds Barred" articles, providing us with knowledge and privileged information on a variety of political issues, some completely out-of-the-world insights into the dark recesses of the corridors of power. Whatever you future plans are, we can rest assured that you'll have our country's welfare foremost in your thoughts. Privately, I (and I'm sure millions of Malaysians will agree) would hope to see you continue with your writings, because your writings, all your writings, are well respected as they have substance, and you write with flair. However, if you decide to take a rest, you would not have lost a single iota of respect from us. You will remain the "Big Brother" in our hearts forever.

Without doubt, you're the greatest son Malaysia ever had.

Salute.

agree 306
written by Kaneeneh, May 10, 2009 05:45:53
Once a wheel is set in motion, it will eventually complete its journey. Stay strong, YM.
written by NIDZOM, May 10, 2009 05:54:27
delayed gratification sir. Keep pumping the water. You wouldn't know of the water might gush out any moment now.

And at your age sir, please try to get an early rest at night because your body have rights over you too. You can draft this and post it up in the afternoon.

And please cut down on smoking sir. I imagine you smoke while writing and in long period of exposure to cigarattes could lead to unnecessary stress and badly affects the mood.

Sir, I have never met you and no we are not even friends but MT is the other side of the fence for me so by having the views of both sides, i am able to justify and rationalize what is wrong with our system right now and what could've been right.

Sir, i have never even once attended any gatherings of MT or the oppositions but i do have two pair of the black "free rpk" tshirts which i wore every week and i might not measure up to your yardstick, but at least i am one of those who are aware of the real deal and will put the infos and knowledge from MT to good use.

Sir, there maybe not alot of us with you but you can be sure that you are not ALONE.
agree 116
written by jchew, May 10, 2009 05:55:38
Najib and gang-nya curi ayam dan mendapt satu "Perak". Di masa yang akan datang, PR akan mendapat 10 "Emas" tanpa curi ayam!
written by KotaDamansara73, May 10, 2009 06:44:38

If you think yourself as a journalist exposing the truth, you are doing way better than any journalist in the country. But if you think yourself as a movement leader, then you should join politics.

There is no way, Malaysians is going to be like the Thais. Where they will sacrifice their career and their life to bring the goverment down. There is no way. Most of the Chinese here in Malaysia, including me, has immigrant's blood. If Malaysia is not a place to make a good living, we will just migrate to better place.

If the Malays don't want progress, we can't force it down their throats. If most of them just want the short cut money, we will provide them, but we can help this country to become a developed country. But the mentality of the Malaysians will never developed. Because most Malaysians have yet to gone through the learning curve of democracy. The freedom of expression and press. The goverment is always acting like a parent. If one party is very angry of the other party, they will jail the provoking party. If that is the case, Malaysians have yet to develop the maturity to discuss it in the open or in Parliament. Instead the rulling party has always uses police force to get what they want.

It all depends on the Malays. If they don't want progress, the chinese can't do anything. If the Malays want progress, then we can help. Otherwise, we will just invest our money and time at somewhere better. If they want short cut money, we can give them short cut money. But, please don't come and disturb our business.

The problem with Malay officers or politicians is that, they get greedy and they want more. That will hinder the progress of the whole of Malaysians. They become selfish and only think about themselves.

And the conclusion is, Malays are not a progressive race and will not become a progressive race until majority of them (70%) wants it. Otherwise, it is the warlord of the Malays that will rule over Malaysia.
agree 189
written by SamSan, May 10, 2009 06:48:30
Hi Pete,

Now that the whole world has seen gangster BN democracy in action in Malaysia, our new PM is definately getting world wide adulation. All other developed democracies would want to learn about this new heights in Malaysian demopiracy. Malaysia Boleh!
written by educationist, May 10, 2009 07:23:42
Let me confess.
I am also one of the multitudes who have been shouting in support of RPK and the need for a more fair and just society from the sidelines.
Why have I not taken to the streets in support?
Kiasi - is one, if even an ex DPM can be beaten almost senseless by none other than the IGP then and so many countless cases of suspicous death in detention, you know the thugs and hooligans of the security wing of the UMNOputras are above the law.
What about civil servants? They have been told not to even criticise the UMNOputras so how many can afford to have their pensions and gratuity forfeited if they are dragged to court? The bureaucracy is under their control do is the judiciary, so what's the chance of getting a Judge Komathy to hear your case?
And, so I do what I can.
Is it enough? Obviously not, if one use 705 in Perak as a yardstick!
But then, the battle is for the long haul until the next general elections!
written by JoNg, May 10, 2009 07:51:09
I guess I am one of the many malaysian who wake early to log into MT for a dose RPK news feed , And I surely believe I am also one of the many malaysian eager and hungry for a political changes in malaysia. Najib have already given his waterloo when he decided to 'rampas' the power from the people in perak. No doubt about it, he can release all ISA detainee , he can give all malaysian goodies,land, etc etc and what not , but he just cant save his fate for his waterloo is sealed in perak . perak is our country turning point , it spelt the end of the UMNO power and BN.Come next GE all the fellow malaysian who woke early like me wanting for a change will be given the chance to enjoy the freedom and liberty that we have not get to enjoy for the past many year.
So again I must say ,"lets get em at the ballot box".
written by Zym Zym, May 10, 2009 08:21:30
How many actually attended those candlelight vigils? I'm proud to say I attended but gave up after a few rounds
Me too. My participation was not to gain any personal publicity or popularity (front page photo :-) if kena caught la ) Me always wanted to blend in with the crowds. After all it's a number game. The larger the crowds, the louder the voices. Well, they did release RPK? Speaking of gathering, when will be the next one??? FYI, I blended in quite well with the crowds in the last Bersih street wall. smilies/grin.gif
written by yapsir, May 10, 2009 08:36:57
I am there where ever I have the time but many do have other commitments once a while.
So,please do not give up too easily for we are "playing" a perseverance game with them.They have the time and uses it to deny our every efforts to make changes.
Reformasi were conceived in the 90s'and birth in 2008.
"Change"is her name,and is growing.Hope we do not expect her to grow up too soon,but let her grow naturaly.
She is still growing child wait to be train,equip,educated,prune.need time to take root before it came bear fruits.
We see some flower budding.Please prepare ourself and give what ever we could to help her grow healthly and strong.
We all know the be-end is dying of the cancer of intimidation,nepotism,power-crazy,arragont etc.It is beyong repair,no any remedy can help them.
As we wait patiently,we do what ever we can as we just keep the fire going.
Hidup to all who concern.Kami lah Anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by commonfolk, May 10, 2009 08:43:03
Dear PETE, write something in bahasa malaysia to attract more malay readers. The mindset of the malays have to change in order to CHANGE. They are the main force.
written by ahmadneil, May 10, 2009 08:51:44

Staying alone will make ones imagination run wild and it's really a pity you have to be in this position.I hope and pray you will live to see your journey completed.It's indeed a long journey and it has taken half of your life.

But Pete,don't lose haert.Many malaysians are not posting comments and joining in vigils or following your calls to arms.But I can assure you that there are lots of the silent majority.They read your blog but never comment.

I have a few friends who like reading your blog and would love to be part of the crowd but they are very scare of this and that,you know what I mean.Publicity about bloggers been arrested have scare the shit out of them but they are the silent supporters.

What you write in your blog and MT have a great impact on the readers.Hot topics are always argue every night in coffee shops and parks.So basically as you get more vocal,news will spread around and more will be reading your blog to see what your ideas are and to take clues of where you are going.

Pete,you are a shinning star that leads us from darkness.Please don't be down hearted.I know it's difficult and I can only write here.I just pray that you will be alright and live your twilight years, doing what you like most,writing your hearts out.

God bless you and your family!

written by JinJangJoe, May 10, 2009 09:02:45

What they say can excite you to the point of giving you an orgasm

Ha! you put a smile on my face, still the smile refuses to go away. What a way to start a lovely morning.

FEW GOOD MEN. Dear RPK, the fruits of your labor, is NOT visible to you. You planted the seed, in it's own time it will BEAR fruits. So that, your children and grand children, AND every malaysians future generation gonna enjoy your fruits of labor. FEW GOOD MEN, NEVER CAN BE BOUGHT, even WITH MILLIONS.

YOU NEVER KNOW, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO OPEN THE MINDS OF MALAYSIANS. (does that gives you an orgasm?) ha ha ha

written by Angel, May 10, 2009 09:12:19
RPK do not loose hope! Believe that all Malaysians will rise to the occassion when the time comes and not in the way of the French or Chinese in China. Things are too cushiony here for that kind of retaliation.

As you say, the realisation that miracles do happen in Malaysia was only brought to the consciousness of the non Malays since the last GE. Before that it was a defeatist attitude and no loyalty but just get the best one can get and leave the country. So, the Chinese plodded on in silence, made their pile at the expense of the Malays who sold off their benefits for a few dollars, and sent their children overseas to study and settle down. The last GE changed this perception to make the young themselves see that there is still hope for the non Malays in Malaysia and the rise in political awareness to do something about fighting for their rightful place in this land, which belongs to ALL, as we were all from somewhere or other.

So, do not lose hope. As they say disappointment is the difference between expectations and reality. So, don't expect too much and you will not be so disappointed. You are of more value alive than dead so forget about starving to death. We need you to feed our intellects. God bless!!
written by medicshan, May 10, 2009 09:18:37
Dear Brother,
Malaysian life expectancy has risen, and for those Malaysians with access to good healthcare, I would put their life expectancy to 76 years.
[Life expectancy at birth, Malaysia: Fot Total population: 73.29 years; Males: 70.56 years, Females: 76.21 years (2009 est.)]

So theoretically, provided the BN does not get you, you still have at least another 13 years, meaning you have another 18% of your life to harass the BN till it reaches its eventual end and Save Malaysia for all Malaysians.

You have carried more risk than the average person (since you have been subjected to solitary confinement, poisons, starvation, and worse of all, evil BN's never-ending hounding and stress!) but this may not necessarily reduce your life expectancy.

On the contrary, an active life with a full schedule ahead, lots of laughter (BN is good fodder) will keep you going maybe to 80 or 90.

Do trim down. Dr Shigeaki Hinohara, 97 years old, says that "All people who live long regardless of nationality, race or gender share one thing in common: None are overweight...

With your zest for life, you will live a lot longer than you think, and may the Almighty see to that. Cheer up, we must continue the good fight. The silent majority hold you dear in their hearts.
written by temenggong, May 10, 2009 09:21:29
Two stubborn uncompromising individuals moved malaysians and created a tsunami in 2008. One, rpk, ignited the middle class candle vigil verbose and rhetoric spewing blogger community. The other Uthaya rallied the on-the-ground walking-the-talk Indians. Today one is freed, and the other is hiding.

It is their uncompromising stance and the daring to take risks that ignited and rallied the people and created the space for change! Although the vast majority of malaysians are talkers with no guts even to attend candle vigils, today a critical mass of inspired movers and shakers has emerged, due to these two individuals.
written by teo siew chin, May 10, 2009 09:23:01
aww shucks YM RPK, playing the sad-ole-chap tune again izzit?
dude, everybody and i mean everybody knows who YM RPK is!
and everybody and i mean everybody knows you aint gonna give up the fight even if you lost your teeth, your hearing, your hair (oops...done that) and even if your fingers are too knarled to hit the keypad, u will find some way to spit your words out in your cause to fight the corrupt unjust system.
so long as you are HEARD, you are halfway to waking up the people - and as to what they are gonna do ... come next election, we shall see.

Mannnnn, you been fighting for over 30 years...i can understand your fatigue....i been following you only a couple of years and i already tire of the endless injustices, the obscene opulence of the ruling power and now, they are pitching the rakyat against each other! We SHALL put an end to absolute power, slowly but surely. LAWAN TETAP LAWAN.

And as for you Yang Mulia Raja Petra Kamarudin, dont you dare chicken out on us now !!! smilies/wink.gif
written by willove, May 10, 2009 09:25:36

Because of you, I am awoken.
Because of you, I am political conscious.
Because of you, I now understand Islam more.
Because of you, I now actively create political awareness amongst the people I come across.
Because of you, I am and do all the above while I reside in China!

But believe it or not, I was just awaken on 308.
Your are right, it takes time. But it's never too late.
You have starting the ball rolling, we the readers of MT will somehow get the job done.

Again, I'm NOT paying income tax til PR takes over as Federal government.
written by talk2stop, May 10, 2009 09:26:39
RPK
Be realistic to yourself. I don't think you will finish what you set out to do. People living in Malaysia have a different mentality which "don't give a shit". I sure you know it since your mum is a white. I am not having a go at Asians. It is all to do with respect to elders, ancestral worshipping and power.
You live in oversea before you should know how the people treat their country (mind you not all).
The worst part is the goverment in Malaysia feed the people that the West is a corrupted and an immoral place. The chances of me dying from gang, gun, drug or diseases related death in Australia is far lower compare to Malaysia.
Malaysians should be damn grateful for you trying to change Malaysians' mentality. I would have thrown in the towel long long long long ago (this one of my Asian thinking here mind you).
written by hellosunshine, May 10, 2009 09:36:27
RPK, your fire seemed to be diminishing with this latest piece. Don't! For our sake, please. I admit we are not as passionate or committed as you when it comes to the walk, for are we not human and each of us have our strengths and weaknesses? We need leaders like you, Mandela, Gandhi, Washington, Lincoln and all those great leaders in history to make those changes for the good of all. I think the majority of us, ordinary rakyat, realized the wrongs that are done by the gomen but we do have jobs to secure and to feed our families and we cannot dare not go out on the streets like you and some patriots. All I can say is a big, "THANK YOU" to all the patriots and to keep fighting on our behalf. smilies/wink.gif
written by Urangsabah, May 10, 2009 09:40:20
We in Sabah did it in 1984, when the famous Mahathir "Swim or Sink with Berjaya". Berjaya sank like the Titanic but to bad Mahatir did not.

WE in Sabah did it again in 1990, by aligning our self with Tengku, where PBS pull the rug from under the feet of Mahathir, but again UMNO manage to UMNO it self into Sabah.

Basically Sabah was alone against the Might of UMNO.

So now we have the PR (digree as much as you like but after a decision is made, stand as one) All parties are partners. Unlike UMNO, ONLY UMNO is KING, the rest are coolie including the Royalty.....

So Only the rakyat can be their own master.....come the next GE, make sure UMNO and all it UMNOed allies are sunk and confine to history (detailing all its misdeed).
written by AtanSian, May 10, 2009 09:50:20
We who fight for "right anf jsutice" against the establishment do ocassionally feel exhausted and unsupported.
I have always rebounded by reminding myself that it is a fight for minds and hearts, not so much warm or cold bodies.
I am 62 and do not intend to stop yet.
written by zanie, May 10, 2009 10:00:15
Please define "reaching the finishing line of this journey which I started out on back in the 1970s."

You said you met DS Hj Hadi and his gangs and found yourself fond of their way of life and followed their teaching but later realized that theirs were too naive, too straigh forward that you decided to start being fiery by attacking BN through your blogs and was once a PKR member, an ally to DSAI.

I don't see why you should stop doing what you are doing because you preach to "amal maaruf, nahi mungkar", which is what Islam is all about. If you want to go into hiding and lead to DS Hj Hadi's naive style, go ahead, tone down a bit..

But don't close shop..ok? smilies/wink.gif
written by chiongguo, May 10, 2009 10:15:10
I was an idealist once, maybe 30 years or so ago. I would like to believe I am now a realist and no longer an idealist. But maybe I am not yet enough of a realist and still have that idealist streak in me. Or maybe I swing between being a realist one day and an idealist the next. I really don’t know.

I think that you have just described schizophrenia. If you remain too much alone without channeling the excess energy elsewhere such as in meditation the realist and the idealist will start to talk to each other.

In hinduism just as in christianity and islam all actions are to be attributed to God. In all that you think, say and do always be aware of God. And the most important part of this spiritual way of life is not to hold on to the result of your actions. "Insya-allah" that precedes many muslims announcement of wishes is to remind ourselves and others that all results belong to God.

Surrender and just let go. There is a time-table to life that no matter what we think or hope will never change.

written by Task Force 101, May 10, 2009 10:28:52

Whilst I agree and appreciate the weariness that you feel, we must not give up. When a Speaker of sacred institution is dragged like a sack of potatoes and treated like a common criminal and dog, the rest of the country was merrily going about its day and duty. The malls in KL and PJ were packed, Starbucks in Paviliion was packed to the brim and life went on.

Malaysians have been fed and drugged a stable diet of sedation and comfort that they do not realise how they are are being ass ****ed daily for the last 52 years.

I have watched and voted against Barisan for the last 20 years. I watched with sadness how our southern neighbour who is a little red dot, rushed past us with nothing but the shirt on their backs. I watched with anger how UMNO raped and plundered this country even during the crisis. Speak to anyone, MT/MKini or not, 95% of them will say, what can we do? We also have mouths to feed. We also have kids to send to school and tuition and piano class and kungfu lessons. Of course how can I forget the ASTRO EPL, Seria A drug these Malaysians cherish!!!

95% of Msians who can make a change have been educated aboard and their parents have already secured their future in countries esp Australia and UK. Hence, their sly and pathetic response coz they already have plans and insurance ready. If you did not have plans and prepare to fight to the end, then why worry about tomorrow? Worry about today and the beginning of something GREAT!

That leaves only a handful of Msians who truly care and willing to go the distance.

Economically, business and politics in this country is inextricable. So hence, never bite the hands that feed you. Fed on this diet, will anyone stand up?

Msians generally distrust and mistrust each other as well. Its not all for one. Its whats in it for me?

In the final analysis, we are not resigned just yet. Remember, Moses was a criminal and had a stammer and yet led the Israelites to the Promised Land. Granted he had Superior help, BUT Moses AGREED.

I understand we live in a instant email and instant 2 min relationships. BUT, RPK, your writings, your exposea, your sufferings, your thought, your ideas and your tricks are not only an inspiration but also seeds. Seeds that we are all planting in our children. Just like how my dad planted in me. You need to keep teaching these Malaysian so that slowly they can push away the crutches of the drug and sedatives and lust that UMNO has been using to blind the rakyat while they rape and plunder the country.

For me, I have moved all my money and business from CIMB/Maybank to HSBC, stopped using Petronas for my fleet,advised and secured investments away from all Barisan states to Pakatan states esp Penang and Selangor from day you were incaserated. Stopped eating the mamak food and reading MSM and also leaving a tip for the Indian waiter for the last 15 years.

RPK, I felt the same way you felt when I saw Sivakumar being dragged away. I have not slept since then. Anger replaced sadness. Sadness replaced hopelessness. But you keep us all going.

We will presevere. We will overcome. We will give all a right to live, work hard and enjoy their labour under the Malaysian sun.

One day at a time.

written by onkassim, May 10, 2009 10:33:59
I am as old as you are and have endured many challenges in my life pre- and post-Merdeka. I suffered discrimination (even being a Malay) when working in the commercial sector then controlled by expatriates and chinese superiors. This led me to improve myself academically and professionally so as to be able to challenge the bigots of those days that Malays can be equally capable as they are. Remember you cannot effect change unless you have the power to do so. The best you can do is propose changes to enlighten the powers that may be and acceptable to them. In many ways it's not easy to change the mindset of the masses until it affects them personally. RPK, in a way you were successful in sowing the seeds of discontent as evidenced by the 308 GE where some of the masses used their power thru the ballot box and sending a message to the powers that may be as to their dissatisfaction and need for change. Remember that the masses of today are younger and better educated and not easily cowed by the authorities. Advancement in new technlogy has helped to provide additional information dissemination to counter pro-establishment propaganda as well as in the rethinking and paradigm shift. I believe this was well used by Obama in his presidential campaign despite initially being considered as an underdog. We definitely need to change our poltical and economic mindset in order for our beloved Malaysia to progress in the 21st century for the benefit of our children. Change we must but it cannot be achieved overnight. The important thing is to be on the right track for change
written by Wudan, May 10, 2009 10:42:40
Dear RPK, 60 years old still young la. Only too old to Rock and Roll. Pheeeeewit!
written by fireduck, May 10, 2009 10:56:09
Pete, yes, your 30 years is a long time compared to those of us who just woke up a couple of years ago. But do not under-estimate the power of your persuasion. March0808 proved it. Things will change, although not as immediate as you would like, but I'm very sure we WILL get there. You and so many other bloggers are the catalyst of these changes. Rock on, bro!

And please have faith in the younger generation. They will take up the charge...!
written by James Loh, May 10, 2009 10:56:45
Do we have the guts to protest? Maybe not. Are we willing to change immediately? Maybe not. Nevertheless, the people did take their chance to vote for Pakatan Rakyat. It take more than 200 hundred years USA to achieve their current state. We're merely a young nation. I don't like to see Malaysia to follow Thailand where so many protest took place. Maybe it's fortunate for Perak without mass protest. Maybe Perakina is waiting for the right moment to vote BN out of the state and federal government. I'm going to register to vote next time. Also, a lot of my friends going to vote next time. Voting is the best way to show your disgust towards the government.
written by densemy, May 10, 2009 10:57:40
"Yes, I am frustrated. And I take my frustrations out on Malaysians who I view as not living up to what they say"

And you might well be frustrated RPK because the reality is that the problems lie within Malaysians. The evils of the BN government are simply a reflection of what Malaysians will allow. They allowed it for 50 yrs and its only now that some people ( mainly yourself) has the courage to point out where they have gone wrong that they are beginning to think for themselves

A complete change in government might bring about minor changes but I doubt there is a man or woman in the Opposition who has the courage or the philosophy to bring about the massive changes that are needed in Malaysia.

I would go so far as to say that there is NOTHING about present day Malaysia that I would retain were I in a position of power and had the concerns of Malaysians at heart.

If you just take the most basic concepts of the Constitution which has been raped and ignored by generations of politicians.

MOST of those changes have been acceptable to MOST Malaysians

And while a situation like that exists Malaysia will never change.

Its often said that Malaysians are not yet ready for democracy, but that's not true. Malaysians DONT WANT democracy, because basically democracy will upset their belief that they are right all the time and its their right to do what they like when they like

To have to consider the opinions of others ( the majority) and to bow down to a set of rules that apply equally to everyone is totally antagonistic to the Malaysian Philosophy.

If you are muslim the highest authority in your life is god and he/she will tell you exactly what to do in every situation. If you are chinese the highest authority in your life is you and you will do exactly what you want in every situation.

So there you have it. Massive changes are needed but where they will come from is anybody's guess. They wont come from the education system because that is far too entrenched in the status quo and simply cannot embrace any new concepts. The parents of Malaysia are pretty much all working on the same principles.

Greed and Selfishness will keep Malaysia on the same path its been on for the last 50 yrs
written by Wudan, May 10, 2009 10:58:46
On a warm sunny morning in Malaysia, I would like to dedicate this song to you.

Too Old to Rock 'n' Roll: Too Young to Die

The old Rocker wore his hair too long,
wore his trouser cuffs too tight.
Unfashionable to the end --- drank his ale too light.
Death's head belt buckle --- yesterday's dreams ---
the transport caf' prophet of doom.
Ringing no change in his double-sewn seams
in his post-war-babe gloom.

Now he's too old to Rock'n'Roll but he's too young to die.

He once owned a Harley Davidson and a Triumph Bonneville.
Counted his friends in burned-out spark plugs
and prays that he always will.
But he's the last of the blue blood greaser boys
all of his mates are doing time:
married with three kids up by the ring road
sold their souls straight down the line.
And some of them own little sports cars
and meet at the tennis club do's.
For drinks on a Sunday --- work on Monday.
They've thrown away their blue suede shoes.

Now they're too old to Rock'n'Roll and they're too young to die.

So the old Rocker gets out his bike
to make a ton before he takes his leave.
Up on the A1 by Scotch Corner
just like it used to be.
And as he flies --- tears in his eyes ---
his wind-whipped words echo the final take
and he hits the trunk road doing around 120
with no room left to brake.

And he was too old to Rock'n'Roll but he was too young to die.
No, you're never too old to Rock'n'Roll if you're too young to die.

Video here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHVYBiVKldU
written by ahmadneil, May 10, 2009 11:00:05

I have teary eyes when I write this,nothing but the truth.."You are our beacon of hope that will never diminish".
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by ahmadneil, May 10, 2009 11:02:10
Remember what I call you.."You are immortal".Never give up,Pete!The masses are all behind you, even though you only see some in front of you.Millions are behind you,Pete!
written by ahmadneil, May 10, 2009 11:05:34
The struggle you have started will only end with what we all went out to accomplish.It will NEVER END even though you are not with us.The fight to the end will continues.
You are always in our mind,Pete!

written by KC Chin, May 10, 2009 11:29:06
Last GE12, March 2008, I dared to admit that I voted for BN. I was asking myself why PR win so many states. Something must be wrong. Prior to GE12, I don't know about MT or RPK, and I don't give a shit about politic. All the while, I was planning for myself, my family, and hope to migrate somewhere else.

NOW, because of you, my dear RPK,
1. I am staying firm in Malaysia.
2. Ever since 308 and found out about RPK and MT, I haven't stop reading and commenting.
3. I have been trying and talking to convince those people I meet day to day about how those BN screwed the country.
4. I started and still continue to make sure those people I meet will vote for PR on the next GE13, whether it is PAS, DAP, or PKR.

Please take care.
Warmest regards,
Chin
written by singam, May 10, 2009 11:35:50
Bro Pete,

I can't call you abang even though you are much older than I am in many respects, simply because I will hit the magic 60 somewhat before you. :-)

Re: storming the Bastille... no revolution was ever fought or won on full bellies. The smartest thing the BN did was to make sure Malaysia developed a large middle class that was economically comfortable enough to worry about losing the rice bowl. And it is mainly this middle class audience that you are reaching through MT.

Within this MT audience, there is sufficient frustration to fire up tons of angry but anonymous postings. But there is not enough passion for the writers to risk exposure. They have too much at stake. What more can you expect from the larger middle class population that is not even interested in what is going on? Many of them still believe in the world painted by the MSM.

So there will be no storming of the Bastille unless the rallying call is sent out by those who can rouse the rabble. The Bersih and Hindraf marches were not middle class efforts. While there was significant middle class participation, the masses constituted those with burning passions.

Bro Pete, you have played an important part in waking up a segment of a slumbering population and providing them with the ammunition needed to rouse the rabble. 080308 happened because of a simultaneous and parallel outburst of passion against the BN parties. While the deep anger still smoulders, much of the passion has faded. Even ugly events like the rape of the Perak DUN only stir feelings of "just you wait" in most of the people.

People are looking towards GE13 to teach the BN a lesson. But the BN leaders are not stupid. They will not leave their legs open for us to kick their balls. And they have shown that they have no regard for decorum or rule of law. They will do anything and everything to cling to power. And they will be aided and abetted by the state institutions whose leaders are all beneficiaries of the gravy train.

What we need from you is a strategy. You have shown yourself to be a master strategist. The PR leaders may think they are cleverer than you and are likely to ignore you. So you need to outthink them as well. Develop a masterful strategy that will embrace the idiocies of the BN and PR leaders and help us regain control of our nation.

Of course, you can't reveal your strategy here. But you can inject the correct stimuli here and elsewhere to push your agenda through step by step. I know I am asking a lot, but isn't this the kind of challenge you thrive on? :-)

Bro Pete, help us make this happen.

Your ardent fan,

Singam.
written by CheGUvera, May 10, 2009 11:38:54
sadly a fact that many malaysian are more talk then walk,i wrote on the boycott subject rgd V tan, malaysian has alot to learn from european solidarity when it comes to boycott.The consumer were the ones that brought down Exxon,nestle,macD...not exactly small co.just look at nasi mamak stalls..still running with full steam, dun seem to have any impact from "our" boycott. They know very well, all the anger we have are "sadly" gone once we have penned our thoughts on this web,almost like we have done our duty already.
european consumer knows their power lies in consumtion,we must also learn from this and then we will have a power that the bn CANNOT put us in jail for.
malaysian society is a BIG consuming society(many shop-holic) & the gov. are always talking of we shopping our way out of recession, see how dependent they are of us as consumer, see where one of our main power lies without violence.
written by seethinkact, May 10, 2009 11:55:00

U sound like you're going through early symptoms of "alonenifobia". Ahh bro, thats just the casual side effect common to veterans of the "MTodarism war".

Yes fight but in today's modern environment, one don't have to use war paint and cry battle and go to war with these blokes. That's exactly what they would relish. They'll just put u away in no time..."KAPUT..INFINITO"...that easy hah??

After so long in this fight, u probably didn't realize how much more u've achieved simply by changing mindsets through ur writings. Malaysians 're a clevert lot. They know that their vote is so powerful. The pent up anger in them is just waiting to explode. Just by articulating through ur writings would be enough to trigger a crystal clear CHANGE through the ballot box. There ain't nothing anyone could do about it when that happens bro.

Ur on track . Meantime take care.
written by arazak, May 10, 2009 12:17:45

I was an UMNO leader once, and was very active in politics. This was 20 years ago. But I must say, at that time, there was no “political awakening” for me yet. Over the years, I have known the mindset of the lower, middle and upper tier UMNO members. The thing is, these people are not “down to earth” people. Whatever the conversation we had, be in Bilik Gerakan or at warong teh-tarik; it was all about government projects, contracts, land titles, BMW, Mercedes Benz, etc. In short money, money and more money! Every conversation will revolve around “what’s in for me” and "how much money I can make"?

Perhaps, like you, Makkah had changed my outlook in life. After returning from Makkah in mid-90’s came the Anwar Ibrahim’s debacle. Now, I am not really very fond of Anwar Ibrahim, but what they did to him was despicable and inhumane. At the same time too, I pray more often in suraus and mosque where I met some and fence sitters and PAS members. I was surprised and contrary to what the MSM painted them as “fanatics” they are indeed “down to earth” people, a world apart from the UMNO members. The interaction I had with them was different from the UMNO people. There were no more talk of money, contracts, projects, Mercedes Benz, BMW and other worldly material stuff. These people talk about their families, books they have read, trip to their kampongs, fishing with some friends over the weekend and things like that. Of course there are some conversation about politics and religions. But they are not extremists. They are just down to earth ordinary people and it was delightful to be around with these people.

Sometimes the political awakening does not happen when you are swimming with the sharks, it happens when you are on the shore and on solid ground.

Stay healthy Pete!
written by shiokguy, May 10, 2009 12:20:06
Pillars of Democratic Society

Until the pillars of Democratic society are totally independent, we can dream on for a better Malaysia.

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ciety.html

How can we go about doing it? The Enforcement in the legislature house simply is the last straw..

written by sampalee, May 10, 2009 12:57:05
RPK's observation and comments are really what the nation need.The problem is leadership.Look at the bersih 'march'It is the leadership in Pas that mobilised the numbers.Dap and jeadilan are mere observers.The other group with leaders close to the ground are the hindraf group who in a way was inspired by the earlier bersih walk.Anwar is all talk[well, we also need leaders who can talk]
RPK is right.A group of lions led by a sheep is no match for a group of sheep led by a lion.With 60,000 from pas and 20,ooo from hindraf,the fear is with the bullies and not the marchers.
written by axppin, May 10, 2009 13:03:07
Yeahh..! Pasti menang!

written by BennyG, May 10, 2009 13:13:35
When I first started reading MT, I was of the opinion that M'sians would not change as long as there is street lights, tar roads and enough to eat. After Mar last year, more & more M'sians realised that enough is enough. The excesses and open arrogance and corruptions of UMNOputras, if not stopped, will lead to the deterioration of life in M'sia.

We need a leader who is fearless and willing to sacrifice all. The only person in my mind is you. If you give up, then we will give up as well.

GE13 is a few short years away. I believe that should be the M'sian version of storming the Bastilles. More suitable for the "Kiasi" generations.

From now to GE13, whenever I get the chance to speak to the young ones, I would encourage them to register and vote in GE13. This is my tiny contribution to your effort in seeing change in M'sia. If 5,000 of regular readers will do that, the wave will be stronger.

RPK, carry on and we are eternally grateful.
written by AlwaysFair, May 10, 2009 13:22:44
Kota Damansara,
It is silly to compare the chinese in malaysia to Thailand. The Thais are treated as one national, no segregation by race by the govt. The monarch loves Thais deeply and this is reciprocated. So when Thais storm the bastille the only divide is political ideology. Nothing else.

In Malaysia the chinese are treated as non-bumis. They have less rights. They are threatended often. No monarch ever sided with them though the MCA does stand up for them once in a while.

So asking them to storm the bastille is like asking them to commit suicide. Think more deeply and you will see the stark contrast the chinese here and there are treated.
written by myke, May 10, 2009 13:23:30
You have us with you.
You have to look after yourself and this is what we need you to do please.
You have to remember you are the pillar to this process.
Your well being is the utmost importance.
You collapse we collapse, the process collapse.
written by lynn, May 10, 2009 13:27:00
Perak was dicey when the no. of PR reps were a narrow margin against those of the corrupt BN.
Nonetheless, Nizar being PAS & Malay have the immense support of many Malays & non-Malays, and to matter worse, he is viewed as a leader who can govern. Hence he is a real danger to BN & must be toppled by fair or foul means.

When they come for Selangor, it's hard to imagine if there will not be chaos & bloodshed.
written by AlwaysFair, May 10, 2009 13:27:12
Thailand treat thai chinese as thier own so they will die for the nation.
This country treat us as immigrants, so I won't die for them, never.
I might think I am storming the bastille and land up being a racial victim.
Sorry-la,I will only do it at the ballot box.
written by Super Admin, May 10, 2009 13:31:54
Most of you like AlwaysFair explain the reason why the Chinese are reluctant to act whereas that should actually be the reason why they should act. Imagine saying how can I resist when they are raping me when you should instead be resisting BECAUSE they are raping you.

I read many complaints about how the Chinese are being treated in Malaysia. You can only be treated like shit if either you are shit or you allow people to treat you like shit. Stop complaining about how you are being treated when it is you who allow that to happen.

It is called 'Catch 22'. You refuse to resist because of the way you are being treated. But you are being treated that way because you are not resisting. That is Catch 22.
written by AlwaysFair, May 10, 2009 13:32:37
Dear RPK, you are so weary because it looks like your enemies outnumber you and they are so powerful people. It is precisely because you took the path to expose the truth and not allow them to get away with their crimes that you are cornered today.

However rest assured that your friends and admirers though not powerful are commoners and greatly outnumber your foes.
The fire you lit in our hearts will be a legacy that will burn until this land be truly be liberated one day. Thank you.
written by lynn, May 10, 2009 13:36:56
KC Chin,

Well such honesty! I can't for the life of me, ever imagine I would vote for MCA or BN. Always voted for DAP because of Lim Kit Siang & Karpal Singh. I have the highest respect for these two persons & of course, the rare breed of a man Tok Guru Nik Aziz.

If you or your family members, friends etc. who always voted bn think deeply & contemplate your decisions: by casting a vote for MCA or Gerakan, you are giving your vote to Umno & to corruption. Is that acceptable to your mind? How do you reckon najib taking EPF funds of RM7 billion to rescue some multi-billionaires' cronies with workers' blood & sweat savings is ever acceptable to many?

You'll be surprise; a great portion of Malaysians think this is okay. I know, I spoke to many who reckons this is the way to make money to pay yearly dividends.
written by panca, May 10, 2009 13:39:09
Bro Pete,

Without You, many and people like me will be same un-awakened;
Without You, many will remain uninformed, misinformed or even drugged;
Without You, many politicians will be untrusted, let alone be trusted;
Without You, many lies undetected, MSM keeps spinning half-truths and full body bloody lies,

It is YOU that many have learnt, grow, take a step back and do what they need to do in many ways albeit smaller way but in numbers to speak and act where normally they would live outside this world; the world of their own.

It is YOU that now the Ballot Box will be filled with corrective votes than spoilt or unwanted votes - Responsive and Responsible PEOPLE'S VOTES.

It is YOU that make the Change In All of US.
Finally, Do Not Despair, It is YOU that We, The People Are Not Despair.

It is YOU, YOU BRO PETE, YOU ARE THE LEADER OF THE PEOPLE!
written by lynn, May 10, 2009 13:40:45

To me, most importantly is that you & Marina are safe & sound. We can't win all the time. In Bodohland, we the people are the losers almost all the time. Shall I say, get used to it? It is also called disillusionment.
written by hiiijack, May 10, 2009 13:42:52
Hi RPK,
We all share the same dream,stay strong my dear RPK.For most Malaysians like me and the rest,we all in need of a strong leader like you.But now,because of you I can see that alot's of new future leaders has been created by your examples and style(young guns of DAP/PKR/PAS)to keep figthing the evil one's.The time (VICTORY) is not here yet,but it will happen GOD willing.NOT till the above all migthy say so,I believe this is part of our 'GOD'plan for us Malaysians.To figth the evil UMNO/BN we must now use our best weapons that each and everyone's given by GOD to all of us in good use and the precious weapon is call 'PRAYERS'AND KEEP PRAYING.To all my brothers and sisters whether you're MUSLIM/CHRISTIANS/HINDUS & ETC.AS LONG AS YOU BELIEVE IN GOD,Keep on praying.pray,pray,pray.Because prayers is the best weapon in the world.
written by lynn, May 10, 2009 13:42:58
I think it is very important that people (gamblers) who patronise Sports Toto are awakened. It would be earth-shaking if this boycott is carried out throughout West & East Malaysia. Fancy bringing down the cash cow of VT to its knees. Let us all do this together. Then when it crashes, let's celebrate!
written by Oscar Winner, May 10, 2009 13:47:21

It ain't over till it's over. I sent out 6000 sms'es during last GE. Nothing to shout about. I am sure many people out there sent out more than that. It was a shock to me when the telco had to courier the statement of account to me just to make sure I actuallly did get the bill and settle it. What was really gratifying was the fact that I wrote all the sms'es myself in the form of rhymes. Honestly, I was never at the vigil. My point here is, I believe I can use a different approach to reach out. While I don't claim that I have been able to influence ALL who directly recieved my text messages or as forwarded messages, in my heart I know I'm quite certain what I did was for a better Malaysia for my children. I will continue to do my part to reach out. Every one ought to. We will not let the fire you started be extinguished. On behalf of my kids, I thank you and salute you.
written by coolandy, May 10, 2009 14:03:26

Your contributions in raising political awareness amongst the younger IT generation is absolutely incalculable, without which 308 would not have happened.

Your article makes me feel proud and sad at the same time. It reminds me of MGG Pillai, who passed away without ever knowing about 308. You live to savour the moment though the journey has not ended.

Yes, there is a lot of unfinished business. Come to think of it, the struggle is actually just the beginning and you have single-handedly raised a few hundred if not thousands of young & active "amar ma'ruf nahi mungkar" foot soldiers. The passive and silent ones are into the millions. Soon, the foot soldiers would mature into leaders molded by MT.

For that I will forever Salute you.

Don't give up.

written by KC Chin, May 10, 2009 14:11:42
Hi Lynn,

I am glad that I get to know the MT people. Because of RPK's articles and those not bias comment, he opened up my eyes. I can say that I am not alone.

RPK, you had changed so many Malaysian without even realizing the effect.
written by pillars, May 10, 2009 14:42:38

Two words in my mind while watching the above video: 'Kindergarten' and Uncultured !!!

RPK, I share your feeling of frustation. But somehow the result of last GE could be credited to MT and you who had open people's eyes. Thanks to you. Pls dun give up now, at least till next GE.

GBU RPK, and happy Mother's Day to Marina.

written by lancs77, May 10, 2009 14:46:17

You should keep it up. You should also give yourself more credit to the results of the last election and subsequent bye elections.

Perak was already a lost cause when you called for the storming of the Bastilles.

Continue to do what you have been doing, for one I have never voted opposition since 1970's but after reading your blog the last election was my first. I am sure I am not the alone one that voted opposition for the first time in the last GE.

I was very bias towards PAS before I am hooked to your blog. You brought about a balance to the lies and spins we were fed by our country's mass media.

Isn't that a great achievement?

Honestly, when you were in Kamunting I had withdrawal symptoms without my daily dose of your revelations, education (I learned quite a bit on Islam religion from your blog) and benefited from your profound thoughts and philosophy.

Come next GE the fruits from your labour these 30 years will be sowed.
written by johntyc, May 10, 2009 14:50:54
chill out. the fight is far from over. they are on high ground now, no point fight them head to head. be more cunning than the enemy.
written by Toyolbuster, May 10, 2009 14:53:43
Chinese are well known "Silent Killers", as the saying goes. "Barking Dogs Seldom Bite" or "Silent Dogs with Killer Bites". But it doesn't mean that they couldn't be bothered about whats happening in Perak. In fact they are very pissed off and most Perakians have their own plans up their sleeves. Why let the enemies know you and know of your strength and weaknesses. Let the Chinese be BN's cancer cells and before the BN knows it, it already becomes terminal, like what happened during GE12. However, its good to make BN feel good now and better they don't know whats brewing. Its ok to be branded cowards rather than being admired as a dead hero. My master is very fond of reminding us about the best defense technique which is to walk away from trouble. When we are ready to fight, we just need to focus on the enemies weaknesses and half the battle is already won without lifting a finger. Meanwhile, we are ready for GE13, are you?
written by Alice, May 10, 2009 15:23:50
RPK whether you know it or not you have made a great impact on awakening many Malaysians(me included). Just do whatever you are doing and don't get impatient or temperamental. SURRENDER THE REST TO GOD.In time everything will fall into place. DONT DIE ON US JUST YET . STAY POSITIVE!!
written by *********, May 10, 2009 16:01:24
You Brother RPK, are probably the only soul the Evil BN/Umno regime and the Royals fear most coz your Standard is Justice & Truth. Keep up the good fight Brother. God is on your side and so are we, The Rakyat (People)...More http://*********.********.com
written by Anti Relon, May 10, 2009 16:14:11
Come now RPK, you have many years ahead.
You give something to the people and it is called 'HOPE'.
written by doggone, May 10, 2009 16:28:43
written by chipon, May 10, 2009 16:45:04

Abang Pete,

Who says one would get success in an instance? God didn't stress on results. He stresses on effort and intention. And your efforts all this while combined with an honest intention has created great awareness among the millions of Malaysians on whats right and whats wrong with the leadership of the country.

Honestly, i've been to 70% of the gatherings during the '98 Reformasi movement (too many times kena sembur dgn water canon) and i take pride of being one of those original Reformasi supporters. After year 2000 i slowed down and missed a lot of the Reformasi gatherings. However, i wasn't worried coz i started to realize that the most important thing to do (in the context of Malaysia) is just to create awareness and help develop the maturity of the thinking of the rakyat, as this will produce results come the general election. Ultimate change can only be made through the general election.

And now, the best way to keep the momentum is to keep the rakyat well informed. And the best proven method of this is by the usage of the media that we call - The World Wide Web.

Keep it on Pete!!
written by chipon, May 10, 2009 16:47:00

BTW, I've never stop praying for you pete! And i really mean it
written by tan_eng, May 10, 2009 17:03:14

The road always seems very far when you are too close to victory. Don't give up now. I know you have changed my life and i thank you for that.

For the courage and for the spirit that you have instilled in me.

Your dreams will definitely be realized. It might take some time but don't worry we will see to it that it is realized...

...MALAYSIA FOR MALAYSIANS....
... SAY NO TO RELIGION ...
... EMBRACE HUMANITY ...
... WE ARE EQUAL ...

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia

written by Kathy, May 10, 2009 17:17:00
Hi RPK

The Fat Lady hasn't sung yet. Only 2 years to go before the next GE and we will sock it to them then. Meantime, hang on in there and carry on writing and revealing.

Strange that there's been no reaction to your article where you revealed names. Are they wondering what to do knowing they can't touch you?
written by Lim Lim, May 10, 2009 17:17:37
pete,
there are many many people who did not know who is RPK n remain apolitical until 2007 when MT became so hot.
rome was not built within days or even weeks n months.we jus hav to be resilient avoiding walking into umno be end's traps.
written by KotaDamansara73, May 10, 2009 17:53:07
AlwaysFair,

The Malaysian CHinese thinks that the rulers are of no use to the country and the economy. So, we don't care whether they treat us like citizen or not. The problem, is that the Malaysian Chinese don't want to assimiliate into the Malay society. Because of the rigid Islam religion that prohibit us from eating pork and gambling. ANd most of all, we felt that the Malay society and culture is very unprogressive. If Malaysian chinese were to migrate to Australia, they will assimiliate into Australian culture, because Australian culture are more advance and progressive.

Chinese in Thailand and Philipines has assimiliated themselves into the society. SOme of them, don't even have chinese names or speaks chinese anymore. Mainly because they are minority and also because the Thai and Philipine religion is not rigid.

Islam is too rigid. Prohibit us from doing this and that. Going against human desire. Everybody is going to die one day. If we don't enjoy the things that we want to do, when are we going to enjoy it.

Alwaysfair,

It is silly of you not to compare Malaysian society with Thai society. Thailand is ahead of us in many industry. In agriculture, horticulture and automobile industry, the Thais are ahead of us. It is very fortunate that they are more Malaysians who are English literate, and that is why Malaysians finance, IT and insurance industry are ahead of Thailand, Philipines, INdonesia and other indochinese country.
written by flyer168, May 10, 2009 19:21:15
Pet,

I share your "Grief" at this point & NONE of us could ever have "SURVIVED" all the unfair "Injustices, Harrassments, Imprisonment & Sufferings" that the "Powers-that-be" have imposed on you & Marina & family.

You, your great League of Defence lawyers, & All the Defenders of truth, justice, human Rights & Freedom have researched & done your "Best" against the "Opressors", so let us all pray & let Allah do the rest.

Pet, have faith in Allah for He will "Bless & Protect" you wherever you, Marina & family are....

I am confident that through "Divine Intervention", the "Opressors" will "FAIL" & Allah will ensure "Justice" will be done.

Allah's anointed "Defenders of Truth, Justice, Equality & Freedom" will prevail, Insha'Allah.

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
- Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

We must accept finite disappointment, but must never lose infinite hope.

For all RPK's supporters :

True peace is not merely the absence of tension, it is the presence of justice.

We know through painful experience that freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor;

It must be demanded by the oppressed.

When one is outnumbered, just read & learn Sun Tsu's Art of Psychological Intellectual Warfare....

Just "Entice & Snare" them into their OWN trap....

Everyone of them UMNO Leaders are “Squeezing” each other by the “Orbs/Jugulars” & this nation, its assets plus the rayaat are the "Pawns"....

UMNO/BN are having "New Clowns" in the "Same Ketuanan Paradigm Outfit".

The Muslim Hadhari UMNO Ketuanan/BN Leaders are “Bankrupt of Intelligent, Legal, Constitutional, Political, Financial etc SOLUTIONS”....

Desperate People, at Desperate Times, will RESORT to Desperate Henious Actions even if it means “Destroying” their “Honourable Family Legacy”, our National Constitution, our Monarchy, All our nation’s Institutions, Pillars of Democracy & Justice, their own “MALAY MUSLIM HADHARI” party “UMNO” beyond “Redemption”, their own Kind, this country & its Many People!

In Ipoh on 7/5/09 it is another of their “Wayang Kulit” when they already had THEIR “Master Plan” approved & their “Mercenaries” identified to undertake the Institutional, GLCs, projects, etc plus the Coup d'etat at the DUN....

They & their “Mercenaries” will always be in Denial & therefore resort to “Alternative Tactics” which can only be found in their Gutter Politics & Law of the Jungle “Holy Book”!

Party promotions based on “patronisation, money politics, etc” without “Meritocracy and Proven Track Records” leads to “Leaders” that UMNO is inheriting - “Elite, Ketuanan UMNO BEGGARS”....

The only "Language they Speak & Understand" is "HEADS WE WIN, TAILS YOU LOSE"....

As in their “Alternative Tactics” which can only be found in their Gutter Politics & Law of the Jungle “Holy Book”

Nasi sudah jadi Bubuh....Now PM wants to do "Damage Control" with the Hindraf detainees' release & now this "Dialogue".....

The Perak 7/5/09 Debacle & related videos are in the news worldwide including NY....so they have all formed their Opinion & Conclusion on Malaysia' 6th PM's Regime....

The Muslim Hadhari UMNO Ketuanan/BN Leaders are their own WORST enemies...

Remember....One must always be MAGNANIMOUS in VICTORY....

TWO WRONGS DO NOT MAKE ONE RIGHT....

Through “Divine” intervention, UMNO, its Leaders & their Mercenaries are now “Outdoing & Destroying” each other with their “Power, Greed & Henious Crimes”.

Every new day will be another “New Revelation” to reveal another “Truth” in its Self Destruct motion towards its “Demise”.

Just give them enough rope to “Hang” themselves at every turn in their “Final” chapter.

UMNO Baru is too deep in its 4th stage “Terminal Cancer” NOW, to be CURED”....Period!

May Allah bless, protect & guide you, Marina & family.

Makkal Sakti.

Cheers.

written by Overseas Malaysian, May 10, 2009 19:50:45
Polis diraja Malaysia. Polis ditaja Umno.

This is the newest and most suitable slogan for Royal Malaysian Police.
In conjunction with this, can we help them to do some marketing campaign ?

Anyone has the collection of videos/pictures that can be put together as police marketing campaign ?
Of course, the more brutal they are the better....
written by lampard, May 10, 2009 19:52:17
Alamak, Sorry bro RPK, you must be elated and the same time frustrated. Elated with everyone saying how great you are.... frustrated because everyone missing your point!
You are trying to point out to Chinese to start a revolt...and there we are putting our emotional side to you...!!
Like all Malays sir, Chinese are brought up not to go against the authority, short of kissing hands...
Tell us how you think is the best ways to start a revolt and we shall try...and you lead the way!!!
written by apa jadi, May 10, 2009 20:09:45
Just only find some time to watch the Perak Dun fiasco you posted. It looks like the WWF championship fights. It Malaysia going towards that?

Good to have you lay back to take stock of ourselves. There is no point fighting a solo battle, when the general public remain oblivious to the call. You have read Sun Tze's Art of War. See what you can figure out.
written by confuseus, May 10, 2009 21:15:11
My sentiments exactly.
"But what took me 30 years will probably take others lesser than that because of the power of today’s media and communications, which was non-existent back in the 1970s."

YM Pet ... you did it again. Just when i am beginning to hate your guts, you keep coming with this touching article.

Yes, there are many ways to skin a cat.
As an Ex BERSIH steering commitee, Confuseus would like to say that Confuseus is not anti government, just anti INCOMPETENT government (and that includes axed PR Govt. esp in PERAK).

Confuseus would like to appeal to YM Pet, BN & PR leaders to put aside their political ideologies and put ECONOMY above politics before we the knowledge empowered citizens put all political parties aside.
Do remember that it is the Civil Service that runs the country, not politicians !!!!

www.citizenthinktank.com
written by TwilightYears, May 10, 2009 21:36:01
Hi adik,
It is not up to you to say whether you live up to 100 or less than 62. From Allah we come and to HIM we return. The Moving Fingers write and Having writ, moves on...

It is not up to you to say how much you have not done or how much you have done and have yet to achieve anything significantly. History will judge you. Allah will judge you. The scale of probability, you and I should be less corruptible and corrupt than most of the UMNO or BN leaders.

Prophet Mohamad SAW lived up to 62 and yet within the 23 years that he was called upon by Allah, he has achieved what no other humans on earth has achieved. He is perfect and non comparable, as seal of the Prophet and as the beloved Messenger of Allah. I wouldn't dare to compare my simple insignificant life to this Great Man and to you, the great man of Malaysia. But even if I am considered as a drop to the ocean, an insignificant drop, let this drop be of GREAT SPIRIT, capable to putting Truth, LOVE and JOY to human beings. You have gone through what many of us have not. You have experienced the joy and the sufferings comparable to the great leaders of the world who have been persecuted for what they believed in.

You cannot judge yourself. You cannot evaluate whether you are here in the right or wrong place. Just be Grateful that we are given a place here at the present moment; that the role we play, however small it is, it is the role that Allah has destined to us. But, small or big, Great or insignifcant, let us to be let the lotus flower bloomed out of the muddy world of corruption and injustice.

Just be thankful, alhamdulillah, that we are here at this moment of time. We shall not look at the "BE--ING" but at what we can be... better each time, our spiritual light glowing stronger and strong, and our Nafs become weaker and weaker.

Just be thankful. Your role is given by Allah SWT, and whether it is time to give up it is up to Him. Pray hard and your answer will come. But do not tempt fate by fighting head on with those in power in BN. They will use whatever power they can muster to ensure their survival. WE shall do so, even if we use the God given gift of SABAR - patience. We shall do so in condemning their corruption in our heart as we fail to do so by our action or words. Let Allah do the rest. Just have faith in him.

There is no power nor strength save with Allah.
written by LFLee, May 10, 2009 21:44:36
Deat RPK,

Is it your 60th birthday? Happy Birthday then smilies/grin.gif

I don't know about you, but knowing that evil Dr M
will surely die before many of us is really something
cheer me up in this dark time. Yea, I know it is
evil thinking, but... what the hack, I know if I
read in the newspaper that that M is dead, I am
going to throw a party!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by chanmalichan, May 10, 2009 22:54:02
Dearest RPK,

Not sure whether you will be reading my post. Just want to say that I don't really post my comments due to busy work schedule but I will always forward your articles to all my friends urging them to forward to their friends. I believe your articles has opened up more eyes than you think. If we had not read your articles, I am sure 8 March would take longer to come.

I come from Ipoh and during March Election, even old aunties were voting for opposition. So, you are more influential than you thought and you are doing a great deal more than you think you are doing. So please continue educating and enlightening us with your articles.

May god bless you and your family and a BIG THANK YOU to you.
written by Taiping60, May 11, 2009 00:01:51

Please do not be frustrated with us. We are alway be with you. We do not want you to write when you are emotional charge up. We want your writing to come from your head and heart, and not your heard alone. I was once advised to keep my mouth shut when I am angry. This is because if I open my mouth I may say things I may regret over. Similar to you Mr RPK, if you are angry, dont write as you may write things you may regret later.

Anyway, you effort will not be in vain. Millions of Malaysians of all background were touched by your effort and your passion to bring change to Malaysia. Millions of us were and still are equally frustrated with the corruptions and the abuse of power. You may not aware that what you have started have move on and can never be reversed. Malaysians realise together we can change things with our votes. We are against violent. We are also aware of our limitation now. We have waiting for decaded so what is that another less than 4 years. We will be there in great strength to show to all including the government of the day and the rulers, who is the real boss.

We the people of Malaysia, pledge will return in great strength to make sure Malaysia will leave behind those who are corrupted, those who are racists, those who are selfish and those who never have any intention to do good to Malaysia and Malaysians.
written by Victory or Death, May 11, 2009 01:28:31
Dear YM,
We are all but human.When the journey is long ,the legs weary and the destination is not in sight,we sometimes despair.

Take a break,YM.You deserve it.

Afterwhich, continue the journey - millions of hearts will be happy!If you decide not to, it is your prerogative.You have done more than enough! Nobody can begrudge you.
written by MalaysianFirst, May 11, 2009 01:35:55
Super Admin,
I completely disagree with your analogy about the Chinese. How can you even think of such a thing as rape to describe the despondency of the Chinese. This is about politics. Its a different animal.

Anyone who even tries to physically rape my wife or daughter, I'll kill him before he can even show his dick.

written by mowadoha, May 11, 2009 01:36:47
Please ***** "AGREE" if you agree .....

written by mowadoha, May 11, 2009 02:18:57
written by AlwaysFair, May 11, 2009 03:58:54
OK,OK, Kota Damansara, you are quite right, though I do have my points too.
Anyway maybe our opinions are slightly different.
Happy writing!!!
written by HCK23, May 11, 2009 08:07:55
Dear Pete, killing BN like 'sikit-sikit lama-lama jadi BUKIT' like the two BUKIT PK won. I love reading your blog, you are making think out of the box. Don't stop writing, Pete you are the best.
written by ibabonma, May 11, 2009 09:16:08
RPK was disappointed with the turnout of PR's supporters yesterday..
................................................................................

Easier said than done! Very few know how the Umno celaka crippled and strangled ‘the bread and butter’ of people like me?
written by born2reign, May 11, 2009 10:32:01
Whatever it may be, though, I have to stop expecting others to keep to my tempo. I have travelled along this road for more than 30 years now.

RPK I admire you for your courage to go head-on with the govt and rulers. You remind me of King David who fights lions and giants, all the days of his life. He was victorious as a warrior.

But then there is Joseph, who was a cocky son, but goes about life as a slave & prisoner in a submissive manner, and he was also blessed with victory.

So you may choose to hammer the stone to break it by force , or you may want to be like dripping water onto the stone continuously, which will eventually be worn out through time and patience.

Just because the Chinese do not go out and lay flat on the road to be bulldozed by BN does not mean we are weak and not doing anything. I tell you that Najis' reign will be a short one.

It is high time you rest in God and trust Him, for He will bring down the walls of Jericho, not you or any other man. The Glory belongs to God Almighty. You, RPK, have little faith in God, by trying to do it all by your own strength, that's why you are weary. Rest in Him and let His angels fight for all Malaysians.
written by ordinary citizen, May 11, 2009 11:07:26

I am chinese and admit that I did not go to any single Virgil or to storm the bastille. Reason, I do not believe that I am Kiasu but I take responsibility to my family being the key bread winner. I need to be home to feed and cloth them and I need to run a business and that takes time and effort too. Why am I trying to justify this percieved lack of support by you.

The majority of us do support what you are doing but we do not physically show up. Me and my bunch of close friends had voted the PR govenmnent in in Selangor and contributed to the strong wins in KL. We have recently switch out votes from BN. That is showing strong support to your cause. Without your website Malaysisa Today, we might had continued th support BN because we never had the ' alternative information' other than the government 'controlled' newspaper.

What you have done so far had really swung the voting pattern so strongly in the last election. I think you still have to continue your good work and come next election we the voters will surley make bigger changes but we need your leadership to spearhead this, so do not dispare. Building things brick by brick takes time, the bigger it is , the longer it will take.

Looking at the Perak fiasco, we can clearly see that the Police, the government administration and I am sure the judiciary system are all controlled by the BN (UMNO). It looks like the only to change them will be to patiently wait for the next election. I know it will be in 3plus years time but patience will rule the day.

Try fighting them head on will only lose. just look at how they bulldose everyting in Perak.

We support you and our group has now switch our golf tournament away from Staffield GOlf club... because you advise so..maybe we shall wear black for the golf tournament but it will roast us in the hot sun.. (joke).

Keep it up RPK.. the silent majority is still supporting you silently..
written by Rhan, May 11, 2009 14:21:59
I never storm any palace or government office. I never attend any candlelight vigils and rally.

Before 308 and in the past many years, I notice that we Chinese have a strong mind barrier to vote for a non-Chinese political party. What I did is to write and keep asking all my family, friends and colleague to vote for opposition party be it a Malay party or Islamic party. I try to convince them that this would help to achieve a healthy progress towards a two party system in Malaysia and at the same time change the core ideology of the member within this party to be more inclusive.

After 308, I observe that the opposition party have it weakness in matter like choice of candidate and how to really make the public and voters to interpret them as one coalition to fight for rakyat regardless of race and religion. I make a decision to join one opposition party (of course not the Chinese one and not the one for Muslim only) and hope I could help in recruiting more Chinaman and middle class into that party. Honestly I don’t contribute much except involve in the recruiting exercise and work with some members to initiate activity for the local community in my housing area using name of my party.

I have no intention to join politic because I can’t stand all the big talk from politician. But I think I have a small role to play at this point of time because I see some opposition party do really have difficulty to image themselves as multi-racial despite how hard they try label themselves as one. Hopefully with more non-Malay joining the party, the so-called idealism multi-racial can really work.

I think there are quite a number of Chinese like me who did the same. There are many ways and roles to cut through the Catch 22 situation.
written by Tok Din, May 11, 2009 14:28:17
Dear RPK:
Please stay alive and fight on for what you believe in. What you write make me cry for our nation. The UMNO/BN government has lost its way and now it is holding on to its life grasping on the throat of the nation. It will not die peacefully but intends on bringing disaster upon the nation before its demise.

We have to wake up and boot these UMNO criminals out of office asap before the country burns to the ground.

written by Tongkat Pak Ali, May 11, 2009 15:22:14
Brother Pete,
When the first time I read your writings, I am in a doubt and ill manner over you, because I still glorified the B****** Government and all its Grand Leaders and Leaders which is portrayed as the Only Human Being could ever lead this country and brings Happiness, Rightfulness, Higher Class and God Teachings……..As time goes by…….I found your writings and statement to becoming true….. one by one……and I also beginning to find out and hears all the lies, the cheats, the corrupts, the abuses and miss management in various ministries, departments, agencies and organizations…….I beginning to wonder what will happened should all this Ill Manner Malpractices and Abuse of power is Unstoppable……..Then I am beginning to imagine what will my children, grand children will feed and survived on…… if No Body Dares to reveal or tell them all the truth about the hypocrisy that will robbed and rapes my children and grand children way of life, should those Powerful Scoundrels and Parasites still control and managed this country under their cohort and cronyism…….Thank God there is still people like You ever exist in this world and who willing to sacrifice for others more than thinking about yourself……..Should I have the chance to meet and greet you one day then I would like to shakes both of your hands and give You a Hug as a Brother and as a Good Friends that have been closely helping each other for all these years……And whether in a good or in a bad times…….I hope that God Almighty will keep your and your loves one in a healthy, happy and safe manner for as long as you and your family ever lived………God Bless You and Your Family, Yang Mulia Raja Petra Kamarudin.

written by Conan Chung, May 11, 2009 15:45:03

After 30 years in the business of course you would be feeling weary and disappointed. But i see you have come to realize you can't really measure us according to your standards.

Most Malaysians are what you would call "passive" and is willing to submit their independence to powers that hold authority. In fact this is proven in a study that test how far people would go in following instructions from those with authority. The test which involves subjects being told to electrocute some other people (in fact actors since there is no electric proves that MOST people would follow orders to even if they were told the electric level is fatal (sorry but i won't be proving any reference). So it would seem the majority of people are "law-abiding" even though the "law" is bad or endorsed by bad people.

But please don't give up. Let them put a bullet through your brain or starve you or what not but don't let them break your spirit. The moment you give up is the moment the have won and after so many years are you willing to admit defeat? Don't you want to at least tell your grandsons proudly... " This is what I have done with my life!" Giving up now would mean your life is worth nothing. But if you don't give up right until your deathbed... then you will forever be remembered in the annals of Malaysian history. And even if you can't make it into the books, then at least I would remember you; just another average Joe but i guess you'll have to live with that. smilies/grin.gif

As Spock would say, I say to you " LIVE LONG AND PROSPER "
written by Smiles21, May 11, 2009 17:52:35
Dear Brother RPK,

For the sake of our beloved country, please don't surrender easily. There are others who are much older than we all but they never surrender in fighting for the love of this country. It is no easy life to be a real champion.

Yes, we all have ups and downs in our life. When it is a down, you have the right to slow down, but don't ever totally stop.

Take care of your health cos it is more important than wealth. May Allah protect you.
written by Raymond, May 11, 2009 18:15:45
We need more governance and less politics. Fight in the next GE. At this moment, the ruling parties & opposition needs to debate of sensible issues. Crime, employment, education. So little concrete plans are know.. but the folks sure know how to shout it's imporrance. ie. All talk.. no action.