An act of sedition PDF Print
Friday, 24 April 2009 15:15

Even renowned historians like Emeritus Professor Dato'  Dr Khoo Khay Kim would find great difficulty in disagreeing that the line of succession for most of the nine Malaysian thrones has been broken and those who now sit on the throne are no longer the legitimate successors ‘appointed by God’.

Karpal sedition trial: Decision on discharge on April 28

(The Star, 22/04/09) - DAP chairman Karpal Singh will know on April 28 whether he will succeed in his bid to get a discharge not amounting to an acquittal of the sedition charge against him. The High Court here would make its ruling on that date, it said on Wednesday.

The veteran lawyer is alleged to have uttered seditious words during a media conference relating to Sultan of Perak Sultan Azlan Shah’s consent to remove Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin as mentri besar.

He allegedly committed the offence at his law firm Messrs Karpal Singh & Co between noon and 12.30pm on Feb 6.

If convicted he faces a maximum RM5,000 fine or three years jail, or both, under Section 4 (1) (b) of the Sedition Act.

He was initially charged in the Sessions Court on March 17, but the case was transferred to the High Court.

Karpal Singh will know in the next few days whether he would have to answer to the charge of sedition for the statement he made during a press conference in his office in February. What Karpal said, simply, was that the Sultans could be brought to court. And that, according to the government, is an act of sedition.

I remember, back in the 1990s, when Umno, in particular Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, criss-crossed the length and breadth of this country to inform the rakyat that the Rulers’ immunity had been removed and that they could now be brought to court if they commit any offence, criminal or civil. And, in fact, since then, some have had to face court action and have, sometimes, even lost the court case.

The Malay Rulers sold out this nation to the British in 1946, screamed Umno. The Sultans signed the document agreeing that Malaysia becomes the Malayan Union. Under the Malayan Union, the Rulers would lose all their powers. But Umno opposed the Malayan Union. So the British had no choice but to abort the Malayan Union and, in 1948, the Federation of Malaya was formed. Because of Umno, the position of the Rulers was restored whereas it was the Rulers who betrayed the nation but Umno saved them.

Yes, that was the song Umno was singing back in the 1990s after they removed the immunity of the Rulers in 1993 whereby the Rulers could now be dragged to court. But there was something in this song and dance routine that Umno did not mention. Umno kept this point well hidden. And that point is, under the Malayan Union, the immigrants would be given Malayan citizenship and all races would have equal rights and status. This, Umno did not dare mention, because this was the main reason why it opposed the Malayan Union. It had nothing to do with the fact that under the Malayan Union the Rulers would lose all their powers or that Umno wanted to restore these powers of the Rulers.

Umno did not hold its punches in the nationwide anti-Monarchy campaign. The traitors in the 1946 Malayan Union ‘conspiracy’ were the Rulers. They were the ones who sold out the nation and their race. In the same process, they, the Rulers, also lost all their powers. But Umno stepped in not only to save the nation and the Malay race but also to save the Rulers as well. Because of Umno, the Rulers got back all their powers, which the British took away and with the consent of the Rulers on top of that.

In short, the Rulers acted in a treasonous manner, even to the extent that they themselves lost all their powers. But Umno, the patriots, came in to save the day. And even those traitors and treasonous Rulers who had signed away all their powers by agreeing to the Malayan Union were saved by Umno.

But the nationwide campaign to inform the rakyat about how, in 1946, the Rulers had betrayed the nation and their own race, and about how Umno had saved the day, was not considered a treasonous act in spite of what they were saying made the Rulers appear really, really bad. It was not even considered seditious although this campaign turned the people against the Rulers and, for the first time in history, Malaysians were beginning to talk about abolishing the Monarchy and about turning Malaysia into a Republic.

You can criticise the Rulers, said the then Deputy Prime Minister Tun Ghafar Baba. In fact, you can even drag the Rulers to court. But you must not talk about abolishing the Monarchy and for Malaysia to be turned into a Republic. That would be seditious, explained Ghafar.

Sedition is an old and archaic law. It was a law at a time when the Rulers were considered God’s representative here on earth. To criticise the Rulers would tantamount to criticising God Himself. So it is seditious to criticise the Rulers as you would be criticising God. That was how it worked back in the days of jahiliyah (ignorance) when people did not know any better.

But how many of the Rulers, today, are legitimate Rulers? How many of the Rulers have been ousted from their throne and pretenders to the throne installed onto the throne in their place? We shall talk about all this in another article in another time. Suffice, at this point, that I say the legitimacy of many of the Rulers can be questioned. And if these Rulers are not the legitimate Rulers then how can they be considered as appointed by God? It was not God but the powers-that-be or the government-of-the-day who installed them onto the throne. Leave God out of this. It was man, not God, who gave the Rulers their throne, at least in many of the cases, if not all.

The crime of sedition no longer exists. It ceased to exist when man took over the job of God in appointing the Rulers. Even renowned historians like Emeritus Professor Dato'  Dr Khoo Khay Kim would find great difficulty in disagreeing that the line of succession for most of the nine Malaysian thrones has been broken and those who now sit on the throne are no longer the legitimate successors ‘appointed by God’.

Karpal did not commit sedition in February. He did not commit sedition because the law should no longer exist. And it should no longer exist because it is impossible to commit a crime of sedition against God’s appointees on earth when God never appointed them His appointees in the first place.

But let us see what the court says on 28 April 2009. Maybe it will call in Emeritus Professor Dato'  Dr Khoo Khay Kim to testify as to whether God was involved in the appointment of the Sultan of Perak and whether, therefore, Karpal did, in fact, commit a crime of sedition.

It’s in the Constitution

"Sultans and Rajas are constitutional monarchs and have powers determined by the Federal Constitution."

Brave New World (The Star)
February 19, 2009

I wish that all those people calling for Karpal Singh’s head would just take a minute and pick up the Federal Constitution. Turn to Article 182 and you will see provisions for a “Special Court”.

The job of this Special Court is to try civil proceedings brought against the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or any of the Sultans.

This was not always the case. Before 1993, the rulers had absolute immunity. And before 1984, they actually had the power to veto legislation. These powers were taken away by the Barisan Nasional government headed by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

DAP chairman Karpal Singh’s desire for the Sultan of Perak to be brought to court is reasonable and allowed for by law. Besides, I think it is a good thing that the King and the Sultans can be brought to court.

You see, the days of the all-powerful king is gone now and that is, for me at least, progress. It shows that we are a society that values democracy.

Yes, we have Sultans and Rajas, but they are constitutional monarchs. This means that they have powers determined by the Constitution and not some divine power to do as they wish. This being the case, surely if they overstep their boundaries, if they behave in an unconstitutional manner, they should be challenged – respectfully, properly – in a court of law.

Now, did the Sultan of Perak act in a way that was unconstitutional when he appointed a new Mentri Besar? It is arguable.

The power to appoint a Mentri Besar is clearly at the discretion of the Sultan. This is one of the few real powers that he has. A power that he does not have is to dismiss an existing Mentri Besar.

Usually this does not raise many problems. During the last general election, we saw the Sultan of Perlis and the Sultan of Terengganu both deciding on who should be the new Mentri Besar of their respective states.

They made decisions that went against the desires of the majority party in both state legislative assemblies. The two monarchs thought that their choices commanded the confidence of the two Houses and were the best men for the job. It was their prerogative.

But the current case in Perak is different. The Sultan chose a new Mentri Besar while the old one was still in office. By appointing a new man, he was in effect sacking the old one. And sacking the Mentri Besar is not within his constitutional powers.

I think there is room for debate on this matter and, ideally, it should be settled in the Special Court.

Actually, I am rather curious as to why the Sultan did not just dissolve the state assembly when requested. All this party-hopping business was wreaking havoc on the public’s faith in the democratic system.

Surely, the clearest and fairest way out of the debacle was to have fresh state elections.

For the sake of continued faith in democracy, I would have thought the Sultan, who has spoken many times so eloquently about democracy and rule of law, would have just said “right, let the people decide again”.

After all, the greatest threat to political, and thus national, stability are a people who have lost their faith in the democratic system. It is only when such faith is lost that extreme behaviour emerges.

Anyway, what is done is done; legal battles are being fought over the Perak matter and that particular crisis will be settled in its own time.

Meanwhile, there is much that can still be achieved. The states ruled by Pakatan Rakyat must continue to push their agenda forward and live up to their election promises.

For example, I notice with a little dismay that the new Selangor government has yet to withdraw the case against Sagong Tasi.

In 2002, Sagong obtained a judgment in his favour by the Court of Appeal which held that his Orang Asli community had a propriety interest in their customary land. This meant that when the land was taken by the government, they should have been properly compensated.

This case was against the former state government and, of course, Datuk Seri Khir Toyo and his men appealed the decision.

Considering the fact that Pakatan Rakyat is concerned about justice and fair treatment to all Malaysians, and considering also that the last MB of Perak was making headway in granting proper titles to the Orang Asli in his state, the current Selangor government should just stop the action.

Yes, the battle of Perak must continue. But there are many other battles to be fought and won. Fairness and justice must be striven for on all fronts, continuously. It’s easy to forget this amid the shrill cries of “traitor” by the ill-informed.

written by Nadal, April 24, 2009 15:34:54
I think Tuanku Mizan performs better actually even though Sultan Azlan is more educated. I think Tuanku Mizan had been dissapointed by UMNO since Mahathir took the Wang Ehsan from the state and after many years of abuse, Tuanku Mizan stepped in. Fair play to Tuanku Mizan.

As long as Tuanku Mizan defends the state from abuses, he will be popular. As a rakyat, that is great. I think that's why a lot of people love. Even Ustaz Hadi Awang gets along well with Tuanku Mizan.

disagree 20
agree 134
written by krising1, April 24, 2009 15:49:14
Let us each fly a banner in our homes which says "The Sultan can be sued" and let the UMNO police charge all of use for sedition!
written by ahmadneil, April 24, 2009 15:52:55
Yes,the battle is not over yet! A new battle is looming on the horizon of Penanti.Let this be another defeat umno for umno becos they all haven't woke up since 308.They are all still speaking with a forked tongue.Like what Muhyiddin said only days ago that BN is not scare of losing in Penanti.He is not only after the pity votes but nailing the last nail on umno's coffin.Such defiant stand will only result in more hatred.
written by ibabonma, April 24, 2009 15:57:15
Rakyat Perak boleh ditipu berkali-kali, tetapi tidak sentiasa atau setiap kali, Tuanku.
written by wongnoball, April 24, 2009 16:00:54
Our Own "The Fugitive" or like the show "Run Joe Run"...

Wow in one Mighty act you are now Anugerah Pingat Mat Kilau!! Teruskan Perjuangan, asalkan jangan di jumpa. The Law we have today is so Songsan and Fruit Loop that it have stuffed the Constitution proper. To attend Court is to Legitimise the SHAM Democratic justice systems we have in Malaysia. The 5 Judges should be sent to jail for Perverting the course of justice in the Perak Ruling. Thanks be to Allah, new opportunities now we have, to Stop the illigitimate sitting way past May 14. As for Monarchy, its now side show Bob. We remain Focus on those Scums in Judiciary, Police & regim Kejam ganas UMNO Hina Islam. Lets make it clear about Monarchy, they have no magic spell, they never did and Raja Adil di Sembah, Raja Zalim di Ketawakan.......that have been the case for Generations. Why Should Malaysia Monarchy be treated any differently? Thanks be to Allah, Tun Dr Munafik passed the law to allow Monarchy be Prosecuted...the Magna Carta. Why should Malaysia Monarchy be treated any differently in the crime of Murder, rape, cheat, lie , corruption??. After all should keepers of Islam be dignified with such Crime?? We the Non Malay Bumiputera knows how to defend the dignity of Islam better than Malays sometimes!! Together we want a Better Malaysia. At the moment Malaysia is still Zero until UMNO-BN is Obliterated!! Nothing else matter.
written by hellosunshine, April 24, 2009 16:04:01
Wow! RPK, this should be in No Holds Barred where the kid gloves are off. Be safe, bro and may God bless this land and rid her of all her demons. smilies/wink.gif
written by mypanida, April 24, 2009 16:19:17
Those monarchs and umno bastards can fiddle and muddle all they want but we know that they are losing their power fast.
Those of us young enough will savour the moments when all those parasites are done with.With the scandals that they piled up, very soon they will be no place for them in society.We just have to keep our fingers crossed and hoped that it will be sooner than later.
Keep testing us, the Rakyat and we will reciprocate. You can be sure of that.
written by chrisyong, April 24, 2009 16:44:56
Articles well written. As Rakyat, we wish the Sultan of Perak can speak up and inform his beloved Rakyat why didn't he dissolve and call for fresh election. Rakyat respect him and he should respect the Perakians and let them elect their government!! This is simple democracy, no need to go so deep. Because he did not do so, the ramification has been bad, legal cases and breaking down of the Federal Constituition and unhappiness among his people!! So much energy of the judges, politicians are spent to manupulate, their time spent is tax payers money, the country's resouces, the confusion, the cristicism and etc etc........so sad. One person's decision can casue much problem. sigh!
written by Fart Fart Wah, April 24, 2009 16:57:06
It is sad state of affairs with the rulers..especially the latest one in Kelantan.
If they do not know how to be rulers it would be better they opt out and be a normal person..they will get more respect.

As it is millions are being spent by the RAYAT TO MAINTAIN THEIR LIFESTLYE, JETS, YATHCES AND WHATNOT.

they should be grateful...NO NO IT IS NOT THeIR RIGHT...it is the right of the people to want or do not want them...

PREMIS NO I.....NO PEOPLE ..NO KING....KING OF WHAT????
PREMIS NO 2.....NO PEOPLE YOU CANNOT RULE....RULE WHAT???

.........FACT...THE PEOPLE ARE THE RULERS...

so be humble and mind the people's wishes...the joy ride may come to an end.....

written by KC Chin, April 24, 2009 17:06:37
Must be sending your article from Kuching Aiport, huh! Trying to keep track your GPS'locator. That red Ferrari is fast. Be careful with the pot hole, bump, and speed trap. You never know.
Now I am online with the satellite and try to zoom, can you wave from the red Ferrari.smilies/grin.gif
SAM, So Say We All
written by mikefonz, April 24, 2009 17:39:39
Today's all stock market down except KLSE Malaysia.
I asked myself how come? Guessed the answer is easy.
Manipulation. In Malaysia, got money everything also BOLEH.
That's why we have a very good Goverment and the Rakyat are
happy. Next GE will see better results. We are waiting patiently.
written by Limang, April 24, 2009 17:46:41
Someone enlighten me please:

1. Do we still need kings in this modern age? I thought they belong to the distant past. Most countries have got rid of their kings and they progress very well while those that keep their kings are retrogressing, like Malaysia.

2. What are sultans for? Do they give me any iota of benefit? Not as far as I know. Everything they own and live on are paid for by the taxpayers and they don;t seem to do anything in return for the people other than giving useless advice on only one or twice a year that people either don't need or already know long, loooong, LOOOOONG time ago. It seems to me they are all out of date with the reality of their subjects.

3. Name me one ruler who has suffered like the poor, jobless and halpless? If they all lived in luxury, well-protected, high-up so high that they only see the clouds and stars, how can they know what the local poor people suffer? Did any one of the ever give their one plate of dishes for the poor or a dollar? Yes, they open this building and that building, but the money comes from the people?

So why do we still need the sultans, kings and rulers? Can someone enlighten me?

Lady Diana, a commoner that married a prince who womanised, did a mountain of good in just one year that all our sultans, his sons and daughters and all the royals of Malaysia combined into the hundreds, cannot even match in all the 200 years of their existence.
written by sampalee, April 24, 2009 18:33:58
YM RPK,your ordeal is going to be a rather short one.It is written in the stars that,dishonest politicians[from both bn and pr]will soon face the wrath of Tuhan.Your faith and service as Allah dictates will see you through.
written by clarity, April 24, 2009 18:58:45
And whether you like it or not, TDM did a good thing for the country in curtailing the powers of the rulers. Let's see if the pupil has learnt anything from him.
written by Ben, April 24, 2009 19:49:29
Its is true what RPK explains and we must heed his advice for it comes without fear nor favor. "Yes, the battle of Perak must continue. But there are many other battles to be fought and won. Fairness and justice must be striven for on all fronts, continuously. It’s easy to forget this amid the shrill cries of “traitor” by the ill-informed." You are our champion and we pray for you. May the shield of truth stop all darts of lies and schemes of satan. May God hold you when your legs are weak and your arms when they are tired. For yours is not the battle for survival but of truth and justice for all. So help you God. Amen.
written by mmrokay, April 24, 2009 20:58:18
all crows are black no exceptions to any these sultans ...go for a republic, then all sultans will be absolute good behaviour and treat rakyat with respect.
written by gycgocnt, April 24, 2009 21:07:44
Please be noticed! Everybody in Malaysia Today! Still remember yesterday incident while Malaysiakini being made a false report against it by GMP? After GMP admit they make false report, now they turn their gun to Malaysia Today, to us!!!

After I read the news entitled of "Report lodged against website's commentators", I realised immediately that we are "Uneducated Beasts"!, and they wanna "Kick us out of Malaysia!

I am now begging the editor in Malaysia Today write an article about this news. I think all of the Malaysia Today reader have so much comment to this news!

We should show GMP that "Uneducated Beasts" are better educated than them. And the people who suppose to leave this country is GMP, not the "Uneducated Beasts"!
written by Tok Din, April 24, 2009 23:41:33
Not for a moment, I think royalty of any kind is different from any other human beings. Dont they also put on their pants one leg at a time? Dont they eat, bath and shit like all of us humans?

Show me your royal highnesses that you are born with superior intelligence, inherent human qualities, supernatural powers and extra-ordinary capabilities please. Please give me a reason why I should kowtow to you and enslave myself to lick your hands? Out of love? Out of respect? For what???? Have you ever fed me? Have you ever taken care of me? Have you ever thought about my welfare? Do you really care a damn about me and my life?

So, be reasonable. Because you have inherited those high positions and because the laws say so, I will tolerate it so long if I live in this land. If you behave and live within the laws, I will tolerate it. If not, I will also find a way out to free myself from this bondage.

Respect has to be earned and not demanded, your royal highessness. I cannot accept the fact that I should enslave myself to you.
written by cruzeiro, April 24, 2009 23:43:15
"The Malay rulers must be defended because they are the symbols of Islam and the Malay race in this country.
====================================================
These are the Defenders of the Malay Race

written by Tok Din, April 25, 2009 00:13:26
Yeah! Are the Ustaz, Ulama, religious teachers, Mecca, holy sites, beautiful mosques holy books and Koran, Haddith the symbols of Islam? Ok, I accept HRH Sultans are another symbol of Islam? Are they really? Many islamic nations are without Sultans. Our neighbor Indonesia has more than 200 Million muslim, but no Sultan or Agong? Am I correct?

The Malay race is not only found in Malaysia but also Sri Lanka, Madagascar, South Africa, Philippines, Mindanao, Polynesia and Indonesia of course. Do you mean our Sultan also need to take care of them. I have not seen any of these Malays coming to Malaysia to lick the hands of the Sultans.
written by EYFF, April 25, 2009 00:17:29
The Malay Rulers sold out this nation to the British in 1946, screamed Umno.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What else is new. During the occupation those royalties that cooperated with the Japanese were appointed sultans. When the Brits returned in 1945 they "re-arranged" the sultans for the States, which therefore were obligated to them , the British: and would jump at the drop of a hat for the British!

Rather unfortunate that those sultans or their heirs that went underground to fight the Japanese were not recognized by the British and indeed were sidelined for being too agressive and independent and would be "hard to handle"!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Rozlan, April 26, 2009 19:02:41

HRH Sultan of Perak and Raja Muda had been giving speeches indirectly blaming DS Ahmad Nizar and Pakatan Rakyat for all troubles in Perak..It seem Tuanku dont feel he had erronously discharging his constitutional power..INother word he had no regret..

written by Proarte, April 27, 2009 01:01:33
Paradoxical as it is, the Federal Court made a seditious decision when it challenged the authority of the Perak Speaker and re-instated Zambry and the other suspended assemblymen.

Now, the Constitution in the Supreme Law of the Land. It clearly states that the decision of the Speaker cannot be challenged in any court of law. By ignoring the constitution, the Federal court judges have made a seditious decision.

Can the Federal Court judges be charged for sedition?

In the light if this, are our judges fit to sit impartially on Karpal's 'sedition' case?

written by born2reign, May 01, 2009 00:16:29
Stanchart sued one of our royalty for loan default I believe, so what's wrong with Karpal or Nizar or any commoner suing the Sultan? Like the case in Kelantan, if the royalty causes harm to another human, he can and should be charged in court, to be accountable to the courts.

To be appointed by God means to be ACCOUNTABLE to God. Today we see some royalty acting very immorally and irresponsibly, are they saying that God told them to bash commoners up? Isn't that against God's law, hence has the Sultan acted sedtiously against God?