Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow It’s about the economy, stupid

It’s about the economy, stupid PDF Print
Saturday, 02 May 2009 15:57

Now, in Malaysia, chickens cost between RM12 to RM14 each (usually 1 chicken is about 2 kilos). In England, the same chicken costs 3 Pounds. No, don’t convert that to Ringgit because we are not converting the salary you earn and are using a ratio of one-to-one.

Turunkan harga ayam

Oleh RASIDAH MISNI
Utusan Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR 1 Mei - Orang ramai mendesak Persekutuan Persatuan Penternak Malaysia (PPPM) menurunkan harga runcit ayam di pasaran yang kini membebankan mereka.

Dalam tinjauan Utusan Malaysia di sekitar Pasar Pudu di sini hari ini, orang ramai meluahkan rasa tidak puas hati dengan kenaikan harga runcit ayam yang diumumkan PPPM semalam.

Seorang tukang masak, Ahmad Saifulrizan Ahmad Zabidi, 29, berkata, harga runcit ayam yang tidak menentu sejak kebelakangan ini mengelirukan rakyat.

"Kadang-kadang kenaikan harga ayam terlalu tinggi dan berubah- ubah seolah-olah tiada harga pasaran yang tetap.

"Kami berharap kerajaan akan menetapkan harga siling ayam kepada pemborong kerana peniaga akan menjual ayam mengikut harga daripada pemborong," katanya.

Semalam, PPPM mengumumkan kenaikan harga ayam daging di seluruh negara antara 40 sen dan 60 sen sekilogram atas alasan faktor permintaan dan bekalan semasa.

Harga runcit ayam siang berserta kaki, kepala, hati dan hempedal naik kepada RM6.15 sekilogram berbanding RM5.65 sekilogram manakala harga runcit ayam siang tanpa kaki, kepala, hati dan hempedal ialah RM6.90 sekilogram daripada RM6.30 sekilogram.

Seorang suri rumah, Jurinah Abu Bakar, 50, berkata, kenaikan harga runcit ayam tidak sepatutnya berlaku kerana ayam daging bukan barangan import dan tidak perlu dibayar cukai.

"Harga ayam kadang-kadang melambung, esok jatuh pula. Kenapa tidak diselaraskan atau ditetapkan saja? Harap pihak berkuasa tetapkan harga ayam di pasaran seperti harga daging yang tidak berubah," katanya.

Tambahnya, tindakan menaikkan harga ayam itu tidak sewajarnya berlaku tambahan pula ketika situasi ekonomi yang tidak menentu pada masa ini.

Sementara itu, seorang pekerja swasta, Mat Isa Mohd. Wadi, 33, berkata, pengguna sudah letih dengan putaran kenaikan barangan keperluan seperti yang berlaku sebelum ini.

"Keadaan ini menjejaskan ekonomi rakyat lebih-lebih lagi pelanggan seperti kami yang masih dibayangi kenaikan harga beberapa barangan sebelum ini," katanya.

Dalam pada itu, tinjauan di Pasar Pudu mendapati peniaga masih mengekalkan harga runcit ayam antara RM5.50 dan RM5.80 sekilogram.

Peniaga-peniaga tersebut mendakwa berbuat demikian kerana mengikut kehendak dan permintaan pelanggan.

Seorang peniaga, Zulkiflie Zainal, 30, berkata, memang tidak dinafikan harga ayam daging sentiasa berubah-ubah.

"Walaupun harga ayam sekejap naik dan sekejap turun, ia tidak menjejaskan perniagaan. Kami terpaksa akur dengan harga pasaran dan mengutamakan permintaan pelanggan.

"Kami tidak sesuka hati menaikkan harga runcit ayam kerana takut pelanggan lari," katanya.

Rakannya, Khairudeen Jamaludin, 34, yang turut sependapat berkata, mereka tetap menjual ayam daging pada harga asal sejak dua minggu lalu.

"Kami masih menjual ayam daging pada harga tetap iaitu RM5.80 sekilogram kerana jika kami naikkan harga ayam, permintaan pelanggan akan berkurangan," katanya.

Seorang lagi peniaga, Lukman Hakim, 45, berkata, walaupun pemborong mengenakan harga borong RM4.70 sekilogram kepada peniaga namun mereka masih mengekalkan harga asal.

I have written about this issue more than once before. Nevertheless, as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said, Melayu mudah lupa (Malays forget easily), so it makes good sense to keep reminding them over and over again -- even though some people might say I sound like a boring stuck record. Sometimes, though, it is not so much Melayu mudah lupa but more that they did not even know about it in the first place.

Malays understand England. England, as Umno keeps harping about over and over again, once colonised this country. And it was Umno that fought fearlessly to free us from British colonialism. (Actually it was more English than British because the Irish, Scots and Welsh were themselves sort of ‘colonised’ by England). And Malays understand ayam (chicken) because that is an important food for the Malays. Okay, I am not talking about the Chinese version of ‘ayam’ here but our feathered friends.

By the way, while on the subject of ‘ayam’, allow me to digress a bit. Malays are very particular about the ayam they eat. I mean; all you need to do is send a SMS to 100 people saying that KFC is not halal and the message would spread like wildfire. Within hours the official spokesman for KFC would issue an official statement denying this and would even offer the public a tour of their facilities to see how the chickens are slaughtered.

But do you know what? Malays are only concerned whether our feathered friends are halal or not. When it comes to the other type of ‘ayam’, the two-legged ones, they are not concerned whether they are halal or not. I suppose as long as the meat is still alive they gasak only. Only when it has been killed do they worry whether it has been killed in the proper Islamic manner or not.

Okay, enough digressing. Back to the issue highlighted by Utusan Malaysia above, the price of chicken.

Let’s do a comparison study. Say you work as a security guard or jaga. (We employ a dozen in our neighbourhood and their salaries are collectively paid for by the residents -- the residents’ committee collects RM60 per month per house).

These jagas earn about RM1,200 to RM1,400 per month.

A security guard or jaga in England also earns about 1,200-1,400 per month (in Pounds Sterling though) based on about RM35 per hour and double that on Sundays and public holidays.

So let us take one Ringgit as equivalent to one Pound, based on a one-to-one ratio according to the salary of jagas. Therefore, whenever we pay for anything, we should also use the same comparison of one Ringgit as being equivalent to one Pound -- since we are using the same basis in comparing the salary of a jaga in Malaysia to a jaga in England.

Now, in Malaysia, chickens cost between RM12 to RM14 each (usually 1 chicken is about 2 kilos). In England, the same chicken costs 3 Pounds. No, don’t convert that to Ringgit because we are not converting the salary you earn and are using a ratio of one-to-one.

We must remember that, today, chickens are considered the poor man’s food. Fish and other ‘luxury’ items are beyond the reach of the average wage earner. If you go to a Chinese restaurant the bill will shoot up if you order fish so only towkays would eat fish. The working class will settle for chicken.

So there you have it. Malaysians, Malays in particular, should not be too impressed with all this talk of pembangunan. Also, no need to talk to Malays about GDP, GNP, FDI, or whatever. This means nothing to the working class. Just talk about the price of chicken and other food products. Tell them about the salary levels in Malaysia compared to that in our previous master’s country, England. Then tell them for every one Ringgit we earn in Malaysia they earn the equivalent in Pounds in England -- one-to-one. Then tell them, while chickens cost RM12-RM14 in Malaysia, it costs only RM3 in England in terms of equivalent purchasing power.

That is the so-called pembangunan that we have seen since the British went home 52 years ago. Sure, now Malays got daulat, Malays got maruah, and whatnot. But Malays don’t have money because your money doesn’t have purchasing power.

Let’s hope the Malays remember this when they go vote in the Penanti by-election. Or maybe, as Mahathir said, Melayu mudah lupa.

Comments (79)Add Comment
written by kamal, May 02, 2009 16:19:02
Baby chicken cost a £1 each and big bird cost £2.50. Malaysians are paying a higher value for the chicken.

All this is due to CORRUPTION !!! BN agenda for the people.

Do we need BN anymore?

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
agree 246
written by shiokguy, May 02, 2009 16:22:21
How About Car?

I blog about this last May, For the car even with the direct conversion of exchange rate. OUR Proton can still be more expensive than the same car selling in US.

Do you mind having BMW 3 series for RM130K? Dream On unless you are in UK or US!

Proton go to hell!

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...roton.html

agree 277
written by miwaki, May 02, 2009 16:24:58
Yes,Proton Exora is priced at RM 75,000.00 per unit and Malaysians jump like they strike a fortune.It's cheap and affordable they claim.American will not purchase a car ( whether it is japanese or American)and travel by subway for life if the car is priced at US$75,000.00 per unit.With US$75,000.00,they can afford a mercedez I suppose !
agree 255
written by Oscar Winner, May 02, 2009 16:40:25
The plundering will not stop unless BN's rule comes to an end. We have enough of their bullshit for too long. They have no qualms about increasing taxes and indirectly enriching themselves and cronies. Almost all goods are over-priced in Malaysia, be it chicken, cars, houses, etc...you name it lah. Do these rich BN goons give a damn?? No, they don't. They are in BN for fortune and fame, remember??
agree 189
written by malsia1206, May 02, 2009 16:41:23
Malaysia is surrounded by seas and open waters all round. And I just wonder why fish has to be considered a luxury item in our food chain. Honestly, even with a monthly income of RM3-5K, a family with 2-3 children would not be able to afford some decent ikan putih. But we can afford a cool million to send some indecent so-called VIPs and their entorage to go Disneyland. Our politicians can afford all the luxuries, but at whose expense? Politics sure stink in this country.
agree 288
written by teckkuan, May 02, 2009 16:41:35
I agree Sir RPK

its not just corruption, but i think its also more to the government's failure to control inflation rate.

i'm currently studying in UK, and allow me to give you more comparisons. if you want to have a meal outside in a decent restaurant it only cost around 3-4 pounds. but in our country it costs around a whopping RM 10-15. buying one shirt in UK here costs around 10 pounds (the normal average man quality) while back at home it costs around RM 20 or even more for a lower quality shirt. if you go to the wet market you can buy a week groceries for one person for around 10 to 20 pounds, while back at home RM 20 is not even enough for you to last for a few days.

and those are just expenses. what about comparing our earnings to the UK citizens? if you work just for one hour in UK you are guaranteed 4 pounds per hour. and a normal UK citizen who works for 8-9 hours a day. so for one day a UK citizen would earn a minimum of 32 pounds. enough for them to buy a week groceries. and mind you, this is the salary of a waiter, we're not even talking about admin staffs or school teacher. but what about us? we have to work a day to earn around RM 50, but that is not even enough for us to survive for more than a few days.

my points above are most probably flawed in so many ways because i havent take into account of other necessities, but i'm sure you can see my point. it doesnt take a blind man to decide which place is better to "cari makan". and a failed government is a government who does not recognise the simple impact of growing inflation and reduction in purchasing power. who cares about GDP or growth rate? if our growth rate is 5% a year but we have 8% or higher inflation rate then whats the point? its like our purchasing power increasing for 5% while the goods around us increased for 8%, faster than our buying power. so we've actually gone poorer!

i'm no economist, but i say our government has drastically failed in supervising our economy
agree 348
written by carribeanking7, May 02, 2009 16:47:18

It is indeed true what you say about the importance of chicken and Malaysians mudah lupa, in case some have forgotten when Sanusi Junid was the agriculture minister, some sarcastically refered to him as "Minister of Chicken" due to his apparent obsession about making announcement with all things "chicken.
Given a chance BN would even establish a position for "menteri hal-ehwal ayam".
Many malaysians also forget that Dr.M is instrumental for the artificially low wages we suffer now by crushing groups who asked for a minimum wage to be enforced, his excuse was that it would chase away foreign investors, something the policies of the BN govt does very well on their own http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/102962

agree 121
written by areenna, May 02, 2009 16:51:53
Some unofficial Barisan Nasional guidelines in handling public economy comments:

Chicken expensive? Tell the people: "Why don't you boycott chicken, nobody forced you to eat chicken ma."

Vegetable expensive? chilies expensive? Tell the people "Grew some la, doesn't matter you live in in small flat or not. Ever heard the word hydrophnic".

Market confidence? Just ask EPF to buy and buy stcocks, it will push the composite Index high and then we can tell them "See, it show the market's confidence in how we handle economy.

Public and school transport cost hike: : "Those LRT, train and bus petrol is not cheap to maintain, you know. You can try car pooling or why not try cycling, its good for your health too"

Economy slow? Let's just announce some mega-billion projects, never mind how we going to raise the fund, let future generation worry about our country debt, after all we can sapu hand some billions.

Public and school transport cost hike: : "Those LRT, train and bus petrol is not cheap you know. You can try car pooling or why not try cycling, its good for your health too"

Cost of living too high? "You must rajin cari duit lebih, why you sibuk-sibuk about us can go shopping spree in Paris everyweekend, its our money. Don't blame us if you don't have enough, this is capitalist world. Eveywhere like that also."
agree 170
written by KM Wong, May 02, 2009 16:52:33
Let's go to the other extreme (Mahathir's good friend's country) Zimbabawe and you'll find you need to earn a million a day just to buy a loaf of bread. And all signs point to us heading to that direction, especially Mahathir is back at the helm again. So still wanna vote BN, folks?? Get them bastards out of here.
agree 129
written by justice, May 02, 2009 16:55:25
Why you should not vote Barisan Nasional? The answer is very obvious!! Wake up Malaysians!! Give Pakatan Rakyat a chance come GE13!!!

agree 277
written by Ken Liew, May 02, 2009 16:58:49
Then the BN powered government will say: DONT compare Malaysia with other country....

ER~!! Bro... if we dont compare, where can we improve?? Does this mean Malaysia are still sitting duck when comes to pembangunan?? Cos we cannot compare. as wise man said, NO COMPARE, NO IMPROVEMENT~!
agree 114
written by wongnoball, May 02, 2009 17:11:27
ALL Malays can look for TUN Diam for free chickens. 42 billions can buy 3 billions chickens. Each Malay will get 300 chicken if shared by 10 millions Malay.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by sorosapril, May 02, 2009 17:14:05
Don't understand why people still vote for BN?ALLIANCE since independent in 1963, they have formed government for so long and yet fail to develop the country as compared with Singapore.

People from BN have the cheek to say only they can bring development to the country and yet they have it for the last 46 years and we are regressing even Indonesia is doing better than us now.

I read somewhere in Malaysia Today some one praised the ex-ex PM for how great he was and so on, just have a look, those countries which used IMF turned out better than us now, obvious example is Indonesia.

How i wish those Malay can wake up and open their eyes big big and see instead of following blindly what BN people said.
written by hellosunshine, May 02, 2009 17:18:06
"When it comes to the other type of ‘ayam’, the two-legged ones, they are not concerned whether they are halal or not."

Err.. you mean ayam got 3 or 4 legged kind? Ha ha ha! Sorry, can't help it. Got to have a dig at you after your take on umnoputras licking those bak kut teh eating ayams.
"Ayam what ayam," Popeye smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by mowadoha, May 02, 2009 17:25:31
Or maybe, as Mahathir said,

written by gycgocnt, May 02, 2009 17:36:02
Our government like to compare us to foreign country, and show us our cost of living is lower than neigbouring country.

What a stupid government! They compare our chicken with England chicken; they compare our cost of fuel with Singapore; they compare our rice with Bruinei! How stupidity are those which named tagged with "Minister"? Compare our cost of living with others country, but you should compare also our standard of living what! Yes our fuel cheper than Singapore, but how much is Singapore citizens minimum wage?

Government cannot compare our durian with America durian! We are the producer! In the same case, you cannot campare our fuel with Singapore fuel, we are the producer! And not importer!

Maybe, oh, Not maybe! It is a "Must" situation for all the government minister including Prime Minister to re-educate from Kindergarden. And let them know Apple is always compare to Apple, not Durian!

BODOH, Stupid! the so-called minister including Prime Minister! You know how to calculate "commission" for submarine but don't know how to campare Durian ah?
written by Awang Hitam, May 02, 2009 17:40:31
It is common knowledge that we have been ripped off for over a quarter century by the BN gomen and its gang of marauders! Cars used to be fair priced items. Then MM Kutty started his racist pet car projest; we were doomed till today!

In Malaysia, a crappy Waja costs RM30,000 to 45,000, which means our security guard needs 20 to 35 months salary to buy one. He only lives on air and well water....
IN UK, a standard family car like Vauxhall **** or Golf costs between 9,000 to 13,000 Sterling Pound. So a security guard earning 1,500 STP is technically paying 10 to 15 months salary, and he still has some money for Fish & Chips and for petrol.

written by SamBall, May 02, 2009 17:45:40
Konklusi-nya:

"Melayu mudah lupa" sebab dulu ayam murah; sekarang harga ayam naik; susah nak lupa maha kaka; towkay banyak wang; makan ikan; masih ingat, so no problem

It has always been about the economy; now and forever.

PS: Hey, how about comparing price of durian in UK? boleh kah?
written by arazak, May 02, 2009 17:53:03

It is interesting that you have come out with this basic fundamental subject that hit us most hardest – the economy and purchasing power.

I would analyze the current purchasing power we have with a different approach; and that is focusing on the root cause of why the purchasing power is diminishing. If you look back through the 22 years of the Mahathir's regime, there are staggering number of physical development (the media spins them as "pembangunan"). Hey, we have the "tallest", "biggest", "longest" and all sorts of obscene measurements for these pembangunans. The thing is, the costs of constructing most of these so called "pembangunan" are inflated costs to fatten cronies and those people walking in the corridors of power. Take some examples such as the highway, the LRT, Airport, seaports (PKFZ from RM2 billion to now RM8 billion?), etc. These infrastructure costs will be a component of the production and sales cost of anything manufactured and produced in this country. Any year one economic students will tell you that if "production" cost is high than the sales price would also have to be high too. As to why these construction costs are high? The answer is simple; mainly corruption and looting of tax-payers money. Hence, that is what we are having now; the legacy of "pembangunan" a la' Mahathir.

Shiokguy and Miwaki above complained about the high price of Proton. Look into the construction price of Proton plant and you will know why? Look also at the prices of the component parts Proton buys from its crony suppliers, and you will know why? They bought lousy automatic window and alarm system for very high prices. Of course they have to cover all these costs (and struggling) to make profit! To make things worse, to cover Proton's ass, they have to prop up import tax on foreign car. This further escalates the inflation. Usually, in economic we say prices being manipulated upwards as "artificial inflation". But no, this is not "artificial inflation", it has become "real inflation". Spooky?

My analysis here do not stop at Proton, but anything we Malaysian purchased and will purchse; chicken, fish, rice. . ., anything weather it is a necessity goods or not. And all these are because of the "inflated" cost of "pembangunan", the biggest, the tallest, the longest. . ., what have you! Anyway, I am not against "pembangunan". Pembangunan is good. What I am against is the obscene "inflated cost" of pembangunan!

Remember, prolong inflation will lead to recession, and recession will lead to depression. Our country will be heading towards the same direction of Argentina and Brazil in the 70's and 80's. And these countries purchasing power suffered because they borrowed too much for white elephant "pembangunans". The money they borrowed for the "pembangunans" mainly went to the pockets of politicians and crony companies (read "Confession of an Economic Hitman" by John Perkins). Does this sounds familiar?

You guys out there . . ., stop wondering why the price of chicken is RM14 a piece, it is because of the "cost-inflated pembangunan", stupid! Still going to vote for the UMNO/BN regime in the next election?
agree 148
written by malaysian, May 02, 2009 18:03:28
I can almost hear that motherf@#$&# Najib saying again, "Time to tighten your belts"!

Meanwhile, the politicians get a new administrative palace and a new fleet of Perdanas....
written by onnetline, May 02, 2009 18:03:49
Even if it's RM 120/= per Kg, it's not a burden for the ' Apa nama ' multi-millionaires family members, UMMNO warlords and their cronies too ! !

Plainly, these are extreme corrupted scoundrels of Malaysia ! !
written by Raja Petra, May 02, 2009 18:10:37
Dear Old Man Jasin, that is NOT my title. I stole it. Let's see if you are clever enough to tell me whom I stole it from.
written by overseaMas, May 02, 2009 18:11:54
Our BN government has drastically enrich their pocket only but failed in supervising our economy and people pocket ..... sad ......
written by Raja Petra, May 02, 2009 18:14:55
Dear SamBall, no problem. I can do that. And I can assure you that cheese in England is cheaper than durians in Malaysia. I mean: what's durians to Malaysians is cheese to the English.
written by cruzeiro, May 02, 2009 18:22:50
http://1.bp.********.com/_XuHq...father.jpg
written by cruzeiro, May 02, 2009 18:23:41
written by ChiangKT, May 02, 2009 18:35:09
The cost of living in Malaysia is very high for someone earning RM. That is why brain drain is such a problem. Most people who can find a job in more developed countries would have gone elsewhere to earn a better living. There is really no excuse why our government has failed to improve the living of the people. There is no inflation adjusted salary. 10 years ago, my ex-boss started his job at RM2k. 10 years later, I started mine at RM2k. So that shows how Malaysians are getting poorer and poorer with prices of consumer goods rising year by year especially in the past 2 or 3 years. However, I am not sure inflating salaries would necessarily help Malaysian economy, although ending corruption would definitely help. One of Malaysia's competitive edge is providing higher end services at low labour costs. With China's advancement, it is more and more difficult for a business to justify continuing it's presence in Malaysia due to higher costs. So really, what advantage is there for a company to establish a company in Malaysia? After so many years, we have yet to find our competitive edge. Foreign companies are withdrawing one by one to cheaper countries. Unlike Singapore (our bitter rival), we do not have highly skilled workers, and even if we do, they all end up working in Singapore or elsewhere. So, Malaysia is really in a difficult and fragile position. The government needs to take leadership to take us to the next level. But as we all know after 52 years of independence, whoever in government are only concerned about the balance in their Swiss bank accounts. I know of several Malaysian friends going home for good because of this recession. The government should take this opportunity to do something to retain these talents as we all know M'sians have talents, just that the government doesn't.
written by malaysianohope, May 02, 2009 18:42:06
OK! lest talk about chicken since we can understand economics in the layman's term. Going by how chicken are reared & processed I think the only difference between England & Malaysia is the cost of feeds which in the case of Malaysia are from imported corn, the price of a chicken should be about RM5 to RM6 not the inflated RM12 to RM14. The difference of between RM7 to RM8 goes to umno tax, that what it is. This type of economic is called umno induced Laissez -faire Economics which taxes the working & poor Malaysians by stilt to fatten the wallets of its member.
Btw din know that you are familiar with the price of chicken in England, your country of origin. Don't worry I won't tell the SB where you are, they are too numskull to know.
written by bknight, May 02, 2009 18:45:41
this is a very good piece..i have wrote a similar comparison to my friends..who those malaysians who have worked or lived in other countries like the US, UK, hell even in the ME. we have to agree that our purchasing power in our own country is bad. a person who earn 5-6k will not have enough to save. why ?

first of all, for any businesses in malaysia, there is soo many middle man involved, prices of goods which are affordable become expensive because of these middleman. Car become a lifetime debt especially with those APs and import taxes, cars that is considered a luxury cars such as the camry, altima and even Hyundai is soo much cheaper in other countries..and we have to pay 75k for a Proton ?? wtf ?? right ?

the APs and the import taxes this have to be abolished. there is no free market in malaysia, it is all about taking care the cronies. a KIA or Hyundai is not a luxury car, but in Malaysia the prices on the road makes it a luxurious item.

with the rate the gov are going, i think many right minded malaysians will not wanna work and contribute to our country's economy because the gov is not taking care of the welfare of malaysians.

once again i will have to say..our life back home is made miserable with all these artificial jacked up prices in the context of protecting our national cars, our national businesses..i say to hell with it! smilies/angry.gif
written by malaysianohope, May 02, 2009 18:53:39
Pete, let me help this Old Man Jasin.
The answer is Hillary's amorous husband, the 42nd President of U.S.A!
written by Raja Petra, May 02, 2009 18:55:08
Dear malaysianohope, I know the price of chicken for every country in the world. For example, in Thailand, the price of chicken is half the price of a ladyboy if in Phuket, while the price of a ladyboy in Bangkok is twice that of Phuket and cheaper than that of Pattaya although the price of chicken is the same.
written by malaysianohope, May 02, 2009 19:12:12
Aduh Pete! I'm talking about chicken & you talk about ladyboys. The chicken I meant is the KFC chicken type no not the feather-less type. Btw why is stressed induced (penned-up) chicken cheaper than Kampung chicken. The reason why I ask is that Kampung chicken east anything in the bushes for free while the farmers have to buy imported corn to feed the former? Strange umno economics!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by pakasia, May 02, 2009 19:13:49
The umno led administration simply incompetent. It is not true Malays are not capable. The problem is simple - corruption!
written by arazak, May 02, 2009 19:30:00
Malaysianohope,

Thanks for "inflated feed", and the Induced Laissez -faire Economics insights.

There you go again . . ., didn't I try to explain that; part of any cost of production in Malaysia goes to the UMNO and their cronies' pockets. We are getting poorer and they are getting richer! Do they care about the financial woes of the rakyaat? Certainly not!

Look into the website and do research on "correlation between corruption (including wholesale looting) and failed economies"; that leads to worthless currencies and hyperinflation! I need not tell you more; you do not have to be an economist to figure this out!
written by Daryl, May 02, 2009 19:33:37
More facts to the argument. In US

Policemen make about ~ $27 K a year and lets say PDRM officers make that much as well

1 whole chicken cost about US$3-4
1 Honda Civic US$17-24K
1 32" LCD HDTV US$400-1000

Just imagine if Malaysia have these prices and compare it just 1 to 1. USA is not a rich country but properly manage between local goods prices.
written by Limau, May 02, 2009 20:08:12
Well said Pete, when I was a kid my mother used to give me 10cents for my school pocket money,and I use to enjoy enough with that, Today the children demand 2 ringgit. Orang Puteh sudah balik.
written by Eyes Wide Open, May 02, 2009 20:16:34
In the US, a loaf of bread costs abt US$ 1. And it's almost as long as your arm. 2 slices of that bread will fill your tummy. Gardenia is RM2.10 for 14 slices. I sometimes have to eat 6 slices to feel full.

In Australia, a bowl of noodles in a Chinese restaurant will cost you abt Aus$ 8 - and it's so big and chock full of seafood goodies, it's a meal for 2 people. In Malaysia, a pathetic bowl of Secret Recipe noodles costs close to RM20.

In Singapore, imported CDs cost abt S$15. In Malaysia it's abt RM70.

In the UK, the average person spends about 6 months salary on a car.

E.g. BMW 3-series cost less than 40K pounds sterling,
so a guy in the UK with salary of abt 6k-7k/mth can very comfortably afford the Ultimate Driving Machine and still provide for his family.

A family guy in Malaysia earning RM6k-7k/mth however won't dare set his sights above a crappy Proton - that even if he takes a 9-year loan!

Speaking of Proton, few years ago, the crappy Iswara (with hi-specs which we never saw on Malaysian roads) was selling in the UK for about 4k ! Even after conversion (x7 at that time), it was STILL cheaper than what we pay for in Malaysia (RM30k at that time)!

We are Malaysians, but we pay Mat Salleh prices for goods with quality that no Mat Salleh will accept.
written by Taufique, May 02, 2009 20:19:11
This is why my smarter younger sibling is in the UK,
and his dumass elder brother is here in Malaysia. Hoping for a change, a longshot more like it.
written by BennyG, May 02, 2009 20:23:02
Yes. Let Penanti voters be reminded of the prices of basic necessities.
written by charcoy feng, May 02, 2009 20:29:32
Abang Pete,

It's nice to have good flow of positive comments.

As for all of us who are simply frustrated with people still voting for BN, this article shows that even a chicken can be used as an example to explain complex subjects like economics and politics. This is a brilliant example on how to educate those who are ignorant and remind those lacking memory power.

So many years of lies, abuse, deviation, corruption, and every other sin have been the key elements which have kept UMNO/BN going all these years. It has had an adverse effect on all those who believe or trust them. That explains how they managed to get 1/2 of the total votes cast during 2008 GE. Real live heroes who actually sacrificed for the nation's well being have been permanently labeled as cruel and merciless sworn enemies of the country. Thats how powerful their propaganda machineries have been till abang pete and the barisan rakyat bloggers together with other alternative medias came to the rescue.

It's by God's grace that we have a country blessed with plenty of resources and at the same time limited natural disasters. If not for all the misdeeds, we really would have been a proud nation not like the laughing stock we are now.

Regards
written by talk2stop, May 02, 2009 20:41:23
You know why Goods & Sevices are expensive in Malaysia. Let me tell you a story. I know an Australian friend who deal with scientific equipment. As an agent for South East Asia he told me about what he needed to do just to secure a contract in Malaysia. He needed to pay for installing air conditionings, commission, fees, freebies, etc etc. End of the day that same equipment cost 5 times as much as it was sold to Australia. Now you have it, why Goods & Services is so expensive in Malaysia.
written by arazak, May 02, 2009 20:50:18
talk2stop,

You got that right too! It all boils down to the unnecessary "inflating" cost of production by the UMNO regime and their cronies. . ., didn't I tell you so!
written by jstom98, May 02, 2009 21:23:07
Hi Pete, are you giving a hint that you are in England? All the best to you and your family! Hope can meet you when I visit London in October. smilies/cool.gif
written by Msian Idol3, May 02, 2009 21:43:12
Alamaaak. Got hantam again with chickens. Hey non muslim guys, eat more porky. Pound for pound its cheaper. UMNoputras love those special breed 2 legged bat kut teh eating chickens and it can come in any colour, not rambo turkey size shapes. Back to high cost of living moaners -- you guys deserve it. Keeping quiet & voting BN for 52 yrs is what you get. Does Umnoputras or our royalties, MB's, ministers or any high flying govt officials ever complain -- they just love things the way it is. Higher cost means higher commission lah. Don't you guys get it. Lucky me, my grandfather left me a small fortune(small change) and I have a dozen well to do adult kids to stay with one month here at this house & one month there. This is sweet.
written by panca, May 02, 2009 21:45:23
Compare to neighbour Singapore, food and car are cheaper in the ratio of one to one. The HDB flats are better than lots of condo and every citizen given house ownership.

At one ocassion waiting for appointment there were casual talks among those queueing for their turns, many complained about how Malaysia houses were getting costly(unreasonably, too much of additional hidden cost to the coffers of people in power?) and they did not even know that Singapore govt ensure each citizen has house ownership opportunity. They were surprised, the pak ciks were hearing something new, in fact it's been there since many decades ago.

Malaysia Boleh? longest satay in the university lah.......boleh! Rakyat have been short-changed(cheated), yes as Bro RPK put it, if there is sms from umno says Malaysia is doing well and what they(voters) need to do is to vote for umno then everything will be ok. OK? OK? OK?

Jangan di bodohkan lagi. We need a new government, we need new people, we need qualified people not just politicians. That is what Change is all about. No more time to waste with racialism politics. Sack them, vote for change.
written by panca, May 02, 2009 21:54:40
Correction : yes as Bro RPK put it, if there is sms to go around to say everything is ok in fact it is not and even to lie then what umno need to do and will be most pleased to disseminate such 'truth'that Malaysia is doing well when it is not and those group of people will believe it. These people(voters) will think that the best thing to do is to vote for umno then everything will be ok. Is it REALLY OK? OK? OK?
written by cheekhiaw, May 02, 2009 22:33:00
The price of chicken is high because behind every chicken sold is another chicken that steals...

written by andywongkch, May 02, 2009 23:17:08
ANy prize for guessing? James Carvier???

written by Raja Petra, May 02, 2009 18:10:37
Dear Old Man Jasin, that is NOT my title. I stole it. Let's see if you are clever enough to tell me whom I stole it from.
written by AzizKadir2u, May 02, 2009 23:20:34
Malaysia Umnoputra saja kaya, semua orang malaysia bodoh dan miskin, ayam mahal di Malaysia, kereta Camry di USA baru us$18,000. orang USA, mereka satu bulan untunk us$1500, pun, mereka kereata lebih murah, mereka boleh sebagai seorang restaurent helper, waiter atau WAitress, mereka boleh pakai kereta Toyota Camry,
tetapi, di malaysia, kalau you untung rm$5000, satu bulan ,you pun tak boleh pakai Toyota Camry, you kena bayar,
Toll, Bayar rumah yang mahal, bayar AP untuk kereat, mengapa kita orang malaysia kena bayar AP ? ini chilaka,
kita kena bayar Ayam yang mahal, rm$12 satu Kilo, satu ayam di KFC, menang rm$20 tetapi di USA satu ayam yang masak, bagus, usA$4.99 saja. BBQ chicken,
kita malaysia orang mesti sedar, kita semua sudah di screw oleh Dr Mahathir, kita semua orang bayar, bayar, bayar, bayar, kerana Umno putra,
kita mesti pergi ke Pakatan, tukar orang Umno, bagi mereka tengok macam mana rakyat menderita, Umno memerintah, rakyat menderita, rakyat saja rugi, tak kira bangsa, kita rakyat yang rugi, umno putra semua curi duit kita,
wang ehsan hilang,
wang kapal selam hilang,
wang Toll hilang,
Bala hilang
Altantuya hilang,
duit rakyat hilang,
kita rakyat semua menderita, umno putra saja yang kaya kaya
CAT (Corrupt, Arrogant, Tamak) Greddy Umno
kita rakyat pakat tahu....
written by blackgoddess, May 02, 2009 23:39:43
Eversince working in s'pore, i can't help notice things in M'sia is freaking expensive.
1 cup starbucks frappucino = S'pore < SGD 6, M'sia RM 10 - 12.
1 plate of hawker food at heartland market (noodles) = S'pore SGD 2 - 3,M'sia RM 4-5
1 Music CD = S'pore Sgd 20 - 25 (bought at borders), M'sia RM 40 - 60.
1 32" LCD HD ready TV = S'pore < SGD 1000. M'sia (dunno. maybe RM 2-3K?)
1 Toyota VIOS = S'pore SGD 45 - 50K (depend on COE price), M'sia (RM 60 - 70K).
TYpe of car for under 50,000, S'pore = Toyota Vios? M'sia = Proton (maybe a iswara, wira (1.3 manual) and perodua.
1 week's grocery = have fish, lots of vegetables, some meat etc can cost approx SGD 20 - 30 if buy at NTUC fairprice (supermarket), m'sia - RM 50?

The point is, the Ringgit is losing it's value. Not much buying power. Everything damn expensive. Even now when i go back to M'sia, even though i earn SGD and convert back to RM, everytime i see those prices in RM, not willing to pay that amount of money la. Heart pain la..
written by Parakang, May 03, 2009 00:31:37

To those who were there (UK,US etc) they will know this thing precisely. But some of us, I mean Malaysian di not have chances to 'see' the outside world eventhough some of them are the graduate students. I dont know what the best method to explain this to our family in kampung, uneducated friends around us and relates back to the corruptions, power abuse, high pay tol, high cost of consumer pruducts etc.

You might have structured method to be shared??? and its very easy to understand...

Cheers,
written by mowadoha, May 03, 2009 00:34:42
Are you one of these consumers. ***** AGREE if your answer is YES.

written by mowadoha, May 03, 2009 00:39:25
Are you one of these consumers. ***** AGREE if your answer is YES.

written by asianguy, May 03, 2009 00:40:02
In case you're wondering, in the US, a chicken costs about US$5 each, and a security guard (with no previous experience) earns US$2,000 or more a month. So, assuming no taxes, he could have bought 400 chickens that month. Compare that against the jaga kereta in Malaysia who earns RM$1400, paying $14 per chicken - he'll get 100 chickens a month. If you take tax into account, the US guy is still much better off and has at least 3 times the buying power of his Malaysian counterpart.
written by gotsms, May 03, 2009 03:22:58
We've all been SCREWED hard by mahafiraun for mroe than 2 decades.

And we're going to be continued be SCREWED again and again by his proxies. Never ending story.
written by SamBall, May 03, 2009 03:42:19
Screw the chicken

The money is in the minyak la; petronas is the golden goose; suck the oil & gas until dry; that's what the bloody kaka's has been doing; from the tower to the crooked bridge' while enriching his cronies and family

The maha crook, penyamun dari kerala; the maha kera'lite has institutionalized rape of this land; him and his gang of bEnd thieves.

Mahataik, we know what you did last 22 years..
written by Tompios, May 03, 2009 04:47:41
Avoid to eat chicken farm or 'ayam kampung'! A research has been made in some Asian countries like Thailand, Philippines, and Indonesia for chicken farm meat diet. Result: Chicken farms meat (42 days steroid)causing more neuter (shemale, pondan, banci, makyah) gender among people.

Jadi vegetarian lah,kawan. Sayur mahal? Mudah, makan garam MSG Lada nasi sudah cukup. Cilaka!! Bangsa ku Sabahan sampai sekarang masih ada yang makan hanya berlauk garam MSG Lada biarpun negeri di bawah kerajaan UMNO Bin BN yang terbilang tembirang.
written by flyer168, May 03, 2009 07:17:27
Pet,

It all started way, way back with the “CORRUPTION & GRAFT”.

Salaries have not increased much but the cost of everything has gone up & our Ringgit is "Shrinking" vs the other currencies.

For example, A job with Malaysian workers would cost RM10....

The Budget will be inflated to RM30 to cover everyone in the Gomen’s Bureaucracy top to bottom....

Once the Budget is approved, the Main Con, Vendor, etc would only get RM8, so it will either be....

a. The Main Con, Vendor, etc would initiate the job, business & possibly “Runoff” midway claiming “Loss & Bankrupcy” whilst pocketing his profits....

b. 50% of Quality & Specification....resulting in “Collapsed” Structures, Buildings, Road, Inferior Quality Products, etc....

c. The USUAL Appeal for “Approval for Foreign Workers” at 30% cost with 70% of Quality & Specification....resulting in still the same “Defective” Structures, Buildingss, Roads, Inferior Quality Products, etc....

d. It is always the End Users & citizens that gets the short end of the deal whlist the Gomen Bureaucracies & the "Middle Men" pockets the 3 to 4 times multiplier of the basic cost.

The rot set in thereafter & our "Underpaid" Malaysian “Skilled” Locals venturing to greener pastures like Singapore, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

With the Global Financial meltdown we now find our Local Retrenched workers plus our “Returned Overseas” workers on a higher skilled/salary level compounding the scenario....

The initial Gomen’s “Double Levy” proposal gave some hope to our Retrenched workers....

But alas, the Gomen chickened out with the “Business Community’s Blackmail Ploy” plus the “Loss of Double Levy INCOME” to “Top Up” the Gomen’s Empty KittyBox!

The PRIME FUNCTION of the Gomen of the nation is to find a “WIN-WIN” SOLUTION to ASSIST its CITIZENS like what Japan did with their Latin American Japanese workers....Send them back with compensation from the Gomen & Employer Contribution.

Their Stimulus Financial packages directed to save their Local Japanese workers, their families, their jobs & maintaining their cost of living.

This nation’s downtrodden rayaat, more so our Local Retrenched Workers & I share their “Despair & Hopelessness”.

Remember....One must always be MAGNANIMOUS in VICTORY....

TWO WRONGS DO NOT MAKE ONE RIGHT....

The Muslim Hadhari UMNO Ketuanan Beggars with their present “Euphoric NEP” Paradigm at the expense of this nation & the downtrodden rayaat will soon find out....

“What goes round, will come round to these UMNO Ketuanan Beggars” - Past, Present & Future.

The “Opressors” will “FAIL” & God Almighty will ensure “Justice” will be done.

In time to come, we the Anak Bangsa Malaysia (including our so called Pendatangs) will be “Masters” of this great nation Malaysia....

And the Muslim Hadhari UMNO Ketuanan Beggars will be sending their descendents abroad to be “Labourers, Maids, ANAK AYAMS, etc....

UMNO Baru is too deep in its 4th stage “Terminal Cancer” NOW, to be CURED”....Period!

Through “Devine” intervention, UMNO, its Leaders & their Mercenaries are now “Outdoing & Destroying” each other with their “Power, Greed & Henious Crimes”.

Every new day will be another “New Revelation” to reveal another “Truth” in its Self Destruct motion towards its “Demise”.

Just give them enough rope to “Hang” themselves at every turn in their “Final” chapter.

Do keep up your “Prayers” to God Almighty in your own way for “Sanity, Human Rights, Justice, Freedom, Equality & Peace to “Prevail” over “EVIL”

Devine Intervention works Wonders.

Cheers & Stay safe wherever you are Pet.
written by Taikohtai, May 03, 2009 09:45:27
High time for more live debates in Malaysia. Now that PR has a shodow ministry, let MSM broadcast more debates on everything Malaysian:
Najis can talk about his 1Malaysia while DSAI says it is a cheap imitation of his Ketuanan Rakyat.
ZAID against Rais
LKS against Zuki
etc etc
But BN is too takut to have any more open debates. What a chicken!!
written by Loh, May 03, 2009 11:05:12
BMW 5 series costs about 30,000 pound in UK. Proton saga is less than 40,000 ringgit in Malaysia. So dollar for pound, BMW 5 series equals proton Saga. Of course BMW 5 series costs more than 300,000 ringgit in Malaysia. If we convert, one pound would equal 10 ringgit, but the exchange rate is only half that. We face this because of APs. APs is needed because of NEP, so that one thousand Malays chosen by the powers-that-be will be rich under through APs under NEP, and fewer than five will have a few hundred million ringgit to share among them a year, through APs. The chosen 1000 plus the specially gifted five will become rich to make Malays rich so that Malays will feel proud of them and they will not be envious of the wealth of non-Malays. That would prevent the spontaneous riots because of economic disparity between Malays and the other races, which was the stated cause of May 13 according to offical explanation, and which was the basis for NEP formulation.
written by biggun129, May 03, 2009 11:34:37
I was caught red handed for driving into a No Entry road, and my small daughter was with me,so, am I going to pay the 'Fine' here or at Jalan Bandar,its my choice,pay on the spot, no record, if not , you will waste a lot of time to settle the matter at the traffic office,two of them walked toward me, 'Cam Mana?', they asked,as usual,they asked for your I/C and Driving License,'Berapa?', 'se-ratus, kita dua orang',if, if , I work according to the ratio of RM1=1 Sterling Pound, I think I would settle with them for a mere RM 15, but problem is, this is Malaysia, not England!Maybe in England you can settle RM 15 for a small mistake, but not in Malaysia!
written by bambolero, May 03, 2009 14:01:49
For heaven's sake why don't the Goverment import the new NANO car from India manufactured by TATA instead of offering RM 5000 ringgit to replace your old car for a new one. I hope the goverment will import the car in order to help the lower income group without tax.
written by Eyes Wide Open, May 03, 2009 15:25:48
"For heaven's sake why don't the Goverment import the new NANO car from India"

1. Because it will kill Proton & Perodua.
2. Because people know how cheap it actually is, they won't pay for the protectionist AP mark-up

It's economic and political suicide to do so!
written by Eyes Wide Open, May 03, 2009 15:38:05
crazygweilo
"The maths used is dubious at best, and downright misleading at worse."

OK. Forget the maths. Let the people do the talking.

My brother-in-law holds a blue collar job in Canada and he's been there for the past 5-6 years. When he came back for a 1-month break recently, his major complaint?

"Things are so damn expensive in Malaysia! I just been back a few weeks and I've already spent RM6-7k! And for the taxes you pay, what the hell kind of service is the govt giving you?"

He's now safely back in Canada and saving a nice nest egg for his family. He has no plans to come back to Malaysia.

My sister-in-law worked blue-collar jobs in the UK for abt 5 yrs also, and when she returned to Malaysia last year - her major complaint?

"Things are so damn expensive in Malaysia! And the quality of goods and services are so lousy! How can you guys stand it? In the UK, even though you are not a citizen, you enjoy almost all of the rights that citizens demand from the govt! Here, it's every man for himself-nobody gives a damn about you!"

She plans to wait out the economic crisis then join her brother in Canada later. She has no plans to come back to Malaysia so soon after that.

So you see, Malaysia is not only suffering a brain drain, we are also suffering a labour drain.

So are Malaysians being hoodwinked by dubious maths or dubious government?
written by A MI, May 03, 2009 16:48:43
Has the UMNO gomen, as referred to by Rais Yatim, ever had the people'interest at heart since 1969? UMNO cybertroopers why don't you post something constructive to defend those who pay you?

TUN ABDULLAH UNDER THE ADVISE OF HIS MOST LEARNED ECONOMISTS PUNISHED THE PUBLIC FOR GE12 BY THE SUDDEN PETROL PRICE HIKES ON THE EVENING OF JUNE 4TH 2008.

My take is that, the people are being robbed- daylight robbery.
We are often reminded we have the
lowest tolls
cheapest train tickets
lowest air fares
even cheapest petrol

The mathematics for all these is just by conversion,never taking into consideration our earning capacity.

If the gomen have had the people at heart they will not raise taxes on food items during budget. Once raised,reducing it the next round makes zero difference. When prices go up unless controlled, the price NEVER comes down even when taxes are scrapped.

The title is just perfect- we are all stupid fo rtaking everything the UMNOgomen dishes out,sitting down. Thank you RPK.
written by teohism, May 03, 2009 18:24:35
Guys! Guys! (& gals too)!!!

These 'people' were put into position by us. They study overseas abt. political science & whatnot and helped by ministries & dept. that is also educated (with our money). They control the media - they are very, very artful in ways we are now only aware of b'cos of the internet.

We are not studpid; neither are they.... let's NOT FORGET THIS.

With Awareness comes Enlightenment AND Positive Action.

PEOPLE POWER (HOORAY THE INTERNET)!!!
written by johnT, May 04, 2009 01:51:18
Very simple, Our ayam price shootup because there is such rule as AP. You need AP to import car , lorry. ayam and so so many others AP is coming up. And this AP is given to thier own kroni or kroniputra. So that is why ayam price is so high so they can make money from the poor.

Don't be shock if tomorrow import babi also will require AP run by a kroniputra. And selling Bak Kut Teh also need permit with 30% also must be hold by earthputra.

So Sad and sorry but it is true
written by alan cheong, May 04, 2009 12:38:14
LOL ... bout time you got down to it, Peter.
Better still if in coarser terms so your people can get the picture clearer.

I said it about 2 years back: your sovereignty (and ketuanan) don't mean beans because the very selfsame sovereingnty (and ketuanan) can't put food on the people's tables much less find them employment.

'tis for the birds.

time for the rakyat to pull off an antoinette. ancient china's dog's head guillotine applies because dogs and baruas deserve it. better still if it's the pig's head guillotine.
written by born2reign, May 04, 2009 13:57:48
I have been harping about the lack of purchasing power of our Ringgit for years. Even in Singapore they have higher purchasing power after deducting taxes and CPF.

The cost of "raising" chickens has very much to do with what goes INTO the chicken,
Feed - imported
Antibiotics - imported
Growth hormones and steroids - imported
Labour - illegal immigrants, imported

Not so sure about other indirect costs, but you do realise our chicken are not eating local food and local drugs, so how do you expect chickens to be priced in Ringgit? Our chicken (and cows and pigs) are very "westernised" and heavily drugged I may add.

By NOT ELIMINATING Blood Sucking GLCs our dear BN continues printing more currencies:
-to pay off bad debts
-blood sucking GLCs continue to spend and get Sugar Daddy Bank Negara to repay their creditors (print more money)
-to declare that banks have little or no Non-Performing Loans
-to increase supply of Ringgit and reduce its value
-Malaysia has the most indirect taxes on goods and services (almost 50% of your goods price goes to indirect taxes)
-as more and more Malaysians are holding on to worthless paper money, they are no longer working for quality craftmanship, they are working just to make ends meet.
-Money is Power, BN has learnt very well from the Illuminati.
-even Kings must bow down to BN, for they have snatched the very dignity from heads of state and heads of family, the ability to feed your family is dependant on govt.

Yeah! Let's continue to vote BN!! Long live BN and may our families die of hunger quickly and with not much pain!
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 04, 2009 19:32:50
it is not only the chickens oi Melayus

it is also the beras..gone up by 100%
it is also the transport systems...

tell me another thing that has not gone up????

it is also the tolls ..when we say expensive the david copperfield maamak will say ..compared to this country that country we are cheaper

and what the fck is the price of a local car more expensive than the one sold in England...

if a bumiputera want to control the distribution of these essential (BASIC NEEDS)
then in Allah's name let him be cursed for the poor man suffereth.

what about water where another UMNO MUSLIM IS BEING PAID 5.2 million a year basic salary....in Selangor ..sucking on other fellow muslims and others..in Allah's name may he be cursed too for making profit from the free gift of allah and making the poor suffereth,,

well it is not malays senang lupa....it is mahathir who introduced privatization under the pretext of efficiency and to remove corruption ..but ended up letting control of these things and closing both eyes while watching the Petronas towers go upup up up..
we are now aping Uncle Sam....kasi pinjam free...kasi discount free..kasi loan free..
kasi orang melayu free..kasi orang melayu satu tali untung gantung diri...

when are we heading for a credit crunch..or is it being covered by printing some more belacan RM notes by BN

SO WHO IS THERE TO AUDIT B NEGARA???? MAHATHIR'S FATHER???

so..where is our money actually going?????

written by lab76820, May 05, 2009 17:57:40
We elected "Draculas". Tat's the problem. They sucked u dry then just get rid of u. All types of food will be luxury later on.....meat & vege. Dun think by avoiding meat u can survive...no. Draculas will turn their attention to every single thing dead or alive as long as they could milk $$$$$$$$ out of it!

They could even make $$$$$ out of life & death of ppl? How many times have u heard or even experience firefigthers asking for $$$$$$$$ to put out the fires, or hospitals simply refused to take u in if u can pay the deposit even if u r coughing blood! And these ppl werent even elected........Imagine ppl!
written by vchong8, May 06, 2009 01:05:54
The fact of the matter is our weak currency. Before the financial crisis of 1997, our ringgit is worth 2.50 to 2.60 to 1 US$. While most other countries currency have recovered or even exceeded pre-1997 levels, our government has decided to let the ringgit languish at a weak 3.6 to the US$. This helps to "make" our exports competitive while encouraging low productivity. The only way we are going to look good comparing with other countries is if our currency appreciates to pre-1997 levels. We can't even afford to visit our southern neighbour with exchange rate of 2.4 to 1 S$!!

The only way we are going to improve our living standards is if we increase our productivity and strengthen our currency.
written by Chokma, May 06, 2009 08:37:54
Forget about measuring the nation by how we treat animal. Let's just look at how the power-that-be treat the people first. We'll remain as 3rd world country and deteriorating as long as we continue to let incompetent goons running the country.
written by Tan Tan, May 07, 2009 19:36:27
Why do we need a government?

Answer - to work for us and by doing so, we vote for the right person who can do the best job and contribute in term of taxes for an organise government to carry the duties to serve the rakyat.

This is what I can think of having a government for.

BN government - are they doing a good job? Currently!

Economy - bad as our export dropped and no real kick in economy.
- bad, don't believe me, look at our Bursa trading volume
- bad, look at our GNP comparing to Singapore, Taiwan, HK
and South Korea. We have more manpower and natural resource than
Singapore and ppls from Singapore are originally part of Malaysia,
how come they are so much better than us? ever wonder?

inflation - bad as cost of living keep increasing

Public safety - bad, just look at the newspapers, everyday got someone getting
raped and robbed, murder, traffic accidents and complaints
regarding our inefficient/corrupted police force.

Public transport - bad, tell me which cities in Malaysia don't suffers from traffic
jam everyday.
- bad, tell me who can go to work within the cities comfortable and
affordable way without buying a car
- bad, major transportation in Malaysia is personal car which
heavily taxed and not buses or trains.
- there are so many tolls in Klang Valley which so expensive and
yet we still jam up at the toll booths. Why we need to pay and
still be in a traffic jam?

Standard of living - bad. How many ppls in Malaysia actually earn more than RM 3000?
- How about after decades of NEP, the numbers of Malays are still
poor increase every year and non-Malays getting
poorer/sidelined by the year.
- bad, how many of working adults can afford to eat out 3 meals a
day and still can save 25% of their salary for retirement every
month?

Education - bad, just look at our universities ranking.
- bad, no enough universities until need give out quotas only
to certain race to study. Isn't education for everyone? How can
educate ppls by promoting racism?

Above all is what every Malaysians knows deep inside your heart. Do you ever feel "trapped" and want to be better or have a better life?

If you do, then bring your lazy arse out to register as voter and go to vote.

Vote wisely and vote for the government that give you the best deals. Whether it is a PR/BN, Islam/Non-Islam or Malay/Non-Malays government doesn't matter.

"black or white cat? as long as the cat who can catch mouses, then it is a good cat."

BN sucks now, vote them out....unless they can be better in 3 years time...as at now...they are sucks!

written by Tan Tan, May 07, 2009 20:00:59
after reading through some comments here, i would like to point out one more thing...

brain drain

do u know how many Malaysians for the past 10 years going to other countries to work and earn more money and send back to their families in Malaysia?

Trust me, a lot. Just look at why UK almost want to revoke our visa status. This is because a lot of Malaysians running to UK to work part time/odd jobs to earn pound to bring home.

I used to work in Malaysia but I am not now (I still love Malaysia smilies/smiley.gif). Why? Here is my story.

I work as an executive in Malaysia for monthly salary of RM 3800.

Salary - RM 3800
PNB, Sosco, EPF - RM 3300
Car installment - RM 2600 (proton wira 1.3L, 7 years loan)
Insurance - RM 2300 (Medical)
Room rental - RM 2000
Breakfast/lunch/dinner - RM 1100 (RM 30 per day for 30 days)
Petrol/Tolls - RM 600
Parents - RM 300
Balance - RM 300

Every month, I end with RM 300. To be honest, no entertainment or even shopping. Plus those. MINUS!

I was 27, my bank saving is RM 8000 after working for 5 years. My dad is retiring in 2 years time, my mum is a homemaker and my sister just entering local college.

I think inside myself, saving RM 300 per month, I will never buy a flat in Klang Valley as I cannot even pay the monthly installment.

I need to save 3 years to get RM 10000 if I ever want to get marry. If I get marry in 3 years time, I cannot afford children as my dad will be retire.

Then I sit down and think, how come after getting higher learning and I stuck in such difficult life.

I have to make a move out of Malaysia to support my parents. For the past 4 years, I miss my family very much but this is the only way to maintain our living.

This is when I started to read about Malaysia Today and realize that I need to vote for change in Malaysia.

How many more years can I be away from my family with each time I see my parents, they are getting older and weaker and I am never around.

If you share my feeling now, go and vote for a change!
written by duke_nemo, May 07, 2009 21:15:36
"Above all is what every Malaysians knows deep inside your heart. Do you ever feel "trapped" and want to be better or have a better life?
If you do, then bring your lazy arse out to register as voter and go to vote.

Vote wisely and vote for the government that give you the best deals. Whether it is a PR/BN, Islam/Non-Islam or Malay/Non-Malays government doesn't matter.

"black or white cat? as long as the cat who can catch mouses, then it is a good cat."

BN sucks now, vote them out....unless they can be better in 3 years time...as at now...they are sucks! "

People this the inner voice of each and everyone. Listen to it and we will have a wonderful future.

Dear Tan Tan , thank you for the wake up call. We MALAYsian needs every single minutes of our life , just to ensure this message gets through our thick skull.