Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Reason and Superstition: When will we move on from the past?

Reason and Superstition: When will we move on from the past? PDF Print
Wednesday, 06 May 2009 19:14

In a nation that is still trying to understand the meaning of democracy, political leaders openly declare to their party members that witchdoctors should not be used in election campaigns.

Farish A. Noor

Once again there is talk of all manner of hocus-pocus skulduggery in the corridors of power in Malaysia, and once again Malaysia’s image has been tainted by the bugbear of the past. It was not too long ago that a government agency even contemplated the thought of formally recognising witchcraft as a form of ‘alternative therapy’. And to add insult to our injuries it was revealed not too long ago that a magic spell was placed under the table of the former Prime Minister no less.

Is this a symptom of the uneven development that has come to be the norm in so many postcolonial societies? What is the point, pray tell, of having the tallest building in the world when the people working in it believe in ghosts, poltergeists and vampires? Or worse still, would consider hiring some of these spooky characters to do their dirty political work?

The most embarrassing thing of all is that these revelations are coming from and about Malaysia, a country which in the eyes of many other developing nations is seen as a model to be emulated. In the words of a Bangladeshi analyst colleague of mine: “One certainly expects more from a country like Malaysia, simply because Malaysia occupies such a high position in the eyes of so many other countries.” But like many analysts who have spent more than an hour studying the Byzantine and at time bizarre politics of the country, he too is left to wonder what the hype is all about.

Which brings us back to the debate between reason and superstition that has been a staple of Muslim debates going back for centuries…

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by educationist, May 06, 2009 19:49:33
I feel Dr Farish is too hard on us Malaysians.
We have just recently put on these outer shows of materialism, progress, industralisation and scientific prowness.
I believe it'll be sometime yet before we move beyond superstition.
Perhaps a more pertinent question will be how long before the UMNOputras understand the meaning of democracy and stop their security wing persecuting ordinary rakyat's valid dissent.
written by Anti Relon, May 06, 2009 20:11:25
Trial of Turkish author starts
ISTANBUL - The trial of a novelist accused of inciting religious hatred in his last novel "The daughters of Allah" opened and adjourned in Istanbul yesterday. Nedim Gürsel, who lives in Paris and is being tried in absentia, faces between one and three years in jail if convicted.

Trial of Turkish author starts Gürsel's lawyer Şehnaz Yüzer said his client had not attended due to concern about "incidents" but that he had made a deposition on a previous visit.

The court heard testimony yesterday from the plaintiff Ali Emre Bukağılı, a follower of Adnan Oktar who is known for his belief in creationism and rejection of the Darwinian theory of evolution. He said he was offended by the book because it was "insulting to the Prophet and the Koran." He added, "Freedom of expression has limits."

The public prosecutor has recommended acquitting the author on the grounds that an "imminent and clear public order danger" as required by the law has not been established. The novel was published in 2008. The case was adjourned to May 26.

From The Freethinker
www.freethinker.co.uk
written by garuda, May 06, 2009 20:23:43
Hocus pocus wasnt used with najis right? neither the takeover not even UMNO losing states last election, goes to show how shallow some people really are.

Anyway i have lost all faith in king and country and will only be happy when the dust settles tomorrow to show the real scenario, as it is now too many arrests are made just by UMNO desires!! The police is a joke and we all are doomed under UMNO
written by Hello Keithy, May 06, 2009 20:49:24
This only happens to desperado like Zambry. Tonight on NTV7 news, he said "When Pakatan took over the govt, we didn't object". Ooiii Mamak, Pakatan took over via the rakyat's mandate. Where did you come from ? You blasted from the back garden of the istana. So shut up, you black Mamak.
written by duke_nemo, May 06, 2009 22:32:47
This only happens to desperado like Zambry. Tonight on NTV7 news, he said "When Pakatan took over the govt, we didn't object". Ooiii Mamak, Pakatan took over via the rakyat's mandate. Where did you come from ? You blasted from the back garden of the istana. So shut up, you black Mamak.

Hi Hello Kiety,

Please don't ever call this black nameless thing as 'black mamak', coz it sounds like giving it(him) more respect than it deserves. This black thing has taken peark from the people like a bully stealing a candy from an innocent child..it does not deserves to be given any as it is beneath all the name callings.