Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Burma is eight years too late; Malaysia was first

Burma is eight years too late; Malaysia was first PDF Print
Friday, 24 April 2009 17:17

Yes, that’s right. Ustaz Dr Badrulamin was detained without trial for two years for the ‘crime’ of praying. That’s because he made the ‘mistake’ of praying for the release of all ISA detainees.

Arrested for praying

Two members of detained pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi's political party were arrested and charged with insulting religion after they prayed for the release of political prisoners, a party spokesman said on Friday.

National League for Democracy spokesman Nyan Win said authorities arrested Chit Pe, the party's deputy chairman, and party member Aung Saw Wei in Twante on Tuesday.

Both took part in a prayer service for the release of political prisoners, which was held at a pagoda in the township, about 20 miles (32 kilometres) south of Yangon.

Nyan Win said the two were charged with insulting religion, which carries a possible two-year jail sentence.

'The government is suppressing anyone who opposes or challenges them,' Nyan Win said. 'If a Buddhist is arrested and charged for praying at a pagoda, what can they do?'

Myanmar's military, which has held power since 1962, tolerates no dissent. The current junta came to power in 1988 after crushing a nationwide pro-democracy uprising and has stepped up its campaign against opposition politicians and activists ahead of elections planned for next year.

In recent months, military courts have sentenced hundreds of pro-democracy activists to prison terms of up to 104 years.

Myanmar now has more than 2,100 political prisoners, according to rights groups. The most prominent among them is Suu Kyi, who has spent more than 13 of the last 19 years under detention. She is currently under house arrest. – AP

The above is today’s news item from AP. What you just read really makes Burma look real bad; don’t you think so? Well, many of you may not be aware that the same thing happened in Malaysia eight years ago. And, in that incident, Ustaz Dr Badrulamin Bahron, one-time lecturer with the International Islamic University (UIA), was detained without trial under Malaysia’s draconian Internal Security Act and was sent to Kamunting for two years -- for praying.

Yes, that’s right. Ustaz Dr Badrulamin was detained without trial for two years for the ‘crime’ of praying. That’s because he made the ‘mistake’ of praying for the release of all ISA detainees. So they made sure he himself became an ISA detainee (maybe they thought the closer he is to the ISA detainees he is praying for, the better chance he has for his prayers to be heard). If he had instead prayed for the long-life, health and happiness of the Sultans, like they do during every Friday prayer in all the mosques in Malaysia, then he would not have been sent to Kamunting for two years.

It is actually quite ironical is it not? You pray to God that the ISA detainees get released, then ‘God’ grants you your wish by making you an ISA detainee. If this is not a point for atheists to use in their argument that there is no God then I really don’t know what is.

Anyway, it just goes to show that sometimes man does the work of God and you really can’t blame God for your predicament. I mean, if God is really is involved in all this, then how can God take away two years of your freedom just because you prayed to Him for the welfare of fellowmen who are victims of injustice?

To digress a bit here: do you know it is mandatory for all mosques to offer prayers to the Rulers and their crown princes during the Friday congregational prayers? I remember more than ten years ago or so when about seven or nine imams from Selangor were sacked because they were alleged to have ‘boycotted’ the part where they were supposed to offer prayers for the Sultan of Selangor.

Actually, this was not true at all. These imams were known PAS sympathisers and Umno wanted to get rid of them. So the Religious Department went to meet the Sultan and played a tape-recording of the Friday prayers to ‘prove’ that these mosques did not offer prayers to the Sultan and his son.

Of course, all they had to do was to delete that part where the prayers were held and splice the tape. Then the ‘new’ tape-recording would show that no prayers were offered. The Religious Department sought permission from the Sultan to sack these seven or nine imams and the Sultan consented.

I can’t remember all the imams or mosques involved but I do remember that the Sungai Buloh, Subang Airport, and Subang Jaya mosques were amongst those that suffered the removal of their imams for the crime of not offering prayers to the Sultan and his son. Later, other mosques in the Federal Territory -- like the Bangsar Abu Bakar Siddique and Damansara Utama Mujahidin mosques -- also came under the hammer of the religious authorities. These mosques too were headed by known PAS sympathisers.

If you can remember, during the last general election, the head of PAS Johor appointed a young Indian (Hindu girl) lawyer to contest a seat in Johor. Well, this man, Ustaz Mahfoz, was the imam of the Mujahidin mosque in Damansara Utama who was sacked. And he appointed an Indian Hindu girl (read: girl, Indian and Hindu in one breath: three so-called taboos for PAS according to those who claim that PAS is a Taliban party) as a PAS candidate. Yet he was sacked by the religious authorities for being an ‘extremist’.

Okay, enough digression. Back to the story of Ustaz Dr Badrulamin who was detained for praying, just like what they do in Burma. Ustaz Dr Badrulamin was actually detained earlier that year but was released after a few months. However, it was a conditional release. He was not to meet in a group of more than four. He must remain indoors from dusk to dawn. And he may not leave his home district.

He complied with all that. But he thought that leading a prayer (baca doa) would not be regarded as an illegal gathering -- as any gathering of more than four without a police permit would be classified. And it was not a street or outdoor gathering. It was indoors. And he was not giving a ceramah or speaking in an anti-government rally. He was leading prayers for the wellbeing of all ISA detainees.

Ustaz Dr Badrulamin was wrong. The police did consider it an illegal gathering and therefore in breach of the terms and restrictions imposed on him. They summoned him to the Rawang Police Station without telling him what it was about. And as soon as he entered the police station they served him with a detention order and sent him to Kamunting.

That was Malaysia then. That is Burma now. Burma is eight years too late. And Malaysia is still like Burma today.

written by malaysianohope, April 24, 2009 17:26:39
ISA is evil and it shall be the downfall of barisan. If a fail state like Burma can copy Malaysia then what else is there to say about our country, no thanks to umno.
agree 147
written by concernedinmalaysia, April 24, 2009 17:37:44
The opposite of love is fear, by the governments use of the ISA we all live in fear hence it can be said that the government has no love for the people of Malaysia. It could also then be said that the reason that BN has no fear is because it loves only itself.
written by Toyolbuster, April 24, 2009 17:51:57
And all these burmese have found out too late when they arrived in malaysia, thinking this is paradise. Heck, they would have been better off back in Myanmar, as most of them would have realised. Should I continue to pray.
written by Nadal, April 24, 2009 17:55:57
I go to the Mujahidin Mosque in Damansara. I can seriously say that no once the Imam not offering prayers to the Sultan and Crown Prince. This mosque is definitely slanted to PAS but to sabotage them this way is wrong. This mosque is definitely not a ground to breed extreme Imams and followers.
written by penangboi, April 24, 2009 18:00:17
Malaysia is in a state of anarchy where laws do not apply anymore except for laws which are set down by UMNO.

Suppression is the order of the day. Anyone who does not tow the line and keep in line is shipped off to Kamunting under the ISA.

This was how it has been operating and it has never ceased. The only difference is the intensity in its implementation. The height of it was of course under the Mahatahi rule. It abated somewhat under Sleepyhead and now with the Super Racist back squeezing Najis's balls we are in for another full dose of suppression.
written by ahmadneil, April 24, 2009 18:15:49
There are many 'First' for malaysia.
1,arresting young cyclists for cycling to Putrajaya to hand over the protest note to PM.
2,stealing dead bodies due to conflict over the religion the dead man belongs.
3,killing the interpretor when she demand for her share of the commission she is entitled to.
4,protecting the majority and leaving the minorities to fend for themselves.
5,protecting the murderers and imprisoning the innocent.
6,hesitating whether to use English or Bahasa as a medium to teach science and math.
7,going after innocent writer and on the other hand encouraging their mouthpiece,Utusan, to play racist tune.
written by cheekymate, April 24, 2009 18:19:58
The Burmese junta rules their citizen with an iron fist but they make qualms nor hide the fact they are tyrannic dictators.
Here in Malaysia, the Najis led government PROFESSES to rule fairly, justly and in a totally democratic manner. Democratic my BIG FOOT!
In actual fact, we all know they are damned hypocrites, sitting pretty in Putra Jaya and milking us dry.
Oh yes, one more thing. At least we know the Burmese do not blow you up with C4 when they want to dispose of you...
written by dzcorleone, April 24, 2009 18:20:05
Dear Nadal,

Why is it that when the Iman is slanted to PAS, he is an extremist? Why is an UMNO Iman not an extremeist? Like the ex Iman Negara who stood in Permatang Pauh? What is so wrong not to offer prayers to the Sultan & the Crown Prince? Arent they all human like us? Arent all human equal to Allah?
written by KC Chin, April 24, 2009 19:15:21
Sitting in the red Ferrari from Kuching Airport on the way to Miri, and thinking of what to write and prayed the message will reach MT. Man, your prayer must be powerful. I will pray for the down fall of UMNO and release of all ISA.

Please charge the GPS's locator. I am getting the signal very weak.
SAM, So Say It All
written by countryman, April 24, 2009 20:33:02
I would say don't abolish the ISA -- not just yet. Wait until the BN government is overthrown and then throw the whole lot of these crooked BN politicains into prison under the ISA ! Firstly, this is to give them a taste of their own medicine. Secondly, this is to make sure that they don't hatch any evil plots to destabilise the new government and thirdly, this is to force them to cough out all their ill-gotten gains in return for fredom. Once this is all done, then we can repeal the ISA forever.
written by Parakang, April 24, 2009 20:38:47
I'm praying now:

Ya Allah jatuhkanlah pemimpin yang rasuah, yang terpalit dengan kejahatan, yang kotor dengan skandal.

opppss...letter from kemunting is coming... smilies/shocked.gif
written by Fuminari, April 24, 2009 20:52:11
respect is earned not forced!why can't the shameless umno goons comprehend that??
written by gycgocnt, April 24, 2009 21:12:40

Please be noticed! Everybody in Malaysia Today! Still remember yesterday incident while Malaysiakini being made a false report against it by GMP? After GMP admit they make false report, now they turn their gun to Malaysia Today, to us!!!

After I read the news entitled of "Report lodged against website's commentators", I realised immediately that we are "Uneducated Beasts"!, and they wanna "Kick us out of Malaysia!

I am now begging the editor in Malaysia Today write an article about this news. I think all of the Malaysia Today reader have so much comment to this news!

We should show GMP that "Uneducated Beasts" are better educated than them. And the people who suppose to leave this country is GMP, not the "Uneducated Beasts"!
written by Semut Jantan, April 24, 2009 23:24:13
If you like the name "Myanmarlaysia" for a new name for Malaysia press "agree".
written by Umar Rentaka, April 25, 2009 00:23:26
I usually don't use swear words, but for detaining Ustaz Dr Badrulamin, I say this to the UMNO bastards, "Puki Mak Kamu!
written by lynn, April 25, 2009 01:12:19
"""""If this is not a point for atheists to use in their argument that there is no God then I really dont know what is."""""

Religion(s) and the God idea have been used by certain people in successfully controlling the masses. One quick way to make fast tax-free money is to be a cult leader like what they have in the US. If I were God, I would take action against mahathir & all those perps... murderers, rapists, & fcuking up this country's judiciary,etc. but God did absolutely nothing to any of them. TDM is still going strong,in robust health & wealth - najib became our PM. Probably both are closet atheists for all one knows!

So God was not bad, wrong, useless or powerful - he just doesn't exist. This earth planet we are on, this universe, will exist long after we are all dead & gone. No god made the universe, neither does the universe claimed to make a god. The universe will continue for billions & trillions of years.
written by lynn, April 25, 2009 01:16:05
I just want to say, this story abt Ustaz Dr Badrulamin is really sad. Obviously he has a good heart, good intentions. Like that also detained under ISA. Fcuk that mamak.
written by charcoy feng, April 25, 2009 09:01:33
and that mamak zainuddin said live on Al-Jazerra right after the Bersih Gathering..."we are not like myanmar, like burma... we have erection". Well there is some truth... The truth is Burma IS LIKE US!!!! not the other way round.
That mamak Zainuddin will always be my all time favourite minister. Joker of the century. Pure idiotic wisdom from the kingdom of stupidness. He can beat Russel Peters anytime with one side of his brains closed...
written by CPY, April 25, 2009 10:15:23
To digress a bit here: do you know it is mandatory for all mosques to offer prayers to the Rulers and their crown princes during the Friday congregational prayers? I remember more than ten years ago or so when about seven or nine imams from Selangor were sacked because they were alleged to have ‘boycotted’ the part where they were supposed to offer prayers for the Sultan of Selangor.

Actually, this was not true at all. These imams were known PAS sympathisers and Umno wanted to get rid of them. So the Religious Department went to meet the Sultan and played a tape-recording of the Friday prayers to ‘prove’ that these mosques did not offer prayers to the Sultan and his son.

Of course, all they had to do was to delete that part where the prayers were held and splice the tape. Then the ‘new’ tape-recording would show that no prayers were offered. The Religious Department sought permission from the Sultan to sack these seven or nine imams and the Sultan consented.

UMNO like to hide behind Sultans robe dulu, kini & selamanya.
written by Badrol, April 25, 2009 10:44:41
According to umno and the police, congregation for fridays prayer must not be more than 40 or even 4. It must be less than 4.
written by Jit Dharma, April 25, 2009 13:50:14
Brother RPK, thanks for letting us know about the courage of this
man of God.My heart feels so heavy these days when I consider the plight
of these invisible people. Put out of sight by cruel and unjust men in
the hope that they will be broken and forgotten. On such cruelty is
a nation being built. Is it a doomed castle made of sand? Lord above,
please don't forsake us. Malaysians deserve a chance to make things
right and I pray to You and hope that You will hear our plea.
written by onnetline, April 25, 2009 14:15:07
If there are fools on this land, they are largely being misled ! ! !
written by batsman, April 26, 2009 13:25:18
This raises a serious question. Why is it that the same type of incident raises more indignation in the west when it occurs in Burma than when it occurs in Malaysia. Is there some hypocrisy involved or is it just that western interests are more closely tied to the Malaysian junta than the Burmese junta?