Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Was Siva merely collateral damage?

Was Siva merely collateral damage? PDF Print
Friday, 08 May 2009 04:43

I believe Pakatan Rakyat knew it could not have won a military campaign in Ipoh yesterday. It has problems even winning the legal battles in court. The only way, therefore, is to allow Barisan Nasional to do what it did and which in turn would antagonise the people.

After I wrote my last article in No Holds Barred (It’s all about race, stupid!), I went to sleep -- after staying awake for almost 24 hours. I admit that my No Holds Barred article was very fiery, practically calling for blood. I make no apologies for that but I suppose sleep depravation does that to you; it makes you lash out. Nevertheless, I maintain my stand that what they did to Siva -- dragging him out of the State Assembly like a sack of potatoes and unceremoniously evicting him -- was downright uncivilised and utterly inexcusable.

After five hours of a good sleep, and with a clearer mind because of it, I have had time to reflect on what happened in Ipoh yesterday. As I said, I make no apologies for what I wrote earlier and have not changed my views. But what I have since been able to do is to analyse what the thinking of the Pakatan Rakyat leaders could have been and why they ‘abandoned’ Siva to his fate.

Could not Pakatan Rakyat have demonstrated a show of force and defend Siva to the last man standing? Are the Pakatan Rakyat leaders that gutless that they did not stand up for what is right? After all, they are constantly screaming that Siva’s eviction is unlawful and his physical removal unconstitutional. Why then not defend the law and the constitution by force if necessary?

Well, I am looking at things from the perspective of a political activist. Pakatan Rakyat could probably be looking at things from the political angle. Not being a politician I do not see things the political way but the political activist way. And this is maybe why I do not make a good politician. I just can’t see how sometimes in politics you have to allow the other side to show its true colours. In other words, you give your enemy enough rope for it to hang itself.

I have to go read Sun Tzu again and see what he said about strategy. And strategy involves many things. As Mao said, when the enemy chases, you run. When the enemy rests, you counter-attack. Mao must have read Sun Tzu as well and I am sure that was his ‘bible’ in the battle to win the hearts and minds of the Chinese people.

Something else Sun Tzu said was to not engage an enemy more powerful than you. And if it is unavoidable and you do have to engage, then make sure you engage it on your terms, not on your enemy’s terms. Choose your battlefield. Make sure it is a battlefield that you know. Never fight on a battlefield where your enemy will be stronger and better equipped than you.

The Taliban never read Sun Tzu -- or maybe they did, I don’t know. But they applied this strategy to the maximum and sent the powerful Russian military machine running back to Moscow with its tail between its legs. How to fight the Russian tanks, rockets and helicopter gun-ships when you are only armed with rifles? In an open battlefield the Russians would make mincemeat out of you.

Well, don’t engage the Russians in an open battlefield. The Russians would excel in an open battlefield. They are well equipped to fight in an open battlefield. So avoid the open battlefield and draw the Russians into the mountains. The Russian army is not trained to fight in the mountains plus their tanks would be useless in the mountains and the helicopter gun-ships would find the mountains most precarious.

So that is what the Taliban did. They knew the mountains like the back of their hands. They could move up and down those mountains blindfolded. And when the Russians came into those mountains the Taliban kicked the shit out of them. Eventually, the Russians called it a day and went home, but not after having to send home so many of their soldiers in body-bags.

So, what happened in Ipoh yesterday? There was hardly any resistance. PAS alone could have easily mobilised 50,000 supporters. Sure, there were roadblocks and thousands of police, hundreds in the State Assembly itself. But Pakatan Rakyat could have outdone this easily. Yet it did not. Why?

Anwar was not in Ipoh. Neither was Hadi Awang. Lim Kit Siang was but was not allowed in. And when they refused to allow him in he went off. There was no attempt to force their way into the State Assembly. No storming of the Bastille as had been hoped and as many had wished for. Why?

Was it complacency? Did they think Pakatan Rakyat would win the day without putting up a fight? Are they that naïve? Did they sell us out?  Yes, those were the first questions running through my mind and lack of sleep allowed me to think only of the questions but the answers were not forthcoming.

I don’t believe it is any of the above. And I don’t think it is because of lack of caring or lack of interest as well. I think Pakatan Rakyat planned every move to the last detail and knew exactly what it was doing. And I think Barisan Nasional played right into Pakatan Rakyat’s hand.

But then I have a suspicious mind, as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is fond of saying. I am always looking for conspiracy theories. I am always thinking that there is more than meets the eye. I believe that politicians are good magicians. They distract you with their right hand while the trick is being performed with the left hand.

Is that what happened in Ipoh yesterday? Was that why it appeared like Pakatan rakyat offered only token resistance to make it look like they tried? Maybe, maybe not!

Let’s face it. Pakatan Rakyat had already lost the state. It lost the state when the Sultan sacked Nizar and replaced him with Zambry. Pakatan Rakyat now has lesser seats than Barisan Nasional in the State Assembly. What happened in Ipoh yesterday was merely to confirm what was already fact -- that Pakatan Rakyat is no longer the government in Perak.

Pakatan Rakyat could have resorted to force, bloodshed even. But would that have helped them get back the state? What it may have done is to give the police an excuse to detain everyone under the Internal Security Act and declare martial law in Perak like what they did in Kelantan more than 30 years ago -- and which I have written about before. That means democracy would be suspended and they can run Perak without the ‘burden’ of a State Assembly. Umno would be doing things without any opposition since there is no longer any State Assembly and therefore no longer any opposition in the State Assembly.

I believe Pakatan Rakyat knew it could not have won a military campaign in Ipoh yesterday. It has problems even winning the legal battles in court. The only way, therefore, is to allow Barisan Nasional to do what it did and which in turn would antagonise the people.

If blood had been spilled, the people might blame Pakatan Rakyat rather than Barisan Nasional for it. Sure, Barisan Nasional is violent. But then Pakatan Rakyat knows that Barisan Nasional is violent. Why then allow them to use violence whereby the people are exposed to risk and danger? Pakatan Rakyat should look after the people’s interest and guard their safety. Knowing that Barisan Nasional is violent and yet exposing the people to danger is downright irresponsible of Pakatan Rakyat.

This would be the reaction of the people if anything adverse happens to them. So Pakatan Rakyat very cleverly avoided violence and allowed Barisan Nasional to do what it did in Ipoh yesterday. And, today, more people have become disgusted with Barisan Nasional and will vote for Pakatan Rakyat in the next election, or by-election, just to demonstrate this disgust. They may not vote for Pakatan rakyat because they love Pakatan Rakyat. But they will certainly vote for Pakatan Rakyat because they now hate Barisan Nasional even more than before yesterday’s fiasco in Ipoh.

Was, therefore, Siva merely collateral damage? Were they expecting this and did Barisan Nasional do exactly as expected? After all, the state had been lost months ago. Winning the battle of the State Assembly, yesterday, would not have got the state back. Instead, it would have invited other problems, the people’s safety being one of them.

This is of course only my wishful thinking. I could be wrong, I don’t know. I would like to believe that what happened was part of Pakatan Rakyat’s plan and that it worked as planned. I hope and pray that Pakatan Rakyat laid a trap and that Barisan Nasional walked right into it and got snared.

As I said, I am not a politician. So I think differently from the way politicians do. But I do hope that what I am currently thinking is what they had also been thinking all along and that what happened in Ipoh may appear to have been a defeat but was actually a political victory that, in time, will reveal itself.

They say: he who has the last laugh has the best laugh. Was yesterday, in Ipoh, the last laugh? Or is the last laugh yet to be laughed? And who is going to have that last laugh? Politicians are so devious.

And am I being too idealistic here?

Comments (110)Add Comment
written by MalaysianFirst, May 08, 2009 05:11:33
After having read some of your earlier articles about how you felt that the people of Perak had let PR down etc etc, I was just about to sit down and write about my thoughts and voila! you literally took the words right out of my mouth in this article. You are absolutely right. BN is waiting for just that moment for violence to erupt and before you can say Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall, Perak would be under curfew and most, if not all PR leaders would be sleeping behind bars.

Violence, if started by PR, would have been a disaster for PR. As a corporate man, I too have read AND practise The Art of War (by Sun Tsu) several times. And you are right - never try to attack when you are weak, attack only when you are strong. And we will have that strength in the next GE.

In the meantime, be patient and have a good memory.

Warmest regards.

agree 659
written by picadilly, May 08, 2009 05:12:54
Dear RPK, No we are not waiting for you to write about altantuya each time.
Its very enlightening to read artcles on current situations which we are blur but when explaiend by you it makes clear sense!

Please keep the teaching coming and all of us updated to what is really going on.
You maybe missing from govt radar but you are oour missing link to realise what is Really going on in our country and shape things to come in the future!
agree 206
written by teckkuan, May 08, 2009 05:32:23
Dear Sir,

i also wishes that what you wrote is exactly what Pakatan leaders were thinking. because it does make loads of senses not to go against BN and risk jailing their own lawmakers. and i think the only thing they could do is to play the waiting game and let BN do their own damage.

even if Pakatan wants to use force against them, they are no match at all. unless the people of Malaysia stands up together with them and withstand brute force from BN, like what the Thais did.

which is doubtful, and will never work, at least for now. because from what i see, Malaysians in general are still cowering in fear. they would rather now ignore what happened in Perak and not join into any resistance against the police as long as BN dont break their rice bowl (even if they already are right under our noses).

but thankfully, we do have a substantial group of people like you, and other civil activists who are trying hard everyday to bring BN down by educating and breeding courage on us. and i believe Sir, someday you will. and you will live to see the day where justice is served and the evil goons casts away from our beloved land. i for one, am a proud reader and fan of yours who's educated by you and other bloggers on what is right and what is wrong. and i will do all i can to spread the msg and educate the rest who are still ill informed about the current situation. keep fighting sir, coz every fight u make, will inspire 10 others everyday.

god bless
agree 349
written by ChiangKT, May 08, 2009 05:41:39
Embarrassed to say I'm from Ipoh but was not in Ipoh yesterday, as I'm in the UK. I mean I'm not expecting violence in Ipoh. But the support for the state assemblymen from PR by the Perakians was almost non-existent that really disappoints me. Talked to some of my friends and they didn't even know what was happening in Ipoh. Ignorance among the Perakians, or Malaysians, is truly alarming. To be honest with you, now I'm really not very sure if the "chinese" really want change that badly. So come next GE I'm not confident that PR can come into power. I hope they are not going to do worse. I'm plotting if I can register myself to vote in a BN "safe" constituent to make my vote count!
disagree 27
written by amoker, May 08, 2009 05:55:05
I am extremely angry and how the UMNO and their police dogs work together.. oh , and Hee ...

I think many people are looking at Perak and are ashamed on how they treat their elected representative and install a 'speaker' who does not know what he is doing.
agree 182
written by AsamLaksa, May 08, 2009 05:57:30
I knew PR don't have a chance in this Perak crisis. I think many Malaysians also know that. I was just waiting for BN to make more fool of themselves. In a way it's like PR is baiting BN. I think both sides acted childishly. Then again, it was infantile to begin with and grew more nonsensical as it went along.

PR in Perak lost the minute they lost the 3 aduns and the Sultan refused the call for fresh elections. It's simply a matter of time before they were truly ousted.

I don't buy the power of the speaker to change matters. He can't. All Siva could do was to frustrate Zambry and Co. Bottom line PR don't have the seats and don't have the backing of the palace. BN simply disregard public sentiments, as usual. With so much flak, if I were Zambry how could I hide my face for denying the wishes of Perakians? That is the so-called democracy in Malaysia. I don't like it because it's not in line with the spirit of democracy.

For Perakians, you now know how your sentiments are valued. Go figure what to do with your votes comes next GE.
agree 203
written by johanssm, May 08, 2009 06:06:17
umno already "pakat" with sultan and that nazrin.
They already 'pakat" with spr , polis and even the aca.
All the 'road blocks" in all the courts on this land already in place.
Judges can be easily bought as proven by vk lingam.
Hee can be easily bought as she is just a b itch.
RPK , najis offered 30000 a month to you just to shut you up. Hee and the 2 traitors might be offered the same amount as well.
Money from the purchase of sukhoi and submarines.Sultan can be bought over as well not by cash but by projects or contracts.
"mereka berpakat" sounds familiar right?
agree 162
written by JUST, May 08, 2009 06:09:21
It is not merely of some importance, but is of fundamental importance that justice should not only be done, but should manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done.

< McCarthy >
written by wongnoball, May 08, 2009 06:11:23
What...@#$%^@!#$.After I suffered the indignity of being locked up and released later for wearing Black, this is ALL the probable reasons I have to live with?smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif? Well from today onwards I am on MAT KILAU acts Forever in Perak. So let me apologise to Perakians that you will soon be suffering floods, block drains, electricity loss, traffic jam. Don't worry I will "TRY" do it in all those place whose ADUN is Barang Naik & to police cars.....Scrraaaattch-puncture. We will inaundate/flood ALL BN ADUNs with unreasonable task. We will Run BERAK to the ground literally and the Sultan Alzheimer palace area will also be INAUNDATED with rotten shoes, rubbish and BERAK!! it was a big let down but No One said we cannot Storm in Another Day and Install Siva again as Speaker. There is NO Constitution Law in Perak Anymore. Its the Law of the Jungle.....we can make 4 BN Aduns missing and a No Confidence motioned can be tabled IMMEDIATELY and Change We get again.....All BN Aduns will live in Fear from today. Good luck to their Body Guards!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 115
written by Fazur, May 08, 2009 06:29:55
That is correct Pete.

I do believe Pakatan has done everything within their capabilities to prevent Siva from being sacked. And fighting violence with violence is not an appropriate answer.

written by temenggong, May 08, 2009 06:41:32
My opinion is that the royalty, the bureaucracy and the police are on the side of umno to perpetuate umno-malay dominance. It was race!

I told Pakatan several times to remove/shuffle around the top bureaucrats in the state secretariat, but they were not listening.

Pakatan has not cultivated any links with the army.
written by Sitora, May 08, 2009 06:54:53
What PR did in the Perak Assembly was to show to the rakyat that their representatives are more civilised undr their leadership of DS Nizar when compared to that of the BN dogs.
written by Navigator, May 08, 2009 06:58:35
Of course, you are right, RPK. I totally agree with you. UMNO lost all the goodwill of the people and so did royalty. The problems royalty created in the past were more of personal misconduct but this one is very, very different. Both have destroyed their own symbols of honour, justice and integrity for personal greed. They have degraded themselves for short term gains and abandoned the fundamentals of good governance.

UMNO has lost the right to call itself a law abiding organisation. It is gangsterism and will be seen as such in the eyes of the world. There is no more dignity left in both insititutions. And they have themselves to blame.
written by truthvoice, May 08, 2009 07:01:34
They know and want the rakyat to witness the whole incident, on the other hand, umno never put rakyat on their minds.
written by SamSan, May 08, 2009 07:06:51
Hurrah, Che Det's wish is now fullfilled by Najib with the use of brute force to demolish a democratically elected State Government of Perak and thus to rubbish the State Constituion. Now Che Det will go for the jugular of Tun Badawi for exposing Che Det's corrupt practices with the judiciary as evidenced by the solid V.K. Lingam judge and jugdement fixing scandal. All of Tun Badawi's family will be wiped out by Che Det in a matter of time. If I was Tun Badawi and family, I will run quickly to Perth for cover.
written by cheekymate, May 08, 2009 07:15:09
The death trap was set and they fell straight into it. Battles were won not on the battlefield; bloodshed will leave the bloodthirsty demanding for more.
Let the mind game begin and let the final battle happen when the ballot boxes are opened come next elections.
written by evaangel, May 08, 2009 07:52:18
I do not think the problem in Perak could have been resolved in any other way. PR has to play by the rules whereas the other side does not. I believe that PR did their best within the limits of what they could do without precipitating riots etc. PR politicians are lawmakers not lawbreakers - they were already brave enough trying to protect Siva.
Whether they planned this or not the end result is clear. People are disgusted by what happened and appalled. I just hope that they will be allowed to translate this sentiment into votes one day.
written by Running Sardines, May 08, 2009 08:06:27
I don't think taking to the street can change anything here ... and that will be a precedent ... look at Thailand ... still not stable until now ... if you can change a government that way, your own government will be changed the same way one day ... which is no good as many innocent people will suffer the consequences ... shops closed, property damaged, injuries etc.

I am totally disgusted with what happened and I am sure all right minded Malaysians (those without vested interest with BeEnd) will agree that it is really a shameful way to get rid of the Speaker. I know politics are hell lot of dirty but I believe those who play dirty will reap what they sow one day ... and my vote is still for PR for the next GE ...
written by panca, May 08, 2009 08:12:55
The Sun Tzu Art of War are being used by all military intelligence around the world and time again proven an potent source of mental equipment for victories through preparedness. And one of its strategy is to exhaust its enemy without fighting. Bro Pete, that would also cause sleep depravation too smilies/grin.gif.

Perhaps as much as the other side would want Perak to fall under emergency rule that would give them the "Bloody" excuse to take by force, with a blanket arrest on all leaders and may cause other states to fall. They are as devious so that we walk into their trap but this side was witty without fighting and the other walk into its own trap!

PR didnt set the trap, the other side sets it walk into its own. It is winning even without fighting. "Exhaust the Enemy without fighting"

Did we think why it was won without fighting?

Hehe! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by choong, May 08, 2009 08:16:22
Dear YM RPK,

Actually, I am quite tired of the political charade that is happening of late. And the long term solution is not to make them go away but to patiently wait for the next GE. When that time comes, all these articles will be printed and distributed to everyone to remind them of what is it like to be ruled by BN.

Many are not aware or ambivalent about what is going on. I think the opposition should do well by cutting articles of all the innocent victims of snatch thiefs, murders and lack of conviction in courts because of lost articles and how democracy was murdered for political expediency. And when the time nears, they should spread it like bonfire in a series to the masses to remind them what is it like to live under BN rule.

The rakyat has very little option. Meanwhile, the opposition and government should just proceed to do what they do. Leave the option to the people.

I don't trust any politicians and if we have an option, it is to deny the possibility of ever having 2/3 majority being controlled by any coalition. Instead, changes to the constitution should be by way of referendum and requiring 2/3 majority at that.

But these are my wishful thinking. I wonder if any will come true and will we truly see BN rule ends?

Like you said in the past articles, people who voted for the opposition has made a point and usually, they will just wait till 5 years or so later to decide whether they want to make that a point again. Only those arm chair critics that keep complaining but do nothing. Well, I can see how important that statement you made now. I already know my next vote will be (like the one I did in 12th GE) and certainly BN has proved beyond reasonable doubt they need a long rest and retirement from ruling.
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, May 08, 2009 08:22:05
Sivakumar, i salute you!

http://gomalaysian.********.com/
agree 181
written by panca, May 08, 2009 08:22:23
BN already dug their own graves long time ago and was dug deeper on March08 but yesterday was to confirm the last piece, its tombstone!

written by *********, May 08, 2009 08:39:41
The ultimate losers are the BN goons, this shows the very core of our education system. What has the education system produced? Future leaders or gangsters...More http://*********.********.com
written by ibabonma, May 08, 2009 08:43:47
PASOK,

After mobilizing 200,000 or 300,000 to clog Ipoh town, then what? You think the 3 frogs will return to PR and Nizar rules again? What if they declare an emergency?
written by Xpax, May 08, 2009 08:45:08
chairman mao said: Win the heart of the people then we will win the country later.

The BN have win the state this round. But the PR have win the heart of the people and the country will follow later.
written by Chokma, May 08, 2009 08:52:10
I really don't know what other proofs that Perakians (and Malaysians) need so that they understand that they are killing their own future by allowing crooks to run the country. There is no law in the country except the law of survival now. We are allowing the crooks to kill everyone of us sloooooowly and then telling us that we are ungrateful to their "contributions and services and hard works" for the nation. That's what we get when we condone lawless goons in OUR LAND!
written by ms.blogger, May 08, 2009 08:53:19
I am for one totally against fighting violence with violence. Following the events throughout the day, I was praying that there will not be any bloodshed and PR assemblymen will not behave in an uncivilised manner like the BN goons. As someone just mentioned, the PR guys are lawmakers and not lawbreakers and I'm very glad that they had proven themselves and definitely win the respect of the rakyat. Mr Sivakumar, hats off to you!

Whichever way, whether planned or unplanned, yesterday's event had undoubtedly caused more vote swings to PR. Let's take it one step at a time. We lost the battle but not the war.
written by malaysianohope, May 08, 2009 08:53:57
With clear mind, you nail it right between the eyes.
Pakatan foresee the battery of adversaries lined up by umno, if they had resort to violence would have got a bloody nose, but by being passive the Rakyat will see whose the big BULLY & VILLIAN here and I tell you Malaysian have good memory. Their action is right out of the Sun Tzu's Art of War, macam Gandhi passive resistance against the Colonial Master. Seeing the way they manhandled Sivakumar, the Indians who still support barisan should be ashamed of themselves. As for the prostitue Hee I wouldn't want to be in her shoes.
Abang sleep well for the battle is long & hard and patience is the virtue.
written by hakuna, May 08, 2009 09:07:47
Pete, your theory sounds fine but I am apprehensive whether that is how the PR politicians think. I think you give them too much credit in this. They are NO mastermind and that is a fact. What happened in Ipoh was bound to happen and PR knew that they stand no chance.
Well, we can only hope and pray that all Malaysians will remember this incident and it will be reflected in the next GE or By Election.
I sincerely wish PR politicians are really great tacticians as your article portrayed.
written by Zym Zym, May 08, 2009 09:09:53
CELAKA, two police officers approached me yesterday and asked me why am I wearing all black. I replied, "sebab saya tak ada kelemumur."
written by Bandit, May 08, 2009 09:10:29
Will these bastard UMNO dare to contest in Penanti? Its already a very clear fact that the Pundek diRaja Malaysia (gangsters in blue) are a component party of Bnajis. Najib, check your popularity level in Penanti. Malaysia must move towards becoming a republic now. Monarchy has no balls and are a waste of Public Funds and tax money. Better give the money to the ones who deserve. You are right as always YM RPK.
written by ksmaniam, May 08, 2009 09:13:22
Firstly,
my sincere apologies to you RPK for losing my peace in your last article, I regreted after writing it. It was spontaneously written after reading your article on "herds galore". I promised myself that i will not comment again but merely read MT. Today after reading this article, I could not control myself and am hereby breaking a promise i made to myself.
Why, your outlook on yesterdays issue is somewhat part of my view too and a little bit more.
1. The Perak PR government was lately highly strung. The BN opposition was all out to undermine them. The reason Nizar's government was doing too many good things which would ensure that BN will never regain Perak. MM saw that too. What MM saw BN sees. The pressure on Nizar's government was too much. The 3 who jumped was the only opportunity, BN made full use of it. It was a losing battle for Nizar. But the fight opened everyone's eyes. Yesterday, everyone knew to what extent BN will go to fight for their ground.
2. I felt, though i am not sure everyone will agree that yesterday's incident was too close to our 1969, black history. Many did not want a repeat of that. Thus the lack of participants.
3. Might is right has been proven yesterday. PR will not be able to beat that. In the future it has to weave around it carefully. Brains need to be used to beat brawn.
4. I agree that your race issue is right. However, my belief was it was relevant before Anwar and RPK, but after what happened to both of you, my perception is they have gone beyond race to stay in power. (I am not arguing against your idea though).
5. If you remember, when Anwar wanted to take over the government in August, there was speculation that blood will be spilled ( I think you mentioned it), and Anwar who was worried about the rakyaat, relented, his reputation was affected but he saved Malaysia from the wrath of BN. I believe he was cautioned again. Or the caution was made to tie his hands.
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 08, 2009 09:19:14
I maintain my stand that what they did to Siva -- dragging him out of the State Assembly like a sack of potatoes and unceremoniously evicting him -- was downright uncivilised and utterly inexcusable.

AND WE WILL MAKE DAMN SURE WE HV THE BEEND/AMENO B*ST*RDS AS FRENCH FRIES COME
NEXT ELECTION
written by ksmaniam, May 08, 2009 09:22:38
6. However, yesterdays events is good food for fodder for the next 3 years. Now, the Perak BN government will be defensive, and the PR Perak Gov, will do the best they, as they will become the best opposition who have seen everything. The Perak BN governemnt will have to give the RAKYAAT everything. The winners are the Perak rakyaat, and if the BN Perak government are smart they will give the rakyaat and not their cronies to have some decent chance of getting some seats in the next election.
7. PR can use these events fully to sway the rakyaat towards them. HOwever they have to watch out the BN will go all out to woo the rakyaat. Winner Rakyaat. Isn't that what we want, isn't that the idea for a 2 party system? RPK?

written by 1351, May 08, 2009 09:25:37
My opinion is that the royalty, the bureaucracy and the police are on the side of umno to perpetuate umno-malay dominance. It was race! - temenggong

I have to beg your pardon to say the statement is painted with too broad a brush. The UMNO Police force is a gone case but there is a glimmer of hope within the civil service. UMNO and chiefly Najib, fails to realise in amongst the 'dan lain-lain' congregants, there is a growing number of non-UMNO Malays who vehemently opposed the destructive evil influence of UMNO, Najib and his henchmen.

Notice how the many in civil service don PAS colour quite openly as soon as they opt out of govt service or face imminent retirement. While in service, they have to remain coy and we can't blame them can we ? Also, the urban Malay youth are a brighter lot, able to assess and decipher the lies coming out of UMNO.

Surely they can conclude for themselves from ample evidence that Najib is a corrupt thief in as much as Rosmah is fat ! Also, the many mansions and flashy cars of UMNO members close to the seat of power are not fruits of their labour but plain old illicit 'curi duit rakyat'.

And as for the royal households temenggong, I'm almost certain HRH Sultan Kedah wouldn't have allowed UMNO to ride roughshod and threaten harm to any elected representative. His most Royal Highness Sultan Abdul Halim wouldn't have allowed UMNO thugs to manhandle an elected person(assault on Sivakumar would be inconceivable).

Let me correct myself to say, I am MOST certain HRH Sultan Kedah would not 'kow-tow' to Najib or UMNO. HRH Sultan Abdul Halim deserves our utmost respect and homage unlike others. There is hope yet temenggong.

Regards as always.
written by pinsysu, May 08, 2009 09:47:55
dun think it really matters whether the whole saga was or was not planned by PR. a picture paints a thousand words and in current days, technology has enhanced that powerful saying. what it has done is to awaken the political consciousness of a lot of indifferent ppl. it gets us thinking about what role we should be playing in the future of this country that most of us have almost given up. ordinary folks who once never took any interest in political devt are now presented with another hot topic that can ignite their emotion until GE13.

well, i never got interested in even reading Msian politics until i came across the news abt this botak with the initial 'RPK' who got busted yrs ago for daring to challenge the Goliath ...

the important thing is WE SHOULD NOT LET WHAT WE CANNOT DO INTERFERE WITH WHAT WE CAN DO (GE13).
written by khongja, May 08, 2009 09:51:40
The day our PM had that special pleasure to work hand in hand with that grey haired guy was the end of Pakatan.Nizar was too soft, and what Temenggong said should have been done right away.Pakatan should have purged the whole Government state machinery with friendly supporters.Sacked those BN napoleons.He should not
have succumbed to that grey haired guy when they sacked one of those religious zealots.He was Mb and he should point out he was boss.The trouble with nice MBs is they cave in too easily to the royal craps.!
By being firm he could have pointed to those royals to lay off his admistration of the state.What has he got to lose?He would have scored and this debacle would'nt have exist today.
Good for Pakatan to lose now but be prepared for the next GE.They need to do their groundwork and network for the next battle.
written by cruzeiro, May 08, 2009 09:55:34
Glad that you're rested, Pete.
I'm with you on this - what happened was inevitable considering the fact that they were dealing with Pirates. The best that they could do was to minimize the damage and walk away with their chins up.

While what Temenggong says about not having controlled the bureaucracy or not having cultivated links may be true -it should be borne in mind that such matters are easier said than done. On the matter of the "race factor" though, I beg to differ (even if that was partly a rallying point for the goons).

The issue here is not to play the same game as your adversaries - Perak was a lost
cause since it started. The best that PR could do was to just put up a fight. Whatever said and done, BN has proven to the people that it doesn't give two hoots about democracy - but who says that the majority understands what democracy is anyway.
To most, democracy is just a game of casting votes - they have yet to fully understand what it is.
Keep up the writing/activism, Pete - you have done a great job thus far.
Cheers.
written by cruzeiro, May 08, 2009 10:02:49
BTW- BN is mistaken if they think that they "won". They may have won the seat of power, but they lost their legitimacy and the trust/goodwill of the people.
In Perak yesterday nobody won, and everybody lost (PR, BN & the people included).
written by bikerzon, May 08, 2009 10:27:02
WELCOME TO 1MALAYSIA PEOPLE! NAJIS STYLE!
C4 release 13 ISA to be replace with 130 new one... coming soon to your nearest neighborhood
written by ASK4u, May 08, 2009 10:29:54
ksmaniam,
I enjoyed your thoughts in the 'herds galore' thread. I don't see anything wrong with your comments and YM RPK didn't say anything negatively about it too. Afterall, agreeing to disagree is what democracy and civil society is all about, right? So keep writing sir.
written by malsia1206, May 08, 2009 10:39:20
And guess who has the best and last laugh? Not the Perak Monarchy. Not Najib. Not Tok Guru. Not Zambry. Not the rakyat. Definitely not Sivakumar. None other than our former PM, Tun Mahathir himself. Look at his sly grin with the expression "I told you so". He had been saying it since Tun Badawi's time. Yes, Mahathir is having the best and last laugh for sure.
written by Kunta Kinte, May 08, 2009 10:40:38
Many are disgusted by BN's arrogance way before the elections. What BN did in Perak is totally not acceptable. This has further aggravated the situation. The people are bleeding internally. The people are sad that we have come to this state under Najib's leadership. And today, its written everywhere whereby our dear Home Minster is full of praises for the Police force for their efficiency. Just to think about their ignorance, makes me sick in my head. Yes, maybe this is going to a be a lesson to the BN/UMNO regime, but lets not forget they are also going to lift up their game with more cheats like by employing millions into the forces for the postal votes cheat. We too need to lift up our game by getting all the young eligible voters registered without further delay. We too need to lift up our game for a battle that they started.
written by NanoNano, May 08, 2009 10:40:48
My Dear RPK

You know very well that PR knew that they would have lost anyway at that assembly. And PR would lose at the courts on Monday. PR did not want to go down to the level of those UMNO goons. Remember what Mahatma Ghandi said.. An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth, and pretty soon the whole world would go blind!

The way to get rid or the present gomen is through the next GE!
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 08, 2009 10:44:54
Salam Pete,

I read your previous article. Perhaps the 5-hour sound sleep made you wiser. UMNO/BN won the battle but lost the war. From the very first day we knew PR is helpless against BN machinery. If PR had resorted to robust tactics perhaps Kamunting had to be expended. So, let them had their day but not so easily. That was what we witnessed yesterday. Come GE13 they will regret that their father and mother had ever married and gotten them.
written by disgruntled, May 08, 2009 10:52:42
Let us not play into the hands of the obstinate and uncivilised BN people.
Let us look forward to a bighter future. We can be eaten, but never beaten.
The bruises suffered by Siva be the sacrifice for a revenge in the next General elections.Let us not forget easily this time as in previous occasions when we easily forget any wrongdoings by the BN gomen.
Let us cast in our minds our determination to come back stronger from each episode of bully by BN.
For you can give a man enough rope....... and he will hang himself.
written by Joe, May 08, 2009 10:57:48
No Pete. I dont think your being too much of an idealist. In fact you are one of the more fair-minded individuals around.

I would think and idealist would have asked for blood... wait a minute.. you did ask for blood.

Hmm...
written by cheekhiaw, May 08, 2009 11:03:38
Siva merely collateral damage as some thieves steal, rob and plunder...

written by kooler, May 08, 2009 11:11:12
This Sivakumar must be applauded for taking on BN singlehandedly. What balls of steel. It should make us feel humble. The symbolic part made me chuckle; he was thrown out wearing his regal like gown of a speaker and he came back without it
later. What they had thrown out was the gown. And the gown may someday belong to the Royalty.
written by Ulan Benson, May 08, 2009 11:18:50
Those pics taken from Perak 7th May fiasco will be a good reminder for all Malaysians...Blow it big together with photo of the mongolian model-'apa nama itu'...Kugan etc

Use these photos regularly (like taking ubat, 3 kali sehari) till the next election...Hopefully, by then, The Raykat will be cured and free from the disease caused by UM-No's swine flu.
written by nafis, May 08, 2009 11:20:26
Salam Pete,

my list of heroes has the latest entry "Sivakumar" right after the moment when he stood his ground and banned the 6

and I also agree with you that, with that VIOLENT be-end, there is no chance our PR could gain control of Perak, and I am praying that PR has this all planned out yesterday, with the media showing how "amicable" and "gentlemanly" the be-end reps conducted themselves in the Sidang, and how "jungly" were the "antics" of PR reps [as stated by the king of the jungle himself]

I have much faith in PR's strategy, Pete, after all, they have been around for as long as amno has, and they are wise enough not to play the tune to be-end's sangkakala.

We shall see how be-end is going to run Perak, with PR as thorns on their sides, and with Perakians' absolute anger breathing down their necks.
written by tlnrs, May 08, 2009 11:22:54
Deal All,

Think about this,

I am buying a chicken rice for lunch that cost RM3.50, but then i realized I have only RM3.00 with me, the stall owner said never mind and only charge me RM3.

In the future, I will patronize the stall many many times more because I am not merely owed the stall owner RM0.50 but a favour.

Thanks BN for having just nailed down the last nail on their coffin.

I am so disgusted for what I had seen in the video, and I believed many more shared the same feeling.

Yes...some may not like or love PR but WE are hated BN deep into the bone.

SO, you know what to do in next GE!

Thanks!
written by Ben, May 08, 2009 11:24:13
The glaring absence of PAS in yesterday fracas gives credit to RPK's theory. The atrocities are too many to stomach from one day and the repulsion will help PR's cause. Let's hope it is sooner than later.
written by apa jadi, May 08, 2009 11:41:56
Have been busy since yesterday. I shall be busy till tomorrow. However, it does not stop me dropping by to read your addictive articles.

It is good that you have come to your senses as compared to yesterday's outburst.

Your are right.
1) Why did PR not mobilise their members in full force to create a Black Tsunami?
2)Only a hundred or so of the bloggers attended the gathering, and with minimum resistance?
3)Why were the leadrs missing other than LKS showing his face?
4)The resistance in the assembly is minimal other than the shouting match.
5) They showed the picture of Siva being "carried away" like an animal.
6) Did the Perakians really care for the what happened in their own backyard?
7) Why the Prince officiated the assembly, instead of the father. Sense something amiss?
smilies/cool.gif Nizar and Ngeh meekly followed the whisper by the prince and let him have the speech.

It also leaves me ponder. Art of war or just helpless? But the general public will be were irked by such barbaric acts.

For those who are interested in SunZi's Art of War translation by Lionel Giles, you can read it at this webpage:

http://www.chinapage.com/sunzi-e.html
written by willove, May 08, 2009 11:45:24

You are right to the core. The Rakyat has hated BN much more than ever before!
I remember an article about conspiracy theory where Pak Lah was thought to have deliberately make every step stupid so BN could be buried in the next GE. Well, if this concept works, the Najib would have outshone Pak Lah now, thus making him an unlikely hero of democracy smilies/grin.gif, which he himself might not even expect, since I don't think he is clever enough to, or great enough to.

Anyway, NO more income tax from me until PR takes over as government, that's a promise.
Way to go, PR. Way to go, Najib. smilies/grin.gif
written by wuv, May 08, 2009 11:50:39
Dear all, Pete is right. there was a leaked information from opposite camp (althought it was an open secret), that bounties were on both nga's and ngeh's heads. the ASS BEE would arrest them under ISA if anything happened. ever noticed how low they laid recently? all is not lost my fellow perakians. only the fools would use might. take this as another lesson and make sure it is well learned. well, all you pirates better enjoy now coz there'll be a massive tsunami heading your ways. cheers!!
written by temenggong, May 08, 2009 11:51:48
The collusion of the Perak royalty in this debacle is outrageous!
written by Lim Lim, May 08, 2009 12:03:55
when a hundred years storm is brewing,there's usually no hoo-ha n it would be eerily silence n dead quiet.who are then the morons actually???
written by Rhan, May 08, 2009 12:07:36
Almost all the by election indicate that Malaysian support PR and as long as we preserve this momentum, PR should have no issue to form the next government so what is the point to fight a meaningless battle or criticise the royal?

The strategy should be to continue create an atmosphere / perception that we rakyat / PR are suffer and were unfairly treated by the elite class / BN. And win the war through a democracy process, three years is not that long.

Enjoy our weekend, mate.
written by lampard, May 08, 2009 12:14:43
Cruzeiro,
Not all are lost. Pakatan may move a step back but they have gain 5 steps forward. I was a fence sitter during my early days but today, the hatred my family and I have for UMNO/BN is irreconcilable. So, Pakatan has just got all 3 of our votes for the next GE.

So, I think the losers are BN/UMNO, Perakians, and teh declared winner is Pakatan Rakyat. Bijak-bijak...and I was made to go to Ipoh yesterday! Sandiwara!
written by temenggong, May 08, 2009 12:20:45
Sivakumar should obtain a restraining order on Ganesan, as well as the entire Dewan for usurping powers.

He must do this fast.
written by Taiping60, May 08, 2009 12:21:16

When I read you article yesterday, I was shocked. Then I tell myself, maybe RPK was angry when he wrote that article so there were more stuff from the heart than the brain.

Anyway, glad that you came back to clarify. As I have said before, never under estiamte Malaysians. We know violent will not get us anywhere. We know violent will give the government of the day excuses to impose ISA or even to declare emergency.

Like you, I am not sure whether this was part of the Pakatan elaborate strategy. It does not matter as what happened in Perak show what BN government is capable out. Yes, it was the work of UMNO. What happen to MCA, MIC, Gerakan, and all those east malaysia parties. They choose to keep quiet so we Malaysians assume they endorse it. They all must pay the price in the next election. Malaysians will never be intimidated anymore. We know what we want.

We want sincere government who are fair and fear of God and Law. We want to get rid of corruption and inefficiency in Police, Army, and government services. We want independent judiciary. So help us God.
written by judasiscariot, May 08, 2009 12:25:06
Afternoon to you Raja Petra and everybody else,

My first post here. I truly hope Anwar, Hadi Awang or Lim Kit Siang will read this article so that they will realize this if they were not aware of what they were doing in Ipoh yesterday.

At the same time, the UMNO dogs might be keeping a close tab on Malaysia-Today too. So sir, you might have educated the dogs a little by making this article accessible to everyone.

I am quite split on what this article will do to both the PR and the dogs.
written by sampalee, May 08, 2009 12:28:38
I have stated repeatedly.Never trust the politicians or even the political systems.Take refuge in your religions.Let the God fearing be your leaders.I will follow whenever and wherever people like RPK.Harris,Bernard and other non-politicians lead.We are their soldiers and does not serve any politicians except Tuhan and the orang Tuhan mentioned.
written by Jit Dharma, May 08, 2009 12:31:29
By taking over in Perak, they have created a hot spot that will
not cool down.That blaady katak bitch is our best friend because
people hate her so much that will translate into a million votes.
Same with the assault on brother Siva. We need to each spread the
word, even to the point of being annoying in order to wake up the
apathetic masses who have been frightened into cowardice.
written by boeytahan, May 08, 2009 12:36:29
I was as mad as you are when I saw(later) that Yb Siva was dragged right from his chair out of the assembly. You were screwing hell in your article. Pete, I was following Anil's live and even he doesn't know what happened just except that he was unchaired by officials. After an hour or so, Anil didn't even know where Yb Siva was. So we can't blame many others for not coming in for Anil's aid.
My question here is black! Is it an offence to wear black panties whenever we feel wearing? I might be wearing that black over my jeans when PENANTI comes around when mmak heads the campaign there. Hope it's not offensive and won't be charged for sedition.
written by nocrid, May 08, 2009 12:57:19
he who has the last laugh, cannot understand the jokes or strategies...for that matter...
written by Susanna, May 08, 2009 13:03:06
This is what management say about giving you enough rope to hang yourself!
written by joeawk, May 08, 2009 13:04:12
Get the young to register as voters as they come of age. Many would have come of age over 3-4 years. Do not wait until the last minute because the Barua EC may decide against using nthe latest electoral roll. Register early.

As more young voters join the list, more older voters who are the majority supporters of BN will kick the bucket. What EC can do to help the BN/UMNO is to retain the dead on the electoral roll to be used by UMNO's phantom voters.

Still, if young voter are registered in time, Pakatan will still have a better chance of obtaining their support.

As for the Perak fiasco, just keep it hot to remind voters that we have to boot out UMNO and not to be hookwinked by UMNO which is out to woo young voters, but they are going to pay these young voters to join UMNO and yet, comes the next election, they would still vote for Pakatan.
written by AlwaysFair, May 08, 2009 13:29:26
Dear Pete, again you are absolutely right. Whichever political party is the legitimate govt ultimately rests with the courts, and if they are biased towards BN so be it. It is just one of the many battles.But before a final ruling, the Bn should not behave like thugs with help of police to remove Siva forcibly. They should just leave him alone.

Such thuggish acts in a state assembly would mean anyone with power over military/police can go into parliment to arrest an MP? This is a shocking display of dictatorship is bringing us closer to being a police state, not to mention the spate of arrests of many others. Has the govt gone beserk!!!
written by Yew Loke, May 08, 2009 13:29:51
i didnt get a chance to vote general election last time as i;m in Aust. But i will make sure coming next general election i will take work leave from my employer and come back and vote for PR. All my family members and friends are very angry how NAJIS play dirty trick to take away my beloved state away from PR. PR FOREVER!
written by AlwaysFair, May 08, 2009 13:35:14
I cannot reconcile the image of Najib doing his walkabouts in various areas to be close to the people, with the use of force on the people such as using water cannons, tear gas to break up opposition ceramahs and the latest spate of arrests.

There seems to be a dichotomy. Is this guy schizophrenic or what? Or is he a Jekyll and Hyde character?
written by Orang Muda, May 08, 2009 13:48:45
Even the Taiwanese are shocked by what happened here and ready to admit that their well known "fight club" parliament are no match to ours. The reason is no matter how bad they fight in their Dewan- throwing shoes and punched each others on the face... they would never reach the point of grabbing the speaker and throw him out! smilies/cheesy.gif

They also find our political scene confusing and beyond their comprehension...

http://polibug.********.com/
written by temenggong, May 08, 2009 13:49:13
Uthayakumar and Manoharan may be released from Kamunting tomorrow!

Makkal Sakti!!
written by Pakyeh, May 08, 2009 13:50:09
Helo RPK,
Truth is always two sides of a coin. Voilence is evil,but it is good only if you can rid yoursef of that evil. That means you have to be stronger or smarter than the other guy. The prophet Mohammad had to run away or migrate/hijrah so that he is not killed and will become stronger.When he had accumulated enough strength the he went to war and got rid of the government of the day.
The prophet Muhammad is a better example than Sun Tzu.There must be dakwah, or getting support or getting members from the rakyat,the judges,the Police, the army and all the rakyat. As UMNO blunders its way the rakyat will hate and vote for the opposition, but Democracy will be killed soon. Therefore it is necessary to recruits Pakatan Rakyat members/supporters in the Police and the Army. Just ignore the Sultans. They have sold their power,position and integrity to the British and their proxies (UMNO/BN) even before independence.

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by shamadz72, May 08, 2009 13:55:09
The best thing for every Malaysians or students residing out of the country can do to help us is to organize a public demo every time official government make a visit to that countries. That will help us to constantly reminding the world what kind of democracy we are having in Malaysia. When doing the demo, please make sure you guys cover your face, just as to avoid them taking action afainst you guys.

written by rizzku, May 08, 2009 14:09:31
I do not think that Pakatan is wise enough to 'plan' the 'black malaysia' yesterday in Perak. They did however show their political maturity by not resorting to violence. The BN however, with the help of their thugs (police in disguise) spectacularly shows their '5th grader' attitude in dealing the issue. Now, it all has played nicely in Pakatan's favour. I truly believe large number of silence BN supporters all over Malaysia has just switched camp yesterday. God Bless Malaysia.
written by A MI, May 08, 2009 14:25:03
Dear RPK
I am glad that you posed this as a rhetorical question.
If it was an assertion, I will contend that. It will be like "tumpang glamour" for DSAI

No leader should leave his followers to fight their own battles; especially bigs ones like 07/05/09
If the intention was as you speculate it to be, then good. But great damage has been done.
No one deserves that barbaric treatment accorded to the Speaker Mr. Sivakumar.
I used to be told that malays are a gentle race. Well who created these monsters than? NEP?

written by roadbarra, May 08, 2009 15:06:35
Horrendously appalling to see a Speaker forcefully muscled out by gangsters. It was utmostly sickening to see BN behaved in such unruly manner. Who writes the Constitution and who breaks them????
written by hellosunshine, May 08, 2009 15:10:43
RPK. I noticed you haven't changed the picture of the PMs in your Corridors of Power. What's the matter, can't find a good Altatuya photo? Or better still a good najis photo? smilies/wink.gif
written by AhSeng, May 08, 2009 15:26:34
A political activist is a politician.
written by Dreamlander, May 08, 2009 16:31:26
True Malaysians
Let us all get back into a DREAMLAND mode.
Please vote BN parties in all future by-elections until the next General Election (GE13).
Let BN win each and every one of them.
This will put them in a stage of denial.
Meanwhile, just make sure that all those people that you can influence get to register as voters to prepare for GE13. When GE13 cometh, you know what to do.
GO OUT AND VOTE THEM OUT
IF BN keeps on losing insignificant by-elections, we may end up having NO GE13.
Hopefully by then, a couple of 80-something political deadwoods would have departed from the scene and stopped their uncalled for and nefarious interference.
Meanwhile, we should concentrate to overcome the negative impacts emanating from the impending worldwide DEPRESSION in order that we and beloved ones can survive through such challenging times.
written by Kathy, May 08, 2009 16:55:33
Hi RPK

I too have a suspicious mind and I reckon you are right. BN has played into the hands of PR. People in Malaysia who witnessed yesterday's events in Perak will realise how heavy-handed the govt. can be to win a state. They saw a tussle between David and Goliath, and in this case Goliath won. But come the next GE or fresh state elections in Perak soon (maybe?) yesterday's events will certainly steer their crosses towards PR. The day of the underdog will come, undoubtedly.
written by Rozlan, May 08, 2009 17:07:46

Fighting an open warfare with rag tag weapon against well equipped side is suicide.Not only suicide but also stupid unless we have a make believe hero like Rambo who could tore Vietnam singlehanded.Anyway that only happen in the fantasy world of cinema.

YOur opinion I believes was correct.They follow Sun Tzu war principles.PR couldnt afford open warfare.Almost every govt agencies were against us.We will lost with great injuries which will take time to recover.So PR had given their strong message to the people.They managed to exposed UMNo as well the Palace true colors.The whole world had seen what happened in Ipoh almost immediately..I dont want to talk much about UMNo coz everybody had known about them.

I could see the Palace dont give a damn about us the people.They dont care about our feeling and need.The Crown Price even had a cheek to say to DS Nizar that The Palace is above politic.what the heck was he trying to tell us? In the first chapter they had clearly sided with UMNo by not giving consent to the DUN to be dissolved and appointed another MB?Now they were trying to wash their hands by saying they were above politic.Isnt that an act of irresponsibility?No wonder many people had become dissillusioned with the monarchy function.As far as we know they were Sultan for UMNo.An umbrella to protect UMNo

PR was making the right decision.They retreat to fight another day.Now onward its guerilla war.A hit and run.We should go down to the people and explain to them.WE have loads of issues now.

written by Loh, May 08, 2009 17:23:26
BN only needed to have a meeting yesterday so that the LA would not be dissolved. The toads could have left the hall, and the crown prince did not have to wait for six hours. After the speech, the state government functions as normal while the court cases would determine whether BN could remain in power. There was no need for the ugly scenes.

According to a similar case which happened in Sarawak 43 years ago, the Perak power-grab would be declared illegal if the court functions as one. Najib can retain power in Perak and make the world lose confidence in our judicial system as well as the independence of the judges. Is it worth the price to hold one to power for a few years as elections will continued to be held in the future? Najib can certainly choose to turn Malaysia to be a confirmed pariah state.
written by SamSan, May 08, 2009 18:12:38
To solve the problem of the severe tarnishing of our juudiciary especially after the V.K. lingamate scandal, the only way out for Najib to correct it and to restore our judiciary is to appoint V.K. Ligam as our next chief justice. Once that is done, nobody can then accuse lingam of being involved in judicial appointment fixing or for that matter writing judicial verdicts, as then it will be officially become his job as Chief Justice. As far as the perak fiasco is concerned, my suggestion to Najib is to annul our present confused constitution and come with a brand new Constitution where there will be only one party AMENO and no more opposition parties. Perhaps there will be no more elections and either the defacto advisor to AMENO (Che Det) or the President appoint members of state and federal legislature. This will definately reduce any politicking that can derail all efforts to develop the economy to attain fully developed status.
written by SamSan, May 08, 2009 18:26:04
Other than appointing V.K.Lingam as the next chief justice, Najib can also appoint Razak Baginda as our first ambassador to Mongolia with his first official duty to try and silence the disquiet in Mongolia over the Altantuya murder and its international ramifications. This appointment will also be in tandem with our women buttock pincher JJ being appointed ambasaddor to US. Perhaps Najib can also appoint Private Investigator Bala as ambassador to France to ensure he does good counter intelligence work in France to prevent any new evidences from leaking out on the subramine or any other scandal.
written by Yee Poh Chai, May 08, 2009 19:38:25
After your earlier article in no holds barred, i tot you had lost it, mbe being in exile and missing home had finally got to you. Thank goodness for this article. Take care and God Bless
written by hiiijack, May 08, 2009 19:55:44
Hi RPK,
I'm totally agree with you,i memang dah agah dah...we're in oversea so wondering why is there not much action from PR in ipoh yesterday,if is thru that PR is using this strategy then i think is a rigth one.Because the BN is just waiting to crucified PR leaders,but i must salute our dear speaker(PR) and LKS,Mat Sabu and the rest.you're rigth my dear RPK,because by now more and more RAKYAT BENCI BN AND THEIR DOGS,the may have all the money(HARAM) in the world,but the ABOVE ONE is watching and went the time come they'll have to run and hide.May God bless them(BN and their dogs).
written by jangantipu, May 08, 2009 21:15:54
Dear Speaker Sivakumar,

We salute your sacrifices and bravery. Just be patient. Rakyat will put you back where you belong. The rejim ganas is imploding or on self destruct mode. Whatever it does or say, we no longer believe. We have totally lost faith and most of our minds are set. We bid our time.

In our hearts, you remain the true Speaker. Remain strong and take good care of your health.
written by Eskay Lim, May 08, 2009 21:32:46
I greatly believe in your theory, RPK.
It was a great strategy to bring down BN/Umno in the eyes of Perakians and Malaysians and a plan for future elections and by-elections.
The die has been cast; there is no turning back.
BN/Umno won this battle but they will lose the war.
Malaysians will surely vote down anything BN.
written by lynn, May 09, 2009 00:42:57
After I cooled down, I think you are right, RPK.
Anyway, how can Pakatan Rakyat and the rakyat fight back with bare hands?
The FRU animals are ...... just brutes... uncivilised, no brains. When I was at Bt Aman last Sept. where u were believed to be detained, I came close to being walloped by them. That was when I felt fear; of course we had to leave.

PR did the right thing after all. If one wants to fight, one must fight to win. You can't win when the enemy has the weapon, ammunition & the "animals" in red topi.
written by lynn, May 09, 2009 00:44:09
Again, RPK, am so glad if you are not in town.

No point trying to be hero. Not in this bloody stupid bodohland.
written by magickriver, May 09, 2009 00:56:42
Nizar emerged from 7 May looking cool, dignified & unruffled. The same can't be said for Zombrie Abdool Kutty & Gang who came across as football hooligans from start to finish. The fact that Nazrin snubbed Zombrie indicates that even he finds that moron repugnant. Nevertheless, by delivering a totally bland opening address, he has also shown that he's afraid to rock the royal barge. Esppecially since Gamuda was awarded the revived 7bn ringgit doubletracking contract soon after the Perak power grab.
written by Smiles21, May 09, 2009 01:06:59
My Brother RPK,

Thanks God that you have come back to your intelligent self so soon. We are no politicians. We speak for our hearts and they (not all) speak for their stomachs.

Just remember my brother, "Jangan kelambu dibakar kerana marahkan nyamuk". "Kalau pohon biarlah berat dihujung tapi jangan hanya berat dipangkal". This is also an Art of War even though not mentioned by Sun Tzu.

Save Malaysia, brother.
written by renoir, May 09, 2009 01:14:05
Perhaps about a month ago, I mentioned in another blog the necessity for dissidents to consider ways of countering force with force. As I expected, there wasn't any comment on my suggestion. I think there were two reasons for the silence: 1)the large majority of bloggers and those who read blogs come from the middleclass or were influenced by bourgeois thoughts and behaviors. Such people are seldom willing to sacrifice their freedom or lives for abstract, non-material goals. 2)As a largely middleclass nation - albeit a fast-shrinking one - the economic situation has to degenerate to a greater degree before oppressive, reactionary violence is met with revolutionary violence. That situation will come, but not right now.

Meantime, activists can prepare for that day by demystifying the situation for the persons in the street. Here the Opposition has a great advantage, as everything said and acted upon by BN is regarded with suspicion by most Malaysians. Essentially, BN has already lost the Mandate of Heaven and it's not easy to get that back. It's a psychological thing, this sense of legitimacy, and yet very real. To explain it would take a lot of space, but that's the way things are.

written by Daryl, May 09, 2009 04:44:05
Remember this! We rakyat are not weak and should not be happy about the release of the ISA because they want us to give us feel good feeling after the Perak debacle. Rakyat please who lock them up in the first place and ruin these people's life? Now just because they release them we own them a favor and call it half victory. Good gorning means you work for rakyat not because you throw somthing to rakyat they should be happy..

Die BN.... Die.
written by volkswagen, May 09, 2009 08:44:10
I see things this way. I have 5 marbles in my pocket. Somebody took away 1 marble from me. The marble is not lost. There is no way I can recover back the lost marble. Never cry over the lost marble. The person who took over your marble might be coming back for the remaining 4 marbles in your pocket.

What I would do now is to prevent anybody esle from dipping their hands into my pocket and take away the remaining 4 marbles.

I learned this anology from a speaker nicknamed 'Olive Oil' at Hyde Park Speakers Corner, when he was addressing the Israel/ Palestine conflict.
written by mikewang, May 09, 2009 11:23:27
What pakatan did was admirable.
Democracy must be expressed through the ballot box.
It is about winning the hearts of the people.

BN will change and must change radically to match the standards set by PR.
They have 4 more years to do that.
THe people basically want a good, clean and fair government.
Whichever party can provide that deserves to win.
written by shiokguy, May 09, 2009 16:37:04
Dear Reader

This is why we need a separation of power among the pillar of democratic society. My heart goes to Siva, You are the hero..

The collapse of Pillars of Society

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ciety.html

Sadly....
written by dusunbukit, May 09, 2009 18:03:54
i was about to say, how could you read my mind, or you've been reading my mind all along.
written by MalaysianFirst, May 09, 2009 18:37:12
Dear Renoir,
This is not the time for physical nor violent confrontation. Many, like me, are the people who put bread on the table. We cannot but remember this fact and sacrifice this in a moment of anger and frustration. For different reasons, both BN and PR knows this and both will evaluate this when forming their strategies in a face off.

Now is the time for self reflection. The ultimate control of both power and money are in the hands of BN, including PR states. Until and unless PR forms the government, that's the reality, no matter how frustrating it is. Right now, more than ever, PR must concentrate their focus on managing their states well and showing the masses, by deeds, how different AND better it is under PR rule. Show the masses that they have made the right choice, show them they have voted in the right ADUNs. To do this PR must take full advantage of the Internet to disseminate information to the masses AND to win their hearts and minds. MT has over the last few years, in my opinion, provided an excellent window to allow the masses to see for themselves what's happening in Malaysia under BN thanks to the brilliance of RPK and a handful of capable volunteers. The people have eyes and ears and are now, through this wonderful medium, beginning to take stock of their actions, both past and present, and to make an intelligent choice of what's good for the country's future. Currently, I can see only Saudara Lim Kit Siang contributing his articles in MT. Besides having their own blogs, PR must realize that MT has, not through its own design, become THE mouthpiece of PR. PR must take advantage of this popular medium to penetrate the masses.

What the masses need to know is simply what BN and PR has done to/for the country, what are they doing now and what they plan to do in the future. With this knowledge, the masses will then know, when it comes to the crunch, which party will serve the country and its people best.

Violence is the most destructive force. Change through violence will do more harm than good to the country. Malaysia have not reached the point where there's massive unemployment, daily racial riots, etc etc. While the global financial outlook is currently bleak, our economy is not exactly dying. Most of the world is in the same predicament, so we'll just have to rough it out like everybody else.

For me, the current political situation, both in Perak and nationally has all but ruined BN, its legitimacy as a government of and for Malaysians. It is plain to see that their current and planned national policies will send them to their graves. PR must now concentrate on not only managing their states well, but show us that, given the opportunity, they will manage the country better than BN.

That opportunity will come in the next GE.

Warmest regards.
written by renoir, May 09, 2009 21:13:23
Hi, MalaysiaFirst, that was essentially what I said - that now isn't the time for revolutionary force to counter reactionary force. And I also talked about using the present moment to demystify or explaining to the public what's going on to prepare them for possible violence in the future (at least years away).

Perhaps you misunderstood when I mentioned the need to "consider ways to counter force with force." And as I expected, you - and many like you - talk about the need to put food on the table. AT PRESENT THIS IS EXACTLY THE POSITION OF THE MIDDLE CLASS. Now to clarify a bit more on the force with force thing: during the 60s the Japanese left were rather creative in doing that. They would stash long poles and other stuff and really give the Japanese security forces something to think about. There were very few serious injuries, but quite often the Japanese police were driven back. Good, efficient defense, and perhaps a bit of fun too. smilies/smiley.gif

But, as I knew when I made my suggestion, violence of any sort would be rejected by most bourgeois bloggers and readers. That's predictable, and ok too.

Cheers
written by MalaysianFirst, May 10, 2009 02:17:23
Dear Renoir,
You, me, and a whole lot of other MT readers, we're all on the same page. I know. Thanks for your response.

Warmest regards.

written by lampard, May 10, 2009 20:34:22
CoolMama54,
I think you are barking on a worng tree here! People here DO give a shit about state assembly and politics! If Pakatan Rakyat report card is not satisfactory to you, you will awe looking at Barisan Nasional! Wake up kiddo!
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 11, 2009 15:49:05
siva was the lembu korban for BN...as we can see how a lembu is dragged by the hidung...

In this case the lembu did not want to be korbaned...

the korban here is not halal..for the proper prayers were not said..

and therefore the BN leaders have failed and made this action an ugly and illegal korban for the people of Perak..

the backlash of this tak halal korban is Siva cannot be eaten anymore than the lembu that is not halal..BN CANNOT TOUCH SIVA..they have dirtied their hands and
are awaiting the peoples anger...

written by bebas2lawat, May 18, 2009 14:42:23
Hi,
Just my two cents worth. Like RPK ,I think theres more here then meets the eye. Lets be patient and watch what happens. As long as we dont have short memories PeraK wont be BN for long