Herds galore PDF Print
Monday, 04 May 2009 18:25

Let’s see what the lembu Umno will do to the babi MCA. I bet RM1,000 they will just keep quiet and nothing will happen. Umno is not trying to defend Islam. It just wants DAP and PAS to fight even if MCA has to whack Islam to achieve this. Munafik!

Star! Oh Star! At least be a smart party hack!
Lim Kit Siang

Yesterday, the MCA paper, the Star, gave prominent coverage to the challenge by MCA Vice President and Health Minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, that I clearly state my stand on the Cabinet’s recent decision that minors follow the common religion of their parents at the time of marriage when one spouse opts to convert.

In the Star report headlined “State stand on religion ruling, DAP told”, Liow even said that I am at odds with the DAP National Chairman Karpal Singh over the matter on the ground that Karpal had clearly stated his support for the Cabinet’s decision, implying that I had opposed the Cabinet decision.

When I replied to Liow, Star just blacked out my response.

Reason? Because Liow would be shown to be a fool who does not understand simple English as I expressed support for the Cabinet decision in several statements on my blog.

Either Liow has a big problem with the English language, in which case he should undergo a quick refresher course so as not to disgrace the government and country when he appears in the official capacity as Health Minister whether inside or outside the country, or he is downright dumb.

If he is neither, and had been misled by untrustworthy aides to issue such a challenge, then he should know what to do to salvage the situation.

My offer to give Liow a free tutorial on the English language stands.

By blacking out my statement and refusing to accord me the right to respond to the irresponsible and baseless challenge from Liow, which it had given prominent coverage, the Star has gone against all canons of responsible and professional journalism and made a mockery of the World Press Freedom Day yesterday.

The overwhelming majority of the Star journalists are honourable, professional and self-respecting men and women who do not agree with such prostitution of sacred journalistic principles.

Let me advise those responsible for the blackout of my reply to Lai – at least be a smart party hack!

Some time around 1997 or thereabouts, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said something that made a lot of sense. Okay, there is quite a bit he said that makes sense. But when you hate the man, as many readers of Malaysia Today do, whatever the Tun says, even if it makes sense, is rejected outright merely because it is the man who is talking.

I know, I know……at this point, many are going to rush to the bottom of this page to post comments whacking me for being pro-Mahathir. Then, after the first comment, others are going to follow suit, like herd, and jump onto the bandwagon to heighten the anti-RPK-who-is-pro-Mahathir bashing.

And that is what today’s piece is all about -- the herd mentality. And that was what Tun Dr Mahathir said some time around 1997 or thereabouts -- that people are like a herd and that they have herd mentality.

In spite that it was Tun Dr Mahathir who said it and in spite of you hating the man like hell, is what he said wrong? Is this not also what George Soros said? And George Soros and Tun Dr Mahathir are arch-enemies. Yet they both agree on that point.

Okay, this piece is not about supporting Tun Dr Mahathir or about singing his praises. It is also not about how much of what the man says is sometimes true because most of you will never agree that what he says could probably be true if it comes from him. However, if it comes from someone you like or adore, then what he or she says is almost like a revelation from God. And if someone else also says the same thing, and then many others after that agree with what he or she says, then we will also agree that what was said is the Gospel.

That is what is meant as herd mentality.

After Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi took over as Prime Minister, everything that Tun Dr Mahathir said or did was wrong because he is no longer in power. The Crooked Bridge is wrong. The Italian motorcycle company, MV Agusta (http://www.mvagusta.it/_vti_g2_1.aspx), is wrong. Proton is wrong. You name it, as long as it has Tun Dr Mahathir’s dobby-mark on it, then it is wrong.

Why is it wrong? Because Tun Dr Mahathir is no longer the Prime Minister. And since the new Prime Minister says the old Prime Minister, who is no longer in power, is wrong, then the new Prime Minister, who is in power, must be right while the old Prime Minister, who no longer has any power, just has to be wrong.

That is the criteria we use in evaluating anything. And the second criteria would of course be herd mentality -- we follow the crowd even if the herd is falling off a cliff in a stampede a la Western Cowboy movie-style.

Today, the Crooked Bridge is on again. The Crooked Bridge, which was a stupid idea when Tun Dr Mahathir was out of favour, is now a fantastic idea. Did I hear Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak defend the Crooked Bridge back in 2006 when the Tun Abdullah Badawi government decided to shelve it? Najib was Tun Abdullah’s number two back in 2006. Did Najib agree with Tun Abdullah that the Crooked Bridge is a stupid idea and should be shelved or did he defend Tun Dr Mahathir’s Crooked Bridge and argue the merits of continuing with it?

Yes, even Najib suffers from herd mentality. When the then Prime Minister says cancel the Crooked Bridge, then the Cabinet, which Najib was a part of, agrees to cancel it. Now that Tun Abdullah is no longer in power and Tun Dr Mahathir is back in the driver’s seat, or at least sitting in the seat immediately behind the driver, then the Crooked Bridge is on again.

Have they forgotten the arithmetic worked out then? The cost to cancel the Crooked Bridge worked out higher than the cost to proceed with its construction. No one disagreed that the cost to cancel the project works out higher than the cost to build the bridge. But did anyone argue that the government might as well proceed with the project since it has already been started anyway and it works out cheaper to finish what you started?

And what about MV Agusta? It cost RM300 million or thereabouts to acquire the company. Then everyone argues that to retain the company would involve injecting another RM300 million or so to keep it afloat. So better get rid of it rather than send good money after bad. This is called cutting your loses.

And, just like herd, we all jumped in and agreed that this was a wise decision. Sell it and save RM300 million of the taxpayers’ money. Why waste another RM300 million after already blowing RM300 million?

Good argument -- except that when they spent RM300 million to buy over the company they already knew they would need to pump another RM300 million into it. So, actually, the plan was to spend RM600 million on the company. That was anticipated. That was no accident. It is not that they bought the company for RM300 million and then discovered later, oops, they now need to pump in another RM300 million which they did not realise at the time they bought the company.

The spin was that ‘someone’ boo-booed. ‘Someone’ spent RM300 million to buy a motorcycle company without realising that, after they buy the company, they would need to spend another RM300 million to keep it afloat. No, that ‘someone’ knew bloody well that they would be spending RM600 million -- RM300 million to buy the company and another RM300 million in capital injection.

Okay, now we can pop that RM600 million question: is it worth spending RM600 million to acquire an Italian motorcycle company? Honestly, I don’t know. It all depends on what you expect from that RM600 million investment. Even if it is merely RM60 million instead of RM600 million, but if we are not getting any ROI (returns on investment), then I would say it is a bad deal.

The issue is not RM6 million, RM60 million, RM600 million or even RM6 billion. The issue is: what will we see in terms of profit, benefit, etc., for that investment of ours? No one talked about this. No one was interested to know. They were only concerned about the fact that the ex-Prime Minister made this decision and the current Prime Minister wants to reverse that decision so our vote is with the current Prime Minister and not with the ex-Prime Minister, for obvious reasons.

Herd mentality.

And one even more crucial question that no one bothered to ask in all that euphoria to run down Tun Dr Mahathir and show support to Tun Abdullah Badawi is: who was MV Agusta sold to and why for only RM4? We buy a company at a cost of RM300 million and sell it off for merely RM4 after a very short space of time. And the company that bought MV Agusta for merely RM4 is a newly registered company that was formed specifically for the purpose of buying over MV Agusta. But the owners of that company are phantoms. We do not know who they are.

Why did no one ask this question, not even Najib Tun Razak? Herd mentality.

Let’s look at another herd mentality scenario. Someone in PAS said they want to contest the Penanti by-election. Someone then says PAS can’t be trusted. Someone else says PAS wants to merge with Umno to form a new Malay political party. Then everyone jumps onto the bandwagon and, like the typical herd mentality, whack PAS to kingdom come. And when people like me put in a word of support for PAS, we get whacked and are accused of being PAS apologists.

Then the top leaders of PAS publicly declare that Penanti is a PKR seat and PAS does not intend to contest that seat. Then the person who made so much noise asking PAS to contest the seat resigns. Do we hear anything from all those who had earlier whacked PAS and said that PAS is a traitor and turncoat who is preparing to merge with Umno to form a new Malay political party?

Some even posted comments in Malaysia Today challenging me personally to say something about the matter. “Aha, gotcha, PAS has sold us out. Now what do you have to say, Raja Petra bin Raja Kamarudin, you PAS lover?”

Nothing. I have absolutely nothing to say. I have already said what I wanted to say a long time ago -- just like I already said what I wanted to say about the Crooked Bridge and MV Agusta back in 2006. The only thing is, back in 2006, I swam against the current. Everyone was swimming downstream while I swam upstream. Now, I am resting on the riverbank and watching with great amusement everyone doing a U-turn and swimming back upstream. And that is because of herd mentality. That is because Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is no longer Prime Minister so we have to quickly swim in the opposite direction.

Okay, forget about Tun Dr Mahathir. I know most of you hate hearing his name. Let’s instead talk about PAS. PAS is not contesting Penanti. The faggot who made so much noise about the issue has resigned. So, what now?

Melayu mudah lupa. No, not Melayu, all Malaysians mudah lupa. I wrote some time back about Trojan Horses in Pakatan Rakyat. Remember that article? And do you know what Trojan Horses do for a living? And do you also know why, from time to time, issues are raised that tests the solidarity of Pakatan Rakyat to the limit?

If you don’t get what I am trying to say then you are just too dumb and I need no longer waste my time trying to educate you. Believe what you want to believe. Believe the world is flat and the moon is made from green cheese if that makes you happy. After all, as they say, ignorance is bliss.

Oh, and I almost forgot. Read the statement by Lim Kit Siang above. What do you see? The stupid readers can stop reading at this point because this is going to be too taxing on your brain and you may get a headache if you try to figure this one out.

What? You see MCA trying to provoke DAP to make them fight with PAS? That would be what those not so smart and what the herd mentality types would see. What I see is MCA demonstrating its hostility towards Islam.

It’s simple, really. MCA does not want to make any statement considered negative towards Islam as that might antagonise Umno. So they are provoking DAP to do that instead. What I now want to know is: what is Umno and all those so-called Muslim NGOs going to do about it? Are they going to make police reports and organise anti-MCA demonstrations in front of Wisma MCA in Jalan Ampang?

Hello…..Umno…….NGO-NGO Islam……..MCA cabar Islam lah. You orang buat apa? Kayu ke? Takde batu ke? Podah! Islam konon!

Let’s see what the lembu Umno do to the babi MCA. I bet RM1,000 they will just keep quiet and nothing will happen. Umno is not trying to defend Islam. It just wants DAP and PAS to fight even if MCA has to whack Islam to achieve this. Munafik!

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by bexe, May 04, 2009 18:42:18
Why we need to heed TDM's comments? Because for the most part, he speaks with some wisdom compared with what comes out of the mouth's of our current crop of 'leaders'. In addition, he possesses the guts to say it as he sees it, whereas the others have left their nuts behind. Gutless and stupid, especially the chaps from MCA. Sheeze!They are an embarassment and they stink. Bury them.
disagree 34
written by Tompios, May 04, 2009 18:48:56
Dear M2day readers,

Mahu hidup di Malaysia khususnya di Sabah harus pandai menjadi "cicik kubin". Kita dulu belajar dari "Duarung" (Sabahan term) iaitu "hantu jelmaan berupa kerbau" yang bernama UMNO dan Kuncu-Kuncunya!!

1) Plin-Plan
2) Flip-flop

written by panca, May 04, 2009 18:50:35
Scumdogs millionaires - Mca, is umno's slaves.
written by ahmadneil, May 04, 2009 18:52:37
Hiyah,we all have seen years of these crap!umno lembu have been open screwing this babi MCA.They have done so openly ,in the mederka square,in the umno headquarter and anywhere umno seem fit.If not how can we have these umno lembu babi mca president Ong Tee Kiat and his cowpiglets.
written by my oumrie, May 04, 2009 18:55:02
Oi babi mca, berani cabar Islam ah? Nanti kamu. Oi amno budak2, ngo-ngo Islam....hah, sekarang buat lah police repot. Buat lah demonstrasi depan wisma mca. Apa, takut kah. Wah cakap tak serupa bikin ah? POR DAH!
written by gycgocnt, May 04, 2009 18:57:50
These are how BN coalition use of Islam to discredit Pakatan Rakyat:

UMNO tell Chinese: If you vote for PAS, Malaysia will become Islamic State, and you cannot eat pork! Do you know pork is delicious, so I will instruct MCA the defend the Pork’s Rights for you but not the Non-Malay rights stated in constitution. Because if you compare Porks with Federal Constitution, Porks in more important. This is what MCA tell me.

MCA tell Chinese: Hey, don’t vote for DAP, because DAP works with PAS, do you know Islam is devil! But don’t tell this to Malay ah? UMNO also admit it, even though they defend Islam for Malay. Umno had to calm down Malay in order to make Chinese people live in a peaceful land. If you tell this to Malay, 513 would definitely happen for the second time. So you need to tolerate first, the show of Keris is just a show to put Malay temperature down, the one who gain is us, the Chinese!
written by arazak, May 04, 2009 18:58:29
WARNING! Better don't go near to any MCA member, this herd might be infected with swine flu too!
written by areenna, May 04, 2009 18:59:07
Most MT readers not agree with Tun Dr Mahathir so much that even if TDM says "I was not really that good as PM as potrayed", they will say "Don't believe what he just said". smilies/smiley.gif
written by clarity, May 04, 2009 19:00:33
You are justified in questioning his command of english. Look at his comments in The Star today regarding the H1N1 virus. He said WHO used the word probable. According to Mr Tiow Lay La, he argues that that word does not mean suspect.
And since I have broight this up, is Me. Tiow aware that an average face mask cost $1.60 each? Assuming a family of three and they use 6 per day, that's $9.60 a day or about $280 per month. How the hell can we afford that if we want to protect ourselves?
written by malsia1206, May 04, 2009 19:06:56
The Star is presently walking down the same route NST had done before. Read garbage if you want to take these dailies seriously. We all know they both have masters to serve.
Herd mentality is very much part of the Malaysian lifestyle. Bursa KL is a classic example. And I can perceive MT readers definitely show this trait. Whatever, DAP is politically matured enough not to fall for the baits laid out from MCA. These are old tricks which only a novice politician can get entrapped. If any one has any grey tissue between his ears, he would not expect Lim Kit Siang to be a novice in this arena.
written by ahmadneil, May 04, 2009 19:14:25

Ya,we all,if not all the most of us have these herd mentality.We all move in herds and we follow the gang leader called RPK.If he say we run,we run becos he said everything that is not with us or not ours are deem to be our enemies .So if he writes craps,we also,if he writes Altantuya,we all follow,if he whack muslims,chinese or Indians,we all follow.
Look ate cheedet blog.His herds are different.There are alot of people who fcuk him and call him nasty names but not in MT.Why,becos RPK whacks and everyones love to see RPK whacks.Here the herd are more close kit family.
If chedet is sent to Kamunting,I bet his blog will be flooded with congratulatory messages but not on MT.When RPK was in Kamunting,everyone was sober and bored.ahmadneil try to cheer everyone up with my spicy trip to Paris to search for clues, linking that bloody playboy with that beautiful sexy Altantuya.So you see MT is different herd are different.
written by justice, May 04, 2009 19:17:45
agree 159
written by choong, May 04, 2009 19:22:57

Sorry la. I only thought MCA is stupid in asking Lim Kit Siang to make a stand when he already did. For that, I am quite sure he doesn't read Malaysiakini (LKS actually said it earlier on his stand). But thanks for telling us the other story behind the reports...

Anyway, whatever they say (meaning BN ala UMNO/MCA/MIC/any other mickey mouses) mean nothing anyway. The only way is to get rid of these bunch inept leaders from doing more harm than good to the country.
written by Hakim Joe, May 04, 2009 19:28:42
Reporter: “How will the ministry go about containing H1N1, sir?”
Low IQ (whispering to assistant): “Kor chek yer q mutt yer, ah?” (Translated to “What do you call that thing?”)
Assistant: “What, sir?”
Low IQ: “Dew nia mah…sake tou thong kor chek, ah!” (Translated to “[Beep] that one for headache.”)
Assistant: “Paracetemol, sir”
Low IQ: “Pear-lair…mutt yer, ah? Pear lei yer sei yan tou!” (Translated to “Don’t know pear liar what. Pear lair your dead man’s head.”)
Assistant: “It is also called Panadol, sir. P-A-N-A-D-O-L.”
Low IQ: “Oh, yes…oh, yes…”
Low IQ (answering reporter): “We use Pear-Ler-Doll. P-A-N-A-D-O-L.”

written by Hakim Joe, May 04, 2009 19:34:34
Reporter: "And how will it be applied, sir?"
Low IQ (whispering to addistant): "I boleh kau-tim this one."
Low IQ (to reporter): "We ask people to put two Pear-Ler-Doll inside nose. One each in one lubang to stop H1N1 masuk to lungs."
Reporter: "How the Hell are we gonna breathe then?"
Low IQ: "Sei kwai lou...mun kum tor yer..." (Translated to "Bloody Gringo asking so many questions...")

written by amjoem, May 04, 2009 19:38:24
Hi Pete,
The whole article though was a wee bit mind boggling, nevertheless, at the end, you brought home the point! Now that the MCA is attempting to revolt against the UMNO and Islam through the DAP, it is time for PAS & PKR to slaughter the BN especially UMNO & MCA. Am I also following the Herd?
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 04, 2009 19:50:28
so who bought Augusta for 4 ringgit???

JJ's fourth wife???

.....or was it used as an alimony for another penceraian???
written by Loh, May 04, 2009 20:04:52
///Okay, forget about Tun Dr Mahathir. I know most of you hate hearing his name///--RPK

Just to confirm that you are right, and for good reasons.

Mamaks in early years in Penang would not want to be equated with Malays, or was it the other way around, but now mamaks are fighting for Malay right so that they could take advantage of everybody in the country, Malays included. Mamak mahathir while in power would not remove NEP, but when AAB was PM and he wanted to be PM for all Malaysians, TDM declared that AAB had not done enough for Malays. So doing for Malays was not a case of getting them ready to live life in the real world, but it was a game to topple AAB.

Assuming that Malays have to depend on all the handouts given to them, they can continue to have them without NEP. Without NEP as a cover for UMNOputras, the leakage would have been more than enough to provide to non-Malays all the handhouts that had been given to Malays alone, and more. RPK wrote an excellent piece on this detailing how new educational places could be provided with the vast amount of money which had been siphoned to UMNOputras. With NEP gone, it is Malaysian malaysia without having to mention 1Malaysia.

Mahathir had a hand in the 1970s to make this a racist country. Anbody who loves this country hates mahathir.
written by Pakyeh, May 04, 2009 20:28:43
Don't blame rakyat on the crooked bridge and Agusta. If we were given enough info we would not support Pak Lah.Besides Pak Lah then looks lake an angel compared to Dr M.However UMNO have all the info to decide the right way. Why didning they decide the right way ???
Thats why we must always knock on UMNOs head.
Sing the song "Knock,knock,knock on UMNOs head" at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Fuminari, May 04, 2009 20:31:38
RPK,there are many many out there who hav not trusted the kerala crab a single bit since his day one in office!!this is definitely not herb mentality.
written by *********, May 04, 2009 20:53:24
The Pakatan Rakyat governments muut keep at eye on their respective State Assembly Secretaries and State Secretaries and the Civil Service in the states thet govern as they are infested with BN/Umno sympathizers and lapdogs. What happened in Perak is a good example...More http://*********.********.com
written by axppin, May 04, 2009 21:00:30
And the best way to keep an eye on the respective secretaries is to appoint one of PR owns people. That would be the solution wouldn't it? So apa lagi? Go all out hire and fire for new people laa..

written by Raja Petra, May 04, 2009 21:08:33
Dear Fuminari, what has Kerala got to do with it? My family doctor, Dr Menon, is from Kerala and is the perfect gentleman. I would choose him over a Melayu anytime and many times over.

2) You still don't get what I am talking about so I really don't know why I am wasting my time with you. I am talking about those who kissed Tun's hand when he was PM, whacked him when he was no longer PM, and then, now, sing his praises again since Pak Lah is no longer PM.

I am also talking about those who whack PAS when they THOUGHT that PAS had betrayed us (and did not bother to check whether it is true or not) and now keep very quiet and lurk like rats in Malaysia Today.
written by Raja Petra, May 04, 2009 21:11:36
Dear Loh, you could have fooled me. BN and UMNO performed very well in the elections over the 22 years that Mahathir was PM. You mean THAT was a vote of no confidence? God help is if you ever vote in support of BN and UMNO?
written by Raja Petra, May 04, 2009 21:13:09
Dear Fart Fart Wah, it's a bit too late to ask now isn't it? I asked back in 2006 but because Mahathir also asked the same question takde siapa peduli.
written by Raja Petra, May 04, 2009 21:15:17
Dear amjoem, actually the article is about many issues, not just one issue. By the way, how are you and the missus? Please don't go to Ipoh if you are still not up to it though. Health first, okay?
written by Raja Petra, May 04, 2009 21:18:28
Dear Pakyeh, Malaysia Today gave you tons and tons of information back in 2004, 2005 and 2006 until the readers got information overload and could not take it any longer. It is NOT lack of information that is the problem. It is apathy and lack of interest/action on the part of the taxpayers/voters who have a right to demand transparency - but did not.
written by Joe, May 04, 2009 21:20:18
Hoi Pemuda UMNO! U can take money from KJ n sell your future right? well, RPK has RM1000 for u! Whack MCA, win the bet! What u waiting for?
written by ksmaniam, May 04, 2009 21:25:16
1. Firstly we don't hate your beloved MM. He was our PM and an elderly man. What we don't like is the trust we had for a PM, reneged by him. We trusted him that he would do a good job governing Malaysia but what he did was "history". Systematically he brought down Malaysia from a growing democratic country to zilch. And pls don't say why did we vote him then everytime, we did not vote him, he was undemocratically chosen to be our PM. And we rakyaat, respect the chair of Prime Minister, expecting people who sit there will respect the rakyaat.
2. Herd mentality. If an issue in an article is A, and if everyone sees the issue and agrees or disagrees on that issue is that herd mentality.
3. If a majority agrees or discusses in a situation which is hot at a particular point of time,is that herd mentality.
4. There are leaders and there are followers, if followers do not follow leaders, there is no leader. Is that the herd mentality you are talking about.
5. Please be advised about the Cabinet. I know you are confused about the creature called cabinet ala Malaysia. In the cabinet, there is something called collective responsibility. Whatever is decided in the cabinet has to be adhered to by all present and the whole government. No one can speak against it. Otherwise there will be chaos. The government of the day will not be able to handle the governmental work. In the cabinet meetings they can voice out differences but outside everyone has to say and do what has been decide. This should not be interpreted as herd mentality. Period.
6.Since time immemorial the herd and a leader mentality has been there. I don't think we will change. But we don't need anyone to tell us that we are herds. We know.
written by ksmaniam, May 04, 2009 21:29:07
7. And Mahathir the leader will not exist if there was no herd mentality. I a pro RPK will not exist if you did not lead. So what is so bad about the herd mentality. BTW today's issue is the herd mentality.....you said so. So you expect us to talk about NIbiru, 2012 is it?

written by ksmaniam, May 04, 2009 21:34:54
8.You know very well who was in control of the media, during MM, during AAB, internet was dominant. There is a difference RPK. We knew more during AAB and now. There is also before and after MT. MT gave the information for us to think. If you look carefully, during MM the opposition provided the inside info in Parliament. Now we get it everyday in MT. So is it wrong that we did not voice out before MT and during MM but now we voice out. Is it wrong that we find out in UNISON that something is not right and all of us argue against it. So we are called a herd is it. So be it. If RPK says we are a herd which follows, so be it. BTW we follow the righteous. And we are not ashamed of it. Yes RPK we are a herd.
my 2 cents worth,.
written by hellosunshine, May 04, 2009 21:35:22
Correction. Your herd mentality angle on MV Agusta, crooked bridge and what not only applies to all those BN dungus but not us, opposition and their supporters. We are a different herd. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by malaysianohope, May 04, 2009 21:48:28
Actually 'Herd Mentality' works both ways like its positive if we describe a Share Market Bull Run or when there is a Sale in a Departmental Store.
The issues about the crooked bridge & the MV Agusta are bad decisions at their inception not so much about the seed money foregone. Perhaps it is the manner Tun PakLa executed the terminations of both projects. He could have mitigated the loss of the seed money for the crooked bridge by compensating the other party with other projects, and as for the MV Agusta he could have waited for a better price from other interested parties etc.etc.
But I still not forgive chedet for his misdeeds, he has much more negatives than positives.
written by lynn, May 04, 2009 22:11:43
Is herd mentality same as ignorance or when one was fed misinformation by the terminally AIDs-infected prostituted mainstream media? Herd mentality shld refer to people who got no brains & follow their leader unquestioningly or blindly.

RPK, I don't think you are a liar. So I trust your reporting. Maybe you are not perfect but you are sincere, there is no doubt. Some of us follow you because you make sense & you harbour good intentions.

From 1998 I asked: "how can I get internet access?" Nobody seems to know. Finally I got some internet access in 2001 at workplace. My first popular site was MGG Pillai - it was a wake-up call to all that corruption in Bodohland. No wonder he was sued for defamation. In bolehland, telling the truth can land one in hot soup.
written by lynn, May 04, 2009 22:18:18
About Dr Mahathir, one of the reasons I most despised him was his incarceration of Anwar. Back in 1998 I even believed that fcuking crap stories from all the media whores - but no more.

We now have the alternative media - thanks to the inventor of internet - dunno who he is. One has a chance to compare notes instead of being spoonfed by those STDs-infected media whores. If we read both online news & prostituted news, we can analyse them & make our own decisions.

Finally, why is TDM a bumiputra while obviously he & his family are all kerala Indians? Bumiputra refers to sons of the soil - the orang asli & the natives in east msia, right?
written by Adrian, May 04, 2009 22:27:50

I believe most PR supporters know about this. MCA was trying to provoke DAP or forcing a wedge in between DAP and PAS since this is about religion. The reverse is also true - DAP can do the same to MCA but since the MSM are controlled by certain ppl, DAP always get the shorter end.

That's ok, as it make most ppl angry with MCA only. But the real issue here is, how come the politicians who are supposed to be smarter are dancing to the tune!!!

How to stop this non-sense. It is like roller coaster ride for PR supporters and they always need DSAI to come to the rescue. This is energy draining. Can something be done??? RPK, pls help those politicians to grow up.

Adrian
written by merchant222, May 04, 2009 22:40:13
Can someone correct me?

I remember reading in the MSM spinner of BN that MV Augusta was bought for RM300 over million, and needs to inject another RM300 over million to keep it afloat;

On top of that, to bear the liabilities of Euro300 million of the company and yet, have no control of the management of the company. So, is it correct that this was a foolish investment?

Well, I don't deny that selling it for 1 Euro was as stupid as buying it in the first place! How many more times does the country and tax-payers need to suffer for the BN's blunder???
written by Wudan, May 04, 2009 23:16:21
Proton bought 57.75% of MVA from C.Castiglioni for EUR 70 million. Castiglioni still owns 37.25% and the balance held by Massimo Tamburini and Eletrolux

Proton have to assume these liabilities of MVA 100%

(a) Restructured Frozen Debts amounting to EUR 106.94 million,
(b) Working Capital requirements amounting to EUR 32.50 million.

Gevi Spa did not buy 57.75% of MVA for one EUR. It cost them EUR 139.44 million (106.94 32.50) plus one Euro
written by sydput, May 04, 2009 23:42:18
What a stupid write up.
for rm300 million, we could have designed our own motorcycle.
The guy who came up with the idea of a crooked bridge should be executed. It was a classic mahathir piratisation deal. The contractors always end up with profitable options. Only the rakyat lose under mahathir. And we are still suffering from his legacy through high electricity cost/indah water/toll rates etc, while the owners of these concession are buying up assets overseas using money made from our blood seat and tears.
written by Oscar Winner, May 04, 2009 23:49:40
HERDS Galore or HURTS galore? HERDS mentality or HURTS mentality or the ”HEARD” mentality?? Let me share this with you.

The BN HERDS always HURT the rakyat. These sycophants are yes-sir men. After they have HEARD what the leaders said, they would echo what the leaders have said or follow the instructions despite knowing the rakyat can be HURT. We have HEARD enough of their bullshit, and we are deeply HURT. The last Tsunami didn’t HURT them enough, and they still have not HERAD us. Let’s HURT them most by defeating them in the next GE
written by temanmu, May 05, 2009 00:11:00
The lackeys support the current PM wholeheartedly - some are unthinking and exhibit herd mentality - but there are those who are smart but just love to lick the PM's balls.

They know that by doing so the PM's ego would erect and their hard work would be rewarded with fountains of satisfaction!
written by MasterYoda, May 05, 2009 00:21:51
Herd mentality is not good at all.

Niether with BN, nor with Pakatan nor with the Global rulers of the new world order.

We need citizen who are well informed. We need media who are unchained.
We need citizen who are awake and aware. We need able watchmen to inform.

informed citizens are the most dangerous to any ruling governemnt.
there should never be any secrecy act. But only Freedom of information.
written by notsosmart, May 05, 2009 00:54:06
Pardon me for writing this comment.

Generally, most Malaysian are not only having herd mentality ( due to poor personal opinion ), but also lazy, stupid and lack of intelligent. But when comes to cheating and corruption, we can claim to be number 1. All these comes from the failed educational system that the gomen had planned and administered. Most of the Malaysian have poor analytical skill and decision making. To bring back the glamour of yesteryear quality rakyat, we need firstly a revemp in our educational teaching methodology. It's now or never! Stop the Old Man before he flushed us down into the toilet bowl again.

Our country is a failed state and we need all these changes badly.
written by Raja Petra, May 05, 2009 01:54:32
Dear sydput, what a stupid comment! Why would we want to spend RM300 million to design our own motorcycles? It's not that we need to manufacture motorcycles that will never be sold in Malaysia. It would be better we spend that money to set up English language classes so that certain people can read English language articles and understand what he-she is reading.
written by Raja Petra, May 05, 2009 02:03:26
Aiyah, got so many dunggu who need to join sydput's Engish language class. We talk about one thing and they talk about something else. No wonder 51% still voted for BN in the last election. Sigh.....Malaysians are a lost cause.

Hei, dengar sini. I'm just going to say this once more. The issues is this: when someone says GOOD, all say GOOD. When someone says BAD, all say BAD. And if that someone who is PM says GOOD and the who one no longer PM says BAD, the one who is PM wins. But when he no longer PM then the GOOD change to become BAD.

Okay? Itu macam punya Inggeris ada paham?
written by Mama Juwie, May 05, 2009 02:37:04
Pak Lah has just been appointed as Advisor to MAS. That is SO wrong!!! His relative is the one handling the contract for MAS in-flight meals with excessively marked up price. He should advise against it, right?
written by Perak Boy, May 05, 2009 02:54:08
Yes, what RPK says is true. And I personally observed that the herd mentality is sinonym with Malaysians generally. Sometimes I wonder whether they really understand the underlaying facts of the subject matter or just scared to go against the majority but wish to be heard. As for me, I welcome constructive criticism if that would guide me to be productive to the human race.
written by Daryl, May 05, 2009 03:26:38
Herd mentallity is good to Dr. M when it served him or maybe it is his planned to choose people with herd mentality. Look at DSAI, Musa Hitam are they where they are supposed to be. Out of respect Dr. M can talk all he can but at the end of the day he is one of the poly-tick.

As things get deeper and alternative media to MSM are easily available unlike 20 years ago we start to see the damages done to Malaysia. Also, we as Malaysian starts to realise that we have options and as Malaysian to have better access to public services, better government, better options, better education, better
race/religion relationship and cooperation, and choice to choose our government. We are more exposed to ideas about how this country should be run and hope majority will vote base on policies not 'cari makan'.
written by letsbefair, May 05, 2009 08:58:32
Herd mentality among BN bigshots is "a must" if he or she wants to advance their political career.
To give some example, Samy Vellu cried when Mahashit was under ICU after op Lalang. After Mahashit retires and was snubbed by Badawi, Samy was very critical of the ex-PM. I still remember how Rafidah cried when Mahashit announce his retirement and she made a turn around and called him an old senile man after PakLah took over the top job.
Najib wanted very badly to be the next PM. If he go against his boss he would have become history! Anwar and Pairin found that out the hard way!
written by Lyon, May 05, 2009 09:27:41

Your response "Aiyah, got so many dunggu who need to join sydput's Engish language class. We talk about one thing and they talk about something else. No wonder 51% still voted for BN in the last election. Sigh.....Malaysians are a lost cause." really made me laugh. I believe that some of the MT readers have below than the average IQ.

On the herd mentality, its something which will never end, at least whilst BN is in power. What the PM says will be 'parroted' by the ministers, they have no choice, they have to openly support their leader.

Cheers mate
written by teo siew chin, May 05, 2009 09:49:00
herding is 'instinctive'.
what is of greater concern is the calibre of the leader of the flock - which really need not be that high a standard considering the continual 'dumb-ing' of the herd, no?
written by Loh, May 05, 2009 10:22:14
Herd they belong, umnoputras, with the single aim of enriching themselves. Agreeing with the powers-that-be might not be an issue of mentality in the sense of inability to think. It was cunningness knowing that there is nothing to gain showing up as a sore thumb. In any case, the central issues involving the few persons relate only to self interest. The crooked bridge was done at the end of TDM's term. Should war breakout, AAB will have to answer. AAB was wise on that move. The board of Proton had all the details to decide whether or not to cut loss after having been presented with a purchase which had no relevance to the industry. they could have bought space technology for that matter. If the board decided that a purchase of 300 million euros was worth one euro with the other burdens eased off, then the purchase was bad. TDM offered to buy it for the same amount. He did not declare how much asset he was willing to back up the purchase, and Proton did not stand as guarantor for TDM to buy it. Proton is sucking blood from Malaysians in the name of national car. Tell us why we can be proud of it to name it national car.

RPK should conduct a hate-love survey on TDM.
written by Smiles21, May 05, 2009 11:26:19

Herd galore has been practised by most Malaysians, especially by the Malays in all aspects of life. They all want to be 'merdeka" and yet they don't mind to be sold or bought at a price of one cigarette. At times I feel so ashamed to see my people who like to lick the front even the back just to get a small favour. Please remeber the old saying: Biar miskin harta tapi jangan miskin harga diri."

Take care my brother.
written by Wudan, May 05, 2009 11:32:56
THE DEAL
——————†——————†——————†”—–
GEVI is an investment holding company organized and existing under the laws of Italy and having its registered office at Via Corsica 216, 16128, Genova, Fiscal Code 01600410995.

GEVI will assume these liabilities:
(a) Restructured Frozen Debts amounting to EUR106.94 million,
and
(b) Working Capital requirements amounting to EUR32.50 million

The Proposed Disposal is not expected to have any effect on the earnings, net assets, share capital nor shareholdings of PROTON.

Inter alia, the salient terms of the agreement are:

(a) The Purchaser is to open an escrow account with Banca Carige S.p.A, Genova, Italy for the sum of EUR500,000.00 to secure:
(i) the timely opening and funding of the Second Escrow Account; and
(ii) subject to the fulfillment of the Conditions Precedents and to the performance of the actions set out in the agreement, the occurrence of Repayment on the Closing Date.

Should the actions mentioned above are not timely complied with by the Purchaser, Proton Capital Sdn Bhd shall be entitled to withdraw the money from the First Escrow Account and terminate the Agreement.

(b) On or before 18 January 2006, the Purchaser is to open a Second Escrow Account with Banca Carige S.p.A. for the sum of EUR15.0 million to secure the obligation of the purchaser to subscribe and pay the capital increase in MVA.
The agreement is subject to conditions precedents to be obtained not later than 15 February 2006.

Inter alia:

(a) adoption by the shareholders at an extraordinary general meeting of MVA with the unanimous vote of all shareholders’ of a resolution allowing the Purchaser to purchase the said shares from Proton Capital Sdn Bhd and further subscribe for the capital increase in MVA. And subsequent thereat, to approve the amendment to the articles of association of MVA;

(b) waiver in writing by other shareholders of MVA of their pre-emptive rights in connection with the transfer of shares from Proton Capital Sdn Bhd to the Purchaser;

(c) termination of the shareholders’ agreement executed on 26 November 2004;

(d) termination of the shareholders agreement executed on 25 November 2004;

(e) termination of the service agreement executed on 26 November 2004;

(f) Husqvarna AB to release Proton Capital Sdn Bhd from all obligations as contained in the Husqvarna Augusta Agreement executed on 29 October 2004;

(g) delivery to MVA of a letter to be executed by several banks (as identified in the Agreement) whereby the Banks declare that they fully agree with the exercise of the voting rights by Claudio Castiglioni for adoption of the resolution and the waiver by Claudio Castiglioni of the pre-emptive rights mentioned above;

(h) execution by Proton Capital Sdn Bhd and each of the shareholders of MVA and the Banks of an agreement whereby they settle and waive their eventual claims vis-a-vis Proton Capital Sdn Bhd and they declare to the maximum possible extent not to have any claim at any title vis-a-vis Proton Capital Sdn Bhd any other entity of Proton Group and the directors and statutory auditors of MVA appointed by Proton Capital Sdn Bhd and they waive their rights to sue them, for any title whatsoever; and

(i) obtaining of antitrust authorization from competent Italian authorities.
written by ultraman, May 05, 2009 11:46:27
MCA, Gerakan , MIC and UMNO are like lalangs. They bent to where the wind blows. All they want is money and power.
They are parsites.
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 05, 2009 12:34:56
Either Liow has a big problem with the English language, in which case he should undergo a quick refresher course so as not to disgrace the government and country when he appears in the official capacity as Health Minister whether inside or outside the country, or he is downright dumb.

ERR... MUST HV JUST CASTRATED HIMSELF TO PROOF HIS LOYALTY TO THE NEW MASTER LAH.
HAS TO SAY SOMETHING TO MAKE HIS WORTH FELT WHAT.
written by Limang, May 05, 2009 16:09:59
The solution is very simple: let's all get rid of BN in its entirety like we get rid of Gerakan in Penang - all problems in Malaysia will be solved.

Get ready for GE13 and usher in a new government! Time to change to a new world oder in Malaysia!

Forget what UMNO/BN is sayinga every now and then - what they are doing is trying to hookwink us again which they ahve done for the laast 51 years. Once they are in power, arrogance, mischief, oppression, suppression, discrimination, corruption, waste, absuses, and what you have start all over again.

SO NEVER AGAIN! ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! LET'S ALL BE DETERMINED THAT 13GE IS THE END OF BN WHATEVER ITS LEADERS MAY TRY TO HAVE US BELIEVE NOW WITH THEIR INSINCERE AND DEVIOUS STATEMENTS!!!! MAKKAL SAKTI!!!!
written by lab76820, May 05, 2009 17:20:46
Greetings Uncle Pete,

True. I have not finished reading the article, but let's put it this way. Learn the best - irregardless its from ur foe or ur friend. Learn it and use it to your advantage. Look at the issue and not the person. A person's stand could change - anytime, but for as long as the issues remains, we will still have a problem. Dozens of people could be singing the same tune again & again over time. Must resolve to settle the problem from the root!
God Bless!
written by A MI, May 05, 2009 22:25:57
Alahai,

I am not sure how it is in the rest of SE Asia but in Malaysia, the UMNO gomen is in fallible and all good citizens are supposed to parrot gomen policies, and fan the egos of the powers that be, no matter how idiotic or detrimental their actions and decisions might be. Our wonderful school and higher education system cultivates herd mentality superbly. Then with the help of BTN civil servants are further brain-washed till they become almost brain dead.

But how are people who stray from the herd treated? What did BN politicians call Mr Zaid Ibrahim?

Just look at what happened to this iman who strayed from herd mentality:
Seorang imam di Bukit Damansara dipecat setelah menyampaikan khutbah Jumaat yang menyeru kepada "pemerintahan adil, telus dan cara yang betul" pada Februari lalu.
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/103651

To top all this we also have to deal with mob mania of the mat rempits.

RPK is right we should stop throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

If more of us can be level headed and speak out in a civilised manner when things go amiss, I think we can slowly but surely bring about reformation.
written by sting, May 05, 2009 23:34:34
Herd mentality is right, RPK...

like how everything you write in your pieces is the truth,
everything the MSM says are lies...

The whole purpose of being able to debate is agreeing to disagree. Lets not end up like the UMNO goons who take no other views but their own, and shout everyone down. Lets act like adults and not some narrow-minded village Std 3 dropout
written by TWOG, May 06, 2009 11:28:29
/// Today, the Crooked Bridge is on again. The Crooked Bridge, which was a stupid idea when Tun Dr Mahathir was out of favour, is now a fantastic idea. Did I hear Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak defend the Crooked Bridge back in 2006 when the Tun Abdullah Badawi government decided to shelve it? Najib was Tun Abdullah’s number two back in 2006. Did Najib agree with Tun Abdullah that the Crooked Bridge is a stupid idea and should be shelved or did he defend Tun Dr Mahathir’s Crooked Bridge and argue the merits of continuing with it? ///

Nope RPK. This example is not a herd mentality. The Crooked Bridge is still a stupid idea - for everyone else. But for the promoters, there's plenty of money to be made. It is making a come back because Mahathir is back in power. You should know by now that projects are undertaken in Malaysia not because they are needed, or a fantastic idea. They are undertaken because of the commissions and kick backs.
written by Oasis, May 07, 2009 22:25:40
hmmm despite whacking upside down by MT, i can no one apologise for wacking PAS..
i have a feeling the animosity toward PAS persist...
Allah please bless PR...from breaking up..
written by abbey, May 08, 2009 21:39:47
When almost everyone was singing praises to TDM at the height of his carrier, I was one of the dissenting voices. Similarly when BN won the 2004 election, AAB was lauded as BN's champion spearheading this thumping victory, I had very deep reservation over AAB's competency. Now if it is proven right that the cancellation of crooked bridge project was a wrong move ( a direct result of this herd mentality syndrome ) then there will be another herd of 'lembus ' agreeing to the continuation of this project. It boils down to which herd you belong, rightly or wrongly.
written by PASOK, May 09, 2009 16:11:35

Mahathir is basically insane.
And always has been.