Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 'If ruler refuses request, Perak MB must quit'

'If ruler refuses request, Perak MB must quit' PDF Print
Wednesday, 06 May 2009 09:13

(NST) KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin was deemed to have resigned as menteri besar once the Sultan of Perak refused his request to dissolve the legislative assembly. 

Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail told the High Court yesterday that Nizar had gone to meet the sultan on Feb 4 to dissolve the house when he no longer commanded the majority of the assemblymen.

"It is the prerogative of the sultan to grant a dissolution.

"If the ruler refuses, the menteri besar must resign," he said in his submission before judge Datuk Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim over the issue of who is the rightful chief executive of Perak.

Gani, who is appearing in his personal capacity as intervener, said the Barisan Nasional had a clear majority of 31 seats in the assembly.

He said Nizar had found out that his government no longer commanded the majority support and that was why he sought an audience with the sultan to dissolve the house.

"The sultan enquired whether Nizar had lost the majority and then exercised his discretionary powers," he said.

At this juncture, Aziz asked Gani whether there was a provision in the Perak Constitution for the ruler to remove a menteri besar.

Gani said it was implied that a menteri besar must resign as the sovereign could not remove him.

"The Constitution must be interpreted as a living document. The sultan cannot sack him (Nizar) but the honourable way is to resign once he has lost the majority."

Gani said the sultan did not sack Nizar but the law automatically deemed that he had vacated his position and this paved the way for the ruler to appoint a new menteri besar.

In early February, the 10-month Pakatan Rakyat government collapsed following the defection of two Parti Keadilan Rakyat assemblymen and a DAP assemblywoman who threw their support behind BN which had 28 representatives.

Pangkor assemblymen Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir was appointed menteri besar and Nizar is now challenging the appointment because he did not resign or lose a confidence vote in the assembly.

Gani said the Perak constitution did not expressly allow for the house to be dissolved due to political reasons and the sultan merely carried out his constitutional duty.

"The sultan stands above politics and is non-partisan. He performed his function in an honourable way to protect the rights of the people under the Constitution," he said.

Counsel Sulaiman Abdullah, who is representing Nizar, submitted that Gani's argument was flawed that Nizar had lost the confidence of the majority.

"Nizar requested for the dissolution to get a fresh mandate from the people," Sulaiman said, adding the test whether Nizar had lost the majority support of the assemblymen was to be decided in the house.

"It has to be demonstrated through a vote of no-confidence in the assembly."

Hearing continues.

written by ROBERTNGTG, May 06, 2009 09:18:26
Gani, who is appearing in his personal capacity as intervener, said the Barisan Nasional had a clear majority of 31 seats in the assembly

MORE LIKE VESTED INTERESTS FOR THIS PIGTAIL.
written by justice6, May 06, 2009 09:24:32
Barisan Nasional had a clear majority of 31.....

How can bn have clear majority when 3 are independent assemblymen ? they may be friendly now, but what if they become unfriendly 6 months down the road? who can tell the future? if they become unfriendly and state their stand to back Pakatan Rakyat, question is , will the Sultan ask Zam Zam to resign as bn MB ?
written by Rozlan, May 06, 2009 09:25:17
If DS Nizar truly lost the majority confidence why didnt UMNO wait for the next assembly to tabled no confidence votes? If htey do it I believe now DS Zambry will have peace of mind..

It seem we have two set of law application in Malaysia...
written by justice6, May 06, 2009 09:27:29
moreover, just because 3 assemblymen changed their support, that doesn't mean those who voted for them agreed. They voted for the party, not individual.
written by fireduck, May 06, 2009 09:30:17
How can you be an intervener if you see through coloured glasses, and you don't in the middle. In fact, your rice bowl is supplied by the UMNO/BN Govt, so how can you even think of intervening? An 'intervener' intrinsically implies that you will try to validate the merits of both sides of the argument, then the court will decide based on your learned presentation. However, before you even bother to 'intervene' we rakyat, already know what you are thinking and have preconceived in your mind. And its nothing learned at all. More of the same unadulterated shameless disgusting crap from the AG. You still don't get it, do you?
written by Tompios, May 06, 2009 09:32:35
Gani Patail,

Yes, we must interpret the laws not even as living things but with conscience right or wrong moral. Not by right or wrong in word things.
written by pinsysu, May 06, 2009 09:34:14
zambry why are you so scared to go back to the Perakians for confirmation whether you shd be their MB? borrowing Pigtail's argument, the Perakians can implied that by not going back to Perakians you have no confidence at all they'll endorse you as their MB. it is very clear that you are avoiding the inevitable: the Perakians dun want you to be their MB. why hang on to something that is not yours to begin with?
written by A MI, May 06, 2009 09:44:18
smilies/grin.gif ROBERTNGTG, let us not insult any animal by associating them with low-life bottom-feeders like Petaii.

Remember Malaysia has the tallest, biggest etc?
Malaysia can now go into the book of records for the craftiest AGee and worst judiciary smilies/grin.gif
written by ibabonma, May 06, 2009 09:52:29
Gani, who is appearing in his personal capacity as intervener, said the Barisan Nasional had a clear majority of 31 seats in the assembly.

Who decides which party have a clear majority? The Sultan? When there is a sitting government, the Assembly should decide unless the Assembly has been dissolved, say, in a general election.

Further, let's assume what will happen if at such given time a Sultan is not his normal self while making his decision?

written by Hakim Joe, May 06, 2009 09:55:42
New Perak Law:

"In an event whereby the legal power to remove an elected representative of the people is limited by the constitution, it is therefore not incorrect to assume that the assumption of such a limitation can be delimitated through the election of another elected representative regardless of whether this limitation is valid or not, is in accordance to the assumptive wishes of the person assuming such a decision regardless of its legality."

written by Hakim Joe, May 06, 2009 09:57:04
Hee...hee...how many times did you read the above before understanding it?

written by Ulan Benson, May 06, 2009 10:45:22
I am not surprised at all why his name has a pigtail...twist here, twist there.

The Raykat is NOT stupid...READ THE CONSTITUTION, DAMN IT. Even a kid understands what is stated in the Perak Constitution.

And stop playing with your Pigtail in the court, READ THE CONSTITUTION, please smilies/grin.gif
written by myke, May 06, 2009 11:15:49
This shit-mouth piece of UMNO is not worth our time.
written by truthreallyhurts, May 06, 2009 11:33:08
This is a clear case of the AGees' and UMNO's "England not very powderful!". As they cannot understand simple English, the AGee and the whole UMNO membership should sign up for English 101 or be sent back to an English Primary School, preferably in Perak.
written by Hakim Joe, May 06, 2009 12:14:52
truthreallyhurts,

Oh NO!!! Not in Perak!!! That state is already full of scumbags. Let them learn English 101 in.....MONGOLIA!!!

written by cllim123, May 06, 2009 12:44:22
This Abdul Ghani Patail is talking KOK. Where in the Perak constitution says that the MB must quit when the Sultan refused the dissolution? Instead, it states clearly how the MB is removed, namely, by his own resignation or by vote of no confidence from the house.

So don't talk kok, Ghani Pak tahi. BTW, your brother Wahab in High Court KL talks too much kok too. I think it runs in your family of Pak tahi.
written by SamSan, May 06, 2009 13:17:17
All the arguments by both the defence and the attorney general are plausible. This is because after more than 30years of being raped and sodomised for more than 30 years especially under Che Det's rule, the Malaysian constitution that was brilliantly crafted by our wise founding fathers under our beloved and much cherished and noble royalty Tunku Abdul Rahman, the constitution has lost all its lustre and is now devoid of its true meaning and intent. So now we have the law of the jungle.
written by latihanQ, May 06, 2009 14:00:05
The law is the law is the law. Surely Ghani understands that more than anyone else since he is the AG.
Ghani should read and comprehend the Perak Constitution. It does not provide for the dismissal of the MB by HRH Sultan Azlan.
written by latihanQ, May 06, 2009 14:02:25
Gani, who is appearing in his personal capacity as intervener, said "the Barisan Nasional had a clear majority of 31 seats in the assembly".

>>> that is here-say and was never tested in the Perak State Assembly. Ghani is misleading the court.
written by latihanQ, May 06, 2009 14:05:17
Gani said "it was implied that a menteri besar must resign as the sovereign could not remove him".

>>>exactly, it was implied, and the sovereign could not remove Nizar. So we are all in agreement Nizar is still the legit MB!
written by latihanQ, May 06, 2009 14:10:17
As much as Ghani attempts to intervene on Tamby's behalf, all the points raised by Ghani is more harmful to Thamby's cause than helpful. It is clearer than crystal Thamby is an illegitimate, usurper pretender MB. Morally and legally, he has no legal standing to continue squatting in the MB's office.
The State Secretary must do the right thing by immediately evicting this squatter.
written by mikewang, May 06, 2009 15:15:48
The biggest flaw is that the judiciary intervened in the legislative procedures and decisions when the constitution expressly forbids the court to do so.

Choice of government is expressed through the vote of the people.
No court nor individuals, acting singly or in group, should usurp that.
Where ever there is a doubt on who should form the rightful government, that choice must be returned to the rakyat.

Even a primary school kid can tell you that.
written by alarcarte, May 06, 2009 17:40:39
The sultan cannot sack him (Nizar) but the honourable way is to resign once he has lost the majority."
========================

RUBBISH!
written by KKchan, May 06, 2009 18:40:46
I think the legal position is now very clear. AG has submitted that the Sultan cannot sack the MB but that if the Sultan had refused a dissolution, MB must in good conscience, resign. Acting on one's conscience is not the law and only the law counts. AG is now saying that the Sultan was actually wrong in law to have appointed Zambry when clearly there was no law for the Sultan to sack Nizar and Nizar had refused to resign. It would be reading too much in the Perak Constitution to 'deem' that Nizar had resigned. He said he had not and will not, much like the 3 ADUNs who repudiated their signed letters of resignation.