Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Will BN be replaced?

Will BN be replaced? PDF Print
Monday, 04 May 2009 09:10

Chua Soi Lek on the future of race-based politics

Najib must demonstrate through positive actions that the government of the day does not belong just to Umno. That the goverment of the day doesn't just implement policies that benefit only Malay [Malaysians] or a certain segment of people. I think these are the most fundamental changes he has to initiate.

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph

DESPITE his own dilemma about remaining in the MCA, party deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek believes the Barisan Nasional (BN) has a chance at regaining voter confidence, but not if it doesn't muster the political will to change.

He thinks the BN has a shot at reform under new Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak if the political parties can move towards becoming issue-centric, rather than remaining race-based.

Yet, the former cabinet minister doesn't think Malaysian society can fully forsake racial politics to embrace issues- and ideology-based politics until after two more general elections.

He says while the Pakatan Rakyat has lifted people's hopes with its "new politics" of equality, Malaysia's realpolitik will not let such a message be realised so easily.

The Umno-dominated government, therefore, has to show it can be fair and just to all races.

Chua speaks to The Nut Graph in the second and final part of an exclusive interview about Najib's early days, the shrinking Chinese Malaysian population, and the future of race-based parties.

On Prime Minister Najib

TNG: Before Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi left, he wanted to hold a BN convention to strengthen race relations. Should Najib still proceed with it?

I think there is a need for a BN convention so there can be a consensus among all the component parties on the future direction of the BN and the government. After March 2008, a lot of component party leaders felt that if they became more vocal, then things would be okay. They think they've shown to their own community that they've dared to speak out and demand the things their community wants.

But does that solve anything, whether by talking or by asking for things that your community should have — will it be fulfilled?

So speaking out is not enough. The MCA has been doing that a lot with a lot of different statements lately.

You can speak out, but will your voice be heard? I don't know how effective it is. By being vocal as a component party, are we sending the right message? People on the outside will also say, you are part of the government, why should you make so much noise? If you were really effective you could whisper and get it done. You don't have to behave like the opposition. The opposition needs to be vocal because they don't have a channel to the prime minister.

What do you think of Najib's leadership and his 1Malaysia?

It's time for him to walk the talk. People nowadays are not taken up by slogans. This is a time when the government must show and demonstrate that it is committed to treating everyone fairly.

He must be democratic and transparent in his decisions, must show that the government of the day means business, that it will deliver what it promises, and that it is making a Malaysia where all people, irrespective of race, are stakeholders. And as stakeholders, they are entitled to what is due to them under the constitution, and that the government will not say one thing and do another. They want to see that the leaders are in touch with the rakyat.

Najib's walkabout was good, but it doesn't solve problems. The walkabout should be followed by dialogue to know what that particular community wants. Just walking around and shaking hands is good political spinning, but the younger generation is sceptical about it. We should take it a step further by sitting down and talking.

I do that in my constituency, that's how I can survive, I walk around and talk. Even now I still do in my own bahagian, because I'm still ketua bahagian for MCA Batu Pahat. I help the local wakil rakyat by going around and talking to people. It's no point walking around and having coffee and creating a hoo-ha. Will that translate into support?

READ MORE HERE: http://www.thenutgraph.com/

written by mypanida, May 04, 2009 09:14:36
CONSENSUS ????

This word is not in umNO vocabulary !!! Nuff said.
written by wongnoball, May 04, 2009 09:38:37
Chua, stop the tarik Harga, You Immoral Wretch. Your Kind of Chinese we Malaysia also want to eradicate, just like some muslim, indians....talk less, DAP, PKR and PAS don't want you. Go and join DAP HEE YIT F independent Party! In fact you should Marry Hee and Complete your SICK Cycle of Re-Hab!! BeramBus!! You talk as if you are the Moral benchmark for Malaysia, when in fact you are Jamban Material. Shameless Swine!!
written by asguard, May 04, 2009 09:49:08
Yes, if there will and might ...the people shall replaced BN with PR! iT ONLY MATTER OF TIME SHALL TELL! BN is like old extension of paip line that needs to be replaced overall... meaning .... it does not fit with new centuary or ideas...it has to be replaced like or not!
written by SamSan, May 04, 2009 10:22:20
I think wongnoball should show some restrain on pouring out his emotions when criticising MCA Deputy Presicent Chua as all leaders in BN especially under the present leadership have lots of lucid skeletons in their closets. Just look at Najib and you will notice that his wife Rosmah was stolen under the very eyes of her ex husband and that too while Najib and Rosmah were married respectively. So I don't think Chua did anything that is morally wrong by BN standard.
written by mikewang, May 04, 2009 11:53:57
Dear Dr Chua,

You hold no elected seats and that makes you the perfect leader to jump.
Your only support is from the MCA delegates who voted you as their Deputy President, ostensibly as a balance to the party president.
However, in facing a vindictive Tee Keat, I don't think you have much room to contribute except to make your voice heard through your blog.

You ought to know that once the community you pledge to represent abandon UMNO, MCA is doomed, certainly not until UMNO truly reforms.
Knowing how utterly corrupt that party is, it may take 2 terms for them to reform while occupying the opposition benches.
I don't think you have that much time.
Get out while you are still needed.
written by axppin, May 04, 2009 13:14:56
Everyone and everything can be replaced. Especially political parties. Today replace BN. Tomorrow replace PR. Life goes on!

written by zarms97, May 04, 2009 14:06:22
No matter what...RAHMAN theory continues...
R ~ Rahman
A ~ Abdul Razak
H ~ Hussein Onn
M ~ Mapley
A ~ Abdullah
N ~ Najib

A ~ Anwar
L ~ Lim Guan Eng
H ~ Husam
A ~ A???
J ~ J???

It's Rahman AlHaj....not just Rahman smilies/cool.gif
written by jayenjr, May 04, 2009 14:20:48
Dr Chua

I will withhold my views on you until you can truly prove yourself to be trusted. On one hand, you give out hints that Pakatan is wooing you; on the other hand, you "thank BN leaders for their confidence in (you)" - refer to The Sun 04/05/09, page 6.

Hmmm. Are you playing the typical game that politicians generally play, whilst thinking that you hold the cards close to your chest?

One thing is clear. You want a cabinet position. That's your main gripe. I doubt that if Najib had given you a ministerial post, we would be reading about you being wooed by Pakatan; instead, you'll probably be firing cannonballs at them.

If, that remains your motivation, and that you just want to jump cos of your personal position, which, basically is ego-talking, then you can forget about jumping to Pakatan.

Cos you will be just another seasonal frog.

Don't you for one minute forget, that we, the rakyat, are supporting Pakatan for the ideals and aspirations they represent; not because of the personalities within their circle.

At this point, I really don't see how your own personal ideals fit into the larger picture that is Pakatan. You remain silent on these issues:-

1. ISA
2. Altantuya
3. The corrupt of the Judiciary, the Police, the Health DG, the muzzled media, the OSA, the racists in UMNO, the PKFZ, the illegal grab of power in Perak.

State your stand on these matters. Then we, the Rakyat, will determine your adequacy to represent us in whatever capacity. Not Pakatan Rakyat.

written by raven1958, May 04, 2009 15:13:24
Chua...stop your preaching...it has created that nauseating feeling - again....

Are you a role model for the average Chinese/Malaysian here....talk about health matters, safe sex, viagra...then screwing ayam in the same hotel room....i agree..berambus....

I hear even the doctors hate you when you told many of them to close shop or go to jail if they cannot comply with dumb regulations you created with that snake Merican.....you know what...parents must be warned about sending their children to the Universit Malaya Medical Faculty lest they become morons like you and that liar Merican...Ptui!!!
written by gycgocnt, May 04, 2009 16:10:37

Who is Chua???? Here is some TIPSSSS!

a)The one who Kow Towing to UMNO previously but now he think he has the qualification to give UMNO some lesson of speech.
b)The one who get the “Best Porno Actor of the Year 2008 Awards” even though he’s not the full time actor.
c)The one who sidelined by his own party members and now think he has the ability to change the whole BN coalition.
d)The one who intend to jump like “Froggy”, and he think people will forgive him if he change a different political shirt.
e)The one who cannot even manage himself of “Morality”, and now he want teach us how to govern a country.

Got it? He is Chua Soi Lek, the one who make himself a laugh stock in Chinese society!
written by miwaki, May 04, 2009 23:55:31
Soi Lek,as a medical doctor,do you need MCA to survive ? Or is MCA the only stepping stone to become a minister ? If your objective is to serve the people,then being a volunteer in any charitable organisation will also do.

If your objective is power and position,corporate world would also provide the opportunity,it's not necessary to be in MCA to be sidelined by someone who is less capable than you.Your son is without political future in MCA,I'm sure you know better than anybody else as you are already in that position.

The people of Malaysia will not condemn you if you were to defect to opposition as we understand your predicament.Everybody is looking forward to the demise of MCA in the next General election,what are you waiting for ? Christmas or Month of Hungry Ghosts ?
written by Tok Din, May 05, 2009 00:33:23
BN is dysfunctional and imploding big time.

A house divided against itself will fall.

This is plain truth and clear as day light and MCA, MIC and any component party leaders should have high enough IQ level to understand this.
written by alan cheong, May 05, 2009 10:17:43
bn and islamofascism will be deep sixed.

Jesus Christ is making malaysia His own.
And the oppressed will be delivered, captives set free, orphans and widows will get justice.

The blind will see, the deaf hear, the lame walk, the maimed made whole, the sick healed, the dead raised to life, the lepers cleansed and the gospel shall be preached unto the poor.
written by ROBERTNGTG, May 05, 2009 12:45:55
He thinks the BN has a shot at reform under new Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak if the political parties can move towards becoming issue-centric, rather than remaining race-based.

AH LEK, STILL TRYING VERY HARD TO MAKE YRSELF RELEVANT?? BUT TO WHO??
DONT WASTE TIME LAH. U CANT EVEN SHRUG OFF YOUR PERSONAL ISSUE. YR TIME IS OVER.
written by mrbean, May 05, 2009 17:10:11
Anytime an MCA guys talk.. give it a walkover.. talk kok (pun intended)only.. some more from a pornographer... wtf...
so many issues where MCA is just a lame dog .. we dare you.. pull out of BN .. and prove your point... sink UMNO...but you know why you don't do that.. cause you can't get any positions or power if you leave BN..
written by Aramsawafer, May 06, 2009 22:31:10
Wrongnoball, Gyogoont and mrbean
With due respect to you, your comments the way I see it is more of letting out your steam. Sorry to say that there is no substance but vulgar lambasting of the personal character of a person. Well, I am not saying you are wrong to your "free and democratic" expression but I am saying what good does your comments help in achieving a better malaysia. You know YM RPK has requested for restrain on unruly and vulgar comments just to assassinate the character of a person. This is an opportunity for us to direct our message to CSL, that is if he reads MT articles. And we can address it in a better, clearer and diplomatic way like what jayenjr wrote. I hope I have not offended you in my gentle remarks but if you are I can't help it. I wish you happy reading and happy writing