Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Chin Huat to be released soon

Chin Huat to be released soon PDF Print
Wednesday, 06 May 2009 14:48

Written by Sharon Tan, The Edge

Political analyst and activist Wong Chin Huat is likely to be released by this evening after Magistrates Court at KL High Court granted remand of one day starting from the time he was taken in by the police at about 7.45pm on Tuesday.

According to Wong’s lawyer Amer Hamzah Arshad, the police had requested Wong be remanded for four days but they had objected to that application on grounds that the police need not hold Wong in remand for investigations to proceed.

Magistrate Puan Naziah binti Mohd Alias granted only one day remand after hearing arguments from both sides.

Police also seized two notebooks, three thumb drives and a modem from Wong yesterday.

DAP supremo Lim Kit Siang said police should make an arrest only after the investigation and not arrest to investigate.

He said the arrest of political analyst and activist Wong Chin Huat was a case of abuse of power by the police.

"Police have not taken statement from him since he was taken in yesterday. Police should arrest only after investigation and not arrest in order to investigate," said Lim when he arrived at the Jalan Duta High Court to visit Wong.  

Lim also told reporters that Wong urge Malaysians to wear black on Thursday in protest of the political situation in Perak.

Wong, who is currently still at the court complex here, passed a message via his lawyer Latheefa Koya, saying his statements yesterday regarding the 1Black Malaysia campaign was "a matter of opinion (that) has now become fact that one has been so unfree that you can't choose the colour of your clothes".

Latheefa, who is also the new Parti Keadilan Rakyat information chief, said Wong was in "high spirits".

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by varvoom, May 06, 2009 14:52:01
I will wear Black 2molo Wong.......!
written by TheMessenger, May 06, 2009 15:06:49
Me too..
my shirt, my jeans, even my underwear. hehe
my wife also. and her black panties always turn me on. hehe
written by fireduck, May 06, 2009 15:10:23
".... Police should arrest only after investigation and not arrest in order to investigate," said Lim when he arrived at the Jalan Duta High Court to visit Wong.

There's a lot of wisdom in Uncle Kit's statement ... if only the govt and the police will listen and follow the advice. That's the big difference between a civil society and a police state.
written by bikerzon, May 06, 2009 15:11:17
I'll show my support here from China!
Anak Penanti di Shanghai.

http://new-dawn-malaysia.********.com
written by budaktapah, May 06, 2009 15:11:21
i now declare that malaysians are not allowed to wear any other colors except Kelabu Taik Anjing / grey color....

if not, i will pukul dulu, latter baru cerita...
written by CitizenBodohland, May 06, 2009 15:12:17
We salute the magistrate. There are still some good men and women in the judiciary. Remember them when People's Power reign supreme during the next GE. Never, never forget those greedy lapdogs who served Barisan Neraka.
written by budaktapah, May 06, 2009 15:13:09
also i declare that all malaysians are considered guilty and are "eligible" to be arrested by me at any point of time...until proven innocent..
written by budaktapah, May 06, 2009 15:16:27
during taliban time in Afghan, women will be arrested if not wearing hijab/burkha and men will be arrested if wearing shorts...

we here in malaysia up the ante....you will be "arrested" if wearing black...
written by ahmadneil, May 06, 2009 16:00:08
1 BlackMalaysia shall be a symbol of oppression.Stickers with black wordings can be printed and put on all cars to show how oppressive Najib is.
written by FuLinYu, May 06, 2009 16:15:55
"...Police should arrest only after investigation and not arrest in order to investigate," said Lim (Kit Siang)

Well spoken, saudara Lim
This is what the police of a failed state had come (down) to.
Sad. Shame. A great disappointment.
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 06, 2009 16:23:11
Wong, who is currently still at the court complex here, passed a message via his lawyer Latheefa Koya, saying his statements yesterday regarding the 1Black Malaysia campaign was "a matter of opinion (that) has now become fact that one has been so unfree that you can't choose the colour of your clothes

FOR YR SACRIFICE, YOU DESERVE TO STAND FOR ELECTION IN THE NEXT AVAILABLE SEAT TO
CONTEST AND WE WILL SUPPORT U