Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Malaysians: Vote with your eyes wide open

Malaysians: Vote with your eyes wide open PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 01 February 2008 10:20

I join the CSI-Parliament in calling on our Malaysian electorate to vote without fear and to send the strongest message possible to the Barisan Nasional Government that we will not be cynically fooled and manipulated by them as has happened in past elections.

{mosgoogle right} As we look around with our eyes wide open, we find Malaysian society in a pathetic state due to more than 50 years of BN power without the normal checks and balances found in other countries. We see the sharp rise of corruption, self-enrichment and abuse of power by the BN component parties and its cronies. We see BN representatives – MPs and State Assemblymen - that are out of touch with what is happening at the ground. We see BN leaders playing dirty, resorting to media spin, threats and the use of force to ensure that negative views and truthful news are kept away from the public.

Soaring prices, rising crime in our streets, falling educational standards, increased sense of insecurity and heightened racial and religious polarization: this is only the tip of the mountain of problems, scandals and disasters that the Barisan Nasional leaders and its representatives in Parliament are leaving for our younger generation.

We have it in our power in the coming elections not only to demand a better quality of life and a higher standard of government. We also have the power to vote against the BN and to send a loud signal that Malaysians are fed up with the present system and want change

Let us exercise our right in the polling booth to have better men and women voted in as our representatives so we can have a better future. Let us not fall victim to the scare and gloom and doom tactics played on us by an increasingly arrogant, uncaring and politically bankrupt government.

Dr. Lim Teck Ghee 

written by crazy, February 01, 2008 10:42:20
THis is a good piece of timely advice.Please get it down to the grassroots by whatever means possible.It has all the right messages to awaken the voters.Vote for a better Malaysia not be blinded by party loyalty.What we do now will decide the fate of all Malaysians for generations to come.
written by Bukit Chandan, February 01, 2008 10:49:29
We have extended our improvement plans in phases 1, 10 and 11 until the metrics are met because of the following reasons:

1. There are still many complaints from the Opposition that the EC still cannot conduct a clean, free and fair elections. Also, many new voters still cannot vote.

2. There is still corruption among UMNO members.

3. There is still corruption in the NGOs & Businesses like irresponsible hiding of essential goods and rampant price hikes.

Best Regards.........
bukit-chandan.blogspot.com
written by cruzeiro, February 01, 2008 10:57:32
Malaysians: Vote with your eyes wide open

=========================

The sad truth is many prefer to vote with their oral (and others, their aboral) orifices wide open!!
written by Semuaok, February 01, 2008 11:07:26
Dr. Lim, 50 years of BN. Aren't it the fault of the opposition as well. If opposition cannot agree with themselves. How could we voter agree with you. Why don't you guy get your act together.
written by LTan, February 01, 2008 12:06:43
SABAHAN!!! USE YOUR BRAIN AND VOTE!! IF YOU DO NOT WANT YOUR FATE TO BE LIKE THE DINASOUR FATE THEN VOTE WISELY OR ELSE THR WILL BE NO MORE SABAHAN IN ANOTHER 10YRS!!

DO NOT LET ALL THE CORRIDOR HERE CORRIDOR THERE TO BLIND YOU, THOSE OPPOTUNITY IS FOR THE WEST MALAYSIAN.

VOTE BN UMNO OUT OF THIS STATE!!
written by Saint, February 01, 2008 13:49:16
"Do not sell your votes"
One of the good themes to have come up for this electon.
Please add this line also
"Do not sell your votes - Vote for the opposition"
written by Taikohtai, February 01, 2008 13:53:44
Its time for Malaysians to start thinking for themselves and not continued to be parrot-fed by the ever juvenile BN gomen. Don't be frightened by the spectre of another MAY 13 as the UMNOPUTRAS will be more worried should chaos (GOD forbid) descend as they now own more businesses/properties/condos than other races unlike forty years ago! They have more to lose this time round, having stolen so much from the rakyat. Don't worry about the keris as the small crooked piece of metal is no match for the FIRE element.
May all Malaysians display true grit and courage in the coming election. This is your last chance to tell the world that MALAYSIANS BOLEH change their gomen also and put their destiny in their own hands.
written by Talisman, February 01, 2008 14:05:10
My slogan for the coming election is : MY HEART IS FOR BARISAN NATIONAL, MY HEad IS FOR THE OPPOSITION.

So, dear citizens, use our he*** when we vote this time.
written by Lim Lim, February 01, 2008 15:45:15
it is high time we ,the voters n the rakyats say "ENOUGH IS ENOUGH"!!UMNO/bn GOONS hav been leading us nowhere except free-falling to the temple of the doomed.....for the past fifty years
written by Ken Liew, February 01, 2008 15:57:26
VOTE FROM THE BOTTOM OF YOUR HEART~!!

We have suffer enough, so don't just waist another 4 years to come. OR we will surely beside the HELL's Door.
written by InEffective, February 01, 2008 16:18:11
Malaysians and their children deserve to 'live your best life'.

Don't be held back from conniving politicians promoting a racial division platforms - no peoples can never win and flourish with racial nationalism.

Take back control from the politicians, and teach them a lesson that they will never forget. Force them to compete and perform to get your vote. Never ever sole-source your governance.
written by hiro, February 01, 2008 17:48:05
We could create another bumper sticker:

They can give you money, bring you electric fan, sewing machines or guni-bags of rice.

Take what is given, because that's good manners, and you probably need it (and also if you don't take it they'll mark your house and may prevent you from going to vote, or do something with the electoral roll), but there is NO NEED to vote for them after that.

What can they say except that you're ungrateful, but you can always turn around and say "you're worse".
written by Flex Tan, February 01, 2008 20:34:20
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

MALAYSIANS CAN SURGICALLY WIDEN THEIR EYES (TO LOOK ).... "BUT STILL CANNOT SEE" ON WHAT IS ACTUALLY HAPPENING AROUND THEM.... BERAS AND TUPPERWARE MID OF 2007, GREEN POW LAST YEAR, THAIPUSAM LAST MONTH, ANG (RED) POW TODAY, PECAH TANAH TOMMORROW, ETC, ETC

LETS PUT IT LITERALLY.....,

THEY (BN) HAVE BEEN BUYING YOUR VOTES ... YOU CLAPPED, LAUGH, KENDURI, ATTEND FUNCTIONS AS THEIR CLOWN TO FILL THEIR CAMERA SPACE (ON HOW GREAT THE CROWD SUPPORT FOR BN) TO BE AIR IN RTM, TV3 NEWS ETC ETC .A.K.A. PROPAGANDA, UN-ETHICAL & CURRUPT PRACTICE !!!!
written by Flex Tan, February 01, 2008 20:39:29
WHY MALAYSIANS HAVE BECOMED SO CHEAP AND GULLIBLE......???
written by Flex Tan, February 01, 2008 20:54:19
MATHadIR DIPLOMATICALLY CALLED IT ... "MELAYU MUDAH LUPA".
written by BennyG, February 01, 2008 22:14:15
I agreed with your agenda but I repeat my questions:
1. What is there to gain from splitting the opposition votes?
2. Who will gain the most from the split of the opposition votes???
OPEN YOUR EYES WIDER!!
written by Anti Relon, February 01, 2008 22:53:36
Independent.co.uk
West accepts flawed elections if the winner is an ally, says rights group
By Claire Soares
Friday, 1 February 2008

"States claiming the mantle of democracy, including Kenya and Pakistan, should guarantee the human rights that are central to it, including the rights to free expression, assembly and association, as well as free and fair elections," it said. "By allowing autocrats to pose as democrats... the United States, the European Union and other influential democracies risk undermining human rights worldwide."

Kenya's presidential election on 27 December that returned the incumbent Mwai Kibaki to power was widely condemned as fraudulent. About 850 people have been killed and almost a quarter of a million others have fled their homes in a wave of ethnic violence, that was originally triggered by the poll but which has now taken momentum of its own.

"Too many Western governments insist on elections and leave it at that," said Kenneth Roth, the executive director of Human Rights Watch. "It seems Washington and European governments will accept even the most dubious election so long as the 'victor' is a strategic or commercial ally."

The former UN secretary general Kofi Annan is trying to defuse the Kenyan crisis, which threatens to derail the continent. He has suggested that immediate political issues could be resolved within four weeks and the broader issues underlying the crisis within a year.

Human Rights Watch urged Western nations to make start making democracy meaningful. It accused Washington and European capitals of playing along last year when Nigeria held elections, where there were widespread and credible accusations of election violence and vote-rigging. The consequences of that silence from the international community were being felt today, Mr Roth said.

He added: "Nigeria's leader came to power in a violent and fraudulent vote, yet he's been accepted on the international stage. It's no wonder that Kenya's president felt able to rig his re-election."