Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Which way will the speaker move?

Which way will the speaker move? PDF Print
Tuesday, 05 May 2009 09:06

(NST) GIVEN the current situation in Perak, the main principle of natural justice nemo judex in causa sua potest (no man can be a judge in his own cause) will be sorely tested in Thursday's assembly sitting.

With the cat out of the bag -- the removal of state assembly Speaker V. Sivakumar of Pakatan Rakyat being the first item on the agenda of the Barisan Nasional-controlled assembly -- all eyes will be on how the Tronoh assemblyman handles himself that day.

Whether he will defend the post to his last breath or make way gracefully by allowing the motion to elect a new speaker to be tabled, has been the talk of the town for the past week.

Already, his fellow Pakatan brethren have started to defend him, in anticipation of him rejecting the motion.

Pantai Remis assemblyman Nga Kor Ming was among the first to come to Sivakumar's defence, saying it was the speaker's right to reject any motion brought before the state assembly.

He cited the recent incident when Malacca state assembly Speaker Datuk Othman Mohamad rejected an emergency motion by a DAP assemblyman to call for a vote of no-confidence against Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam.

"If the speaker in Malacca could summarily reject a motion, so could Sivakumar. You can't say all that the BN speaker does is right and all that a non-BN speaker does is wrong," he argued.

Point taken, but Nga seems to have been basing his argument on the wrong premise.

As rightfully pointed out by Teja assemblyman Chang Lih Kang, Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir was within his rights when he filed the notice to bring a vote against the speaker.

"The speaker has no right to reject the motion if it is done 14 days before the sitting. Sivakumar can only reject it if it is an emergency motion," said the Parti Keadilan Rakyat lawmaker.

The Malacca speaker had rejected an emergency motion.

As the notice for the motion was sent out on April 22, hence satisfying the 14-day requirement, Sivakumar is left with no choice but to give in.

However, BN lawmakers are not taking it easy and have been huddled in numerous meetings.

"We must be ready for any eventuality. Sivakumar may try to adjourn the sitting right after the opening speech by Sultan Azlan Shah but we are prepared for the worst," said a BN member.

For now, Pakatan is planning to re-nominate Sivakumar as speaker once the motion (to elect a new speaker) is tabled.

While it is mathematically impossible for him to be re-elected as speaker due to the three BN-friendly independents, there is talk that he may try and cut short the sitting, citing the "uncertain political scenario".

"Who can stop him if he decides to adjourn the sitting (before the motion to elect a new speaker is tabled) because of the political impasse?

"You cannot blame him as he stands to lose all the perks and benefits (as speaker)," said a Pakatan assemblyman.

With all due respect to Sivakumar, the answer here boils down to whether he can act in an impartial manner.

He should not be the judge in his own cause.

written by indianputra, May 05, 2009 09:22:24
Siva, you have been fighting intelligently since the Perak crisis became a big issue. Now you are at the end of the fight. I suggest, you fight to the finish, don't give in, trap the BN in each of their actions. FIGHT TO DEATH!!!BE A WINNER!
agree 130
written by latihanQ, May 05, 2009 09:25:27
While the NST blares the Perak Speaker should not do this and that, it fortunately cannot obstruct the Speaker, his duties.
Ihere stands a million things we, the people feel the Federal Government should not do either, but are they listening to us.
The NST may shout all they want about what the Speaker should not do but "should not" is merely an opinion. It does not mean "cannot".
So Speaker Sivakumar, please do what you have to do, and do whatever you can to save Perak.
written by budaktapah, May 05, 2009 09:41:19
hey i think the Speaker still hav a few option to argue...

- What about the "under the three sitting" that hav voted to suspend MB Haram and the others Exco Haram..no body is challenging the sitting and all the decision made during that time..so i guess they're still valid & the suspension is still valid...

- what about the way this 7/5/09 sitting been called. Sitting notice issued by a suspended clerk of the house, without going thru Speaker office ...

- the ongoing court cases...

so i guess the Speaker still have enough fire power for him to make a decent stand...

...and i remind you...on the 7/5/2009...the RAKYAT will come in full force, the one like we never seen before....u don't believe me...wait laaaa..
written by Tompios, May 05, 2009 09:44:14
UMNO sudah keterlaluan dan kini menambah keterlampauannya. Zamry dengan zam zam alakazam-ry menambah kebencian rakyat kepada UMNO.
written by garuda, May 05, 2009 09:50:31
We have forgotten the true meaning of elected reps!! The media has started giving its views on what speaker can and cant do and all points to UMNO being the right choice!! Shame on you, did the bloody UMNO media act the same way in then case of toyo? Despite so much evidence, factual and personal did the UMNO media do or say anything?

Now all of a sudden they have become judges for the speaker, whats wrong with this country? have we lost all semblance of a mature society? have we completely lost our minds as to not realise that UMNO had created this ruckus in the first place? Media says Siva cant act as a judge and must be impartial, so is NST impartial,,,the other media as well? Why does UMNO keep poking our eyes from tears to blood?

I implore all of you good people reading these comments, pls do something, support the speaker, he has done nothing wrong, he is not tarnished,corrupt,NOTHING!!! He is a good person and genuinely wants to uplift the state, do you want another toyo in Perak? zambry will clean all out and worse still maintain it was done with due diligence, look what toyo says...UMNO not bothered at all,,

Speaker is a good reputable honest and untarnished person, the frogs are backing UMNO as they have cases pending for corruption, see my friends in the end a good person could be forced out by very corrupted individuals!! what a world we live in
written by Awaken64, May 05, 2009 09:51:46
This has been bugging me for sometime.... can some constitutional expert explain...

Scenario 1

What if all the PR state representatives and the speaker decline to attend the seating on the 7th may. Will the decision still be legal? Is there any clause to state a minimum quorum required?

Please update there definitely must be some way to gain an upper hand in this situation.
written by Bigjoe99, May 05, 2009 09:52:45
If he has to be driven from his seat, Sivakumar need to ensure his conduct should reflect the similarity when Muhammad was driven from Mecca or Christ was cruxified by Romans. As a political martyr, he will not only rise again 3 years from now but he will be able to carry others with him in the next prospect.

This period in Malaysian and Perak history will be known as the "The Rape of Perak" by Najib & Geng - political Mat Rempits. Come GE 13, Perakians will show them they are no cheap Mongolian sluts that can they can do what they want with or use C4 with. It will come done to 'Marauh & Aqidah' of Perakians in the end...
written by babakl, May 05, 2009 09:58:27
nst, why touch on the speaker can not do this and that, why no bn should and can not do all those from the start. Do not teach us cos if you want too, then go learn the what is rightly stataed in the Perak Constitution first. Do talk through your ass cos only shits and smelly ones comes out.
written by ibabonma, May 05, 2009 10:53:14
He should not be the judge in his own cause.(NST)

Perak State Assembly (DUN) is a legal entity runs by the Speaker, the Hon. Judge of the Assembly, stupid!
written by Proarte, May 05, 2009 11:04:30
UMNO used bribery and corruption to get the PKR and PAS representatives to defect and support BN which their constituents rejected. The corollary is that they are no longer the people's choice and if they are then used to bring down the State Government and Speaker, this amounts to a coup. Is this consonant with Democracy?

I believe that Sivakumar has to defend his post with all means at his disposal in the interest of Democracy.
written by mikewang, May 05, 2009 11:12:35
"You cannot blame him as he stands to lose all the perks and benefits (as speaker)," said a Pakatan assemblyman. - NST

------------------------------

This is garbage journalism from NST !

May we also say Zambry is shamelessly hanging on to his MB post despite a 46% support from the populace in the '08 elections because if he resigns or calls for a snap election, he stands to lose all his benefits and perks as a Menteri Besar, says a BN assemblyman ?
written by Bloodhound, May 05, 2009 11:15:24
Wrong analysis!

Until the matter pertaining to who is the legal and rightful Menteri Besar and to the positions of the BN assemblymen are resolved, all these activities and actions taken by Zambry and company are but a coup against the assembly with no legal basis except for law of the jungle because the rule of law and natural justice had been sidelined in order to achieve what they are now trying to do.

All these while, their posturings are based on opinions of the court and not on solid judgement of the cases still to be heard. Until and unless a court decision is made on the issues, Zambry & co are just usurpers of the legally elected representatives of Perak and no amount of posturing will be accommodated by Perakians (and Malaysians for that matter).

Therefore, the Speaker has every right to defend and must defend his position against intruders and mutineers of the assembly in order to justify the trust of those who elected him to his position as speaker and all elected assemblymen must support Sivakumar to justify the people's trust in electing them to their offices in the defence of our democracy!
written by wongnoball, May 05, 2009 11:19:32
News Shitting Times Publishing - Trying to legitimise the illegitimate MB and the illlegal sitting of Assembly. Don't for once think we rakyat will allow you press to step in and witness this illegal sitting. All Malaysian Main Stream Media doing their best to legitimise an illegal Act. Might as well go report that Killing of Altantuya was not an illegal act! At the way the courts have decided, it seems that way. Where is the Bar Council on this illegal sitting. All must have been bought with 2 million to shut up and do nothing it seems. But Rakyat will show all you regim Kejam Ganas Bastard our anger come May 7. Any bad incident will be on the head of Najis, UMNO, Zambry, Z.Hamidi, Sultan Alzeimer Zero, IGP, Judiciary, Bar coouncil...etc. We are going to STOP the sitting for your information. Rakyat are the Judges and Moral Authority to this Perak Fiasco.

Awaken64

The sitting is illegal anyway. MB Illegal. The vote they take without any PR attending is illegal but the problem is media and judges and courts and Sultan will deem it Legal. To Gain the upper hand is to Storm, Surge into Perak and Stop any nonsense from happening. The Regim Kejam UMNO-BN, IGP, Sultan zero will be shitting in their pants when Rakyat in Black Storm in. May 7 is Destiny for the Whole of Malaysia. That is why this Destiny is Historic for Malaysia. The entire constitution credibility is depending on Rakyat to STOP the Sitting way past May 14. Come early to Perak, bring goggles, bottle water and towel plastic bags. Bring Jambu and stick it into the Water Cannon Exhaust pipe and all FRU trucks!! When Injustice becomes Law, Resistance is Duty. Unfortunately for Sultan Alzeimer Zero, 50 years of Munafik so called Righteous act all crumble in One Day. The damage is irreparable. The entire Palace should hang their head in shame and pass the Baton to another more Worthy candidate. This is the point where any excuse, explanation is useless. it is in Rakyat Malaysia hands. Jom to IPOH May 6!!...lots of road block already set up. Perhaps we need to remove them at night!!!hmmmm
written by Batangkali, May 05, 2009 11:20:20
Hello Perakian,

Show your Loyalty to the party and give back UMNO's dirty game,

Perakian, rise up and prevent your UMNO & BN ADUNs plus the 3 frogs from attending the Assembly. Denied the illegal MB the number of votes he need.

written by sowhatsup, May 05, 2009 11:25:20
"nemo judex in causa sua potest" He should not be the judge in his own cause.

But did NST ever question when Tun Hamid become the head of Tribunal to dismiss Tun Salleh Abbas. Where he as No.2 of the Judiciary at that time will be Chief Justice when Tun Salleh Abbas sacked!

So NST ... shut the F#*K up....
written by Remo, May 05, 2009 11:43:55
NST is one of the worst daily in Malaysia.
It is sucking the UMNO balls.
Nothing more than that.
written by hiiijack, May 05, 2009 12:05:40
Awaken64-i agree with you,and one more thing.i think Mr.speaker must go for MC(cuti sakit)?so no speaker no sitting,hehehe,padan muka umno & their dogs....
written by Roseminah, May 05, 2009 12:17:06
MAY 7TH IN IPOH

I PREDICT THIS IS WHAT NAJIB, ZAMBRY, SULTAN AND THEIR GANG OF PLUNDERERS ARE GOING TO DO

Police already planned for Zambry and his thieves to enter first and sit in the gomen seats. Speaker chair for the Barisan speaker. So after they come in first to get the seats, then force PKR in opposition seats. Sivakumar will be forced by police, not to take the speaker’s chair.
There will be roadblocks for rakyat but we will try to cause trouble and block Zambry and gang from reaching Parliament. Throw shoes and rubbish at them.
Maybe police stay in the Parliament for first time in history to protect the crooked Barisan members.
I call on the good people in police and army to sabotage Zambry and the thieves.
There will be a lot of trouble. We have to revolt against this obscene murderous and swindling gomen.
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 05, 2009 12:27:56
Pantai Remis assemblyman Nga Kor Ming was among the first to come to Sivakumar's defence, saying it was the speaker's right to reject any motion brought before the state assembly.

JUST USE THE BEEND/AMENO TACTIC/POWERS THEY ENDOWED ON THE SPEAKER: KEEP REJECTING THESE USELESS MOTIONS AS NOT IMPORTANT OR URGENT ENOUGH. GIVE THESE MFKRS A TASTE OF THEIR OWN STINKING SHIT.
written by Roseminah, May 05, 2009 12:28:01
BARISAN AND SOME SULTANS LIVE IN CASTLES OF OBSCENE SHAME

In history, when people go out very loudly in the streets and condemn the crooked, only then will governments change. Otherwise they will never change.
We have to go out to the streets and condemn the crooked Najib and his gang of murderers and thieves who are encouraged by Agong and Perak Saitan, breaking every law in the land. They have committed obscene gross mismanagement and swindling of economy. They have stolen hundreds of billions for themselves and their families, live 30 years longer than many rakyat who work much much harder, dirtier, sicker and long hours.
I call on the good people in police and army to sabotage the obscene gomen.
We must rise up, seize all their assets and throw them into a pond of human shit.
Yes , I am as angry as a pot of boiling water.
written by ahmadneil, May 05, 2009 13:20:46
Likely scenario on 7th May.

1,PR supporters will block the entrance to the state assembly.
2,lay on the roads to prevent Mamak Zambry and his convoy from reaching the state assembly.
3,burn down the state assembly.
4,neutralize Hee and the 2 eunuchs.
written by Sutha, May 05, 2009 13:53:57
Being a virtuous gentleman, the Speaker will do what he opines as the right thing in executing his noble duty. He will not be cowed by the Barisan nor will he step out of the boundary drawn by the constitution. He does not belong to the purchasable tribe (like the 2 eunuchs and the handicapped).

In rushing for the correct seats, probably the Speaker and the Pakatan ADUNs may need to be at the Assembly doors by 6:00 in the morning, while hoping that the Barisan blokes are not camping inside the Assembly since the previous night.

In Bolehland, anything ridiculous can and would happen!
written by cllim123, May 05, 2009 17:50:02
While no man can be a judge of his own cause, every man has a right to defend himdlef and his position. Here YDP Siva is defending himself and his position from the rougue MB haram usurper who is suspended and has no locus standi to move for a vote of no-confidence against the speaker. The YDP Speaker is also empowered and must strike out frivolous motions that are mala fides and are politically motivated in order to preserve the sanctity of the august house. His actions are therefore by no means judging his own cause.

Then again, it's NST, so they can spin whichever way they want.