Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Lawlessness and the Perak assembly

Lawlessness and the Perak assembly PDF Print
Thursday, 07 May 2009 17:09

By P. Ramakrishnan, President of Aliran

MAY 7 — Chaos has descended upon Ipoh and the rule of law has been savaged by the brutish behaviour of Perak Umno state assemblymen. What we witnessed today will condemn us forever for reducing a much-respected institution into the law of the jungle. Decorum was not observed and the rule of law was totally discarded.

By refusing to be bound by the rules of the assembly, the Umno assemblymen and sergeant-at-arms have demeaned democracy and the democratic process. The same conduct that arrogantly discarded the mandate of the Perakians in the power grab engineered by Datuk Seri Najib Razak is at play once again in the state assembly, ignoring the sanctity of the assembly and displaying the very arrogance that has no place in this sacred institution.

There was no need to have pushed for this sitting of the assembly when the status and legitimacy of Datuk Zambry Abd Kadir as Perak mentri besar is still in question. This very crucial issue had not been legally settled and yet the Umno assemblymen could not wait for the resolution of the issue. They are bent on taking over the state assembly by any means — mostly by foul means.

The sergeant-at-arms has no authority to disobey the orders of the Speaker. It is not their business to take sides nor to decide whether the instruction given is right or other wise. They don’t seem to know their place or understand their role.

The police have acted in a diabolical manner and did not act professionally and in an impartial manner as they are required to do so. They are seen to be acting pro-Barisan Nasional and in a high-handed fashion in arresting so many people who had not posed any serious threat to the security of the nation.

There was no entry into the 500-metre zone to keep people away from the vicinity of the assembly. They have made it clear that anyone breaching this court order will be arrested. That being the case how did Datuk R. Ganesan gain access into the assembly to be illegally “elected” Speaker of the assembly? Ganesan was even prepared to use force to grab the Speaker’s chair, proving that he is prone to violence. This is clearly conduct unbecoming of someone aspiring to be the Speaker of the assembly.

On what basis did the sergeant-at-arms and the police forcefully and physically act to evict the lawful Speaker of the assembly in this outrageous manner? Isn’t the assembly out of bounds for the police to walk in and act in this atrocious way?

It appears that the police are also in league with the Umno assemblymen to do their bidding in helping the Umno assemblymen to take control of the assembly.

It is not even clear that the Perak state assembly had been convened legally and legitimately for the Umno motions to be tabled and adopted. In a rough shod manner they had bulldozed their way to secure their position with scant respect for formal procedure and protocol.

Law and order has completely broken down in the Perak state assembly and in this state of lawlessness Umno has taken charge of the Perak state assembly. This is no honourable takeover of the august body. It is a shameful way of acquiring power through brute force.

Najib must be held responsible for this pandemonium. He had created this situation in bringing about the change of government that has resulted in the bedlam that we witnessed in the state assembly.

If only the earnest appeals and prayers for the dissolution of the state assembly had been heeded we would have had a people’s government to govern Perak.

This injustice will be rectified at the 13th general election when the rallying cry will be “Remember Perak — Remember the injustice.”

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by pinsysu, May 07, 2009 17:12:22
1BlackMalaysia is now officially opened ...
agree 116
written by PASOK, May 07, 2009 17:13:28

We better get used to brute force, lack of decorum and government lawlessness.

This is the era of Najib Tun Razak - Gangster No.1 Malaysia.
written by Sinewy, May 07, 2009 17:17:25
Hee Yit Foong must remember well the painful and agonized faces of the voters in her constituency who have been deprived and marginalised by the discriminating UMNO government for sooo long. Of course this bastard Hee does not have the soul and principle to be bordered about this suffering voters as long as she can ensure herself a proper retirement come the next GE because she knows she is a dead duck now...
written by Littlebird, May 07, 2009 17:17:26
What a let down! And all this under the nose of His Highness. I am sure some people are very proud of what happened today.
written by MyBUDAK, May 07, 2009 17:17:49
Najis Mongolia SorTan Gamuda = GamGam Berak Darul Ridzuan... smilies/cheesy.gif

How can the The Regent endorse BN (Babi Negara) screwing Perakian withheld by the Police in front of him... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

written by jayenjr, May 07, 2009 17:18:15
Tengok la apa dah jadi kat Malaysia.

Sampai sarjen jaga pintu pun boleh kick out a legitimate government.
written by justice, May 07, 2009 17:19:43
Shame on the UMNO's police for helping the robber! Your victory won't last long. We will not forget!! We will win it back come GE13!!

written by fireduck, May 07, 2009 17:25:35
I have a naive question here. What else can result in an election in Perak. What happens if all the 28 PR ADUNs resign en masse. With only 29 so-called aduns left in the state, is it possible for the assembly to function? Or should a fresh election be called? Just curious.... seriously curious.....!

written by smeagrooo, May 07, 2009 17:26:19
whilst the rakyat suffer in Perak, someone else is holidaying abroad. Apa biznes ada kat seberang?
written by miwaki, May 07, 2009 17:28:52
The thieves have won the battle but these thieves do not know how to win a war.The people of Perak will remember how their legally elected representatives have been punched,kicked,shouted and their speaker, bundled out of assembly sitting by thugs,dogs and gangsters of BN/UMNO.

Yes,BN can illegally administer Perak but this illegitimate state government will not be recognize by the people.BN can celebrate but rakyat will remember the incident and we know what to do come the next general election.We will ensure not only BN/UMNO is out of Perak but Malaysia.

Hidup RPK,Hidup Pakatan Rakyat.Jahanam BN/UMNO.
written by nafis, May 07, 2009 17:35:10
If this shameful event of usurping power to govern in the other states, I would not have been much surprised.

But this is PERAK, with the sultan at one time was the lord president. For someone who has so much knowledge, Perak would have prosper more in a blissful state under the wings of a learned sultan.....

And yet, all hell is breaking loose over there, and all because the sultan had/has too much faith in be-end for securing the monarchy's "place" in Malaysia.

Not for me anymore. No respect and hope at all in that institution.

Amno can shout until it croaks saying it's all about ketuanan melayu, and the monarchy will always take the bait, and kowtow to be-end.

Whatever small pieces of dignity left in the monarchy has all been left to waste with this episode in Perak. The monarchy , all this while, may have regard us rakyats as just worker ants doing their bidding and earning them morsels for the monarchy to feed on, but listen dear sultans, when the queen ant/be-end/amno croaked, they are going to pull you under too. They are grabbing you by the balls now and still you stay silent.

But we the small rakyat have a bigger voice and bigger will, don't underestimate us.

written by Toyolbuster, May 07, 2009 17:45:37
YES I am angry, very very angry.
NO I am not bringing out the GUILLOTINE nor am I going to start a REVOLUTION.
BUT YES I am going to start a BIG time registration campaign to gather a MASSIVE force of new voters from among the TIDAK APA and those who have just come of age. I plead to all of you out there to do the same and if each of us can persuade 100 new voters to register, I guarantee that by the next GE13, we shall have a new government. Leave the white hair fella alone, nature will take its own course.
written by raven1958, May 07, 2009 17:50:43
This is exactly what happened on 13th May 1969.....
written by ladasiber, May 07, 2009 18:03:31
It's the word KERA or RAJA that makes the word KERAJAAN. I guess both are the same either one.
written by ladasiber, May 07, 2009 18:05:41
Is it the word KERA or RAJA that makes the term KERAJAAN. I guess either one is the same.
written by ahmadneil, May 07, 2009 18:06:42
So now we all have seen the man who everyone thought that he will be gentle but it turn out that he is a wolf in the sheep skin.Najib will surely face backlash.Perak MUST be Najib's graveyard!
written by ultraman, May 07, 2009 18:11:37
If i am a Perakian, I definitely would vote BNout in the next election. Look at how thuggish those babarians are. How to be lawmakers when they behave like outlaws?
Low class MB and excos! OOp, MB celup!!!
written by magickriver, May 07, 2009 18:13:08
ladasiber asked: Is it the word KERA or RAJA that makes the term KERAJAAN?

The answer can be found HERE!
http://magickriver.********.co...embly.html
written by cllim123, May 07, 2009 18:15:10
There is a new public toilet just opened in Jelapang. Please go there for free weewee.
written by concernedinmalaysia, May 07, 2009 18:30:34
I am so angry that I feel like doing actual physical harm unto those that have robbed the country of democracy.

In my heart I feel this anger and with it I could even kill.
written by malaysian2008, May 07, 2009 18:42:51
3.10pm While waiting for Raja Nazrin to enter,about 20 special branch officers have lined up at the front of the chamber to form a barrier between where Raja Nazrin will sit and the floor of the House.

Question : can SB enter the assembly chamber.

12.15pm Umno lawyer Datuk Hafarizam Harun seen conferring with Zambry away from the floor of the chamber & 11.50am Zambry's lawyers in the ongoing MB vs MB court case arrive in the chamber. Among them are Datuk Shafee abdullah

Question: There was no entry into the 500-metre zone to keep people away from the vicinity of the assembly. They have made it clear that anyone breaching this court order will be arrested. That being the case how did Datuk R. Ganesan gain access into the assembly to be illegally “elected” Speaker of the assembly? and how did the 2 AMNO lawyerS can get entry to the chamber?
written by Lim Lim, May 07, 2009 18:43:41
the manner zambry n his umno be end thieves n bandits rampant the DUN is a clear show that they are bunch of uncivilised beast,these thieves n bandits hav robbed the democracy right of the people of perak n this is only what they are good at,robbing n stealing!!!!they don't give a damn to procedure n constitution.
written by MalayMail, May 07, 2009 19:03:26
Our Malaysian RM50 note carries the portrait of HRH Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Has ex-DAP Hee insulted the Agong by tearing the RM50 note? What’s more … it’s done in front of Perak lawmakers!!!

Such contempt must not be condoned! Should someone teach her a lesson on how to respect Agong?

She is too rich already after receiving her big 'pay-cheque' that's why RM50 is too small for her-lah. smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Tan Tan, May 07, 2009 19:09:56
With today recession, our stupid government is creating nonsense in Perak.

Look at Perak, not functioning at all. Who take care of the state?

This is doing of current PM, Najib. For this, he should be vote out next election.

He could do better like starting repairing/improving the weakness of BN government to gain trust and confidence in Malaysia after the last election.

Rather than doing the right thing, BN and Najib are so busying doing nonsense around and creating and wasting public money and making public angry.

Is this the government we want? Hell no for me.

Actually to be selfish, I "understand" why Najib is doing all this. But today, my "understanding" turn into anger because of BN government using FRU and police force as if their own bodyguard to create more nonsense.

Hello! they only demostrate! Let them gather at the nearby compound and have a few policemen to monitor a peaceful demostration. They are not terrorist and we are in war zone.

Again, this show how inefficiency our government is at handling issue.

Police should be patrolling around to make sure our citizen's safety and not being use as government bodyguard!
written by mrbean, May 07, 2009 19:19:45
the inaction of the royalty in this situation is very much disgusting.
it just shows that they are in the same cohorts with umno...i have lost all my respect for the royalty...
written by Urangsabah, May 07, 2009 19:27:31
I think the happiest person on earth are the following

a) Najib
b) Ganesan, from nowhere now a speaker

The proudest would be
a) Zamry
b) Hee - Now a multi Millionaire Frog
c) The IGP, his force have shown the force Master is UMNO

PS the Sergant In Arms would be in line for a Datukship in view of this brute force.....

The Saddest would be The People of the Silver State - After today, it implied that UMNO and Its Goon do not need you vote, the could just buy and if not possible, get the UMNO Force to used brute force.....

Wonder if this is beam overseas.........

Nazri, Hissam, Matahir Family, the Royalty must be beaming with delight and no more headach with UMNO now leading the State Government

Congratulation to UMNO for being the victor, Congrat alsao to the Police, today you show Malaysia, DUN PRAY PRAY, YOU DISTURB UMNO, WE ATTACK YOU.
written by lakshy, May 07, 2009 19:51:35
Now this is where it gets interesting below. Can lawyers look at Perak Standing Order 3 and 4 and interpret it.

Here it says what shall be done whenever there is a vacancy for Speaker. But there was no vacancy. The position was filled. So under what provision did they remove him? Did they even remove him then? Did they vote him out?

Perak Standing Order 3 and 4
3. Whenever there is a vacancy in the office
of Speaker whether as the result of a dissolution of Assembly or otherwise the
Assembly shall, as soon as a quorum is
present, proceed to elect a Speaker.

4. The procedure for the election of a
Speaker shall be as follows:
(1) Every member who wishes to propose
a member for election as Speaker shall
ascertain previously that the member is
willing to serve if elected, and shall notify
the Secretary to Assembly of his
proposal in writing at least seven days
before the meeting.
(2) A member addressing himself to the
Secretary to the Assembly, shall propose
some other member then present to the
Assembly for its Speaker. and move “That
…………………†¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦ (naming
the member) do take the Chair of this Assembly
as Speaker”. The proposal shall be
seconded but no debate shall be allowed.
(3) if only one member be so proposed
and seconded as Speaker, he shall be
declared by the Secretary to the Assembly
without question put, to have been elected.
If more than one member be so proposed
and seconded the Assembly shall proceed
to elect a Speaker by ballot.

And it goes on.

The other point that seems to have been missed is that the speaker has to be a member. From this I would assume that he has to be a member of the house, i.e. a State Assemblyman. The person who was sworn in isn’t even an elected rep. So has Perak assembly even had a legal sitting today? I very much doubt it. Which means that in 1 weeks time, all the bn seats shall be vacated, and we should see fresh election in the bn seats in Perak.

Perhaps Justice NH Chan can give us his comments on this.
written by ez24get, May 07, 2009 19:52:45
Whatever speech the Raja Muda gave is meaningless! His role there is just to extend the shelf life expiry date of the Perak assembly thus helping the BN usurpers to stay in power until the next election. Without him there legitimizing the sitting, the state assembly would have to be dissolved.

The Raja Muda has yet to give his address to open the Perak Assembly sitting. Yet he is endorsing this new speaker. By doing so he is seen to be lending his face to support an illegally appointed speaker and government. Of all person, he should know how legal Zambry can be when he called for the votes to remove Sivakumar and replace him with Ganesan as the speaker before the assembly is even in session. It is like putting the cart before the horse or jumping the gun before the race has begun!

It is amusing that Zambry has even thought of making a spare speaker robe for the occasion. But he didn't realise that the swearing in of the new speaker Ganesan has to be done officially by the royalty. By right it should be the deputy speaker who should take the vacant chair.

Zambry has made the Perak Assembly look like a circus and a farce! Unfortunately, the royalty is also dragged along with him!

After this episode, who still think the royalties are above politics?
written by merchant222, May 07, 2009 20:24:08
BN MATI!

HIDUP! HIDUP!, HIDUP PAKATAN! HIDUP! HIDUP!, HIDUP RAKYAT!

MATI! MATI!, MATI BABISAN NAJISional!
written by Sinewy, May 08, 2009 00:53:56
With the obedient law enforcers at their service, UMNO will behave like thugs and lord over the people and intimidate anyone who dare to go against them.
written by Tok Din, May 08, 2009 05:30:00
May 7 just make it crystal clear that these UMNO/BN goons could not wait to suck the country dry. Under UMNO/BN Malaysia will continue to decline. Two choices left for the rakyat: (1) Continue on the road of decline, until the the nation vanishes; or (2) Change the government and support change.