Ground rules for blogging PDF Print
Thursday, 30 April 2009 16:37

Rocky's Bru

An Ugly Side of Blogging. When politician Ariff Sabri who runs the blog Sakmongkol AK47 decided to expose the identity of A Voice after a cyber-spat with the "anonymous" blogger, he was being unethical.

He committed an indecent act against a blogger buddy. At least, to me, that was clearly the case. To some others, including Sakmongkol who said it was a rib-tickler, it was not a sin at all. That is how common sense starts to become a rare commodity.

I know A Voice quite well; I have not met Sakmongkol but have heard good things about him. A Voice and Sakmongkol know each other, personally and politically: A Voice has very few good words to say about Khairy Jamaluddin. Sakmongkol seems to have nothing bad to utter about the Umno Youth chief.

But that's okay. Among Umno bloggers, I've observed, pro-Mukhriz operatives can sit down at the same table with their pro-Khir Toyo or pro-Mike Tyson or pro-KJ or pro-Ali Rustam counterparts. There was a time when pro-Pakatan bloggers would put their arms around pro-BN and pro-nobody bloggers but now they don't do that anymore. But that's another story.

written by krising1, April 30, 2009 17:09:50
If I was Rocky Bru, I will not go about so proudly professing to know any anon blogger. Simple logic tells me that if the police want to know the identity of any anon blogger, which you already admit that you know, the police will simply zero in on you. They can hold you under any number of trumped up charges and beat the shit out of you to get the names out. So this bragging is not so smart. Better to be someone who knows and pretends not to know.
written by Bentoh, April 30, 2009 17:39:51
Hmmm... It sounds to me someone acting like a blogging expert? and also a blogosphere police?

There's no rule in blogging, at least no law is governing it... and there's no ethics guide on it... peace...

I wouldn't say it's good to "out" an anonymous blogger however, that's why if I were to blog, I'll make sure I cover my identity well...

If a woman's nude pictures can be circulated in the internet so freely, as a political tool to remove her from government, and UNTIL NOW THE POLICE HAS DONE MOSTLY NOTHING... I don't see blogger exposing blogger as big deal... After all, did Rockybru condemns the circulation of nude pics, and demand for actions?
written by fireduck, April 30, 2009 18:20:14
I don't know, but reading Rocky's piece, while it seems he's defending the ID of bloggers, he is at the same time double-threatening to expose these IDs if they are rough on him or something. That's what I get from reading that piece.
written by cruzeiro, April 30, 2009 19:07:03
WOW! Rocky - Mr. Ahirudin Atan talking about ethics!!!!
Go fly a kite, Rocky!
written by BennyG, April 30, 2009 19:10:38
Agree with fireduck. This article sure sound like a threat to the anonymous bloggers rather than defending them. If anyone trust a BN cybertrooper, that guy is real naive. It's better to create a new blog than to continue.
written by cruzeiro, April 30, 2009 19:13:25
If a cover is blown, it is blown - you must be dumb to reveal it to people (especially if they are fellow thieves) if you want to remain anonymous, right?
Oh - I forgot that "honor among thieves" part ..... and those of yopu who wish to preserve your anonymity and avoid the PDRM, just avoid Rocky like the plague, okay - he just declared to PDRM that he knows who's who, & who did what!
He'll probably reveal these info on "condition of anonymity" ... what a dope!

So Rocky,
Fly a kite, take a hike, or just go suck an egg, before you preach!!
written by asguard, April 30, 2009 20:03:51
Anything goes by in Bolehland or bodohland... all kinds funny rule and laws!
written by lynn, April 30, 2009 22:57:30
Hey, this guy is a turncoat. Confirmed.
written by born2reign, May 01, 2009 00:23:45
The value of a blog lies in its confidentiality and ethics. The value of the judicial is its impartiality and sense of justice. The value of a stock price is its confidence index. It is all a matter of perception. So just boycott his blog then the only readers are the blogger and his dog.