Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Comeback Kid defends his corner

Comeback Kid defends his corner PDF Print
Monday, 27 April 2009 10:25

How did we get so very far behind (Singapore)? We are swimming in oil revenue. We are swimming in natural resources. What has Singapore got?

By Cheong Suk-Wai, The Straits Times

Penang’s fourth Chief Minister, Lim Guan Eng, may be called The Comeback Kid not only for his perseverance during a rocky political career but also for his dry rejoinders to pesky reporters’ questions.

“I never miss a beat,” the 48-year-old likes to say. He has been detained twice – in 1988 and 1998 – under Malaysia’s Internal Security Act and its Sedition and Printing Presses And Publications Act. One of his detentions was due to having been outspoken in defence of the grandmother of a girl who had been allegedly raped by a Malacca chief minister.

The Malacca-born, Monash-educated accountant worked in a bank before throwing himself into politics in 1986.

Married to fellow parliamentarian Betty Chew, they have four children. He is the elder son of Lim Kit Siang, 68, the former long-time secretary-general of the largely non-Malay Democratic Action Party (DAP).

Lim is truly a chip off the old block, from the slicked-back hair to his rapid-fire rat-a-tat-tat way of speaking. Still, the younger Lim, who has been the DAP’s secretary-general since 2004, says humbly: “I’m a shadow of (my father).”

In town on April 17 to address a think-tank conference here, Lim spoke to The Straits Times about what it is like leading an opposition state government, his triumphs and woes, and his hopes for Malaysia:

With so little political stability in Malaysia today, how hard has it been for you to hang on to your investors, such as Intel?

Intel has not closed down.

Yes, but you had a big crisis recently when it wanted to lay off many workers.

What they said is that they just transferred (some) divisions across to Kulim, which is just on the border between Penang and Kedah. It’s only
1,000 workers affected.

But Kulim is not in Penang.

Yes, but it’s on the border. We still have 6,000 (Intel workers) in manufacturing. And they have expanded their main research (wing). So I think you should not miss the woods for the trees.

How far have you gone with your idea of competent, accountable and transparent governance?

We’ve made tremendous progress. We’ve implemented an open tender system through the Internet, so there’s no human contact (which breeds) corruption.

What of your civil service, which has been described as incompetent and uncooperative despite your best efforts.

Well, I admit it’s tough...The only way to (proceed) is to show commitment, leadership by example and fairness.

What’s your greatest achievement as chief minister to date?

One of my first tasks was to ask for a list of the hardcore poor. There were 324 families on it. But to ensure that there were no families left behind, we did an extensive survey and found 728 (hardcore poor) families. We have succeeded in raising (their incomes) to above RM500 (per family).

What did you do, exactly?

Just topped up the difference (between what they earn and the RM500 benchmark).

But you’re not teaching them to fish.

There are two aspects to this: One is fish nets and the other is fish. How can you get people to fish when they don’t even have the strength to fish? To those who criticise me (by saying) that these measures are cruel (because) they teach people to be reliant, I ask them: Have you been poor? Can you work on an empty stomach? Please, lah.

What are your other big plans for Penang?

We have launched the Penang Wireless Initiative. We hope that in two years’ time, when you turn on your notebook, you can connect to the Internet any time, any place, anywhere. But only in Penang. Best of all, we’re giving it (for) free.

Why is free Wi-Fi such a priority?

It excites the Malays. Everybody is excited about education because it touches them, their children.

But they can’t even afford laptops.

We will buy them laptops.

That’s a lot of fish.

Why do you have to talk about giving each one a laptop? We don’t – we (provide computer terminals) in our community centres.

Doesn’t your hinterland include opposition-held Kedah?

No, no. I cannot extend so far. I can only look after my own. I cannot use resources from one state government to (help) another, you know. That is corruption.

Your government has been rocked by allegations of corruption by your former deputy chief minister...

The point is, would you find a person like him leaving BN if it was (similarly) affected?

But (the former deputy chief minister) didn’t want to leave at first.

But finally, he left, didn’t he?

There’s a difference between that and quitting immediately.

True. But that is his problem. The point is, the matter was addressed by the government.

How powerless do you feel, having to defer to Pakatan Rakyat leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in selecting a new deputy chief minister?

I don’t find that deferring to him. That position is allotted to (Anwar’s) Parti Keadilan Rakyat ... and they have decided to choose only a Malay to hold the post now. Now, if I appoint somebody without the blessings of Anwar, do you think that member would dare to accept? I’m not going to sacrifice long-term unity for short-termism.

But you may not have that long a term.

I have at least five years. That’s long enough for me to try and implement changes.

What, then, are your concerns about Malaysia’s future?

How did we get so very far behind (Singapore)? We are swimming in oil revenue. We are swimming in natural resources. What has Singapore got? (But) look at this little red dot now – whooo, it’s not little by any standards. Our best and brightest (are) flocking to Singapore.

What would you consider Penang’s unique selling propositions?

You’ve got to start (with) the reason Sir Francis Light chose Penang – for its scenic beauty and logistics. And throughout the years, our social harmony has resulted in (us being cited as a) Unesco World Heritage Site. Our vision is to transform Penang into an international location of choice for investors, destination of choice for tourists and a habitat of choice for those who desire sustainable living.

I walk around Penang a lot and I have to say its pavements are the pits. Why aren’t you fixing these?

Ah, so you see why we all bang our heads against the wall. I don’t deny that we face problems. We must address the three Cs problem – cleanliness, congestion and crime. This is what we have accumulated over 51 years. You can’t clear up overnight.

But you managed to tackle hardcore poverty in one year.

Yeah, but that was easy ... you can clean up the beach, but can you educate people to stop throwing things (there)?

How do you live in your father’s shadow?

Very well...There’s no quarrel, contradiction or rivalry.

How do you settle differences between yourselves?

If we can bridge it, we bridge it. If not, we agree to disagree. (MI)

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Ken Liew, April 27, 2009 10:34:04
The MOST CRITICAL reason are Brains. Other country's leader got brain power. But ours have none. OK! our's might have a brain.. but didnt know how to use it... they prefer to use $$$ to solve problem... But never thier brain.
agree 110
written by miwaki, April 27, 2009 10:44:46
The difference between Singapore and Malaysia : Corruption is totally unacceptable and punishable in Singapore,however in malaysia,it is the norm.

Guan Eng actually can sit back and do nothing for Penang and out-perform UMNO/BN government so long as the state government doesn't indulge in corruption.With the money saved as a result of zero corruption,Guan Eng can eradicate hard core poverty in Penang.What is RM500/mth ?
agree 128
written by teo siew chin, April 27, 2009 10:49:35
Singapore demands excellence. Full stop.
written by mountain man, April 27, 2009 10:51:42
In UMNO/BN sons or SIL are rewarded with powerful political positions to steal, rob or squander whatever term you use it, look at Najis (become PM), shameful Kerisham (now UMNO VP), Mukhriz (sudah dapat Timbalan Menteri) and obviously SIL (UMNO Youth Head despite corrupt allegations); BUT in DAP, the son goes to jail. What a stark contrast.
written by rpremkumar2u, April 27, 2009 11:14:28
The kid and his dad. Both have big balls.
written by sydput, April 27, 2009 11:34:48
Malaysia, indonesia and maybe thailand may be resource rich. But the money earned from those resources are banked into singapore accounts.
Reason, tax and royalty evasion.
Only the declared income are banked into malaysian banks.
So singapore does not require any resources. It merely need to be a freindly tax haven for tax dodgers and royalty evaders mostly from timber, coal(indonesia), palm oil etc.
These money are not taxed in singapore as account holders are non-domicile.
Some of the illegal timber revenue are also banked into hong kong. The south china morning post is owned by a sarawak timber tycoon.
Singapore was trying to emulate switzerland before the US banking crisis hit them. Their privacy laws denied Indonesia from obtaining ill gotten money tranferred out by indonesian bankers during the 1997 financial crisis. That money belong to bank depositors and not the owners.
So when it comes to american software, singaporeans will enforce the copyright law strictly, but when it comes to neigbouring countries, money laundered illegally are welcome.
disagree 19
written by citizenmy, April 27, 2009 11:41:54
The key reasons for Malaysia failure are
(1)curtailing the progress of the capable ones
(2)lowering the standards

written by krising1, April 27, 2009 11:52:44
LKY says - from each (citizen) his best, to each his worth. Can our leaders figure what that means?
written by sydput, April 27, 2009 12:00:22
@ Ken Liew
Singaporeans do not have the brains.
That is why many foerigners are recruited into their GLC's and government bodies.
Latest is Charles Goodyear, the new CEO of Temasek.
This new appointment was done after Singaporean CEO lost S$260 billion investing mostly in western (and china) banks.
Govenrment owned banks are managed by foerigners (DBS).
Tiger airways included.
singaporeasn are so clever that they have decided to abandon singapore and let these foreign and newly recruited workers take over the island (including from malaysia).Per population basis, singapore has the highest migration rate in the world. Close to 60% of those interviewed at singapore polytechnic would migrate to another country (meaning western countries) if they have the chance.
If Singapore is such a wonderful place to live, we must ask, why is this thing happening. is it because their voices are not heard by the elite ruling class?
The top 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from singapore (The Times UK made the statement during the G20 meeting recently). So if many chose to leave, maybe these top 30 politicians are not worth their money.
The fact that singapore lack talents can be seen by watching their football squad, which consist of about 50% non-singaporean born players. Even their table tennis squad consist of china born players. And they are trying to recruit indonesians to play badminton for them. The person who carried the singapore flag during the beijing olympics was born used to live in china recently.
disagree 21
written by NSTPravda, April 27, 2009 12:08:20
How did we get so very far behind (Singapore)? We are swimming in oil revenue. We are swimming in natural resources.
Elementary, Matson, we are also swimming in sleaze and corruption!!!!
What has Singapore got?
They've got some dedicated basterds who really believed in their rules, regulations and their collective destiny... we only have the best government that money can buy.

Duit-lah tuan-ku!
Rasuah-sayang eh!

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by SamYap, April 27, 2009 13:27:22
"How did we get so very far behind (Singapore)? "

Ideally this question should be put to UMNO and its ex-president (ex-PM) Tun Dr.Mahathir. When he took over in 1982, our country was still ahead of Korea in terms of GDP, per capita income etc. But look at us now, we are far behind Korea. Never mind about the stupid national car Proton, but we can't even design, produce and market a decent mobile phone which is wholly made in Malaysia. That despite we have been hosting multi national electronic firms for god knows how many years.

And the greatest shame is that it took so many years for many Malaysians to wake up to the wastage of our resources. Even now, there are idiots who still vote for UMNO and its battered wives : MCA/MIC/Gerakan/PPP etc.
written by Dominic, April 27, 2009 13:54:10
In Malaysia,we hv 13states. Each state hv their own head of state,rulers,cm,mininisters,deputies,govt agencies,head of various govt agencies etc etc. You multiple them with 51 (51yrs) with just a very conservative figure of RM5 million,what do you get ? Thats where all the wealth goes to !!! All the nation wealth ends up in those corrupted pocket and beyond. What about those billions that went went missing from so called oversea`s investment ? Sure,Malaysia boleh !
written by yellowwoman, April 27, 2009 14:21:16
Singapore puts forward the best man or woman for the job. FULL STOP.
Can we truly do this here?

Until and unless the best man/woman is chosen to do the job, we'll be lacking behind. Not just behind Spore but behind Indonesia, Vietman, Thailand. Don't even talk about other countries.
written by asguard, April 27, 2009 14:34:55
Malaysia policy has been screw-up from day one since independence! For past 52 years... all those barang naik minister and kaki ampu plus cronies earn a lot of money for themselves and not at the expanse of the public... for every mega project some money goes into their pocket! And plus wrong direction policies being introduce by barang naik... so tell me.... what the hell has barang naik for past 52 years answer more corruption, slander twister tales, racial cards, religion zealots cards!
written by lampard, April 27, 2009 15:59:08
MALAYSIA adopts Ketuanan Mat Rempit,
SINGAPORE don't.
written by gycgocnt, April 27, 2009 16:02:08
Mainstream Media like to twisting fact when interview with opposition leader, why Lim been jail for a Malay girl didn't report by Malay Mainstream media? Utusan Malaysia always likes to incite hatred between various races in Malaysia, and they choose to by-pass all good jobs done by opposition.

The resignation of DCM in Penang shows Pakatan government strict in choosing of people with high esteem and morality. Ask BN whether they are "Dare" to sacrifice all the black sheep in their coalition parties? As far as I know, the "Bocor" MP still elected, the "Bastard" still say unparliamentarily words, the "Pondan" become law minister, the "Racist" become home minister, and even the highest position in BN--Prime Minister is a person surrounded by various scandals.

For the WiFi technology, peoples should be happy and give Guan Eng a big applause for this project! Don't ever listen to the Penang Umno, this Celaka say it will affect the health of citizen but without any substantial professional medical report! By encouraging the use of internet, it will generate more Netizens in Malaysia, UMNO is afraid of the young peoples equip with open minded and maybe a big portion of citizens will join Malaysia Today! Besides that, people will realize that mainstream media is reporting with biased, fact-twisting, inciting racial tension if they become computer savvy. These are the main reason UMNO oppose to WIFI zone in Penang.

The last but not the least, mainstream columnist like to underscore Pakatan Rakyat by stating PR politics are instable cause they are quarrelling openly and not like BN can discuss it by closing the door. As and educated person, I would like to tell BN that quarrelling or words changing in front of media is called Transparency! Solving problem in front of media is called Open-Minded, and even the opposition head can apologize to his coalition party's colleague is call Consensus! BN is not discuss behind close door, they just swept the problem under carpet and claim the problems settle.

But what I disagree to Guan Eng is 5 years for him to govern Penang is too short! Penang people will prefer to have him as Chief Minister forever! Keep going, Guan Eng! Peoples are behind you!
written by ylcc, April 27, 2009 16:03:47
I won't go as far as to generalize that Singaporeans or Malaysians have no brains. One thing that is for sure, Singapore is one up against Malaysia as they accept quality people vis-a-vis the "ahem..." ones that Malaysia take in.
written by No nonsense, April 27, 2009 16:11:44
We are always all for you LKY. Show them(Bn) what you can do and do it better than them. Afterall, you have the backing of nearly the whole of P.P except for Amno and the lap-dogs. We know what you can do so go ahead and prove them wrong. I am not for DAP or PKR or PAS but I am for PR. Yes PR and PR ALONE. Irrelevant gerakan is trying to find trouble please Penangites wipe them out. Give them not breathing space not even for a moment. Unite PR and be strong all the way., Long Live PR.
written by yipck, April 27, 2009 19:31:52
Aiyo.. Don't be foolish by saying singapore compare to malaysia for their propaganda.

Singapore no longer need to compare with Malaysia. They are way ahead and comparing with U.S, Erope, Hong Kong, Japan, Australia. All first world country.

Whoever think Singapore still compare with Malaysia, you are brainwash by Malaysian Media.

99.9% of the news are all concerning Singapore and 1st World Country.
0.1% only touch on topic that Malaysia as everyday Got Foolish Brainwashed Malaysia attacking Singapore.

U ask the Singapore citizens, I can assure you they have NUTS information about Malaysia. They don't even care about Malaysia.

They care more on Enjoying the stable life, try out new gadgets every months like changing phone from every month to 1 years, change laptop, etc, travel to countries like Hong Kong, Taiwan, New Zealand, Australia, Japan, Korea, US, Europe...

written by EYFF, April 27, 2009 20:42:05
Well S'pore have no land, no oil, no natural resources, and most important of all, almost no corruption!
written by HamChak, April 27, 2009 23:41:45
Aiyaa, I love my BodohLand to be like this forever, lor.
The more corrupted the Gomen, the more money I make, mah.
Don't la be like Singapore. Then I cannot cari makan, la.
Gomen officials also mati la, ta, ta boleh cari makan from me.
written by sydput, April 28, 2009 09:49:47
Singapore is the curse of the region.
A place where criminals park their ill gotten money.
A place where currency traders wreck havoc particularly for indonesia. The reason? Indonesian businessmen never did remit income from selling natural resources back into indonesia. Due to this, Its economy is vulnerable to currency attacks by speculators in singapore.
Temasek was also responsible for the present politcal crisis in Thailand.
written by Old Man, April 28, 2009 10:38:14
Singapore makes it a Law that it is forbidden for any Politician ( regardless of race or religion ) to play the politics of Race and Religion!
Meritocacy is the key word. Period!
written by Lembing, April 29, 2009 18:37:41
SYDPUT

I know precisely the source of your limited information on Singapore. Utusan Malaysia and Malaysian Straits Times.

Have you ever live in Singapore and mingled with the locals and foreigners, ex-pat and the Singapore Malays and get first hand opinions from them???