Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Dogs starving to death on mangrove island ~ URGENT ALERT!

Dogs starving to death on mangrove island ~ URGENT ALERT! PDF Print
Tuesday, 05 May 2009 03:20

About 300 stray dogs were rounded up by Pulau Ketam residents and deported to an isolated island to fend for themselves. Over half of them are already dead and the remaining ones may not live long. A rescue mission is being mounted and your help is needed. Please read the full story here.

The residents of Pulau Ketam sent some 300 stray dogs to exile on a remote island where the harsh conditions almost certainly guarantee a horrible death. Of the 300 dogs sent there, more than three-quarters are presumed to be already dead. I traveled to the island with Sabrina Yeap of Furry Friends Farm and managed to save only one dog on this reconnaissance trip. We did see several other starving and dying dogs along the mangrove shore.

I am mounting an urgent rescue mission to capture and transport the remaining survivors back to Sabrina's Furry Friends Farm animal shelter. But time is running out and there might be only skeletons and carcasses left to collect on our next trip. Boat hire is expensive there. It is a tourist area and it has already cost me a few hundred ringgit for boat hire alone, so far. The rescued dogs cannot be transported on the regular ferries.

written by lampard, May 05, 2009 03:45:24
Groomers unite, lets donate some dough to Sabrina at Furry friends farm... We need her account number...
written by teckkuan, May 05, 2009 03:47:40
what cruelty! fellow Malaysians should just boycott Pulau Ketam all together!
written by Tompios, May 05, 2009 04:35:52
Well, this one really make me 'meradang'!! Apa dosa anjing? Jahanam punya manusia!
written by Zeroed, May 05, 2009 06:13:25
I love dogs and since it's an article posted on Uncle Pete's webbie, that be trusted to be a genuine one...I'll help.
written by xkbyuk, May 05, 2009 06:38:34
It would be so much more convenient for potential donors if the two good people would post one of, if not both, their account numbers in their article. This will save them the need to send an email (and hence have their email addresses known and perhaps registered with the two animal lovers) just to acquire an account number to donate some money. Try to help others to help you.
written by ahmadneil, May 05, 2009 08:18:02
Those who did this to the dogs will face the same fate .If these dogs are really a nusiance ,then ask the SSPCA to take them or put them to sleep in a more humane way.
written by Littlebird, May 05, 2009 08:51:13
Isn't this typical behaviour of Malaysians? When there is no longer any need of us they just discard you. Indian balik India, Chinese balik China and anjing balik Pulau Ketam hehehehe
written by Old Man, May 05, 2009 09:18:25
The dead dogs will haunt those who exiled them with Rabies and/or Dog Flu!!!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Jun Jan, May 05, 2009 09:36:08
This is sickening & inhumane... smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif. Help them please. We need to consider putting to sleep those which we cannot save. I know this is not a good choice, but to let it starve to death...that's just plain cruel. Let's discuss the SOLUTION & fast.
written by ilovepakatan, May 05, 2009 10:03:28
Stop talking. Action needed. I've donated.
written by gorshan, May 05, 2009 10:23:32
what was it Datuk Rais Yatim was yapping about yesterday telling mainstream media to publish/air more human(e) interest stories? let see if the mainstream media jump on this one.

okay please publish the bank account details here on MT, please. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by GangisKhan, May 05, 2009 10:30:56
Ms Sabrina need a boat to help the furry friend get to their new home.. Anyone with boats to help out are greatly appreciated.
written by fairnessforall, May 05, 2009 11:02:38
How can anyone be so cruel. The people of Pulau Ketam will be cursed for their cruel deeds. Do they think their life will be better after what they did. It is believed that if you feed a hungry animal, it is a good deed which will bring good to you. What have these poor animals done to deserve this. I cant understand how some humans can be so cruel.

If they want to do this then do it to the UMNO dogs. Not real dogs as they are innocent.
written by densemy, May 05, 2009 11:03:12
The sane thing to do would be to humanely have the remaining dogs put out of their misery. Keeping them alive will only perpetuate the problem

Of course the answer is education but when you are trying to re-educate 5,000 years of paranoia and 1,400 years of unfounded bias, you dont have much chance of success

Did I mention the selfishness of Malaysians who treat animals as tho they evolved just to be of service to man
written by magickriver, May 05, 2009 11:55:33
Just received the following details from TV Smith:

Kind folks are asking how they can donate. Funds can be banked in or transferred to: Furry Friends Farm account at CIMB 1457-000-1182-05-6. You can also transfer via PayPal to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

A tailwagging thank-you to all who have offered help one way or another! Humans domesticated the wolf and turned it into a household pet. Meanwhile some humans turned into ravenous wolves in sheep's clothing and joined Umno. Let's not allocate blame here. Because TV Smith, Sabrina Yeap & friends felt moved by the Pulau Ketam dogs' plight, they decided to mobilize a complex rescue mission. It doesn't matter whether we're doing something kind for dogs, cats, ducks, amoebas or fellow humans - any act of kindness clears away the collective bad karma!
written by leeum, May 05, 2009 11:56:27
This is not from me, it's actually from Antares' website. But for those who want to donate, here are the details. Original link is http://magickriver.********.co...grove.html

Kind folks are asking how they can donate. Funds can be banked in or transferred to: Furry Friends Farm account at CIMB 1457-000-1182-05-6. You can also transfer via PayPal to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by csm_81, May 05, 2009 13:50:38
I've donated and is passing this info around via Facebook. Please do help the dogs. If they think the dogs are a nuisance, they can put them to sleep, not let them suffer and die like this.

BOYCOTT PULAU KETAM~!!
written by raven1958, May 05, 2009 14:45:58
How is it Zambry, Najib and the Zoltan are not on the island.......
written by Badrol, May 05, 2009 16:16:37
Replace the dogs with Khir Toyol and the entire former selangor state exco members and thier wives. Let them starve to death there.
written by Hakim Joe, May 05, 2009 16:33:07
Can we replace those dogs (real woof woof) with those running dogs instead?

written by glock17, May 05, 2009 21:22:21
DO YOU KNOW WHY CHINKS ARE THE MOST CURSED SPECIES IN BOLEHLAND???

THEY TREAT ANIMAL SO CRUEL THAT THE HEAVENS SHED TEARS FOR THEIR SUCH BARBARIC ACTS!!!!

dogs, piglets,monkeys, sharks, cats, tiger dick,snakes, pangolin, bears , etc. are brutally slaugthered/harvested (some alive) for their insatiable lust of exotic food.

Gd does cursed the brutality done against his created creature for no apparel reasons....and this cursed upon this chinks is infinity throughout space and time!!!

Glock17