Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Freedom and the objectors of conscience

Freedom and the objectors of conscience PDF Print
Sunday, 26 April 2009 14:21

Most of the comments tend to be anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Royal families and this is what has been used by the trashy NGO’s to accuse Malaysia-Today of racism and being anti-Royal. In the realm of the freedom of expression, Malaysia-Today has nothing to do with the comments posted by users, readers and possibly by enemies of its Editor in a bid to undermine him.

Written by Gema Minda, WORLD FUTURES

A number of NGO’s in Malaysia are acting like the sole beholders of the truth, running to the police to report what the free world is saying – and in some cases – not saying on blogs and online web portals. This is the scene of the battle between those representing the freedom of thought and of expression and the objectors of conscience.

This reminds me of the long history of struggle by freedom movements against suppression from France to South Africa. Indonesia is a recent nation that witnessed such a battle and the victorious party was the freedom fighters against an oppressive regime. Malaysia is now witnessing its own battle between the freedom movement under the banner of the ‘reformasi’ versus the ‘continuity’ or conservatism represented by what is left of the Barisan National (BN).

A long time ago in Paris, before the Bastille fell – it was the icon of the rule of the rich in France, a fortress-prison – the freedom fighters were challenged by ‘objectors of conscience’ and this became a political battle that marked French history for good.  When the Napoleonic age was over and World War II was in the limelight, France was divided between the ‘objecteurs de conscience’ and the ‘Libertains’, or people who fought for freedom once again. The freedom lovers won the battle and after the World War II, modern France was born with General De Gaule as leader but this did not stop the storming of Paris by a fresh new generation of ‘freedom’ fighters in 1968 and the ‘objectors’ were there too but liberty won once again.

In Malaysia, history is repeating itself with the ‘objectors’ attempting at eliminating all the gains made by the Malaysian democracy in the past 5 years to pursue a rigid agenda of banishment of the freedom of expression. History is moving with a major twist in Malaysia. It is taking the route that it took in France. The battle was once between the ‘conservatives’ within the Barisan National (BN) and the United Malays National Organization (Umno) and the weak opposition forces but now it has been enlivened by the defection of a large number of ‘conservative’ Malaysians to the opposition.

It must be said here that the objectors are not only from the BN and that they are almost everywhere. It is a plague that the country will have to do without if it wants to progress further in its democratic march. There are objectors within the opposition ranks and among bloggers and web masters of online news portals too. At times they are referred as ‘liberals’ and at other times as ‘racists’ but the end game is the same: They object to anything and everything. The opposition based ‘objectors’ are basically anti-religion (targeting Islam mostly) and they are anti-Malay and they diminish the importance of the political and economic role of the Malays altogether. The Editor of Malaysia-Today, Raja Petra Kamaruddin showed his concern on the matter when urged readers not to bother about comments on his website. Most of the comments tend to be anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Royal families and this is what has been used by the trashy NGO’s to accuse Malaysia-Today of racism and being anti-Royal. In the realm of the freedom of expression, Malaysia-Today has nothing to do with the comments posted by users, readers and possibly by enemies of its Editor in a bid to undermine him.

written by KM Wong, April 26, 2009 14:32:01
Send those mamaks back to where they belong i.e. hell hole of Calcutta. They are just trying to get brownie points from the ruling party and the royalty. Such hypocrites. Can someone find out what education level these lackeys have? Am sure there will be people out there who know where they are from and what school (if any) they went to. That will be interesting to know and I can bet that they have none.
written by Tompios, April 26, 2009 14:41:55
during dark ages in Europe, people stand up and go against the church. in malaysia, islam been used to oppress people, umno propagating to kill non-malay, and the kings involved in many political businesses. then, it goes without saying that by nature oppressed people will stand up for freedom. stupido!
written by gycgocnt, April 26, 2009 14:52:34
It is natural process for the new replace the old, the open mind replace narrow mind, the sophisticated replace the out-dated.

And now we have seen BN component parties match exactly to all three criteria above: the old, narrow minded and outdated. Would you think BN can rules for another 50 years? Exactly not! Do remember 50 Years old is the age for retirement. And it is the right timing for BN to retire immediately!
written by Hakim Joe, April 26, 2009 16:02:03
Article XII of the “Universal Islamic Declaration of Human Rights” states:

(a) Every person has the right to express his thoughts and beliefs so long as he remains within the limits prescribed by the Law. No one, however, is entitled to disseminate falsehood or to circulate reports which may outrage public decency, or to indulge in slander, innuendo or to cast defamatory aspersions on other persons.
(b) Pursuit of knowledge and search after truth is not only a right but a duty of every Muslim.
(c) It is the right and duty of every Muslim to protest and strive (within the limits set out by the Law) against oppression even if it involves challenging the highest authority in the state.
(d) There shall be no bar on the dissemination of information provided it does not endanger the security of the society or the state and is confined within the limits imposed by the Law.
(e) No one shall hold in contempt or ridicule the religious beliefs of others or incite public hostility against them; respect for the religious feelings of others is obligatory on all Muslims.

written by justme bc, April 26, 2009 16:12:35
If you don't have ulterior motive, I don't care a damn if you are a Mamak or any one kind. By polishing the ball of the UMNO goons and be a great pretender of the defender of the royal symbol, you guys can all go to help for being a munafig.
written by justme bc, April 26, 2009 16:13:29
oops, should be go to hell!!!!
written by ahmadneil, April 26, 2009 16:57:32
Perak will be the darkest page in our history.Those who have a hand in the stealing of Perak will pay dearly for their sins.
written by lynn, April 26, 2009 17:24:07
We are not-anti Malay at all! We love Tok Guru Nik Aziz, Raja Petra, Zaid Ibrahim & many more!
We are definitely anti-umno!
We are anti-mamaks! (not all of them, at worst, the majority,ok)
We are not anti-Islam, but we are anti those Muslim politicians who use Islam as their political tool to divide us & frighten off ignorant non-Muslims!
We are anti-those Muslims who use the Holy Book to swear on "to prove their innocence" - isn't this tantamount to abusing the Holy Book & the religion it stands for?
As for anti-Royals, no comment; but we used to hold the Sultan of Perak in high regard. It's now gone, totally destroyed, never can be salvaged. So please thank Najib for this. I bet you TDM don't care abt the House of Royalty either. clink!
written by miwaki, April 26, 2009 19:12:31
Just ban English and I'm sure these type of bashing will curtail tremendously.
written by Fairminded, April 26, 2009 20:49:20
Yes, there are capable mamaks fighting for justice too but unfortunately they are not very visible like those in UMNO. Can batsman name me a few of these capable mamaks fighting on our side? Perhaps even better, these capable mamaks fighting on our side for justice should stand up and tell these baddy UMNO mamaks to shut up like the Malaysian Chinese who are telling MCA to go fly kites and the Malaysian Indians who tell MIC to lump it. We are not afraid of cometition, we want allies and not fence sitters who morph into which side that wins.
written by LILIN, April 26, 2009 20:52:38
http://wfol.tv/index.php?optio...2&Itemid=2

Indonesian model Manohara seen with hubby Prince at wedding, but do they not look tense? see the picture!
written by LILIN, April 26, 2009 20:55:47
who is fearful of mamaks? Mamaks are gud in business, mamaks are also gud in everything..that's what 'they' say but if mamaks were that goood, why don't they just live without Umno? They are trying to stick to Umno in an attempt to get the Bumi status...so they can be spoon fed too? Oh that's how good they are and how much others are afraid of them? lololol
written by Msian Idol3, April 26, 2009 21:19:26
Royalties -- they have to earn their keeps to be respected. Driving around with screaming sirens is not going to help. Their upkeep can help so many deserving Msians. It is a fact that any capable Msian can be appointed to do the same task as the royalties are doing & definetly more efficient. With reference to Mamak & Malay bashing --- there were some of it but overall most comments are inline with calls for good governance and human rights especially the equal rights of every Msian irrespective of religion and colour.
written by joeawk, April 26, 2009 23:17:00
MT allows everyone to say his piece. That is democrazy. I don't have to curry favour with anyone. Isn't it my right as is enshrined in the Malaysians constitution that I am free to say what I feel even if it heards whoever he or she may be.

If I am unhappy about a particular matter in my mimd and heart, do I keep it to myself or do I say it out loud? The authority or whoever feels being targetted should be grateful of the truthful feedback which is free and make use of it to gauge your acceptance.

If I **** the govt, it is because of the injustices in our midst.

If I **** the muslims, it is because they are loud about their being only true which is actually buta2 percaya saja because there is only one supreme GOD and cannot be two.

If I **** the malays it is because they are fools to be manipulated by UMNO and continue to support UMNO.

If I **** the monarchy, I, to, must have my reasons and that is no business of the mamaks whose ancestors are at best later years immigrants to Malaysia and their contribution to Malaysia is to make money from us and send them back to build palaces in India.

Boycot mamak nasi kandar and go for malay nasi campur or chinese chap fun.

I also **** DAP, PKR , PAS N MCA n MIC. I just love to ****.
written by concernedinmalaysia, April 27, 2009 02:51:59
If you haven't seen or listened to any of the documentaries by Howard Stern, I strongly suggest you do. If Malaysia had it's own Howard Stern he would be under ISA already I'm sure.

I think that it is only a government with a reason to be fearful of the free speaking that takes such harsh action against those that speakout against it.

They say for the peace of the country, I say my arse! It's for the safety of their position within the country and covering up or hiding something that they have or haven't done that leaves them actually guilty of something.

I am so happy that there is this wonderful medium today called the Internet and how readily available it is to anyone to read the truth and not have to depend on the poisoned media that is either government owned or influenced.

If you have a friend or family member that is still a BN supporter after all that has happened you have a responsibility to them to show them the truth. Drag them to an internet enabled computer and show them m2day.org or Malaysiakini and tell them how everything else is controlled. I did this recently with an auntie and she gets it now, it was like she came out from under a rock and opened her eyes for the first time.

Knowledge is power and alot of people have been spoon fed the wrong knowledge all their lives, that is how BN still has power, but BN's power is fading fast.
written by freerpk, April 27, 2009 08:23:01
As history has shown us that in every country it is the rich & powerful that controls the country even though they may account for less that 5% of the country's population. They have many ways to control the rakyat. They spread dsinformation so that the rakyat will be at loggerheads with one another. They enact Draconian laws as RPK has told us about. They "buy" loyalty with their unending supply of money & power. Therefore every rakyat who has seen the truth should educate the less fortunate rakyat as to the truth of the matter so that the rakyat will be united as one in heart soul & body so that the untruth can be got rid off.
written by mountainking, April 27, 2009 23:06:55
i dont think the readers of MT is anti-islam and anti-malays. if all of us are, we won't be at PAS and PKR ceramah in malay heartland..we won't be visiting muslim fren's house during Raya. and we are not anti-monarchy, we are just very pissed with one particular sultan's act.

these NGO's are twisting the fact for BN and UMNO to play with race and religion agenda. i warn the BN don't play with fire.