Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Was it worth it?

Was it worth it? PDF Print
Friday, 08 May 2009 21:43

I shall not go over the detailed events and breachs again since its well known and have been commented on many times. What I am concerned about is the intentions of Barisan Nasional (BN) and Najib Razak.

From Rebung

As a concerned citizen I am absolutely appaled and alarmed about the news coming out from Perak.

I shall not go over the detailed events and breachs again since its well known and have been commented on many times. What I am concerned about is the intentions of Barisan Nasional (BN) and Najib Razak. 

I am not sure of the aims and objectives of BN in this whole debacle. Was it worth it from BN's point of view? They are not particularly endearing themselves more to the people of Perak nor other citizens of Malaysia. Yes Najib, you have proven that you can gain something, regardless legit or otherwise, for UMNO. But what now? 

Najib, you have put me and millions others in a quandary. Public trust of BN and the institutions of the Malaysian government has suffered tremendously. People have felt deeply betrayed by the monarchy which is supposed to be our last refuge over tyranny.

The fact that this has been done by one of our more learned monarchs is particularly distressing. It has been shown that our courts can overextend its reach well beyond its jurisdiction. I won't even begin with the police. Their abuses are rather well known. 

I feel betrayed as a Malaysian taxpayer and citizen. My money and my institutions have been turned against me. What if I'm an investor? Malaysia's government debt is now more expensive to service than Thailand. Investors trust the Thai goverment (and people?) more than Malaysia. And we thought they had it bad!  My investment will not get a fair trial if I run into problems, I dont trust the police will respect my rights, and the government lacks legitimacy.

To the hundreds of thousands of BN supporters, let me ask you this. Was it worth it? I am perfectly tempted to join and support BN despite their excesses. It opens many doors to wealth and power. Put food in the alley and surely rats will come. I too want a slice of the pie.

But what if there are hundreds of thousands of others who want a slice as well? Who is left to make the cake? Who is left to look after the interests of the country? We all will go hungry. Sure, the prospects of being one of the few getting a large slice of the pie is alluring. But if you don't make it, and the chances are you won't considering thousands of other rats are in the race, you and I and your children and grandchildren will suffer.

Congratulations Najib, you win, Malaysia loses. Let me ask you this, now I don't trust you, now I can never respect you and your moral authority. What now Najib? You were never elected to be Prime Minister, you never won a General Election. You were not even elected within BN. Now this? What now, Najib? As a taxpayer paying your salary and your household expenses I demand an answer. What now, Najib?

Thank you Raja Petra for looking after Malaysia, even more than your own family. I felt genuine sorrow to the brink of tearfulness when you were last incarcerated and rest assured so did hundreds of thousands of others. You looked after us, I wish I can look after you. I wish we all can look after you. But for now I can only pray to God. I hope at least with that thought you will be strengthened further.   

Sincerely,
Rebung

written by cheekymate, May 08, 2009 22:10:16
Najis will turn a deaf ear to us. He will continue to spew shit through his nice sounding empty promises and sad to say, some will get conned by his suave sweet nothings. I am sure some otak kosong jumped for joy when he announced the 30% abolishing of the compulsory Bumiputera quota in 27 sections. What people failed to realise was the other important money minting sectors are still safely guarded with guns and cannons.
Najis is a prime minister with self ulterior motives written all over his face. He is ruthless, unscrupulous, pompous, totally without an iota of principle, and will not hesitate to destroy anything or any one who comes in his path.
He is smart, in fact, one hell of a smart. He will continue to rob, rape and plunder as if there is no tomorrow until the next elections. He doesn't give a DAMN what you or I think, so I am very doubtful he will even bat an eyelid over the Perak debacle.
written by carribeanking7, May 08, 2009 22:12:53
Rebung,

Most of us can identify with your sentiments, but the Perak debacle is far from over, no prizes for guessing Monday's outcome where the court decides whether Nizar or Zambbry is the legit menteri besar.
BN and a compliant kangaroo judiciary are way over their heads, there will be more conundrums coming up, if they really understand article 4(1) of the federal constitution, very few understand its pandora box like warning.

We have lost faith long ago, but the Perak debacle has disilusioned the fence sitters who were hoping BN would reform.

Today I received an email from someone who was disgusted that R.Ganeson was his classmate, the anthonian alumni teluk intan is ashamed that he was from their alma mater.

Some older folk in canning garden Ipoh who voted for BN out of habit in the last GE, told me , no more next GE they will teach BN.

The effects in Perak will affect BN nationwide next GE.

written by ez24get, May 08, 2009 22:23:52
Well, for one thing it was worth it for Pakatan Rakyat! The scene of Sivakumar being dragged like a sack of potatoes by the BN aligned police goons is priceless! Now, not a single ordinary malaysians would not have sympathized with Sivakumar in the way he was treated. This out-pour of sympathy and anger was across all races and genders.

Although the ordinary malaysians could not do much under the threat of the police and the draconian laws shutting up dissents, their anger have been put on the back-burner, simmering in the background until the next election or the next spark and all hell will break loose.

The rakyat are sickened by the excesses of the BN Government, monarch and the police and are just keeping quiet out of exasperation and helplessness. But they are intently watching with keen, cold eyes on what the BN and the monarch are doing.
written by myke, May 08, 2009 23:02:27
Help copy and paste this message somewhere
------------------------------------------

TELL YOUR RELATIVES AND FRIENDS TO SEND BN OUT NEXT GE13. EXTINCT THEM AND PUT PR IN CHARGE.

NO TO BN.

YES TO PR.

START WORKING NOW..!!!!!
written by Thian, May 08, 2009 23:47:41

An idiot have very little value of worth.

And stupid people do not know they are stupid. On the contrary, they shamelessly show that stupidity have no bounds.

The appointment of Najib must be the epitome of the ills of this country. UMNO has totally lost its compass. UMNO an organization that is an affront to all humanity; now has degenerated to represent morally bankrupts people; who are RIDICULOUS at best and DIGUSTING at worst.

Right Minded Malays leave UMNO because they are ashamed of its immorality, retard mindless, fractured, delusional, hollow, shallow, corrupted soulless organization that is driven only by greed and power. Championing their version of Malay culture and religion in the most despicable way.

written by Oscar Winner, May 08, 2009 23:54:35
Hi Rebung,

Allow me to answer on Najis' behalf "OF COURSE IT'S WORTH IT"

Agreed with myke. To all MT readers and all those who comment regularly, it won't help if we don't reach out, especially to people around you. You can read and comment till kingdom come, but the ignorant older chinese cowards and those from other communities will still vote BN if we don't share with them. Assuming there are a million MT readers, and these one million readers each try to win over 2 BN supporters who are eligible voters, then in the next GE, it will be a landslide victory for PR. We will then have a new Malaysia and new hope. Pls do our part. I have been an MT reader for quite a while and I know by just reading MT isn't good enough. I try turn people I know into MT readers so that they too become politically conscious, and read news and views that otherwise will never be published in MSM, the BN toilet papers. Pls get started if you have not yet
written by Sinewy, May 09, 2009 00:05:50
Mr PM, if you want to be a politician, then you must know that the role of a politician is to serve the people in the best of their interest and not yours. The virtue of being a politician is to be able to sacrify your interest to bring well being to the people in this country and not to behave like you are the master who will lord over the people and intimidate them to your liking. Can the people in this country refuse to pay the taxes if they don't agree with you? Why should they pay the taxes for your salary only to be used by you to serve your own self interest and using the government institutions to oppress and suppress the people? Why should they pay your salary so that you can rule the people like a tyrant? Think again Mr PM, in this world anything is possible, including the demise of the ruling government when the time comes..
written by educationist, May 09, 2009 00:08:47
"Congratulations Najib, you win, Malaysia loses. Let me ask you this, now I don't trust you, now I can never respect you and your moral authority. What now Najib?"-actually I have never trusted him since news of his scandals broke out in the open domain.
So, definitely not now!
yes he'll continue to rule as all the institutions of the state are under his control.
But let us remember well and good when we next go to the polls.
written by Sinewy, May 09, 2009 01:00:01
Only the fair minded citizens in this country can elevate malaysia to higher stature in the world. The present ruling government will send our country to the level of zimbawee and myanmar..
written by Admiral Tojo, May 09, 2009 02:25:34
How do you begin to respect anyone that is implicated in MURDER?

written by Navigator, May 09, 2009 06:54:41
Just be prepared. UMNO knows it will lose the next General Elections because the number of votes it obtained has been steadily eroding in the past few General Elections. He will start some problem and put Malaysia under Energency rule. If he can do this in Perak, he will do it after the next GE when he loses. We must have contingency plans for it then.
written by Bigjoe99, May 09, 2009 10:43:48
You mean he trusted Najib? No one trust Najib, not even those who are close to him. They know he expect them to go to hell if he comes down to him or them. Razak Baginda got bailed out because it was Najib's interest to protect him. Those two cop did not because they were disposable....m
written by taxi90, May 09, 2009 16:47:32
May be ironic but I say it was worth it, in everyone's view. Everyone got something. UMNO got what it wanted - control of the House. PR intentionally or not, also got something - a whole lot of pissed off citizens ready to wreck havoc in the nest by-election/ general election. The monarchy got.. well, they got what was coming to them. The people got the Shaft.
See?
written by mike48, May 09, 2009 20:16:59
Was it worth it? From BN's point of view it was probably worth it. They knew that malaysian are not united (most of us think as malays, chinese, indians, etc) A lot of Malysians also prefer to be bystanders and want only to enjoy the fruits of other people's labour.

To those who feel that it will be payback time in PRU13. Really??? In the meantime they could change so many rules that PR cannot win. For example 1 urban seat that may go to PR may have 100,000 voters, while a rural pro BN electorate of 100,000 are divided into 4 seats of 25,000 voters each.

What if they decide to forgo election giving possible social disruption as the cause of the cancellation. Going by the way UMNO elections for the top post are usually avoided for the sake of tidak memecahkan perpaduan parti, that could happen.

Hey, its BN rules. They can change the rules to whatever suits them. What we are practicing is not democracy but a apa-apa boleh cracy