Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Not only a failed state but a failed society as well

Not only a failed state but a failed society as well PDF Print
Tuesday, 05 May 2009 18:21

Heaven? How can a prostitute go to heaven? And one who allows a ‘dirty’ dog to drink from her hands on top of that. And the Prophet explained that she is going to heaven because she showed compassion to the dog.

In his recent Workers Day message, prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak says he wants Malaysia to be a high-income economy. “We will not allow the country to remain as it is but find ways to achieve a quantum leap so that we can be in the high income bracket,” he told reporters.

The prime minister has it right that Malaysia will have to make a quantum leap if figures provided by the World Bank are anything to go by.

The World Bank classifies a high-income country as having a gross national income (GNI) per capita of US$11,456 or more. According to the latest figures available from the World Bank, in 2007, Malaysia had a GNI per capita of US$6,420, far behind high-income societies such as Singapore (US$32,340), South Korea (US$19,730), Japan (US$37,790), Hong Kong (US$31,560), Australia (US$35,760), Finland (US$44,300), and Switzerland (US$60,820) and Norway (US$77,370).

Malaysia falls into the World Bank’s upper-middle-income bracket defined as GNI per capita of between US$3,706 and US$11,455. Other countries with similar GNI per capita include Gabon (US$7,020), Russia (US$7,530), Romania (US$6,390) and Botswana (US$6,120).

Industry officials warn, however, that without addressing key issues such as productivity and subsidy mentalities, Malaysia will not be able to transform itself into a sustainable high-income society. Many Malaysian companies have become dependent on a relatively weak currency, cheap foreign labour and subsidies for electricity and water instead of striving to become more efficient and developing high quality and high value good and services.

Shamsuddin Bardan, executive director at the Malaysian Employers Federation says that wages should be commensurate with productivity and points to Singapore as a benchmark that Malaysia should compare itself against.

An extract from To reach First World, Malaysia has to pass Gabon by Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider (http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/25421-to-reach-first-world-malaysia-has-to-pass-gabon)

That was the point I tried to make in my recent piece: It’s about the economy, stupid (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/21287/84/). Of course, I did not use indicators and measurements like GNI, GDP, FDI, GNP and whatnot because these terms are sometimes beyond the comprehension of the average person, which would be the majority of the Malaysian voter.

As they say, KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid. And what can be more simple than the price of a chicken which is almost the staple food of most Malaysians, unless you are in the high-income bracket and can afford exotic foods. And, today, even ikan bilis, which used to be the poor man’s food, can be bloody expensive.

Today, what can the Ringgit buy compared to, say, 40 years ago? Okay, I have espoused that issue so many times in the past so I will not bore you, again, with the details. But that is what we should be focusing on. What is the Ringgit worth today compared to when we were still in school?

Today, our income has not increased that much compared to 40 years ago. Even if it may have doubled since the last 40 years that is no bloody good when costs have increased ten times over during that same period. Today, a university graduate will not earn ten times what a university graduate of 40 years ago was earning. But he or she would certainly have to pay ten times more for goods and services compared to what a university graduate of 40 years ago had to pay.

That is the bottom line. And that is what has made today’s Malaysians poorer compared to Malaysians of 40 years ago.

It may not appear like Malaysians are poorer today compared to Malaysians of 40 years ago. This is because most Malaysians of 40 years ago did not receive the benefit of a good education. And for sure those who went to university were in the minority.

Today, almost everyone receives an education, unless they choose not to go to school. And there are many who went to higher institutions of learning, universities included. So it appears like Malaysians are better off today because more have gone to school and have received a higher education compared to 40 years ago.

And this is where another problem arises. Because they are educated, have a diploma or degree, or whatever, they expect good jobs. In the past, because you are not educated, you go for menial jobs. But would an educated person or university graduate want to become a plumber of bricklayer?

The irony of this whole thing is while the educated Malaysian will never work as a plumber or bricklayer, the reality is, a skilled and hardworking plumber or bricklayer can earn more money than a fixed-wage university graduate. So has education really helped us earn more money? You might argue that education is never wasted, as many would argue. But the fact remains that educated Malaysians are sometimes not really educated in the real sense of the word in spite of the so-called education they are supposed to have received.

And that brings us to the next point, the quality of Malaysian education. Yes, we go to school. We may have even gone for higher education and have this very impressive piece of paper with our name on it hanging on our office wall. But are we really educated?

Education is not about passing exams. It is also not about how many years we have spent in a lecture hall. It is about what we have developed into at the end of it all.

Education must also reflect in how civil we have become and whether we have compassion and are considerate and all that. Malaysians may have spent many years in a lecture hall and may even have this piece of paper with their name on it, but they are as ‘educated’ as, say, the Taliban sitting in the mountains of Afghanistan who has never seen a classroom in his life and grows poppy for a living.

Yes, Malaysians look down on the Taliban, especially Malaysia Today’s readers. They think that the Taliban are a primitive lot. When they talk about backwardness, they talk about turning Malaysia into Taliban-land, the epitome of backwardness. Actually, Malaysians are just slightly better in mentality but not really that far ahead.

Take one example. How do Malaysians treat animals? Malaysians treat animals like………well, like animals. The educated people from the West do not treat animals the way Malaysians do. In the West, animals are treated as living beings. Would an educated Westerner banish 300 dogs to a deserted island where they will starve to death? In Malaysia, we would do that without any feelings whatsoever.

Fortunately it was the Chinese from Pulau Ketam who did this. If it were Malays, I would be whacking away till kingdom come. But this does not mean Malays are any kinder to dogs. The Malays from the local councils would round up stray dogs and drag them behind their motorcycles with wires tied around their necks. Imagine these dogs being dragged along the pavement. By the time they arrive at their destination the dog is dead and half of it is has been deposited all over the road.

A society is judged by the way it treats its animals. And Malaysia has failed that test. As I said, if it was just the Chinese who are cruel to animals, as many are (just go to a Chinese restaurant and see how they store those live turtles and whatnot -- sickening), maybe I would not bother to say anything. But Malays have no excuse because Malays are always foaming at the mouth screaming about Islam -- and Islam is very specific about how animals should be treated. Torturing animals or showing cruelty to animals goes against the teachings of Islam and there are no two ways about it.

I will close by relating a story about Prophet Muhammad that is quite popular and often enough related. One day, Prophet Muhammad was on a journey with some of his followers and he saw a prostitute giving a dog a drink of water in the cup of her hands. The Prophet commented that the prostitute is destined for heaven.

Heaven? How can a prostitute go to heaven? And one who allows a ‘dirty’ dog to drink from her hands on top of that. And the Prophet explained that she is going to heaven because she showed compassion to the dog.

Have the Muslims learned anything in 1,500 years?

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by malgal, May 05, 2009 18:31:06
and kugan and many more like him, too raised little ire among the general public at large. we are a sedated tranquilised lot.

agree 149
written by ahmadneil, May 05, 2009 18:33:15
How are you RPK! For quite a while already you are safe in your hideout! can you give us any clue how are your days getting on.Have your life been affected by this hiding.We are in the dark.You can report live to us from your bunker!Thanks!
disagree 59
written by teckkuan, May 05, 2009 18:43:18
Dear Sir, i would love it if the Chinese are whacked for their cruelty to animals. there is certainly no excuses for ANYONE to treat animals that way. i am a chinese and i am sick of the cold blooded mentality that the Pulau Ketam residents have, we should just boycott Pulau Ketam altogether.

and i agree, there is much for our PM to do if he wants to raise the earnings of fellow Malaysians. i think deep down, Najib knows that if he does not deliver something before the next GE (taking into account that he could not abolish the ISA, the Printings and Publication Act or any other necessary reforms) the only few things he could do to postpone BN's fall is to improve the economy.

i am not confident, but i shall reserve my judgment first and give him 2 years to deliver the goods
disagree 41
written by GobloGadhero, May 05, 2009 18:43:22
YM,

Agree that most Malaysians treat animals poorly. We are also disrespectful of our lovely natural resources. We throw rubbish into river, litter our parks with styrofoam packages, etc.

It is disheartening.

Some of my contacts are migrating.

But I love Malaysia too much to abandon it just like that.

What can I do?
written by ahmadneil, May 05, 2009 18:44:53
The greatness of a nation is determined by the way the animals are treated.
Yes,and that man who sent 300 dogs to Pulau Ketam must face the same fate as those dogs one day.May be in this life he won't but in the next life he will be treated the same as he treat those dogs.And those melayu who drag those dogs using wire will face the same fate also.
Why are these uncivilised people acting like this.Is it that they want to vent their anger on these innocent animals becos they have quarrel with their wife or is it that they have a bad day in Genting Casino!
written by gycgocnt, May 05, 2009 18:47:33
How government treat its citizen- Sent into jail by ISA, OSA, Police Act, Press Printing and Publication Act, Sedition Act and blah blah blah. Is the policy or law-maker are human being without “Hati Perut”?

How government treat stray animal- Give some money to its citizen and ask the citizens to catch the stray dogs and cats, and they said this is a policy to benefit Rakyat pocket. Peoples submit tax in order to get services from the government, but the government takes this money to ask peoples to serve them back and do all the jobs.

How government treat foreigner- Lifted NEP for foreigner to invest here, but refuse to lifted NEP for Non-Malay which contribute most of the tax in this land. Maybe this stupid government wish to turn Bolehland into Foreignland”.

We can conclude that we are not Islamic State or Secular State, but “Fail State” instead!
written by Lim Lim, May 05, 2009 18:49:20
down here,they don't only torture animals,they don't only torture dogs,they torture human beings,they torture the minorities,they torture the other races n they torture even their own kind.
in malaysia,it is one of only a few rare places on earth where umno be end leaders ,both past n present;preach hatred,propagating hoodwinking agenda so that the people would hate each other n not love each other as malaysian so that they can secure power to rob n steal from the rakyat,rippind off the nation big time!
written by cheekymate, May 05, 2009 18:51:26
40 years ago, the father would be happy using Ketuanan Melayu slogan to cheat the Rakyat of RM one million. Today, 40 years later, the son will not be puas hati until he hits USD 400 million in his submarine commission deals. That's inflation alright!
agree 110
written by krising1, May 05, 2009 18:52:22
We have beaten world standards in how we treat our prisoners; how our religious officials snatch bodies and how we snatch children from their mothers. We also have beaten world standards in snatching a state from the rightfully elected government.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 05, 2009 18:52:52
Talking about compassion to animals by Muslims? Well, I've related recently how two teachers (both Muslims) killed dogs. One bashed the animal to death and the other poisoned it. I don't know where they're heading, heaven or hell but that was that I came across. It dogs can be cruelly harmed just think what will happen to pigs, another being created by Allah if they happen to come across these maniacs. Animals are created for the benefit of mankind but ignorance has become as excuse to harm those lesser beings.
written by bakas, May 05, 2009 18:53:06

If they cannot treat animals the right way, what hope do we have for our fellow human beings? Some of the abuses done by the police behind the bars are sickening and similar to the way they treat the animals. Let's not even talk about our future generation, it's even more worrying.

Pity. And pathetic too.

Peace to all smilies/grin.gif
written by justinlian, May 05, 2009 19:14:44
I wonder how many people understand that word compassion and how and what to do
and what not to do ?
written by Jimbo, May 05, 2009 19:38:53
Najis and the cock licking BN leaders can talk till the cows come home, nothing substantial will be done I can assure you. It is just talk talk talk and nothing else. Exactly what Bodohwi did. BN wants to win back the electorate so that they can continue to screw the citizens big time again. Nothing more. So if we give them a bigger mandate then we truly deserve to be screwed big time. I am past 60 so I know the history of this country and all the things that have taken place. I have eaten more salt than most have eaten rice.
I came out to work in 1971. Pay RM650.00 House in SS2 cost RM20,000.00. A Datsun SSS 1600 cost RM9,000.00. A smaller car cost RM5,000.00.
Today a fresh graduate earns RM2,000.00. A house in SS2 cost at least RM300,000.00.
A Honda city cost RM85,000.00. A Proton cost RM45,000.00.
No need to sat any thing more. You the citizens of Malaysia calculate for yourself and see how we have been screwed big time by the BN govt for the last 50 years of our independence. We deserve the govt we get becos we put them there. At least my conscience is clear. Since the day I was eligible to vote I have never given my vote to the BN or Alliance becos I believe in true democracy where we need a viable opposition. So my fellow Malaysians, do not blame anyone, blame yourself becos you allowed yourself to be screwed big time.
agree 161
written by malaysianohope, May 05, 2009 19:48:09
A Developed Nation is not only measured in terms of GNI but also a society which is civic minded & compassionate towards others whether human kind or animals. Malaysia is neither & I'm not confident that it will achieve developed status by 2020. Just look at our PM & his Dotty who are suspected of involvement in the cruel murder of a harmless pregnant woman. And what about rule of laws with the power-that-be freely using draconian laws like ISA, Sedition Act & restriction of Freedom of Assembly & Speech to shackle Malaysians.
As for the 300 dogs banished to an isolated island it's the case of wrong decisions. The Pulau Ketam Chinese did not foresee the problem of starvation & they thought it's was better than destroying the dogs outright. I think they are not worse than the Japanese who slaughtered whales in the name of scientific research or the Canadians who club to death young seals for culling or the Norwegians who cornered dolphins to be speared. Mind you these countries have high GNI but for cruelty towards animals they are beyond compare.
written by Old Man, May 05, 2009 19:51:53
Sir RPK,
Your article is very comprehensive.
Mistreating and/or killing both humans and other living beings is wrong. Compassion will come naturally if we have RESPECT for all living beings!
Bird's Flu exist came into being after a lot of ( helpless )chicken were killed for our consumption.
Then comes the Mad Cow's disease followed by the Swine Flu. Please do not be surprised if the next one will be Dog's Flu!
Is it not Karma? Please consider COMPASSION as our way of life. TQ
written by AzizKadir2u, May 05, 2009 19:54:21
Malaysia is like Zimbabwa, like Burmah or Myanmar, like Ethiopia, like the backward country in this world. Why ?
we are rank among the worse countries, because we our purchasing power is very louzy, very low compare to other country like Singapore, HongKong, European, even Korean, Taiwan. #1 problem is : we Malaysia is very corrupt, the politicians, the Umno and BN politician are the main beneficiary, you and me the ordinary rakyat, we the ordinary citizen of Malaysia tak kira bangsa, we are screwed we are the victim of the BN politicians, look at them, they are the one that like the ex Selangor MB, they the family go to the Disney land, they go Australia using our public money, they are doing it in a very open manner, this is discovered by the new Selangor government, what about the rest of the corruption, they are so many of them,
as every day goes by, we continue to pay Toll, LDP, Plus highway etc..........why ? because they the politician of Umno and BN they can get rich,
we have to pay AP for our CAR ? why ? shit, we are ordinary citizen, already paying the income tax, paying roadtax, paying, all kind of tax, some more we need to pay the license, and the AP, every damn thing, we need to pay tax.

it is about time, we Malaysian (tak kira bangsa) realize, and wake up,
our chicken food, is expensive, our Car is expensive, our living cost is expensive why ?
e.g. we make rm$3000, and our friend in USA make us$3000,
they USA can buy a lot more thing than us ? do not need to do any conversion,
in USA, their BBQ chicken is only us$4.99,
our malaysian BBQ Chicken is about rm$12.99.
in USA, their Camry Toyota car is only about us$20,000.
in Malaysia our Camry is about rm$150,000.
in Singapore their car is also about S$59,000 only.
in China their Car is even cheaper, their
So, we compare dollar to dollar, no need to do conversion,
a Waitress in USA they make about us$2000 per month, they feel they
can buy so much more than us, their plasma or LCD TV, they are only cheaper than our dollar for dollar,
dont believe, ask your friends, and ask your relative who live overseas,

we are slightly better than Myanmar, we are like Zimbabwa, like Ethiopia, like Nigeria, where the people are worse off, but the government is better,

so, malaysian, wake up, wake up, after 50 years , BN and Umno the government are the one make them very rich, they corruption and greedy everywhere, we rakyat have to pay for the expensive things, milk powder, food, clothing, the car,
the toll, everything is expensive.

we dont deserve all this shit, we deserve much better, we must vote for pakatan, so that we have a new choice, we have new beginning, we must change the govermen.
period, we must change .......
dont take shit from the politician, the 1 malaysian, bull shit,
change them, so they know we are serious.

or else, we will be poor again,
try it nothing to loose, we are so poor anyway, can not be worse....
look at perak, they the BN and umno only want power, they are not serious about rakyat,
they continue with their high class live, we rakyat suffer,
bad time, we still pay the income tax, still pay the toll, still pay the AP,
why ? we rakyat better wake up.
agree 163
written by Raja Chulan, May 05, 2009 20:02:28
AzizKadir2u

Well said and I think you must be graduate from University of Life. Congratulation.
written by Anti Relon, May 05, 2009 20:17:04
You are absolutely correct,uAzizKadir2u. Dollar to dallar, Malaysia is expensive. Just compare My prices with US prices for basic things. But the workers are getting My wages but paying US prices prices for the same things. Compare prices for McDonalds, Coke. You pay US prices but earn My wages.
This is what MITI and Domestice Minister must look into.
written by panca, May 05, 2009 20:18:57
Shamsuddin Bardan, executive director at the Malaysian Employers Federation says that wages should be commensurate with productivity and points to Singapore as a benchmark that Malaysia should compare itself against.

written by panca, May 05, 2009 20:22:03

>>>>

written by panca, May 02, 2009 21:45:23
Compare to neighbour Singapore, food and car are cheaper in the ratio of one to one. The HDB flats are better than lots of condo and every citizen given house ownership.

At one ocassion waiting for appointment there were casual talks among those queueing for their turns, many complained about how Malaysia houses were getting costly(unreasonably, too much of additional hidden cost to the coffers of people in power?) and they did not even know that Singapore govt ensure each citizen has house ownership opportunity. They were surprised, the pak ciks were hearing something new, in fact it's been there since many decades ago.
written by gogsard, May 05, 2009 20:27:26
"The irony of this whole thing is while the educated Malaysian will never work as a plumber or bricklayer, the reality is, a skilled and hardworking plumber or bricklayer can earn more money than a fixed-wage university graduate."

I completely agreed with you on this RPK. I have many friends in the agriculture sector, work under the hot scorching sun earn 3 or 4 times more than any average graduate person who had work for 10 years in air conditioning and comfy chair.

I also know a "tukang potong rumput" who earn anywhere from 7k to 10k a month, have a 300k house loan and settle in in 10 years, and all his children go to overseas university.
written by cruzeiro, May 05, 2009 20:28:51
Yes Pete - That's what I was talking about when I replied to your "Robespierre on freedom of the press" http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/14821/84/.

People generally don't know the difference between "education" and "schooling". They tend to equate one with the other.
In fact, the system (with the help of BTN)that we have in our schools encourages arrogance, pride, ignorance and selfishness as part of their "education". Social consciousness/awareness is nowhere near what they wish for the kids who grow up and "learn" in institutes of higher education.

People today are taught that status & money is the things that matter - not "values". They are taaught that Quantity matters, and not quality - in all that you have, do and aspire for.
So much so it becomes an obsession - and all this while the money they make drops in its purchasing power according to the plans of the "compassionate authorities" who plan their "social engineering". To compensate for that, they work harder and longer - even if their productivity and quality suffers. Meanwhile the most vociferous of them are given freebies and peanuts as a means to placate their frustrations and greed.
They work longer and longer hours, so much so, that they don't have much time for family, society or even themselves. (Take a walk into any "urban" housing project - you'll see that most of them don't know people in the neighborhood). So to expect them (under this BN/Umno regime) to care for the weak, the downtrodden, the marginalized and all that is asking for a little too much.

This consequently also results in a people who don't have time to think about the choices/options before them, so as to be able to make "informed decisions". With such a situation, they would seek out "leaders" to do the thinking for them, so that they can go on with their lives like kerbaus that work and get back home for some much needed rest.

This phenomenon creates a society that is paralysed without the intervention of "authorities" - and hence increases the "importance" of politicians with ulterior motives.
Indeed Pete - Malaysia is (almost) a failed society.
written by cruzeiro, May 05, 2009 20:30:10
Ignorance Freedom = Chaos
http://cruzinthots.********.co...chaos.html
written by panca, May 05, 2009 20:41:13

Education is not about passing exams. It is also not about how many years we have spent in a lecture hall. It is about what we have developed into at the end of it all

I thought at the end of it all, the sticker at the back of the car literally shouts "I am a graduate from University" and so proud you see many on display(perhaps they to be proud at the end of it all) but certainly we hope they do not disregard the importance of humility, kindness and part of a quality society. Drive courteously too. Good luck and while you stick it up(display), don't get stuck up!
written by Homeyasu, May 05, 2009 20:47:51
The truth is simple. No one is happy with the country. Moreover, the czar is worse than moronic. Even if we rant and berate at that parasite in the belly, it just wouldn't come out through the belly button or magically disappear into some godforsaken hell hole. Oh god, I JUST HATE THAT PIECE OF POOP. Poopy now hangs a sword of Damocles above us. He can behead us with just a slight swing effortlessly. Those MPs, they don't need the Camry, they need to be whitewashed and plastic surgeries - a facial transplant, actually.
written by greenarrow, May 05, 2009 20:53:25
UMNO struggling with internal brawls...MCA specialised in spying on own members with CCTV...MIC failed to stop many temples been demolished...and the whole Federal Government and BARISAN NASIONAL still practising CORRUPTION & INJUSTICE

They themselves cant be in "ONE ACCORD"...they wont compromised...predatoring to destroy...asasinate & behaving like a political terrorist

oooossshhhh.....here comes a NEw Slogan 'ONE MALAYSIA' from them...believe BN..& you will be treated equally..and no more " Marginalisation"

Those who believe this SLOGAN..will be the BIGGEST FOOL !

* Panah Hijau
written by lynn, May 05, 2009 20:55:20
My colleague (Malay) was just complaining to me this evening; his daughter gets RM2.00 to take to school everyday for recess but complained it's not enough to buy food! Things are so expensive here in the Klang valley.

WTF? This country had so much wealth and all that wealth was spent by that Indian from Kerala on the longest, tallest, biggest projects to boost his ego & others to to his cronies' billions. Why can't the govt give free food to public schools esp. children from poor families like my colleague who earns less than 2k a month as a storehand?

Not only kids had to spend so much on food but they eat dirty, greasy, unhealthy food prepared by filthy, smelly, unwashed Indonesians in unhygenic conditions - anytime u go to a school canteen, chances are there are 1000 flies on the floors & tables than u can count.

Meanwhile the bn ministers send their kids to international schools. Your kids? They can go to hell. Yeh, right, vote BN-lah. My colleague used to be hardcore umno supporter - today he said, "dulu" - sekarang, he sokong Pakatan Rakyat.

Keep the stories coming, RPK, let's work hard & make a change of federal govt happen come GE13.

We want a quality life, damn it! We want quality, quality, quality, not quantity (like a few thousand flies buzzing around your table & chair in the mamak shop. Where are the health enforcement officers? Oops, sorry, forgot this is a shitty third world country!

written by panca, May 05, 2009 21:02:05
Talking about Chinese, they eat most animals as if there are not enough of domesticated animals around, with exception of cats and dogs, 'they' are pets though domesticated (the same I would refrain eating game) and friends that do would say anything with their back facing the sky is edible.

My friends, we had noodles and the owner is(was) one nice old man who would offer cigarettes while customers wait their turns and pointing to him, I said would eat him, (he is such a nice man who served and donated his earnings ten of thousands to school). He has warmth personality and his back faced the skies.

Perhaps before anyone(Chinese) eat any animals(game) or so-called exotic food, remember the old man's deeds. Spare a thought for the poor animal, let and let live!
written by areenna, May 05, 2009 21:20:18
I think MT readers are smart enough to know that it's not about you can be a prostitute your whole life, then give a dirty dog to drink from your hand and you go to heaven.

If the prostitute can give a dirty dog to drink from her hand, it reflects that she is compassion human being. The chances is that she is compassion to other human beings too (although she may be not that compassion when in bed).

The keyword is COMPASSION. Maybe we are lacking in that department, as long as we can get what we want, we don't really care about others. Or maybe we don't really want to go to heaven like we claimed we are.
written by sydput, May 05, 2009 21:21:57
Make RM at par with S$ and we will acheive high income status.(It was at par before mahathir became PM)
Food will be cheaper too. And chicken will cost about RM5 each.
written by teo siew chin, May 05, 2009 21:22:11
Compassion?
Geeez, even a prostitute dont deserve to be C4ed.
And the wall of silence - does it not condone such a heinous act?
All 'education' is wasted on a person if he cannot even be a decent human being.

And why is it that a decent human being is ISAed, is exiled from his state, is forced to leave the comforts of his own home just becos he fights corruption and injustice - the state has failed YM RPK, society has failed YM RPK, we have failed YM RPK ! Now it is WE who must overcome the forces of evil, WE who must fight for and with YM RPK - lawan tetap lawan!
written by sydput, May 05, 2009 21:25:58
Most student doing higher education waste 7 more years of life without income compared to those who start work at the age of 17.
By the time these students graduate, the guy who works after leaving school probably has a small business and some savings.
therefore the govenment policy of keeping unqualified malays in college is actually making them poorer.
written by Admiral Tojo, May 05, 2009 21:30:33
We have gone very backwards indeed, look at how we treat Mongolians. Malu aku

written by densemy, May 05, 2009 21:32:54
Thanks RPK... its time Malaysians of all races started to face up to the fact that its not only the government that is at fault... its the whole nation and the government is only reflecting the rot that is Malaysian Society

The almost universal "I Dont Give A Fusk" attitude of Malaysians is the root cause of every evil plaguing this country

And that attitude pervades every aspect of Malaysian society as well as the members of that Society.

The Pulau Ketam dogs are only a hint of what is wrong, the suburban dogs of wealthy PJ are no better treated by their ever-so-caring owners

And the government picks up where the people left off because they DGAF about the people either. So that the 'developments' that have benefited the people are almost non existent and occur as words only

You could virtually say that nothing much that has passed as governance for the last three decades has been of any great benefit to the people of Malaysia

Yet in your naivety you believe "you have never had it so good" because you have been told that so often that you actually believe it.

The hypocrisy of it all is that you claim to be such a self-righteous, god fearing country with a well established set of values and principles

Poppy cock!!!!
written by areenna, May 05, 2009 21:35:35
Latest news: BERSIH's spokesman Wong Chin Huat arrested for alleged seditinon.
What's wrong with having a free and fair election? What sedition?

A sign of a failed society.
written by Justice Bao, May 05, 2009 21:46:58
Shamsuddin Bardan, how can you compare Bolehland land with Singapore ( it is only a small city as per UMNO/BN's opinion)? You should only compare malaysia with Somalia, Zimbabwe or Aghanistan as Malaysia is slightly better than those countries. Most of the malaysian are educated by a corrupted education system which prepares most of the students to be UMNO/BN's supporters as they have no quality / value to the real working world especially in the private companies. Poor command of English leave the student with no choice (in private sectors) but ended up in the government department.
written by areenna, May 05, 2009 21:51:53
written by ahmadneil, May 05, 2009 18:33:15

How are you RPK! For quite a while already you are safe in your hideout! can you give us any clue how are your days getting on.Have your life been affected by this hiding.We are in the dark.You can report live to us from your bunker!Thanks!

That the most sickening comment I have ever read in Malaysia Today. You sound like a sick serial killer torturing a lady and asking how does she feel. How some MT readers can agree with that is more sickening.

I hope I missunderstood your comment though.
written by cheemengwong, May 05, 2009 22:18:25
Like I said... Cambell soup is beyond my reach already. Today my soup was sawi, some chicken with starch thrown in and eggs. Total cost-less than 2 ringgit.

The cybercafe offering online roulettes are full. People are trying to make an extra buck or so. Prostitutes are desperate for customers...even China girls are frequently these cafes to make some quick bucks while waiting for customers.

Even secretary has to moonlight to sauck his boss dicck and in the process bit it in half! Read http://archives.thestar.com.my...tary+penis

It goes to show how true what Pete has written.
written by renoir, May 05, 2009 22:21:28
Western countries, particularly the Anglo-Saxon varriety, often pass themselves as being more humane towards animals than their Asian counterparts. Yet facts appear to belie appearances: in the US about 12 million dogs and cats - many of them alert and healthy - are euphemistically "put to sleep" ANNUALLY.

Like humans, animals tend to look cute and lovable when young, and that's the reason why people want them. As the furry animals grow older, their attractive features slowly disappear, so oftentimes they are ignored and even neglected, which of course make them sullen or sulky, and at times neurotic. That's when owners "forget" to bring them along to family picnics, or even give them proper food. My midwestern neighbor once used a baseball bat to beat his labrador - a wonderful hunting dog. Most owners, however, simply move their dogs and cats to animal shelters, where they hope someone else would adopt them. However, most remain unwanted: about 55% of the dogs are killed in those shelters. Cats got it worse - more than 70% are "put away."

Many American cat owners couldn't bear the thought of their pets being killed at the shelters, so, like what the Pulau Ketam people did to their dogs, they took the kittens far away and let them survive on their own. These became "feral" or free-roaming, unowned cats, and they, unless spayed, would produce litters that in turn become strays and the vicious cycle continues when each litter reach adulthood. According to Spay USA, an unspayed female cat, her mate and the entire litter, producing 2 litters per year and with 2.8 surviving kittens each year can total 11,606,077 cats in 9 years. And an unspayed female dog and her offspring can reproduce, in the same fashion 67,000 dogs in 6 years.

So spaying/neutering could solve part of the problem, but then, many of the dogs and cats in shelters HAVE been spayed or neutered. More surprisingly, about one-third of the dogs sent to shelters are pedegreed dogs, meaning they're pure-blooded. So perhaps it's more important for people to resist that cute, furry look in animals in the first place. See them, enjoy their antics, but refrain from owning them.

written by arazak, May 05, 2009 22:22:43
Najis said; “We will not allow the country to remain as it is but find ways to achieve a quantum leap so that we can be in the high income bracket,”
--------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Mr. Prime Minister,

Bold dreams indeed. . ., a la Mat Jenin!

Well, for starters before we talk about “high-income bracket”, could you and Baginda return the half-billion ringgit you stole from the rakyaat under the pretext of "commission" for the Scorpane deal. Also please return back the other stolen monies including from the Sukhoi deal too. That is our money and not yours or Baginda's money. That billions of RM you and your cronies stole from us could be used to help the unemployed graduates to kick start small businesses.

You know what disgust us most? Corruption and looting! If corruption and looting is a "culture" in your ruling regime, don't ever dream of turning this country into a “high-income” bracket nation. You and your cronies are no doubt in the "high-income bracket". While we, the rakyaat are still struggling to make ends need.

We are thinking about the food we are going to put on the table for our families, while you and your Big Fat Mama are thinking about the things to buy in London and Paris this summer!

We are so financially strapped that going to the Ulu Kelang Zoo are considered luxury. But your UMNO cronies and their families could afford to visit Disneyland using our money. . ., yes our money! Our children could only dream of seeing Mickey Mouse and Disneyland!

We live in small compact apartments and terrace houses, but your ex-UMNO Menteri Besar could afford to live in a RM 110,000 per night suite in Hawaii. I heard he now resides in a newly built RM15 million palace in Shah Alam! Wonder where he got all the money? Can you explain this to us?

Our gratification during the holidays is to travel on an 8 hour bus trip to Langkawi. But your cronies who stole our money travel in a red Ferrari all over Europe, wining and dining at 5 star hotels. We could only dream of sending our children to UK to study, while your crony now is doing PhD using the money stolen from us!

Oh by the way, you should be ashamed with our Singaporean neighbor. Those people running that country are non-Muslims and they eat pork too! Yet, they do not indulge into corruption, while your regime that is mostly Muslims running the country indulged into corruption. Perhaps “makan rasuah” taste better than “makan babi”!

Lastly Mr. PM, please do this homework; check in the “Corruption Perception Index” list and compare it with GNI per capita index list. Did you notice that those countries which are in the high-income bracket are also the countries which are least corrupted. Put this in your thick skull; this country can never be a “high-income bracket” while corruption is still your regime’s culture. . .STUPID!!!
written by wartank, May 05, 2009 23:08:56
Regarding the Chinese in Pulau Ketam, there could be two sides of the story. It could be possible that it was an act of ignorance. Noticed that none of the dogs was mistreated or harmed when left at the island.
The owners could have been pressured by the authorities to get rid of the dogs as the island is to be made a tourist attraction. It could even be an act to prevent the dogs from being culled or tortured.
They might think that releasing the animals into the wild is an act of salvation, not taking the harsh environment into consideration.
We shouldn't prejudge as we are not aware of the whole story.
Either way, they should actually still be whacked and critised for deserting their pets like they did or for being such ignorant fools.
written by shiokguy, May 05, 2009 23:21:32
Its the NEP, Stupid

Dear YM RPK, Sorry I have to borrow your word "STUPID". The main root cause is the NEP and those related policy. The Late Tun Dr. Ismail has his view on this here..

1.http://shiokguy.********.com/2...l-nep.html
written by shiokguy, May 05, 2009 23:23:35
The Education system, civil services, police and enforcement and GLC are the victim of NEP

written by SamBall, May 05, 2009 23:30:31
Forget the chicken, forget the dog. OK OK, we have a chicken PM and the country is going to the dogs.

The kera'lite has sucked the country dry with his greed and corrupt cronyism.

Petronas is the golden goose, and it is fast drying up with all the greedy sticky fingers in the pie. This time, the kaka has truely cooked his goose!

Perhaps there is still a chance; yeah, right when pigs fly. Now the pig flu, so maybe something will happen?
written by cheekhiaw, May 05, 2009 23:37:32
Knowing that this fella is the head of a bunch of thieves, the 'quantum leap...into a higher income bracket' is more likely going to be the result of a depreciation of the Ringgit or USD or both!

written by duke_nemo, May 05, 2009 23:55:44
YM,
Well said, but I'dont think that any one single person whom likes to misstreat dogs would like to hear the truth - cruelty on animals, especially on dogs. As in their minds , the only animal that can be accepted as a pet or even better 'An Animal' would be the cat, which they can let it breed every knooks and corners of this country and expects everyone to adopt this felines and like it. I'm sure everyone would have encountered this creatures sleeping on the tables of some restaurants or gaze at u while ur having dinner hoping to get some piece of meat from us. Wherelse if they see any dogs loitering around their premises, the restaurant owner would imediately find ways to abuse it to the maximum i.e scalding the dogs with hot boiling water/oil. Why can't everyone treat all the animals equally???????????? Being said that, that's how I feel certain group of people in our beloved country treating their fellow brethren ;some like cats with all the pampering and some without any dignity..like mongrels
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 06, 2009 01:22:15
The economics of a government is to ensure that things are relatively cheap for everyone to buy and afford. However in Malaysia this cannot work because most of the mechanism that should allow free market prices are controlled by the lopsided NEP policy where we have a few controlling basic needs.

it is like a cartell where a few bumiputeras are given exclusive licences to bring in commodities and redistribute to Malaysians.

As such even if imported rice and oil is cheaper we are not allowed to have it.
Bernas controls rice distribution in Malaysia. Rice production in Malaysia is more expensive in or country compared to Thailand. To protect a few lazy buggers we have to end up paying more for rice. This in ISLAM IS A GREAT SIN because what can feed a family of 10 before now can only feed 5.

But that is not the end. Some ass of Minister wanted only specific plastic carriers to be used in the distribution of fish when all the while there was no issue on this.
Again the licence for these plastic carriers was controlled by some bloody greedy malay bastard which immediatley sent the market reeling with fish prices going up.nOW WITH THE HUE AND CRY THE POLICY HAS CHANGED.

Chicken and eggs..poor man's meal is now again affected.

The blooody local car is more expensive than the same one sold in England..while over in India there is a car as cheap as US 2000 for its citizens to buy.

There is this indirect taxation which is being passed on to us Malaysians to make a few rich.

another example is the bloody toll. We had few cars on the road about 2o years ago. the logic was car users have to pay as they fell into the category of the rich.
Now we have a few million cars on the road. The more cars the more the collection..so the collection should correspondingly decrease over the years..However the logic is defied..with more cars on the road the toll is increased on an annual basis...to make the stakeholders richer...( again some who have the connections to government coNtrols) so we end up paying. When we make noise the Mamak says that prices here are cheaper and the West always wants to attack our system and how democaracy is practised. What is happening is much of the money is being pocketed legally by very few.

and that is because of privatising...for the rich..

The bloody mamak is the cause of this lopsided competition. EVery time I ask him what happened to the 800 billion given to him from our oil money for us there is no answer. His son has the most expensive private jet in Malaysia..NOW DID HE PAY IT WITH HIS DOCTOR'S FEES OR WHAT???

UNTIL AND UNLESS the resources are honestly aimed to be distributed evenly to the people of Malaysia all the supposed MUSLIM UMNO LEADERS ARE COMMITTING A CRIME AND A GREAT SIN AGAINST ALLAH FOR THEY MAKE THE POOR SUFFER...and i hope they rot in HELL
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 06, 2009 01:57:38
"Abolish APs for chicken imports, urges consumer group
> Approved Permits (APs) for the import of chicken have to be abolished and a government-linked company appointed to lead the chicken rearing industry, Utusan Malaysia reported." Muslim Consumers Association of Malaysia secretary-general Datuk Dr Maamor Osman said this was the only way to ensure steady supply at an appropriate price.

He was commenting on the government’s proposal to make chicken a price-controlled item and to liberalise the AP system for (THE STAR 5th may)

CAN THE MUSLIM ASSOCIATION ALSO POINT OUT THAT IT IS TERRIBLE SIN TO EXPLOIT THE POOR
and to make a few bloody MUSLIMS RICH AT THEIR EXPENSE
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 06, 2009 02:03:03
Put an end to the rape of Janda Baik

I AM an avid hiker and nature lover who have been hiking around Janda Baik for the last 20 years. Last week the Prime Minister and his deputy were at Janda Baik, officiating ILMU, an Umno training centre, at Janda Baik. I am sure both of them must have seen the obvious signs of the rape of Janda Baik forest reserve that has been going on for the last 15 years!

The village committte had reported this matter to the Mentri Besar and the Pahang exco on numerous occasions. However, nothing has been done.

The villagers in Janda Baik are extremely unhappy because according to the estimate, more than 10,000 acres of forest reserves have been destroyed.

The “destruction” is apparently financed by towkays from Singapore. What perplexed me

is how can such rampant destruction of the

forest, obvious even from the KL-East Coast Highway, allowed to take place for so long?

The villagers complain that the temperature is getting hotter by the day. The once cool and clear waters have turned into a stream of teh tarik. Fishes are dying and the ecology of the area is fast changing.

The villagers say they will be punished by the Forestry Department if they plant vegetables or fruit trees on the reserve land. Yet, some culprits have been destroying the forest in broad day light and no action is taken.

I hope our PM can help restore the beauty of Janda Baik by having timber trees that can be harvested by our future generation.

I also hope the Forestry Department can use ****** Earth to see the obvious destruction within minutes. The Department must play its role as guardian of our natural heritage.

NATURE LOVER,

ANOTHER EXCLUSIVE RIGHTS GIVEN THE LICENCE TO DESTROY OUR COUNTRY AT THE EXPENSE OF THE POOR MALAYS IN PAHANG....

AND WE CALLL OUR SELVES A MUSLIM COUNTRY...MUNAFIQUE
written by LucidMind, May 06, 2009 06:16:47
Malaysia is becoming a wasteland people and resources are raped by the "leaders".

How many among those "leaders" (of whatever race) has one foot in another country? Look around, see for yourself, its an "open secret".

Rakyat! Open your eyes or you and your future generations will be "raped". (unless you are thinking of leaving too?)
written by evaangel, May 06, 2009 07:32:29
Whack away at those Chinese in Pulau Ketam RPK - you should be indiscriminate about the whacking when it is deserved.
written by *********, May 06, 2009 07:49:14
As long as the Malays in Malaysia buys the Umno crap about Ketuanan Melayu, NEP, Malaysia's GNI will sink further into oblivion...More http://*********.********.com
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 06, 2009 09:08:17
And this is where another problem arises. Because they are educated, have a diploma or degree, or whatever, they expect good jobs. In the past, because you are not educated, you go for menial jobs. But would an educated person or university graduate want to become a plumber of bricklayer?

The irony of this whole thing is while the educated Malaysian will never work as a plumber or bricklayer, the reality is, a skilled and hardworking plumber or bricklayer can earn more money than a fixed-wage university graduate. So has education really helped us earn more money? You might argue that education is never wasted, as many would argue. But the fact remains that educated Malaysians are sometimes not really educated in the real sense of the word in spite of the so-called education they are supposed to have received

IN AUSTRALIA, PLUMBERS/BRICK LAYERS/DRIVERS EARN BIG BUCKS. ALL THANKS TO THE CARTOON'S POLICIES.
written by willove, May 06, 2009 09:59:16
Another fact.
15 years ago when I joined the Multi-Level-Marketing industry, the majority of the people I met were distancing themselves from it, assuming it is for the uneducated & underprivileged & incapable persons. Most, especially the elders thought it is better to concentrate on schools and get a good job.
Now, even teachers & lecturers and whoever (almost) I came across, who one would never thought would get involved in MLM, are now inviting other people to join.
Having this said, I hope it would not give rise to the misunderstanding that MLM is only useful when we are financially tight. It simply means almost everone now is looking for side income to make ends meet. At least this channel that requires genuine effort is better than gambling, and I know that now that Genting Casino is getting better business than ever. Sad!
Yes, I agree it is us who in the first place who voted this corrupted government into place. We have been brain-washed to see the feel good factor on the surface for decades, and only feel pinched when the effect hit us hard.
But NO more we shall tolerate this rape of the people. Watch the latest Chinese film, Nanking! Nanking! The BN is no better than the Japanese army then. Do your part, educate those who so not visit MT. Introduce RPK to them as their friend.
It's already almost too late, but we have to start somewhere. Do it NOW!
written by TWOG, May 06, 2009 10:31:41
Well, not just the way we treat animals. It's the way we treat fellow human beings that is more reflective. If a fellow human being can be blown to bits by C4, why are we surprised that animals are treated this way. Ask Altantuya.

If unproven "criminals" can be locked away by ISA, what cruelty can we not think of? Ask RPK.
written by cruzeiro, May 06, 2009 10:38:13
Hi Pete!
I've got a question-

If you were to sell something which is the result of a robbery to a Muslim, is it "Halal" under Islam, just because some prescribed rituals were followed?
If it is, that fine by me.

But if it isn't, isn't it weird that all the food items and items on the market (Tolls & Proton, for example) is designed to be sold after the large scale legalized robbery thru indirect taxes - and yet are given "Halal" certification by Jakim?

And some people go around protesting about healthy entertainment/ alcohol/ prostitution and what not .....
written by apa jadi, May 06, 2009 12:27:49
I have feeling that those simpletons who banished the dog to the deserted island did not meant to kill the dogs. In their simple minds, they think that the dogs will find their food for survival. What they don't realise was that there aren't many animals for the food chain in that island. Educate these people will be more important. Maybe, just a simple message posted in PK temples "your act of 'fangshen'(release for freedom), has killed them" with the picture of the starving dogs eating dog carcases will help. Get them to call SPCA in future reduction of stray dog population.

On the cruel side, maybe some of the SEA immigrant workers do not realise there are so many strays in PK. They might have swooped the whole population into pots.

written by sukinong, May 06, 2009 14:14:47
80% of the Malaysia GNI should be matched per capita on UMNO members and 20% for the rest of Malaysian. By George, we can be at the top yet from the bottom.
written by TwilightYears, May 06, 2009 17:32:11
Thanks for highlighting cruelty to animals by humans who behave more like animals. It brought tears to my eyes to read the article in one of the newsmedia. I believe that there are other versions of the prostitute in Islam. There is a version to say that it was her shoes she used it to feed the dog dying of thirst. There is another story about the Prophet's kindness to animals which we should emulate. During the 10 thousands march to Makkah, one of the most peaceful takeover of a town in world's history, Prophet Mohammad passed a bitch who's which was about to give birth or already given birth, He gave a command that no one must hurt the animals. His commanders form a ring so that there would not be a stampede (in the excitement of going to Makkah the home of so many of Prophet's followers) and kill the animal.

Do not quote me on this. They were stories heard years ago....

If we are not kind to animals, how can be be kind to humankind? Where's the milk of human kindness..... The Chinese is noted for their extreme cruelty to animal, though there are many who can be loving. Which race one would enjoy their food, by taking the brain from a live monkey tied under a table which was specially made for this purpose?
written by SotPlug, May 06, 2009 17:32:52
Today, I am ashamed that I am a Chinese. Maybe even a Malaysian.

It's time that we block all accesses to and from Pulau Ketam, get some television station to air the "Pulau Ketam Reality Show" and donate half the earnings to feed the dogs.
written by carribeanking7, May 06, 2009 17:43:14

The story of the prostitute going to heaven after allowing a thirsty dog to drink from
her palms as narrated by Abu Huraira was illustrated to me 10 years ago by a friend who used to be with Al-Arqam
who have since re-invented themselves as Rufaqa after the govt declaring the former a deviant group.
He patiently explained the many questions I had about the Quran that I gathered after reading
32 juzu terjemah Al-Quran by M.Said.

He was successful in business so were many Al-Arqam members.

Both religious and political concerns are behind the government crackdown on Ashaari's followers some say.
"The current administration can't afford to allow such movements to undermine its position," said political analyst Yahaya Ismail. "This is why they are going all out."
Somewhere last year when the govt started monitoring Rufaqa and airing at primetime a deadly ritual supposedly linked to the group , I was wondering what made it so urgent primetime news.
I am inclined to agree with Yahaya Ismail, in fact I think they are so successful in business the govts NEP will become redundant.

Ghandhi once said- The greatness of a nation and it's moral progress can be judged by the way it's animals are treated."

When citizens constitutional rights are routinely trampled on what more can one expect of animal rights.

Sometimes I wish humanity was like my bookshelf where the quran, bible, all 24 canto's of srimad bhagavatam, upanishads, vedanta's and
the writings of mystics like OSHO and others sit peacefully in harmony beside each other.

written by densemy, May 06, 2009 18:28:53
Of course the chinese of Pulau Ketam failed to foresee the consequences of their actions. Like good buddhists they could not mistreat an animal, but in their abysmal ignorance they did just what they were hoping to avoid doing... and doing it in the most inhumane way possible

But its not only the chinese who fit into this category... how often have you seen sick and emaciated cats hanging around Malay eating places... even lying on the tables from which they expect humans to eat. The book says that dogs are haram... maybe it should have said muslims are haram because their ignorance and neglect has lead to a situation that is far more threatening to their health than having a few wet dogs hanging around the place. But chances are if there were dogs they would be equally as neglected as the cats

So we come back to RPK's original contention that this is indeed a failed society... and its hard not to relate you ability to fail with the dogma of your various religions

Commonsense is a wonderful thing... and a rare thing in Malaysia
written by Tornado, May 07, 2009 11:32:35
Permasalahan utama masyarakat Malaysia adalah kerana majoriti lupa perkara asas. Asas adalah perkara penting dan utama dalam segala hal kehidupan manusia termasuklah asas agama, budaya, keturunan (asal-usul), politik, ekonomi dan bangunan.

Apabila sesuatu asas dilupakan, ianya akan lemah dan hapus. Bayangkan apa terjadi jika bangunan dibina tanpa asas, atau sudah siap tapi asasnya hancur!! Begitu jugalah berlaku pada masyarakat Malaysia pada masa ini. Dalam ekonomi, jika asas masyarakat Malaysia kukuh, sudah pasti Malaysia bukan sahaja mampu mengatasi negara serantau (Korea Selatan, Jepun, Singapura, Hong Kong SAR) malahan mampu meletakkan diri sebaris negara sepeti Qatar, Norway, Sweden dan Amerika Sysrikat.

Bukan ekonomi sahaja, bahkan semua perkara jika dilakukan pada asas yang betul akan menghasilkan binaan yang kuat dan megah.

'Aye Musalmano! Musalman bano’ - Maulana Muhammad Ilyas, Mekah, 1926M