Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Between construction and destruction

Between construction and destruction PDF Print
Thursday, 23 April 2009 18:25

This is Anwar’s failure. He thinks he is a good leader because he can run the party all by himself. But this is not the mark of a good leader. A good leader is not one who can run the party all by himself. A good leader is one who can manage the people in the party.

Malaysia Today is supposed to be a no holds barred forum. This is where you can post your views and opinions without any censorship. I do try to maintain that. But there are times when I have to breach my own ‘code of ethics’, if I may be permitted to call it that for want of a better phrase, for the sake of the greater good.

This appears to be something many do not comprehend. How can you guarantee freedom of expression and yet at the same time block or delete postings and ban those who post whatever offends you? No, it is not what offends me that matter but what offends the majority. After all, is it not so that in a democracy the majority rules?

However, this is not to be confused with Barisan Nasional’s interpretation of ‘the majority rules’. According to Barisan Nasional, they won the most number of seats in the general election, so the majority of Malaysians support them. The minority who did not vote for them do not matter; only the majority matter.

That is not called democracy. That is called arrogance. First of all, every Malaysian is a taxpayer. Therefore, every Malaysian has rights; never mind who they support or may have voted for. There is nothing you touch that does not attract tax in some form or another. Even if you are not in the personal income tax bracket you still pay tax on all services and goods that you pay for.

A taxpayer, therefore, has rights, and his or her rights come with the tax that he or she pays and not according to the party that he or she voted for. Furthermore, Barisan Nasional may have won more than half (but less than two-thirds) of the seats in parliament. Nevertheless, it did so on only about half the popular votes. This means half the voters voted for the opposition.

In the 2008 general election, Barisan Nasional won 140 parliament seats and 307 state seats. Pakatan Rakyat won 82 parliament seats and 196 state seats. This was about 40% of the seats, across-the-board, for both parliament and state that Pakatan Rakyat won. Yet, Pakatan Rakyat garnered almost half the votes.

And we must not forget that only 7,944,274 votes were cast, which comes to only 29% or so of the Malaysian population. And Barisan Nasional won only 14.8% or 4,082,411 of the votes. How can Barisan Nasional argue that the majority of Malaysians voted for it when only 14.8% did so? This means 85.2% of Malaysians DID NOT vote for Barisan Nasional.

This is where the Barisan Nasional boast is full of flaws. And to say that since they won the majority number of seats this means the majority of Malaysians support the ruling party, so they can then do what they like, is total crap.

Anyway, back to the issue of freedom of expression in Malaysia Today. I too am not saying that the majority counts while the minority is not important. Those who comment are of course maybe 1% of those who read Malaysia Today. So they are certainly the minority. There are many more who read without commenting. Some actually read the comments and enjoy doing so. Some could not be bothered with the comments and only read the news or articles as they regard the comments as takde standard and a total waste of time.

I can always argue that if you don’t like the comments then don’t read them. Why read the comments and then get upset because you don’t like what you read? While readers are free to post comments, other readers are also free to not read them.

Tapi tak boleh. Gatal! You know the comments are ‘melampau’ or ‘unfair’ and you know that you are going to get upset if you read them. Yet you still read them -- and then get upset with what you read. Have you not heard of freedom of choice? You are free to not read the comments as much as those posting the comments are free to post what they want.

These readers are actually bringing it upon themselves. They know that Malaysia Today’s readers post melampau comments and yet they go and read those comments. They should just skip or boycott the comments and accept the fact that the comments are melampau and they will get upset if they read them. Then no need to go into all these problems.

Anyway, I think those who post melampau comments should step back awhile and look at the bigger picture. What are we trying to achieve here? We are trying to educate Malaysians about what is really happening in our country with the hope that they will join us to do something about it. We need change but we can’t initiate change all by ourselves. We need critical mass before we will be able to see change. And critical mass will only be achieved when all Malaysians stand united and speak as one voice.

We do not want Melayu bangkit a la Umno or Utusan Malaysia. We also do not want Indian Hindus bangkit a la HINDRAF. Umno and Hindraf are just both sides of the same coin. What about the Indian Muslims and the Indian Christians? They are not with HINDRAF. In fact, many Indian Muslims are with Umno. Those in KIMMA (Malaysian Indian Muslim Congress) want the word Mamak to be banned and for the Indian Muslims to be classified as Malays. They are certainly not with the opposition (they campaign for Barisan Nasional during the elections) and they are far from HINDRAF supporters.

So we need Malaysians to think and do things as Malaysians and not become compartmentalised -- not only into race, but broken down further into religion like Indian Hindus, Indian Muslims, Indian Christians, Chinese Christians, Chinese Muslims, Chinese Buddhists, and whatnot. How will we achieve Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak’s One-Malaysia this way?

And this brings us back to those who comment in Malaysia Today. When you indiscriminately whack Royalty or Sultans, you turn away many from the Royal Family who are pro-opposition and who share our aspirations to see Malaysia turned into a truly democratic society. Maybe you are angry with one Sultan or one particular Palace. But by whacking all Royalty, across-the-board, you antagonise the majority of those from the Royal Family who agree that this country has to change.

Marah nyamok, bakar kelambu, as the Malays would say. Or, cutting off the nose to spite the face, as the English ‘translation’ would go. You do more damage than good by blasting all and sundry for the actions of a very few. The issue is: are we seeking construction or destruction? We can’t construct by destructing. It just does not happen that way.

So, before you comment, think first. And think again and again. Then comment. We need everyone with us. But the manner in which some of you comment, you are driving people away. People who used to be with us are now against us. They see Malaysia Today as an anti-Islam, anti-Malay, anti-Monarchy, etc., site. Is this what we are trying to achieve? We are just anti-injustice, anti-persecution, anti-selective prosecution, anti-abuse of power, anti-corruption, anti-police brutality, anti-election rigging, anti-racial discrimination, and whatnot. We are not anti-Islam, anti-Malay or anti-Monarchy. But some of your postings give the impression otherwise.

Therefore, sometimes, our moderators have no choice but to delete postings, and in severe cases ban readers from commenting, when the comments bring more harm than good to the cause. Our cause is to unite decent Malaysians who wish to see positive changes in this country. But if, instead, the postings bring destruction to the cause, then the freedom of expression of the individual needs to be sacrificed for the greater good of the majority who wish to sincerely fight for positive change.

And, no, Malaysia Today is not pro-opposition and anti-government per se. After all, not all states are under Barisan Nasional. Some are under Pakatan Rakyat. So Pakatan Rakyat is also the government. And we do criticise state governments as well, meaning Pakatan Rakyat. The only thing is, Barisan Nasional has been in power for 52 years while Pakatan Rakyat, with the exception of Kelantan, has been in power for just over a year. So there is more to criticise Barisan Nasional then there is to criticise Pakatan Rakyat. But even with just one year as the state governments there are already enough to criticise Pakatan Rakyat.

For example, Anwar Ibrahim is running Parti Keadilan Rakyat like it is his personal fiefdom. Maybe ten years ago, back in 1999, this would have been possible. Then, Parti Keadilan was like a sundry shop. So you can run it like a sundry shop.

However, since the last ten years, Parti Keadilan has grown from a sundry shop into a hypermarket. But Anwar is still running the party like it is a sundry shop, not like the hypermarket that it has grown to become.

This is Anwar’s failure. He thinks he is a good leader because he can run the party all by himself. But this is not the mark of a good leader. A good leader is not one who can run the party all by himself. A good leader is one who can manage the people in the party.

Anwar must learn about people management. He must learn how to manage people and allow these people to run the party. There are many talents in the party. Delegate to these talents and let them run the party using their good judgement and wise discretion. That is the mark of a good leader.

Of course, we cannot allow them a free rein or else we shall create what ex-Prime Minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi called Little Napoleons. Everyone must be given a term of reference, limit of authority and area of responsibility. And these people must work within these references, limits and boundaries or else be taken to task for exceeding their authority.

Now, is it not better that I criticise Anwar in that manner rather than whack him by calling him a stupid Mamak and all that? We want Anwar to listen and to act on what we say. We don’t want our statements to antagonise the Indian Muslims and drive them into the arms if KIMMA, and therefore into the arms of Barisan Nasional.

Okay, and with that, happy commenting. But please think before you comment. Comment to construct, not to destruct, or else I will kick your ass real hard and proper.

Comments (98)Add Comment
written by DJH, April 23, 2009 18:51:58
Well said RPK, well said.
agree 254
written by Hanif07, April 23, 2009 18:58:21
RPK Sir...
I agree in toto.. smilies/cool.gif
written by Littlebird, April 23, 2009 19:01:48
With due respect PKR is definitely lacking quality leaders. Fairus is one example. He may be a good person but he lacked the leadership. The two perak frogs being caught with ayam they only excuse they could come up was "kalau orang bagi takkan tolak" or something to the effect.

So maybe Anwar need to take control of everything but at the same time in Penang he should have Guan Eng to handle it. But most PKR members are ex UMNO and therefor UMNO culture may still be part of PKR for sometime.

My dua sen.
agree 253
written by NSTPravda, April 23, 2009 19:08:49
Oh what a tangled web we leave
When all we need is some relief
When will we see the free light of day
When will our RPK be semua-nya OK!

smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Frankfurtguy, April 23, 2009 19:11:27
good leader is the one have vision and able to persuade MOST people to follow to achieve a same goal.

DSAI is a leader
but he needs people to assist him to go towards the same goal and not "detour" too far..
written by csgcsg, April 23, 2009 19:12:50
How true about calling spade a spade. Sometimes the readers here are so narrow minded that for the sake of anti UmNO they support whatever PKR is doing.

We must always achieve balance and to check and not blindly support for the sake of support. It is easy to have the mob mentality, even though RPK says that this is not anti government site, but then most of the comments here are just racist, hatred and all those negative towards Umno members or government.

Thank you for bringing up this matter RPK, and I hope that being a fugitive is fun.

On a personal matter being a Penangite, I want to see improvements to the people, good public transport (whatever happen to our railroad projects?), what is happening to the penang time square? waste of funds I see. How much longer the penang bridge development needs to be done/ undergo? How about micro business help and those petty traders, yeah you can brag that you have brought multi billion company to Penang, but am I getting some %of the dough?
written by Daryl, April 23, 2009 19:14:43
No matter how much I hate BN I will disagree with this reasoning. Rakayt know the date for the election and also were given a choice to cast their votes. There are rules on who can vote and who are not suppose to. Either rakyat did not vote out of fear or love BN so much they think BN will win is not up for us to judge. However, that doesn't mean that BN have the rights to execute their justice in punishing those that didn't vote for them. Or with hold the tax money that must be dispense of equally no matter who is the government of that state. We all know BN failed to do even that in a democratic environment so they will need to go. In the next PRU does the rakyat have the guts to vote BN out... My guess is probably yes but we will have to wait for another few years to see if that will happen.
written by Blackgiring, April 23, 2009 19:16:59
....to those brainless destructive people pls take note to what RPK has said...thank you.
written by Horizonline, April 23, 2009 19:18:08
sometimes i feel malas to read the comments regardless of how good the article is. My reason is the same as what RPK is talking about. Keep it on dear RPK, while we want you to througly 'educates' those scumbags politicians out there, we also need you to educate the reader.

hope you doing well no matter where you are. peace
written by lynn, April 23, 2009 19:19:15

Pls do not entertain any questions from anyone abt your whereabouts. Just delete those questions or comments. No need to "pei meen". No need to say anything. No need to entertain.

Don't anyone start the crap abt free speech. RPK & Marina in safe conditions, alive & well, free and mobile, that's all that matters..... full stop. Doesn't matter whether they are in Ampang, Bukit Tinggi, or some rural village in Kelantan, or hanging out at some nice beach in Sabah or diving in Pulau Sipadan.
written by shamadz72, April 23, 2009 19:20:56
I believed you must also take into consideration that some of the nasty comments (especially coming from those who only register their nickname here after March 2008] is UMNO paid cybertroopers. Some of them wear a mask of extremist Malays, extremist Chinese, extremist Indians or even extremist Sabahan or Sarawakian. Their job is to create hatred and to pit one races against one another. Just be aware. BN has realized that one of the reason they lost the March 2008 election was due to cyberspace and that is why they have started to concentrate into this area and you started to see groups calling themselves such as "Bloggers Pembela Negara"

Heck... even one ex-doctor gigi who can afford to bring his maid to Disneyland on duit rakyat also has started to realize the power of blogging.
written by ananthprabagar, April 23, 2009 19:25:46
Dear RPK, well said bro... smilies/wink.gif
written by justinlian, April 23, 2009 19:26:51
Bravo.... do the kicking ..
This site has become full of hatred,
I really hope people will change better.
Comments without hatred.
written by Admiral Tojo, April 23, 2009 19:31:49
Pete,how is the scuba diving in Sipadan Island? Did you see the mongolian butterfly fish?

Peace and be free Bro
written by gycgocnt, April 23, 2009 19:36:47
That's the point! We r here to Construct and not Destruct.

I'm a contractor which specialised in Renovation, most of my works start with an action call "Demolish and Cart-Away from Site". Ya, the Demolish here is dismantle all the unused item, not the useful item.

If BN Demolish NEP, Cronies policy and promoting for transparent, why can't we give BN a big applause?(This might not easily to see because BN relevant is depend on NEP)

If Khairy Jamaluddin promoted for colour blind, why can't we support him by casing our vote for him? (Maybe this is more difficult cause he's a die hard Malaynese.)

So, we are here to "Demolish" the rotten things in our country (Like Nepotism, cronyism, corruption, high-handedness, arrogant and so on. And this is the way we show our love to this country. We can express our dissatisfaction but it must be constructive. Futhermore, we should stand still in our middle ground between BN and PR, if not the case, we are going to act like the Sultan Perak, Judges and the rulling coalition-BN!
written by jason, April 23, 2009 19:41:34
''We can’t construct by destructing. It just does not happen that way.''
RPK sometimes you have to destruct the old to build new things. One of which is UMNO/BN. With the constant abuses from BN, Malaysian are going crazy and we have to wait 5 years to release our frustration and anger. So you cant really blame them for letting off steam. But attack on religion, race is definitely a no go. These are sensitive issues to different communities. This I totally agree with you.
written by KweN, April 23, 2009 19:44:38
hear hear!
written by teckkuan, April 23, 2009 19:47:28
i noticed that all the regular hardcore commentators who usually fights to comment on every single piece RPK wrote first by slamming BN, did not comment at all this time

and i'm glad, because i see that this has always been the issue about Malaysia Today. people come into this website with a disguised name just to whack the federal government and leave gleefully back to the safe shells they cast upon themselves

taking into account of freedom of expression and the need to consider what you write, i think the third most important thing is to be accountable to what you write. because that is an important value that need to be instilled in fellow Malaysians. people have to be responsible with what they say and write.

if Malaysians can someday express their thoughts carefully after considering the consequences, then it will be great. because that shows that we are mature enough to discuss about any other sensitive issues.
written by Braino, April 23, 2009 19:49:42
Correct, correct, correct!...our views must be focused on how to build a better Malaysia. One that's free from racial discrimination, corruption, free from injustice and the freedom to express ourselves without being intimidated by the power of the day!

Great write-up RPK, hope you are somewhere safe and we pray that you will fine the light at the end of the tunnel! Take care...!
written by HHKim, April 23, 2009 19:52:54
At the end of the day, we the Malaysians are looking for an effective PM who can unite the people in nation building. Malaysia should go for rapid development by eliminating to the minimum corruption and unfair political manipulation.

By positively showing willingness to treat all races equally and practice non-discrimination in all government policies, these will guarantee future well being of the nation.

Malaysia is rich in resources and human capital, there is abundance of wealth for sharing among the people. Government must show the way and take the lead. All ministers must learn to be humble and learn to manage their roles in their respective ministries. At the same time, the government must be bold enough to review all those unsuitable laws and take corrective actions for improvement.

The only way we can save Malaysia today is to unite all people and surge forward in terms of economic development and industrilization. Gain more exports and encourage FDI for all states so that there is equitable distribution of income for all people in the country.

Government can call up all entrepreneurs and industrialists to work together for the good of the nation. Above all, as government leaders, we must treat all raayat as equal in order to march forward. Therefore, the PR government and the BN have to devise and review their present status and seriously look at what/ how / who / where / when in designing their roadmap and milestone chart.

To conclude, it is the people and the nation that will lose out when the politics are becoming devastating like what is happening today. It is unnecessary because we are all Malaysians and our enemies are not Malaysians ourselves.

Let's move forward and build a strong and united nation to compete with others in Asian region.

written by Zym Zym, April 23, 2009 20:11:32
We can’t construct by destructing. It just does not happen that way.

Equally, we can't re-construct without destructing. We have to destruct what we have built in order to re-construct a new beginning and thinking. Construction and destruction are two sides of the same coin. My dua sen worth.
written by psbc48, April 23, 2009 20:11:44
'But please think before you comment. Comment to construct, not to destruct'

This advice is a long time in coming, but is better late than never. Like what RPK I had all this while skipped comments that appear to be unrelated to the main article, whether lending support or opposing the theme of the article.
written by ahmadneil, April 23, 2009 20:29:40
RPK,the way you write have greatly influence the way we write.If you whip up the furry,we all start to follow.Look at Altantuya stories.Look at topics regarding Islam,race etc.Many if not most in MT are like a group of strikers.If you strike,we all follow.
Try softer way and see how we will soften our comments.
Many here heroes not clowns!They induce people to change.
This are my views ,not the majority.Everyone here try to play a part to right the wrongs umno does to the rakyat.It's change that we are going for.Sometimes we may divert from our real aim,but we will still come back to our real cause.

Anyway,your MIA is whipping up anxiety.Be safe!
written by amjoem, April 23, 2009 20:34:28
Well UMNO/BN,
I hope you got the message loud and clear.
If you can't stomach what is spoken in the comments, then refrain from reading it.
If you are prepared to read it then read you may; but keep your peace. If you can't then do not go hunting for the commenters. And arrest them under ISA!!!
written by shiokguy, April 23, 2009 20:34:30
Pro BN or Against BN

You are right bro.. We need to stop those racial based politic and management!
Starting with the any form that we need to fill... No more race box..

My blog as I see it,, is pro justice.. but sometimes I do go around bashing///

I am just human..

Shiok Guy's Opinion
written by ResidentAlien, April 23, 2009 20:35:38
This sure sounds like what the govt tried to do with this website (quoted below). They assume...*poorly*...that you are "bringing more harm than good" to this country. That's bull, and we all know it. I do believe that comments should not be deleted, regardless of how ridiculous it may be. I myself find it amusing reading some of the stupid comments that are posted here...reminds me how lucky I am to be smart...smarter than them at least.

I'm not too thrilled on your last blog though. It sounded to me that you are running from the law. And now the govt found an excuse to detain you, and go public with it. Hope you'll win in this cat and mouse game you're in. Good luck!

"Therefore, sometimes, our moderators have no choice but to delete postings, and in severe cases ban readers from commenting, when the comments bring more harm than good to the cause. Our cause is to unite decent Malaysians who wish to see positive changes in this country. But if, instead, the postings bring destruction to the cause, then the freedom of expression of the individual needs to be sacrificed for the greater good of the majority who wish to sincerely fight for positive change."
written by Ghostbuster, April 23, 2009 20:38:44
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, April 23, 2009 20:43:21
Thanx for your great and clear advise!!
May God bless you and all Malaysian.
http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by AsamLaksa, April 23, 2009 20:44:07
Generally agree. Freedom of speech is a right. With rights comes responsibilities.

I also agree that freedom of speech is not absolute (Densemy disagreed with me about this). Not that I do not want it to be absolute but because I do not think people all over the world is ready for it. Unless very very strong understanding is established among humankind, some limits should be placed on freedom of speech. This may even require a revolutionary interface on personal communication to achieve such, for example psychic empathy. This is because words that come out never tell the full aspiration. On the personal level, I can accept absolute freedom of speech because I am very thick skin.

Saying this, I support moves to push the limit bar on freedom of speech away as much as possible. Thus for example there are more things now you can speak on than 100 years ago. To me this is progress but it should not end there. Tomorrow's bar will be different but what I do not want to have it retrogression back to years before.

Thus I have no trouble with moderation as long as it is carried out judiciously bearing in mind the promotion of the spirit of freedom of speech.

I also think that the majority's views are irrelevant with regards to freedom of speech.
written by NIDZOM, April 23, 2009 21:24:53
i was one of those who steered away from this site as most of you who commented really are the kiasu type who simply curse and sounded exactly like how the umno people would behind closed doors with the only difference is that the comments were in english. Some who were genuine in their intentions tried to adviced but were accused of being an umno cyber trooper. sad. They really think this is what you want pete. a virtual kedai kopi late at night with no regards at all for anything. true, we have the right to read or not to read comments but i am one of those foolish youngster who thought that most commenters are on the same page as you but it seems like most are actually taking the opportunity to bash religion, race , and other unnecessary name calling. dam upset guys. good people usually use good words. smart choice of words. unless my mum is wrong la. smilies/wink.gif
written by malaysianohope, April 23, 2009 21:49:57
Yes Abang, MT belongs to you and as such you have every right to tell everyone what your expectations are & if anyone do not agree they are free not to enter this website. This is Democracy at work & the issue about AI competence is fair game & so are certain Royalties.
But again, if you happen to read this may I know where you are now? Just let us know that you are in a safe place away from the goons will suffice coz we wouldn't want to let the secret out for them to catch you, NO NO, you are too valuable for them to shut you up.
Next battle Penanti, you Bugis Warriors!
written by Nadal, April 23, 2009 21:51:14
You have a point. But I have been consistent about my absolute hatred towards Mahathir since school. I do call him a fool but never attack his race. But Mahathir calls people names too.

As for Raja Nazrin, I have always felt that he should never be appointed the Raja Muda of Perak. The way they sidelined the other families, it is not right. This feelings didn't come when the Perak Government fiasco happened but has been with me for many years. Since I was in school. Many people felt the way Sultan Azlan appointed his son was NOT IN THE SPIRIT OF THE CONSTITUTION AND AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE FAMILIES. I agree with this and have been dissapointed with Sultan Azlan and Raja Nazrin especially when they preach about the Spirit of the Constitution. I think both of them are not the right people to speak about the subject since what happened 20 years ago.

We go to the same school YM Raja Petra, and I am aware of some Royal Families wanting a better Malaysia but there are some families who are pro BN to the core. Sad because I feel UMNO use them when UMNO is weak.

I will also never write dirty words to put down people like Mahathir and Khir Toyo. Attacking their race and calling Perak with the malay name for taking a dump is out of bounds too. I hope the readers would not do this. As a Perak Boy, I never liked such harsh words.

By the way YM Raja Petra, when I was in school I did enjoy your jokes when you droped by with the Old Boys. You and The Wanderers (if I am not wrong) were really outstanding. Hope you are cool with what I wrote.

All the best to you.
written by LILIN, April 23, 2009 22:02:17
DSAI it is and it will always be..! Long live RPK.
written by LJN, April 23, 2009 22:14:41
"Even if you didn't vote for me, I am still your president and I will work on your behalf" -- Barack Obama druing his acceptance speech.

"If you don't vote for BN, no development will be brought to you. Voting for the opposition will result in your lagging behind other communities." -- part of speeches by BN candidates and supporters at Malaysian elections, meaning, "only if you vote for BN will you be rewared with goodies."
written by MAGELLAN, April 23, 2009 22:23:45
Well said RPK.

Anwar, a good leader need not necessarily be one that is of high or low level education. What you need is someone with integrity and passion. Most importantly one that commands respect. Respect can only be earned and not forced. This is the reason why BN loss many MP seats. As an example, in my constituency, the BN MP came on the day of the voting and he was unfriendly, arrogant and he looked like he deserved respect without question asked? Why? because it was a former stronghold of UMNO and so he could afford to be arrogant. Well it did not work for him. Even with all the election machinery favouring him, he lost to a simple man whom had hardly done much campaigning. Why? Well, coz that simple man earned the respect of the constituents. He was a picture of modesty.
written by mikewang, April 23, 2009 22:31:43
Democracy entails not just majority rule, but protection of minority rights.
Otherwise, democracy is just another tyranny.
written by toroono78, April 23, 2009 22:35:41
Dear PRK
I am very sorry for using the wrong words but sometimes when i read the news it really boils my blood.In future i shall try my best to tone down my comments.You please take care of yourself and your family.Bye for now and may GOD bless you and your family.
written by truthbespoken, April 23, 2009 22:56:25
As usual, like many, I am in agreement with RPK.

It’s about specific issues being discussed in an open domain. It’s about whether individual comments can cause or add-up to the medium or long term positive reactions to effect change or contribute to the ongoing mass momentum to effect change in the country in future. Not all readers are of the same level or mental capacity or have the ability to express themselves in the way one expects of each other. They are not RPKs. Hence, leeway should be given to those one disagree with or fall below one’s level of expectation. It should be nothing personal between readers and we should remain focus on issues and perhaps, even concentrate on tearing down the destructive national forces/institutions/personalities to be constructive.

Yes, to be constructive, one should also talk more about the Malaysian cause, being more Malaysian than being of own’s own race or religion. One should also help add on to the political pressures brought on UMNO to change for the betterment of Malaysians or to change them as rulers of the country. But more importantly, for the cause of MT, I am of the opinion that the ever increasing mass of readership is critical for success. It must be an ever growing concerted movement to bring change. It must be appreciated that when one picks up the interest to register with MT, one has already the desire to contribute to the noble cause one way or the other, no matter how small or trivial it may be. The action of literally ‘joining-in’ speaks a thousand words. It’s an honest action, a desire to contribute.. Unless, one feels that the someone who registered is a cyber-trooper, more need not be said. Just do what you wanna do. Otherwise, just allow more space for different human frequencies of thought and expressions. To me, it’s one participation in our noble cause in MT that counts.
written by JohnQ, April 23, 2009 22:59:42
He will missed the PM seat if he doesn't heed YM RPK advise!

Maybe we shall made YM RPK as Premier in 2012 ! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by uxzee, April 23, 2009 22:59:57
Good and timely reminder to commenters.

RPK, my congratulations to you for out smarting the special branch and giving them the slip. It just shows these SBs do not acually use their head.
written by Rozlan, April 23, 2009 23:09:18
And this brings us back to those who comment in Malaysia Today. When you indiscriminately whack Royalty or Sultans, you turn away many from the Royal Family who are pro-opposition and who share our aspirations to see Malaysia turned into a truly democratic society. Maybe you are angry with one Sultan or one particular Palace. But by whacking all Royalty, across-the-board, you antagonise the majority of those from the Royal Family who agree that this country has to change

Maybe the Sultans and crown princes cannot voice their opinions publicly but what about other rajas,tunkus,tengkus.I believes the Constitution did not barred them from comenting and made public their views.

Why dont they joined we the lowly commoners against UMNO injustices.Even an outspoken members of Royal families like you tried to exercise your rights,they quickly disowned you.The Royal family members are important.Their support carry more weight than us commoners..

But they dont give a damn.They prefer to save their asses by keeping quite.Some even sided with UMNO to get some perks.

YOu see I am a pro monarchist before.But now I dont know..Can I be blamed for sudden shift of stand?
written by confuseus, April 23, 2009 23:13:56
Welcome back, RPK ... now you are talking my lingo.
I must admit that I am one of the hardcore MT fans who got turn off.

Yes, Anwar needs to be educated on people skills aka organisational behaviour but then again only the sincere ones can comprehend and apply this knowledge.
Is Anwar the one ? He, he, he !!!

written by merchant222, April 23, 2009 23:21:27
I confess, I am not a registered voter! Why you may ask. Because when we were employees during thet time, when we want to register as a voter, the so called Bloody-centre is already closed!

Secondly, we have the perception that the BN Goons will always win; and that elections commision with their upper-hand(unfair manipulation), will most likely hand a victory to BN. Fed-Up lah!

In 8th March 2008, I bought a ticket for my mother to come back and specifically asked her to vote for PR in her designated constituent and PR candidates won; sad to say that the MP is still in ISA!

This time round, I have 2 additional voters(my children) and BN can be sure that their votes and mine as well will be for PR! So, YM RPK, we are with you! Whether you are Sultan or not, that's not the issue. The issue here is whether you are with the RAKYAT or not!
written by Awaken64, April 24, 2009 00:01:42
The good thing I derive from this article is trying to get the critical mass to THINK and ACT responsibly.

We are responsible for our comments and getting emotional on issues will be our folly i.e the on going cases with the Perak Sultan.

RPK you are a visionary and a universal statesman. Very few people ACT and THINK like you.

I am saddened that we are only arm chair cyber space activist and hiding behind a pseudonym.

Everything will changes and your contribution towards CHANGE will definately be THE MOST SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTION TO ALL MALAYSIANS.

We failed to meet your expectations and we hope your family is always well and happy.
written by merchant222, April 24, 2009 00:03:14
We perceive you to be with the RAKYAT FOR the RAKYAT; and YOU and ONLY YOU should be perceived as A SULTAN for the RAKYAT!

Whatever else? IT IS IRRELEVANT! We have many frens with Tans in their names...as in SUE TAN, FOO YONG TAN, CHOW TAN, TAN CHEE BAI, TAN SI, and son on and on and on.

But YOU?, You can be the SULTAN!
written by cruzeiro, April 24, 2009 00:06:07
Hope You're keeping well.
Much of what you say is very true - we need to polish up on our commenting (just a little though).

When the education system & leadership in parliament are so vulgar, what more is to be expected of the commenters - but of course that doesn't excuse the vulgarity often seen here. Actually, that the tone that the MSM and the govt set in many of the things they do is equally (if not more) vulgar - depending on the readers perspective and "interests" (although they don't use "holy words").
Oh - but we are "supposed" to better, right? Actually I do believe we are - much better than some colorful characters who "set an example" in the parliament and classrooms. We have learned not to be overly sensitive, and also egree to disagree where necessary - without getting all worked up and screaming for blood.
(I think "some guys" are everly sensitive over the word "mamak").

As a matter of fact, what has been perceived by certain quarters as vulgar (including the writings of your goodself), is partly what has given MT a different kind of "appeal" and vibrancy- the "wild west" of blogging, sort of. Taking that away (too much) would render it less attractive. We really had some interesting characters in the past - and we have a newer special bunch now.
If you want "that kind" of crowd only, maybe you should start writing like Azly Rahman - that will surely do the trick.
To have MT "prim & proper" is something like asking Paris Hilton, Britney Spears or Madonna to be "exciting" in a Nun's habit - it just don't work, Pete.
Don't kill the style....

As far as the perception that MT is "pro-opposition" - that will never go, as long as you remain independent in opinion - even if & when Pakatan comes to power. The govt (and "The Tun") anyways, has plenty of disgusting stuff which it/ he refuses to be apologetic about. Picking on Anwar to highlight this issue was a tad unfair, although what you say is true.

RPK - the hallmark of a great leader is that he not just manages the party well (like a hypermarket, maybe), but that he instils discipline in his followers through ethical means, create a code of ethics, a viable chain of command and an order succession which is decided by the people (which TDM has failed with "flying colors").

Pakatan isn't perfect as it is going through much growing pains in accepting this "new" politics and a very steep learning curve- but at least it has done that.
It does not shout "Ketuanan Melayu" - and there is nothing so vulgar as the hypocrisy, racism and religious bigotry practised by those deemed leaders of these "little brown-assed tuans". It does not call themselves "orang kita" and non-Malays "pendatang", when these are the people upon whom the foundations of this country was built.

I agree that we call a truce and stop this name-calling. However, if some agent provocateurs insist on playing the race game in all fields - be it politics, education, employment, religion, sports and what not, - they better be prepared for much more than what Hindraf or Umno have said thus far. There is "critical mass" here too - and when there are no more scapegoats, it will be among who's left behind.

So, if "some people" do not like people calling them "mamak", it is about time they stop their racist stance and hypocrisy. "Mamak" or isn't a vulgar word - it is though in the context of these "personalities" who made it such. Who knows - one day, which a One-Malaysia, "Melayu", "Cina", "India", Christian, Buddhist, Hindu Islam may be deemed vulgar in certain contexts as well ...

But yes - some of us need to put on our thinking caps .... maybe me too (but don't come around saying that "Altantuya" or "Razak Baginda" is banned, okay).
written by anak melaka, April 24, 2009 00:24:12
YM RPK,

Well said, and really just timely to pull all resources in constructing manner before we can dream about historic change. We must not forget our aspirations of 1Malaysia, and stay focus on the course, fix our eyes on the horizon and march forward. There is no turning back for us. Let bygone bygones. Reconcile our differences and marched forward as one true Malaysian. Leaders should be one step behind martyrs. Martyrs prophesies two steps ahead, and all their well intentions and dreams was misinterpreted by those who holds dearly to corridors of powers, spinning facts propagates misinterpretations and confusions among majorities, and subject martyrs to brutalities, tortures and subsequent persecutions as we have so often read.
written by kenny, April 24, 2009 01:17:59
Nothing in life is absolute; not freedom of speech, not even life itself; and definitely, not ruthless power.

To bring about positive changes, we need both construction and destruction. 'Destruction' here should rightly go under the term 'creative destruction'. And yes, banning readers and bad comments that go against the cause of MT for a free, fair and progressive Malaysia should not be taken as against the freedom of speech. Just as there are certain laws and practices in every family and organisation, comments should not be destructive to the cause of MT and ourselves. That said, I think there were also some innocent 'victims'. Lol.

Anyway, like RPK says, it's not a matter of MT being pro-opposition or anti-government. To add on to it, I would say it's just that the present government is solely pro-Umnoputras; and it runs counter to our pro-fairness, pro-humans, pro-Malaysia. And in our pursuit of being pro-Malaysia, we cannot afford to insult other races and religions like what Umno does against the people to divide-and-rule and plunder. We need to do more to assist RPK and ourselves to bring the people together. Of course, a lot of us do let off steam at times, but let's confine it to the treacherous political rulers and crooks. Yup, we need to put on our thinking caps.

To be pro-Malaysia, the continuing lies from UMNO must no longer be entertained. Umno must be brought down in order for us to have a fair and progressive Malaysia. And, that is creative destruction.

"I SHALL RETURN!" (General Douglas Marcarthur)
written by parsona, April 24, 2009 02:36:07
If there are royalties who actually are pro-democracy and pro-opposition, why is it that we never hear even a squeak from them (other than RPK of course) condemning the injustice and evilness of the UMNO regime? Why is it that they give all their awards to Umno and the pro-Umno? Why is it that none of them spoke up when the Sultan of Perak atrociously did something beyond his limit of authority? Why is it that we've never seen or heard anything by the Royalty that actually helped the cause for a fairer Malaysia?

Pray tell me, WHAT HAVE THEY DONE FOR US?
written by tenang, April 24, 2009 02:36:58

I am with you with respect to urging readers to comment with the views of pulling those sitting at the fences and those on the other sides to their respective side.

However, I think we might want to explore ways not to use the editor power to simply delete the destructive comment because the very act of harsh censorship is detrimental to freedom of expression and the right of the minority. May I list a few options here for you to consider so that we could cover both the need of freedom of expression as well as the higher goal of pulling people together:

1) Instead of deleting the comments, the editor could add one more special button for each comment and allow only the editor to designate MT's warning: "1-Editor censored-Abusive Languages Used; 2-Editor censored - Probably seditious by law; 3- Editor frown - Extreme far right/left view"

2) For each of warned comment, please give it a different color coding to differentiate them from normal comments.

3) For each of the warned comment, if the net negative votes get less than -10, then make the comment hide by default. i.e. reader need to have extra ***** to see those comment that are warned and
written by tenang, April 24, 2009 02:40:19
In complete post before. Here is missing part:

3) For each of the warned comment, if the net negative votes get less than -10, then make the comment hide by default. i.e. reader need to have extra ***** to see those comment that are warned and
written by tenang, April 24, 2009 02:42:15
Attempt to "repair" the previous incomplete post:

3) For each of the warned comment, if the net negative votes get less than -10, then make the comment hide by default. i.e. reader need to have extra ***** to see those comment that are warned and less than -10 vote-net-value. This hiding is similar to what you have before but with more leadership role from editor with a chance to see if other readers follow the lead.

4) For those commenters who has been warned for 3 time consecutively, the name of those commenter can be attached with label such as "Editor-warned-commenter". The label could be removed once the particular commenter start provide 3 next comments with no warning from editor

Most of the above mechanism, except the editor's decision to warn, can be automated in the web server software itself. With that automation, we hope we don't create extra effort for the editor.

What do you think?

Regards.

written by NIDZOM, April 24, 2009 05:14:03
check out all the comments here!! MT is back!! woohoo!! i miss reading smart n intellectual comments like these!!
written by jasongaust, April 24, 2009 07:34:17
Its a fair and square comment from RPK and if you don't agree, you don't belong here and please refrain from any future comment all together!
Please do not argue your point about "We can’t construct by destructing. It just does not happen that way", you should know exactly what RPK meant here. There are buildings, eg historically listed, that you don't have to destruct to construct. So my fellow Malaysians and MT readers, support our true leaders and their fight for a single Malaysia, the genuine way!
written by TwilightYears, April 24, 2009 08:02:25
Well said. All readers should follow your advice and comment to construct, not to destruct. Since after Tun Hussein Onn's time, Malaysians have the habit of compartmentalising everything we see, think and do. Either basing on religious belief and, worst of all, on racial grounds. Of course the perpectuator is none other than the BN and UMNOputras. One would not want to see Malaysia Today to be a vehicle for such racial or religious bigotry.

Anwar is not a good leader at all from what we can see - he loses control of is party members, and has not clear direction in the case of Penang state management. Only LGE shows great leadership qualities. Because the Opposition lacks a Malay man with sufficient experience to run the country, Anwar became a good choice, perhaps there is no other choice. But the real MB of Perak from PAS has shown that he can match Anwar in every field in management of the state as well as with good integrity and personal charisma. One must remember that had Anwar being in UMNO (not BN) still, he would be the PM and he would have shown his true colour which may not be as "glorified" as he makes himself to be.

I pray to Allah SWT that he stick to his promise in his Permatang Pauh declaration for the whole country. He can play whatever "strategy" he has to win the votes for PKR, but he has to play it fair. If BN plays dirty, that is BN. We do not need to stoop at that level. As Karpal Singh has aptly observed that PKR and some DAP leaders must stick to their principle. PAS has proved that it is a party which has the courage to stick to its religious belief and never wavers in its promise to seek justice the Islamic ways. The nonMalay NonIslamic population has come to accept PAS, not because of rigid relgious approach, but that it has the courage to stick to its principles and greater courage to adapt and listen.

The future ahead is indeed not a straight path, not will it be easy one. But with people like you, RPK - there is light amidst the darkness of corruption in our beloved country we called Malaysia.
written by lamepug, April 24, 2009 08:32:51
"a leader status is about how many leader he/she create..."

instate of promoting "1malaysia", i personally suggest we should have
Together
Everyone
Achieve
More
Malaysia
written by lamepug, April 24, 2009 08:39:03
dear TwilightYears,

i personally do not agree with your statement "Because the Opposition lacks a Malay man with sufficient experience to run the country, Anwar became a good choice, perhaps there is no other choice."

remind that no one born to be a leader, every one can be a leader, leader can be groom.

is matter of attitudes...
written by choong, April 24, 2009 08:43:47
actually, those who opted not to vote even if they are eligible "did cast their votes". they just couldn't be bothered and belief that fate will take care of them. so where do we put these indifferent people who opted to go with fate? their votes are just canceled out.

I think BN is right to technically say they won on the basis of votes actually cast into the ballot boxes. I wouldn't go into the whole gerrymandering and vote rigging argument but if we really want to change the system, we should encourage more of those relying on fate / couldn't care less to stand up and vote for change.

the difficulties lie not just in asking them to vote but to ask them to register!

but times are changing. even BN is "forced" to do something even if it is cosmetic. i hope PR wins for at least 2 terms. will Malaysia be better? well we have the devil we know who is running it.
written by ahmadnavi, April 24, 2009 09:11:34
Your comment on DSAI is justified and true. There doesn't seem to be much delegation at the next level and DSAI holds on to most decision making at the top level. Selection of candidates for instance should have been delegated to the State leaders or a special panel should have been appointed to look into possible candidates. The furore over the selection of Manikumar at Bukit Selambau could have been avoided. The Deputy President of PKR, a man of integrity and honor should have been delegated the responsibilities on such matters. This would have saved DSAI from being criticized publicly by all and sundry.
DSAI has to rise above all this. The public rebuke he got from LGE over the DCM 1 Penag should have given him enough fodder for thought and let's hope that similar situation does not arise in Penanti.
written by malaysiaunited, April 24, 2009 09:14:19
Well, RPK has hit the nail right on head. I am happy to see not a single word descreating our leaders which was getting to be like a norm when reading readers comments. I hope this sobering up as part of growing pains of cyber culture. Let not the small villians hijack the morals and priciples that this website originally had in mind.

When I was in college at Ipoh, I attended an English class one afternoon, although I was exempted due to my Form 5 results, wearing slippers. I was stopped in the class and the lecturer, a lady, admonished me that saying all the 11 years of education your teachers taught me is wasted when you come into a class with bathroom slippers. You have no respect for the class waering bathroom slippers. The point I am making here is let our MT readers when commenting on existing and past leaders, reflect their education and bringing up on respect for age and leadership.
written by Comodo, April 24, 2009 09:28:54
Personally, I felt Anwars is lacking on his leadership. YES, during last general election he played a bigger role and people see him as promising leader and voted against BN.
I think he need to hold more meeting with all PR leaders to communicates issue, we need to see shadow cabinet portfolio visibility, we need to know what’s going on behind curtain.. We can’t just depend on BN media’s for information. Just look at Penang DCM Fairuz, and Bukit Selambau case. Why do we have to wait Anwar’s direction? If every PR leader speaks as ONE VOICE, I believe every leader should be able to comment.

See.. I’m polite enough on my comment…. I hate it because I have to type more….
written by temenggong, April 24, 2009 09:34:31
The concept of OneMalaysia or AnakMalaysia, and race free politics, is still far away for most Malaysians. As long as race and religion is there in the constitution, it will remain the biggest critical factor in politics. Let us not kid ourselves it is otherwise.

And let us not kid ourselves that the Pakatan parties are free of race and religion. On the contrary the only religion based party in Malaysia, Pas, is in the Pakatan! It is only DAP and PKR that is somewhat relatively free of race and religion. But even this is on the surface only.

It is up to Umno and umno alone to first discard race before the other parties can follow suit. It is for this reason that the BN parties refuse to discard race based politics. So appealing for non race based politics is futile for now.

As regards the royalty we have no indications that they are above politics, not prejudiced and biased towards Umno, despite their show and pleadings to the contrary.
written by ROBERTNGTG, April 24, 2009 09:38:31
So, before you comment, think first. And think again and again. Then comment. We need everyone with us. But the manner in which some of you comment, you are driving people away. People who used to be with us are now against us. They see Malaysia Today as an anti-Islam, anti-Malay, anti-Monarchy, etc., site. Is this what we are trying to achieve? We are just anti-injustice, anti-persecution, anti-selective prosecution, anti-abuse of power, anti-corruption, anti-police brutality, anti-election rigging, anti-racial discrimination, and whatnot. We are not anti-Islam, anti-Malay or anti-Monarchy. But some of your postings give the impression otherwise.

RPK, YOU ARE DAMN RIGHT LAH. WE ARE NOT RACISTS, CRIMINALS, TERRORISTS OR ANARCHISTS OUT FOR TOTAL DESTRUCTION. THE 20 YEARS OF INJUSTICE HAS TAKEN ITS TOLL ON ALL OF US. ERRRR.... AREN'T U NOW A FUGITIVE??? HOW COULD U STILL COME OUT WITH MASTERPIECES LIKE PICASSO WITH ALL THE ARREST WARRANT, COURT CASES, SUITS AND SUNDRY?? TAKE CARE BRO.
written by pywong, April 24, 2009 09:38:52
And we must not forget that only 7,944,274 votes were cast, which comes to only 29% or so of the Malaysian population. And Barisan Nasional won only 14.8% or 4,082,411 of the votes. How can Barisan Nasional argue that the majority of Malaysians voted for it when only 14.8% did so? This means 85.2% of Malaysians DID NOT vote for Barisan Nasional.

The above statement is fallacious. 7,944,274/29% indicates a total population of 27,394,000. Only 60% of the total are above 21 1/2 years and eligible to vote. Let's say only 80% of this 60% bothered to register to vote. That means the baseline should be 80% of 60%, which is 48% of the eligible voters (= 13,149,186). BN got 4,082,400 votes. This is 31% of the eligible voters, not a majority, no doubt but higher than RPK's 14.8% quoted.

But RPK's comments on Anwar is spot-on.
written by teo siew chin, April 24, 2009 10:15:28
Alrightyyy....now that everyone is in 'constructive' mode....bear in mind EVERYONE is entitled to his/her opinion, be it positive or negative and be it from the ruling party or the opposition.
Even if a negative comment comes from a BN commenter, engage in constructive discussion and if it is a positive comment, then give it its due credit.
And if there are negatives to be said of PR - be open about it, discuss it out, find a solution. Do not hide it for 50 years. smilies/grin.gif
It has to be admitted, PR being the newbies in this 'awakened' time of the people, much more will be expected of them. Whack them if you must, but don't kill them off yet. Never know - might be a diamond in the rough there. smilies/tongue.gif

Let's be on our best behaviour - at least for the sake of YM RPK who has now sacrificed the comfort of his own home and is being hunted down like a common criminal. smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by tano, April 24, 2009 10:15:36
yeah man...kick those asses
written by Tornado, April 24, 2009 10:29:07
"Great power come great responsible" - Ben Parker, Spiderman Uncle...

Terdapat beberapa masalah yang wujud dalam masyarakat kita kini. Masalah yang dihuraikan oleh RPK adalah salah satu darinya.

Memang patut, dalam sebuah masyarakat yang bebas, berpendidikan dan demokrasi untuk membuat teguran, kritikan dan pandangan. Tetapi biarlah bersifat membina (Construct) bukannya memusnah (destruct).

Setiap teguran, kritikan dan pandangan biarlah atas rasa tanggungjawab kepada semua masyarakat dengan pertuturan yang berbudi bahasa dan ikhlas. JANGAN HANYA PERJUANGKAN MASIH SENDIRI SAHAJA.
written by Abdul Haq, April 24, 2009 10:36:40
I had mentioned before that the Mamaks have been great administrators in the Melaka sultanate to the extent if you were to read the old texts you would see that the bendahara called mamak bendahara...uncle Bendahara by the Sultan.

My theory is of why TDM is so cunning and strong is because his is mamak..its in his genes. All his previous challengers..Ku Li, Musa Hitam, etc.. when push comes to shove 'merajuk' and sulk away...leaving TDM victorious...Its a typical Malay cultural
response...!!

This DID NOT happen in the fight between Anwar and Dr M because they are both mamak and running away in not a cultural option for them....smilies/smiley.gif!! smilies/grin.gif

Maybe some student should do a Phd thesis on this....

written by anakkbatas, April 24, 2009 10:38:23
you are right YM RPK,We not against any religion or any race,we only against injustice whether it is opposition or ruling party coz we MALAYSIAN!!!
written by densemy, April 24, 2009 10:38:45
"I can always argue that if you don’t like the comments then don’t read them. Why read the comments and then get upset because you don’t like what you read? While readers are free to post comments, other readers are also free to not read them."

How Malaysian is that... if you cant stand the heat get out of the kitchen. Whereas you should be promoting an attitude of "If you cant stand the heat make an attempt to turn off the stove"

If you dont like the comments of other people then you should be free to confront them.

How on earth do you think Malaysia will ever break out of its doctrinal past if Malaysians arent encouraged to think for themselves
written by densemy, April 24, 2009 10:47:24
Malaysian leaders have always set themselves up as demi gods. And much of the motivation for that comes from a religion which is antagonistic to democracy and where there is no tangible god, so its easy to set yourself up as a pseudo god. That's what the people want

The problem is these god-like icons begin to believe they are in fact god and as such are infallible. Nothing could be further from the truth

No man has the franchise on perfect knowledge but looking around Malaysia it hard not to come to that conclusion

That's why Cabinet and the Public Service are empty vessels... They should be the source of ideas but in Malaysia, the pseudo god knows it all
PKR
Thats why there is no shadow cabinet and that's why PKR is so fragile because it relies on the iconic status of one man competing with all the other PKR egos

written by chiongguo, April 24, 2009 10:53:08
Everyone should be allowed to say what they want in the manner they choose. To limit the acceptable manner, as najib had suggested, would mean the listener has a justification to reject comments and feedback that he doesn't like - even if it is the truth and the most valid of all comments. The mind is devious and often very subtly so. Language is very one dimensional and if given like a emotionless automatons would make the feedback less pursuasive. The important criteria for listening to a feedback or not is sincerity and not the manner. Najib got very bad feedback from his sb boys smilies/grin.gif .

Having said this it is perhaps the sign of our degenerate time that the phenomenon of mercenary posters has now become commonplace. I was alerted to such posters very early on in the internet history when I argued with posters on a number of medical related issues. These posters were paid to carry out the agenda of their paymaster. Some of these posters are very friendly and helpful, some are there to forment discontent and others are there to give subtle and clever suggestions and reframing so that the readers' attention could be diverted to other more innocuous issues.

For this reason I think censorship becomes a lesser of the two evil but this censorship has to be excercised with great care. Education would be much better. As an example if ah kow came out and started to criticise the malays. We should not censor him because it is uncomfortable. We should in fact thank him for bringing it out because for everyone having that opinion 1000 others are having the same opinion. The difference now is that it is ventilated and we have an opportunity to address some of his misconceptions. Similarly for the malays and I know for a fact that many have very wrong views of the chinese. If they kept it to themselves then it will become an inter-generation problem. Dialogue is so very important but sincerity should be the foundation stone and not the manner.

Can we have construction without destruction ?
written by densemy, April 24, 2009 10:56:58
Assam Laksa... OK... I'll take the bait

How patronising can you get??

"Not that I do not want it to be absolute but because I do not think people all over the world is ready for it."

All I can do is fall back on my original statement. Who is it going to be who decides judiciously what is correct and what in incorrect

Najib, to whom everything is incorrect
Your Auntie Mabel who cannot abide any rough words.
... or me who is prepared to read and acknowledge the comments of anybody and everybody no matter how looney I think they are
written by ibabonma, April 24, 2009 11:09:01
At least, I have made it a point to address TDM/Tun Dr Mahathir more courteously even though my outlook on him has not changed one bit.

Actually there is nothing wrong in addressing TDM as mamak. It is common amongst some Malays addressing our uncle as mamak even though they are thorough-bred Melayu.

Therefore, what’s so nasty in calling TDM as Mamak Mahathir or uncle Mahathir?

So Mahathir, out of goodwill, how about parting with me a portion of the 200 acres at Bukit Saga that Khair Toyol allocated to your daughter as consideration in appointing him the Menteri Besar?

written by densemy, April 24, 2009 11:10:45
RobertNGTG

"They see Malaysia Today as an anti-Islam, anti-Malay, anti-Monarchy, etc., site. Is this what we are trying to achieve?"

You cant make an omelette without breaking eggs

The biggest problem with the 'development' of Malaysia is that too many people for too long have been afraid to break any eggs.

There are too many sacred cows in this country that are not producing any milk, but they sure are eating a lot of hay and just getting fat

And the powers-that-be have specifically prevented Malaysians from breaking some eggs with their Sensitive Legislation

Malaysia is at a stage of its development that all the eggs on which the past has been based MUST be broken. Because the Malaysia you see today is not in a healthy state because some of those eggs have become rotten
written by aeromaverick, April 24, 2009 11:16:51
I completely align myself with you on this article. For sometime now there has been too much of name calling (mamak, keralite, etc etc).
There are too sides to democracy, live and let live.
Some of these obnoxious commentors seems to be thrilled for an outlet on their pent up racist feelings over here!
To all those unfits, bugger off; kick them hard RPK!!
written by Admiral Tojo, April 24, 2009 11:20:10
As per ghostbuster's presentation above, about 71% of the population did not vote, and as a result BN, who commands 14.8% of the votes end up in Government. So, who is to blame here? As far as I am concerned, the 71% who did not exercise their right to vote cannot bitch and complain if BN acts and governs not to their liking.

NEXT TIME VOTE, bodoh punya orang.

Peace
written by teo siew chin, April 24, 2009 11:33:24
Densemy - we are breaking eggs now, slowly but surely. I prefer the eggs be broken into a bowl and not hurled at each other. Cant make no omelette scapping em off faces and floors!!
written by Admiral Tojo, April 24, 2009 11:33:27
Yes agree with Densemy in that ALL the eggs on which the past has been based on MUST be broken, and the rotten ones thrown away. Only then can we get a wholesome omelette.

Peace
written by Super Admin, April 24, 2009 12:56:14
For all those who feel that readers should be free to comment whatever they like, we, the moderators of MT, agree, on condition that people like PASOK will insert his real name in his comments. This is because the police are looking for him and a police report will/has be made against MT because of PASOK's comments about burning down the Perak Palace.

PASOK, you real name please.
written by Jit Dharma, April 24, 2009 13:11:11
I will comment without fear or favour but if I have said something
that is keterlaluan then please exercise your censorship prerogative
and delete.No harm no foul.I leave that to admin.But to the oversensitive
souls who are offended by one thing or another,just remember MT can be
very pedas and if you're not into pedas, you should look elsewhere.Read
the articles and skip the comments. Or don't. I don't really give a rats
ass.

written by cruzeiro, April 24, 2009 13:46:53
Pasok,
Woh, man - you're a star now!
But you ain't no britney spears okay - so just don't start any bushfires you don't intend to put out.
Maybe you can let him pass this time round with a warning, Pete? Maybe you can come up with names of those who are "extreme" - or maybe even start profiling/grading/rating our commenters/members based on "quality"/standard/"genre" of past comments, so that they can move up the ranks too!

Can I help PDRM? Dem coppers should start looking in Sabah for him since Pasok sounds very Sabahan....
written by Running Sardines, April 24, 2009 13:50:17
Dear YM Pete

To a certain extent, I don't blame DSAI. Politics in Malaysia is hell lot of complicated. I always wonder if any of these politicians are really concern for WE THE COMMON RAKYAT and not for their own rice bowl. Just look at the Saiful case, Perak fiasco with the 3 frogs, the turn-around of the BN politician etc. So, to trust aother person in Malaysia politics is almost impossible. Yes, DSAI should have more consultation with his generals but I have a feeling that there are people inside Pakatan Rakyat that will 'help' to sabotage his plans ... like those Chinese undercover cop movies ... sometimes I do hope that all politicians can come together for the good of we Malaysian, regardless of opposition or in government ...

As for all of us being a 'tax-payer', I have given up hope that my tax money can ever be utilised in a correct way ... it is like you employ someone to take care of your food stall and he/she 'makan' some of the collections ... as long as my food stall still generate income for me, I have to close one eye ... cuz no matter how many people I employ, all are the same type ... and I pray hard my food stall will not go bankrupt ...
written by Sterilizer, April 24, 2009 14:25:58
14.8% voted for BN, as per the balot paper. Fine! Let is be. Some may argue that some percentage are forced vote (i.e. postal votes) & some are hantus. 14.8 is 14.8, fine!

But RPK should also put out statistics of how many percent are aged under 21, these people can't vote. But feel free to put in statistics of those who did not registered to vote. If aged under 21 amounts to 30% of the population, then 14.8 percent is actually 14.8/70 = 21.1%

so please take note that it is 21.1% who voted for BN (assuming 30% are under age) and not 14.8%, omiting such figures will only make the posting just like the main stream media like the way you call it - spin, spin & spin
written by AsamLaksa, April 24, 2009 15:27:55
Bait, Densemy? No bait. It's rather a recognition that you have consistently mentioned that freedom of speech should be absolute. I did not say that I am so right and that you are so wrong. Not arguing with you what is right or wrong. Notice the lack of leading question aimed towards you. Notice also from your reply that there is really nothing for you to reply to from my post.

You have your aspirations and views, I have mine. I tell mine not hoping that anyone will follow/copy but rather to spread my ideas for others to see any truth or falsity in it and make up their own minds. My real hope is for people to establish sound personal principles through rational and independent thinking. It is one way of eradicating hypocrisy.

You can see the different views of Kenny who says that freedom of speech should not be absolute and Chiongguo who seeks absolute freedom.
written by temenggong, April 24, 2009 15:50:22
I told the bugger Pasok to watch his words.

Pasok is in Kota Kinabalu. By now he would be in a boat to Sulu! smilies/grin.gif
written by carribeanking7, April 24, 2009 16:43:34

Anonimity makes some people unrestrained and blurt all ,manner of things but MT has the simplest terms of usage which is a one liner which reads :-

"By submitting your comments we reserve the rights, at our sole discretion, to change, modify, add, or delete your comments and portions of these Terms of Use at any time without further notice."

Perhaps it should be more specific and extensive, then those who ***** on "I have read and agree" are bound by it.

In any site the administrator reserves the right to bar those who abuse this priviledge.

Racist views are expected in a country where the ruling coalition is race based for decades, it is a reality but that does not mean steps must not be taken to educate the masses to change for the better, right now many tell the other group " you give up your racist stance first then I will" then like little kids they go "you first" to and fro with nobody wanting to be the first to concede.
Yesterday I had a face to face conversation that lasted more than 3 hours with R.Shan (Hindraf) who contributes many an article here, we talked of many things agreeing on many points while disagreeing on others in a civil manner, the thing many Malaysians have yet to learn is "agreeing to disagree".

Talking of racist view point there is even one chap here who tried to say when you were arrested under ISA the outpouring of concern for you (RPK) was because you were not "a dark skinned Indian man" This troll is right on this very thread, can you guess who ? He gets a kick out of making all sorts of cheeky comments.

written by malaysianohope, April 24, 2009 16:59:20
No Temenggong Pasok is now the official driven for Ambassador Pete with full diplomatic immunity.
written by shahidan, April 24, 2009 17:02:21
Well said, RPK.

Going by the response to previous strictures to contribute positively to an informed debate and discussion on MT , my guess is the abusive elements will continue with their self-indulgent postings. It seems the habit has been formed and is hard to kick. Regardless, we should continue to encourage a robust but rational debate so that we can all be better informed citizens and contribute to social change accordingly.
written by UniversalQ, April 24, 2009 17:32:05
Anuar is a good Leader but needs a good Manager. He cant do all at the same time. Mao of China has Chao Eng Lai to administer for him. So go find a good honest Manager who need not be a good Politician.
written by Super Admin, April 24, 2009 19:32:52
Dear Sterilizer, true. But you do not need to be 21 to get married or drive a car -- and marriage or driving is a heavy responsibility. The point is, Umno makes it appear like almost ALL Malaysians voted for them when it is only half the voters while the number of voters is less than half the population and those who actually come out to vote are 70% of the registered voters.

That is the truth, which means not almost ALL Malaysians voted for BN-Umno.
written by lvbala, April 24, 2009 22:01:33
Loud and clear dude, sometimes our kids needs to be rotan too. It doesn't mean we hate them but that is what we called true love and care.

thanks bro
written by AtanSian, April 24, 2009 22:49:05
I agree. Keep this site civilised.
There is no need to descend to vulgarities and curses.
MT have right on its side and "right and truth" speaks loudest.
written by charcoy feng, April 25, 2009 09:45:03
Been with MT since 2004... gone through together all the changes. Good wake up call for all those commenting. I stopped commenting for a few months since 2008 GE. A lot of uncivilized comments were posted. Some don't even understand the contents of the news or articles. Simply bash anything they're against. Some even made fun of Dr Azly Rahman. All this made some of the comments sections look less intelligent. Not on par with the authors... Hope for the best now!!! Better commenting folks! Have a productive weekend.
written by chiongguo, April 25, 2009 19:24:53
I think Dsai's dilemma and difficulty is not that he is not a good manager - he had in fact proven himself as an able deputy PM and minister when he was still in bn. His diffculty is his lack of trust. There is no shortage of very capable people in PR....much more than in bn.

One of the dirty tricks used by gov and big biz concern is to flood newsgroup with a lot of irrelevant posts, false and misleading write-up etc. The whole exercise is to increase the noise to signal ratio so that truth or whatever that is uncomfortable to the interested party gets buried. A few months before the olympic the chinese gov. flooded many news groups and blogs. A few posts of mine was even deleted when I chose to correct some factual errors / lies about HH the Dalai Lama.

I had often shorten my reading of the comments as there is just too much fluff. As such I will miss many good comments. One suggestion to help increase the signal to noise ratio is to disallow postings that said nothing. Eg of such posts would be like "100% support", "Great article RPK", "yeah man kick those asses" etc...

Curses and vulgarity adds colour if it helped to reinforce an assertion. So if after I made a valid point but would like to add to the emotional dimension I could round it off with "so what the f c u k do you think ........"

As for only a small percentage who had voted for bn I would like to look at it from a statistical perspective. 7 million voters is a true reflection of the will of the people. A simple example. In the US there is an on-going surveillance of hiv occurences in the population. CDC sampled a few million people every year and since 1983 when the surveillance started. They had found that the number of people infected with hiv had remained constant. The percentage of people having hiv can be extrapolated from this and it is very accurate. Infact this proof alone is enough to demolish the theory that hiv is the cause of AIDS.

So the election result that 50% of those who went out to elect supported the bn can be extended to the rest of the population.