Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Saint Valentine's Day is for Catholics only

Saint Valentine's Day is for Catholics only PDF Print
Friday, 01 February 2008 11:17

I hope this notice or warning can be published. The NST is bent on forcing anyone who is not Catholic to celebrate the St Valentine's Day. They call it Valentine's Day.

But the truth is that it is SAINT VALENTINE'S DAY, the patron saint of the Catholics.

Even the Christians do not celebrate it because it is not them to pray to the saint, whom they, like the Muslims, do not believe that he is a saint or 'Padari Besar'.

How could the Muslims at the NST force anyone to take part in the contest they are organising which charges a fee of RM25 to post a message that will be published on 14 February when they are not Catholics?

It doesn't matter if the day has been commercialised and it is said to not have any religious significance. It has. And the Catholics see it as a religious day, not any day.

I am surprised that the Muslims at the NST are not feeling guilty for encouraging non-Catholics to take part in the contest. Worse, they do not indicate that it is opened to Catholics and Muslims are not allowed.

They are encouraging 'khalwat' by offering a three-night stay in a hotel among other things. And if this contest is opened to all, it should also include those who are not married. And one of their major sponsors is Habib Jewels.

There is a photo  published in the NST today showing two 'tudung' clad Muslim women receiving or offering prizes from the respective companies.

I am not being too sensitive, just realistic. There are other things that all of us can come together to promote unity, and Saint Valentine's day is definitely not one of them.

Sincerely,

Another Muslim 

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by FFT, February 01, 2008 11:29:06
The NST is bent on forcing anyone who is not Catholic to celebrate the St Valentine's Day. They call it Valentine's Day.

Hmmm...forcing?

If Another Muslim and his ilk do not want to partake in the contest, they have the CHOICE to do so.

It is ironic that this miscreant accuses the NST of "forcing" something, when it is actually Another Muslim who is campaigning to have everyone forced to toe the extremist Muslim line.

This is why I'm beginning to believe with each passing day that Islam is afflicted with a large proportion of brain damaged individuals.
written by densemy, February 01, 2008 11:30:52
Get a life!... Whether it be Valentine's Day or St Valentine's Day doesnt matter. The concept has been hijacked by commercial interests and no longer has any religious connotations
written by Alatariel Celebrindal, February 01, 2008 11:34:44
Valentine's day is celebrated by everyone regardless of religion all over the world. Sheesh, this religion that and religion this is getting too much. Why can't everyone just concentrate on being a good human being, take all the good teachings from all religion and reject the bad.
written by oknyua, February 01, 2008 11:38:35
"Kalwat"? You participate or refuse to participate is up to you. If I visit you during Hari Raya, what does it make me? A convert?

Come on la, you must be more rationale than this. How do you know they commit kalwat if the condition of that 3-day package is not mentioned here? There are more "khawat" things in Malaysia. Just surf the net to open your eyes.
written by Bill Gates, February 01, 2008 11:44:06
When comes to money, power, women and love, who cares about the fatwa. Ased those who have siphoned off millions of ringgit from the tax payers money. Ask Najis, is the chanelling of commission to Razak Baginda haram or not? What happen to Tabung Haji's fund and the millions lost expereinced by Bank Islam? The only thing they efficient is to wait for someone to die and snatch their body.
written by joseph81, February 01, 2008 11:54:26
Another Muslim Fanatic, when Chinese gives Ang Pow, make sure u reject it too
written by kksam, February 01, 2008 11:56:49
Alamak is this islam hadhari effect. NST cannot force you to participate la, it's all up to you. Hey Valentine's day is not only celebrated by Catholics only la, does it mean non muslim cannot celebrate Hari Raya? CNY is near so will you celebrate? is this what we call racial integration when one cannot celebrates each festival? I want to pengsan la.
written by fairnessforall, February 01, 2008 12:04:02
Another muslim, you seem to have your brains in the wrong head. Why dont you complain about the thousands if not millions of muslims who flock the 4D shops to gamble. Why dont you complain that these 4D shops are encouraging muslims to gamble which is haram and should be shut down. For all we know, you are one of those muslim hypocrites who frequent these 4D shops yourself. Maybe you should ask yourself first if you have done anything haram or that is forbidden by islam then judge others. You hypocrite.
written by atsanee, February 01, 2008 12:08:51
Loosen up,'Another Muslim'.

Why shud you bother if Saint Valentive was Christian,Catholic or whatever?

The fact is he was some sort of priest who was imprisoned but showed all the love and compassion to the guard's daughter.Its a lesson in humanity, pure and simple.

If we believe he did the right thing and we can identify with his actions and intentions,then,we should hold him in the highest esteem, a man of God.

Does he have to be a Muslim only then we can acknowledge him as a good man or a man of God ?

As a Muslim, I am painfully aware that the Muslim world does not often throw up many good samaritans as role models.

Dont go so far. Just look at the muslim world's response to the Indian Ocean tsunami.

Perhaps, if Anwar Ibrahim had embraced his captors and their kids and forgive and forget wholeheartedly Tun Mahathir and his gangsta IGP,we can celebrate St Anwar Day here in Malaysia instead of Islam Hahadari Day !! smilies/grin.gif
written by LTan, February 01, 2008 12:13:25
AHH! AGAIN ANOTHER MUSLIM JACK ASS, THISIS HOW THESE JACK ASS MALAYSIAN MUSLIM IS, SPEAK AND TALK LIKE MR "HOLY" OR "KNOW IT ALL" BUT IN THE INNER SELF FULL OF PIG SHIT..
written by optimuz, February 01, 2008 12:30:10
do you really think that they need to wait for Valentine's Day to win a 3d/2n stay to commit khalwat??

Why do you present your faith as being so fragile?? You cannot run from the fact that you are in the world, and therefore will be surrounded by all this 'evil'. When will you demonstrate that the faith that you have is greater than the lures of the world? Or are you unable to? Who is at fault then?
written by Saint, February 01, 2008 12:51:38
Faith in oneself and ones religion comes only in self confidence.
Let us not loose this by hearing and reading unnecessary matters.
written by Malaysiaputra, February 01, 2008 12:57:37
Boo ! another small brain.
written by cruzeiro, February 01, 2008 13:04:15
Dear Another Muslim,

Get a Tattoo .... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by cruzeiro, February 01, 2008 13:07:03
If Another Muslim and his ilk do not want to partake in the contest, they have the CHOICE to do so.
===========

FFT,

These Tattoo lovers don't have a CHOICE - the word doesn't figure in their vocab!
So, they presume it to be unjust that others should have it!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Anak Kampung, February 01, 2008 13:15:52
Just to clear up some confusion here are some basic facts the author is missing.

1. Catholics are Christians. Christians can be Catholic, Protestant or Orthodox, just as Muslims can be Sunni, Shia etc. In Malaysia, most Christians are either Protestant or Catholic. The largest Protestant churches are the Methodist and Anglican churches. In East Malaysia, Sidang Injil Borneo is also very strong.

2. I believe St. Valentine lived before the Great Schism between the Orthodox East and the Western Church in 1054 and ALSO before the split between the (now) Roman Catholic Church and the Protestants in the 16c. Therefore St. Valentine is a saint for ALL CHRISTIANS (who recognise saints) including Protestants such as Anglicans, Lutherans and Methodists.

3. Having said that, the feast of St. Valentine is one of the most minor ones on the church calendar and is not widely observed compared to major feasts and fasts such as Christmas, Easter, Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, Pentecost, Trinity Sunday, Ascension, Ss. Peter and Paul, All Saints and so on. So finally the truth is that while there is in principle a saint (or possibly several) called Valentine, nobody will go to church on St. Valetine's Day. It is definitely not a 'holy day of obligation'.

I hope this clears up some misunderstandings. The author should get his/her facts straight before commenting.
written by FFT, February 01, 2008 13:16:13
Cruz,

I think these Nazis all just need to get laid. Drink about two crates of beer. Then get laid again.

written by cruzeiro, February 01, 2008 13:26:35

I hope this clears up some misunderstandings. The author should get his/her facts straight before commenting.
=============

AK,
It just doesn't matter what you say - facts don't figure in their cluttered minds too.
As FFT says, Nazis just need to get laid - through both their oral and aboral orifices, one may add.
That could loosen things up a little and make room for improvement!!
written by Hope4all, February 01, 2008 13:32:06
Another pea brain. Lump this into the same fatwa as Botox! Sorry to say that Muslim celebrities like Rola Saad (Arab) and Kris Dayanti (Indonesia) have already violated this fatwa, along with many others.

Have you seen how many Malay teenagers at 1-utama crowding the stores just to buy Valentine gifts for their loves ones..(besides their first love?)? Even the Arabs are celebrating Valentine's. Just go to any Dubai hotels (any hotels!) at this time. Preach this in Dubai and the Arabs will even plaster your mouth.

So next time, when there is Good Friday holiday or Christmas, make sure you volunteer to your boss that you will stay at work!

I don't think you have a pea-brain, or a mini-pea brain, but rather a nano-pea brain! Alright, put it this way, you're less than paramecium or amoeba.
written by budakindia, February 01, 2008 14:03:22
well you can ask the body snatchers what the hell are they doing with dead people's body! Have they developed some kind of fetish of "doing it" with dead bodies? smilies/grin.gif Don't you have any sense of humane of doing that to already grieving family? smilies/grin.gif Yeah another one what about demolishing the temples? You can ask those experts how about celebrating Valentine's day! See what they say! smilies/angry.gif Banning botox just because of the harmful effects, hey what about cigarettes, doesn't that fall in the same category? It's plain hypocrite!
written by rocky, February 01, 2008 14:23:14
this has become universal celebration of love. and by love it doesn't mean boy friend girl friend kind of love. so what is wrong with celebrating love. it is a good thing. unfortunately some pea brains would like to twist the facts and use wrong infolike it is only for catholics. Let me tell you this, you go to China or Japan, Valentine's is a big day with exchange of gifts etc. So not only Catholics celebrate this day, lots of other people do. It has become universal thing like a famous brand.

so go and get a life and fix things that are wrong like corruption etc instead of looking the other way. and do please help other muslims as muslims are the worse when comes to helping others like in the case of tsunami etc. Saudi Arabia gave USD10million for the tsunami fund. Guess how much they gave the Talibans in Afghanistan? a lot more than USD10millions Where else the kafirs gave a lot more to help the tsunami victims who were majority muslims. They gave sincerely to help another mankind.Muslims? Malulah!!!
written by Tompios, February 01, 2008 14:24:14
Another Islam!! Don't fool urself! I will not call you stupid but call ur ustaz or whoever that have taught you 100% stupid! In the mind set of Christian especially Catholic evenglicals, they can also claim themselves as another Islam. Islam (surrender, submission to God! People who surrender to God can be called Islam. But, the next question is Islam according to whom? According to Mohammad?(Mohammadian) According to Jesus? (Christians) According to Moses? (Jews) Or According to Abraham? (Al-Hanif)

Valentine's day? Who force you another Islam to follow this westerners' celebration. Your argument is overarching and futile. You brain is too slow to work. You only can see small things around you! Please, do not fly urself in a small vacum skull.

Well, how about Hariraya? Don't you know that Hariraya is based on pre-islam celebration? You just adopt and did Islamization jahilliah cultures to be your celebration. But, it's okey since Christian also did almost the same. Adopt Europe's Barbarian cultures as a part of Christian rituals.

written by Raja Gasper, February 01, 2008 14:29:22
Christianity has many denominations and variants type of teachings.They themself are not united in theology and condems one another as fake cults.The Protestants condems the Catholics and vice verse
although they belongs to the same family but different methodology in pratice.

Of Course St Valentine is a saint of Catholics Christianity but the day is celebrate by everyone as
the celebration of love towards one another without the religious significant.The greatest command
that Jesus give to the people as this "-Love one another as I Love You"and Jesus never mention that
you must be a Christian in order to "love or repect the love".

When you read the entire Gospel of the Bible or Good News they called,Jesus proclaim and talk like a
God with love towards the people regardless or race,creed or color.Indeed he loves the poor people
and childrens the most.By default Christianity is not a religion as it is today but the way and the
truth that Jesus spoke and acted for the benefits of mankind.

Too much religious fanatics without the proper understandings of religions are the main caused or
root of all trouble in the world today.
written by ahkok, February 01, 2008 14:42:42
damn... wasted my time reading this post... such stupidity.
written by cruzeiro, February 01, 2008 14:58:36
Hmmmmm, You guys chill out mates. I dont think "another muslims" is being a fanatic

===============

And you're just being a simpleton?
written by pseudoangel, February 01, 2008 15:18:50
so, 1st, Herald was banned from using the word "Allah". the authorities claimed that the word only can use by Muslim and this will make Muslims confused...

Ok, now, can Cathiolics sue NST for using St Valentine's Day as a gimmick to push their sales as this St Valentines's Day is only meant for Catholics, having a competition like this that open to all races will "confused" the Catholics?

Remember the "no Deepavali greeting to Hindus - as Muslims don't celebrate Deepavali" issue?
NST really have the guts of doing NAYTHING to push the sales.

Come on la... encouraging "Berkhalwat"????
do you think the unmarried malay couple will only berkhalwat when they win the prize?
they could have done it long time ago la. maybe they always change the hotel location and room no. so that they are not caught.
written by FFT, February 01, 2008 15:28:33
written by SimpleSoul, February 01, 2008 | 14:36:04
I dont think "another muslims" is being a fanatic...

You're absolutely right.

"Another Muslim" is just participating in the Inmate Outreach Program at Tanjung Rambutan.
written by Bigjoe99, February 01, 2008 15:36:20
You are also wrong. Valentine's day was not celebrated by many people until the Chocolatiers, florist and the Gift Cards companies started promoting it. So while there is a small historical basis for St Valentine's Day. Its largely the creation of commerce.
written by doggone, February 01, 2008 16:02:37
Aiyah Another Muslim, I bet you have celebrated Valentine's Day on more occasions than you can ever recall.
Remember that rose you gave to that guy?
written by Alatariel Celebrindal, February 01, 2008 16:03:35
So far we've heard from "True Muslim", "another Muslim", who's next? Pure Muslim? I am not against Islam, but some velievers just can't resist using the name of the religion in everything, including username. Just an observation.
written by asguard, February 01, 2008 17:07:23
Where is their brains? ... Another typical type of morons... living in stoneage period....
written by readmylips, February 01, 2008 17:08:55
I just can't believe there are such people with such mentality. Another Muslim, you bring shame to your fellow muslims. Why do you bother to write in and show all your stupidity which gives evryone the impression that all muslims are like you.

Your muslim friends should have you shot for having no brains. Its Valentines Day, dick head. It has nothing to do with how it came about. Now ist all just about you spending time with the ones you love and off course get you to spend more money.

Brainless dick!
written by hiro, February 01, 2008 17:44:31
Oh, thank you for offering to publish your bigoted gibberish.

First of all, there is no forcing, that's why they call it a contest which requires "participation".

Secondly, what khalwat? This is celebration of love, and could include a married couple.

Thirdly, even if it is religious, what's wrong with Muslims celebrating together with Muslims? Don't tell me you boycott Wesak, Deepavali or Christmas.

You remember that article about the perception that Islam is about blowing people up? You may not go that extreme path, but you are sure closer to that that the rest of us. If I see you in real life, I'm not certain I could bring myself to be your friend.
written by aryn, February 01, 2008 17:53:35
Valentine's Day? No way I am celebrating even if I am Christian. No significant lah. Itu orang business saja yang untung. Besides, I celebrate love everyday. Love for mankind, love for family, relatives, friends, nature and God. And so on.

Don't get rile up lah Another Muslim. Just ignore it. Itu orang business mau buat untung saja just like they promoted father Christmas so you buy lots of presents.
written by oknyua, February 01, 2008 18:57:58
"Another Muslim" kena bashing cukup-cukup lah. Let's see the rationale people post here.

1. Knives are sold everywhere - does it make everybody a murderer?
2. Viagra are sold everywhere, does that make all old men crazy?
3. Heroin, ganja are found everywhere, does it make everybodu addicts?
4. Samsu sold everywhere, does it make people drunkards?
5. The list goes on

Just right in the garden of the biggest mosque in South East Asia, you see many ladies spagheti strip, holding hand, hugging, with boys. I jog there almost every evening and see them. Go and visit shopping complexes, and see boys and girls hiding behind staircases (people use lifts, so staircases empty).

Your misplaced religious concern is not helping you, or anybody for that matter. If you show concern for religious infringment, shout out loud against corruptions, nepotism and injustice. If you do that, I support you totally.
written by HJ Angus, February 01, 2008 19:27:48
Any day can be a good day for lovers.
Don't mean to be a wet blanket but in all my 30 years of married life, my wife and I have yet to celebrate St Valentine's Day.

We don't like the idea of paying RM10 for a rose that normally costs RM1.
We all make our own choices.
written by pedagogical, February 01, 2008 19:45:12
Goodness, I'm lost for words....r u saying that only singles would be joing this contest? I bet my ass that most entries would come from married couples....not cos they wanted to celebrate Valentine's, but to win the prize....I wouldn't mind winning a 3-night stay in a hotel...it's not everyday u get to win hotel stays for free & treat your spouse at the same time....
written by cruzeiro, February 01, 2008 20:14:15
My Goodness gracious me!
38 comments, and only ONE is "somewhat conciliatory" to your ideas!

Another Muslim,
You from another time-space continuum or something??
We'd really understand if you were .... maybe you can be stored in our Museums for future generations to see God's wonderful creation?
written by Flex Tan, February 01, 2008 20:23:58
01.02.2008...I SAW TOYOL (SELANGOR MB) GIVING OUT ANG POW TODAY.
written by bn haramjadah, February 01, 2008 21:00:46
DEAR Muslim, I would like to tell you GET A LIFE, Don't be a Katak di bawah tempurung all your life, are you so helpless, don't you have any self confidence, GROW UP LAH kayu. sikit sikit nak complain macam budak kindagarten "che gu, che gu" Did NST bring police to your house and force you to participate, NO. HEY like that you cant use internet also you might get some pop up of a semi naked women, what u going to do, complain to bill gates, BODOH BETUL smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Task Force 101, February 01, 2008 21:03:31
This article is so stupid it does not deserve a response.
written by bn haramjadah, February 01, 2008 21:08:29
LIKE ADMIRAL TOJO says when you worship stone house what you get, dungu zombies like this , shake head
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Sutha, February 01, 2008 23:04:22

Not interested in St Valentine's Day, can just F O.

You are not being forced to.
written by Bill Gates, February 02, 2008 00:31:25
May be a fatwa from the Islam Hadhari declaring PakLah-Jean's day as lover's day will be more acceptable for competition in NST in future. And please wear batik to make it more romantic and patriotic at the same time.
written by mijoan, February 02, 2008 03:06:33
For the information of all concerned!
Valentine day is not a Catholic Festival
neither is it a Christian festival!
written by FFT, February 02, 2008 08:02:49
PASOK,

For Muslims, like "Another Muslim" to be taken seriously and given any respect, they should first learn to be a little less mentally retarded in their approach to issues.

He may have a valid point in taking the mickey out of the corpse-snatching, necrophiliac Prophet Badawi's Hadhari government and affiliated newspaper. (But one wonders why "Another Muslim" and friends are silent on issues like corpse-snatching, dodgy conversions, and stealing of old women's insurance money).

Sitting atop your camel and pontificating (oops, I mean mullahficating) that everyone is being FORCED to participate in an entirely voluntary event underscores the brain damage that a lot of you Muslms are afflicted with. It also demonstrates the underlying Muslim sociopathic nature of denying to everybody else that which he is queerly displeased about.
written by Arum, February 02, 2008 12:44:23
Another muslim?.In the first place you should check yourself if are a muslim or not.Read in between line of your holy book.If you can,t understand,let a non muslim intepret it.They have better brains than you.
written by stanley, February 02, 2008 14:29:36
"Another Muslim" is another muslim , who's beyond redemption !
Don't waste your time trying to convince him or change his mind. This type of so-call "good" people, are people who " can't see the forrest for the trees !" types - a narrow minded extremist, who think Islam IS the ONLY religion in this WORLD !
I wonder what ALLAH is thinking......maybe He put people like "Another Muslim" on this EARTH to test OUR faith - and our " religiousness " (?) to see if WE are better than "Another Muslim"